Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sax

SAX is here… DC's premiere special occasion venue. Celebrate your occasion in an opulent setting with live entertainment including dance revues and aerialists. SAX offers a full Contemporary French/American dinner menu & specialty cocktails with late night bottle service specials. SAX features nightly continuous performances throughout every evening.
SAX enforces a strict dress code. Please visit our website for further details and special themed evenings.

Whether its a celebration party or corporate event, SAX's full service event team handles every detail. Our opulent venue, exceptional cuisine and outstanding service ensures a memorable event. If you are interested in hosting a 350-person corporate event or a bachelorette party for 10 of your closest friends, our team will ensure your event is a success.

734 11th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday: 10pm-2am
Thursday: 6pm - 11:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 6pm - 3am

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-0101

Website:
http://www.saxwdc.com/

Entertainment:
A 20-foot enclosed infinity stage is visible from almost all of the two-story space and hosts a theatrical entertainment revue throughout the evening.

Parking Details:
Valet every night. $12 before 10pm $20 after 10pm

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Joseph Evans

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Specialize in bachelorette and birthday celebrations!
Buyouts and corporate events please contact mandy@saxwdc.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Planning a special celebration or event? We have a plan for you & now you have your own personal event planner. Whether it’s a bachelorette, bachelor, anniversary celebration for 10 of your closest friends or a corporate event for 350 of your best clients, your personal event planner will do it all

Sax Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Fun (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Dancing (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Live Music (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Definitely an experience! The ambiance is really opulent without looking cheap. There was not one person there that was not having fun.
Lots of people where having bachelorette parties there. Service is attentive and friendly. The food is good (not spectacular but very good). The stuffed lobster and the lamb chops are winners. The fondu is a pass. The beverages where good.
The entertainment is really good. We saw the ladies perform. They are talented and the aerialists were super strong.
Its a good quality place to go if you're looking for something outside of the norm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The manager and waitress were very abrupt and didn't care. Actually when I told them about a dairy allergy the manager got very rude and was not accommodating at all. The service was extremely sloppy. After spending over $300 the experience was horrible. Would not recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely great time at Sax. Will def return when I travel to DC again. We need a place like Sax in Texas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

MY wife's favorite place to go for special events. She loves it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was not Burlesque but rather some average dancing and perfomance arts. Rather than charge a minimum of $75 per person for food and a 20% gratuity is ridiculous! Charge for tickets instead than trying to strong arm people into paying for your dancers. The seat we were given housed a crappy television on the lower level and we had to break our necks to see the performances that we would be paying for. Saved our money and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a great time, lamb chops were amazing. Service was good and the ambiance... Even better!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his bday and he thoroughly enjoyed it! Food came quick, performers were great, elegant decor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I went with my friend for the first time and it was great. We went around opening which was good for us because it was quieter and we got to enjoy the scene at our pace.

We greatly enjoyed the dancers and the music that went with them. We were given great seats on the balcony so we could clearly see the routines and eat at the same time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I loved it! The food was awesome! Had a great seat upstairs. Only drawback was desserts had nuts in them so I couldn't partake :( Would def go again if in town and RSVP is a MUST!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were celebrating my girlfriends graduation. The servers were very attentive and the performances were high quality! It was a great experience.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This place was great I took my wife for her birthday and we had a great time. The service was amazing and the food was too. The performances were awesome!!! The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because I had no idea that they turned into a night club around 11pm. It was cool they did but it seems like that should have been noted on something, especially since they go into great detail of how much needs to be spent and what time you need to be there. Overall I would definitely recommend checking it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Place is awesome!!! Food was delicious. Drinks were good from bartender downstairs, however drinks upstairs once seated we're weak, and not so good. I won't hold that against the establishment because they made an effort to correct the problem.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Authentic and unique experience! Amazing food plus outstanding service. Cirque du Soleil and Vegas meet DC for romance in the city!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Live Music, Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was here with a small group for a birthday. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food. The rib eye was amazing. The entertainment was awesome, especially the acro performer-her performances were hands down the best of the night. The food was expensive but I suppose that's to be expected based on the venue. Overall, we had a blast and I would probably return for another special event.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The décor makes for nice ambiance. The entertainment was a bit cheeky but entertaining nonetheless. The food was really good!!! It was the biggest surprise of the night as it exceeded my expectation. The service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wife and I absolutely enjoyed SAX. Cant wait to go back!!

Tags: Dancing, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was very disappointing to us - - we had much different expectations of a "burlesque show" - we were very let down. We had an expectation that the burlesque would be continuous. Not criticizing.....just want to let people know that it is not a continuous dinner show. The entertainment was fabulous about every ten minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a great time at sax. The entertainment was amazing. The food isn't worth the price for the amount you get. My date had to return her food because the steak was too charred. I was still hungry after I was done with my meal and I wanted dessert but only 3 choice and nothing I wanted. Overall it was a nice experience and not sure if I'll go back any time soon.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service here are always quality; however, the same cannot be said for the performances, which is the reason most people to to SAX. The dancing has become incredibly cheesy and poorly choreographed. People go there for the sexy burlesque shows not tacky dress up, bad dancing and really bad wigs. SAX needs to go back to its roots and keep it strictly burlesque in order to keep people coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great time! Very unique mesmerizing experience. There is a two-hour table limit though which kind of sucks if you want to take your time. Super expensive too but it is expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

excellent , food service , nice chandalers and chairs

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I go to Sax all the time. The food and service is great. I had a limited view of the dancers on my last visit because of the location of our table. I didn't have the same experience as I typically do because of the bad seating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

atmosphere was very warm and inviting. Enjoyed the shows and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I spent my bday there with a group of friends- dinner and live show were both fabulous. The staff was very attentive, and the shows were very entertaining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This place has so much to see, the show is outstanding every 15 minutes there is a show very well put together

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is my 3rd visit and it is going downhill. Used to be burlesque, now it is more showgirls and bar scene. Service has become worse, lighting is brighter, music less creative, they are all about turning tables regardless of a couole dropping 500-600$ for food and drink. They let people constantly take flash picks which completely distracts from the ambiance that once was. Overall still a fun place but is going downhill.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Dancing, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I brought my girlfriend to Sax for dinner Saturday night. The table I got was perfect. The manager Nate came and checked on us and made sure we were okay. I forget the name of the lady that took care of us through out the night but she was very pleasant.
My girlfriend was very impressed by the food and everything else about the place.

Didn't get a chance to take enough pictures so we will def come back some time.

Thank you Nate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Dancing, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Tip is included in the final bill which is a drawback since the service was poor. The manager was rude when we voiced concern about the seating upstairs in the corner which meant that one is seated with your back facing the stage, causing one to turn to right if to view the performance -- not ideal and very little wiggle room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was absolutely amazing, what a wonderful change from the normal dining experiences!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Want festive adult entertainment in a controlled upscale environment? Cirque du sole meets burlesque. This is an ideal setting. Entertainers are talented, healthy looking, and well rehearsed. Drinks were poured well. The food was good and it was enhanced by attentive servers. Valet parking was icing on the cake.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Venue and show are great but food was very oily. None of us can finish the food because they were soaked in oil. I would still recommend if you have never been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great dinner with an awesome atmosphere! Highly recommend for a fun night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I kept the third star because the hostess was gracious in sitting us even when we arrived after the grace period. The first time I went to Sax was restaurant week manu manu years ago and the food was delicious! The service this time was terrible. We waited at least 15m to even been seen and have our drink order taken. It was actually quite embarrassing the table next to us finished their dinner, ordered and received more drinks, and dessert before we got water. When we were finally serviced they were out of the wine we asked for. Anyway. We both had the lobster pasta. Listen.. Just honestly don't even-- very and I mean very little flavor. I asked for cheese in a desperate attempt to dr up some type of flavor but apparently there's no cheese in the restaurant. But what they did have was a service charge on our dinner bill! Everything about the visit was underwhelming including the dance shows- the girls looked so tired and amateur. Wasted my time and money. I ended up having McDonald's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been to Sax a couple of times before and had a great time between the entertainment and the food. However, this time was incredibly disappointing and I won't be in a rush to ever return. On the positive side, the decor is lovely and the service was good. I won't put the show in either the positive or negative column- it's just incredibly average. The food was awful. We ordered from the regular menu - the crab Mac and cheese as a starter and then the ribeye (Medium rare) for him and the Wagyu steak frites (medium rare) for me. The mac and cheese was watery and the flavor was weak. We ate a few bites and then left it alone. When we received the meals his steak was clearly medium WELL. He didn't bother to send it back bc the quality of the steak was so bad (grainy, flavorless) that even a redo wouldn't have saved it. My wagyu steak was cooked correctly, but again, the quality was terrible (stringy, chewy) and I only ate a few bites. We took the leftovers to go and promptly threw it away at home.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere for a date and/or ladies night out.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Far exceeded our expectations. 10/10. Excellent entertainment with a great meal. My wife was very happy with the Valentine's Day dinner at the Sax. I expect it to be harder to get a reservation next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Highly recommended for various occasions including date night, group dinner, bachelor/bachelorette dinner and drinks, etc.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time at Sax as usual. However I was there to celebrate my birthday and I was pretty disappointed that the restaurant didn't do anything special. The hostess mentioned it but that was it. Bummer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentines Day!!!

Tags: Spicy, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was excellent. From the valet to the server, they made you feel welcomed. The entertainment was great. We came during restaurante week and expected a limited menu, but the choices excellent although smaller portions than we were use to. Over all, we will still go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.