Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Scape American Bistro

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Courtyard seating is on a first come, first serve basis

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Thu - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nestled in the historic and charming Central West End, Scape American Bistro offers four wonderfully unique spaces to meet your special event needs…from a small intimate affair or a spectacular 250+ person function.

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Birthday party for my girlfriend

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We really enjoyed dining at Scape. The food was delicious and the waiter was helpful and never let our glasses go empty. We'll dine here again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went there for dinner before I graduated law school. Great ambience: kind of modern with moderate noise level but the restaurant still feels special. Everyone loved their meal. Great variety on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food generally was very good. Bouillabaisse, steaks, mussels. The Macadamia Chicken was disappointingly pedestrian; no crunchy nutty coating, more breading instead. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day and it was unorganized and the food was cold and subpar. I expected a lot more very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Came in for Mother's Day brunch. The service was amazing and the brunch was really good, but a bit overpriced at $60. There really is something for everyone. A crepe/waffle station, carving station, as well as a raw bar and omelet station. They also have bottomless bloody Mary's and pitchers of mimosas. We enjoyed sitting outside on the patio. However the bathrooms were not clean, for as nice as the restaurant is, it was a little surprising.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great location, great service. When we arrived the Host put us in a very nice booth. Our SERVER seemed very knowledgeable about the wine and food. I ordered a Seafood pasta and my friend ordered the Salmon. The food was ok. My dish was basically spaghetti with seafood and my friend said that the Salmon was ok. Way over priced. We might come back for Brunch sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Scape is a beautiful restaurant inside and outside! We were celebrating my parents 40th wedding anniversary and had reservations for 8pm for a party of 14. The hostess who took our reservation was extremely accommodating when we made a time change, and they were very welcoming when we arrived. Unfortunately, we were not seated till 9pm. What was most disappointing was the terrible service and bad attitude we received from one of our waiters. We had two waiters and one was completely cordial and respectful. The other was rude, impatient, and completely out of line for a nice restaurant, and ruined what was supposed to be a wonderful celebration with family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The kitchen was backed up & it took 45 minutes to receive our food once we ordered. We had tickets to a show after, so this was a real inconvenience. They rushed our order once we told them about the timeline, but many others around us were in the same predicament. One table near us even left. A second table nearly left, but the manager promised to hurry their order as well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Kitchen can't handle to restaurant. 2 hours for food to come out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Early Mother's Day date with the Mrs. Inital impression was good, Scape has a nice contemporary look with a casual ambiance.
Service was VERY poor, so much so that another server came over to ask if we had been taken care of. Poor service continued throughout the meal. Salad then app then entree came out right after each other with no time in between. Steak was ordered medium rare-came out raw, etc. Just not representative of a $200 meal...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was good, but the menu was not as creative as I had expected. Contemporary American should not mean Italian with a few pseudo-Japanese appetizers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service was terrible, waited ten minutes and wasn't even served water so went to bar to get a drink. Richard the general manager tried to help at that point, but he didn't even know the specials for the day. Given price, would expect at the least that manger would have been more accommodating given slow/non-existent server who constantly blamed outside for tables lack of attention. The filet I had was cooked perfectly though and my wife's seafood platter was also very good. The mac n cheese is definitely not worth $10 as nothing special at all about it and was not served hot so cheese was a bit hard. Great location if staying at the Plaza. We kept hoping service would get better once manager came by table, but sadly it continued to be poor. The restaurant was not very busy on the inside, so would have thought could keep drinks coming at least. Sadly disappointed, should have listened to the concierge's concern when mentioned where we were going for dinner, he was spot on, main dishes good but service bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service and food was excellent. Our waiter Shannon was amazing and very attentive. Definitely going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our visit to Scape wasn't BAD...but it wasn't great either. For an approximately $75/plate meal (drinks not included) I expected so much more. Our server was less knowledgeable about common food allergies than I liked (makes the person with an allergy nervous) and we weren't sure if we were being upsold or if we were getting genuine recommendations on the menu items. (There's a way to genuinely suggest items even when they're more expensive) I just didn't feel like the value was quite there, and it's very unlikely we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic! The atmosphere, the service and the food were extraordinary. I alerted the staff to a food allergy as soon as we were seated, and they were extremely cautious and mindful of it. I would go back every time I go to St. Louis! Thank you for making our evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I paid $60 for brunch only to receive torn sloppily made crepes, the worst turkey bacon ever, horrible pastries. All while a toddler screamed to the top of her lungs across the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I happened upon this restaurant while visiting the area on a business trip. Being Easter Sunday, we wanted to have a nice celebratory brunch together. Luckily, this restaurant did not disappoint.

Being a holiday, the restaurant prepared an all you can eat buffet with homemade crape and omelettes, a carving station with ham, roast beef, and chicken breasts, a raw bar with shrimp, oysters, and crab claws, various side salads, and sweets for dessert.

The only negatives would be the layout of the buffet in relation to the dining area. It was somewhat awkward and forced every customer to pass in front of the hostess station to access the buffet area. This caused some congestion, but everyone was very polite. Additionally, it did get a bit noisy with children running around with excitement. I'm sure on a normal day this would not be an issue.

Overall, it was a great experience and the food was delicious. I would definitely return and recommend this restaurant to my friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I enjoyed Scape in the past for dinners. I will never eat there again with my family for brunch. Sangria drink was terrible, tasted like corked wine on ice. The price for this brunch needs to be reviewed especially when small children only end up eating a waffle costing us $25. The total for this brunch exceeded what my husband and I would spend on a dinner here. Our waiter was no where around for most of our time there and never bothered to check how old our 12 year old was and charged him as an adult and he charged us for our four year old as well. I am really going to miss coming there, this experience has sealed the decision not to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic food and atmosphere! The outside seating is awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our waitress, Karen , was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch and sat on the back patio....wonderful! Food was really good too

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service is super slow and guests' food came out at different times. Food was delicious once we got it, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food and service was awesome! I will definitely be back for Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Birthday brunch. We really enjoyed our food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Definitely one of the best places in St. Louis. Everything from the service to the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Scape was nice but way over priced. There are better options for the kind of money we spent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was good, and the grilled grouper special was really yummy! Everyone at my table had different dishes and good reports from all diners!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Scape. It was AMAZING. The food, atmosphere and service (Jason) were all excellent. My husband had the best ribeye he has ever had and my gnudi was to die for! We will certainly be going back when we are in St. Louis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was good and new menu items are great. Good server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Delicious meal prior to movie at Chase Park Plaza theater
Wonderful artistic and delicious food with great atmosphere!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Perfect brunch for me and my date. Great mimosas, free bizmarks with strawberry filling to start the meal. Fun music and friendly service. Phil was very pleasant and attentive. Duck Hash entree was out of this world. Valet is a little slow but gave me more time with my date. Definitely a place to impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of our meals was the wrong one and our waiter offered to take off the bill but it wasn't taken off. Other than that good good nice atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Sunday brunch was awesome! The Bloody Mary bar looked good although I didn't try it. The mimosas were excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very Good Food. Waiter was great, not sure if he was busy or a little forgetful, but it was just regarding drinks. Food came out, and he did notice something was missing from the lamb dish. A good notice on his part. Nice ambiance, nice location, would do again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent food, awesome service, worth checking out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We especially appreciated the ambience and ability to talk without having to shout . Parking was easy and convenient, and food and service were great.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First time here. Read several reviews that seemed mixed for various reasons. We were initially greeted by a somewhat ornery person, but she had brought someone else over to finish out check in process, and was perfectly fine from then on. Our waiter, Chris, was attentive and nice. Food was prepared well, of decent portion, and had wonderful flavor, but still felt it was a bit pricey. They are comparative to a steakhouse. Cocktails we ordered were a bit too sweet, so we ended up ordering wine. Dessert was delicious as well. Order the banana cream pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had wonderful cocktails and a terrific meal. Substantial without being heavy. A great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.