Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria

Songkran Thai Kitchen, located in Uptown Park, is known for its authentic and fresh Thai cuisine, its prime Galleria location, and of course its talented and gifted Chef Jett! Songkran delivers mouth-watering dishes that are traditionally Thai, but distinctively Chef Jett. He brings a unique blend of spices and sauces to the table, along with his signature dishes like Heavenly Beef, Crispy Red Snapper, Pad Thai and Green Curry Chicken with Thai Basil, to name a few. Drinks, you say? Cozy up to the fully-loaded bar, boasting a dynamic wine, liquor and signature drink list!
Songkran is a celebration of food, drink and camaraderie in an upscale atmosphere!

1101 - 8 Uptown Park
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday - Friday: 3pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 993-9096

Website:
http://www.songkranthaikitchen.com/

Catering:
We will help make your event extraordinary at an offsite location of your choice. Chef Jett and our events team will create a customized menu based on your vision. We also provide bartenders and complete staff to make your celebration or event an experience you will never forget. Our authentic Thai fare and exceptional service are ideal for a wide range of events.

Parking Details:
Songkran offers complimentary valet service at dining hours. Street parking is also available right outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Junnajet "Jett" Hurapan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (9)
Spicy (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

The waitstaff was amazing. On my first visit recently, I forgot my credit card with the bill after dinner. I returned the next day, and to my surprise, the same waitress recognized me and happily brought my card for me without being promted. And the food was bomb, obviously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very friendly service. Great food. I'll be going back there. Brought some locals that had never been. They will return.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Four of us had Easter lunch and three of us did not enjoy our meal AT ALL. We are big fans of Thai food, and I can say that sadly this was the worst Thai food we have ever had. The restaurant itself was very pretty, and the service we had was friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Once we actually got a waitress the service was great, but that took 20 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had Pad Thai, Green Curry and Spicy Eggplant. The eggplant was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Came here for lunch! Loved it! I've ordered Kang Phet Ped Yang (Red curry crispy duck with cherry tomatoes, pineapple curry sauce) from lunch menu. It was yummy! A little bit too spicy for me even though I got the 2nd spice level. But I loved it anyway!!!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on March 19, 2017

In an almost empty restaurant we were given the worst table possible, thought it was all booked but I'm under the suspicion that we were the only ones who made a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I keep going back for the green curry with chicken and Thai basil. I really should try something new but I just love this curry. Fresh basil, chicken is not overcooked and the curry is flavorful and ever so slightly sweet - I assume from the coconut. Appetizers shrimp cakes were also delicious, not a chewy thing about them. Larb Gai required salt and I would have liked a stronger lime taste but it was still good. Our server was new and very charming so Im happy to forgive the unforgivable mistake of bringing our mains before we were done with the appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good quality and well prepared. The wine by the glass was excessively overpriced. The meals were also at the higher end of the scale. The casual atmosphere of the restaurant is a nice setting, but it doesn't exude fine dining, as the prices did. I do not expect to return and I can't imagine they will still be in business in a year or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food loved everything about tgis restaurant, excelent service will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We've been looking for a good curry in Houston for years! All the curries are fantastic, the heavenly beef appetizer delicious, and honestly every dish we've tried we've loved. The service is great, the atmosphere perfect. We love this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

it was fabulous! Food was wonderful, our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable...We can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Liz was great! Beef curry was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Outside seating is ample and covered. Nice place for lunch or dinner. Lunch menu is very reasonably priced, and food is delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

If you're going for authentic Thai food, I would not recommend this place. Small portions, high prices and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, creative and tasty menu, great service! I eat here at least twice a month. A hidden jem in this city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was our first time dining at Songkran and we were impressed in every way. The holiday decor was beautiful, the service was outstanding and every dish we ate was delicious: the heavenly beef and spring roll appetizers and the special noodle entree with duck and the red curry with duck. My husband texted all his coworkers and family who love curry to tell them he had just tasted the best red curry he's had in the U.S. Needless to say, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Good quality food and very reasonable prices. Good business lunch meeting place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The restaurant with contaminated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service and very cool vibe. Great patio for a beautiful day outside. Food was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Simply put I love Thai cuisine. This place has awesome food. Impressive.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was really good from the fish to the ribs and pad Thai! The house special was the salmon and it was very different but delicious which is exactly what I wanted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was wonderful as always. They were very accommodating with my friiend who has allergies and avoids heavy spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant . Food and service were awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

good food and excellent value

Excellent lunch vakue

Service good

Convenient Location

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This place is great for a quiet and productive business meal.

We got to take care of business while enjoying some of the best Thai food in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was our first time eating at Songkran. The waitress was very helpful and steered us toward great dishes. The snapper was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It is always a nice evening and great service. Jem has taken care of me twice now and I enjoy my evening every time.
Thank you,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

wonderful food with fresh and quality ingredient. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I generally don't like Thai food, but the food here was very good and looked good too. I recommend this place. Great food, great wait staff & great atmosphere. I will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and value although I detected sugar in some of the dishes, which the chef could definitely leave out.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

2nd time here. This time during Houston Restaurant Weeks 2016. Great value! Tried frog leg appetizer & was surprised how tasty & juicy. Wagyu beef so tender & flavorful. Ended with sticky rice dessert. All superb. Be warned that as evening progressed & space filled up, noise level increased to almost prevent me & my companion from hear each other. Too bad. But that did not diminish the food experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was awesome, really good tasting entrees and appetizers (we had shrimps and beef noodles of the Restaurant Weeks Menu). The place is a little noisy, because it is very open (one big room) and dining seating is next to the bar. Also, it was a Friday evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Enjoyed both food and service. Looking forward to cooler weather to enjoy patio. Looks inviting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Average food and unattentive waitress. I was hoping to have a fast dinner. Ordering, getting the food and paying took 1:15 hrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite Thai restaurant in Houston. Fortunately, it is walkable for us so it has become a go to place to have dinner. The food has character...multiple levels of taste. The curry Wagu beef is outstanding as well as the Singapore noodles. Heat is based on 1 thru 4. For those that like taste but not a mouth burning experience...2 is a good number to start with.

Nice wines and ice cold beer to go with the Thai cuisine. If you like last minute choices, dining at the bar is a great option. Nice bartenders and ESPN!

They earn their great reviews.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

OUTSTANDING Thai food matched with warm, and gracious service. They were exceedingly accomodating and sincere. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Authentic Thai food. Not westernized

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Absolutely Delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.