Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.03mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.03mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood

Since opening our doors, Spezia has shared it's love of traditional Italian cuisine with friends and family in the Sioux Falls area. Spezia invites you to come enjoy a relaxed atmosphere as you choose items from an award-winning menu. Godere di buona salute!!!

4801 S. Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
57th Street and Louise Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-7491

Website:
http://speziarestaurant.com/spezia/siouxfalls/

Executive Chef:
Owners Dave Thompson and Rick Thompson

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Schmeling: (605) 334-7491

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice ambiance and great service. Food a little overpriced. Quality of food was average.

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined 4 days ago

Again the Sunday Brunch was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 4 days ago

We had reservations for a Saturday evening and were seated as soon as we walked in the door..Terri, our waitress, was great. She was very knowledgeable about the entrees and wine list. She was also a lot of fun! We ordered the fried ravioli as an appetizer. It was just the right size and I appreciated that it came with a cream sauce along with marinara. We ordered four different entrees from steak to pasta to shrimp and everyone was very pleased with their selection. Our two birthday people loved their molten lava cakes, which were free, and two of us ordered the Peruvian Chocolate Dessert which was also very good. I love Italian food and Spezia is always my "go to" restaurant. My wife doesn't care for Italian, go figure, but she enjoys the ambiance and always finds something on the menu that she enjoys.. especially the Beet Salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was extremely overpriced for what you receive, the service was okay. They didn't really seem to care that you were there or not, slow on brining the food out that was not hot or even cooked all the way. If it was cooked all the way it must have sat for 10 min before it was brought out. It was my first visit to this establishment and I brought my mom for mother's day. I was not impressed, I have had better service at Perkins. However the looks of the interior are high quality. $65 for two simple undercooked meals and 2 pieces of cake that were just meh... Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had to wait for our reservation which was not a big deal. Didn't have to wait long. Service was friendly and at first attentive. Ordered the diver scallops appetizer, their ribeye entree, baked potato and artisan salad with Gorgonzola cheese snd Gorgonzola dressing. Everything took longer then expected to come out. Probably why they were off on their reservation times. Scallops were fine, not very savory. The salad was romaine and iceburg with a light sprinkling of Gorgonzola. Basically a house salad. Not sure where the artisan part was. After a long wait after the salad the steak finally came. Also had to flag down a bus boy to get us some more wine during that time. The wait may have been acceptable if we had received the bread service that never showed. Again, like the scallops, the steak was okay. $33 steak was a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was good, nothing spectacular though. Slow service but would probably return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our waiter, Gary, was fantastic. Even our teens remarked on how much fun he made our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Usually very good place to eat. This time the steak was very very rare when ordered a medium one. Cut of meat was not as good as it usually is. May have caught them on an off night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Spezia is one of our absolute favorite Italian restaurants! Will be back again soon!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have eaten at Spezia's many times for both Sunday Brunch and evening dinner. They did a nice job managing both the flow of people and replenishing their brunch items for their Easter brunch. The price was a little more then their normal Sunday brunch, but their were additional items on the buffet including sliced prime rib. We would come back again for a holiday brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My only thing is that it sort of seems that my open table reservation is not actually there, it feels like we wait for a table to open whether we had the reservation or not

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ask for Gary! Best server in Sioux Falls. He always makes the night more enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice buffet selections. Adults and children in the group found lots of things that they enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We are frequent diners at Spezia. The atmosphere is relaxing and the service is exceptional. There are lots of menu items to choose from and the food is always delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant for date night or dinner with friends

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We especially enjoyed being seated in the back room where is was very quiet and we could easily carry on a conversation while eating with good friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was very good waitstaff excellent. Our waiter Gary was impeccable. Really enjoyed him.

Tags: Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

So disappointed! My husband made the reservation though Open Table. We had been to this restaurant before a few times even though we do not live in SF. We were only visiting the area. We were going to celebrate my Birthday. Having our appetites already for one of their lovely menu entrees we were surprised and let down when we found out they only served the "brunch" on Sunday afternoon. Open Table did not mention this to us. The reservation email I received did not mention "brunch only at this reservation time". We both perused the web site menus in anticipation of our dinner and never saw any indication of a Sunday Only Brunch. But, we thought, it will be really good. NOPE, it was not. Not near the caliber of the menu selections. The pasta sauces were nice. But limited selection for both breakfast and lunch offerings. And nothing that stood out as a signature dish. The service was very bad. Slow. The young lady acted as if she did not understand basic requests like " artificial sweeteners". Nearly finished the meal before we got drinks. And the dessert selections were embarrassing. Donuts cut in 3rds?? Why? Should those be with the breakfast items?? And the dipping bread was by the breakfast items. . . Shouldn't that have been near the entrees?? All in all, we would go back at night for menu evening dining, but never to the Brunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As is normal the Sunday brunch was great. Our waitress was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 26, 2017

At first I tried to call to ask how long the wait was and/or to make a reservation, Nobody answered the phone, so I said forget it, I heard about the open table, so I signed up and made and account to make a reservation, we had a specific time when my husband and I arrived there were 3 young girls there at the desk just shooting the breeze, I wasn't sure any of them was gonna make any eye contact to help us get a table. Finally one of them helped us. Then they told us it was going to be another 10 minute wait. Then when we left , 2 of them are still standing there shooting the breeze and never said Thank you please come again or anything. Definately Need better customer service at the Desk.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Phenomenal food. Super expensive but worth it once a year!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food, good service overall. I feel as though they did not know we actually had a reservation, we ended up being seated at a large table for 8, this seemed like an afterthought. I would have liked a 4 person table. Also many people were seated before us after they came in. Nothing was bad st all and it is a great restaurant, we just had the impression based on our experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We usually dine here once a month This time was on Valentines Day. The food is normally very good. My husband had gnocchi which he loves. My steak was not hot and it seemed that the meat was old. A little disappointed this time

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The entire meal was fabulous! Probably the most tender filet I've ever had. Our server was attentive and informative. Great dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for a nice Valentines Day date. Made a reservation quickly and easily. Was seated immediately and severed immediately. While the menu is a bit expensive, but you get what you pay for. They do have a good range in pricing on the menu though.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food for reasonable price. Service and atmosphere are wonderful

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Gary was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great service. Good food and peaceful setting.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Steak was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We waited about 10 min before a waiter came to our table. It was not busy at all, but still we waited on the main course for 20 min. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Stacy was awesome and the food was awesome. Defiantly coming back

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch with family. Everyone friendly, atmosphere very nice and food wonderfully tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It had been a while since I have been to Spezia but we were not disappointed. The atmosphere, food and service were wonderful. Our server, Tasia, was great. Just the right amount of attention and private time. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was amazing, service left a lot to be desired. It was very obvious our waitress didn't want to be there and seemed very annoyed when we asked for something as simple as another drink. Didn't give us any information on menu items or specials. Didn't even know there was a special promotion until we overheard another waitress explaining it to a different table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service, and quiet so we could visit with friends!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was the second time in a row I've ordered the Giglio pasta and had it served without peppers. The menu clearly states that the item contains sliced peppers and it is quite bland without them. The first visit, I mentioned the missing peppers to the server and was brought a COLD bowl of pepper slices. The second, most recent, visit the server said she'd ask the kitchen and never came back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent restaurant , this particular night the service was super slow. It took us two hours to get through our dinner as a result. I believe the restaurant was understaffed this particular night .

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I enjoyed my birthday brunch at Spezia's. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Server friendly, helpful and diligent. Food was amazing. Always love coming here. A must go to when in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fabulous food and fabulous service!
a perfect place for a family outing for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Say hi! to Dave T. The server was excellent, but he made a comment on the tip that was puzzling. I think he meant it as a compliment, but puzzling anyway. However, again, he was excellent for us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.