About South End Buttery

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining seasonal, local ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Andrea Nordby, Culinary Director

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to discuss large party reservations. We are a small restaurant, but we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

Private Party Contact:
Richard Gordon: (617) 549-2776

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a semi-private sit-down dinner or cocktail party. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening. Rates depend on the day of the week booked and start at $125 per guest for weeknights and $150 per guest for Friday and Saturday nights. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (35)
Cozy (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Casual (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Fun (12)
Romantic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Fireplace (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good and service was good. Bu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 17 hours ago

Food was good and service was good. But we were judged for not ordering entrees by the waiter, even though out check was more than the table next to us who ordered entrees. That was the only damper on the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I've been to the SE Buttery numerous tim ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to the SE Buttery numerous times for dinner, as well as to the cafe for breakfast and lunch. It has always been a go-to spot for a nice meal with a good variety of choices and nice ambiance. My husband and I went on Valentine's night. The food was good as always, but the service was slow, slow, slow. Food took forever to come, and the staff seemed unprofessional. They weren't at 100% capacity, so it was hard to tell what the issue was. It took time to even give us menus- they couldn't find them! After waiting for a long time, we had to request bread, and then waited for quite a bit of time for that. When my soup arrived (not at the same time as my husband's shrimp cocktail) it was lukewarm. Hopefully they will get back on their game quickly- they can lose customers precipitously with this kind of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Absolutely terrible service. We will nev ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely terrible service. We will never go back. Took over 30 minutes for our order to be taken and another 45 for food. Eggs. Over 2 hours we were only asked if we wanted a coffee refill once. And the food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service during your remodeling was fine, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Service during your remodeling was fine, but the menu was quite limited, and we could not sit downstairs as we'd have preferred.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite places in Bo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite places in Boston Back Bay. It never disappoints, delicious local food, friendly service and atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I come here regularly for brunch and for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I come here regularly for brunch and for dinner. The garlic parm fries with truffle are a must! Excellent food - best to sit upstairs in the morning and downstairs at night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

the food here is delicious and definitel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the food here is delicious and definitely one of the best boston brunch places. Love the south end neighborhood for walking off your meal afterward. we didn't have the best service last time we went (waitress was abrupt, rude at points, even when asking for refills on our water). I'm sure it was a one-off experience and will still be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Poached eggs that came with the steak & ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Poached eggs that came with the steak & eggs dish were completely well done, not what was requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not sure how the Noise rating works..abo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not sure how the Noise rating works..above, but...it was loud!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The kitchen lost our ticket. Food was go ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The kitchen lost our ticket. Food was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Not only was the food amazing but our se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not only was the food amazing but our server was THE BEST! Hands down I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a cozy little spot for brunch. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is a cozy little spot for brunch. The buttery basket was delicious. I ordered the pancakes with bananas. They were tasty, but a little dense. I have had better pancakes elsewhere. However, my friend ordered the wild mushroom omelette, which she really enjoyed. The service was attentive and friendly. I would likely return again for brunch. I would recommend making reservations as it was quite crowded on a Sunday morning.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It really did not look like a restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It really did not look like a restaurant from the street. You walk into the coffee shop, towards the back and then they take you downstairs to a nice fireplace dining room. When we first got there, we could talk and hear each other. As the meal went on, it became very loud with a few small groups talking loudly.

I had the half chicken special with Brussels sprouts and polenta. The chicken was flavorful, and overall very good.My husband had the chicken parmesan, it was rather dry. Our son had the lobster Mac and cheese. Rich and creamy. He liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great, service was slow, room w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was great, service was slow, room was really hot, they even opened the door at one point to cool it down. Poor guy had 7 tables all in the same room and was behind on all of them. Food was very good though.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Came here for anniversary dinner, both o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Came here for anniversary dinner, both of us were blown away by the delicious food. The wedge salad was amazing as well as the salmon and hanger steak. Would go again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely South End gem!! Try the South End ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Lovely South End gem!! Try the South End Buttery for dinner or brunch or even just a quick bite and some coffee! It's a fabulous place with great service!!!! Make a reservation though; it gets busy!!! Thanks.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and atmosphere. We will b ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not expect the atmosphere to be so c ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Did not expect the atmosphere to be so cozy or the food to be so delicious. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and drinks were delicious!!!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salad came with no dressing. Looked dead ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Salad came with no dressing. Looked dead. Slow, inattentive service. Very tiny table for three people, knocking knees underneath. Felt sick later from Brussels sprouts appetizer. No one happy. Food fair to poor. Also, parking is a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was top notch; food, service, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Everything was top notch; food, service, noise level. However there was a terrible stench that day we were there (sitting downstairs).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A Must return... It is a cozy and intima ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A Must return... It is a cozy and intimate dinner treat for small group or couples. The little fireplace adds to the comfortable ambiance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, , Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Our only feedback ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was great. Our only feedback is that there should be more fish and vegetarian options on the menu. The staff was more than happy to accommodate us but since we stay away from pig and shellfish, there were limited options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been there many times. Seems diff ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We've been there many times.

Seems different! No space between tables! Not comfortable!

Great food , but , not enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent service Fireplace area is supe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service

Fireplace area is super COZY, welcoming

Limited menu and $$$ for portion size

Well seasoned dishes and beautifully plated

Had a signature cocktail (don't recall name) which is more like a dessert (that is why we ordered) tasted as if it sat in the ice too long 👎🏻

Wine is reasonable

Will definitely try burger or brunch next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved our dinner. My third or fourth din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Loved our dinner. My third or fourth dinner at the Buttery. I always love it. Delicious and cozy. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really excited to give this restau ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was really excited to give this restaurant a try - I had been told repeatedly that the brunch was amazing. I made a reservation with a friend of mine for noon on Saturday. We arrived to a line and no one seemed to know what was going on. Instead, the host was feverishly working on a tablet attached to the wall - so much so that he did not pay attention to the line at all. I finally went up to him and realized I was meant to check in for my reservation. We stood next to him as he worked on the tablet - for a full 30 minutes after our reservation was meant to start. Three parties went in front of us with 12:15 or 12:30 reservations because they were either larger (3 people rather than 2 - same size table with slightly more room for an extra chair), or to sit at the bar (after 30 min. of waiting I would have taken that too). By the time we sat down we were so frustrated with the lack of service that it was really hard to have a good experience. The food was good - but not the "oh my god" caliber I was expecting based on reviews. Not a place I would go back to based on my experience.

Tip to the house - taking care of customers should be higher priority than new gadgets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We are only in Boston once a year but th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We are only in Boston once a year but this is a must hit for weekend breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favs and we don't often go to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of our favs and we don't often go to the same restaurant twice! on top of a delicious meal, and yummy drinks, our server was wonderful with a great personality that enhanced the whole experience.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the beautifully presented buttern ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had the beautifully presented butternut/white bean hummus (delicious) with grilled naan and cumin roasted carrots (delicious, but they were refrigerator-cold; we would have preferred at least room-temp). I had the salmon with chorizo/corn cake (gorgeous and delicious) and my husband had the chicken parm (good, but he admits he should have gotten one of the many more interesting options). We had the apple crisp (delicious, but again, we should've tried something more interesting). And our fabulous server, Sasha, made sure we had decaf! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took a little while to get someone to ta ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Took a little while to get someone to take our drinks order, but after that, service was smooth and wonderful. Delicious food, cozy atmosphere - perfect for date night, or any night. Reasonable prices, and good value. Butternut squash white bean hummus was not too heavy on the butternut, and wonderfully creamy - roasted carrots was delicious, simple touch. We each ordered the half chicken Giannone. They were very accommodating and subbed out the cheesy polenta for the chorizo and corn cake on my order; wise decision for me. Absolutely loved the chorizo-corn cake. If I was hungrier, I would have attempted to sample even more. Happy with my order, and my wine, every time I come here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The cafe for breakfast is outstanding. G ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The cafe for breakfast is outstanding. Great casual atmosphere with excellent coffee and breakfast type food. For dinner, I found the food and experience solid and good but not outstanding. I'll come back for breakfast and coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

South End Buttery never fails to please. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

South End Buttery never fails to please. All their dishes are great, but their pancakes are one of the best I've ever had. Make sure to order a dish with pancakes or even just have them as a side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we reserved a table well in adv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Although we reserved a table well in advance we still had to wait 30 minutes. For the rest the place is great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A delicious menu with tasty brunch stapl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A delicious menu with tasty brunch staples, cooked to perfection. The service is excellent. Reservations for Sunday brunch are a must!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New chef is brilliant. Before it was go ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

New chef is brilliant. Before it was good, now it's fabulous. Bravo.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, tasty dinner and nice din ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service, tasty dinner and nice dining area. Perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The brunch food was very good. I was a l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The brunch food was very good. I was a little disappointed in the Buttery Bakery Basket, though, because it was all sweets, no regular bread or rolls. They were delicious, don't get me wrong, but I would have liked a better assortment and/or maybe smaller pieces of more different things. I ordered a side order of crisp bacon and it came out perfectly; and there were more slices than I've ever seen in a side order. One friend had the brioche french toast and it looked marvelous. So all in all, very good.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time there. Don't shun the basemen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time there. Don't shun the basement as it's actually quite charming!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We came to the Buttery before seeing a p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We came to the Buttery before seeing a play at the Speak Easy. Was very convenient. The food was great. We sat downstairs and enjoyed the fireplace. The food was great. I had the salmon and shared the iceberg wedge. The only thing was that the main dishes took a while to come out. Might have been because it was a Sat nite and had gotten crowded. We'd go back.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.