About Somedays Bistro

Enjoy a comfortable surrounding where you can sample wines while browsing Somedays Bistro selections. Be greeted by someone who wants to help you understand what you like and no more! Eat at Somedays Bistro or in the private J Lohr Room and be transcended to another place. It’s all about the experience!

101 Mill St Ste 105
Gahanna, OH 43230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Walnut St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 536-0411

Website:
http://www.somedaysbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking is available in Creekside Plaza's underground garage

Executive Chef:
Mike Glaser

Private Party Facilities:
Private seating for up to 12 people is available in our J Lohr room.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Somedays Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (10)
Casual (6)
See All
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and place. Wine flights reasonably priced for the amount of wine you get. The menu was very good. Meatballs are delish and so is the ricotta and honey. We came from out of town and would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I found the wine tasting menus were excellent! Our food however, left a bit to be desired. We had to ask for the pork chop to be cooked again because it was so dry it was difficult to swallow (but the seasoning was good). My risotto recipe was an amazing blend of ideas and flavors, but it was so salty that I could barely eat it (like REALLY salty....I almost wondered if some had been knocked in accidentally??). Our waiter was more than happy to correct the situation and also offered us two glasses of wine on the house, which we appreciated very much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day special Fixed menu and the options were fine, but the Filet were both cooked to perfection. mmmmGood!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent and the owner very friendly, there are a lot of wine to choose from. I definitely will go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was great. Food was very good. Creative menu. Will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was a really nice restaurant, but wish the music was a little quieter. The kitchen misplaced our appetizer order but our waiter apologized and took it off the bill. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed the variety of the items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We started with the tomatoes bruschetta. It was very flavorful. The chunks of tomato were a little large but nothing detrimental to the the taste just difficult to eat. We also chose our own bottle of wine. The wine selection is excellent and reasonably priced. For our main course I had the seafood cioppino. The seafood was cooked to perfection and the broth was very good. We also ordered the black and blue rissoto special with hanger steak. It was a huge portion and cooked to perfection and full of great fresh flavors. The brandy shrimp small plate was very rich and tasted wonderful. The pork chop with potato cakes was good the sauce was a bit too sweet. There was a live musician playing it was a little loud but tolerable. Overall excellent dinner we will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I went during 2-4 and I had 9 people in my group and they were very accommodating and the servers made sure we were taken care of. The wine and food was delicious. If you love wine, this is definitely the place to go!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A very nice surprise. We live on the east side and have limited options for finer dining. When looking online for restaurant week, we came across Somedays Bistro that we had no idea was there. The menu looked appetizing so we made a reservation. It still looks like the previous restaurant (Wine Guy Bistro) but some of the wine shelving has been replaced by more seating. The wine flights are still available as well. The difference was the fantastic food....Not to say the WGB food wasn't good it just wasn't what brought you to dine there. Somedays seems to have more emphasis on the food. We loved our choices from the prefix menu and hope to explore the regular menu soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Nice....still. This spot used to be under different ownership, but now is still a gem.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a very enjoyable evening at Somedays Bistro. Salads and entrees were very good ( linguine and meatballs, hunter chicken and pork chop ). Wine selection also very nice. Thanks to our server, Cassie, for her enjoyable service. I'm sure we'll return to Somedays Bistro.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Didn't see our waitress for spans of 30 minutes. The owner couldn't be bothered to come help or check on us when we were one of two tables in the entire restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food and wait staff were excellent would recommend it to anyone

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

No bread offerering w full meals. ????

Asked for honey mustard dressing w salad and received mustard. Second try mustard w horseradish. For $11 salad there should b a choice of dressing or tell me there is none I asked for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food although service was slower than when it was The Wine guy. Were not asked if wanted bread or even water before our wine. Our server was not very present even thou she introduced herself as on from The Wine Guy.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place to have lunch and dinner! This trip was for lunch and the Sweet Sue Sammy was delicious! While I was there I checked out the dinner menu and I'm looking forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The service was terrible! Our waiter acted as though he had zero interest in being there. The food was not seasoned well and just okay. The red wine flight was good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our first visit to Somedays Bistro was a very good one. We enjoyed a lovely evening on the patio a couple weeks ago - the service, ambience and wine selection were all very good. Our food was good as well - my only hesitation being that I ordered the special of the evening (a black and bleu risotto of some sort) and it seemed that there may still be a little bit of "tweaking" that needs to be done. I am not one to shy away from strong tastes (and I love bleu cheese) but it was a bit overpowering and could have used a bit more of the greens to balance it out. Otherwise, the steak and risotto were cooked perfectly and we very much enjoyed my husband's entree and the small plate we had ordered. I have no doubt that we'll make our way back again.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been to Somedays on several occasions. Each time has been a delight. Food choices were great and service was outstanding. We have dined both inside and out. Love the location! Salads and burgers are a favorite. If you can get the small private room go for it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was good. But when they said full bar and we asked for Bloody Mary, no mix. Then we asked for cider, didn't have that either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice quiet dinner. Food was very tasty, not large portions but just the right amount. Enjoyed the seafood stew very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great menu- lots of choices. Wine is really reasonably priced. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we loved being in the private room (for a birthday). We will definitely be back to try other items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Ordered salmon cakes- good flavor; steak bruschetta- unique dish, combination with great flavor. Mahi fish tacos with salad was very tasty. Service by Kevin was attentive and engaging. Give them a try- our experience Is you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overhead music was too loud !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2016

FOOD AND SERVICE Was AWESOME WINE SELECTION IS,OUTSTANDING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2016

.. the initial hostess was going to sit us at a hi-top..I had indicated in my reservation a quiet table. I could see that she saw my reservation requested a quiet table.. The only tables they had were 6tops or higher.. she got her manager who sat us in quiet corner 6 top table..

Will b making future reservations and visits.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Wine flights were awesome and good beer selection, too! Food was good and not overpriced. Great patio seating! Our server was attentive and very nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Somedays was quite nice. We were there on June 14th for dinner. Everyone enjoyed their food which included the Lobster beer mac & cheese -rich and delicious, charred brussels sprouts, risotto, salmon, bbq chicken pizza and salad. Varied and we all shared, a group of 6. Dessert was wonderful too, the chocolate mousse is just perfect - like eating a cloud and the creme brulee - decadent. There was nothing any of us did not like, a very enjoyable evening! Kevin , our wait person was efficient and very personable too! If you have never been you should try it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The ownership apparently changed in January and with it went the great food and service. Not one dish was worth the money. The new owner introduced himself and did his best along with a waiter to make us happy, but not much you can do when the food is way over salted, over cooked and/or just doesn't taste right. It's too bad because this use to be one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is certainly a fine choice for anyone who likes wines. The flights are really good, and fairly priced. The menu is on the smallish side, but does go well with the wines that are offered. The outdoor patio seating is nice, though evening sun can get hot.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2016

More than the name has changed. We went here for years but now they are dangerously negligent with food allergies and customer service. Waiter brought wrong pizza and insisted it was gluten free. My daughter finally said that the gluten free pizzas here are round and to check with chef. Chef said it was not gluten free but didn't get the pizza correct until the third pizza. She ate it in the car on the way home. They charged us for the pizza and didn't respond to complaint. Glad she didn't eat the wrong pizza because she is very allergic but they didn't seem concerned. Buyer beware.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I this was our first visit since this restaurant expanded and changed its name. Ed lived the food, as always, and the service was great. It was very, very noisy in the newly added space, and we had difficulty conversing as a result. Other than the noise, it was a Dubois Friday night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Jackie did a great job! Thank you!!!! You were very punctual and helpful, great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful service from professional and friendly staff. The wine flights were fun and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2016

This restaurant exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the manager, Dan, is super friendly and accommodating! The food was wonderful as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2016

I had the meatloaf, as I wanted some comfort food. It was well prepared and the mashed potatoes, green beans and mushrooms went well with it. The wine was a pretty good match if nothing spectacular.

In general the wines were somewhat brand driven, not necessarily the best value for money. They're good, but they could be more creative on finding smaller wineries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 2, 2016

This location misses the mark and does not deliver on food, service or ambiance. Overall not a good value and does not compare to Pickerington location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Easy parking, good food and wine. Staff pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2016

They have several different wine flights to allow you to explore your favorite types of wine. You can also get a bottle or glass of your favorite. They recently added some local beers as well. Good variety of food choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Always a good experience. The mussels are always a hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Other than the crying baby a delightful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Came in for a special family occasion. Found excellent food and wine selections. My first go at a wine-flight and I was quite pleased (full disclosure: I'm a wine novice).

Service wasn't outstanding as we frequently had to remind our staff of earlier requests, but that may have been a result of the fairly late hour we went and the size (6) of our party.

All things considered, though, I'll definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2016

We've been to the wine guy bistro several times and it has always been a great experience. Great food, great service, good wine list. Our most recent visit suffered from a flickering ceiling light that became headache inducing after just a few minutes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 2, 2016

It was a slow night but I had the Maple Bourbon Salmon with asparagus. Very good, perhaps a little heavy on the maple and light on the bourbon. Lacey was my server and did a great job. I'll be back when in Columbus. Conveniently located near the airport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I went for lunch one afternoon and once again, we were not disappointed! The wine selection is great, as is the cocktail list, and the menu offers a good variety of options. The staff are very knowledgeable about their food and drink menus and are able to give very good recommendations on what to eat or drink. We sat at the bar, and the bartender helped me chose between wines and food options. He didn't steer me wrong! I was happy with my choice, as was my husband with his cocktail and lunch option. We love how close it is to our house, and can't wait to go back for another meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2016

I have just returned from dinner at the Wine Guy. I would happily return. I had the Cioppino Seafood Stew. This dinner is clearly "two thumbs up." I will say that there were a number of temping things on the menu and I would like to try them on a return visit.

Although I had beer (good selection), this is clearly a wine place, with a wide selection. Make it a stop for you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was an incredible Valentine's Day celebration! Our server, Leslie, is a friend and a total delight. My husband had the salmon and I had the filet mignon. Both meals were done to perfection. The Malbech wine Leslie recommended was very flavorful and the perfect accompaniment to our meals. The ambiance was warm, comfortable and inviting. It was in the top five meals of our lifetime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great spot for a group to do some wine tasting, grab some food and take a few bottles home. Wouldn't suggest it for a romantic meal. But as a neighborhood spot it's well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2016

I love the daily risotto options. The choices can't be beat. And of course the wine is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.