Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria

Songkran Thai Kitchen, located in Uptown Park, is known for its authentic and fresh Thai cuisine, its prime Galleria location, and of course its talented and gifted Chef Jett! Songkran delivers mouth-watering dishes that are traditionally Thai, but distinctively Chef Jett. He brings a unique blend of spices and sauces to the table, along with his signature dishes like Heavenly Beef, Crispy Red Snapper, Pad Thai and Green Curry Chicken with Thai Basil, to name a few. Drinks, you say? Cozy up to the fully-loaded bar, boasting a dynamic wine, liquor and signature drink list!
Songkran is a celebration of food, drink and camaraderie in an upscale atmosphere!

1101 - 8 Uptown Park
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday - Friday: 3pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 993-9096

Website:
http://www.songkranthaikitchen.com/

Catering:
We will help make your event extraordinary at an offsite location of your choice. Chef Jett and our events team will create a customized menu based on your vision. We also provide bartenders and complete staff to make your celebration or event an experience you will never forget. Our authentic Thai fare and exceptional service are ideal for a wide range of events.

Parking Details:
Songkran offers complimentary valet service at dining hours. Street parking is also available right outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Junnajet "Jett" Hurapan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (8)
Spicy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I've been to Songkran for lunch many times, but had never been for dinner. We went late on a Sunday night and the restaurant was less than half full. We hoped to get great, quick service and be on our way. Service was incredibly slow all on fronts and not terribly friendly. I may return for lunch, but am not putting it on the short list for dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. It's not large so have a reservation if you can. The staff is very good with recommendations per your taste prefernces. The red curry duck and the short ribs will have you slap your mama!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food is always outstanding. Service is well meant but it is hit or miss

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This restaurant is in decline. The service was atrocious notwithstanding no one was in the restaurant. No service utinsils or plates and extra bowls. The server lost my credit card somewhere on the floor. We've come here for the last three years and the last few trips have been similarly uninspiring. Hope things improve. We won't return anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

I really like their cuisine and have returned about 6 times. I like to introduce this centrally located restaurant. Now that the weather is cooler I like to to sit on the patio. There are fans too!!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We each had a soup. Husband a curry and I the pad thai. Recommend the restaurant for the food and the friendly staff. Acts like a neighborhood restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The Restaurant weeks menu is wonderful. I recommend the chicken wings for appetizer. They were delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This restaurant is one of the loudest places I have been in years. The tables at long rectangles, yet the cuisine is Thai and served family style. When have I ever had a $100 per person Thai dinner? And did I mention loud? The food was OK, but not really memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Thank you for making my sister's visit from LA, California a great dining experience. The food was delicious and the Lynchee Martinis were so good. The service was outstanding as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

On our recent visit we were particularly impressed with how beautiful the space is. The bar and decor are outstanding, which contribute to an intimate atmosphere. There is a small but nice outdoor patio which would be nice during more temperate months.
The food was quite good, in particular the "Heavenly Beef" and the duck curry main. Veggie spring rolls were tasty, well executed and hot. The Pad Thai was good, but not outstanding. Service was attentive though a few tweaks would make it outstanding.
The drink and wine menu is good; from what we saw the Happy Hour menu would be quite a deal.
We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Dinner & service were excellent. Wagu spare rib & the Duck Noodle soup were delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Salad greens were not fresh. Asked for less spicey dish but was same as friends who asked for more spice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been to Songkran many times and the food and service are reliably good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Overall food was very good, tasty and well prepared, but calamari appetizer was of the big tentacles which were rubbery and lobster & shrimp curry had very little lobster.

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy, Great Beer, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

It is located in a very nice area of town. Staff always pleasant and the food is good. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The lunch special was a great value and included a delicious soup, nice salad and excellent entrée with rice.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food and Service we're impeccable!! Amazing experience, one of best in Houston in my opinion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First time dining here and it was awesome. I will definitely return. Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were able to sit outside on a very nice covered patio. Service was very good. The only major disappointment was the crab fried rice, boring bland. My husbands only joy at any Asian restaurant is fried rice.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent Food. One of my favorite Thai restaurants in Houston. Great value for lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Highly recommend this restaurant. We shared the deep fried fish - it was excellent. We were able to select our level of spice - level one was perfect for us. Presentation was outstanding! Service friendly and efficient. Prices reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Good food and the service was very good and most attentive

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Mentioned on my reservation that we are Vegan and celebrating our anniversary. they presented us with a vegetarian/vegan menu upon arrival and said Happy Anniversary to us as we departed. What a delicious meal, great service, and lovely experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I wanted to love this Thai restaurant, my wife and I liked it, but I have to admit I would probably try another Thai or Chinese restaurant before I returned to Songkrat. I did enjoy the patio we were seated at, very quiet with some greenery and soft background music. Nothing bad here, just lacked an extra gear in the food department vs a more plebian suburban Thai restaurant. I guess I expected something that didn't seem to be present in the food department last Saturday night.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The waitstaff was amazing. On my first visit recently, I forgot my credit card with the bill after dinner. I returned the next day, and to my surprise, the same waitress recognized me and happily brought my card for me without being promted. And the food was bomb, obviously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very friendly service. Great food. I'll be going back there. Brought some locals that had never been. They will return.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Amazing food full of flavor. Service was great. Some of the best Thai in Houston. Not cheap, but worth it!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Four of us had Easter lunch and three of us did not enjoy our meal AT ALL. We are big fans of Thai food, and I can say that sadly this was the worst Thai food we have ever had. The restaurant itself was very pretty, and the service we had was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Once we actually got a waitress the service was great, but that took 20 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had Pad Thai, Green Curry and Spicy Eggplant. The eggplant was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Came here for lunch! Loved it! I've ordered Kang Phet Ped Yang (Red curry crispy duck with cherry tomatoes, pineapple curry sauce) from lunch menu. It was yummy! A little bit too spicy for me even though I got the 2nd spice level. But I loved it anyway!!!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on March 18, 2017

In an almost empty restaurant we were given the worst table possible, thought it was all booked but I'm under the suspicion that we were the only ones who made a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I keep going back for the green curry with chicken and Thai basil. I really should try something new but I just love this curry. Fresh basil, chicken is not overcooked and the curry is flavorful and ever so slightly sweet - I assume from the coconut. Appetizers shrimp cakes were also delicious, not a chewy thing about them. Larb Gai required salt and I would have liked a stronger lime taste but it was still good. Our server was new and very charming so Im happy to forgive the unforgivable mistake of bringing our mains before we were done with the appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was good quality and well prepared. The wine by the glass was excessively overpriced. The meals were also at the higher end of the scale. The casual atmosphere of the restaurant is a nice setting, but it doesn't exude fine dining, as the prices did. I do not expect to return and I can't imagine they will still be in business in a year or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food loved everything about tgis restaurant, excelent service will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We've been looking for a good curry in Houston for years! All the curries are fantastic, the heavenly beef appetizer delicious, and honestly every dish we've tried we've loved. The service is great, the atmosphere perfect. We love this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

it was fabulous! Food was wonderful, our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable...We can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.