Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sotto Sopra

Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in true contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm to table. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment.

Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $20.

Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch, Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian

405 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am – 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm – 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry and Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 625-0534

Website:
http://www.sottosoprainc.com/

Entertainment:
Opera Night: Once a month on a Sunday evening, Sotto Sopra offers a multi-course pre-fixe menu along with live opera performances. Check our website for each month's menu.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Public Transit:
Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bosio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Live Opera Nights with a multi course dinner.
Credit card secured reservations required at 410-625-0534 (credit cards will be charged for cancellations 48 hours or less).

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ambiance of Sotto Sopra's 19th century building in Baltimore's cultural district is the perfect partner with our contemporary Italian cuisine in creating special memories. Whether a rehearsal dinner,small wedding reception, family celebration or corporate events Sotto Sopra makes you the star.

Sotto Sopra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Authentic (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Cozy (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (10)
Fun (10)
Live Music (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

terrifically prepared food as usual. Friendly, efficient, and professional service. Great room. I've consistently enjoyed Sotta Sopra over the years and it did not disappoint this time either!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Italian family members from New York came down for a visit. They have never liked any of the other Baltimore Italian restaurants that we have taken them to. They absolutely loved Sotti Sopra.!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food and it was Broadway Night! So great entertainment as well. Love Opera Night too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I'm not a huge Italian eater at ALL when i go out, but i was impressed with everything here. Fresh pasta, good wine. Worth my money

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This is my third time to Sotto Sopra. Twice for Christmas and this visit was for our anniversary. Everything was perfection. Delicious food, excellent service, excellent drinks. Looking forward to coming back for one of their opera nights.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely delicious food. Great ambiance. Very good service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I am not sure I will recommend this restaurant cause the service is not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was the third trip my girlfriend and I have taken to this establishment in the past year and Sotto Sopra and their staff have proven themselves relentless in their ability to wow. As an Italian American, I often find myself to be critical, perhaps overly so, when enjoying Italian cuisine away from the home. Here there is no room for criticism. From the warm octopus salad to the generous spaghetti Neri alla chitarra everything is amazing. Our server Christian was warm and welcoming and was very knowledgeable and helpful with the menu. I do not usually write reviews but our experience, I felt, warranted the exception. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We were there for Jazz night for each of our birthdays We had a wonderful time both nights. I recommend this restaurant for any occasion. My new favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went to Sotto Sopra celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary. I mentioned that when I made the Open Table reservation. The restaurant had a nice corner table for us and two glasses of prosecco. A very nice touch. Derek, our server, was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food was, as expected, top notch and the portions generous. The calamari appetizer may have been the best calamari I have ever had. It could not have been more tender. Pistachio creme brule was the perfect finishing touch. Go. Eat. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

It was great, I will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service wasn't fantastic, although they did try. We waited by the entrance for a bit, as our hostess cleaned up our table. I thought it was interesting that all the waiters/waitresses were in formal attire, but the hostess wasn't (jeans and black sneakers). We only saw our waitress twice, who took our drink and food others those times.

Aside from the fair service, the food was delicious and fantastic. We were surprised to find restaurant week was extended and we had a great three course meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

They went over and beyond my expectations making my 10-year anniversary one to remember

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, excellent service. We will be back, soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We went for restaurant week. He had the fettuccine bolognese and I had the ossobucco which cost an extra 10$ but was worth it. Food was excellent. The waiter forgot to offer coffee w dessert but the restaurant was very busy and he was excellent on everything else. Their service is a well oiled machine. Quickly seated, w a reservation, given a choice of where to sit. Music and lighting were mood appropriate. Bread was warmed before arriving at the table. Personally, Foccacia is not my ideal bread for the table because of its aftertaste. But there's no better spot than sotto sopra.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food..never disappointed..service could be slightly better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Absolutely loved our experience at Sotto Sopra. The ambiance is great, service was excellent, and food was fabulous. Being Italian, I am very picky and this exceeded expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous RW meal with hubby and good friend. They were helpful in accommodating my friend with multiple food sensitivities. All choices were excellent. Salmon, ravioli dishes perfect mix of creative flavors and amounts just right. Special red blend wine selection priced for RW was yummy. Service efficient and pleasant. No complaints at all. One little hiccup was that I listed during reservation that it was birthday celebration and that was acknowledged in the phone confirmation. I didn't bother to mention upon arrival as it was noted on phone, but then they didn't toss a candle on the dessert. Oh well. No biggie. Will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Never disappoints, even during restaurant week when they are extra busy. Best Italian restaurant in the area!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Soto Sopra was, in short, a terrific dining experience! I hadn't been to this restaurant in years and it was outstanding. The squash soup was flavorful and pleasing with just the right consistency. Our waiter recommended the spaghetti dish and it was incredibly good. My friend had fried polenta and labeled it the best she had ever tasted.
It was a wonderful experience with a very knowledgeable waiter who could not have been more helpful and nice!
Kudos to this restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Christian was the man!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food is delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Sotto Sopra was amazing. The food and service were exceptional. I surprised my girlfriend with a date night and she loved every moment of it, as did I. I thoroughly enjoyed the authentic and elegant atmosphere. If I could give them more stars I would. Thanks again for a night to remember! We most certainly will dine here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Riccardo you did it again – you delivered the #1 Best Menu. Unlike the other participating restaurants, you pull out all the stops and offer your guests so much more. We enjoyed a bottle of your special wine offering of Pinot Grigio reasonably priced at $35.00. Our friends were thrilled with their Tito Vodka Martinis. We started off with three Insalata Caprese with Mozzarella di Bufala Campana (Maria’s heirloom tomatoes, burrata, olive oil & basil) – received to rave reviews. I had to be different and ordered the Flat Bread of the day which was 2 nice servings of flat bread topped with mozzarella, arugula, and olive oil with prosciutto; so yummy. Our friends thought the Fettucini Alla Bolognese (homemade fettucini topped with a three-meat Bolognese) and the Pan Seared Cod (chili ancho aioli with fried green tomatoes and salsa verde) were scrumptious. My husband savored the Pan-seared Atlantic King Salmon (honey lavender salmon accompanied with sautéed broccolini and lobster gremolada mashed potato). I went for the splurge and had the Pork Osso Bucco – my favorite – served with truffled wild mushroom risotto and gremolata. This dish was so worth the $10.00 up charge. The finish was delicious – we had the Lemon Sorbet, Blueberry Gelato, Warm Apple Strudel and the Pistachio Cream Brulee. My advice to others is to make your reservation now for Sotto Sopra and enjoy the creative and delicious offerings. They have already extended Restaurant Week until August 13th. Thank you for a lovely dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I have been wanting to try Sotta Sopra for some time and was not disappointed. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. The food was authentic and the restaurant week menu was fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always good always consistent
Great menu for restaurant week

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I was visiting from Los Angeles. This is a very romantic, classy restaurant. Good for dates. The food was really good. The server and receptionists were super nice and helpful. Didn't have to wait much for our reserved table.

Wish they have more bathrooms.

Parking is super easy with valet. But it would be better if they also have self parking.

In short, I would highly recommend this restaurant! Would come back if I come back to visit Baltimore again.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Salmon tartare was outstanding. Food presentation was great. The tables in the middle aisle are too close together. Feels like you're elbow to elbow with strangers, no sense of privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had only Restaurant Week menu, with no warning that a la Carter menu would not be available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As always, an exceptional dining experience, even during restaurant week. Derek, as usual, makes perfect wine recommendations and goes above and beyond to make it a perfect dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The pork occobuca was very good. My wife's mediam rare duck breast came out well done. My son's NY Strip steak was about 1/2 inch thick. There wasn't much meat or cheese on the grand tastings. I didn't mind the price, even the corkage fee, they just didn't deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food. Smaller lunch portions. Risotto is out of this world!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at Sotto Sopra's three times in the past month. They have craft cocktails, seasonal specials, terrific menu, delicious food, and very good service. It's our new favorite restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Quiet as would be expected for a Tuesday, with locals all around. Food and specialty cocktails are excellent as was service. No other tastes like Sotto Sopra outside of northern Italy!! Certainly the best pasta and unique even compared to NYC! Love this place!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This was our first visit to this Baltimore dining icon. We'd reserved in the past, but always had to cancel. I'm pleased that we could make it this time. We dined before a show at the nearby Lyric Opera House. The ambiance is very nice: dim lighting and classic standards (e.g., Sinatra, Ella) played throughout, so the mood was right. We brought our own delicious Barolo. They charge a stiff corkage fee ($35), but they only keep their "reserve section" of in-house wines in the cellar. These wines are fairly expensive, so the BYOB + corkage was right for us. We shared the warm octopus salad to start (very good). For entrees my wife got the fettuccine with ossobucco ragu. She loved it! I tasted it too; would probably get it next time. I enjoyed the veal saltimbocca, which is one of the dishes I like to try at a new (i.e., for us) Italian restaurant. It was served with mashed potatoes and sauteed broccolini. Service was knowledgeable and attentive. Overall, it was great pre-theatre dining experience. My wife said that she'd rather go for a Saturday night w/o theatre next time, so we could linger longer, have dessert, after-dinner drinks, etc. I'm in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food and service was outstanding, we thoroughly enjoy ourselves each and every time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our server, Andrew, was very knowledgeable and attendant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Absolutely first rate! Being from NY, I've experienced excellent Italian food, but this ranks in my top ten. Although I had ravioli, my colleagues had salmon and raved about it. Great service and ambience. Pricey, but not over-priced. Highly recommended if you are visiting the Baltimore area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Have been coming here for years, but this was perhaps the best meal yet we've had here, ever. Polenta fries are tasty, but the main courses were out of this world, along with the desert. Wines by the glass are serious fare, too. And don't forget the Donnafugata desert wine, amazing! Excellent service. A Baltimore institution.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, we had an awesome experience. The food was amazing and the service was great. Still our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.