Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

400 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Sorry for any inconvenience, but we do not accept any reservations during our weekend breakfast and lunch hours. Reservations for dinner begin at 5:00pm.

We are unable to take window requests online; however, we are delighted to take your request upon your arrival.

BREAKFAST:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:30am



LUNCH:
Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



DINNER:
Monday-Sunday : 5:30pm -10:00pm



BAR SERVICE:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-2628

Website:
http://www.schoonersmonterey.com/

Parking Details:
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers two hour complimentary Valet parking. Please let our host know 10 minutes before you leave and we will call valet, your car will be ready on the drive

Executive Chef:
James Waller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer exclusive buffets with breathtaking views of the Monterey Bay in celebration of Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 16,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace can host groups of up to 600 people.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (58)
Waterfront (53)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely venue, Great food. Unobtrusive service, very conducive to conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

It's important to note that this is a review for dinner. We had breakfast here the next morning (for convenience's sake, since we were staying at the Plaza) and it was excellent. Dinner, however, was another matter. The menu looks amazing, the atmosphere and view are superb (you can literally see sea otters playing in the ocean from the windows, and the service is very good, but the food was a huge letdown. Octopus was so incredibly salty, it was inedible, and on a weird salad of fibrous celery leaves. Our waiter was kind enough to have another made for us, when he saw our almost-untouched plate, but it was still the same. Tried peeling off the outside, but it is oversalted to the core (maybe brined for transport from Spain?). Mussels were large and cooked well, but the broth was bland. Crab cakes were tasty, but soggy. Martini was watery. Coffee was watery. There are enough good elements that I suspect the executive chef knows what he is doing, but maybe takes Mondays off and things may fall apart then. As said before, breakfast the next morning was excellent, so maybe we chose an unlucky day, but with only one evening in Monterey, I wish we had made other arrangements.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice Ambience
Wewere staying there and had dinner and breakfast
Average restaurant
Nothing too spectacular
Food was average
Food presentation was good... Taste left to be desired...
Overall good ambience... i feel they should improve their menu and food

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

For years I have loved dining at Schooners, that feeling was magnified Friday night. Thank you for a Super dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We came to this restaurant because of its rating on Trip Advisor and available seating on Open Table. Everything was wonderful from the martinis to the dessert. The fish was lovely, the Caesar said very crisp, the wine pairing lovely. I'm not a salmon eater because I prefer something less fishy tasting but the waiter said it had just been caught that day and was quite mild. It was and it was so juicy and wonderfully prepared. My husband had the sole which wasn't quite as flavorful but still good. I highly recommend the restaurant, and especially our great waiter Roland.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is a top notch restaurant in every way. The service was absolutely impeccable. Great wine list and knowledgeable staff. Wonderful location right on the bay. Angry prawns , clam chowder and fish tacos were very pleasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Good food, in a beautiful setting, plus great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Surprisingly excellent meal in a hotel restaurant. Cioppino was outstanding, the view spectacular and very helpful and appropriated attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My wife and I went for our anniversary. Not our first time there, but it has been a while. I ordered the steak and my wife got the scallops. Food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We stayed at the Monterey Tides, across the bay, but wanted to try out one special restaurant during our vacation. 'Special' is an understatement. From the Monterey Plaza hotel's valet parking, until we left, everything was beyond expectations. The hotel, with it's view of Monterey Bay, is gorgeous and elegant. Every single staff member we encountered was friendly, even before we arrived at the restaurant. We were a little early, prior to the restaurant being open for seating, so Bella, the hostess, took us into a window seat at the bar where we ordered two delicious glasses of wine. When seating started, our dinner reservation was honored immediately, and we were given our choice of window seats overlooking the entire bay. Bella was delightfully friendly and helpful. Our servers, Jessica and Roberto, were there to answer our every question and fulfill every request. A fresh baguette and butter with flaky salt arrived quickly while we decided on our dinner choices. We both opted for the petrale sole with scalloped potatoes and roasted carrots. Beautifully presented and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. We're light eaters, so that was the extent of our order, but we were so enchanted that we returned again the next night for appetizers and salad, equally delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Breakfast was really tasty and reasonable for the views and ambiance

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The service was outstanding! We were very pleased with the presentation of the clam chowder, but thought the ahi tuna could of been better. Scenery is key for this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The a mbience is just gorgeous. Beautiful views and nice decor.
The service was very friendly and attentive, but the kitchen got the order wrong.
It had a great wine and champagne selection!
The Chowder was very nicely prepared with clams in the shell.
It would be great to have a Manhattan Clam Chowder which is less rich and more
unique. White chowder is overdone on menues and getting old.
It would be great to have a better choice of salads and vegetables and wild caught fish.

The fish I had was farmed salmon and it was cooked beautifully but I had asked for no sauce (beurre Blanc) or on the side and it was served on the fish and sides, all over the plate.

I travel alot and cant afford to eat high calorie sauces so often so restaurants that would offer more light items on their menus would be advantageous to customers.

My husband ordered the Baked Alaska which had a wonderful tableside presentation with Sambuca flambe but the actual taste of the Baked Alaska was disappointing. It was gooy and
had very little ice cream compared to the thick chocolate cake bottom which was dry and the
ice cream tasted freezer burnt. I was excited to see it on the menu but it was left uneaten.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We like to go to Schooners when we are in Monterey for the view and good food. We decided to get reservations this time so we wouldn't have to wait. In spite of that, we had to wait 25 minutes to be seated and it appeared that others without reservations got in ahead of us. The waiter was complacent with serving us and had us waiting even longer. The food was good and we had a window table with a view, which saved our experience from being too disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

From seating to dessert, we encountered a very attentive, professional, and smiling staff. A truly great experience. The food was exceptional and the dessert - oh my goodness party in my mouth great!

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were in Monterey for a conference and were looking for a quiet restaurant one evening to dine with friends. We happily discovered you! Each of us was more than pleased with our food and impeccable service, and the view added to the entire evening. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Schooners was recommended by locals because we were visiting from out of town. Super recommendation! The service was personal and professional, the setting (looking into the bay and watching the otters play) and the food was excellent. Loved the Angry Shrimp appetizer and the Sesame Crusted Ahi -- huge portion perfectlyh cooked. Truly a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The only thing to commend this restaurant is the view. The service was disinterested. The prices were quite high for the offerings. The food was poor to mediocre. The Chicken Marsala was possibly the wrong thing to order in a seafood restaurant, but that doesn't mean that it's OK to use some kind of oyster sauce instead of Marsala. The Fish and Chips were made with fish of dubious origins and the texture of the "cod" was indicative that the seafood had been frozen too long. Not an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food, great cocktails, great view. Fabulous wine list.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husband and I were in town from Az.
We enjoyed our dinner celebrating our Anniversary. We had an amazing ocean front view, incredible service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great new find! Good food -- fresh fish. One of best views in Monterey with Bay and architecture!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We received great service and had the 2nd best octopus dish I've ever had. All food was outstanding and great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Would go again. In the Cannery it is great to have free valet parking. I particularly liked looking at the historic buildings along the coast line.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The staff is absolutely the best. They have a strong work ethnic and truly appreciate all their customers. Best service I have seen in a while. The food was delicious. I had the lobster bisque to start that was done to perfection. They actually thinly sliced the lobster which I really enjoyed over massive chunks. It was also the best texture not too soupy and not to rich. My husband had the kelp salad which he devoured before I could even have a taste. I had the crab cakes which we not overly breaded and had fresh flavor. My husbands ahi tuna was amazing. Nice sized pieces surrounded by the best rice and sauce. Well done chef!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The good food was very well prepared. Our server Aaron was great and answered our questions. Our busser Jose was always there with water, bread and answers
Go there you will enjoy

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Alex our waiter was awesome very kind and attentive made sure we were happy and satisfied. Food was phenomenal (very tasty)

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there two mornings ago for Easter Brunch. Despite an obviously busy morning, we had several staff members checking on us frequently (but not tooo frequently). Special requests for our food preparation were understood and pleasantly accepted. We were seated by a window with a spectacular view. I had the crab cakes eggs Benedict and my husband had the traditional eggs Benedict. They were perfectly prepared. My husband also enjoyed a Bloody Mary. We had a delightful meal and every staff member acknowledged us with a smile. I was skeptical (at first) due to the hotel location (some hotel restaurants are just not all that) but I would absolutely eat here again.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Seemed understaffed for the holiday. Everything took a long time, and aside from asking if we wanted anything else, no one ever checked up on us for refills, how the food was, or tell offer additional drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The view and ambiance was outstanding. Sunset dining a must.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Second visit to Schooners as good as the first. Last time I had seared scallops. This time pasta with clams, shrimp and scallops. The food and service are great, and the views are fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

As a local, this has been my go-to special place for a lovely venue and good menu. We had 10am res for a Monday, had to wait 15 minutes still, then more waiting for lukewarm coffee and orders. Food finally came at 10:55. Hollandaise not great, not really Canadian bacon, whatever. I will say the staff was very nice. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My husband and I came here and had a good time. The views are nice and service was excellent. I didn't like the drink I ordered and the waiter immediately replaced it. We had the cold seafood appetizer, clam chowder, mac and cheese and crab cakes. All good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great food and service. Nice atmosphere and lovely view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Every plate was delicious, service was perfect, with one of the nicest views in Monterey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great location, great view. More of a family loud atmosphere . Not so much for a date

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Asked for a window seat but was placed in the middle , I was disappointed because it was a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Bristol)·Dined on April 2, 2017

beautiful view and decent food, but very loud and the general atmosphere did not correspond to the price range of the menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Enjoyed all the meals while staying at the Monterey Plaza. Great food and the views are spectacular.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 28, 2017

seafood watch partner using only sustainable seafood. Good value for your money with a killer view of the bay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.