Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

Thank you for choosing Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ.

Please Note The Following:
- We do not accept reservations for the patio.
- Individual, itemized checks may only be given to parties of 5 or less. We can accommodate a maximum of 6 credit cards when splitting checks.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Parking Details:
•Meters outside of Smylie Bros on Oak Avenue. $1.00 per hour. 2-hour maximum limit. Meters at corner of Oak & Church and down Oak Avenue crossing Church Street. .25 cents per hour. 15-hour maximum limit.

•Parking Lot next to Smylie Bros. $1.00 per hour. 2-hour maximum limit.
•Free street parking on Oak Avenue crossing Davis Street down to Dempster Avenue.
•Paid parking garages. Church Street & Maple Avenue or on the corner of Davis Street & Benson Avenue.

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Casual (19)
See All
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Live Sports (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (3)
Spicy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Definitely the place to drink & eat (aka recover) after bicycling 100 miles from Evanston to Kenosha & back after the North Shore Century event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Welcoming host staff, attentive wait staff, great beer, diverse menu options and very good food offerings. What's not to like?!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The beer was fantastic, the food was high-end pub fare - well presented and generally well prepared. The server was distracted and inattentive; the decor and vibe get high marks. Will definitely return but hope to get a different server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Chili-cheese fries were amazing! Great place for good beer, lots of sports on the TVs and solid BBQ. We can never make it to dessert (and we typically split the BBQ flight so we can sample all the deliciousness!) but it looks amazing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I come here on an infrequent but regular basis. Always love the food and the staff is very good. Took home a growler which is waiting the right time to open.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Pretty good food and good flavor on the BBQ brisket, but it was awfully fatty despite having ordered it lean. The sides are really good: corn pudding, cole slaw, salads. Efficient service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Disappointed in meal and service. Waiter was generally unavailable and the Chopped Brisket and Pulled chicken sandwiches we ordered were just warm at best. The best part of the meal were the fries which were hot. Outside patio at a good atmosphere. To many other places to visit. Don't plan on returning.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Favorite. Hits all the starts all the time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was good. The only problem was finding hair in my french fries. Our waitress was kind enough to remove an item from our bill because of this. First time having this issue at Smylie Bros.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I like this place a lot. Love the Purple Line beer and that you can get a 5 oz. beer. The pizza is very good, and the barbecue is good. The half chicken is a great Sunday dinner, and get it with the spoon bread which is warm and moist and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We loved the atmosphere and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Fantastic! Restaurant was accommodating for the 2 year old we had. However the booth behind us was not, and extremely rude.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Nice service, great BBQ. Nice selection of beers.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great meal as always - our out-of-town guests were very impressed. It was my second day in a row eating dinner there. I never get tired of Smylie and I don't even eat meat!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Awesome service. Waitress anticipated needs. Very relaxed and overall great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The beans were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great local spot! Had a great meal outside. Their beer list is great and the staff is very knowledgeable of the beer menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I came on a Saturday with my daughter for a last minute dinner. We sat outside on the patio and had a great dinner! I ordered the mussels on recommendation by our waitress and my daughter got (as always..) pizza - and at the whole thing! I forget which beer I had but that was also very good - great experience, would definitely go back!

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have been here a number of times and have enjoyed every visit. Beers are really good and the menu is full of terrific BBQ options.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

My mixed cocktails were not good. The first one I returned, the second one tasted watered down. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was good, fun and festive environment. They messed up once of our group's orders and comped the entree, which was classy.

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As always, Smylie Brothers was terrific dinner. Superb chili, made w/ their great brisket, is a nice starter. We each had the sliced brisket sandwich w/ their excellent hand-cut fries. Service, as always, was excellent--very attentive, very knowledgeable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Usually ribs are outstanding but that night they were overcooked. We sat on the patio and it was a lovely evening. Server knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

If you're looking for a dry rub done right, then this is the place! Food and service are outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great outdoor seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The spoon bread, brisket, barbecue flight, and pizza were delicious. Juiciest brisket we've ever tasted! The Purple Line beer is fantastic. Smylie Bros is our Evanston favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great kids menu! It's the perfect spot for lunch or dinner with the kids. It's also a fun place to hang w buddies. Outside seating is ample

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We really enjoyed Smylie's. We enjoyed everything about the restaurant - the food, service, and ambience. Some items were a little pricey - an egg on a burger was $2.00 - a little steep for that add on, as well as a side of cheese sauce for $2.00. Overall, it was a great experience, and we will go again.

The only other bothersome factor was the $12 valet parking fee. We were able to find street parking - otherwise, we would not have gone to this establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food. Beer wasn't my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I liked it and would go back.

The serving staff needs to be more attentive. They did not check on us during the meal so we could not get a refill on drinks. We had to flag down another server for the table condiments which were missing from our table.

We sat outside and the table still had a piece of the umbrella sticking out rendering the middle of our small table unusable as we were trying to share an appetizer. So we pulled out the 3' tube and placed it next to a chair. The tube was picked up by a bus boy who noticed what we had done to solution the table issue.

The food was tasty and plentiful. The cornbread was awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The pizza was really dry and kind of not worth the price at all. Reminded me of a horrible version of blaze pizza.

The ribs barely had meat on them. The brisket was good.

The beer was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We really enjoyed our food and drinks, and sitting outside was great too. Our server was kind, but the service overall was slow and at times we felt forgotten about. There was a table with a couple of families sitting inside and while we were waiting to be seated ourselves I was watching a situation unfold in which they were waiting - for a LONG time - for popsicles for their kids. Doesn't seem like that should be something that takes more than a minute. Anyhow - maybe they were short-handed, but this was Father's Day and that might be a day more people go out to eat? Again - delicious food, and we will go back - we will just hope for more attentive service next time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, great beer, great atmosphere! Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was horrible. We've been here many times, and despite having a reservation had to wait. That would have been fine had we not been told by two different hostesses two different stories. First one said the people who had our table were leaving, and the table was being cleaned off. The second said that they were still sitting there, and didn't know when they were leaving. I asked to speak to the manager after 20 minutes, who was totally apathetic. It was a busy Friday night, but he didn't have even an apology. Basically shrugged his shoulders. The waiter, Adam was the worst ever. Besides not getting our drink order correct, when I asked about the ingredients in the cocktail, he didn't know or offer to find out. He was also insulting when I asked about the rum in a drink., like I didn't know what rum was. He was extremely condescending. The cocktails were overpriced and not good. We usually get beer, and would stick to that in the future. The food is always very good. We got pizzas all around and a barbq platter. Outstanding!
The service was a huge disappointment. We will go back for the food, but hopefully the service improves

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The brews and food are delicious and the waitstaff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food, smoked chicken was great. Beer was very good as well

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Known for their great barbecue items. Great service. Food was brought to us almost immediately after we ordered. Great spot to watch Sports as well.

Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food, great place except they ran out of ribs, cheese curds and soft pretzels!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Smylie's is a good choice for a casual dinner. Food is usually pretty good and they take reservations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Once again we had a wonderful meal. This restaurant is consistently excellent. The smoked meat options are delicious. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.