Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor

Serving Luncheon and High Tea, from soups, quiches, sandwiches, and salads to the fancy 3-tiered "Duchess" featuring delectable mini-sandwiches, scones w/Devonshire cream & lemon curd, finished with petite fours - for a full menu please see our website - you can reserve from there as well. Come enjoy our relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful 1871 Victorian Bed & Breakfast in historic Dover, NH. We also sell gift certificates, Bee House tea pots, over 22 flavors of loose leaf tea, tea wallets and cozies plus jewelry, 18" doll clothes and other fine gifts! Reservations are preferred to be able to offer optimum service and availability.

103 Silver St.
Dover, NH 03820
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cushing St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 750-4200

Website:
http://www.silverfountain.com/

Entertainment:
Soft music playing, live piano occassionally

Parking Details:
Maximum on property is 15, on street parking available as well

Public Transit:
UNH, Coast

Executive Chef:
Pamela Pidgeon

Private Party Facilities:
Private functions such as Wedding or Baby Showers, Birthday or Tea Parties, Bereavement Luncheons

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Pidgeon: (603) 750-4200

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our website for these dates and additional information

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.7

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (10)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Fun (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Casual (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere, my favorite lunch spot!

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

My Granddaughter and I loved it!!! We enjoyed the ambiance and food, and of course the tea and scones

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I and my cousins stayed here for the weekend. Great accommodations, food, service and ambiance. Would highly recommend. Pam & Jim are awesome hosts w/a great knowledge of the beautiful home that is theirs. The food and tea is delectably delicious! Thanks for sharing it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I took my 87 year old mother and my childhood friend of over 50 years to lunch at the Silver Fountain. We all love tea so this was right up our alley. Decor is like stepping back in time. Food was delicious and tea was piping hot! Innkeeper was delightful and allowed us to visit some of the unoccupied rooms. My Mom now wants to bring her 2 sisters back for a stay! We lingered on the rocking chars on the porch since it was such a delightful day ...I don't think any of us wanted the afternoon to end!

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We adore Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor. I was able to spend cherished time with my 13 year-old daughter and 62 year-old mother. We are truly blessed to have such a memory of 'tea time' and the rooms are gorgeous and quiet too. Pam is fantastic. The Inn & Parlor is a true gem. ❤️

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

A very special place-beautiful table settings; great selection of teas; our waitress was exceptional-very knowledgeable and entertaining-made it a fun experience. Coming back for Christmas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our experience was amazing. I made a reservation and then called with a request for my sister's birthday which Kelly accommodated beautifully. The atmosphere is stunning and food was incredibly delicious . The tea selection was such a fun part of the experience. Thank you to Kelly for such a memorable experience :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Love love love this tea parlor! Great for girl dates, afternoon tea, lunch or any occasion for that matter! Have been several times and will keep coming back!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Perfect spot for a quiet relaxing lunch with family.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and food. Staff very friendly and pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My favorite lunch spot. Excellent food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

There are so many delicious brews of tea to choose from! The decor is beautiful and the tables are set perfectly. Every menu item I've tried has been delicious! It changes monthly. Desserts are yummy too. A great place to bring your mum for a special meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was great and the ambience was perfect. Very friendly staff. Definitely will return

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Quaint and quiet! Boasts historical charm of yesteryear!
My first thought upon entering the Tea Room was wondering why there was a vase full of artificial flowers in the summertime. Our table had fresh yet wilted flowers. Afternoon tea was great although not filling enough for a lunch. My husband and I thought it should have been included in the cost of the stay since most B & Bs have an afternoon tea or wine and cheese.
I'm REALLY picky about sheets and would have preferred highest thread count in Egyptian cotton sheets. Sheets on bed were beautiful but did not breathe well at all. The quality of pillows and cases were average. It was hours until the somewhat noisy air conditioning cooled off the room. Fresh flowers or a small bowl of candies would have added a special touch to the room which needed a little something extra. The art on the wall was not antique but for sale and painted by a local artist as a poor replica painting to its original. There were plenty of wines for sale (four bottles) in the room as well.
Breakfast was homemade to perfection but again, the limited amount of the serving size and not offered seconds or a second cup of coffee was disappointing. It was awkward to walk through the tea room side door to get to the parking lot since the front door did not have access to the lot.
In summary, The Silver Fountain Inn is a charming place to stay but did not exceed my bedding comfort expectations (which was most important to me) The historic Inn did not provide those little special extras to qualify as an exceptional stay for a Friday night which was over $200 for our room.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Brought my in-laws here for tea and we all were very impressed. We definitely will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I took my grandmother out for tea and we had a lovely time! We had great service and loved the Chandelier that we ordered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere! My favorite lunch spot!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

My Friend and I were delighted and our expectations were met.

Kelly, our server was awesome, so welcoming, conversational, upbeat and very attentive to us and ALL the guests there last Monday afternoon.

She is very friendly , capable, and able to multi task with the best.

The ambiance was perfect. The landscaping as well. It was a rainy day so we did not go into the gardens but I look forward to that . My only comment is tables are close in the parlor so overhearing others conversations is a little to easy. However, that is a minor issue!

Loved our time and our salad, wrap and teas!

Awesome, Cynthia

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Friendly service ... lovely owner , family run ! Afternoon tea is such a rarity in the USA and they do a fantastic job ...I am sure I will be a frequent visitor

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

A truly unique dining experience! Outstanding menu with very creative ingredients, it was not the same ol'ho hum entrées like every other restaurant you go to. New in exciting ingredients to wake up your taste pallets. The ambience is over-the-top beautiful , that truly is calming to the soul. I would definitely recommend this for a very special occasion or just your lunch out. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Delightful, simply delightful! Not your same old lunch spot but a lovely dining and tea experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fantastic place for a real fancy tea, complete with ambiance, exquisite food, and atmosphere. Waitstaff extremely friendly and helpful but not intrusive either! The house tour we got was a big plus! Definitely returning and will recommend to friends, as we have found nice places for tea very hard to find and Silver Fountain Inn is a gem!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My mother-in-law and I had lunch, tea and dessert. We had a vegetarian melt and vegetarian wrap they were both fantastic with fresh in season fruits and vegetables. We had the pea salad as our side and it was great also. For drinks we had rose water and lavender earl gray tea both very refreshing on a hot summer today (they also had ice tea available). The desserts were great, we took home the few what we could not finish from the chandelier. We will go back again at other times of year since the menu changes monthly. We also plan to go back with out of town guests for a special treat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL ! SO HARD TO FIND GOOD TEA ROOM IN NH. 140 MILES ROUND TRIP BUT WELL WORTH IT. CAN'T WAIT TO VISIT AGAIN.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A lovely English style tea. Food was good , service was good, Price was also good. It was worth the drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delightful place for lunch/high tea. Sandwiches/salads are delicious and service is very attentive and pleasant. Highly recommended for a treat!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

For as close to an authentic English high tea experience stateside you can get, go to Silver Fountain Inn. Lovely tea room! I hope they continue to use authentic Devonshire double cream/ clotted cream- the cream seemed a bit lighter this visit. Overall, great experience!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I cannot believe this gem was down the street from me and I'd never been there before now. It was so delicious, they had an incredible selection of teas and the food was well priced and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I always love going to the Silver Fountain! It's the perfect place when you want to drink delicious tea with beautiful cups, and eat very good food. The atmosphere makes one want to linger for as long as possible!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Terrific experience.....quality home made food .......great setting and excellent service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I always sigh with relief when I walk into the Silver Fountain. It's one of my peaceful places where I can drink delicious tea in beautiful cups and visit with friends and linger!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My friends and I love to make this a yearly get together to enjoy a formal tea. This time we decided to make it biannually and will be back around Halloween. Besides these get togethers many of the group also bring friends and family to enjoy the 18th century vibe and of course the tea, both hot and cold, and food. Great atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Granddaughters took Grandma out for a delicious lunch and lavender lemonade (recommend) and coffee. Thankful for gluten-free options. Beautiful old building but was not offered a tour of a room. Wish the piano could be played. Nice grassy yard with fountain, gardens and porch swing on lawn. We've been to several tea houses and notice the servers' attire really do make an event especially when matched with the time period of decor. Look forward to going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wonderful experience. Staff is friendly and attentive. The atmosphere and attention to detail were amazing. I highly recommend this Inn!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My favorite restaurant. Excellent food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Go for the tea only, or perhaps dessert. The soup or sandwiches are overpriced and not that special. The "Chandelier" looks nice, but is very overpriced.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My favorite restaurant! Excellent soups, salads, quiche and scones with lemon curd and cream.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was my first time dining here, but it certainly wont be the last! My sister set the bar pretty high when she described this place to me and they still exceeded my expectations. The decor is so fancy- and some of it authentic to the house itself!- that I immediately felt like a wealthy woman, having afternoon tea in the Victorian era that the house was built in. The lady who served us was more than accommodating, even offering to move a table for us, and was also very knowledgeable in the history of the house. She made us feel right at home!

For lunch, we ordered sandwiches- mine was spinach-artichoke, hers was turkey and cheese- with couscous and chips for sides, respectively. My sandwich was amazing, and she enjoyed hers as well. I had never tried couscous before, and this was a great first experience!

We ordered three teas, Summertime Strawberry, Jasmine, and Cherry Blossom, to go with our pastry 'Chandelier'. The little desserts were so cute, and all paired nicely with the different teas. Our favorite tea that day was definitely the strawberry, but it was hard to pick!

I've already booked another lunch with a friend of mine for her birthday! This place is a MUST for those in the area who want some history, elegance, and dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This tea parlor is such a beautiful place! Lunch was elegantly prepared with delicate rose petals adorning our plates for Valentine's Day. Delicious as always and served with kindness and pleasant conversation. My daughter and I love the Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Afternoon Tea at the Tea Parlor was a wonderful experience. The setting was Victorian
English, and the varieties of Tea served with the food choices were delicious and refreshing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.