Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sotto Sopra

Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in true contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm to table. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment.

Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $20.

Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch, Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian

405 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am – 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm – 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry and Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 625-0534

Website:
http://www.sottosoprainc.com/

Entertainment:
Opera Night: Once a month on a Sunday evening, Sotto Sopra offers a multi-course pre-fixe menu along with live opera performances. Check our website for each month's menu.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Public Transit:
Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bosio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Live Opera Nights with a multi course dinner.
Credit card secured reservations required at 410-625-0534 (credit cards will be charged for cancellations 48 hours or less).

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ambiance of Sotto Sopra's 19th century building in Baltimore's cultural district is the perfect partner with our contemporary Italian cuisine in creating special memories. Whether a rehearsal dinner,small wedding reception, family celebration or corporate events Sotto Sopra makes you the star.

Sotto Sopra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (56)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Authentic (36)
Notable Wine List (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Cozy (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fun (17)
Business Meals (14)
Historic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Live Music (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Perfect, in every way. Excellent rockfish and great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a very enjoyable eating experience. The ambiance is very nice and the service was outstanding! The food was amazing! I had the cippino which was incredible; plenty of seafood and a delicious broth. My wife had the scallops that she enjoyed but you only get three... Four would have been better. The ficacci bread was awesome, I could have eaten it all night. We will definitely come back to try other menu items. It's a great place for pre-theater dining as it is close to the Lyric. Thanks for everything!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Baltimore. Like every other time we've dined here, the service and meal were outstanding. Derick, our server, was spot on with every recommendation from the veal chop to the wine selection. With him as our server, this may have been our best dining experience ever at Sotto Sopra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

An excellent small Italian restaurant - especially the homemade pasta and deserts - and alternative to franchise restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This was hands-down the best Italian Restaurant I have been to. EVERYTHING we ordered from the salads to the dessert was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We enjoyed the restaurant and will definitely eat there again...hopefully soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good service. Good menu choices and great environment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was amazing. I never get dessert but I did this time and I wasn't disappointed!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Always first class in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was our first time at Sotto Sopra, it was our Third Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to go to a place we both had never been before, someplace Special.
First of all our waiter, Patrick was more than knowledgeable and attentive, he was very friendly and just delightful. ......The food was very authentic Italian and very Delicious. I would highly recommend this place and we will certainty go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Took my wife out for her birthday and a lovely dinner at Sotto Sopra did not disappoint. We shared fried polenta as an appetizer which was delicious. Her veal with pasta was delicious, my sacchettini stuffed with pumpkin was exquistite. We had an excellent Gavi from the modest and well thought out wine list to complement our meals. The service was on par with the food.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

So nice to have a little traditional jazz trio while dining in one of Baltimore's best restaurants. The food was exceptional, and the presentation pleasing to the eye - but better on the palate. This is the place to go for a special occasion, and trust your wine selection to the staff. They are knowledgeable and trained. Our service was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service excellently presented & prepared food

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was as great as always! The special of the day, scallop risotto, was especially nice. Interesting paintings on the wall, too!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It was ok but not as good as before...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great from start to finish. Octopus: sublime. Every course perfectly prepared, seasoned and presented. Cannot wait to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We attended opera night. Entertainment and service was excellent. Food was substandard, both over and under cooked. Dessert was inedible. Very poor value. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went for opera night and were very pleased with the experience. The singers were wonderful, the food very good, and service excellent. We will be going again in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was terrific. My wife and I shared the Pork Osso Buco dinner with mushrrom risotto.

We were both stuffed and delighted with the flavor!

Our waiter was very attentive. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

A GREAT restaurant --I haven't been in at least 10 years but the food was as delicious as ever. My mother and I were in town for appointments and had only 50 minutes for enjoying our 2 course lunch special because we were running late. It was no problem for the staff. We were comfortably out the door in about 45 minutes! Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved the food, the waiter, and the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have been here a couple of times, once for the Opera night. This time we were going o Easter vigil mass at the basilica. Meal was excellent, Fettucine Capreese. You could tell the pasta was freshly made and the sauce was perfect. Also try the olives as an appetizer and the mushroom soup. Classy place and great for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Sotto Sopra never fails to offer great options. It is a long-time favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food is always good but the room temperature was a bit too high. It was our second visit and we needed to ask our waitress to turn on the air conditioner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We went to Sotta Sopra for a birthday celebration. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. One of us has some severe allergies and restrictions, and he could explain what food would be suitable or not. The food itself was outstanding. We had the cheese and salumi grand tasting. The portions were generous and the quality was excellent. Main courses: ravioli, fettucini with osso buco, seafood medley. Everything extremely well prepared.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always a great choice - now in it's 22nd year, Sotto Sopra has been a favorite of ours since 1997. An innovative and changing menu; delightful staff; great ambiance; a regular roster of live music performers (opera night; jazz; Broadway and standards). Ricardo Bosio keeps the place evolving and a place you want to be and belong.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We came here for dinner to celebrate Sotto Sopra's 21st birthday. There was live (not too-intrusive) music. There was a vibrant crowd of fun-loving patrons. Food and wine were up to the usual, very high standards that we expect at, this, our favorite restaurant. For special occasions, you cannot go wrong.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We dined at Sotto Sopra to celebrate the restaurant's 21st birthday. The music was fantastic (Hot Club of Baltimore accompanied by chanteuse Alexis Tantau). I had the halibut which was fresh and perfectly prepared, served atop roasted Brussels sprouts. My husband loved the chicken stuffed with fennel and sausage, accompanied by crispy mushrooms and little potato cake. The ambiance is always festive there, but even more so on this special occasion. You could feel the love for chef/owner Riccardo Bosio and his team radiating throughout. It was a magically delicious night!

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Sotto Sopra never disappoints. This was my fourth time dining here for dinner. I am some what boring and get the same dish every time (it's that good), the pappardelle de telefono. If you like authentic pasta with fresh and sweet tomato sauce with fresh buffalo mozzarella, I HIGHLY recommend this dish. It's to die for. The service is great here. This trip the server was very busy and did not explain much about the menu or tell us about any specials, but since it was busy, I get it. However, when you're paying above average prices, the server should always take a few moments and talk about the specials and make some recommendations. That was my only minor complaint.
Highly recommend Sotto Sopra!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Maybe one notch higher than an Olive Garden. They add an up-charge to routine gin/vodka martinis (not disclosed). This is not the Algonquin, folks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Never disappointed! Best gnocci in town. Extra delicious on Friday night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great staff, attentive and pleasant. All the dishes were very good and recommended wine pairing was spot on. The waitress had a smile every time she walked by, made us feel as if we were in Italy. She arranged to split all the shared dishes in the kitchen for a relaxing tasting menu. Great spot for Center Stage pre theater dining or a day at the Walters Art Gallery.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 6, 2017

What a wonderful treat ! We enjoyed every bite!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a pleasure! Very friendly and welcoming staff! The menu is diverse and all excellent. Perfect before a Peabody Conservatory Jazz Performance!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My daughter purchased me "Chef for the Day" gift certificate for Christmas💗 My girlfriend and I teamed up to use the opportunity to raise money for Avon Breast Cancer Walk. Chef Riccardo, Linsey and his entire staff were welcoming and wonderful! We felt like family in the kitchen and the restaurant!
The food is as memorable as cooking in the kitchen with my grandma and the Chef for the Day experience was like a trip to Italy without the long plane ride!😍
Bravo Riccardo

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Homemade Fettuccini was overdone & in a sticky , hard to separate wad at the bottom of some pretty decent, meaty osso buca ragu. Wife's Kanpuci fillet done with herbs, aeromatics & wine baked in a parchment pocket was nicely done, tasty. I was pouring our own wine, as server was not too attentive. (Restaurant was by no way busy, early on a Sunday evening). In our opinion somewhat overpriced for the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have always been extremely happy with our meals at Sotto Sopra. The food and service have always been excellent. The daily specials are always great. Our server was also well versed in the available wines. We brought friends who had never been here before; the can't wait for their next visit to Baltimore and Sotto Sopra.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on April 1, 2017

If you've been to Italy you will always have a hard time to find authentic and good Italien food within the USA.
Nice food presentation but the food itself nothing special.
But very nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.