About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $20 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Brian Malarkey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Hot Spot (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
People Watching (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Cozy (14)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Lunch (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Romantic (6)
Great Beer (6)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Took a group of 15 people for a business meal with a customer. The food was very good and the service great. My customer enjoyed the total experience. I would recommend this restaurant to others for unique dishes and great food. It is a loud environment though so keep that in mind.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I've dined here every Feb since they opened. They have creative offerings whether going traditional with app/entree, or building your own tasting menu from their cold and small plate selections (which is my preference). Excellent bar selection as well, and they seem to attract all kinds from businessmen/women to couples to single friends going out for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. LOUD! We sat outside solely because we wouldn't have been able to hear ourselves otherwise. Luckily there are heat lamps overhead if needed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were sat in the middle of two other large tables, crowded restaurant, our elbows were touching the other tables and we are tiny people! Poor service for expensive food. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Okra is amazing. Short rib is second to none. Incredible restaurant. A must try. Very good coctail selection. Menu allows you to try numerous things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Appetizers were good. Steak was awful. I would not go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Noisy - one big room with no buffers; synthesizer music - steady loud beat of 4/4 "music." Food was very good except that my wife's grilled cheese sandwich that was supposed to come with her meal was late and we had to ask for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Searsucker is a great spot downtown. It was been consistently good since it opened. The food is great and so is the service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Second time I have been here and it was amazing. I can't remember my servers name but she was great and had a good energy about her. I tried to get her to sing 90's R&B whenever she dropped off our drinks but she didn't do it. Other than that I don't have any complaints.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic food, cocktails, and service! Great ambiance and vibe, fantastic music. We were especially amazed at some of the bussers, who could carry 26 wine glasses at the same time.

Our only complaint is that it was so loud that we had a hard time having a conversation across the table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Valentine's day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was great as well as the ambiance. We were seated a little after our reservation which happens, but our waiter refreshed our drinks on the house. He went above and beyond which made our experience even better. The service was incredible!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

if you only willing to get drinks on the {empty} patio, even with the table reservation, they will try to kick you out, because "ladies, this tables reserved for dinner, order food or ones people come in we may ask you to leave" Sweet.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We visited this restaurant for lunch two days in a row. Our service both days was mediocre at best. One of the plates we ordered was over 10 minutes late with no explanation. The crab cake is the worst I've ever had... the chefs need to travel back east to see how they're made... and it would be nice to actually see the crab meat. On the second day, my friend ordered the beet salad only to have the salad arrive without any beets. They did finally bring him a bowl of beets when we pointed it out without any explanation. Please look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Apple core and bruised apple found in the salad. Fairly good, well cooked scallops but for 30+ dollars poor value.

Service seemed rushed and impersonal.

This place fancies itself. It represents lazy management.

If you appreciate good food, warm service and a comfortable dining experience this place is not for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was good but wasn't the best I've ever had. The ambiance and outside seating were phenomenal. Service was good but it took a while for our server to come back at points.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Horrible service, food served cold, one dish never delivered, loud, food was lousy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Searsucker is a great spot. Very vibrant atmosphere and friendly staff. We were a party of 4, but they were able to accommodate party's of many sizes the night we were in there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a spontaneous weekend getaway with a few friends this past weekend and we wanted something nice to eat so we came to Searsucker in downtown SD. The item that caught our attention was the tomahawk ribeye which we were eager to try.

The experience: We were greeted and seated by the hostess. We sat, chatted, ordered apps, drinks. The apps and drinks came and 30 mins has passed by while we enjoyed the starters. When the server came to take our order hang for a bit, one of us wanted to order the tomahawk since it's been raved so much. Little did we know we couldn't order it since it takes an hour to make and we had a time limit of 2 hours for the table. I personally thought this was unfair to not be able to order the dish we wanted because (1) we should've been advised in the beginning by the servers that we must order the tomahawk right away, (2) they shouldn't have presumed everyone is a regular and know their rules beforehand, (3) no disclosure of it anywhere on the menu. Going forward, a tip for Searsucker is to make things known to customers so they can have the opportunity to get the full experience. We left disappointed but we know it's a great menu. Maybe next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great assortment of small plates. Seating is fairly casual and the vibe was rockin on the Saturday night. Decent pours for the martini, not your disappointing mixology pour. I really enjoyed the meal. Three of us split 8 small pKates and we were very satisfied.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excelente lugar. Buen ambiente, el personal muy amable. Es un buen sitio para ir con los amigos, tomarte una copa y en general pasar un buen rato. La comida es muy rica y el gasto es alrededor de los $75-100 dls por persona, licor incluido.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very tasty overall. The biscuits, tuna poke, & mashed potatoes were table favorites. Quite loud and crowded (lively atmosphere), which wasn't what we were expecting based on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, People Watching, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and the drinks are so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service were fantastic! The ambience was great too. I would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Did not live up to the hype

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

The bar was definitely the place to be. The food was bland but the service and Happy Hour prices were very good. Good spot to visit on your way to someplace else.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

I had the biscuits and meatballs and they were really good however my husband had the bone-in pork chop which was absolutely horrible. It was rubbery, had no taste and awful spices. Didn't have time to return so went hungry. Staff was excellent and very satisfying. Won't be returning soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 31, 2017

Did not disappoint. I ate here 4 years ago and dreamt about the day I could return. My dreams came true. I ate here again on Monday night. Although the bone marrow was no longer on the menu, we found plenty of other tasty treats. Six of us split the small plates, short rib, pork belly, brussel sprouts, muscles and biscuits. WOW! We then ordered a fish and steak entrée and shared. The fish was ok but the steak was great. My fav is the pork belly. We then split a banana pudding and donuts for dessert. Simply Devine. The hostesses and wait staff were on their game. They made us feel very special. I promise that every time I'm in San Diego, this is one stop I will always make.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a great time here. Second time here and both have been great. The food is top notch and the vibe is cool. It is definitely loud, so if you are into a quiet place, it's not for you. Otherwise awesome and great bar as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very poor experience. Was pleased when I went a few years ago. This time seated almost an hour late for our reservation, with slow, inattentive service overall. The restaurant on primetime Saturday had run out of their three most popular items, so everyone had the sense of getting their second or third choice throughout the meal. Overpriced, overrated, poor dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service, fairly good food, but much too loud for conversation and quite expensive. The Gaslamp location is a negative. Juniper and Ivy and Herb & Wood both present much better value for high end dining in San Diego.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Ambiance nice- food not so great. Disappointed especially with steak quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

We shared different options. Our favorites the short rib, the sprouts and the scallops. Very good place to go with friends and have some drinks. Tequila me softly was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

Love this place! Food is delicious with a fun ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Utterly forgotten! It took our waitress over 40 mins to realize our food hadn't been served (we were immersed in a business conversation) and then management tried to step in and salvage the situation. The damage was already done.

Probably just a one off fumble, but it was a big one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

Options abound in the gas lamp district but hard to go wrong with Searsucker. Vibrant scene even on a Monday night downtown. Excellent choices in the small plates, with the beef tartar, shrimp and grits, octopus and pork belly standing out. The tenderloin filets were perfectly prepared and the duck pot pie got high marks. Go for the duck fat fries and brussel sprouts for the full experience. Nice options on the wine list despite the relatively small selection. The 2011 Damilano Barolo was drinking well despite its relative youth. Service dependably solid and prices more than reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great spot in the perfect location. Cool atmosphere, very good food and stellar service. Had brunch... limited menu, but everything was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

The restaurant decor was nice but like so many of the other restaurants in the Gaslamp, the food was lackluster. It was seemingly creative but missed the mark on flavor and freshness. It's a fun place to hang out with friends though. The server was very attentive and friendly. I recommend Searsucker if you happen to be in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

I travel a lot for work and get the opportunity to eat at a number of amazing spots and Searsuckers is one of my favorite restaurants in the entire country. The food is outstanding, great location (Gaslamp San Diego) and cool atmosphere. I would rate my last meal there in the top five of my life.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 18, 2017

The waiter was outstanding....the ambiance was great too. Food was pretty good...Tuna Tartare and fried chicken were the highlights...

The mahi mahi was terrible.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very fun, good vibe, and good food. The waiter was very helpful. Short ribs are off the hook.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Walking into the restaurant, it was loud but good energy loud. Also because they were busy. It was packed when my group and I walked in. We had reservation at 7pm and was seated when the whole party arrived. The menu was simple and everything was shareable. Everything we got was "okay"... it was more of you're either gonna love it or dislike it because the flavors here are rich & thick. It's flavors on flavors and there wasn't really a flow. We had the tuna poke, crab cake, fried octopus, pork belly, shrimp and grits, and the New York steak. Honestly, the ONE great thing I had was their chimmichuri sauce! My goodness, I had to ask for extra with my steak! It was amazingly flavorful and bomb! We also had a few drinks and they were good! I'd recommend small plates (their pretty fulfilling) !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very noisy. Very expensive. Service was good. Decor was nice.

Won't go back, there are too many other places that may be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a tough one... we were that table where everything went wrong and our server was completely inept. However, the manager Drew was outstanding and did more than necessary to makes us happy. The food was delicious (get the meatballs!) I'm certainly willing to give the restaurant another try.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great place for dinner before a show. We met some friends for dinner here before seeing a show at the Civic and the waiter was fantastic. He made sure we had an enjoyable meal and was out of there in time to make the show. Great food too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our 4 visit and it is always a favorite! You can't go wrong with this restaurant choice for the Gaslamp district. Lunch was particularly good and less crowded than the dinner hour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great Food and Great Service! Our group was well taken care of.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

I made a reservation for a friend's 30th birthday. The server multiple times said happy birthday and made birthday references. I expected since I paid almost $220 dollars that they would have brought out a dessert for the special night. I was very disappointed and will not recommend this eatery to my friends or company.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service and fun place to eat and meet friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Seersucker was a great choice for a girls weekend place! Great people watching, good wine and good food. It appears to get louder and louder as the evening progresses and seemed like it was turning into a nightclub atmosphere. We were seated at a lovely banquet in the middle behind the hostess stand and would have stayed longer but could not get a cup of coffee with dessert. I asked two different wait staff persons and our waitress just skipped it and brought the bill. I guess the 50 ish crowd isn't important after 10pm. Overall it was good food and a nice dinner spot.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.