About Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: (843) 723-3424

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (139)
Good for a Date (125)
Fit for Foodies (109)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Local Ingredients (106)
Creative Cuisine (91)
Romantic (85)
Cozy (71)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Open Kitchen (66)
Worth the Drive (56)
Historic (55)
Authentic (52)
Great for Lunch (50)
Business Meals (49)
Casual (41)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Hot Spot (34)
Comfort Food (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Fun (30)
Healthy (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Seasonal (26)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Modern Decor (16)
People Watching (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Family Style (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Organic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
5312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, very tasty food, good value, unique setting.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our favorite places to go in Charleston....it is ALWAYS good and it is always fun. This time around we had the she crab soup, and it is one of the best by far I have ever had. I really enjoyed it! Had a strip steak which was cooked perfectly and my wife had scallops which were sweet and tender....the meal was flawless. Will go back again whenever we can.....

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

My favorite restaurant in Charleston!

The food is spectacular; the wait staff friendly and knowledgeable.

We've only been in town 18 months and I've probably eaten there twelve times.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely atmosphere and delicious, interesting food. Exceptional gluten free selections.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is as good as ever. Exquisite detail is taken with every dish. Fortunately, I have not noticed a change since being taken over by Hall's. One of the best in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience. The food was fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience, delicious meal!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing. The staff was so nice and made our evening so enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, service and short wait time for food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We had friends visiting Charleston from Minnesota and wanted to treat them to Lowcountry Cuisine and Southern Charm. Our Sunday afternoon dining experience at SNOB was wonderful.

Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The shrimp and grits were so delicious. I hope to eat here next time we visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this restaurant in the heart of Charlestons historic district - don't be put off thinking only tourists go there. The food coming out of the kitchen is top notch and service is very attentive. My must go to place when I'm visiting!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely fabulous. An eclectic menu that seems off-putting at first glance, however every last thing on this menu bursts with authentic flavor. Beautiful Southern ambience with a city flare and impeccable service. A favorite spot when we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Visiting from out of town, would highly recommend, service was excellent, food did not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice atmosphere and excellent food. We had the NY strip and 8oz sirloin and both were excellent. The craft cocktail dirty martini and whiskey old fashioned were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Service, food, ambience all excellent! Although I miss the Pad Thai, restaurant has been a family favorite for many years and more to come.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place to dine. Service was great! Atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I went to SNOB for dinner on Friday evening, and had a very good meal. The service was excellent. I enjoyed my experience so much that I returned on Saturday. I was able to get a seat at the bar. My waitress from the night before recognized me , and said it was good to see us back. The manager also recognized us, and thanked us for returning, she then brought out a complimentary appetizer. At the end of the meal the bartender said the drinks and dessert were on them, because they appreciated us coming back. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals both nights, and , I would definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 17, 2017

2nd time in 6 weeks. Love it and Trevor is great and knows how to fix dinnee

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Regular at SNOB. Always consistently good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Sublime food with great service. Really at the top of a great restaurant city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

May wife had the grouper and I had the pork chop. The grouper was very good but the pork chop was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 16, 2017

A staple on our trips to Charleston. We try to make multiple visits when in town. Very friendly service, great ambience and wonderful food. Be sure to try the steamed clams and beef carpaccio. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed everything one hopes for a dinner with good friends

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love SNOB! Peter the manager,Will assistant manager and all of the servers are so kind and warm!We always feel so welcome there.It is our very favorite place for lunch.Try the barn raiser

Drinks and shrimp and grits,AMAZING!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The food was first class, prepared exactly to our wishes. The service was friendly and attentive. Overall, a top notch experience. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding gourmet servings augmented by attentive service. The rack of lamb was an example of perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Salmon salad was great like always. Nice polite wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Loved loved the service and food. Definitely a new favorite and plan to return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything from the service, baby lettuce salad, local grouper entree, and banana cream pie was fabulous. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great waitstaff, very knowledgeable about how food was selected and prepared. Terrific food, will definitely visit again. Quieter than many other local restaurants--place was just as busy but tables were spaced further apart. A great place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went for my daughter's birthday. We have 3 family members with gluten issues. They were more than accommodating.

They let us know about some meals that were not on the gf menu that could be easily modified and still be safe. My kids hate grits but they LOVED the shrimp and grits, my wife loved the salmon salad and the southern grill was very good.

I would recommend eating here if you are in Charleston and looking for a very nice, classy place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

WONDERFUL MEAL! WE LET JIMMY RAY TAKE US OFF MENU. HE DID A FABULOUS JOB!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Although there are many great menu selections, my husband's favorite item is the barbecued tuna with fried oysters. Can't be beat! I always enjoy other sampling a from the menu. Definitely, one of our favorite "go-to" restaurants!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Frequent Charleston throughout the year. Dined here June of 2016. Special occasion this time. I proposed around 6pm at The Battery and knew I wanted to celebrate this special evening with dinner at Slightly North of Broad. From the warm welcome, to the congratulations from the staff, to the champagne being brought to our table, it was all something we will never forget. Special thanks to Ashley for the great service! Also, shout out to Paul on stopping by our table to say congrats. You the man Paul, thanks for the kind words.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good but not excellent, server was rushed, noisy environment on a sat night.

With a long waiting list I guess I had higher expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

If for no other reason you must go for the shrimp and grits - they are fantastic every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Scallops were outstanding. Pork chop was so-so and partner said would not order it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a hard time getting in, but it was worth going at 5:15 :) The food was wonderful, service great, and just an all around special dinner. We loved the food in Charleston, but this was by far better than anywhere else.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very well prepared local cuisine. Nothing extremely "out of the box" however, very tasty low country dishes in a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband and I, flew 1100 miles from Tulsa to have lunch at SNOB, enough said....outstanding as always!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My husband and I have enjoyed SNOB many times for lunch. The atmosphere is old Charleston at its best. The food is dependably fresh and delicious. The drinks well made and generous. Who could ask for more?

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

First time we've gone to SNOB even though our 4th time in Charleston. Our food was delicious. Shrimp and grits for my wife and pork chop for me. Certainly will be at the top of our list next time we're in Charleston.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Very disappointed. Had the Venison, which was the special. Good cut of meat but tasteless. No sauce or seasoning to provide taste which I expected from this restaurant and the price. Ordered the suggested wine...only fair. Cornbread was not good. The clam appetizer was tasty, however.

Getting TIRED?

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Very disappointed with our experience for two at SNOB, especially after we had received the "thumbs up" from locals. Started with the shrimp and crab appetizer which turned out to have mushy shrimp, lacked overall flavor, and was served in a very awkward martini glass. The wine pours are "very conservative " to put it nicely while the price per glass of wine starts at $11.00. Ordered the New Zealand lamb which was okay, but not great for $30.00. The scallops entree came with burned sweet potatoes -- a main component of the entree. The bread and corn bread was mediocre. After two glasses of wine, a soft drink, two entrees, and one appetizer we decided to end our meal and cut our losses -- all for $135.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Other than one meal arriving cold, it was a very enjoyable experience. The problem was handled quickly and the wait staff did a fine job.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 6, 2017

All good. Fish was cooked to perfection sides were very complimentary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always superior quality food and drinks! Never disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, wonderful service.

Food was really creative and tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.