Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

About Shiraz Grille

Tucked away on the northwest corner of Breton and 28th Street, you’ll find Michigan’s one and only Persian restaurant. Shiraz Grille is a culinary jewel that greets guests with authentic Persian décor, a warm and classy ambiance, cozy bar, and the finest in dining from the Persian Empire with indescribably delicious flavors. Selections include gourmet fire-grilled kabobs, delectable Persian rice dishes, delicate stews called Khoreshes, vegetarian and vegan entrees, and so much more. Each entrée is created from scratch, using only the freshest of ingredients. Most of the menu is gluten free! We offer a full bar with premium wines, cocktails & martinis. Come in and experience genuine hospitality at Shiraz Grille where you won't just eat ~ but you will "dine!"

2739 Breton Road SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Persian, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday: CLOSED
Tue-Thurs: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri-Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sun: 12:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
28th Street & Breton Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 949-7447

Website:
http://www.shirazgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Violinist every Wednesday evening

Live Belly-Dancer on the first Thursday of each month

Catering:
Catering available for groups/events. Within a 50-mile radius. Call for information.

Parking Details:
Private lot with handicap access.

Public Transit:
28th Street/Breton
Breton/Burton

Executive Chef:
Ali Ghebleh

Private Party Facilities:
Small private room for group of up to 12 guests just off the dining room. Also a private banquet room for parties of up to 100 guests with separate sound system, drop down projector/screen, microphone, WiFi. Special banquet menus available. Will customize to your needs for lunch/dinner. Great for special events, birthdays, wedding receptions/rehearsal dinners, or business gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Ali Ghebleh: (616) 949-7447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Shiraz Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (3)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Such a great atmosphere and the food is always wonderful! Baklava was a special treat for the birthday girl!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great all around restaurant. Be sure to check out what looks like a painting hanging over the principal table in the main dining room, but is really a finely sewn Persian carpet!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good meal with excellent service. The lamb shank is strongly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a Persian friend visiting who grew up in Shiraz, Iran. He and his wife both gave the food two thumbs way way up for flavor and authenticity. The lamb dishes were superb!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our first experience with Iranian food and we were so impressed. The server was knowledgeable and very helpful. Very nice ambiance and wine list too. We had an appetizer that was nice and we each had a Khoresh style dish. Mine was an Orange Saffron Chicken that was fabulous with just a touch of heat to the sauce. My husand's was a Pomegranate Chicken with crushed walnuts and excellent as well. Both were served with Persian rice and fresh vegetables.

The whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable and we will definitely be going back!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Shiraz Grille. We expected delicious food and Shiraz delivered! What surprised us was the beautiful interior of the restaurant. Our waitress was knowledgeable and friendly as well. It was a lovely evening with delicious food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife and I love this place. We always order the pomegranate chicken, which is amazing. I also ordered the vegetarian/eggplant dish, which was delicious as well. If you're looking for something a little different with a great selection of wine/beers, then check out Shiraz. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This off-the-beaten-path restaurant is one of Grand Rapids' true gems--especially if you like Persian cuisine. You can always tell how authentic a restaurant is when it is patronized by ethnic people who are enjoying their "native" dishes. The owner was not only present, but attentive, making sure his guests were being properly served. The wait staff was friendly and efficient, and the cuisine was absolutely wonderful. Combine that with the restaurant's relaxed yet elegant atmosphere, and you have all the makings for a truly memorable dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very good food; though the vegetarian eggplant dish had very little eggplant! The side of rice was really the main dish. Loved what little eggplant there was.

Service was great, everything delivered on time; but there was only one other table at the time, anyway.

The Persian tea tasted like regular tea, though it took 15 minutes to prepare. My husband had a chicken dish, he enjoyed it.

The ambiance was elegant and charming; wish we could've stayed for the belly dancers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding intimate restaurant. Good value, great service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was great, and also excellent service. I definitely would recommended this place especially if you are on a date :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Shiraz has been one of our favorite restaurants for several years. The food is incredibly flavorful and they have a good wine list. Prices are about the same as a higher-end chain restaurant but Shiraz is so much nicer. If you like Indian or Mediterranean cuisine, this will be a wonderful change-up for you. Wedding rice is a delicious upgrade. The desserts menu is not extensive but authentic. Baklava is delicious. The Persian Ice Cream is homemade, light and fantastic! Almost everything is gluten free by nature of the cuisine. Many veggie dishes as well. We take our friends here whenever we get the chance.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and you have a choice of smaller portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had dinner April 21, 2017 for the first time for the author. The food was just delicious and the ambiance enabled us to have quiet conversation. I will go to this restaurant again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Both sampler platters were fantastic! Nice wine list too. Service was top-notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a real find. It's well prepared and presented Persian food in a cozy building. The outside of the building would really fool as to what's inside. The service is impeccable. Try it, you'll love it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very quick service and attentive and friendly waitstaff. Unique and delicious food. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food and service was fantastic! Definitely will make a return visit. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation at Shiraz for our anniversary. We had read about Shiraz online and we were looking for a place that served unique cuisine. We sure hit the mark! The food was outstanding! The service was great and the restaurant was clean and quiet. We both would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Delicious as always! Food slow cooked and above usual fare at many restaurants. Nice, quiet atmosphere--attentive and friendly service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Shiraz Grille has the best Sunday lunch in Grand Rapids, bar none. This has been our favorite restaurant in West Michigan for over 5 years, and we recommend it without any qualification.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Another outstanding Sunday lunch with friends. The food selection in the buffet is diverse and so delicious, and the price ($20) simply can't be beat. There is always a nice vibe in the place and the owner is so gracious when he sees us. Can't recommend this place highly enough for the authentic food, relaxing atmosphere, and great value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a fantastic family meal! The Persian food is unique and delicious. Our server was just fantastic! We were delighted to learn that the menu is mostly GF and a peanut allergy can easily be accommodated. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Delicious and beautiful food,out of the ordinary and memorable. The restaurant is gorgeous and fitting for such an elegant meal.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We think this is the best Sunday brunch going in Grand Rapids. The selection is varied and delicious, and the price is outstanding. We love this place and are so happy a restaurant of this quality is in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Service was very good. Staff was very friendly. Food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Once again, exceptional and delicious Persian cuisine. My lamb shank was succulent. The aroma and taste of each dish was wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Can't go wrong!

Tags: Vegan, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is the only Persian restaurant in West Michigan, and it is excellent in all respects. Each dish was unique and slow cooked. The spices were perfect. I had the lamb shank, which was outstanding. So tender. Good and well priced wine list. This is a unique and very high quality restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a gem of a place. We had a fantastic meal in an excellent atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants! It was first on our list for New Year's Eve. It's formal...but not too formal. Entree prices are reasonable, especially for lunch. If you've never had Persian food, it's a little like Indian cuisine but has many unique dishes and flavors. You'll find some old family recipes being served. The kabobs are all excellent. The rack of lamb...perfect. Always upgrade to the wedding rice--well worth it. The baklava is fantastic. And their homemade ice cream is delicious and light...you've never tasted anything like it before! The wine list is not big but above average. There have been some negative comments about the service and I have occasionally experienced longer waits for food than I would have expected. On the other hand, this is a family restaurant, it runs "lean" and new servers have a long learning curve with the menu. It's also not fast food, so take your time, enjoy the surroundings and the food. On NYE, we had Madison as our server and she was bright, cheerful and attentive. They also have a banquet room. Give it a try and it may become one of your "faves" too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An absolutely terrific time, food and atmosphere to welcome the new year with my family. Simply delightful! Thank you Ali, Madison, Parinanna, et al.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Exceptionally good and very unique. Love the rice! I had the Cornish hen - well presented and very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 9, 2016

They really need to step up their service game. Very slow and uneven.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were looking for good Middle Easter/Persian and hadn't found much. Shiraz fits the bill. Nice dining area, excellent service and the food is on point. The mains are great but be sure to upgrade to a specialty rice which would put any dish over the top. We will be going back often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My husband and I recently dined at Shiraz for our wedding anniversary and we enjoyed it very much. Amelia was our waitress and she took very good care of us, even helping with our drink and dinner selection to make sure we would have a pleasant experience. We loved everything we tried and the atmosphere was lovely. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was professional with a great sense of humor. She paired a great wine with our meal. The food was fabulous. I had a chicken/apple special and my husband had a combo plate. I wish this place were closer to home. I would be there all the time!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Same standard, reliable menu - choose from tasty, savory stews (Khoresh) or Kebabs, served with rice (or seasoned rice). Food was tasty; service was fine if a bit slow; atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Open Table we made reservation for 7:00PM. When we got there we advised we had a reservation but they stated they had filled up all the tables and for us to go to bar area to wait to be seated. They said 15 minutes but we didn't get seated until 7:40. We then waiting for a server for 15 more minutes and then had to go request some service. Very very poor in the service area. Food was OK. Would not recommend this place to anyone I know.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 18, 2016

My friend and I love this place because the pace is unhurried, the food is amazing and the service is good. It's a peaceful setting for a great dining experience! The specialty martinis are always fun to try.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.