Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Second Empire Restaurant and Tavern

Located in downtown Raleigh’s historic Victorian Dodd-Hinsdale House (circa 1879), Second Empire combines history, atmosphere, exceptional service and gourmet cuisine for an unforgettable dining experience. Second Empire Restaurant and Tavern features our award winning Contemporary American Cuisine in two dining atmospheres. Upstairs enjoy the ultimate dining experience in an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere of charm and grace. Downstairs in the Tavern and beautiful Atrium room enjoy a lighter fare menu and more casual environment. The Capitol Room, Raleigh Room, Pine Room and Atrium Room are available for private parties seating up to 55 people or various combinations of rooms for parties up to 300 people. Second Empire is very proud to be the recipient of the DiRoNA Award (Distinguished Restaurants of North America), the AAA Four Diamond Award (Raleigh’s only restaurant with this award) and the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1998.

330 Hillsborough St.
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Please note under special requests if you prefer tavern/ atrium seating instead of the formal main dining room.

Cross Street:
Harrington St./ Edenton St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 829-3663

Website:
http://www.second-empire.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the surrounding streets & our private lot in the rear of the Restaurant. Additional parking is also located behind the Restaurant in the Reynolds Building parking lot.
There is a public parking lot across from Second Empire on Hillsborough Street owned by the City of Raleigh & is available for parking, however, there is a $3.00 parking fee that must be paid online. If you do not pay you will be towed.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Schurr

Private Party Facilities:
Second Empire Restaurant and Tavern offers four private dining rooms for day or evening receptions and/or dining. We offer our Pine Room which seats 40 people, the Raleigh Room which seats 25 people, the Capitol Room which seats 25 people and the Atrium which seats 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Nicolle Roberts: (919) 829-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Second Empire Restaurant and Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Romantic (75)
See All
Good for a Date (68)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
Worth the Drive (28)
Business Meals (27)
Cozy (25)
Local Ingredients (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary. Everything was just lovely and the food was excellent. I have already recommended your restaurant to a number of people.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic knowledgeable staff,
delicious, beautiful food, elegant atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I have had since I have lived in Raleigh! We sat in the tavern and I loooved the atmosphere with the dimmed lights and exposed brick. The food was amazing, a lot of variety and cooked perfectly. The service was outstanding! And for everything that you get (atmosphere, service, delicious food, great drinks) the prices seem really reasonable. Much better experience than a Capital Grille or Ruth's Chris. My new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Matthew was attentive and very helpful in making menu suggestions; knew the chef's items by heart. Wonderful place to celebrate!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We were at the Tavern and we could order from two menus - Second Empire and Tavern menus. Great food and great service. We are looking forward to going back for dinner another evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Rims and Skyler were awesome. The food, as always, was great. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This place was amazing! The ambiance was beautiful, the food visually pleasing and absolutely delicious and the waiter (Alex) made the evening especially memorable (we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary). My wife and I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant, especially for special occasions. They helped make it one of our best celebrations EVER.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Top notch as always . This is my wife and I love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The flavor of every dish was outstanding!@ Soup, scallops, paella, quail - this food is meant to be savored.

Atmosphere is Southern traditional/historic, in the mansion of Raleigh's mayor from the last 1800's.

Service is VERY attentive.

This is a more formal restaurant. For a more relaxed environment, the tavern in the lower level would be more appropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely delicious food that looked as good as it tasted. The service was outstanding and the overall experience was very memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This was our 6th year spending our wedding anniversary with Second Empire. It never lets us down. A wonderful experience once again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

As always Second Empire was a great place to celebrate a birthday. Superb food, elegant atmosphere, impeccable and friendly service. My wife and I have dined here many times. The menu is varied and the dishes are both beautifully presented and very tasty. Excellent and reasonably priced wine list. Upstairs is more formal and downstairs is more casual but the food and service excel in both settings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Delicious food!!! A wonderfully attentive server . Was a perfect spot to celebrate Gary's birthday!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

That soufflé dessert was absolutely the best thing I put in my mouth all day. The blue crab pasta was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always a 5 star night at Second Empire. The experience at Second Empire is not comparable to any other restaurant in Raleigh, so many at the same price point. Beautiful ambiance, amazing food, superior staff.... our favorite special occasion or date night spot. Price point of 10-15 for appetizer, 24-35 entree. Bottles of wine can be found as affordable as 35 a bottle, but of course other fantastic choices at a higher price point. Loved sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was celebrating a birthday and as always the experience was very special and we loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Sophisticated without being stuffy. Elegant yet comfortable. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

First time visit. We will be back. Nicest formal restaurant I have ever visited!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had friends visiting from Atlanta and we wanted to show them the dinner scene in Raleigh. We chose Second Empire because we have always enjoyed dining there and we knew our friends would like the food and atmosphere. One of our friends was a student from Johnson and Wales and she claimed this was one of the best meals she had ever enjoyed. Second Empire is clearly upscale, but the food and service quality make it worth the expense. Two thumbs up for Second Empire.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always delicious and always great service. Top notch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Just a superb place for GREAT FOOD + FIVE STAR SERVICE + AMBIENCE. Just make sure you make reservations. Location is a converted house so the seating is limited.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I have dined at Second Empire many times and consider it a great place to go for a special occasion. Typically the service, food, ambiance, and everything else is amazing. I'm not sure what happened this time with the service but it was a little slow and a few times we had to remind our waitress of previous requests. The food was as always amazing and I would still highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have been to SE many times over the years but this is the first time we had an issue with the service. My wife ordered a vegetarian dinner and the waiter did a fine job explaining the options and placing the order. However, when our five meals were served, the kitchen failed to prepare her dinner correctly. She had to wait almost 15 minutes for her dinner to return and the rest of us were already half way through our dinner. Being a loyal customer for years and buying dinner for five, plus drinks at the bar, we expected SE to accept responsibility and comp the vegetarian dinner. Very surprised...

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Waiter & waitress were very attentive at the start. Got slack as the dinner progressed. The crab & pasta dish my wife had was fair at best. I had the pork chop and it was good. First visit to Second Empire (anniversary) and didn't meet my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our first time to Second Empire but it will
Not be our last. The food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the Triangle! We often go there for special occasions, or just to savor the food and service which is as close to perfection as one can get. For the quality of the food it is very reasonably priced, and the broad selection of wines are not over priced either. Both levels of the restaurant are great, just upstairs is more formal appearance. You can order from either menu regardless of what level you're on. Don't miss it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

First time at the restaurant for a special occassion. Chef style restaurant. What a beautiful building! Service and food was very good. My wife had the fish plate, which she greatly enjoyed. I got the NY Strip which was good, but not overly special. I will try something different next time. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad steak...just not exceptional. The soup and cheese plate was very good. Overall, I would highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

This place is amazing , from their amazing and very taste food to their very professional and friendly host . Definitely recommend this play for Anniversary and other especial occasions .

The best in my experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed sharing her birthday with family members at Second Empire. We have always enjoyed the food and ambiance of the restaurant as well as the Tavern downstairs. Always high on our list for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Amazing experience all around. The location, the history, the people... they all exceeded every expectation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The atmosphere is always great. We had Jeremiah as our waiter and he did a terrific job. This was a 75th birthday occasion and we had Jeremiah as our waiter one year ago on our anniversary outing. The food presentation was outstanding and Daniel Schurr signed another menu for us. Great place to eat for those very special occasions .

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent for that special night out. Service staff really know all about the main menu items, cheeses, wines, etc. Arrival of our various courses was well paced and the food was terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The atmosphere was delightfully Victorian, the service was outstanding and the food was creative and excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 15, 2017

2 things to mention.
Parking is an ongoing issue- as a female I would prefer valet as walking down dark streets to find parking is a concern.

Noise level.
Dinner with a girlfriend and we could not hear each other. A large party was in the center and while I was thrilled they were having a great time it did make conversation difficult.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our reservation was for 8:30. Nice, quiet, and great ambiance. Probably need an additional light source if you have issues reading in low light. Special occasions include a custom menu with name and a message from the chef and signature. Very cool! Service started slightly slow but picked up early and didn't affect the rest of the evening. Courses were spread out evenly without feeling rushed. Amazing wine and cheese selection! The Eleven eleven pinot noir was so smooth and slightly fruit forward. Very knowledgeable servers. Filet mignon and rack of lamb were cooked to perfection and elegantly plated. Desserts are varied and my date's creme brûlée even had a candle on the side for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Was not disappointed. 5 stars all the way. Planning another dinner very soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

AMAZING! My husband and I have traveled the globe. We can truly say 2nd Empire is among the best on the planet for exceptionally delicious food, prestine environment and exquisite overall experience! Delicious, incredible, remarkable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Beautiful old house with spacious rooms and tables that are not too close together. Perfect date until a large group came in to eat in the next room. Still we had a nice evening out. Food is exciting and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Everything was delicious. I especially enjoyed my first course of monkfish with grilled octopus. OMG! A party in my mouth. I was less impressed with the rabbit dish. I didn't read the menu carefully and didn't realize the rabbit was minced and made into a sort of cake with the sweet potatoes in it. Perhaps the wait staff could reiterate that to patrons who order it to make sure that's what they want.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant with an interesting history. The food is wonderful and the service was top notch. It is a great place for a special occasion. Loved it !!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.