Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About SOL Cocina

The Best of Baja in the heart of North Scottsdale at the Scottsdale Quarter, SOL Cocina offers an upscale, yet inviting dining experience. Executive Chef Deborah Schneider, a James Beard nominated cookbook author and authority on authentic Mexican cuisine, has created a menu of contemporary and gourmet interpretations of coastal Baja dishes, including antojitos, street tacos, cocktels de mariscos and main entrees made with fresh seafood, wood grilled meats, local produce and salsas that are all made in-house daily. A variety of dishes are available vegetarian, vegan and gluten free. The vibrant bar offers inventive hand-made cocktails and more than 60 artisan tequilas.

15323 N. Scottsdale Rd Suite 195
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 245-6708

Website:
http://solcocina.com/scottsdale/

Entertainment:
Live Acoustic Music:

Tuesday: 5:30 – 9:30 pm
Sunday: noon – 3:00 pm

Parking Details:
Parking is readily in the Scottsdale Quarter in the parking lot just south of SOL Cocina. There is also valet parking available directly across from SOL Cocina.

Executive Chef:
Deborah Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SOL Cocina has a private dining room, with a private bar. This room can be configured to accommodate large and small parties, up to 100 guests. For your event planning needs, please contact scottsdaleevents@solcocina.com.

Sort By:
S
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Popular spot even on week nights. It was noisy, so not a great place to have a conversation. Food was delicious and margaritas were tasty. Service was prompt and friendly. Definitely one for a return visit.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Over good experience. Had a reservation & had to wait an extra 15 minutes. Upsetting part was that 2 other walk in parties of 4 were seated before us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Stephanie the server was great. Best skinny margaritas fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was awesome! We will definitely go back!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I like this place. Not a huge fan of the tostada chips (would prefer just a really good tortilla chip) but the Guacamole Sol was awesome no matter what the vehicle. Was surprised by the tastiness of my taco- thought I was getting it with beans and rice (per the menu and my ticket) but just got black beans. Still, those were tasty. A bit noisy but fun atmosphere. And awesomely tart Skinny Margarita.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Creative menu, but it's a bit salty yet blend for my taste. Guacamole was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Ambiance was incredible. Service was on point. Food was great but a little pricey. Alcoholic drink were very good with wide variety.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Shrimp tacos and carne asada tacos were both spectacular, and the rice was above average. Great service and nice ambiance, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Sol was fabulous. From housemade chips with 2 excellent salsas, to table side margaritas, and to unique and memorable entrees, we were very satisfied.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were in town from Chicago. Our waiter, Ben, was excellent and made wonderful meal suggestions. We started with the traditional guacamole and margaritas (watch out the margarita will sneak up on you). Our food came in a timely manner, but not too quickly, like some Mexican restaurants. I had the viper taco which was delicious and spicy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our food was amazing! We all tried something new and we're all very happy with our choices! Our waitress was very helpful and fun!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went back to give the place another try
Nice atmosphere but loud
Had guacamole that was very good
Fish taco plate had VERY LITTLE FISH
Pork carnitas were DRY
Sides were good
Wouldn't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent food! I've been to Sol 5 times and never had anything less than outstanding food. Because Sol is so popular and always full, and the bar and and dining tables are in the same room, Sol is not a place for quiet conversations. You do have to speak up to be heard! Service is good, but it's can be hard to find a waiter once your food is served. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great menu options; delicious food; fresh Guam and margaritas!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Six of us for lunch at Sol Cocina. We were not disappointed - great food, service and ambiance. We will be back. Highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Loved it! Always perfect. Great food, tasty mexican, perfect service. You cannot complain here, but maybe a tad pricy for Mexican food. So just one complaint, but worth the price.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious food and margaritas. We did a few of the tacos ala carte and enjoyed all of them. I don't like their chips but not a deal breaker.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had heard good things about this restaurant. Met friends for happy hour. Didn't have meals but ordered off the HH menu. Food was ok. So were drinks. Nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was great but lighting was a bit dim, could barely read the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome service, great food, yummy drinks, nice ambiance - overall a great restaurant! We've dined their twice, and will definitely go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a wonderful holiday season family dinner. Options for all veggie, beef eaters and calorie counters. Service outstanding, ask for Brittany, fully knowledgeable about menu and listens to what you like. Attentive but not interfearing. Liked it so much bought the gift card with bonus card. Authentic and well potioned. Will recommend and go back. Great location for walking around before or after. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall a wonderful experience ... quality of food and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Reservations made, seated upon arrival in the bar area so we could enjoy happy hour pricing and menu. Server was top shelf and made great recommendations for us. Food was excellent and unique as usual. Always a great choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had my childhood friend in town for the weekend she absolutely loved it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on December 10, 2016

We sat at the bar and enjoyed the chips and salsas. We also ordered the chorizo, cheese and mushroom appetizer. It was very tasty. The margaritas were very good as well. Although, for 4 HOUSE margaritas and the appetizer, our check was $88. Not quite the "casual" lunch price we had in mind, but would recommend this restaurant as long as you don't mind to spend the $$$.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The only thing better than the service (top-notch) was the food which was excellent in all regards.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Sadly another Southwest cuisine fail. Let's start with my $15 Margarita...basically just their supposed homemade sour mix...maybe the bartender forgot the tequila. On to the food...the salsa's are bland at best, very little unique flavor, very little heat. Ordered 3 tacos, one shrimp, one yellowtail, one carnitas. Again nothing special flavor wise, in fact the dominant taste was that of a fried corn tortilla. At the end of the evening my wife and I had spent $122 on three tacos each and an order of very ordinary guacamole (includes the extra shots of tequila we had to order to make our margarita's drinkable).
The bummer here is that the menu IS creative and innovative...they just don't execute. And if the bar can't or won't make a better cocktail they won't last long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tortilla soup disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Taco Tuesday! We used to sit outside to avoid the loud music, but now they're piping it out there. Oh well....

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

SOL Cucina WILL NOT disappoint! We were looking for a restaurant in Scottsdale and used Yelp for
our search. After reading the reviews we made a reservation and had dinner that night at SOL. Our server (Ben) was knowledgeable and attentative. The flavors were outstanding and they had a great variety of margaritas to choose from. I loved the menu. We can't to wait to go back!!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our server was great, she was attentive and friendly. The food was decent but there are a lot of very good Mexican restaurants around. You go here for the location at the Scottsdale Quarter and the friendly vibe.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went on a busy night and thety forgot our appetizer, which they comp'd after delivering it after our meals. Good food and drinks.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food and drink. We loved everything we ordered. Our server was Gio and he was fantastic. Our only problem was the noise level....yikes! We had to shout at each other which made conversation very hard.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was not what I expected. Not really authentic Mexican food at all.
The Tres Leche Cake was nothing like the real Tres Leche Cake and at $9.00 a slice, it was a huge disappointment.

It was an okay evening. Glad we tried Sol. But I would not return. But it was packed, so obviously, other patrons have a different opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Liked this restaurant. The food was really nice and satisfied everyone's tastebuds. Service was really good. Ambiance was really good. Totally recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love it! Had my Mom out from Seattle and she thought it was fabulous. I'm just fortunate that I can go any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Starters and special are great the rest more average. Hot spicy is just average.
Nice cocktails, good wines but simple beer selection with just very few on draft.

... Happy Hour must be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Unique take on Mexican food and everyone liked their meals. The street tacos were excellent and just the right amount of food. The calamari appetizer was good as was the naked guacamole. Those that ordered burritos also gave high marks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great Guac, tacos are amazing but above all, the service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2016

There food is excellent and the service was fabulous. The calamari and guacamole was super yummy. The Viper Taco was hot and delicious. Everything we tried was excellent flavor especially the corn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.