Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Social Eatery & Bar

“Social Eatery & Bar offers unforgettable Italian-American comfort food in a unique indoor/outdoor setting with an exceptional style that is refined yet casual and invites spontaneity. Old World charm kisses New World sophistication. Eat. Drink. Socialize.”

OUR CONCEPT:

Social Eatery & Bar takes an inventive and original approach to traditional Italian-American comfort food that emphasizes the use of fresh-made and local ingredients.

For generations, Italian food has been amongst the most popular, if not the most popular, food in America. Today, those who dine at fine restaurants of every type continue to enjoy classic cuisine, and still demand creativity from the chef. Yet there is a new dynamic, an almost primal yearning for food that is healthy, fresh, local, delicious and fun.

Social Eatery & Bar hopes to combine our love for classic Italian comfort food with our desire for fresh and local ingredients.

1219 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
US 41 & 1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 444-7072

Website:
http://www.socialonfirst.com/

Catering:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is offered

Private Party Facilities:
Social Eatery & Bar offers a spectacularly unique and varied array of indoor and outdoor settings for you and your party to eat, drink and socialize.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (941) 348-2781

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Social Eatery & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Fun (32)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Fireplace (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Healthy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Authentic (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Romantic (9)
Tapas (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Organic (7)
Cozy (7)
Quick Bite (6)
People Watching (6)
Great Beer (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Great cocktails and atmosphere. Apps where good, food was below average.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent again! Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - food was notable - quinoa salad, polenta, lamb meatballs, sausage & fennel pizza - all delicious and the service was nicely attentive.
It rained when we arrived and we'd requested outdoor reservation but management easily moved us so we were comfortable under the retractable roof. We'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Everyone that worked at social was positively lovely. They were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you. They were all really nice people. The food was great and the ambience was great. We had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have eaten here many times and have always been delighted with the food. This time due to some menu changes I was disappointed with my selection. On the old menu there were "flatbreads" that were delicious. The updated item is a pizza with a much thicker crust. Other members of my party ordered meatballs -- which were wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very much enjoy the wide range of menu items. Our server Val was the perfect combination of friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We were able to communicate with our friends and enjoy the ambiance. Will be back!

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was the first time my wife and I dined at Social Eatery. While we enjoyed our meals there were a couple issues. The service was inattentive.......our server would disappear for rather long periods of time and it's a good thing we didn't have any problems that needed attention. My wife has the Grouper Picatta which she enjoyed and I had the Seafood Linguine. While my meal was also good it was misnamed - there wasn't any seafood other than shrimp so I think the meal should be called Shrimp Linguine. One positive was we dined on Wednesday and they happen to have a promotion called Wine Wednesday. If you order a bottle of wine there's a $10.00 discount which we took advantage of and was very much appreciated. All in all the experience was a positive one and we will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We have been to Social a few times, and I was very disappointed this time. I had requested, in advance, a quiet spot so we could talk with the couple that came with us. Thankfully, they did not seat us in the bar area, which is extremely noisy, but did manage to seat use outside, near a fairly loud fan, which they turned off when another couple were seated right next to it. They never offered any bread (maybe this is their policy, but given the prices, they could have easily afforded to provide that). The service throughout dinner was very spotty. It took a very long time to bring the soup for one of us, to the point where we were all finished with our appetizers before they brought that soup. Staff were scarce. They took my fork with the empty salad plate and did not automatically replace it when bringing the entre. My ravioli "special" was not special at all. They were anemic, with barely any filling; basically just dough. My experience was bad this night, and I will not be returning, nor recommending Social Eatery, as it seems they currently cannot deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Perfect night for outdoor eating.
All 3 of us enjoyed our choices and tried new things.
Very eclectic and adventurous menu. Easy to dine there often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Teress our waitress was a doll. The decor is industrial minimalism- extremely stylish. Had one of the best filets of my life on top of a tricolor carrot purée. My husband had the pancetta crusted chicken- rich and flavorful. Both were the specials for the evening. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Unusual menu. Meatball main dishes were delicious. Service was very attentive

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have been here several times, and each time we enjoyed the food, the scene, the energy, and the people watching. This is the first time we used valet parking, and that worked out beautifully. The noise level in the area we had towards the front entrance is very intense, and it was hard to hear the waitress give the specials. We survived, however. Love this place, and will definitely come back again and again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was good; however, we waited ten minutes for a water to show up, no one came over to help, we flagged down two different employees and water finally showed up. He took our drink order and came back 5 minutes later with 3 out of 4 drinks and then left to go get other drink. Bar is only 20' feet from our table and restaurant wasn't very busy. Food delivered by someone else. Waiter came back to see if we wanted to order dessert, but didn't bother to clear dirty dishes or glasses. Need training for both waiters and busboys. best food in world can't overcome bad service. We have eaten here since you opened and I would have to say this is our last visit. bill was $138 + tip for four people. We could eat anywhere downtown for this. Very disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fun outdoors atmosphere, great pizzas and fun applies, service just fine, will keep as a fav " go to"

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Social has a great vibe and a creative appetizer menu. We ordered 4 appetizers and our favorite was the burrata. My husband enjoyed the lamb meatballs. We would definitely return since it's down the block from Florida Studio Theater.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Amazing as always 😀

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great service even though waiter forgot our salad but food was overall unimpressive. I expected much more given the reviews. A great place for drink and appetizers maybe...

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Social's noise level in the bar area is terrible. Nothing absorbs the noise. My date and I had to move because we couldn't hear each other, even when shouting. We move on to the patio, where we could sit on loveseats. The noise decreased appreciably, but the stone coffee table was too far from where we sat to use it as our dining table.

We had wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We all enjoyed our first "Social" experience.

One had the ravioli's; and she said the dough was thick, tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was very good. Service was terrible. Waited over 30 minutes for our first order of drinks. Complained about the wait, but didn't get any better for the next round. Ask but never saw the manager. Won't go back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Poor food selections. I ordered sauté chicken breast on a bed of linguini and received shredded chicken mixed in linguini. One seafood selection was raw (not tuna) Not an enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Baked veggies and Mediterranean meatballs were out of this world, service was mediocre to say the least. Our bill was brought to us, and I asked for dessert menu...never received but got followed up with on paying the bill, very odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is our favourite restaurant in Sarasota .... it has a wonderful menu and friendly staff. No problem with parking they provide valet parking.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Historic, Fireplace, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Appetizers better than entrees, but entrees very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was our first visit to Social Eatery. I was a bit skeptical, considering the reviews having negative comments about service and noise. However, it was a very pleasant experience! We were promptly seated and chose the outdoor patio on a lovely spring evening. The decor is nicely minimal and modern, reminding me of California restaurants more than typical Sarasota. Our server James was prompt, helpful, and right on point. He let us talk and order each course gradually, which was very well timed. Nice cocktails to start, then shared Classic Meatballs as a hearty appetizer--great flavor! We also enjoyed chicken gnocchi, which was fluffy and tender with excellent sauce. The seafood linguini with large shrimp and big chunks of grouper was also very good. We topped it off with a chocolate marscapone dessert! I will happily return to Social and likely will become a regular diner. It's a top choice in the downtown Sarasota scene!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always love Social! Great for any occasion. Favorite spot in SRQ.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food is great, service is awful as usual. Every time we go we always ask for bread and ever time it is forgotten. Have to remind the waitress multiple times to get things as she forgets a lot.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were looking for something more creative/unusual than the usual menu, and found it at Social. We tried two different meatball items, and liked them both. We were seated outside, which was quite pleasant, and lessened the noise from a party of seven at a table just a few feet away. (Inside, it seemed to be much noisier.) Our server was friendly, although very young and not very experienced. We'd return, but only if we can get a quieter, outside table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The house salad was drab: romaine with a few julienne pepper slices and a dressing that Verged on tasteless. None of the four of us thought the food was anything more than totally ordinary: the lamb meatballs came in a mysterious yellowish sauce. If it was meant to be hollandaise it missed the mark. The pasta (carbonara) was uninspired and the main course was forced upon us over protests that we had more than half of our salads left. Whatever happened to the chef who created delicious Asian fusion dishes?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The service was slow and it took more than 15 minutes to get a drink. Food was average. The waiters and service people need more training. They clear the plates in front of you and stack them. Our waitress did apologize for the delay for the drinks and not having some of the specials that were listed. Hated that most of the menu says "market price" so you have to ask the waiter or waitress all the prices. Overall it was barely satisfactory and I wouldn't waste my time going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I love the unexpected food pairings. I always have difficulty making a choice!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was average, service was painfully slow. Would not return. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our food was delicious and the wait staff was superb. I love going there and being in such a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food and friendly, efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

First time here; would go back but request the patio for sure! Great bar ( actually 2). I had the ravioli and it was amazing! My husband had the lamb and loved it! Rolls were homemade and great as well!

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Social was so good that I went two nights in a row for dinner, taking two different groups of friends. The food was great -- the pretzel crusted calamari was outstanding, the pizzas on the happy hour special were terrific, the four kinds of meatballs were tried were all delicious, our server was fantastic -- and all in all Social gets top stars.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Dinner was served before appetizers were done and cleared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Picked up a friend from Chicago at SRQ and went straight to Social Eatery for a late dinner. The beautiful & spacious bar area was alive with activity but really noisy. We ate outside on the patio where the noise didn't reach, and we had a great dinner, friendly, attentive service & a wonderful time getting caught up. Highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great spot downtown. Loving decor and ambience. Meatballs are the best!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Ambiance and staff were great. Food was so so at best. A little pricey for what you got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Wow. Amazing food and overall experience!! Best place to go for a birthday or special occasion. Loved it!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Organic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.