Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: (843) 723-3424

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (143)
Creative Cuisine (139)
Special Occasion (138)
See All
Fit for Foodies (132)
Good for a Date (124)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Neighborhood Gem (94)
Great for Lunch (87)
Authentic (85)
Romantic (83)
Open Kitchen (81)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Fun (60)
Cozy (60)
Worth the Drive (59)
Historic (58)
Hot Spot (57)
Comfort Food (52)
Business Meals (50)
Casual (48)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Good for Groups (43)
Notable Wine List (38)
Quiet Conversation (33)
People Watching (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Healthy (28)
Seasonal (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Modern Decor (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Organic (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Family Style (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vegan (5)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
5575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful dinner! Strawberry salad, and shrimp
Cocktail were to die for. The pork chop was huge and extremely tender

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Organic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious meal. Attentive service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

S.N.O.B. was an absolutely great experience! I went with a group of 8 friends when we were visiting Charleston for a long weekend. The ambiance is great, the servers were attentive and gave great recommendations. We started with the cheese and charcuterie platters, pork cheek and strawberry burrata salad. We loved each and every appetizer. I had the shrimp and grits, which was delvious. Other people in my party had the BBQ tuna topped with fried oysters and the duck with blue cheese bread pudding. They loved their meals too. I would definitely recommend going to S.N.O.B!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, friendly staff, and adorable location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

The seating fo a large party was friendly and efficient. Our server, Jeff, was fantastic. The food was delicious and beautifully plated. It was a really lovely meal for our book club brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was wonderful, great atmosphere & good delicious!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome service, very comfortable atmosphere. So glad we chose SNOB during our weekend in Charleston. Later I heard a friend's family member who is a chef said this is her favorite place in Charleston.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Slightly North of Broad to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were very impressed. The restaurant is cozy with lovely decor. The ribeye was cooked perfectly and the shrimp and grits had just the right amount of kick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and staff you will not leave hungry. Try the duck it melts in your mouth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I met up with some family in Charleston. This was our first visit and S.N.O.B. was highly recommended by a friend at home in San Diego. Fortunately, we made advance reservations. It was my husband's birthday and everything was superb. I had been told that they have the best shrimp and grits and boy were they right. I had it at 2 other restaurants, one was good and the other so-so. The other meals ordered were good. The atmosphere is cozy and the service very good. Of all the restaurants we visited for dinner in Charleston, this was our favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Lunch at SNOB is a tradition each time we come to Charleston. Good food, professional wait staff (but see below), moderately noisy, there's not much to dislike, and lots to take pleasure in, including people watching. One nit: some of the busboys seemed less than interested, spent a lot of time wandering without seemingly doing much. Get 'em to shape up.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent fish and shrimp and grits. Wonderful service, too. Noisy and fast moving, yet a fun place. The bartender was amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Picked this restaurant based on reviews while traveling to Charleston. Great atmosphere and food. Only complaint is that SNOB has a pretty limited menu. I would probably try out another restaurant the next time I visit Charleston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

I love this restaurant! We do not live in Charleston, but have been here twice. Both times we loved the atmosphere, food and service. I wish we had a restaurant like SNOB in Boston. We both had excellent salads to start, then the flounder. The service is professional and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Terrific food and drink. Best shrimp & grits I had on this trip to Charleston. And they were willing to give me a half order which was the perfect amount for me. Decor was beautiful too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We went to SNOB on the evening of our 20th anniversary, which we mentioned in our online reservation. We were seated in a very romantic, cozy seat that was appropriate for the occasion, and the server immediately brought us two flutes of champagne and wished us a happy anniversary. Nice touch to note the occasion!

I was also very impressed with the attention to detail for gluten free diners like myself. It's usually a big hassle to order at restaurants; here, they had a very thoughtful menu already written to meet my needs. The service was also very attentive (yet not overbearing) and detail oriented.

And the food was incredible! I had the duck breast (that usually comes with bread pudding, but my GF version was served over delicious red cabbage), with a lovely crisp skin and perfectly medium meat.

We are eating the town and I have to rank this as my top pick so far. Thanks to the SNOB team for a lovely 20th anniversary evening!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food! Outstanding service . We had a phenomenal time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

An excellent food and service. We returned aftet over 10 years since our first visit. SNOB has become a signature place in Charleston which is well deserved. We are from LA and appreciated the southern food heritage and attentive service, which LA often lacks. For one of us, heritage meant all vegetarian dishes which were creative, tasty and satisfying. For another, seafood with the same excellence. The wine menu was good but not up to the hype. The service is great from hostess to servers and busboyd. We over tipped for their attention to every detail. We had a table near the entrance and bar yet it was intimate enough for an ecellent night. FYI. You can dress casual or refined and fit in well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

A dear friend from Atlanta had just arrived and wanted a lingering lunch over a glass of wine and local food. SNOB met all our expectations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent food with excellent service! Loved the shrimp and grits and the crab salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This restaurant completely lived up to the reviews I had read. It is a beautiful restaurant, fantastic ambiance with friendly and knowledgable staff. We sat at a great round table for 6 and had incredible service all evening.
The food was delicious, well prepared and the variety was wonderful. We dined three nights during our visit to Charleston -- all restaurants were a bit different and all had delicious and interesting menus -- but SNOB is our #1 favorite and just wish we could go again soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

A great find! We just loved the whole ambiance. The server was knowledgeable and fun
The food beautifully presented and delicious
It was a refreshing change not to get plates piled high with southern food which has been cooked in bulk and is not very flavourful

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food, (especially the shrimp and grits), delicious drinks and lovely service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Slightly North of Broad is by far one of the Top 10 dinners of my life. This was our first time in Charleston, however not the first time I had heard about SNOB. Being from the New York area we are spoiled by a plethora of of different cultures, food and fusion, but very few measure up in comparison to the SNOB concept. First, for a restaurant open as long as this one, there seems to be little to no stagnation or lack of creativity. The dining area is beautifully met with elegance and warmth, as if I were in my families kitchen for Sunday dinner. The wine list boasts traditional heavyweights, as well as affordable secrets that are truly out of this world. The menu is clean, streamline, and most of all delicious. The low country favorites are superb and only made better by the local ingredients used to construct these masterpieces. The staff exceeds expectations with the fusion of flavor and experimentation throughout the menu. Last but definitely not least the waitstaff is particularly incredible, knowledgeable, and courteous. Overall I would recommend this to restaurant to each and every person possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I had our 1 year anniversary dinner here and it was delicious as always. Service was top notch and the atmosphere is perfect. We had our first date here, and SNOB has become our favorite and special place, filled with memories.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome shrimp and grits and duck! Apple pie was unbelievably fresh! Our waiter was warm and welcoming

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sarah was a great server! She was very patient with my super-picky little brother and he was happy with his selections. The Mother's Day menu was diverse and we all got different items and we were happy with everything!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Jimmy Ray our waiter was great. We will be back next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love this place but was a tad disappointed in their famous shrimp and grits. This is my favorite dish and I found it to be painfully spicy this particular time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always a good bet while in Charleston. Restaurants come and go but like a good friend SNOB is always on the money. One cannot go wrong in dining at SNOB!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Visited again this week after not having been here since 2011. Still one of my absolute favorites! The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable as well! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had an evening reservation and were promptly seated. Tables were very close to each other, with barely enough space to get in/out. Neighbor conversations easy to overhear.
Prompt & frequent service for beverages, plates, courses. At least 3 different staff serviced our table for two.
Food was excellent, hot as appropriate, and timely. Best rack of lamb ever! Best scallops meal ever!
Only improvement could have been if staff had introduced themselves and occasionally looked pleased we were there. Obvious we were only a table number to them....

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 12, 2017

College of Charleston graduation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always exceptional food and service. We visit here every year when we come to Charleston for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

On our 29th Anniversary trip!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent experience. Visited twice on my vacation in Charleston. A little spendy but well worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a early Mother's Day lunch. We all had the Lunch Express. It changes daily but today's offering was Buttermilk fried catfish, red rice, okra...,,DELISH! Great food, great sweat tea, great service!!! A fav lunch spot!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Lovely, old school southern restaurant. Wonderful food and service. Highly recommend esp. for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Good food. Good service. My wife is allergic to seafood and not many choices for the non seafood person so they made her a Rueben from the lunch menu. Very nice of them to do that!! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.