Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Southern Rail

The people that brought you Beckett’s Table invite you to experience the Southern Rail. Soulful, warm and centered around community, the Southern Rail offers flavors of the American South elevated by Chef Justin Beckett’s inspired signature style. Diners will enjoy a journey of nostalgic flavors accented by a robust wine program in a genuinely comfortable setting.

300 W. Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tues -Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sun, Mon 5:00 pm-9:00 pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11-3 pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday 10-3 pm
Social Hour 7 days a week 3:00 pm - 6 :00 pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 200-0085

Website:
http://www.southernrailaz.com/

Parking Details:
Self park parking lot.

Public Transit:
Light rail station (Central & Camelback)
Bus stop (Central Ave/Camelback Rd Transit Center)

Executive Chef:
Justin Beckett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in creating a wonderful experience for you and your guests: whether it is a bridal shower, business lunch or family gathering.
We have multiple options to choose from including our Private Dining Room, bar side Community Table, our East Garden Patio with fireplace, or the South Umbrella Canopy Patio. Please email us for details and pricing at events@Southernrailaz.com

Specials

$25 BBQ & Bourbon (MON & TUE nights)

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

1/2 OFF BOTTLES Arizona Wine (SUN & MON nights)

Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

DAILY Social Hour (3:00-6:00pm)

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

$25 BBQ & Bourbon (MON & TUE nights)

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

"Always something smoked" is the credo in the kitchen. Each week chef creates a generous platter of meats, stews, or seafood complimented with sides ranging from pickled veggies, slaw, or hoppin' john. Wash it down with (2) select bourbons for $25. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with other discounts or promotions. Special valid Feb 13, 2017 - Jun 13, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Dads are the best and what better way to treat dad than with our house-made Original BT Burger? Or maybe Dad is a Fork-tender Short Rib fan, served with creamy mashed potatoes and seasonal veggies. He can wash it all down with nearly 140 wines to choose from our temperature controlled cellar.

1/2 OFF BOTTLES Arizona Wine (SUN & MON nights)

Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us for half off all Arizona BOTTLES of wine every Sun & Mon evenings from 5:00-9:00pm anywhere in the Dining Room, Community Table or Bar. Indulge in Callaghan, Dos Cabezas, Sand Reckoner, Rune wines and more. Support locally grown AZ Wines!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 19, 2017 - Jun 19, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

DAILY Social Hour (3:00-6:00pm)

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us for SOCIAL HOUR: discounts on select small plates (ex: gumbo, fried green tomatoes, blt salad), $4 draught beers, $5 select wines and $6 select specialty cocktails. (Dine-in only, not valid with to-go orders or other discounts or promotions). Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations are not accepted for this event. Special valid Feb 13, 2017 - Jun 13, 2017 on Mondays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We specialize in creating a wonderful experience for you and your guests: whether it is a bridal shower, business lunch or family gathering.

Southern Rail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Casual (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Authentic (19)
Fun (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
People Watching (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fireplace (10)
Business Meals (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Live Music (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (0)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was excellent. Staff had a great knowledge of the local Arizona wines that they offer.
Food was also great.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Wanted to check out a new place during Arizona Restaurant Week, but left disappointed. The food was okay. Nothing special or memorable. I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was really great and Scott (one of the owners and managers) does a great job ensuring diners have a great experience. Must try for restaurant week, and I look forward to coming back to try more of the menu.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the time here. Saw it reviewed on "Check Please" and glad we tried it out.

Plan to bring out of town guests here later.

Thank you!

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

We had been wanting to try Southern Rail for quite some time now and finally had the opportunity. Unfortunately, we were disappointed with our experience. The service was poor at best. It took about ten minutes for us to get our drinks after placing our order and the it took along time for our waiter to get back to us to place a food order. We ordered an appetizer and then soups, salad and entrees. We had the cauliflower appetizer, which wasn't anything special. Upon finishing the appetizer, the soups, salad and entrees were delivered to the table all at once. When the waiter saw the confused look on our faces, he asked if we want our meal to come out in courses? I just assumed that's how it would have come out, unless they explain to you ahead of time that it's family style and will be coming out together. Sadly, we were all disappointed in the service and didn't feel the food was anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Seated on the patio which was great, nice ambience. Draft beer selection was just OK. Started with fried green tomatoes and corn muffins. Both were very good. Wife had the burger and I had the braised pork. Ended with the beignets which were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Had restaurant week menu-everything good except for red velvet cake which was dry and very small.
Had the cauliflower appetizer and jambalaya-very tasty and plenty served. Husband had the salad and the salmon which he enjoyed along with banana pudding for dessert that was delicious!
They have a really good menu which is a plus - nice southern dishes - red beans and rice always good. Try it- you'll like it!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Honestly a good spot to eat only regret is I haven't came here sooner. It's super clean, looks nice, excellent service, and awesome food. Leftovers the next day was bomb 👌🏾👌🏾👌🏾

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great Mother's Day Brunch. They were able to accommodate our toddler in a manner that didn't disturb other guests. Excellent brunch menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great ambience, wonderful cuisine, casual and relaxed. Waiter Jake was helpful and courteous.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love Beckett's table, but the Southern Rail menu tries too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great southern style dishes.
Good gluten free options for celiacs

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, great service, fun times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

From start to finish the experience was excellent and the food was great tasting and the service was superior the drinks were awesome toO

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Had a wonder evening celebrating an early Mother's Day and a first wedding anniversary. The service was outstanding and we had fun tasting each other's dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Every occasion feels "special" when we dine at Southern Rail! Menu has plenty of options for those on special diets, and all dishes are amazing! When the weather permits, sitting outside is relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and good selection of Arizona wines. Not to mention the beignets!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2017

First Timer, Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love going to Southern Rail and have taken many friends there for the comfortable ambiance, relaxed dining, delicious food and options. Great bar menu, too!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I can say that I really enjoyed the food and music. Its a great place to take friends and family even great for a first date. I will definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Flavor galore! I had the flat iron steak and it was layers of flavor. So good. The server was upbeat and very helpful. This is a very good restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It is as you might guess: Southern in nature and production. The surprise might be the extent of their whiskey offerings - I mean - no moonshine? They actually don't need it because you can absolutely find a mix that satisfies. Their version of a sazerac was my choice but everyone else ventured further into creative mixes and no one was disappointed.
I'll tell you my opinion: I could have done a whole dinner of appetizers and been happy: fried green tomatoes, okra fritter like bites, devilled eggs (not spicy enough though) etc. For sides: if you like collard greens: DAMN GOOD!
I chose the fried chicken and it was enormous - a bit over the top with the breading but I confess it was quite well eaten and very crunchy to my liking.
They did a nice job with the grandson I was entertaining - and tolerated us (him) wanting to run around outside on their patio away from the tables - nice view of traffic for a 2-year-old who enjoyed the trolleys, busses etc.
Nearby is a GREAT bookstore and garden shop! Definitely you should plan to visit!!! (We did and it helped entertain the 2-year-old AND ME)

Tags: Family Style, Spicy, Happy Hour, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Awesome meal and terrific waitress. Totally love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was okay...not outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch and the food was wonderful. Our server was excellent and did not rush us at all, in spite of the full house.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a previous lunch experience at Southern Rail and it was not great. Our friends asked us to try the dinner menu and unfortunately our experience was actually worse. Our waitress was not engaging and at times appeared to be unhappy. The food took nearly 45 minutes to be delivered and the drinks were okay. Sorry for the experience, will not return. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We really enjoyed Southern Rail! The salmon was cooked to perfection. The ribs were awesome, and the apps were great! We loved the outdoor seating, and the open design of the restaurant. I'd definitely head back again! They were out of a lot of dishes, which was a bit of a bummer. Other than that, great great spot in Phoenix!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food and service were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This restaurant is awesome!! The food is great, the service is top notch. Great variety on the menu. The only downside is the street noise, but it is not noticeable most of the time. and there are plants and umbrellas blocking the view (for the most part) which helps. I love the open air. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to everyone. Great for dates, business, or a night out with friends. Very versatile!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My daughter's birthday was so enjoyable tonight. Great food and even better service. Leslie made our visit so perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Small drinks. Almost couldn't find the hamburger in the muffuletta it had to be a whopping 2 ounces of meat. Pork loin was dry. Was going to try chef's other restaurant but won't take the chance now. Plenty of better places in Phoenix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The jambalaya was excellent. There was a problem with my friend's fried chicken being undercooked but the wait staff and manager were very professional in dealing with the problem and even provided us with complimentary beignets, which were excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Ambiance was nice and food was okay. My daughter got the fried chicken it's was amazing and juicy. I got the ribs they were not that good to me but I am hard on any one who says smoked when they are not really smoked. My wife loved her salad but my sons burger was nothing to write home about. The drinks were great and I would recommend reserving table on patio were you can hear the jazz. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We finally attended their Sunday Jazz. The music was great and the food was too. Delicious avocado toast, but beware it's a big serving. The ribs were meaty, succulent and the perfect amount of spicy, and the pork was delicious. We'll be back for more Jazz, food and drinks often.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

OUTSTANDING!!!! A-(FREAKING)-MAY-ZING!!!
So we saw this restaurant on an episode of Check!Please Arizona, and the way the guest described the restaurant and showcased the food; we just had to try Southern Rail.
We arrived early for our OpenTable reservation and we were able to be seated early. The waiter we had was very good, all the staff was very very friendly. The drinks and food came out quick. We started with the Fried Green Tomato and Pimento Cheese appetizer it was great. For dinner we ordered The Fried Chicken that came with corn and mashed potatoes, this is THE BEST FRIED CHICKEN and mashed potatoes I have ever had! We also ordered BBQ Ribs that came with Brioche Rolls and succotash, also we ordered the macaroni and cheese and corn bread. The ribs were the best ribs I have had at a restaurant. All the food was extremely fresh and delicious. This restaurant is in my top three in Arizona the food was amazing, the service was outstanding, and we had a really enjoyable experience. I definitely recommend Southern Rail, I will definitely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Reminiscent of Charleston, this welcome addition provides a Southern flair in metropolitan Phoenix.
Food was well prepared and paired, service was outstanding. Highly recommend this place as a go-to.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fun, Modern Decor, People Watching, Casual, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

One of my top restaurants! The food is always outstanding, and the service very good. The cocktails, and wine list is admirable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

It was wonderful! Met Up With friends, Ran Into friends, sevice by seth was impeccable. great Gathering spot. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Four good friends chose Soythern Rail because of excellent reviews in the newspaper and on 'Check Please, Arizona'. We were very pleased with everything about this special place, and plan on returning soon!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing food!! Everything was delicious! Great atmosphere and fun area to be in.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.