Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

400 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Sorry for any inconvenience, but we do not accept any reservations during our weekend breakfast and lunch hours. Reservations for dinner begin at 5:00pm.

We are unable to take window requests online; however, we are delighted to take your request upon your arrival.

BREAKFAST:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:30am



LUNCH:
Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



DINNER:
Monday-Sunday : 5:30pm -10:00pm



BAR SERVICE:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-2628

Website:
http://www.schoonersmonterey.com/

Parking Details:
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers two hour complimentary Valet parking. Please let our host know 10 minutes before you leave and we will call valet, your car will be ready on the drive

Executive Chef:
James Waller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer exclusive buffets with breathtaking views of the Monterey Bay in celebration of Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving.

Private Dining

The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 16,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace can host groups of up to 600 people.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (60)
Scenic View (59)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Casual (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
People Watching (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (9)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent and the food was delicious!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We were on vacation for our anniversary trip and had used open table for the reservation. As most do, we asked for a table to see the ocean. We arrived early and the seated us at bar seating side by side, outside, even though there were open tables in a number of areas. There were no external heaters in our area. Before our food came, it had become so chilly a lady came out and offered people blankets. So when we received our food it cooled quickly leaving over half of the meal cold. Overall, a very disappointing experience for the expectation and price of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Had a lovely lunch, the fish sandwich and tacos were very nice

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Second time here. Food was fantastic. We had drinks and dinner outside. Fabulous atmosphere. Our server was very green. Not personable at all. The hostess and other server saved the night. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (沖縄)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great food and service as always. Try the desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, great service and excellent food. I highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. Service was prompt. Managers were making everything ran smoothly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Everything was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I reserved table by the large window for the view, my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary along with my sister in law and her husband. We really a have a great time since we were accommodated according to my request. the whole experience was absolutely wonderful, food was well above my expectation. Our waiter Roland was very kind and friendly, he went above and beyond to please us. I do highly recommend Schooners Coastal kitchen and Bar, and definitely will visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was good quality but a bit bland. Eating outside was worth the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Nice hotel restaurant with great view. server was very efficient. Took back soup that really tasted bad and gave us lower price on wine when they did not have what we ordered. Really need some moderately priced selections on wine list -sub $50 per bottle. Food was good, nothing great- Cippino was nice portion, but really little flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2017

schooners / even with the remodel and a new chef this location remains in the top 5 in an area of very competitive facilities --- with the surrounding plaza,fire pits,fountain etc. --- you'll think you are in Europe on the riviera.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We didn’t see anyone within the first 10 minutes of sitting down. Server came over, no introductions, didn’t ask what we wanted to drink just immediately took our order and didn’t come back until he dropped the check. I got the cinnamon French toast that tasted awful. My partner got the crab cake Benedict which he said wasn’t bad. They don’t seat outside until lunch/ dinner. Not worth the price for what you get. Much better options down Cannary Row.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything was exceptional, even the iced tea (which they adorn with sticks of sugar cane). Excellent seafood, excellent everything.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Schooners has become our go to spot to dine in Monterey. We were in town for the races at Laguna Seca and the calm and quiet environment at Schooners was a perfect set up for a loud and busy weekend. Love the petrale sole and cioppino. Excellent wine by the glass as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was incredible. Service was great. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Nice food great ambiance!!!! Overlooking the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Very good taste and scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food was amazing and the view was beautiful. We had the charred squid, clam chowder, lobster bisque, sword fish and Ahi. Dessert was well worth the pain of being full from over eating. Water was always full, and the service was prompt and polite.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome ocean view. Menu was simple - good selections. Stopped before the jazz festival. Food was very good. Place is a little dated - looked a little old school chic.

I would come back. Really a nice place

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Best clams ever! Nice attention, and recommendations.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We were celebrating my husbands birthday. We had a window table and Jessica provided just the right service. She knew we were not in a rush. She also provided binoculars so we could see e sea otters that we're playing in the bay. We arrived at 6:15 and by 7:30 the sun had set...September 10. The sky was beautiful pink during sunset. We both had the Ono..a local white fish like swordfish. It was moist, with veggies, shrimp and fettuccine. Excellent meal. Also had a side of the porcini mushrooms which added to the fish. Wine list is very nice and not overly priced, many local CA wine offering. They also had an extensive scotch list. Capped off with a complimentary dessert of chocolate and mint ice cream, all in all a very memorable dinner. We would go back when we return to Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Told the restaurant we were on honeymoon and so would love a sea view seat for dinner. Was instead sat in the bar with all the hotel residents where the football game was being shown. Hardly romantic. Opted to be seated outside opposite the ocean instead, families were still dining outside so provided a less than romantic ambience to the venue. Food was expensive and average in taste. Courses were served in very quick succession, in fact my husband hadn't finished his starter before his main was brought! Overall not impressed and overpriced for what it delivers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Overall the experience was ok. Our server was very friendly, its on the water and the dessert was yummy but that's it. The complimentary bread was never offered until asked about at the end. The salmon had absolutely no flavor and the atmosphere was filled with loud "celebrators". Considering the high price and bland entrees this is definitely not a restaurant we will go back to.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good food and great service. The outdoor seating seems to have been updated with new and modern design, but the inside was not. Still enjoyed the view and the food very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cumbria)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The outside area has spectacular views over the bay. Food is excellent with some great fish dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Overall this is an excellent choice in Monterey, directly over the water with a family of sea otters right outside the window in the kelp bed. We had swordfish and Opa; the former was excellent but the latter just a bit overcooked. Service was extremely pleasant and they even brought us some binoculars to look at the otters. Wine list reasonably deep and less than double retail. Water and bread service was attentive. We did not have dessert but coffee drinks were very good. Overall we would return. It was a good value for the amazing location even if the food wasn't perfect.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great views of the bay. Food was excellent ! I had the grilled salmon with roasted cauliflower and fingerling potatoes,,,my daughter had a rich delicious lobster bisque and seafood pasta.
It was my birthday and got a complimentary dessert . I would recommend to friends when in Monterey

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Hotel restaurant with typically mediocre service and value. Zero atmosphere despite the wonderful location. Food was fine, if not anything special, and yet priced at the upper end . Disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The scallops were good. The presentation of the food was excellent. Looked much better than it tasted. It was just average-tasting. The clam chowder was very runny. I've had better canned. I had a total of three clams in my bowl of chowder. I know that because I had to dog them out of the shell. The views were great. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Local standby for well prepared seafood and pasta. Artichoke chowder is one of the best I have had. Ordered the short rib pasta and pork scallopini. Pasta was very good - short rib, tender and red sauce well seasoned. Pork was a bit on the salty side and scalloped potato wedge was bland. Good wine by the glass selection. Server was not attentive -- appetizer plates and chowder bowl were not cleared before mains arrived. Awkward. No bread offered/delivered until well into meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great views from any table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Nice meal. Great service. Wonderful view. Friendly staff. Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We came to Monterey tip decompress on a mini vacation. Schooners brought our taste buds along for the ride. This was an exquisite delight.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was kind of a 'mixed bag' for us. Our waiter was a bit cold and aloof, and it seems he didn't really care about us after the initial order. Also, I had booked ahead and stated on the reservation it was my mom's 70th and wanted to make it very special. That NEVER happened. In fact, service was very sporadic or non-existent at times. They never brought a dessert out for her birthday or even acknowledged it. We dropped about $200 on a few appetizers , one plate and 1 drink each. I would say that the food was good but the service left a bad taste in our mouth. Sadly, we will not be back...

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Made reservations and we arrived a bit early but to our surprise we were promptly seated, best table in the house I believe. Great view and great service! Nice easy menu. My wife was a bit disappointed that they didn't have any vodka specialty cocktails on the menu but they were happy to substitute tequila for vodka. Will definitely be back. Our server was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful ! Couldn't have picked a better restaurant! Staff was very attentive! Yes...I would go back!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Our server was very knowledgeable about what the restaurant had to offer. Had great wine pairings for our dishes. The angry shrimp were a favorite and the shrimp, clam, scallop pasta was to die for. We added the king crab legs and were very content on the way home. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was fabulous! Staff was especially attentive. Unique, incredible Monterey Bay views, and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were there for breakfast. Absolutely the best coffee I had during my entire vacation along the coast for over a week. The Best. I compared all the other places to this coffee all week! LOL. Ok. Absolutely make reservations (we did!) because this is the hotel restaurant as well. Wall to wall winsdows so lovely view (when not in the morning fog!). My friend had the egg white omlett with spinich, mushrooms and and cheeses and a croissant. The croissant came a bit late and was not warm but she said it was very tasty anyway. I had eggs, bacon and toast with orange juice -- everything was just right. The service was a just a bit slow for refills on water and coffee. I would definitely go again next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.