Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Sol Grill

Sol Grill is your destination for the quintessential Southern California dining experience. Family owned and operated. Small, quaint, cozy. Delicious award winning food, great wine and superb service. Candle lit tables, art adorned red walls and antique lighting create a warm environment. It's the perfect backdrop for any occasion. See what the locals have known and enjoyed for the last 10 years.

110 McFadden Place
Newport Beach, CA 92663
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 723-4105

Website:
http://www.solgrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sol Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Casual (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for dinner. We will be back. Thank you
Newport Beach 💎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We really enjoyed the Filet Meatballs for an appetizer.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a great dinner and fabulous desert. Sol Grill is my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Would have preferred something other than plain white rice as a side but the Mahi Mahi was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place!! Great Service, Great Food. My husband and I have dinner here every year for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Never a disappointment!!!! Their food just has so much flavor, my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Small and friendly with great food and personalized service in a lively part of town near the pier. Ahi tuna chowder is amazing and generous portion. Swordfish and Ahi Tuna entries excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This place is totally unimpressive from the outside. However, the food is quite good. We split three small plates and a salad. All were excellent. Service was very good as well. About 75% occupancy on a Thu at 7PM. Not a lot of seating. In this area of touristy/flashy restaurants, it would be easy to overlook. However, the smaller dining area actually made it quieter. And, if you want something more lively after eating, there's a trendy bar right next door.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We love the Sol Grill! It is a bit small and I would always make reservations but the food is great. Hubby loves the sauted mushrooms, with lots of garlic. The fish is always excellent but everything is great!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fabulous as always, the food was terrific, Misty is such a gracious hostess.
We always recommend this little neighborhood jewel. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love this place! The filet meatballs are amazing and so is the lobster ravioli and meatloaf! Misty Is the sweetest and so inviting at this tiny gem of a restaurant located by the Newport Pier. Make a reservation because they get busy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The staff was excellent. Someone was always checking on us. In fact an employee saw me looking around and next thing you know someone is at our table asking what we need. From A-Z all was great! Manager even came over and checked on us.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Romantic and whimsical atmosphere, awesome and attentive service, and DELICIOUS food! The appetizer filet meatballs are AMAZING... definitely a must. The pitcher of sangria does not short you at all... probably 8 glasses worth. This is my favorite place to go on a date with my husband. :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Originally had been olanning a dste here for our 6yr anniversary based on stellar reviews and it being close by. The day of the reservation i went to the ER for kidney stones, the woman on the phone was very understanding. I rescheduled for Valentine's day on Open Table. Its the first time we actualy go out to dine for this "holiday" so i was unaware that places have special/condemced menues and different pricing. There were no signed or disclosures that the menu or prices were different than their regular HappyHour (5-7pm) we had a 6:25p reservation. Either way we waited for this date night so it was ok to splurge. We had sangria with check in which was greaaaat! And he had meatballs and i had the cod soup, so dofferent but it works! Like a fish soup but with a tomato base! He then got ribs and i got Newport Linguini. I wish for the soup and pasta we were offered grated cheese, but i will let it pass. It ended up being regular price, which i am ok eith because they haid their full menu and the food was amazin and everything i hoped for and it was the cutest little olace ever! Romantic and cozy enough for valentines day and catching up on a work day!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food. Be sure to order the meatballs as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came here for Valentines dinner and it was so nice. Food was delicious and it was very romantic. Service was very good as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sol is consistently a quality dinning experience. I have been many times and highly recommend. Their Coipino is my go to and never disappoints. My special lady recently tried the chicken alfredo which was delicious and good size portion. I always get a pitcher of their hand crafted sangria as well. Book reservations, I have tried to walk in before and was not seated. Don't let that happen to you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've lived in Newport Beach and never tried it although people recommended it to us. First , the service was great . Second the food was incredible and portions big. Will recommend to other people

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice meal. Cute decor. Nice service. Very loud bar which we weren't really expecting. A little too noisy for my preference.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Came here for my birthday dinner with family. Restaurant is very small...so not good for groups, but excellent food and appetizers. One major turn-off was when our waitress, Adriana, (who we had offered a *taste* of our champagne we brought) poured herself an entire glass of champagne. Not cool. When a customer allows you to taste the wine or champagne they brought, you pour yourself a minimal amount. Not an entire glass. Otherwise, above average experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food and has large portions, be sure you are hungry.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Menu was unimaginative, mashed potatoes tasted like rehydrated out of a box, glass-pour of wine tasted like the bottle had been opened a few days prior. Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had dinner last night and as always never disappointed. Me and my wife always order the Sol Meatballs which are the best! And then ordered the lemon rosemary chicken and I ordered the jambalaya pasta. Let's just say we left their full and happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Intimate and delicious, my favorite place for a great dinner in Orange County!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Sol Grill is probably my most favorite restaurant in Orange County! Fabulous ambiance with little candles, cozy dining area and all around friendliness by wait staff. When there's a birthday the whole restaurant sings and claps. Everyone seems so happy to be there.
Wonderful food with selections for all personalities and tastes. Love this place.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always great and is our favorite. If you go you must order the sirloin meatballs!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This quaint restaurant is a gem. The food was good and the quiet ambiance would be great for date night.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Probably my most favorite restaurant in Ca. Warm friendly people working there. The food is just so good. Everything I have ordered just has so much flavor. I just love it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Newport Beach. The tuna chowder is by far the best soup in Newport Beach and you can't go wrong with any menu item!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nice restaurant but nothing special about it. The desert selection was very poor. They bring it from outside store.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Marisa was our server. So kind and welcoming--it was our first visit. We started with their meatballs--AMAZING!!!!! My husband had the ribs which were fall off the bone tender and I had the lobster ravioli which had lobster in every bite!!!! The sangria was great! We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service was great. Food was good--good choices, well prepared. However, the restaurant is small, probably seats no more than 30 people The night our family of five was there to celebrate a birthday, a group of eight men arrived shortly after we had and proceeded to yell, shout from one end of their table to the other throughout the evening. The five of us could not even hear one another speak. There was music playing in the background--we could not hear it and it just added to the noise level on this occasion. We walked out with headaches and stress and really had not had the opportunity to converse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The meatball appetizer was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lobster Ravioli was the best I have EVER had, hands down!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Just average fare. Great location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome place, everything on the menu is sooooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Such friendly people working there. I love going there, always treated like a long lost friend. The food is outstanding, so much flavor in the food.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent filet and fabulous service. Such a unique place and it was great to catch up with an old friend who had never been to California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We LOVE this restaurant and are thrilled we live around the corner as it is our favorite place to take friends. Every meal we have ever eaten there (which is a LOT) has been outstanding. The cozy ambiance makes you feel very warm and welcome. We highly recommend it to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The weather was outstanding the food was outstanding and the entire evening was perfect. We will go back again over and over again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.