Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

Thank you for choosing Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ.

Please Note The Following:
- We do not accept reservations for the patio.
- Individual, itemized checks may only be given to parties of 5 or less. We can accommodate a maximum of 6 credit cards when splitting checks.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Parking Details:
•Meters outside of Smylie Bros on Oak Avenue. $1.00 per hour. 2-hour maximum limit. Meters at corner of Oak & Church and down Oak Avenue crossing Church Street. .25 cents per hour. 15-hour maximum limit.

•Parking Lot next to Smylie Bros. $1.00 per hour. 2-hour maximum limit.
•Free street parking on Oak Avenue crossing Davis Street down to Dempster Avenue.
•Paid parking garages. Church Street & Maple Avenue or on the corner of Davis Street & Benson Avenue.

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Private Party Facilities:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details please contact our Event Coordinator, kobrion@smyliebros.com

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/private-events/

Private Party Contact:
Katey O'Brion: (224) 999-7320

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (29)
Comfort Food (21)
Fun (21)
See All
Casual (21)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fireplace (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Live Sports (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Special Occasion (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We love Smylie Brothers and have never had a bad meal there! The beer is great, too. We particularly like the fact that there is truly not a bad table in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I ate here our last night in Evanston. We came mostly for the Friday night sour beers. The food was great and they have amazing homemade ice cream. I ate the BBQ sandwich with fries. Service was good. The beers were by far the best experience. I tried the Brett yeast varieties of sour beers and they were like nothing else I have had. We have quite a few breweries in Knoxville but these sours were different from what I have had. I would definitely suggest it for anyone looking for some variety.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Came here for mother's day with my family and had a great time. We tried flights of beer and each had a different entree. We all shared the poutine and still rave about it! :) Decor is wonderful, staff is nice and friendly, wish the upstairs was open but understand it wasn't super busy therefore wasn't open. Love to check that out next time, thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love this place! Try to go every time we visit our son at Northwestern and have always had a good experience. The good is always fresh and we love the beer selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Normally we LOVE Smylie Bros. And we'll still continue to go. But maybe not on a Saturday. Service was slow and bordering on inattentive. Air conditioning was way too high. And all the food came out room temperature or cold. Smylie Bros.: you're better than this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day and kid friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Open Tickets service screwed up the reservation
Big hassle. Open Table sucks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

All four of us were more than satisfied with our dinners -- The food, the presentation, the quantity and the service --- And unusually quiet for a full restaurant on a Tuesday evening. When our friends couldn't decide from the menu which beer to order, they gave tastes so he could pick the one to choose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great atmosphere, excellent BBQ and Beer. Both Kid and Adult Friendly

Tags: Live Sports, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Awesome place with excellent food and great servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

LOVE the decor! Great cocktail and craft beer selection. Unique food menu.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great Beer and Burgers, and make sure to get some cheese dip for your fries. Its nice that there is a place to get good American food in a date quality atmosphere

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Romantic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We have been here twice in the last month and we aren't locals, we are from New Jersey! The food is off the charts and the setting is great. We will always make it here for a meal whenever we visit Great Lakes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I like the half chicken, the pulled pork sandwich, and the burger. The sides are good, particularly the spoon bread. I really like the Farmhouse and Purple line beers and like that you can get beer flight or just a 5 oz. on its own.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We ate dinner with friends. The beer selection was great and food was really tasty. Great BBQ spot + beer.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our friends wanted barbeque ribs, so we introduced them to Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., which has become our go to place when introducing friends to the Evanston dining scene.
I strongly recommend the smoked meats and poultry, but all of the entrees, starters and salads are terrific. This is a wonderful place to celebrate an event, watch a game or simply to enjoy the company of friends. Great food and brews make for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Brice is an excellent server. The beer is awesome and the pizza is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Extremely Loud, obnoxious college students. Management had no idea how to keep loud patrons in check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Blood Orange Special! We came in for St. Paddy's Day and meals and service were great. But the special seasonal brew, Blood Orange Dunkleweiss, is a definite try!

Tags: Live Sports, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was an excellent choice for our date night and would be great with our teenagers. Excellent service and shout out to Bryce. This is not just for beer drinkers only. Good place to cocktail and good wine selection. We will be back. And, the noise level is perfect. Great fun vibe and easy to hear table conversation.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this place. That's it. I just love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was really satisfying. Big portions great for feeding your college kid. Good sports atmosphere. Will be checking out the outdoor seating in a few months!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have been to Smylie Brothers numerous times. The food is always superb--terrific brisket sandwich, excellent fries, coleslaw; have never had a bad meal here. The service is also always excellent; Kyrie was no exception to that---she was attentive, informative, and exceptionally efficient. Very very highly recommended!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good experience last night. The kids food took longer than expected... (?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I would have given a higher rating but the gal that was at the front counter needs a lesson in customer service. Her attitude was palpable from the initial phone call to her interaction when we walked in.
Our waitress was great though and the food is always excellent. I would still recommend to family and friends but it definitely put me off from this being our go-to.

Tags: Happy Hour, Private Room, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Came for brunch with family of 8 with 3 kids and service was great. Best reuban ever & delicious pizzas from wood burning oven

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved the Smokehouse Chicken. Delicous taste and moist. The roasted brussel sprouts with bacon bits were delectable. My favorite, though, was the sorbet dessert. Many creative flavors but the banana-chocolate was absolutely to die for! These suggestions were the reccomendations of our server, whose name I neglected to learn (shame on me!).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was my first visit and I ordered the Harvest salad with chicken. I have had a lot of salads in my lifetime and this was if not the best, one of the best ever! So yummy. Loved the lively atmosphere.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My friend & I shared a generous platter of Barbecue flight with pulled pork, ribs & beef brisket with a side of brussel sprouts. The brisket & pulled pork were on the dry side but the ribs were great. Service was good & there was a good selection of drinks, specially beer. Ambience is very casual, service was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Casual, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a delicious meal at Smylie Bros. The food was generous; some of the sides were unique. (We took a lot home...) Our server was incredibly patient and attentive. I will definitely visit them again.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food, house brews and service were wonderful. I highly recommend Smylie, and will definitely be frequenting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, service is friendly. Always make it a habit to go quite frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good food and beer and attentive service. We will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and beer! I was a little disappointed that I had a reservation and still had to wait 15 minutes for a table but once we sat down the server was very efficient. Our food was at our table so fast that we felt we weren't rushed to make it to our event. The food was delicious and they have a great kids menu for all the picky eaters out there. We visited in the winter but it looked like there is a great outdoor seating area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great foods and very good local beer. Service is great too. We just found it a little noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great beet salad and harvest salad, wood fired pizza and smoked chicken. Yummy sides -roasted brussel sprouts and mac & cheese. Great place for good food and comfy atmosphere.

Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Another delicious 😋 meal.

Tags: Great Beer, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

To be clear, I didn't experience outdoor dining on this visit. I've been here a number of times and have always enjoyed this restaurant. This time it was a quiet Wednesday lunchtime and the place was 2/3 empty. We had great service and as always, the food and beer were enjoyable. Looking forward to returning during the spring/summer and enjoying the outdoors.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

1. I left the info that this would be the Birthday Party for 4 people in our party ----> restaurant did not ask ..../ ignored that information....
2. the Cheese plate is not a cheese plate but a bread plate, the amount / quantity of cheese is neglectable ..... way too expensive for the amount of cheese provided --- this was also not addressed although we complained .....
3. the price for a Preztel was $7.00 ---- was not gold plated ..... we had expected more for the $$$. Every street wonder in NYC has a better Pretzel ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, Smylie Brothers was excellent. The chili, the sliced brisket sandwich, the homemade fries are all always winners. Service is always superior; Smylie Bros has become a favorite destination of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.