Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (137)
Fit for Foodies (130)
Good for a Date (124)
See All
Local Ingredients (121)
Creative Cuisine (111)
Good for Anniversaries (91)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Romantic (78)
Great for Lunch (77)
Worth the Drive (73)
Authentic (63)
Business Meals (58)
Cozy (49)
Fun (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Comfort Food (45)
Hot Spot (45)
Casual (42)
Great for Brunch (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Seasonal (29)
Sunday Lunch (27)
People Watching (21)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Bar Seating (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Organic (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Spicy (4)
Vegan (4)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
5893 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Last night must have been an off night at SNOB. Our party of 5 had a less than great experience. Our waiter started with a long winded explanation of how wonderful the chef was and how fresh the produce was...isn't this to be expected in a nice restaurant? We ordered the grilled peach salads, and while nicely done, the peaches didn't have any flavor. Our waiter said the Shrimp and Grits were the best in town. I live in Charleston, and have enjoyed this dish in many restaurants and in my own kitchen so i took him at his word. Two orders of the shrimp and grits arrived at our table cold. The grits were hard and clumpy...obviously cooked earlier and since they were cold, they were very unappetizing. Once informed, they took both orders and reheated them. Instead of preparing them again properly, they must have put them in a microwave as there were hot and cool spots and the shrimp was now rubbery. I couldn't eat it. One of my companions had the swordfish special. Again the waiter went on and on about how moist it would be etc etc. It was so dry my friend described it as "like powder". They redid this dish...the swordfish was great, but instead of the sweet potato and kale hash it was served with sweet potato wedges and no greens. Small portion and big price.
I have been to SNOB 4 or 5 times. This time was to celebrate family visiting and we wanted to treat them to an upscale Charleston dining experience. I was embarrassed and wonder why things were so off. There are lots of great restaurants in this town and I hope SNOB takes a look at what happened to our table last night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Overpriced above average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience. Food was terrific. We had swordfish and grass fed meatloaf with crisp green beans. Blackberry mules served in copper mug. Very use to eating pub style food, this was a little out of our comfort zone but well worth it to have something new and different to eat. Would highly recommend!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding in every regard. Food, service and atmosphere

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived early and our table was not ready so they offered the chefs table. We accepted. We really enjoyed it. I believe it was better than sitting at a regular table. I believe there's not a server assigned to them and that they rotate bc our server did not seem pleased to be serving us. Made us feel like a burden. The food was great though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food & service were excellent. Even the sweet tea was exceptional! The shrimp & grits were amazing & the lightly breaded catfish was great! We highly recommend SNOB!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this experience was awesome. Our favorite in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful restaurant ! The service was amazing! Love this place in Charleston owned by the Hall Family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal and service. We live locally and this is at the top of oiur list as a dinner destination in Charleston. Great drinks and dessert. Fine server, knowledgeable about what was happening about town, and very helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is consistently good and service attentive without being intrusive. My 90-yr old mother raved about her beef filet, which she ordered well done. Server did not bat an eye, the steak was perfection and still tender.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Another very good dining experience at SNOB, have dined there most Septembers for about twenty years. It must be good I keep going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Beyond excellent! We enjoyed our entire meal,food prep and taste, all was superb. We had outstanding service by our server Chelsea. We also appreciated Ashley (manager) stopping by to make sure all was perfect. The entire experience was real treat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is our favorite downtown Charleston restaurant. The staff, service and food are amazing. We love Paul! The Pot De Crem is a must try!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always welcomed on entry. Water and bread immediately served when seated, "sign of a good restaurant" per my father, an old TWA international pilot. The food speaks for itself.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was delicious. The duck breast with squash custard was amazing. The pan seared grouper was perfect - crispy, moist and tender. Service was spot on - attentive but not intrusive. Try the rum old fashion - a nice balance of sweet and bitter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The mild sourdough bread and cornbread were fantastic .. swordfish and( I requested mildly blackened ) snapper as well as pork entree were perfect . The peach salad was wonderful . Desserts strawberry shortcake and crime brûlée were really good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

we were seated promptly. The staff was very courteous. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always have great food at SNOB. this is one of our go to restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our first visit to Charleston, and friends had recommended SNOB. So glad we went. This is a beautiful restaurant. Everything we ate was delicious, especially the shrimp and grits. No question, this restaurant is a must.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This place is one of Charleston's finest. The atmosphere, the service, and especially the food and drinks are all outstanding. A great place for a date, a large group, or just catching up with friends, I will return every trip to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great food, great service and very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had the restaurant week menu. Both the she-crab soup and sword fish were excellent. Personally, not crazy about the desert choices -- all too sweet for me. I'm sure others would have been fine. My only objection was that for a 3-course meal, we were in and out in just about an hour! In that type of place, I really expect a more paced service - even for restaurant week.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Waitress was sharp, beautiful, and knowledgeable. The rest of the staff was just as great! My mom absolutely loved the chicken.

Only reservation was the tablecloth - I felt it could have been a better design. Oh! And more than one restroom would be nice but overall I highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

She crab soup and tenderloin were terrific, specialty drinks were also very good (though a little over-priced); however, the desserts were quite disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

We went to SNOB while on 09/07/2017 as part of our birthday vacation (I'm from California). We met Jason W. Bearden earlier that afternoon while on a plantation tour at Middleton Place. He gave us his business card and told us to make sure to tell you guys to treat us extra special. As we got there for our dinner reservation, the hostess, Kelly, remembered us as we stopped in earlier that day to change our reservation time. We didn't even have to give our name. As we were seated, we began to give Kelly, Jason's business card and she told us, "Oh, Jason already called us about you guys. We got you you covered!" Being from out of town, I was truly amazed by your restaurant's hospitality! I felt very honored and special that evening. Our server, Paul, was always friendly with a wonderful attitude. The girl (I forgot her name) refilling our water glasses was always on top of it.

Thank you for a wonderful experience at SNOB. I definitely want to come back when I make it back to Charleston!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We eat here every time we visit Charleston. The food has always been amazing and the service perfect. It is one of our favorite restaurants in the Southeast.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Very good food. Server was very good. However, they knew we were celebrating our 30-year anniversary; but sat us at a horrible table location and did not acknowledge our occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The best meal I have had in a long time! Our server Kallie was absolutely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Everyone's food was too salty! Trigger fish and rack of lamb both.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great experience. Great Food. Great service. If you're ever in Charleston, I'd suggest that you make reservations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Awesome service, ambiance and food. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 starts overall was because it was our anniversary, I made the reservations weeks in advance and yet they put us at a table by the wall and in a hallway...

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous Sunday Brunch at SNOB this past weekend! The food and service exceeded our already high expectations given Knoxville friends had already proclaimed SNOB "the best restaurant in Charleston". We are looking forward to our next dining experience at SNOB!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

SNOB never disappoints. Amazon food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fantastic dinner. We were seated immediately, service wonderful- everyone super attentive. We had the grilled peach salad, the triggerfish special and the duck- and it was all phenomenal. Would recommend to anyone visiting Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Loved it! Hadn't been to this restaurant in a while. Arrived early for reservation and was seated soon after. Beautiful table, great waiter, and great food. The manager even provided complimentary glasses of champagne while they were chilling more of our desired drink. Really nice time.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I had the southern medley, and it was so tasty. All the vegetables were extremely fresh and delicious. We went with my 10 month old son, and the wait staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very satisfying experience. Food was flavorful and creative. The wait staff was efficient and congenial. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere were all off the chart! We ate there while on vacation and it will be the first place we go when we return to Charleston.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Highly recommend this restaurant as a must visit to anyone heading to Charleston!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The staff, service, and cuisine was excellent. We had a good view of the open kitchen and enjoyed seeing the handshakes between chefs. The end result of their combined efforts was truly delicious! Definitely a memorable evening for our family.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.