Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About South End Buttery

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining seasonal, local ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus or contact our catering manager at catering@southendbuttery.com.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Matthew McPherson, Executive Chef

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a sit-down dinner or 30-35 for a cocktail party. Our downstairs dining room can accommodate 30-35 guests for s private seated dinner. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening, depending on the day of the week booked. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Specials

Monday - Friday Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Saturday - Sunday Happy Hour!

Saturdays and Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Monday - Friday Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Burger, Brew & Fries $20 Sunday - Monday all night. Shrimp Taco Tuesdays all night. Pimm's & Fried Clams Wednesdays all night. Other Weekday Specials 4 -6pm include Lobster Grilled Cheese, Chicken Quesadillas and Sweet Pea Hummus & Pita. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 9, 2017 - Dec 9, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Saturday - Sunday Happy Hour!

Saturdays and Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Burger, Brew & Fries $20 Sunday - Monday all night. Shrimp Taco Tuesdays all night. Pimm's & Fried Clams Wednesdays all night. Other Saturday - Sunday Specials 4 -6pm include Lobster Grilled Cheese, Chicken Quesadillas and Sweet Pea Hummus & Pita. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 9, 2017 - Dec 9, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (17)
See All
Casual (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Great food. If your lucky enough to sit at the Bar, Bartender is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Sub par service and food. Upon arrival, you can either walk through a hidden side door or trek through the right front coffee to get to the hostess stand. We waited awhile for the host to acknowledge us and no matter where you wait, you are in the way. Luckily, we had a reservation, which I highly recommend doing. Finally, we were seated and ordered 2 mimosas, coffee and a cappuccino. The waitress brought my coffee out and did not ask if I wanted cream/milk and the sugar dish was low. I had to ask for it when she brought the cappuccino and that took awhile. I ordered the wild mushroom omelet that came with a salad and toast. Our food took forever. Omelet was bland and it was disappointing that it came with a salad rather than home fries. I have been here once before but decided to give another chance. Another disappointing experience. I will not come back or recommend here. There are way better brunch places in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Loved our dinner there! The bartender/waiter is fantastic. Food comes quickly and is always delicious! The cocktails are amazing too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Only downside was the wait time, we had a reservation and still had to wait about 30 minutes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Good quiet spot for a reunion with friends. Food was good, nothing memorable, but classic dishes with great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2017

it was pretty empty on the night we went. very much enjoyed my meal. the service wasn't up to par, friendly but not as polished as one would expect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My husband had the chicken parm and thought it one of the best he'd had recently. I had a turkey burger and thought it quite average - dry, unexceptional, uninteresting. So... mixed results. The wait staff was reasonably attentive but a little distracted, which was odd since the restaurant wasn't that busy while we dined. All-in-all, I would see no reason to go back, considering the prices were a little high for such results.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

By far my favorite spot in my home neighborhood. Buttery never lets me down, whether taking out or sitting down, breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Creative and fresh combinations for appetizers and entrees make for a wonderful dining experience every time.
Cheers to my South End "Cheers".

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Took our friends who were visiting from NYC. They loved it! The food and service were excellent. The fries were amazing, as were the pancakes and the bakery basket - highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food...decent value. Loved the Brussel sprouts. Pretty empty on a sat night before 7pm. Downstairs is small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The South End Buttery was an excellent choice for a small birthday celebration. The staff went above and beyond our expectation with service, kindness and care of our family, especially our elderly, cane reliant Grandfather! The food was terrific, especially the little Ricotta Donut and Bread basket offerings. The Bloody Mary's terrifically spicey and my Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict was perfect. The biscuit underneath was just the right consistency. Thank You for such a lovey time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went on a Thursday night. It was quieter than I expected but very cozy. Great service and good, straight-forward menu. Did not disappoint!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food and service was excellent but the downstairs gets very noisy and claustrophobic when busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Truly excellent. Perfection in terms of service, food, ambience, decor, etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Brunch was awesome. The home fries were particularly amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The Buttery has been offering 50% off meals for the final week or two of August. This is a great deal, and the food is terrific. We ate outside because it was beautiful weather. I've been here for brunch many times, and always find the service and the food to be terrific. Great local restaurants, coffee shop and bakery!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Enjoy the great food, because conversation is impossible in downstairs dining room.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I love this place! My favorite plates are the french toast and the pastry basket. Also one of the best chai latte in boston!

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I would avoid the pastry basket. Our basket contained a scone, a carrot muffin, and banana bread. Both the muffin and banana bread were very dry. The table across from us also abandoned their blueberry muffin. The scone was really good. I would opt for scones instead if you want something to nibble on.

The brunch cocktails were amazing.

I wish there were a non pork protein as a side option for breakfast items. Steak and eggs just felt to heavy and I wasn't feeling the salmon with eggs (note salmon is not cooked into the egg), so then I was left with no options. Aquitaine has delicious apple chicken sausage that I usually order on the side of an omelette. The mushroom omelette was good, but could have been more flavorful. One of my friends order the eggs Benedict and her eggs were slightly over cooked. The yolk was not at all runny.

It's super busy for Brunch, so do make a reservation. It cuts your wait time down to like 15-20 minutes at peak times. Without a reservation it's a 45-50 minute wait, sometimes longer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My favorite brunch place. Always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I met a colleague for brunch on Saturday at 9:15am. The food and service were perfect but the level of noise (downstairs) was a bit much for the business part of our conversation. Next time we will ask to sit in the cafe area or upstairs. Special note: We love that the restaurant called to confirm our reservation the night before and warned about the experience some have finding parking.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Tables for two are packed too close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Pancakes are amazing, and huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We enjoyed our visit. I got the fish & chips and liked that they didn't skimp on the fish. My wife loved the veggie burger. Solid neighborhood spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We attended the southend buttery for brunch with our adult children. We were excited to dine here as the reviews were outstanding and it was highly recommended. The food and service did not disappoint and everything we had was excellent. The portions were good as was the timing and service. However, we were seated in the lower level and the noise level was so high we could not complete one sentence without asking it to be repeated. There was no ability to have a 2 way conversation let alone a family discussion. It seemed the volume increased as the meal processed and I left feeling like we had paid a lot of money for a nice brunch which could have been eaten alone. I would only go back if I was able to requesting a table upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Dined downstairs for brunch and it was a fairly cozy. Menu was good with lots of choices for brunch. Salmon and eggs was filling. Fresh fruit was decent, more melons than any other fruit. Noise can get loud from conversations all around and being in a tight space. Upstairs bakery was airy and had lots of yummy choices.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I love brunch at The Buttery, but yesterday the service was terrible. After our first cup of coffee we were never offered a refill. When I asked ten minutes later our server refilled my cup and didn't offer a refill to anyone else and everyone would have said yes. We couldn't believe how rude and inattentive our servers were. Normally I can't wait to go back, but I think I will be trying some new brunch spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were excited to go as we had read good reviews about the restaurant. We got there and were seated downstairs and then the service issues began as we sat for a while as there was a mix up in who our server was. This was a 5:30pm reservation and there was only one other table at the time. Finally our server arrived and we ordered several small plates to come out one at a time which we do all the time. The first two plates came out together and we asked that the next plates come out separately as we were sharing the food. It took a while and then the third plate came out. There was also a long wait for the fourth plate and a second ordered drink. The final straw was the last plate which was an entrée order did not show up. We were there for over 20 minutes without anyone coming to the table or to explaining what happened or what the situation was - so we got our bill and paid for the food we had. I worked in restaurants in high school and college and I have two family members who run restaurants so I try to give restaurants a break if there are service issues because I lived through them and can understand how some things get lost in the rush but literally there was 4 tables in use. The food was very good and was what we hoped it would be. The problem was the service was so bad it ruined the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Smaller then average portions
Slow service
50% off Sunday-Wednesday in July was a great perk and the only reason I would go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband and I selected The Buttery so we could sit outside on a fairly quiet street, and have an uncomplicated meal. We had several appetizers- loved the asparagus and avocado toast- great flavors and pretty looking. Also had the roasted cauliflower. Then we had roast chicken with the cheesy polenta. It was moist and flavorful––simple but delicious. The service wasn't stellar (a large party with family/friends of the owner had her primary attention) but it was pleasant nonetheless. The Buttery menu has just enough variety so that you can go back multiple times and not be stuck in a rut. The new cafe level dining spaces created by their recent renovation look appealing when you can't be outside.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were seating in the basement which seemed more like a hallway area near the waiter stand. Service was slow and inconsistent. Our mugs for coffee were barely even filled halfway. Food was decent though but I wouldn't go back for sit down service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My dish, the lobster pie, excellent. My wife had calimari and fries. Fries came out cold, calimari barely warm. We have had brunch here many times, and this was the first time we had such an episode. They had the common sense to take her meal off the bill.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Overall, the food vas excellent ... hot, fresh and really delicious. Our table requested two small modifications to our orders, and unfortunately neither of them were for filled, even though it's a brunch rush had slowed and the restaurant was very quiet by the time we placed our order. Both requests only involved leaving something off ... butter off toast and a burger without aioli ... and although it wasn't the end of the world, it would've been nice if the cook had paid a little more attention to detail, especially since the kitchen was not busy at the time.

The bigger issue with our meal came from the presence of an uninvited guest. Before our food arrived, a mouse ran back-and-forth across the floor of the restaurant and over my daughter's foot under the table. I realize we were in the south end, and it's nearly impossible to keep rodents at bay, but it was the manager's response, or lack there of, that was more upsetting. Our server came right over to us and when we told her what had happened, she went and told both managers on duty about the uninvited guest. They sent her back with an explanation that the back door had been left open earlier in the day, and that was how the mouse probably came into the restaurant. There was no apology from the managers, they didn't come to our table to make sure everything was OK, and they didn't take anything off our bill. We didn't ask for anything, but it would've been nice to have some sort of apology or at least a recognition that having a mouse run across your foot during a meal is at the very least unpleasant. Any acknowledgment from management would have been appreciated, and we were very disappointed at the lack of customer service that showed. Again, the restaurant was very slow by the time this happened. In fact, we were the only people in the downstairs room by the time our food came, so I'm sure the manager could have taken a minute or two from their day to make sure they are guests were satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The 50% off dinner promotion Sun-Wed in July is AMAZING. I've been here twice in two weeks, whoops. The food was delicious again and the employees are all very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Tempted to go back because of 50% off to introduce the new chef and new menu.
Food was okay; not great; and looked like the same old menu. Adequate and convenient neighborhood spot, ok for coffee, lunch, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Their brunch is just great - the kale and brussels salad and the big breakfast bowl are amazing. Great location on a quiet street, really a pleasure to come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Haven't been to Buttery in a couple of years and only 1 time previously for dinner. This before-theater dinner was fabulous! It was early in the evening, so downstairs was quiet and uncrowded, which was perfect. Menu was creative and delicious! Everything we had was fabulous and would have gladly had more. This is a great place and I am eager to add it into my rotation when I am in the area!

Shayla provided great service, was very personable, and made helpful suggestions.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.