Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $20 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Chef Chris Cewig

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Hot Spot (38)
People Watching (37)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Fun (29)
Modern Decor (27)
Business Meals (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Casual (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Cozy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (8)
Family Style (6)
Great Beer (5)
Live Sports (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Not many vegetarian options but the one they do have is excellent. They need to put more alcohol in their drinks. Wait service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Not worth the bother to go downtown for mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The kitchen got one of our orders wrong and had to send it back, this put our daughter eating while we were done with our meal. The portions were small. Our table seemed to get our food much later than those that were seated at the same time. $200 (including champagne) for Mother's Day brunch for 3 would not have been bad if these items were fixed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place was awesome. The food was great and the service was equally amazing. The parking was a nightmare so don't take your car.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had better experiences at Searsucker but the Mother's day brunch was a joke. Carbs free crab cake with pieces of potato inside the crab cake for fillers, since when potatoes are not carbs? Escarole Caesar without a trace of escarole. The pork belly was cold and barely seared. The chilaquiles too spicy and I can go on. The service was nice but the music a little too loud. I just didn't impress my mother in law with a place that I considered in the past a nice restaurant with good food. And that was the entire point : (

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I expected more from a 40$ pre fixe. They really phoned it in for mother's day. Chilaquiles were unnecessarily spicy, and biscuits came cold. Sucks to see a well established and renowned restaurant slap together a pre fixe for profit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I used to love this restaurant. The food was terrible and I sent my plate back. There was no silverware or salt and pepper on the table. By the time we could ask for these the food was cold. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I unfortunately regretted dining here. My wife and I experienced very poor service. We had a reservation through open table and arrived 5 minutes early. We were seated immediately at about 955 for a 10p date. The hostess noticed we hadn't been seen by our waiter after a few minutes wait and informed us that Joshua would be right with us.

Joshua was too busy pandering to another table to be bothered with us. At about 1020, 25 minutes after being seated. He finally acknowledged us.. He came to our table and offered no apology or recognition of the long wait.

The duck soup was terrible. They call it duck pie but it's just a soup with a bread covering over it.. very little substance to it, tasted watered down like it had been sitting in a cauldron all day.

We paid and left feeling pretty bad about how the night turned out. I left a small tip. 10%, then woke up to find an email from open table informing me that the restaurant had reported me as a no show...

Im just gonna sigh. And end the review, and my thoughts right there. Avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing food. Service wasn't great but I would definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I can't wait to go back! Great food, service, and atmosphere. I loved the cocktails and tomahawk ribeye (I'm not even much of a meat eater, TBH). I definitely recommend if you're looking for a vibrant atmosphere with good food and drinks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

3 stars overall only because when I made the reservation I wasn't told the kitchen closes from 3:30 pm to 4:30 pm, and I made the reservation at 3:00pm. Therefore, we had to know in advance what my group of 7 ppl wanted and couldn't really enjoy the ambiance and enjoy appetizers.

Other than that everything was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We tried it because it was supposed to be a unique menu. It was unique. We ended up getting scallops and New York strip steak. They were pretty good. The grilled octopus was different and our peach cobbler desert was amazing. I ordered the steak medium but it was medium well. The folks were very helpful and service was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Hostess experience was outstanding! They used our name and were very helpful. The server was very absentee. Took our order and left. Someone else delivered the food, and the server never checked on us afterwards. We had to wave him down to get our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had the best table in the house for two, and it was perfect! Everything was fabulous, and the brussel sprouts are out of this world deliscous. A really wonderful evening on several levels....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Live Sports, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The Tomahawk streak was very good as well as the smalls. My wife ordered the pork chop that comes with a pickled sauce that was terrible. we thought the pork itself was spoiled. Our server took the dish back two times. We ended up paying for a dish that was not edible. I suppose that was our fault. We should have insisted they take it off the bill. We will mot be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great dinner service. Appetizers were excellent. We had the tuna poke and duck fat fries. My wife ordered the New York steak and I decided to try the fried chicken. My wife enjoyed her steak, but I was disappointed by the fried chicken. It was okay, but definitely not something I would order again. Overall good experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was good and offered a variety for all food types. It was in a trendy area therefore, the prices seemed elevated. I would recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great cool spot in San Diego! Great service and a great menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Just a bit loud. Loved it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, and even better service. Joshua, our server knew the menu, what to recommend, and made it a great dinner. Perfect for a first or 10,000th date. The drinks, appetizers, main course and desert were all top notch. A little expensive, but totally worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was superior! The service was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The Tapas menu is the way to go. Nice portions and variety!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent restaurant and has not missed a beat in all of the years its been open. Great good, fantastic service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Forgot the bacon in the bacon cobb salad. Online brunch menu was VERY different from the actual brunch menu. Out of Guava for the guava mimosa. Server left mimosa on the check after we said we didn't want one without the guava. Not a great experience and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! Previously dined at the Austin, TX location and this one was just as fabulous! A bit loud, but dined at peak evening time and on a Saturday night, so it was a little expected! Service and food was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I visit San Diego 3 to 4 times a year and I always try to dine at Searsuckers. As usual the food was outstanding, especially the braised lamb neck and our cocktails were delicious. The service was on par with the food and the ambience was very energetic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was outstanding. The only thing we did not know about was the 3% surcharge. That was a surprise. Maybe we just did not see it on the menu. That should be mentioned.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fish was over cooked which was disappointing. Mash potatoes and brussel sprouts were really good.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed everything. My friends had steak, which they loved and I had two smalls, meatballs and clams. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Outstanding in every way. We found that sharing a couple Colds, Ands, and Smalls was perfect - so didn't try the entrees. Good service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was great! The service was excellent and the atmosphere was jumping. We loved it! We were visiting from Texas and took a chance, we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We loved our dinner and Meagan our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Bar crowd was practically sitting on our table. Noisy! Staff inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great.
Food and drink where outstanding.
Service was quick and good
Love the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our group of eight went to Searsucker for dinner to start off a friend's bachelorette weekend, and it was the perfect venue! We arrived early and had a drink at the bar before sitting down to dinner. The bartenders were quick and friendly, and the bar was spacious enough for our group, which was a win. Our waiter was fantastic and read our group's energy and needs perfectly. He even brought out a special celebratory dessert for the bride-to-be! All the food recommendations he suggested were delicious. The restaurant's aesthetic was fun, trendy and beautiful. The only thing I would say to be aware of is the restaurant got pretty loud so I felt like we were having to raise our voices to hear each other, which could be a downside for those seeking a place for quiet conversation or those hard of hearing. Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend eating here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food! We all enjoyed the ambiance and service was wonderful as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wow. Incredible buttermilk chicken and spicy Brussel sprouts. I don't even like brussel sprouts! The drinks are out of this world.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Went here for Dinner on Monday and overall had a very pleasant experience. Our Server was fantastic (wish i remembered his name)

Appetizers: Mushrooms and Pork Belly. Both were AMAZING, my favorite part of the meal.

Mains: My dad got the steak, it was flavorful but overcooked as he asked for medium. I think if he would've asked for medium rare it would've been perfect. My fiance' got 2 small plates as her main, The short rib was honestly the best short rib I ever had. It was amazing! she had the Tuna Poke too, she loved it and I didn't want to try so we'll go with her opinion. I ordered the scallops, that's tricky one to order since they are pretty easy to mess up but when done right, are SO GOOD! unfortunately, they were overcooked, chewy and fishy. The server was great about it, and switched it out for the special (I think it was Okra?) That was pretty good. Next time i'd stay on land...

Side: the corn. Delicious. Order it!

Overall we'll definitely be back. 4/5 stars.

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent! Very interesting cocktails and food choices . Don't miss the out on the duck fat fries and the night owl cocktail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Love this place! Great food, never dissapointing. Have been here twice now with my girl and we both love the dishes here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.