About Sol Grill

110 McFadden Place
Newport Beach, CA 92663
View Larger Map

Sol Grill is your destination for the quintessential Southern California dining experience. Family owned and operated. Small, quaint, cozy. Delicious award winning food, great wine and superb service. Candle lit tables, art adorned red walls and antique lighting create a warm environment. It's the perfect backdrop for any occasion. See what the locals have known and enjoyed for the last 10 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 723-4105

Website:
http://www.solgrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sol Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Casual (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Originally had been olanning a dste here ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Originally had been olanning a dste here for our 6yr anniversary based on stellar reviews and it being close by. The day of the reservation i went to the ER for kidney stones, the woman on the phone was very understanding. I rescheduled for Valentine's day on Open Table. Its the first time we actualy go out to dine for this "holiday" so i was unaware that places have special/condemced menues and different pricing. There were no signed or disclosures that the menu or prices were different than their regular HappyHour (5-7pm) we had a 6:25p reservation. Either way we waited for this date night so it was ok to splurge. We had sangria with check in which was greaaaat! And he had meatballs and i had the cod soup, so dofferent but it works! Like a fish soup but with a tomato base! He then got ribs and i got Newport Linguini. I wish for the soup and pasta we were offered grated cheese, but i will let it pass. It ended up being regular price, which i am ok eith because they haid their full menu and the food was amazin and everything i hoped for and it was the cutest little olace ever! Romantic and cozy enough for valentines day and catching up on a work day!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Be sure to order the meatbal ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food. Be sure to order the meatballs as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sol is consistently a quality dinning e ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sol is consistently a quality dinning experience. I have been many times and highly recommend. Their Coipino is my go to and never disappoints. My special lady recently tried the chicken alfredo which was delicious and good size portion. I always get a pitcher of their hand crafted sangria as well. Book reservations, I have tried to walk in before and was not seated. Don't let that happen to you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've lived in Newport Beach and never t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've lived in Newport Beach and never tried it although people recommended it to us. First , the service was great . Second the food was incredible and portions big. Will recommend to other people

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice meal. Cute decor. Nice service ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice meal. Cute decor. Nice service. Very loud bar which we weren't really expecting. A little too noisy for my preference.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Came here for my birthday dinner with fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Came here for my birthday dinner with family. Restaurant is very small...so not good for groups, but excellent food and appetizers. One major turn-off was when our waitress, Adriana, (who we had offered a taste of our champagne we brought) poured herself an entire glass of champagne. Not cool. When a customer allows you to taste the wine or champagne they brought, you pour yourself a minimal amount. Not an entire glass. Otherwise, above average experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and has large portions, be su ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food and has large portions, be sure you are hungry.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Menu was unimaginative, mashed potatoes ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Menu was unimaginative, mashed potatoes tasted like rehydrated out of a box, glass-pour of wine tasted like the bottle had been opened a few days prior. Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Had dinner last night and as always neve ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had dinner last night and as always never disappointed. Me and my wife always order the Sol Meatballs which are the best! And then ordered the lemon rosemary chicken and I ordered the jambalaya pasta. Let's just say we left their full and happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Intimate and delicious, my favorite plac ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Intimate and delicious, my favorite place for a great dinner in Orange County!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sol Grill is probably my most favorite r ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Sol Grill is probably my most favorite restaurant in Orange County! Fabulous ambiance with little candles, cozy dining area and all around friendliness by wait staff. When there's a birthday the whole restaurant sings and claps. Everyone seems so happy to be there.

Wonderful food with selections for all personalities and tastes. Love this place.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great and is our favorite. If you ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always great and is our favorite. If you go you must order the sirloin meatballs!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, , Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This quaint restaurant is a gem. The foo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This quaint restaurant is a gem. The food was good and the quiet ambiance would be great for date night.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Probably my most favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Probably my most favorite restaurant in Ca. Warm friendly people working there. The food is just so good. Everything I have ordered just has so much flavor. I just love it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in N ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Newport Beach. The tuna chowder is by far the best soup in Newport Beach and you can't go wrong with any menu item!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant but nothing special abou ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nice restaurant but nothing special about it. The desert selection was very poor. They bring it from outside store.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Marisa was our server. So kind and welco ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Marisa was our server. So kind and welcoming--it was our first visit. We started with their meatballs--AMAZING!!!!! My husband had the ribs which were fall off the bone tender and I had the lobster ravioli which had lobster in every bite!!!! The sangria was great! We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was great. Food was good--good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service was great. Food was good--good choices, well prepared. However, the restaurant is small, probably seats no more than 30 people The night our family of five was there to celebrate a birthday, a group of eight men arrived shortly after we had and proceeded to yell, shout from one end of their table to the other throughout the evening. The five of us could not even hear one another speak. There was music playing in the background--we could not hear it and it just added to the noise level on this occasion. We walked out with headaches and stress and really had not had the opportunity to converse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The meatball appetizer was delicious

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The meatball appetizer was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lobster Ravioli was the best I have EVER ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lobster Ravioli was the best I have EVER had, hands down!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just average fare. Great location

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Just average fare. Great location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Awesome place, everything on the menu is ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome place, everything on the menu is sooooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such friendly people working there. I lo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Such friendly people working there. I love going there, always treated like a long lost friend. The food is outstanding, so much flavor in the food.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent filet and fabulous service. Su ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent filet and fabulous service. Such a unique place and it was great to catch up with an old friend who had never been to California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE this restaurant and are thrilled ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We LOVE this restaurant and are thrilled we live around the corner as it is our favorite place to take friends. Every meal we have ever eaten there (which is a LOT) has been outstanding. The cozy ambiance makes you feel very warm and welcome. We highly recommend it to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The weather was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The weather was outstanding the food was outstanding and the entire evening was perfect. We will go back again over and over again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sol Grill is my favorite small, independ ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sol Grill is my favorite small, independently owned restaurant. The food is always amazing. I usually order the filet which is always cooked to perfection and just the way I ordered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The waitress was one of the friendliest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The waitress was one of the friendliest and best servers I've ever had. Excellent customer service. The sangria was excellent. The food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is full of inventive meals - li ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The menu is full of inventive meals - like their signature meatballs with sauce that is to die for. It is Mediterranean influenced California cuisine, generally on the lighter side with plenty of healthy options like ahi salad. Locals love this place as it is a unique gem of Newport Beach rather than just another common chain restaurant. As a local I promise you will love eating here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff always checking and makin ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Friendly staff always checking and making sure you are ok! Food was delicious!!! My husband and I will be going back!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here a few times it and gets better ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Been here a few times it and gets better and better. Staff is great and the food is better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was atrocious :-( ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was atrocious :-( Zero Stars would be appropriate.

We had made reservations for 5 people -- yet they put us on a table for 4 with an additional plastic chair.

Then they supposedly lost our ticket in the kitchen and only realized that after not having brought ANY food except bread to the table for over an hour.

When clearing the table the waitress dropped a mussel on one of our pants and instead of apologizing said "It's ok -- I'll pick it up later"

They had promised us a free deserts to make up for it but never bothered to come ask us what we wanted or brought any.

We had guests from overseas and utter disappointment basically sums up the experience of 2.5+ hours, that is the time it took from getting seated, appetizer,main course and getting the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Mozzarella salad, seafood pasta & sword ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Mozzarella salad, seafood pasta & sword fish amazing.....steak just so so...will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Wine could b ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent service and food. Wine could be more chilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal of vacation. Our family went ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Best meal of vacation. Our family went here on our first day of vacation and celebrated my husband's birthday. Even though this place is tiny (only about 25 seats) the food and service were outstanding. We split the mussels and there could have been a few more for the portion. I had the Salmon and my husband had the Ahi tuna, both were fabulous. The kids had the lobster ravioli and fettuccine alfredo which they both loved . We got to try them as well and you could taste how fresh & homemade they were. There was a larger table celebrating a birthday as well so it got a little noisy but didn't mind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Fabulous again! My favorite neighborhood restaurant. We brought friends and now they love it too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walk into SolGrill and you'll feel like ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Walk into SolGrill and you'll feel like you've been transported to a more laid back and yet hip establishment in a place far from the typical Newport Beach scene. Romantic and eclectic with it's warm decor, it feels stylish without pretense.

We came for my daughter's 24th BDay and enjoyed the Sangria (perfectly refreshing, not too sweet) before dining on the Lobster Ravioli with shrimp, Jambalaya and Cioppino.

Misty (the owner) and Adriana made our dining experience easy and delicious.

I highly recommend their happy hour (all night) Tuesdays... $3 Sangrias and appetizers 1/2 price... The meatballs are a must. Go here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices and very well prepared. Attentive staff. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is delicious and the service is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint & Yummy!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2016

We visit here every year while vacationing in area. Great happy hour with sangria and delicious & unique small plates. Love the filet mignon meatballs & mushrooms!!! Great value & delcious food. Misty (owner) is so welcoming & friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.