Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $20 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Chef Chris Gerwig

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (29)
Hot Spot (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
See All
People Watching (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fun (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Casual (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Great Beer (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, despite not having a kids menu they accommodated food for ours. We had several small platter to share, nice flavors, portions on the small side. Nice selection of drinks, wine list is limited tough.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. We popped in for a weekday lunch and some cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I enjoyed the shrimp and grits. My friends had the blat & the fried chicken sandwiches.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Cool place, but too expensive for what you get. If prices were more reasonable, we'd come back. Food quality didn't justify a $165 bill for two people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was not good
Scallops were cold
We had to send them back
When they returned they still were not totally cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had been to one of Brian Malarkey's restaurants before, so our expectations were high. We left absolutely blown away by the quality of the food and service. If I could give this place six stars, I would.

Arrived early for our 6:00 pre-theater reservation, and were allowed to select our table. We chose outdoors on the Fifth Avenue patio. Our waiter, Daniel (I think), was knowledgeable, friendly, respectful, and funny. We had been thinking of sharing several small plates, and he recommended sharing four between two of us - which turned out to be the perfect amount.

We had the braised short rib, at Daniel's suggestion, and the mussels with chorizo, the brussels sprouts, and the shrimp and grits. Each one of those items could have been the star of the meal at many restaurants; this was just an abundance of gastronomic joys. If I had to pick a favorite, it would be the mussels. Or the brussels sprouts. Or the short rib. Or the shrimp & grits. I called the short rib "meat butter" because it literally melted in your mouth. The combination of the mussels and chorizo was unbelievable, I could have eaten 100 of them, exploded, and died happy. The brussels sprouts had the exact right amount of char, and the sriracha/walnut glaze was exquisite. Chef knows what he's doing, no question.

One nicety that caught my attention was one of the other members of the service staff stopping by to refold her napkin when my wife left for a minute. A small thing that could easily go unnoticed, but really a sterling service touch.

Dessert was the banana pudding with vanilla wafers and an iced espresso drink with several liquers. Both delightful! An odd touch was when Daniel mentioned that he needed to physically take my ID while I had the after-dinner drink, as it was served in a special vessel, which apparently, some people had decided to go home with in the past. It was special indeed. I'll leave it to you to order one yourself to see what it was.

Can't recommend highly enough...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always fun - never disappoints. Very crowded at night, noise level very high. Creative cuisine. Best to go for lunch but menu is limited compared to evening. Beer selection pretty meager!!
Friendly people all around!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We were in town for a convention, and we're all pretty discerning eaters, coming from NYC - the food and the service was spectacular!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Super find for my wife and I Pre-Theatre. 10 minute walk to SD Civic Theatre - you just have to step over all the homeless on the way. You can always Uber...

Food was great- go with "Smalls" menu and order a bunch to share.

Service was over the top. Very friendly, very helpful and very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2017

the service was ok but very ssssslllooowwwww , took 10min to be notice and 45 min to get breakfast food

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

There was a power outage during the day so they weren't able to open for dinner service. The rating and review is because there was no call or notice until we walked in for our birthday dinner reservation. Would have expected a heads up. Instead we had to scramble on a Saturday during Labor Day weekend to find an alternative like many others who weren't notified either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We planned on going to Searsucker for weeks and reserved our table ahead of time.

Unfortunately, when we showed up 15 minutes before our reserved time (7PM) we found a note on the door stating they were closed due to loss of power earlier in the day.

They never called to let us know (despite power being back on) and in our reservations I let them know we were celebrating our anniversary. It was a huge disappointment, we understand that things happen but the complete lack of communication was hugely unprofessional. Could've been handled far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I love this place, but they had a power outage and we were unable to eat there this past Friday night (they were closed for the night and obviously going through some turmoil). These things happen in life of course, but I got no notice from Open Table or the restaurant. I took an Uber and showed up, only to have to find another restaurant at the last minute . . . I would not have traveled downtown if I had known. With many reservations for the labor day weekend and a sophisticated and established app like Open Table, I couldn't get some kind of notice/alert that ALL reservations were cancelled? And I further get prompted to give this review? What can my review possibly be in this circumstance? Unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The menu is already limited as it is. We tried to order several drinks and they kept saying they ran out or they don't have it stocked. The food was horrible. Super salty. We wanted to give this place a try since it has received good reviews. We ended up leaving the restaurant and went to Water Grill ( which is always amazing).

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Service was fair to poor. If you like to sit with one drink for an hour before your waiter returns or food arrives than this is your place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The service was terrible. The hostess stand was empty and they were las then cheerful. Our server would not go over any specials or attend our table. He took our order and dropped off out check. We had to wave over other servers to take our dirty dishes and order another round. Steak was over cooked which is unacceptable when your paying $40 per steak. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We went there after the ball game. Got their early but no problem, as there were many empty tables at that time. Nice atmosphere, and good to watch people if sitting by the window or on the patio. Our server was very friendly and offered suggestions which we tried. Service was overall excellent, there were people constantly refilling water, checking on us and clearing plates.

We ordered many of the 'small plates' and 'ands' so we could share. A couple things came out just warm and felt like they might have been sitting for a bit, so that could have been better. Favourites were the short rib, shrimp and grits, duck fat fries, corn. Duck wings were good too but a bit spicy, mushroom and burrata, mashed potatoes, meatball and Cesar salad were just okay. We left feeling full and that the meal was overall good, but we weren't wowed or anything. I'd still say it's worth a go.

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Have loved this restaurant in the past and was excited to take my family there, but this time was less enthused. Brunch Menu seemed small and limited and the Chilachiles (which several ordered) were a lot of chips. Banana bread was divine, but included the end piece which I usually cut off. Great atmosphere, but hope it can stay up to its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went there with a group of 5 for drinks and tapas style dining. Ambiance was great. Food was unimpressive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful service on the patio! Great menu suggestions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Such a fun meal and atmosphere. Our sever was amazing! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Living in San Diego, we normally avoid the Gas Lamp district like a trip to the dentist. I chose this restaurant based off reviews and "best of" lists. The service was great and food was above average. Nice appetizer of roasted mushrooms, borata cheese and a big hunk of French toast. I had a very nicely prepared moonfish. My wife had a lovely spotted bass. For dessert we shared a homemade banana pudding. We have only been in SD for about 2 months, coming from DC, it has been hard to find restaurant with the attention to detail that is seen in cities like DC. SearSucker did a pretty good job and we would definitely go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Good food, good service but extremely noisy. Difficult to carry on conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Sitting outside is not the same experience as sitting inside. There is no real separation between eating and the people walking along the street which can be chaotic and uncomfortable at times. I would not recommend sitting outside - inside is a much nicer experience (this was my second time at the restaurant).

Also, our service was horrible - disengaged in all aspects.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Trendy. energetic place with good food. It was hard to converse with the noise in the restaurant, but in general it was a good place to go for an occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great service, overpriced food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The crab cake and eggs Benedict was delivered COLD!!! The server took it back without an apology. Several people in our party had finished when when finally delivered my brunch again. This time it was hot, but was very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food but loud! Ask for a table outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food, always had great service. They change the menu seasonally but always have some great staples they keep year round. Defiantly worth trying!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Celebrating Moms Retirement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great place to eat/drink before the Padres games.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent biscuits and good beer. The chicken was tasteless despite a spicy veneer. Go here for the bar & biscuits after a ballgame.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Couldn't have been better from arrival through fimish'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Tomahawk ribeye apparently takes over an hour and 15 min to prepare. This is what the waitress told us after we ordered our sides and finished them. I feel like this should be information provided at the beginning considering how popular it is.

Beef tartare was delicious!

Everything else afterwards though was diminished by the fact that I was so looking forward to the tomahawk ribeye and was not able to order it.

I also felt that the service level definitely dropped midway. She was great in the beginning and then it took forever to flag her down in order to order our entrees. This made the dinner quite lengthy with a lot of down time with no food on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went for my husband's 30th birthday, which I had included with our reservation. Service was pretty bad - we waited an hour for salads and the waitress didn't stop by to update us. They did comp an appetizer, but we wouldn't go back or recommend. Location, while downtown, also wasn't great. Clubgoers passed by the whole time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were in San Diego for vacation and business and this was our celebratory dinner once the business was concluded. We lucked out with Richard as our server. He was very pleasant, well informed and helped us make good choices in food and drinks. We enjoyed the fries, the escarole beet salad, duck wings, the doughnuts with 2 sauces and the delicious cocktail (French squeeze). Can't remember what other dish we ordered, but can tell you that the portions were very generous. We ordered four small plates and dessert and we took half of it home. We were seated by an open window and it was also fun to people watch in this very busy part of the Gaslamp district

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our concierge and a friend recommended going there and we were looking forward to it. We did not have a pleasant experience and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. We were seating for a very long time before anyone even acknowledged us or brought us water. There was a crowd of waiters just hanging out in the back of restaurant. When our waiter did finally come to our table he did not apologize rather he conducted himself in an arrogant and condescending manner. My wife and I ordered drinks and a salad and decided we would not give that place our business. We went somewhere else for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was sooooo salty ... we had meatballs and short rib which had way too much salt. Octopus was rubbery and took forever to get to our table. On the bright side the doughnuts are amazing and the drinks were good. Service was great as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I love Searsucker! I came every year for comicon and it's awsome! The food is vero good and the cocktail too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.