About Scape American Bistro

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy European flair, warm hospitality, impeccable service and sophisticated cuisine. Our private dining team will work with you one-on-one to personalize your exclusive event. Whether you prefer a formal plated dinner, cocktail reception or casual, laid-back BBQ in the Courtyard, you'll enjoy a great setting paired with our award winning menu.
FOUNTAIN ROOM

125 seated, 250 reception

WINE ROOM

40 seated, 60 reception
EUROPEAN COURTYARD

175 seated, 300 reception

CHEF'S TABLE

10 seated

Private Party Contact:
privatedining@scapestl.com: (314) 361-6944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere, engaging employees and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere, engaging employees and witty cocktails. Sampled the scallop dish, seafood Diablo and roasted cauliflower. The menu feels built to want to done weekly, not just special occasion. There are a lot of items I want to try. It was a little loud with a party or something next door but it's well worth the experience. A little pricey but honestly worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$6.00 for valet parking in Central West ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

$6.00 for valet parking in Central West End is a good move....parking next to Chase Park Plaza hotel is not easy. We were at Scape Am. Bistro for Valentine's Day on Feb. 15 at 5:30 pm. Quiet & not very busy. Nice music. Waiter was attentive with good suggestions. We shared the Rib Eye steak with 2 scallops added, as opposed to two separate meals. Worked perfectly for us. Steak was outstanding as were the large scallops. Side dishes included asparagus, and a fingerling potato, onions, artichoke hearts medley...different, interesting & tasty! We also tried a pistachio napoleon dessert. I like pistachios but this was different. It had a flaky thin crust on top & bottom with a pistachio cream in between. More than enough for two! I have never had anything like it and would not hesitate to order it again. Nice place and a little on the more expensive side but worth it, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is excellent, service was very good ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is excellent, service was very good. Given the pricing, would expect a more extensive wine list. Overall, very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent environment with superb food. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent environment with superb food. Phil our waiter was polite and was knowledgeable on all areas of the menu to include drinks. We were there on Valentine's Day and the food was superb even with the demand of a full house for hours on hours.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had our rehearsal dinner at Scape a f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had our rehearsal dinner at Scape a few years ago and absolutely love this restaurant. It holds sentimental value for us and so I wanted to re-visit for my wife's birthday. Walked into the bar, only two other people there and still took 20 minutes to get a drink. Got to the table, server was not knowledgeable, service was poor and food was below average. This restaurant has unfortunately gone way downhill and that is the last $350 we will ever spend there. Spend your money elsewhere for bette service, a more inspired menu and servers who value your business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Every thing was great, unfortunately we ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every thing was great, unfortunately we sat under a speaker in the ceiling that played dance music all night. The host turned it down for us but it was still a little annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, amazing food and s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, amazing food and seamless service. A must try in stl. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was excellent and service very go ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Brunch was excellent and service very good. Great spicy bloody mary.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scape remains a Sunday brunch favorite! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Scape remains a Sunday brunch favorite! Very nice and diverse brunch menu. Every item we have tried has been excellent and a good value. Very attentive wait staff. Will definately return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Scape was a 'go-to' restaurant because o ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Scape was a 'go-to' restaurant because of the mussels with blue cheese and jalepenos. Then they removed them from the menu and the replacement was not as good. So we hadn't been in a while. We were very happy to see them back on the menu! I had the seafood pasta which was fine. The pasta was a little overdone -I like it al dente. But the flavor was delicious. The warm skillet cookie was worth the calories! Overall, a very nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service. We were going ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food, great service. We were going to an event at 8, and our server Chelsea was outstanding. She brought everything in a timely manner and was very gracious. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried Risotto was so good. John is an ex ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fried Risotto was so good. John is an exceptional server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really busy for Wednesday night. Ahi Ti ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Really busy for Wednesday night. Ahi Tina plate was beautiful and tasted amazing. Descent list of French wines and prices are more than fair to their competition. Mike was a lot of fun and you would think he's an owner based on how knowledgeable he's is of the building. A must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve experience lovely. Wait s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve experience lovely. Wait staff superb. Food and presentation good. Overall enjoyed our evening .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service. I had the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and great service. I had the salmon, which did not disappoint. My date had the catch of the day, which was a Chilean Sea Bass. The Sea Bass was also top notch. All in all, Scape was a wonderful experience and I would recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for great food and not to worried about spending some money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been here several times - all good ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been here several times - all good experiences until this snafu. Granted it was New Year's Eve, but little excuse for burned side dishes, bread pudding that tasted like they erred by adding green curry to the sauce, and marginal service. Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner at ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner at Scape. Amazing tasting menu, took all of the decision making out of the equation. Each of the 5 courses was fantastic! Service was wonderful. Overall made for a great night out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was nice. As a vegetarian, no vegeta ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All was nice. As a vegetarian, no vegetarian entrée choices. New Year's Eve...soup and salad only...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great choice for dining. Our reception ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great choice for dining. Our reception was warm. Our server, Dawn, was really nice, both attentive and informative; readily describing each dish we asked about. Food was very good, My steak was not only a good cut, it was cooked just as I asked. My wife said her chicken breast entrée was as good as they come. Definitely will go again. Prices are moderately substantial, but the facility, food, and service make it worth the expense.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful place, professional service an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful place, professional service and great vibe. Oysters were delicious, sea bass was perfectly cooked and presentation was killer. Ask for Chelsea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner after a show. Food w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Anniversary dinner after a show. Food was excellent and service was impeccable. Wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ours was a pre-Christmas dinner (12/23) ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ours was a pre-Christmas dinner (12/23) with friends from Chicago, and Scape made it special for all 8 of us. Great food & immaculate service. Everyone could not stop talking about how good it was the next day. Walking distance from the Chase where we stayed was extra bonus.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a consistently good restaurant. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a consistently good restaurant. It is, however, not inexpensive; yet worth the price. Good size, can accommodate large parties. During Spring, Summer and Fall the outside dining area is spectacular with plenty of ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best cocktail list in town. Witty and d ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best cocktail list in town. Witty and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. We let them kn ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The service was terrible. We let them know we were in a hurry to get to an event and she proceeded to tell us they needed to take another tables wine order but would be back. It took forever and then our food came out 15 min before we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Overall, I was beyond impressed with thi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Overall, I was beyond impressed with this restaurant! Our server was incredible. He had a great attitude, great knowledge of the menu, and recommended the perfect glass of wine to accompany my dish. My boyfriend and I went for his birthday. We had the meat/cheese board and artichoke for our appetizers. The variety on the board was great, and everything was delicious, but I wish there would've been a little more cheese (I love cheese). The grilled artichoke had good flavor, but I almost wish the sauce was served on the side instead of smothered on top. Both of our entrees were amazing. I had the fish of the day (Chilean sea bass) and he had the ribeye. Like I said, great environment, great food, and good portions. They even gave us a complimentary desert for his birthday!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First date and Greg knew exactly how to ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First date and Greg knew exactly how to play it with us. He treated us like family, pointed out his favorite dishes and what wines would be great with them. Artichoke was awesome, pasta was hot and homemade. He brought us out a little dessert at the end to celebrate our great date. He sealed my opportunity for a second date. Good place to impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of my favorite restaurants in ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 15, 2016

By far one of my favorite restaurants in St. Louis. I highly recommend the filet, the salmon, sea scallops, the mac and cheese, brussel sprouts, whipped potatoes, and to finish, the banana cream pie!!!! Not to mention their bar program is phenomenal. My favorite is the large selection of wines to choose from. Their cocktail list is exceptional and Perfectly balanced. The service is fantastic. I recommend sitting at the bar if you enjoy a seamless and fun interaction. The bartenders really know how to engage and serve with the upmost knowledge. My server was John , and he was so great at explaining his knowledge of spirits and foods to compliment for my boyfriend and I to enjoy. Will definitely be going back soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was awesome, we had the best waite ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Place was awesome, we had the best waiter, his name was john unbelievable how good he was, so nice to find someone who loves what he does

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and very nice brunch. My ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service and very nice brunch. My wife loved the spinach and goat cheese omelet. The potato side was exceptional. The seasoning on them is great

I had the pork belly eggs Benedict and they were done perfectly and the hollandaise sauce was great. Were served with mentioned potatoes.

We had drinks immed and small cream puffs filled with pistachio cream as a free starter. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy going to Scape. The food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy going to Scape. The food is consistently good, the ambiance warm and the service friendly and competent. In the summer it's wonderful to sit on the big patio. There are big TVs outside to watch the game!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. Beautiful ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Beautiful holiday decor and food place to impress. You have to return the White cosmo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine were delicious. Very q ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food and wine were delicious. Very quiet, romantic atmosphere. And the service was excellent! Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful place for brunch. Ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is a wonderful place for brunch. Our server Cory was excellent, food service was fairly quick and the food was oh so delicious. Generous portions as well. Can't go wrong with this one.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The night was chilly and the diners were ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The night was chilly and the diners were sparse. Our server was a delightful young gal. We enjoyed her attention and joyfulness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, good food, but pricey. Only ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place, good food, but pricey. Only go about once a year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall we were very happy with our expe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall we were very happy with our experience. The food was excellent as was the service. Scape is one of our favorites and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great service! Excellent mus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food! Great service! Excellent music!

It is great for romantic dates, special ocasions and looking to get some good food for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, , Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had a 4:30pm reserevation on Thanksgi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we had a 4:30pm reserevation on Thanksgiving day, the raw bar was wonerdul then it was all down hill from that point. you ran out of turkey! on thanksgiving day!!! and the tenerloin was not and on the grill vs a roast. By the time we got to the desert bar most was also gone. we will not return and we will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing. Thanksgiving dinner but t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing. Thanksgiving dinner but they ran out of white meat-2 hours before we arrived. Out of other food too. Stuffing was soggy. Tenderloin over cooked. Ham cold-not lukewarm but cold. $45 a person for this! And nothing offered to make up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.