Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor

Serving Luncheon and High Tea, from soups, quiches, sandwiches, and salads to the fancy 3-tiered "Duchess" featuring delectable mini-sandwiches, scones w/Devonshire cream & lemon curd, finished with petite fours - for a full menu please see our website - you can reserve from there as well. Come enjoy our relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful 1871 Victorian Bed & Breakfast in historic Dover, NH. We also sell gift certificates, Bee House tea pots, over 22 flavors of loose leaf tea, tea wallets and cozies plus jewelry, 18" doll clothes and other fine gifts! Reservations are preferred to be able to offer optimum service and availability.

103 Silver St.
Dover, NH 03820
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cushing St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 750-4200

Website:
http://www.silverfountain.com/

Entertainment:
Soft music playing, live piano occassionally

Parking Details:
Maximum on property is 15, on street parking available as well

Public Transit:
UNH, Coast

Executive Chef:
Pamela Pidgeon

Private Party Facilities:
Private functions such as Wedding or Baby Showers, Birthday or Tea Parties, Bereavement Luncheons

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Pidgeon: (603) 750-4200

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our website for these dates and additional information

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (13)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Cozy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My friends and I love to make this a yearly get together to enjoy a formal tea. This time we decided to make it biannually and will be back around Halloween. Besides these get togethers many of the group also bring friends and family to enjoy the 18th century vibe and of course the tea, both hot and cold, and food. Great atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Granddaughters took Grandma out for a delicious lunch and lavender lemonade (recommend) and coffee. Thankful for gluten-free options. Beautiful old building but was not offered a tour of a room. Wish the piano could be played. Nice grassy yard with fountain, gardens and porch swing on lawn. We've been to several tea houses and notice the servers' attire really do make an event especially when matched with the time period of decor. Look forward to going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wonderful experience. Staff is friendly and attentive. The atmosphere and attention to detail were amazing. I highly recommend this Inn!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My favorite restaurant. Excellent food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Go for the tea only, or perhaps dessert. The soup or sandwiches are overpriced and not that special. The "Chandelier" looks nice, but is very overpriced.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My favorite restaurant! Excellent soups, salads, quiche and scones with lemon curd and cream.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was my first time dining here, but it certainly wont be the last! My sister set the bar pretty high when she described this place to me and they still exceeded my expectations. The decor is so fancy- and some of it authentic to the house itself!- that I immediately felt like a wealthy woman, having afternoon tea in the Victorian era that the house was built in. The lady who served us was more than accommodating, even offering to move a table for us, and was also very knowledgeable in the history of the house. She made us feel right at home!

For lunch, we ordered sandwiches- mine was spinach-artichoke, hers was turkey and cheese- with couscous and chips for sides, respectively. My sandwich was amazing, and she enjoyed hers as well. I had never tried couscous before, and this was a great first experience!

We ordered three teas, Summertime Strawberry, Jasmine, and Cherry Blossom, to go with our pastry 'Chandelier'. The little desserts were so cute, and all paired nicely with the different teas. Our favorite tea that day was definitely the strawberry, but it was hard to pick!

I've already booked another lunch with a friend of mine for her birthday! This place is a MUST for those in the area who want some history, elegance, and dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This tea parlor is such a beautiful place! Lunch was elegantly prepared with delicate rose petals adorning our plates for Valentine's Day. Delicious as always and served with kindness and pleasant conversation. My daughter and I love the Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Afternoon Tea at the Tea Parlor was a wonderful experience. The setting was Victorian
English, and the varieties of Tea served with the food choices were delicious and refreshing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Beautiful inn and tea room.
The gluten free options were delicious. If you've ever tried gluten free food, you know that's saying something!
The service was just right - just enough attention, not too much.
We were surprised to find we had spent a leisurely 3 hours over our delicious tea.
Highly recommended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 23, 2017

How happy I am to have discovered the Silver Fountain Tea Parlor! To get there I drive on my favorite Route (4), that I take to get to my favorite beach in Maine. It is in a delightful, historic town.
The ambience in the house is peaceful and lovely. My friend and I went there a year ago, then I went with my family for my birthday, which made me very happy. I also brought a bunch of friends who went back another time without me.
My friend and I went again this week and I just wanted to go very slowly to be there for as long as possible! The tea, the dishes, the food - not something to rush through!
Having been in England a few times and loving it, I am so glad that there is a place like the Silver Fountain to enjoy and feel like time has stood still for a little while.
Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Inn was adorable! We enjoyed looking around and taking pictures. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful. The tea and desserts were awesome....The food was just okay.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Room was way to loud, hard to have conversations at our table, there was a large party at the other table 10 people and they all talk so loud and gave no consideration to the other 2 tables in the room, service was very slow also.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Having tea at Silver Fountain was such a lovely experience! I'd highly recommend for a special occasion, or even an elevated lunch date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is a lovely place to have authentic high tea. Very beautiful, high class, yet comfortable and unpretentious. The menu changes but is always delicious. Reservations recommended as it is small. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

When you are celebrating and get dressed up you don't want to be served by someone in jeans. Too many menu options. Do fewer and make them higher quality. Quiche goes with salad. Not a scone! Two starches. Chipped dishes. Dessert was served in a tea saucer. Owner is not classy at all. Our server was very pleasant. Outside of building in need of repair. Over rated. I went two yrs ago in the summer. Had a glass of white wine which was not cold. There was a white/green grape at the bottom of the glass which was turning brown. Unpleasant to say the least. I would live to offer my help to teach these folks how to make this a better dining experience. Our 9 year old grand daughter thought it was amazing. But my husband and I know class

Tags: Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Afternoon tea at a lovely victorian Inn, the special blend tea was so enjoyable we bought some for gifts and to take home. Unique tea sandwiches ,delectable pastries and scones served on antique china. Pleasant and friendly service, we will look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A wonderful experience. Pleasant and charming with polite and attentive service. Creative food starring seasonal treats.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Delightful! Loved the ambiance. The tea and food was delicious. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My friends and I get together for a Christmas Luncheon once a year, The teal room was amazing. Such a beautiful old house, the ambience was amazing. We enjoyed our luncheon very much. The soup, salad and teas were wonderful. Desserts were amazing!!!! Service was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was my third time, just love it there. I would like to go at least once a week.

Both Pam and Kelly are fabulous, fun and their main goal is to please. Thank you.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Wonderful, surprising experience!!
What a find. The Inn is very beautiful and every detail is perfect. It was memorable .
TEA was good and homebaked goodies were tasty 😊🍮🍥
Got gift certificate for daughter
Kelly was a nice , pleasant addition.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our favorite restaurant! Delicious food, healthy salads, soups, quiche. Scones with lemon curd and cream to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is a hidden gem on a main route! The building has original period decor and has been beautifully maintained. The food was perfectly prepared, the menu is updated monthly and the atmosphere is intimate. We are lucky to live the area as this is sure to become a regular place for us to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I was absolutely blown away by the afternoon tea my mother and I enjoyed. Both of us have had afternoon tea in a true tea room in England, and we both thought the Silver Fountain Tea Parlor was better in every aspect. The tea selection had a flavor for everyone, the food was delicious, and the petite flours were better than the ones we had in England. I am definitely going back!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The best Tea in New England! The Inn is beautiful. Pam is so friendly & welcoming. I always have a wonderful afternoon tea at the Silver Fountain Inn!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We took our grand daughter for her first afternoon tea. It was perfect! The staff was outstanding and very accommodating to what we needed. We are hoping we have started a traditional yearly afternoon tea.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Ambience was lovely---relaxing, quiet and pleasant. Sandwiches however were a bit of a disappointment. Sweet potato rollup with was dry, grilled cheese was just okay, hummus sandwich was not very flavorful but the chicken croissant was delicious. Very nice selection of teas! The butternut squash soup was outstanding and the scones were some of the best I've had. Will definitely return but would like to see more traditional tea sandwiches.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was the first time for 4 of the 6 of us. Everyone enjoyed it very much. Our server, Kelly, was fabulous; warm and friendly, fun and helpful. The ambience is lovely, the table settings charming, the food excellent. It was just a great time for the 6 of us and we all proclaimed "We are coming back again."

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was a last minute decision, sister's birthday treat. Lunchtime on Friday they were at capacity but treated us as if we were the only diners there!! Perfect girl's spot, likely too fussy/fancy appearing for most men, but fear not;the food succeeds where the decor might intimidate.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our host greeted and seated us immediately. The dining area is cozy and intimate; very well appointed. We were expecting a lovely tea room experience and the Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Room did not disappoint! Would definitely recommend the Tea Room for a special occasion with the girls.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My two friends and I came here for a fun little excursion while on vacation in Portsmouth, which is about 15 minutes away. We wanted something quaint and different and we found it! It was a quiet, relaxing place that Has such a beautiful old interior. We had tea and scones, both of which were extremely delicious. I even bought a bag of the tea that I had because it was one of the most unique blends I've ever tasted! I would highly recommend!! We went in the afternoon on a Wednesday, so we were the only ones there but I bet it would be great during its busier times! Thanks So much, Silver Fountain, For adding something special to our trip!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We found the Silver Fountain Inn and Tea Parlor very quaint and and cozy. The scones melt in your mouth and meals and desserts was delicious. There is a large selection of tea from which to choose. We enjoyed our afternoon tea immensely!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We had a great experience! The food and tea were so wonderful. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

If you are looking to step back in time to an age of elegance, you won't go wrong with the Silver Fountain. The personal, friendly service complements the ambiance to create a wholly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Loved it, as did my guest. Both of us plan to again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The Duchess Tea was lovely. My sister and I shared it for lunch and it was more than enough food served in a pretty Victorian setting along with individual very large pots of tea for each of us. We recommend it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Elegant. I took my young daughter and now she wants to lead the glamorous life! (I joke but it's true.)

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a wonderful, tasty experience and I plan to visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.