Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About South End Buttery

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining seasonal, local ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Andrea Nordby, Culinary Director

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to discuss large party reservations. We are a small restaurant, but we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

Private Party Contact:
Richard Gordon: (617) 549-2776

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a semi-private sit-down dinner or cocktail party. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening. Rates depend on the day of the week booked and start at $125 per guest for weeknights and $150 per guest for Friday and Saturday nights. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Join us for great Father's Day cocktail and specials!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Casual (19)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (14)
Fireplace (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
1436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always a wonderful place! Great lattes, great buttery breakfast (pancakes, bacon, eggs, maple syrup... !!!), great eggs Benedict! THUMBS UP! Always recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Awesome! Everything was prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The menu at the South End Buttery is excellent, but the service is very slow. Last Saturday evening, we waited almost 10 minutes before our sever acknowledged our presence and served us water. It was another 10 minutes before she returned to take our drink and appetizer order. The downstairs seating area was not particularly crowded that particular evening.

I suspect the restaurant is under staffed. I try not to hold servers responsible for delays in the kitchen. But, the slow wait service really ruined our experience last Saturday night. It is too bad, since the South End Buttery is one of my favorite neighborhood eateries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We made a last minute reservation on Friday night and it worked out perfectly. We had a burrata and green strawberry appetizer that was delicious! I had a turkey burger--very moist and flavorful. My partner had the chicken parm and really liked it. The waitress was very attentive and friendly. We sat in the lower level which is loud, but charming with exposed brick and stone. Overall great time.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Get the french toast when you have brunch! Of course, all the baked goods are fantastic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We've heard good things about the restaurant and decided to give it a try. While the staff were friendly, the place was busy and we were seated at a table that stuck out halfway into a very busy doorway - lots of unintentional (we hope) kicks and bumps made for an interesting balancing act with cocktails thrown in. The food was good, but we felt bad for the staff that seemed overworked. We might try again, as we suspect a different seat might provide a different experience, but overall, we had a pleasant enough experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was delicious as always. It was a little pricey, but everything was really tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Menu listed items incorrectly; some items on menu were not available; food was terrible. Very disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, great location and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Overall food was great. Started with the Romaine salad which the server split for us since we were sharing and had the muscles which were very tasty. Lobster Mac n cheese could have used a little more flavor but the lobster pot pie was fantastic. Our server was very attentive and had a good sense of humor. The table next to us was a very loud party so wasn't great for a date night meal but overall would go back and would recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and drinks, however we did not receive very good service. Our server was not attentive, once we even realized who our server was. It was very bizarre. It seemed like he was the manager just stepping in? We waited a very long time for water, drinks, etc. and he had very dirty fingernails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Nice restaurant, service was great.
I was there with friends everyone enjoyed their meals but me, I ordered the skirt steak and it was very tough I ended up eating half of my friend's roaster chicken which was very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've come to the Buttery several times for brunch and I've yet to be disappointed. Unfortunately, my friend and I were not all that adventurous (I got the eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and he got two eggs with smoked salmon) but both our plates were completely spotless by the end which I think says most of what you need to know. The eggs Benedict are served on home made biscuits, which are phenomenal, warm and flaky on the inside but just the right amount of crisp on the outside. The hollandaise sauce is pretty good too, and the poached eggs run nicely when you break into them. If you're a first time bruncher at South End Buttery, I don't think you can go wrong with the Salmon Eggs Benedict. They do all of the other classics as well, pancakes, waffles, french toast etc. It may be at the upper end of some people's acceptable brunch price range at $25 (with coffee, no alcoholic beverages)--but I think it is definitely worth it. The only negative I could point out would be the layout of the upstairs. If you get seated at a high top table (which if you're a table of two, you quite likely will) then you sort of sit on top of your neighbors to your right or left. However, since it is such a desirable brunch spot, I think I appreciate that they try and squeeze in as many people as possible. Regardless of the rush the service is pretty fast, and if memory serves me at least a few of the waiters have been there for several years and their experience definitely helps at busier times.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Historic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The front part is being renovated, so there were not many patrons. Service is great, food delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went here for Easter brunch with my family from out of town. Great options to cater to people with less adventurous palates without compromising on their other dishes. Probably not best for groups larger than 4.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Really like this place but they should have disclosed that they were going to be open during their renovations because it effected where we could sit. Also, it was extremely hot in the downstairs where we had to sit (because of the reno), to the point of major discomfort. But we couldn't sit upstairs because the noise from the reno was unbearable...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Southend Buttery has fantastic food and vibe. Not the best if you're looking for a quiet time with someone or some friends as it's packed and wooden floors combine for a louder than usual atmosphere. But the vibe, food, and drinks are all worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Love this place for brunch, tried it for dinner and was not disappointed. Good drinks and the shrimp fra diavolo was very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Accommodated us right before closing on a Sunday night! We were hosting ministers from out of town and they were totally charmed! Thanks for a great meal- especially the Brussels sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

They should have listed the site was under renovation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great neighborhood bar/restaurant in a quaint section of the South End. Small restaurant with good food. Great place to meet up with friends or bring a date.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We had a nice evening at the Buttery, despite mixed feelings about the food. We started with a butternut bisque that tasted more like liquid corn muffin than butternut, but was delicious. The entrees (hanger steak, meatloaf, lobster pot pie) were okay - though not quite up to what we expected. The ambiance is lovely in the basement room next to the gas fireplace, and the service was very good. For dessert, we had an above-average chocolate cake from the Buttery's bakery. Our family hasn't been to the Buttery in a long time, and, in our memories, the food was a notch better. Given the prices (unfortunately, a bit out of our normal range), it may be a long time before we return again. Nonetheless, we retain a fondness for the place. It's cozy and comfortable. We'd eat there often if we were wealthy South-Enders.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a tight squeeze, but they are in the middle of a renovation. The food was great! I would happily go back. Great brunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I used to love coming to this place... the meatloaf is amazing. Unfortunately this time around we got stuck at a table in what I would consider a hallway in the lower level. The lights were going up and down the whole time (apparently no one working that night knew how to use them). And to top it off it was freezing because the door is at the top of the stairs. I had a friend form out of town visiting and was hoping for a lot more! Not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food and service were amazing! They have one of the best Eggs Benedicts in Boston. All of their Eggs Benedicts come on these terrific biscuits instead of an English muffin. Their hollandaise is perfect and the salmon they use for the salmon Eggs Benedict is extremely fresh. Their more simple brunch options, like the pancakes, are also out of this world. If you're into cocktails, this is a perfect place; their drink menu is extraordinary and has something for everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent place. The food is excellent - creative without being crazy. Clearly fresh, well prepared and beautifully plated. Service was quite good, professional and friendly, very welcoming.
Undergoing renovations in the café so it was a little noisy, but frankly, I expected it to be worse when I walked in and when seated, it was not that bad.
Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was okay. They were doing construction and offered us free baked goods to apologize for the noise. I would definitely return back for their chocolate chip cookies, maybe not for my order of steak and eggs or my boyfriends pancake special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We've been coming to The Buttery for about 6-7 yrs. The food is always good and the ambiance is great. However, we noticed the last couple of times we've been there that the drinks (which we're great before) are nowhere near as good (we've sent them back the last two times and we never do that). The service also has suffered. We're very disappointed because this was our go-to restaurant ☹️

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I was recommended by a friend and decided to check this place out. The first time I visited was the first week of march, nice neighborhood place, cute restaurant, food was great but I was shocked by the rudeness of the waitresses. Decided to give the place another try so we went back Sunday. I was very disappointed by the service again. Food was great but both of the waiters helping out were very rude. I am not giving this place another try

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Clearly they do not have late bookings even though through OpenTable you can book these. We booked a table for 9.30. Late getting seated and we were rushed through our meal as they were closing soon. My dessert was on the table before I was finished my main course. Not good. Will never spend money here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall pretty good. We were informed we could pick out a cake for our friend's birthday, which we did get, however it was a bit of a run around. Our server was great, but i feel the hostess could've been more informed about the cake process among a few other things.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and service but very loud people around us made it hard for us to hear our own conversation. Also had quite a wait despite making reservations

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is my go to spot for brunch. It's quaint, with delicious food and great service. It's always busy, but worth the wait.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Disappointing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my second visit for brunch. As usual it was busy. The server was rushed and it seemed more like a get in, eat, get out as quick as possible mentality. There was already a couple in my seat by the time I stood up to put my jacket on. The latte was cold and poorly made. The pancakes and eggs were good though. Overall, compared to other brunch spots this place is good but definitively not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great, but noise level too high and had to wait for 20 minutes for a reserved table....

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Buttery renovated the downstairs, which looks great, but seems louder and more crowded.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Mediocre food, too expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Usually we are very happy with our meals at the Buttery. We started with a brussel sprout appetizer which was delicious. Planned to get the Buttery signature burger and fries which were not available due to renovations...this should have been disclosed when they called to confirm reservation. My son went for the quinoa burger which was extremely dry...was going to bring to waitresses attention but went MIA for a good amount of time. Will try back but very disappointed. Pot pie terrific but caesar salad not to usual standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 26, 2017

South End Buttery food was delicious - we went for brunch and I had delicious eggs with ham and cheddar. However we had to wait for 40 minutes for our table even though we had booked which really took the edge of an enjoyable Sunday lunch.

I would recommend the Buttery if they can guarantee a more reliable booking system.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.