Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Southern Rail

The people that brought you Beckett’s Table invite you to experience the Southern Rail. Soulful, warm and centered around community, the Southern Rail offers flavors of the American South elevated by Chef Justin Beckett’s inspired signature style. Diners will enjoy a journey of nostalgic flavors accented by a robust wine program in a genuinely comfortable setting.

300 W. Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tues -Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sun, Mon 5:00 pm-9:00 pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11-3 pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday 10-3 pm
Social Hour 7 days a week 3:00 pm - 6 :00 pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 200-0085

Website:
http://www.southernrailaz.com/

Parking Details:
Self park parking lot.

Public Transit:
Light rail station (Central & Camelback)
Bus stop (Central Ave/Camelback Rd Transit Center)

Executive Chef:
Justin Beckett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in creating a wonderful experience for you and your guests: whether it is a bridal shower, business lunch or family gathering.
We have multiple options to choose from including our Private Dining Room, bar side Community Table, our East Garden Patio with fireplace, or the South Umbrella Canopy Patio. Please email us for details and pricing at events@Southernrailaz.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We specialize in creating a wonderful experience for you and your guests: whether it is a bridal shower, business lunch or family gathering.

Southern Rail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (29)
Casual (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent everything AAA+++Excellent everything AAA+++

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great service and food. Fun atmosphere with neighborhood feel.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Delicious food, the sangria was perfect, and great service.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Vegan, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Honestly me and my girl came here because we were really curious about the restaurant especially since its just s few minutes from the house. But what we didn't realize is how much we would love it! Great staff, comfy environment, amazing food and a great drink/wine list. I'll be coming back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We took friends to Southern Rail. There were so many fun things on the menu that we all shared. Really good fried chicken, roasted cauliflower, fried green tomatoes. Macaroni and cheese good and very rich. Red beans and rice just ok. Smoked trout (good) served with an edamame cake (tasty) and tomato jam that was just too sweet and overpowering for the trout. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The Dinners we had at Soutern Rail were just OK. Not great. Not awful. Disappointing, because I have had Lunch there on 6 different occasions. Each Lunch visit was very good.Really enjoyable. Good value. Dinner, not so much. AZBrian

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great menu, excellent food, good ambiance, great service. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 13, 2017

First time at Southern Rail. Great ambience, great service and great food. Fried green tomatoes were heavenly- just the right texture and seasoning. Will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I would recommend for any occasion. Everything was very good..except for the Red beans & rice
Not the way I prefer it. Did not like the seasoning & prefer with Ham & or sausage in it. We will be back to try other things. The rest of our food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Southern Rail was a featured restaurant on "Check Please Arizona". We decided to try it for my husband's birthday lunch. It was a great choice. We will definitely make a return visit!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went with Family members, we all enjoyed the Happy Hour specials. our mains were all tasty and enjoyed !

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great atmosphere and very friendly staff. Unique menu choices. Cauliflower appetizer is fantastic. Chicken dumplings were a little bland. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Appetizers were not impressive. Main course made up for it, very delicious. You will feel better about eating here if you goo during happy hour. You can try the, not so great, appetizers fairly cheap and the drinks are marked down a few dollars. Main courses (gumbo and fried chicken) were delicious. Made up for the horrible cornbread and deviled eggs. Atmosphere was nice and service was great.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server Thomas was great, Had us to feel very comfortable.
the fried chicken was the best i have had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Very friendly atmosphere and service and great food and drink.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our first time there and had a terrific evening. Comfortable, great ambiance and friendly attentive service. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great modern southern restaurant in heart of Phoenix. Large airy dining room with a contemporary vibe. Great wait staff. Food is above average. Stand-outs are the fried chicken, ribs and enchiladas. Decent wine list and mixed drinks were good as well. Next to Changing Hands Bookstore. Have fun and eat well!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Went for daughters 17th birthday, before a show at the Herberger. We had the fried chicken, chicken and dumplings. Off the happy hour menu we ordered the red beans and rice,gumbo and fried okra. Every dish was delicious. This is our second visit.Our first was the Mother days brunch and everything was delicious then too along with complimentary champagne

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went for the Friend chicken and bubbles event. Our waiter Wyatt was amazing. Really made us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time visit...Will definitely return. Our food was excellent and the service was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was just ok, I had fried chicken and the outside was crispy but not favorable and the inside was not moist as I had hoped for. My side of grits was the best part of my meal, very good.
The noise level, mostly banging dishes and noise from the kitchen was so loud we couldn't even hear each other talk. The banana pudding and fresh ginger cookies were outstanding, next time I'll just get that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great Fathers Day Dinner. I was looking forward to the fried chicken for weeks and it didn't disappoint! Only reason the ambiance wasn't a five was a pesky fly that bother us a little, but other than that it was a great Sunday dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was my third time dining here, and I have had a great experience all three times. If you get here before 6, they have "social" prices with discounts on apps and drinks. The fried green tomatoes with pimento cheese appetizer is my favorite thing here, but the fried chicken is a close second. I can never say no to begniets and a cafe au lait to end the night, almost as good as Cafe Du Monde.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Southern Rail has a very creative menu. We have had dinner here a few times, and it never disappoints. Fried Chicken is the best! Lively restaurant with limited selection, but all very solid choices. The beer and wine selection is very good.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great service and good food. Excellent options for kids and kid-friendly service but oddly the facilities lacks restrooms that can accommodate a family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A little pricey, $22 for fried chicken , but it was very good fried chicken and you get a lot, husband really enjoyed the gumbo and my daughter liked her burger. We live in In the north valley and it was well worth the drive, we will be back

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is my first visit to Southern Rail, it was not bad but it was not great. The service was fast and friendly and I never had an empty drink. The food was eehhh not bad but not good for the dollar. BUT, I would try this place again the food I ordered the first time around which were the Ribs did not win me over but I felt like there is something here so I will give it another chance. Not every item at every restaurant it a winner so I will try something else and see how that goes and give a better opinion. There was enough good in the place to give it another try I guess you can say.

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I love this place because the food and customer service are phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good home cooking, done exceptionally well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very good food. If you are a biscuits and gravy fan, have them here! They were so good and had them with a side of collard greens, very tasty! Had enough to take home and have for dinner!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The stafff was excellent. The food was what we expected!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. Fried green tomatoes as good as Grandma's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Southern Rail is always a great choice for terrific food, drinks and good times with friends. Service is friendly and helpful. Love the appetizer board.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A different dining venue and food. Some interesting combos of sandwiches. Beef a little pricey.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were on vacation and looking for one of the best restaurants in Phoenix and happened upon the Thrillist review for Southern Rail. It did not disappoint! The burgers were to die for and our daughter enjoyed her kids meal. We only wished we had discovered this place earlier in the trip because we likely would have gone back multiple times. The attached book store was also amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Not many places you can get beignets in Phoenix. Southern Rail provides some good and unique dishes and drinks for folks, who miss the variety of the Southeast. The service is always first rate. The servers are very attentive and accommodating. You can go in business or casual attire. Very nice garden view from inside, nice patio outside for cooler months. I do not know that many people know about this (it is overshadowed by next door's Changing Hands Bookstore), but they should!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a great brunch and the server was amazing. We're definitely going to return for lunch and dinner

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We saw Southern Rail reviewed on an episode of Check Please, Arizona, and decided to give it a try prior to a show at Phoenix Theater. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable, the service was excellent, and the food was delicious. Had the most amazing BLT salad, and I'd go back just for the banana pudding dessert. Banana pudding over a gingerbread crust with banana chips on top. Yummy. We're sure to visit again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was delicious. Went there for a my bday and had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Service was excellent. Staff had a great knowledge of the local Arizona wines that they offer.
Food was also great.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.