About Sorellina

Contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine served in an upbeat and sophisticated environment by a staff intent on providing you with a truly memorable dining experience. Sorellina, the 'kid sister' of acclaimed Chef Jamie Mammano's Mistral provides an intense look at regional Italian food with a modern twist. Sorellina's wine list focuses on some hidden Italian gems paired with an international selection creating an effortless opportunity to explore the unknown. The warm-modern design intertwined with the glow of the back wall mural and the floor to ceiling windows are a visually stunning combination.

One Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 412-4600

Website:
http://www.sorellinaboston.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available from the Blagden Street entrance to Sorellina (next to Boston's public library). The public parking garages are a short stroll away. You can park at the Prudential garage on Exeter Street; the Copley place garage on Huntington and the Dartmouth Street garage. Street parking is an option.

Executive Chef:
Marga Raffucci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sorellina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for a Date (58)
See All
Romantic (55)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (40)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Business Meals (32)
Modern Decor (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Authentic (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Scenic View (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful restaurant with great service. ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful restaurant with great service. The menu is just the right size. The pasta is homemade and delicious. They have an amazing wine list. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Not over priced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Sorellina was an excellent din ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner at Sorellina was an excellent dining experience. The ambiance is attractive, and the service prompt and professional. The food was outstanding. The meal was somewhat expensive but you get what you pay for at Sorellina

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A gift from a very generous friend broug ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A gift from a very generous friend brought us to Sorellina on a bustling Sunday night. It’s a big open space in Copley Square behind the Public Library. Our culinary experience started with custom martinis, perfectly chilled and proportioned by the bar, and fresh bread and butter that was noteworthy. As much as you’ll be tempted to eat it right away, save some for mopping up pasta sauces.

At the recommendation of our friend we started with the lobster gnocchi, a simple but fantastic preparation of soft potato dumplings, lobster and butter, and maccheroncelli, two wagyu beef meatballs nestled in a Montepulciano sauce with noodles. The gnocchi had an incredibly rich lobster-flavored butter and a generous portion of lobster meat – it could have been an entree with a salad, and we would not have gone home hungry. The intense flavor of the meatballs melded perfectly with the sauce, and was complemented by slices of parmesan cheese and the al dente pasta which extended the richness a little.

My dining companion chose cod for her entrée, served in a leek broth over pea-sized “potato pearls”, with black winter truffles. The cod was substantial – a tall thick piece that had both texture and flavor. I chose a veal dish, called “saltimbocca”, that included three perfectly cooked tall rounds of veal surrounding a delicious truffle mashed potato, and topped with a large maitake mushroom. Go with the chef’s recommendation of medium rare and you will get three pink pieces of perfection in a wine sauce to savor with potato and mushroom.

Sorellina has a terrific menu, although there are limited options for vegetarians – salads of course, one pasta and some sides, although I expect they could create something if you asked. The service was extremely competent, if not warm. Overall, this was an evening of outstanding, really memorable food, well prepared and served in an attractive downtown location. We heartily recommend Sorellina for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had such a wonderful time with my boyf ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I had such a wonderful time with my boyfriend here. The whole atmosphere was fantastic, and the waiters were so nice. I highly recommend couples who wanna have a Romantic date choose this restaurant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, , Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorellina was great! The pasta is cooke ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Sorellina was great!

The pasta is cooked perfectly and the food is great.

I had foie gras (terrine style) as a starter which was very good, simple and to the point.

As an entree I ordered gnocchi with lobster and it was superb (the sauce was a bit too salty for my taste, but very good indeed).

The bread they serve is quite good as well.

Didn't try the desserts but they looked great.

Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were in Boston for business and made ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were in Boston for business and made reservations for this restaurant well in advance, 2 weeks, not last minute. We were seated at the table from hell, which I am sure every restaurant has at least one but remember, this was not last minute plans. We were so far in a corner, no windows, seated by an exit door. This door was used by residents of the condo next door to enter/exit the restaurant. So not only was it a bad location, people were coming and going through the door right next to our table. The server said that this was a great table because it is so private. If so, then save it for some of your regulars! The server was helpful and knowledgeable and the food was very good. But to drop $250 for 2 and one diner had apps and no entree, we will go elsewhere to dine at a better table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Been to Sorellina many times. Just an ou ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Been to Sorellina many times. Just an outstanding restaurant. Delicious food, great service and beautiful decor. One of our two favorites in Boston.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful as always. While the main men ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful as always. While the main menu doesn't have a ton of vegetarian options, the chef is willing to alter some of the pasta items, and we always love eating the items off the contorni portion of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in my recent dining ex ...

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very disappointed in my recent dining experience. I ordered the broiled scallops which were overlooked and quite chewy. The grilled octopus appetizer was heavily salted and loaded with hot Chilean peppers. I was not surprised that the dining room was not filled and I was able to get a last minute reservation. Very over priced considering all the other options in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Absolutely outstanding food. I've been ...

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely outstanding food. I've been to Sorrelina four times and I've yet to experience a poorly prepared, or even an average, dish. Some people may find the pricing to be on the higher side. Do yourselves a favour - stretch your budget. And if you want a really special treat, order the Maccheroncelli. I've never actually licked my plate in a restaurant. But boy was I tempted with this particular dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of our favorite restauran ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely one of our favorite restaurants. The food is always wonderful, the service is attentive and the ambiance is perfect for a nice dinner and special occasions as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an amazing time. The staff was so at ...

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had an amazing time. The staff was so attentive and the food was delicious. Will recommend to any of my friend. Loved it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience at Sorellina, as a ...

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Phenomenal experience at Sorellina, as always. The food is always amazing, as are the service and ambiance. Bar none, my favorite restaurant in Boston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SPECTACULAR!

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

SPECTACULAR!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and awesome service. We ...

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very good food and awesome service. We split a lot of items and they were very accommodating!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this place! One negative was tha ...

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

I loved this place! One negative was that the tables were too close to each other....

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

May not be the trendiest, hippest place, ...

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

May not be the trendiest, hippest place, but that actually came as a breath of fresh air to us. It was nice to be able to converse comfortably with my date, without having to scream above the music. Eating at a table with a table cloth was a very nice touch that added a bit of elegance to the evening. And padded chairs made sitting for a leisurely dinner, a very comfortable experience. The food was very good, but not as good as we expected, given the price points. The ambiance and service were superior.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was amazing!!

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for a date with my boyfriend a ...

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Came here for a date with my boyfriend and truly wasn't that impressed. The service was OK, The food was nothing special. After reading all the reviews I knew what was highly recommended and ordered just that. But my boyfriend and I were not impressed by the food and thought it was overpriced for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything we ate was delicious. Homemad ...

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything we ate was delicious. Homemade pasta. The entrees were fantastic. My salmon was perfectly cooked. Desserts were a perfect end. We got the donuts and the lemon custard- fantastic. And to top it all off: impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for a friends get-together to ce ...

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went for a friends get-together to celebrate the end of a long holiday. The restaurant had stunning decor, and we were seated next to a window with a beautiful view. The food was amazing; I tried the fettuccine, filet mignon, and the truffle fries, and they were all wonderful. I had a bite of the gnocchi as well, and it was to die for. It wasn't too loud, and the service was extremely proactive and gracious. Overall great experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! All staff from be ...

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent restaurant! All staff from being greeted to served are wonderful!

Amazing food and wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, , Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet minion was amazing! Everything ...

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

The filet minion was amazing! Everything was perfect! The waitstaff were excellent! It ends up being a very quiet dinner as you savor the mother watering dish! Well done! Will definitely visit again, and have already told many people to visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a cool place with a very unique amb ...

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

What a cool place with a very unique ambience. They have the best drinks and food options. My husband and I were amazed with how quickly everything arrived to our table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This spot is a keeper. Everything from t ...

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

This spot is a keeper. Everything from the greeting of the valets and hostesses, to the service delivered by our waiter. The food is superbly prepared and nicely plated. The oysters, tuna tartare, veal saltimbucca and meatballs were fantastic. Even the Caesar salad was impeccably prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very helpful in organizing ...

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff was very helpful in organizing a special occasion for myself and fiance. The food was delicious and service spectacular. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a great evening, excellent food, wine and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect food ...

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect food and ambience; perfection

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails and starters were actually ...

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

The cocktails and starters were actually great but two main courses were a little tasteless unfortunately. Staff were excellent and I think later in the evening it would have a better atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fabulous food and service. Also the nois ...

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Also the noise level was amazing we could have a good conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband was asked by the hostess to r ...

 
·Dined on January 23, 2017

My husband was asked by the hostess to remove his hat before being allowed in the dining room. It was a very nice hat, not a greasy baseball cap. This was not noted in the restaurant dress code on open table, embarrassed my husband, and started our evening quite negatively. While our waitress was lovely and the food was better than average, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Incredible food and ambiance. An excelle ...

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Incredible food and ambiance. An excellent spot for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals we"be ever had!!!! ...

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of the best meals we"be ever had!!!!! Service was outstanding, terrific energy--overall amazing dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful ambiance, great food, excellen ...

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, great food, excellent wine, and friendly, knowledgeable and professional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply amazing. My boss said it was bes ...

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

Simply amazing. My boss said it was best place in Boston, and now I know why!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we went to Sorre ...

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is the second time we went to Sorrelina. Impressed the first time but the second...we found the pasta dishes not worthy of the price...in other words, uninspired. Don't think we will rush back

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Spectacular food, attentive service. Com ...

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

Spectacular food, attentive service. Compliments to our server, Mark.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I lllloved Sorellina for years. It was ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

I lllloved Sorellina for years. It was one of my few high end go to's, but it just wasn't the same. The energy wasn't as exciting, the food wasn't as good (outside of two stellar apps - Tuna Tartare and the Polpo) and after the server spilled a glass of $160/bottle of wine on a $42 steak, they only replated the wet steak, brought a new glass of wine and offered a free cocktail and offered to reimburse dry cleaning. As I had set up the dinner I was a bit embarrassed and asked for more consideration and they knocked off $50. Next time I'll go back to Mistral which seems more consistent albeit less modern.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had a great experience at Sorellina! I ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I had a great experience at Sorellina! I recently started seeing a woman in Boston, I live in Austin, TX and was looking for a romantic evening out. A friend who works in Boston recommended Sorellina and I was definitely impressed. We had the squid ink cuscus for a starter and then gnocchi and the filet for entres. All were spectacular.. The ambiance was great, the decor inspiring and overall it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fine just not overly impr ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was fine just not overly impressed for the price. We've been to L'Andana a few times and think it is way better and more reasonably priced.

Great service though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Gnocchi yum Service great.. It ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent

Gnocchi yum

Service great.. It's a 10 all around

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.