Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.03mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.03mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood

Since opening our doors, Spezia has shared it's love of traditional Italian cuisine with friends and family in the Sioux Falls area. Spezia invites you to come enjoy a relaxed atmosphere as you choose items from an award-winning menu. Godere di buona salute!!!

4801 S. Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
57th Street and Louise Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-7491

Website:
http://speziarestaurant.com/spezia/siouxfalls/

Executive Chef:
Owners Dave Thompson and Rick Thompson

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Schmeling: (605) 334-7491

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a lovely relaxing meal and an awesome waitress, I believe her name was Grace.
We came immediately after the Garth concert and were seated immediately! The food was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very nice find for our traveling group. Not the usual menu or preparation of dishes. Interesting choices and specialties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Love thei variety on the brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My girlfriend and I went out to dinner for our anniversary. She is from the area but I'm not and I was tasked to set up our date night that evening. I went to Google and searched for Italian food in Sioux Falls and saw Spezia. It looked legit enough so thought we'd give it a shot. We got there not really knowing what to expect. And it was great. We were seated right away, asked what the occasion was, and treats phenomenally through out the entire night. We got our food and both of us absolutely loved it. On top of great food, we had amazing service from a waiter by the name of Dan. Dan was there for anything we needed and was very good at describing the dishes to us when we had questions. To cap off his great service that night, Dan asked why we were out and we told him. He promptly took our plates and with out asking came back with a place of cake and ice cream for my girlfriend and I to share. Dan and Spezia are both phenomenal and we will certainly be back. Thanks for making a great date night!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food and service
Nice restaurant
Good quality food

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was excellent. The waitress was a bit over friendly. Fake sweet. If she had just been herself she would have been lovely

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 20, 2017

As always the food and service was great. The bread pudding is one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Delicious food (we had the risotto balls, Acadia chicken, and chicken gnocchi) and wonderful atmosphere. We celebrated our anniversary and they brought a candle to the table for our meal and complimentary dessert. Even driving a couple hours from out of state, we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was phenomenal as usual but service continues to be hit and miss. Our drinks and appetizers arrived in a timely manner. We then waited for our salads and bread a while and were surprised when our entrees arrived. I questioned our server about why we hadn't gotten our salads or bread yet. She seemed surprised that they had not been brought to us. She then made several excuses including that there was no manager there that night and no one working in the expo area and that they were understaffed. While it did not spoil the evening it was disappointing, especially for the prices that one pays at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Had a very enjoyable lunch! It was a nice enough day to be able to sit outside on the patio, even though the atmosphere out there is not the greatest.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had Sunday brunch, food choices were good, but somewhat limited for the amount of money you pay. Just cheesecake for dessert?? (besides cookies that is).

The food was nicely presented.

We were seated right next to a family of 4, but there were 20 tables available, not sure why we were seated so close.

Good, just not very good, especially for $20 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our group of four enjoyed a variety of entrees including fish, pasta, and pizza. All were excellent. My first ever order of lasagna from Spezia, after many years of dining there.....it was incredible....the tomato base was so fresh tasting. One of our group said the grouper entree was great (the original meal with the red sauce, not the blackened version currently on the menu). And as always, the pizza was fantastic. Overall a great experience. Very good service once again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Little crazy to sit outside along 41st. The motorcycles can cloud the moment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The breakfast past of the brunch was pretty typical. Although the lasagna was delicious, I was disappointed that there weren't more Italian choices for non-breakfast eaters. It appeared that they were having some problems keeping certain foods available: popular choices were emptied more quickly than they were refilled. The Cajun salmon and salmon pasta were notably often unavailable. One of the salad choices, the Asian cashew salad, appeared to be the same as the one we buy in a bag at Costco. But the fruit was perfect! It was a nice touch that the cheeses were labeled. This is a favorite restaurant but the first time we have come for the Sunday brunch. Having dinner at Spezia is a better experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was our first experience at Spezia, and we both were very impressed. The atmosphere, food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We always dine here on our trips through Sioux Falls. The food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Spezia is my family's favorite brunch spot, hands down. The food is consistently delicious and there are enough choices to fit every eating style and preference. Spezia's service is excellent. The servers are attentive and fulfill requests quickly. I appreciate the dining experience, whether it's date night or a family outing. Definitely give Spezia a try!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Love their Sunday brunch - best in Sioux Falls! Nice selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Muir was outstanding. He was attentive and took time to visit and get to know us. He is a gem for Spezia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We have always enjoyed Spezia's. The occasion this time was our wedding anniversary. We were greeted pleasantly by both the hostess and our server. Amount of time/server attending us was just right: not too fast, but not inordinate waiting time either. The restaurant treated us to free ice cream and delicious chocolate cake for dessert. Oh, and the food was excellent! Filet for her, pasta with bolognese sausage for me. Great night out.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice ambiance and great service. Food a little overpriced. Quality of food was average.

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Again the Sunday Brunch was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had reservations for a Saturday evening and were seated as soon as we walked in the door..Terri, our waitress, was great. She was very knowledgeable about the entrees and wine list. She was also a lot of fun! We ordered the fried ravioli as an appetizer. It was just the right size and I appreciated that it came with a cream sauce along with marinara. We ordered four different entrees from steak to pasta to shrimp and everyone was very pleased with their selection. Our two birthday people loved their molten lava cakes, which were free, and two of us ordered the Peruvian Chocolate Dessert which was also very good. I love Italian food and Spezia is always my "go to" restaurant. My wife doesn't care for Italian, go figure, but she enjoys the ambiance and always finds something on the menu that she enjoys.. especially the Beet Salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was extremely overpriced for what you receive, the service was okay. They didn't really seem to care that you were there or not, slow on brining the food out that was not hot or even cooked all the way. If it was cooked all the way it must have sat for 10 min before it was brought out. It was my first visit to this establishment and I brought my mom for mother's day. I was not impressed, I have had better service at Perkins. However the looks of the interior are high quality. $65 for two simple undercooked meals and 2 pieces of cake that were just meh... Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had to wait for our reservation which was not a big deal. Didn't have to wait long. Service was friendly and at first attentive. Ordered the diver scallops appetizer, their ribeye entree, baked potato and artisan salad with Gorgonzola cheese snd Gorgonzola dressing. Everything took longer then expected to come out. Probably why they were off on their reservation times. Scallops were fine, not very savory. The salad was romaine and iceburg with a light sprinkling of Gorgonzola. Basically a house salad. Not sure where the artisan part was. After a long wait after the salad the steak finally came. Also had to flag down a bus boy to get us some more wine during that time. The wait may have been acceptable if we had received the bread service that never showed. Again, like the scallops, the steak was okay. $33 steak was a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was good, nothing spectacular though. Slow service but would probably return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our waiter, Gary, was fantastic. Even our teens remarked on how much fun he made our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Usually very good place to eat. This time the steak was very very rare when ordered a medium one. Cut of meat was not as good as it usually is. May have caught them on an off night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Spezia is one of our absolute favorite Italian restaurants! Will be back again soon!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have eaten at Spezia's many times for both Sunday Brunch and evening dinner. They did a nice job managing both the flow of people and replenishing their brunch items for their Easter brunch. The price was a little more then their normal Sunday brunch, but their were additional items on the buffet including sliced prime rib. We would come back again for a holiday brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My only thing is that it sort of seems that my open table reservation is not actually there, it feels like we wait for a table to open whether we had the reservation or not

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ask for Gary! Best server in Sioux Falls. He always makes the night more enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice buffet selections. Adults and children in the group found lots of things that they enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We are frequent diners at Spezia. The atmosphere is relaxing and the service is exceptional. There are lots of menu items to choose from and the food is always delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant for date night or dinner with friends

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We especially enjoyed being seated in the back room where is was very quiet and we could easily carry on a conversation while eating with good friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was very good waitstaff excellent. Our waiter Gary was impeccable. Really enjoyed him.

Tags: Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

So disappointed! My husband made the reservation though Open Table. We had been to this restaurant before a few times even though we do not live in SF. We were only visiting the area. We were going to celebrate my Birthday. Having our appetites already for one of their lovely menu entrees we were surprised and let down when we found out they only served the "brunch" on Sunday afternoon. Open Table did not mention this to us. The reservation email I received did not mention "brunch only at this reservation time". We both perused the web site menus in anticipation of our dinner and never saw any indication of a Sunday Only Brunch. But, we thought, it will be really good. NOPE, it was not. Not near the caliber of the menu selections. The pasta sauces were nice. But limited selection for both breakfast and lunch offerings. And nothing that stood out as a signature dish. The service was very bad. Slow. The young lady acted as if she did not understand basic requests like " artificial sweeteners". Nearly finished the meal before we got drinks. And the dessert selections were embarrassing. Donuts cut in 3rds?? Why? Should those be with the breakfast items?? And the dipping bread was by the breakfast items. . . Shouldn't that have been near the entrees?? All in all, we would go back at night for menu evening dining, but never to the Brunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As is normal the Sunday brunch was great. Our waitress was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 25, 2017

At first I tried to call to ask how long the wait was and/or to make a reservation, Nobody answered the phone, so I said forget it, I heard about the open table, so I signed up and made and account to make a reservation, we had a specific time when my husband and I arrived there were 3 young girls there at the desk just shooting the breeze, I wasn't sure any of them was gonna make any eye contact to help us get a table. Finally one of them helped us. Then they told us it was going to be another 10 minute wait. Then when we left , 2 of them are still standing there shooting the breeze and never said Thank you please come again or anything. Definately Need better customer service at the Desk.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Phenomenal food. Super expensive but worth it once a year!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.