Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Scape American Bistro

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Courtyard seating is on a first come, first serve basis

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Thu - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nestled in the historic and charming Central West End, Scape American Bistro offers four wonderfully unique spaces to meet your special event needs…from a small intimate affair or a spectacular 250+ person function.

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Cozy (10)
People Watching (10)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The patio decor alone makes this restaurant amazing the food was an added bonus.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

We had eleven for dinner. Several had special requests. The service was great and the staff was very accommodating. We all enjoyed the dinner and especially the desserts. The courtyard space is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good and the service was attentive with the acception of a few timing issues: The drinks from the bar lagged behind a bit too long, and though the entrees were very good, the delivery could have been timed better so all entrees arrived at the table at once for a better presentation. Overall, very good and we would go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was not as good as it has been in the past. The seafood dish was on the salty side and the Caesar salad dressing did not have much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was good. Food was nicely done.
! although the salad was average. I rated value poor due to the over priced wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

No one came to greet our table for 15 minutes after being seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Upscale dining in luxuriously decorated space. Great drinks and food and service.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great place, really enjoyed everything. I'm very familiar with the CWE but Scape has escaped me until now. I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Live everything about Scape. Ambiance! Service! Luxurios patio experience! Menu! Quality! One of St. Louis' finest. Simply.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Cobi our server was amazing!!! Keep up the great work :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great experience! Food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Loved our dinner! Macadamia chicken is wonderful. Salmon was delicious salad great and nana cream pie soooooo divine. Only complaint was shrimp and grits were dry and not hot enough. Loved our waiter Kobie. Very attentive, knowledgeable and accommodating! We'll go back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service was awful...almost 4 hours for dinner. Our waitress didn't take our dinner order for at least 45 minutes after apps were done?! Then dropped the check before offering desert. Ran out of drinks and had to go to the bar. Patio is nice but the busted speaker above our table needs to be fixed. Food was avaerage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. We had a reservation and arrived on time. We ordered 2 scotches on the rocks and when the drinks were served ,even the waiter noted the glasses full of ice ,we removed most of the ice and the scotch was so light that we believed the bar tender watered it down before it was served to us. We complained that the scotch was almost tasteless and the amount was skimpy but neither the waiter or bar offered another option,such as replacing the drink or adding more or a different scotch. At $10.00 a drink this was not acceptable. We should not have paid for it but we did. THE MENUE LEAVES A LOT TO BE DESIRED AND AFTER THE DRINK EXPERIENCE WE DECIDED TO EAT AT BAR ITALIA WERE YOU GET A GOOD POUR AND THE FOOD IS ALWAYS GREAT AND THE PRICES REASONABLE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Top notch all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The lobster pappardelle was rather bland and without much lobster. Two of us had it, to compound matters.

Beautiful space, and the outdoor ambiance is excellent. If only the food matched it. Disappointing, I'm sorry to say. But pretty expensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We went for brunch, and the waitperson knew that it was my friend's birthday, but absolutely nothing was done about it, so why did Open Table even ask? No offer of a free drink or a free dessert or even a balloon! I don't see the reason for asking if it's a special occasion if nothing is going to be done about it.

The patio was nice and the food was good but not the best brunch I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Nice outdoor patio area in the Central West End area. The food was good but perhaps a bit over-priced.

We would definitely recommend the cookie and cream dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great relaxing evening, wonderful patio and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent service in a beautiful, quiet enclosed patio setting. Lots os great menu selections. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Our waiter offered the right balance of attention without being in the way. We will definitely return for another delicious meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food, wonderful dining room and--if conditions permit--even better patio. Perfect for a date or just a wonderful place to be. We enjoyed ourselves and will most assuredly be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 17, 2017

overall, the dinner was great an the taste of the foo was amazing. IT took a little longer than we through to get the food, but it was still within reason.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Birthday dinner and drinks in the outside patio couches couldnt have gone better

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great service. Great food. The patio is a gem! Try the grilled artichoke with brie! Fab!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service, amazing food and a beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Disappointing Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing experience! Made reservations again before leaving because we enjoyed it so much!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Delicious food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I was half hour late for my brunch reservation and the receptionist could not have been nicer. We were given our table outside on a simply beautiful day. The waiter was attentive and my food was outstanding , beautiful presentation. I'll be back for sure many times.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was less than stellar. Cold, lack luster. I think the chef was out too late the night before. If you have outdoor dining, providing shade is a must in St. Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always a great experience at Scape.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food, service and evening. Our server was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The most amazing patio, great wine and drink list. The food was spot on and the server was incredible.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went with a large group of friends for a Sunday brunch and we had the best time. The food was wonderful (we strongly recommend the California Benedict) and we felt like we were a real priority to our waiter. Usually in restaurants with large groups this is not the case, but in this situation it was! The hostess even was willing to take a picture of our whole group outside and was happy to do so. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone looking for a "foodie gem" in St. Louis! I will be coming back next time I am in town for work.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was our first time at Scape and we were not disappointed. The look was appealing as soon as we opened the door. Our waiter was attentive and the food was great. They even had an awesome patio but it was too hot to get much use the evening we were there. We'll definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Scape. The menu is very creative and has delicious options for every palate. The service was excellent. The only issue we ran into was parking, but the restaurant has valet available to address that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great discovery! The food was good, the atmosphere was exceptional (their patio is incredible), and overall it was a wonderful experience. The chef even delivered complimentary beignets. The only complaint was the biscuits were too salty but eh... I'll take it when you compare that's little detail to the rest of the other wonderful things about Scape.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fun, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food, however service was not as good as previous outings. We dined at the end of the night and it appeared the wait staff was tired and ready to go home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Unfortunately our experience was less than I had intended. Three of the four individuals ordered a lobster pasta entree and there wasn't any more. Since Scape had run out, they had to order their second choice and the meal was just okay. The waiter seemed stressed and cranky. The Birthday we were celebrating was never mentioned. The atmosphere was lovely on the patio which saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.