Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Social Eatery & Bar

“Social Eatery & Bar offers unforgettable Italian-American comfort food in a unique indoor/outdoor setting with an exceptional style that is refined yet casual and invites spontaneity. Old World charm kisses New World sophistication. Eat. Drink. Socialize.”

OUR CONCEPT:

Social Eatery & Bar takes an inventive and original approach to traditional Italian-American comfort food that emphasizes the use of fresh-made and local ingredients.

For generations, Italian food has been amongst the most popular, if not the most popular, food in America. Today, those who dine at fine restaurants of every type continue to enjoy classic cuisine, and still demand creativity from the chef. Yet there is a new dynamic, an almost primal yearning for food that is healthy, fresh, local, delicious and fun.

Social Eatery & Bar hopes to combine our love for classic Italian comfort food with our desire for fresh and local ingredients.

1219 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
US 41 & 1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 444-7072

Website:
http://www.socialonfirst.com/

Catering:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is offered

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Social Eatery & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Overall a nice place with excellent service. Food was good but did not care for my entree which was chicken meatloaf special. Too spicy. I did not care for the menu entrees. If I go again I will stick to appetizers, salads or pizza. Not a great wine list by the glass.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Restaurant is VERY loud. Even if you're not sitting in the bar area, it was hard to hear conversation at our table. I wish more of the restaurant was under air conditioning. More than half the area is not (it's semi-open air). The only area that was fully air conditioned was the front bar and we didn't want to sit there because of the noise level. The food was okay. Nothing spectacular. My carbonara was more soupy than creamy so it was a little disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Good atmosphere but the music was a little loud for conversation. The food was good with lots of menu options.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fun, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our experience was pretty good.
We both enjoyed our appetizers and meal.
Our service was very good.
We're looking forward to going there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were celebrating our friends birthday. The atmosphere is fun, not many "old " people.
In Florida it is nice to go out and be with young people. If you had live music the place would be amazing. Our waitress was so polite and courteous , she was serving the whole front of the restaurant. There should be a busser who serves water for her. We had no water service for awhile.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good drinks (terrific goat cheese olives) interesting but limited menu, too loud

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good food and great location convenient to the Florida Studio Theatre Campus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

First visit to Social. Had requested an inside table when the reservation was made and was a little disappointed that we were placed at a table that was at the opening to the outside eating area. Although there were fans overhead, it was very humid and warm. This was our only negative at Social. The staff were friendly, fast, and efficient. The food - - Amazing!! We were a party of 4, 3 of us having different orders, so we all taste tested the various meals. We will definitely return to Social and have already been relaying the goodness of Social.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wouldn't recommend. Waiter was unfamiliar with menu. Expensive. Too many flies near window. Small portions for price and meatballs were supposed to come with spaghetti we were told. It didn't . Martini was small for $10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Lively hot spot, notable for popularity with Sarasota's younger crowd.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Social Eatery characterizes itself as Eat - Farm Fresh, Drink - Craft, Be Social and it did not disappoint. The food was excellent. We chose the freshly caught Grouper with and amazing sauce as well as several of their other specialties. The food as fabulous, the Craft Beers and Cocktails were inventive and the wine list had something for everyone. The space has indoor dining open to the outdoors with a great vibe. Many patrons hang at the back patio open bar with not only has a fire pit, but also outdoor air conditioning to keep cool in the summer heat.
This was a GREAT find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always reliable and fun. Great craft cocktails and a nice selection of food choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Monday night "date" dinner. Made a reservation, although I don’t believe one was needed. I always recommend reservations. Neither of us ordered alcoholic drinks but did order the ginger-lime (non-alcoholic) cocktail. Tart and refreshing on a warm early evening. Both ordered meatballs, one chicken parmesan and one lamb. Both were delicious.
The service was spotted on, we were taken care of but not coddled. The price was reasonable. I can't wait to go back in fall and winter. I believe in the cooler months, Social is a gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Friendly service, excellent quality food! Cool atmosphere. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

MY FOOD WAS EXCELLENT; WIFE'S NOT AS GOOD. SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING (ALWAYS IS WITH VAL--WHAT A GREAT STAFF PERSON). WINE WAS GREAT AND AT A REASONABLE PRICE. BEEN A WHILE SINCE LAST AT SOCIAL (HAD SOME DISAPPOINTMENTS) AND NOW FEEL IT IS BACK TO BEING A STAR FACILITY.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love Social Eatery! Great place to come for amazing food and service! Will be returning soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I had a wood fired pizza and coming form a picky pizza palate (say that three times fast!) , let me say that the key ingredient (tomato sauce) was special.

I dined alone (I know the irony, dinner for one at a place named Social). Though neither of the groups next to me gave me the time of day (which is an observation, not a complaint , the bar manager was very sweet to converse with me so I didn't feel alienated.

To drum up business, Social may want to advertise a night for loners who want conversation and book seats at that large communal table. I can't be the only human in Sarasota who'd like dinner conversation, but is without a current relationship.

I'll definitely go back, with or without company.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We have been going to Social since it opened.
The menu has been pretty consistent but this time they did not have the specials for fish and meat, and the menu at the bottom was not there. It usually had some pasta, seafood and/or meat entrees. I did have the lamb meatballs which were great but I was looking for something more healthy. Other members of our party were happy with their food. We moved from the bar area to outside to get away from the noise in the bar and that caused our service to be slightly disrupted.
All in all ok, but not as good as we had experienced before.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great Concept, but overall not worth going. Menu descriptions did not live up to what came out of the kitchen. I would not recommend going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always a great experience. The lamb meatballs are great! When the weather cools, the back patio area is wonderful with couches and fire pits to cuddle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We are regulars at Social on First but this was my birthday. My cocktail in the delightful plein air bar was on the house. Val always waits on us and she is a treasure. The food was delicious, just the right size portions and the wine excellent. And finally I was given a delicious chocolate dessert with a candle on it. All in all a wonderful, festive occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I went for my birthday dinner and found that the decor and service were fantastic. The food was definitely delicious, however, it would be nice to have the "sharable plates" just a dollar or two less than the regular plates. We were definitely more interested in ordering a ton of dishes but it didn't make sense since you could get a full meal for a similar price.

Since it was the off-season and a Monday, the restaurant was definitely more quiet than I'd imagine they would have been later in the week or during high-season. We sat outside which was quite beautiful and a fan was provided to help keep us cool. I would have loved to have had music on out there as it was just us and super quiet. That certainly would have improved the atmosphere just a bit.

Our waitress was kind and quick and the drinks were especially tasty. This is a definite place to visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Tasty and service was good, even though we went at 5:30 when it was largely empty. They were kind and accommodating with our newborn as well. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Please note.
They did not have my reservation when I arrived.
Food was excellent as usual.
I had kale salad and lamb meatballs, a favorite. My friend had grouper and cleaned the plate. Guess it was good!
Service was good.
It's on my regular list of go-to restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We go to the theater a lot and thought it would be a convenient place to try...wow...it was wonderful. From the lovely seating areas, to the staff, to the food. I loved the menu, so many different options. We definitely want to go back soon!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great drinks, reasonably priced good wines, and good food hampered by occasionally uneven service, particularly when you first show up. Pizza and pasta were really good which I guess makes this my favorite non-Italian Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Restaurant Social is always dependable and enjoyable!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food, as always very good, and good value. It appeared that there was only one waitperson, and while she was working very hard, had trouble getting to everyone and everything in a timely manner. Maybe splurge and add staff, or maybe the manager could pitch in... take a few tables.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

What an awful experience! Social was dreadful. We had one of the quietest tables in the restaurant, but the noise level was overpowering. Far too noisy to have a conversation, even when we were speaking loudly. The noise alone ruined the evening, and the mediocre level of the food and drink didn't help. Fortunately, there was one bright spot: our server Amber was terrific in every respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful venue and great ambiance! Great blueberry mule and interesting dish opinions (which were delicious).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food is consistently good, Service is often confused and spotty.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My friend and I always dine at Social when we attend an evening or matinee performance at Florida Studio Theatre, which is within walking distance. It is a perfect pairing! The service at Social is outstanding. The wait staff is attentive, knowledgeable and professional.

At this most recent visit, we were relaxed, enjoying our dinner, when realizing suddenly that we had five minutes to curtain at FST. Our dessert had already been ordered, but the restaurant offered to keep it in the refrigerator until after the performance. We did make curtain, and so, after the performance we returned and enjoyed the most delicious chocolate dessert! Thanks, Social! You're the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great cocktails and atmosphere. Apps where good, food was below average.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent again! Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - food was notable - quinoa salad, polenta, lamb meatballs, sausage & fennel pizza - all delicious and the service was nicely attentive.
It rained when we arrived and we'd requested outdoor reservation but management easily moved us so we were comfortable under the retractable roof. We'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Everyone that worked at social was positively lovely. They were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you. They were all really nice people. The food was great and the ambience was great. We had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have eaten here many times and have always been delighted with the food. This time due to some menu changes I was disappointed with my selection. On the old menu there were "flatbreads" that were delicious. The updated item is a pizza with a much thicker crust. Other members of my party ordered meatballs -- which were wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very much enjoy the wide range of menu items. Our server Val was the perfect combination of friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We were able to communicate with our friends and enjoy the ambiance. Will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was the first time my wife and I dined at Social Eatery. While we enjoyed our meals there were a couple issues. The service was inattentive.......our server would disappear for rather long periods of time and it's a good thing we didn't have any problems that needed attention. My wife has the Grouper Picatta which she enjoyed and I had the Seafood Linguine. While my meal was also good it was misnamed - there wasn't any seafood other than shrimp so I think the meal should be called Shrimp Linguine. One positive was we dined on Wednesday and they happen to have a promotion called Wine Wednesday. If you order a bottle of wine there's a $10.00 discount which we took advantage of and was very much appreciated. All in all the experience was a positive one and we will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We have been to Social a few times, and I was very disappointed this time. I had requested, in advance, a quiet spot so we could talk with the couple that came with us. Thankfully, they did not seat us in the bar area, which is extremely noisy, but did manage to seat use outside, near a fairly loud fan, which they turned off when another couple were seated right next to it. They never offered any bread (maybe this is their policy, but given the prices, they could have easily afforded to provide that). The service throughout dinner was very spotty. It took a very long time to bring the soup for one of us, to the point where we were all finished with our appetizers before they brought that soup. Staff were scarce. They took my fork with the empty salad plate and did not automatically replace it when bringing the entre. My ravioli "special" was not special at all. They were anemic, with barely any filling; basically just dough. My experience was bad this night, and I will not be returning, nor recommending Social Eatery, as it seems they currently cannot deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Perfect night for outdoor eating.
All 3 of us enjoyed our choices and tried new things.
Very eclectic and adventurous menu. Easy to dine there often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.