Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Coppermill SteakhouseCoppermill Steakhouse
(46)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Kearney, Kearney
OdysseyOdyssey
(48)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Hastings, Grand Island
Booked 7 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi

About Sozo American Cuisine

Sozo American Cuisine is Kearney's favorite place to dine. Our Scratch kitchen uses the freshest ingredients and as much locally sourced meat's and produce as possible from right here in Nebraska. From fresh salads to gourmet sandwiches, and brick oven pizzas to fresh seafood, our kitchen has the best selection for any occasion. Try our infused cocktails, Nebraska beers and extensive wine list while entertaining your guest with the best ambiance around. Also try us out for catering or use our private room to host your next event. Sozo American Cuisine is where Kearney comes to Sip. Savor. Repeat.

110 S 2nd Ave
Kearney, NE 68847
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am-10:30am
Breakfast Buffet: Saturday & Sunday: 6:30am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 10:30am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Avenue and I-80

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(308) 455-3444

Website:
http://www.sozokearney.com/

Executive Chef:
Travis Evans

Private Party Facilities:
Our private room is in the back of the restaurant and can seat up to 30. Great place for rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, bachelor/bachelorette parties, and business meetings.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
31 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 19, 2016

I was sad to find out sozo's was no longer associated with open table. That will effect how often we go out there. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2015

I've been to Sozo multiple times for both dinner and lunch. The food and service has been consistently great! Servers are always friendly and helpful. The food is original and fantastic. The value is awesome for the quality of food. Strongly recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 5, 2015

We had a very nice dining experience. Had the chimchurri steak salad. It was very good. Usually this restaurant is pretty loud, but tonight the level was very good, though the restaurant was pretty busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2015

I had low expectations, but my tuna risotto was excellent and my wife's pasta was very good, too. These guys were also just a finalist for top 5 burgers in the state. Definitely worth a visit for quality, casual dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 18, 2015

We were seated next to the kitchen which is open.
That was not good for the ambience!
Service was ok. She was efficient but not real friendly.
Food came in a timely manner . The filet was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2015

We were travelling across the country (from Las Vegas to Chicago) and were looking for some good food at a local eatery. Sozo turned out to be a welcome find. Everyone tried something different from the menu. The Shrimp w/Grits was outstanding and a very accommodating but not oversized portion. Ribeye was great, but we would have liked the bone on, otherwise, cooked to perfection. The Tuna w/Risotto was perfectly seared and tasty. One of the specials, Scottish Salmon, was good but the portion was very small. We didn't have dessert but enjoyed drinks with our meal, wine and beer selections were good but they were out of the beer we selected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2015

Food was on time for each course. Lettuce chicken wraps app was difficult to eat. Desert appeared to be premade. Like a Mrs. Field's cheesecake dressed up with some Hershey's chocolate syrup. But since it was our anniversary it free. So whatever. I had the hanger steak with chimicurri sauce. It was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 28, 2015

I try to enjoy all my special occasions here. The food is top notch and the service is amazing. This is literally the best place in Kearney.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2015

We had dinner here following our daughter's graduation from UNK. My wife had seen the chef interviewed on local television a few months before. The reviews we read were also positive. We were not disappointed. Locally sourced meat and produce, coupled with good preparation made this a delightful and memorable evening. Everyone enjoyed their steaks, pasta and other menu items. A very nice meal. Our server was quite good, also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 6, 2015

The salmon and spring pasta were very good. The lime coconut cake was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 25, 2015

If I'm being completely honest the ribeye steak I ordered was cooked to perfect medium rare as I ordered, however it was apparent they missed seasoning my steak with any form of salt and/or pepper. The steak really didn't have a flavor profile other than the beef flavor. Other than that the dining experience was quite good. My wife's steak was seasoned well and the sides and service were good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2015

If you are find yourself in Kearney at a conference (as I did) this is a good location. I had the butternut Squash lasagne and I liked it. The prices were high but overall it was worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 21, 2015

Wonderful food with great Nebraska/local raised items! Our server on the other hand wasn't the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 27, 2014

NE steaks are all locally purchased and identified. One of the best I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2014

I've eaten at Sozo 3 times now and I keep going back. I usually eat a full dinner but this time I wanted to try their pizza. Being a big fan of crab rangoon, I gave their version of this treat on a pizza, a try. The pizza crust was very good, the white sauce was good but there was WAY too much Sweet Asian Chili sauce on it. It completely overpowered the other flavors. I never even tasted the crab or cream cheese because of it. If I were to order this again, I would get the sauce on the side. This pizza is a great idea and could be awesome but the execution missed on this one. That said, I love Sozo and I will go back. This is the first thing I've tried there that I didn't care for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 26, 2014

salad dressing was very good. rest of our food was ok, not bad, just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 2, 2014

I do not recommended. I have many complains about my experience in this restaurant. Many mistakes with the order, too laud, it took too long between we ordered and food served. I would not make more reservations in Sozo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 21, 2014

Had a lovely and delicious meal with my parents (local) they were delighted and impressed as well.
Service was attentive and friendly.
Lovely restaurant, a great addition to the Kearney food scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2014

We've dined at Sozo many times. The food has been wonderful every time and the presentation is magazine worthy. My husband and I love that we can enjoy fine quisine in the middle of Nebraska. Before, we'd need to drive to Lincoln, Omaha, or Denver. Prices are comparable to local chain restaurants, but at Sozo we get chef creations, not your normal fare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 4, 2014

Excellent food! Have been there many times and am never disappointed. Would encourage others to go. You get a lot of food for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 29, 2014

GREAT FOOD!! Great service and very nice place :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 2, 2014

The service was a bit slow. The food was excellent. I made the online reservation for 6 on the 2nd and received email confirmation of that reservation on the 5th, days after we had eaten there.,

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2014

This restaruant is a welcome addition to the Kearney scene. You really can't get food like this in western nebraska. We've tried most of the menu by now as it's a favorite spot we frequent often and you can't go wrong with anything. At first glance the menu looks limited but when everything is done WELL and you want to try it all it you realize it is just the right size. As far as appetizers go the lettuce wraps never disappoint and the hot wing dip is decadent and delicious. The curried lobster rosotto is a must-try as well as the crab rangoon pizza and the kale caesar salad. They also do steak very, very well. Desserts and drinks are always stellar. When there is a chef's feature-order it, trust me. You really can't go wrong at Sozo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Service and drinks were excellent. The food, was just alright but the prices are way too high for What it is.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Went for Valentines Day dinner. The food was outstanding. The service was alright, but a little slow. Our dinner took 2 hours from the time we sat down to the time we got the check. I was a little disappointed that they were marketing a special valentines day menu but that menu turned out to be nothing more than a couple new desserts. Still a great place to eat, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2014

We had reservations and were seated immediately. our server was friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and hot. The drinks were a great compliment to the dinner. We were very impressed, especially since it was a busy weekend night AND it was Valentine's. We will definitely dine at SoZo again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2013

My wife and I dined at SoZo for New Years Eve. The food, service and atmosphere was outstanding. We have no complaints and would eat there again when visiting in Kearney.

Boomer

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 30, 2013

Blackened tuna risotto was great and the tuna was cooked perfect medium rare. The seafood paella was very good as well. The crab cakes are a great starter. But unfortunately they have chosen to not have cocktail sauce available. This is very strange for a place that serves seafood, especially when they have chili sauce on numerous dishes as well as horseradish which are the main components of a cocktail sauce. Also when asked for the sauce the owner seemed annoyed which is very strange, especially when you are suppose to serve your customers as well as possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 20, 2013

We had lunch after the UNK graduation and most of the restaurant was reserved for graduation parties. In spite of most people showing up about the same time, our service was great! We ordered apitizers that arrived quickly and our meal was equally fast after we ordered. Although the service was fast, we were never rushed and felt very comfortable sitting and enjoying our meal with family and friends. The food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 28, 2013

Drinks were good but over priced. The food was good, but again overpriced. This restaurant needs to remember it is located in Kearney, NE, not a major metro area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2013

The restaurant is not what you expect. Fusion, interesting food in the middle of Nebraska. It is inside the Holiday Inn, but it beautifully decorated and quite visually appealing. They do have a sports bar that is also gorgeous but I imagine may get noisy on game days.

My friend had a fresh salad with homemade sweet corn fritters and slightly blackened shrimp and a very light but very tasty dressing. It was very good yet very different.

I had their brick oven hawaiian pizza that also was unique with fresh ingredients and fresh sweet sausage. It equally any gourmet pizza.

I did not try the house favorite 50/50 burger made of 50% chuck, 50% ground bacon, and a fried egg on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.