About Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

400 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Sorry for any inconvenience, but we do not accept any reservations during our weekend breakfast and lunch hours. Reservations for dinner begin at 5:00pm.

We are unable to take window requests online; however, we are delighted to take your request upon your arrival.

BREAKFAST:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:30am



LUNCH:
Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



DINNER:
Monday-Sunday : 5:30pm -10:00pm



BAR SERVICE:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-2628

Website:
http://www.schoonersmonterey.com/

Parking Details:
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers two hour complimentary Valet parking. Please let our host know 10 minutes before you leave and we will call valet, your car will be ready on the drive

Executive Chef:
James Waller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer exclusive buffets with breathtaking views of the Monterey Bay in celebration of Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 16,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace can host groups of up to 600 people.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Waterfront (31)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Decent selection of seafood. I thought i ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Decent selection of seafood. I thought it would have been a little more upmarket given the location and I was surprised that most fish was imported rather than local

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent seafood and good wine list. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent seafood and good wine list. Service was very good although we waited for our food until it became lukewarm.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. Terrific experience. Fantast ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal. Terrific experience. Fantastic night. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, , Scenic View, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, amazing views, gre ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful restaurant, amazing views, great ambiance, very attentive wait staff and most importantly a great menu with great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views - sea life abounds out the e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great views - sea life abounds out the expansive windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal of our Monterey vacation. The ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best meal of our Monterey vacation. The bread brought out was tasty. Tried the octopus app, and it was good, but octopus is not my favorite seafood. I got the pan seared salmon and my wife got the shrimp, scallops and clams pasta, and both were wonderful. Dessert was the butterscotch pudding with caramelized banana , and it was a delight. There was a beautiful full moon through the large windows. We enjoyed this meal from beginning to end!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal, good service, good views. Got ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good meal, good service, good views. Got all three experiences in one place. Nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really liked the open kitchen concept ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I really liked the open kitchen concept as well as the large windows for the view. I didn't realize this restaurant was through a hotel though. Hidden fees

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We experienced a wonderful lunch yesterd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We experienced a wonderful lunch yesterday after flying in from orange county. Delicious food presentation was one of a kind gentle man we're all wonderful along with all the ladies who did nothing but serve us and smile all afternoon. Special gentleman who brought us our car was friendly and joy talking to him about the Super Bowl

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was a little difficult to find ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The place was a little difficult to find from the outside, but the interior signs were satisfactory. The wait staff was good and the food was excellent. Would visit this place again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful location and views of the bay. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Beautiful location and views of the bay. Excellent service. The swordfish was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate our birthdays . ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great place to celebrate our birthdays . Food was awesome. Great service.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience good service very frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great experience good service very friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service, excellent food and beauti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service, excellent food and beautiful views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dining by the water. We enjoyed ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Nice dining by the water. We enjoyed our dinner here. The charred octopus appetizer was wonderful. The artichoke chowder was very smooth. The Cioppino had good flavor and the pan seared sole was nicely prepared. Service was friendly and attentive. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been our hangout as locals for ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This has been our hangout as locals for at least 2 a month. We enjoy the diversity in menu because it caters for the whole family. This time however - the octopus was overlooked and undercharred - I say this because we have it all the time and there is never actually enough in the platter to go round. My ahi was ok... I had asked for extra Bok choy and never got it.

Steaks were ok except 1 . The fish n chips came out at least 7-10 mins before everybody else's entree. All in all this was a very disappointing meal- especially because the restaurant was at least 1/2 empty.

Sad because the ambiance waitstaff and location are all phenomenal. May give it another try sometime - but definitely not very soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Made a reservation for 2. Arrived to fi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Made a reservation for 2. Arrived to find out the main restaurant was under renovation. Only area open was the bar which was extremely noisy and cramped. So technically, there was a table for 2 but it was unacceptable to me. The hostess suggested we go upstairs to have a drink at the Lobby Bar. We went upstairs and it was closed. So we just left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A pleasant atmosphere but the food is at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A pleasant atmosphere but the food is at best, average. My wife had the grilled salmon which turned out to be "fishy smelling" which she returned. I had the sesame seed ahi tuna which was ok but lacked flavor. The restaurant comped us for my wife's meal but overall this was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was great. The food was fine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was great. The food was fine, but lacked flavor. The food arrived very quickly, which may for some feel like they are rushing you. The ambiance is nice but the accoustics are very rather bad.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was perfect. Our server went ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was perfect. Our server went above and beyond with finding our baby girl something to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had an early NYE dinner at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I had an early NYE dinner at Schooners. The food was excellent! We both had the cioppino which we enjoyed thoroughly. The charred octopus was also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined here before and had much bett ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have dined here before and had much better food and service. Oysters were horrible (at least until they brought out a new batch that were shucked correctly). Calamari fair. Food fair. Swordfish overcooked a bit. Wine list pretty expensive for what you get. Not sure I would race back to dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Tried Schooners on a whim. Beautiful loc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tried Schooners on a whim. Beautiful location, excellent swordfish! Service was very good! Over all a really nice dinner out!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good for the price. Food was excel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good for the price. Food was excellent. Service both good and bad. For example, the waiter made the effort to let us taste a couple different wines so we could chose what we liked. And, he was pretty knowledgeable about the wines which is unusual for waiters. On the other hand, he was slow. Definitely would eat there again. I recommend this place.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Booked a dinner party for my family to c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Booked a dinner party for my family to celebrate my wife's 44th bday. Had a lovely day and was starving. When we arrived, we expected to be in the main dining room but they said it was only for reservations at 530 and onwards. Wow! So they stuck me my two kids and wife in the bar because we booked at 515 instead of 530 and in order to move to the dining room, the hostesss (which was rather rude-- but seemed a bit clueless) said I neeeded to make another reservation? But the next one wasn't going to be for hours later?! Unacceptable. Too high a tab for low quality service in my opinion. Will never return here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Sat at the bar. Great happy hour prices ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Sat at the bar. Great happy hour prices and great happy hour wine (Hahn). Great service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Generally OK with good food and excellen ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Generally OK with good food and excellent waiter service. Front desk was a disorganized mess with people without reservations jumping in line and long delays between seatings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I have been going to Schooners for years ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I have been going to Schooners for years! I have always loved the location and the service has been good. I went there for lunch a few days ago and after sitting at our table for 30 minutes had to ask a staff person if we had a waiter - it was awful. I went to dinner the following night - showed up at 6:10 for a 6:30 reservation and was not seated until 7:30. The service was horrible and was the worst dining experience I have ever had. I was totally bummed because I have really enjoyed dining at Schooners in the past. It will be a very, very long time (if ever) before I go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Well worth the money. My friend and I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Well worth the money. My friend and I had the Cioppino stew (for 2) and it was the best we ever had! The service was excellent and professional without being intrusive. The waterfront view was absolutely beautiful. We are not tourists and would definitely come back again.

Valet parking is a bonus because parking is at a premium.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It 3:45 so we were seated at the bar are ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It 3:45 so we were seated at the bar area. Had to wait several minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation. Service was extremely slow even though it wasn't that busy. Had to fight constantly for the attention of someone to help. Artichoke dip had little artichokes and was mostly cream with little cheese. Nice spot with a view of the bay. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Was disappointed in the meal. Main entre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Was disappointed in the meal. Main entree was good all else just mediocre. Service was disappointing to say the least. We had reservations and they were seating people without reservations while we waited in the lobby. Only after saying something were we attended to and seated. Service went downhill from there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and service. My family an ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. My family and I will definitely make it a point to return to Schooners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My lobster bisque and filet mignon were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My lobster bisque and filet mignon were outstanding. The filet was prepared to perfection. The service is very responsive, helpful and friendly. And then there is the gorgeous view of the water.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, excellent seafood, lo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful service, excellent seafood, lovely space. We went at night but imagine the view is spectacular during daytime. A nice option from the touristy restaurants that populate cannery row.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Schooner's is a great casual restaurant ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Schooner's is a great casual restaurant in a beautiful hotel on the beach. There are lovely water views for most diners. However we were disappointed in the seafood entrees on our last visit. The portions were large and the fish fresh. What the chef added to both was a heavy lemon and butter sauce on everything that overwhelmed both the salmon and petrale sole dishes. That is indicative of hotel restaurants that often cannot provide consistently great dining experiences. Sometimes the food is divine but not always.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent Restaurant! Amazing view

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent Restaurant! Amazing view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was an excellent meal in a beautifu ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was an excellent meal in a beautiful setting. Wonderful local option for dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bay view is nice but it was too cold ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The bay view is nice but it was too cold near the window so we shivered all through dinner. Food also came incredibly quickly and so our date lasted 30 minutes.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service, wine, food and ambiance were al ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Service, wine, food and ambiance were all fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding as usual. We were s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was outstanding as usual. We were seated in the bar area. It was very noisy. I would have preferred a quiet booth on the dining side, but I was too hungry to complain. Overall, a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.