About Sax

734 11th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

SAX is here… DC's premiere special occasion venue. Celebrate your occasion in an opulent setting with live entertainment including dance revues and aerialists. SAX offers a full Contemporary French/American dinner menu & specialty cocktails with late night bottle service specials. SAX features nightly continuous performances throughout every evening.
SAX enforces a strict dress code. Please visit our website for further details and special themed evenings.

Whether its a celebration party or corporate event, SAX's full service event team handles every detail. Our opulent venue, exceptional cuisine and outstanding service ensures a memorable event. If you are interested in hosting a 350-person corporate event or a bachelorette party for 10 of your closest friends, our team will ensure your event is a success.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday: 10pm-2am
Thursday: 6pm - 11:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 6pm - 3am

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-0101

Website:
http://www.saxwdc.com/

Entertainment:
A 20-foot enclosed infinity stage is visible from almost all of the two-story space and hosts a theatrical entertainment revue throughout the evening.

Parking Details:
Valet every night. $12 before 10pm $20 after 10pm

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Joseph Evans

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Specialize in bachelorette and birthday celebrations!
Buyouts and corporate events please contact mandy@saxwdc.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Planning a special celebration or event? We have a plan for you & now you have your own personal event planner. Whether it’s a bachelorette, bachelor, anniversary celebration for 10 of your closest friends or a corporate event for 350 of your best clients, your personal event planner will do it all

Sax Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (16)
Fun (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Dancing (8)
People Watching (7)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Live Music (5)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
943 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Venue and show are great but food was very oily. None of us can finish the food because they were soaked in oil. I would still recommend if you have never been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great dinner with an awesome atmosphere! Highly recommend for a fun night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I kept the third star because the hostess was gracious in sitting us even when we arrived after the grace period. The first time I went to Sax was restaurant week manu manu years ago and the food was delicious! The service this time was terrible. We waited at least 15m to even been seen and have our drink order taken. It was actually quite embarrassing the table next to us finished their dinner, ordered and received more drinks, and dessert before we got water. When we were finally serviced they were out of the wine we asked for. Anyway. We both had the lobster pasta. Listen.. Just honestly don't even-- very and I mean very little flavor. I asked for cheese in a desperate attempt to dr up some type of flavor but apparently there's no cheese in the restaurant. But what they did have was a service charge on our dinner bill! Everything about the visit was underwhelming including the dance shows- the girls looked so tired and amateur. Wasted my time and money. I ended up having McDonald's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been to Sax a couple of times before and had a great time between the entertainment and the food. However, this time was incredibly disappointing and I won't be in a rush to ever return. On the positive side, the decor is lovely and the service was good. I won't put the show in either the positive or negative column- it's just incredibly average. The food was awful. We ordered from the regular menu - the crab Mac and cheese as a starter and then the ribeye (Medium rare) for him and the Wagyu steak frites (medium rare) for me. The mac and cheese was watery and the flavor was weak. We ate a few bites and then left it alone. When we received the meals his steak was clearly medium WELL. He didn't bother to send it back bc the quality of the steak was so bad (grainy, flavorless) that even a redo wouldn't have saved it. My wagyu steak was cooked correctly, but again, the quality was terrible (stringy, chewy) and I only ate a few bites. We took the leftovers to go and promptly threw it away at home.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere for a date and/or ladies night out.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Far exceeded our expectations. 10/10. Excellent entertainment with a great meal. My wife was very happy with the Valentine's Day dinner at the Sax. I expect it to be harder to get a reservation next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Highly recommended for various occasions including date night, group dinner, bachelor/bachelorette dinner and drinks, etc.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time at Sax as usual. However I was there to celebrate my birthday and I was pretty disappointed that the restaurant didn't do anything special. The hostess mentioned it but that was it. Bummer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was excellent. From the valet to the server, they made you feel welcomed. The entertainment was great. We came during restaurante week and expected a limited menu, but the choices excellent although smaller portions than we were use to. Over all, we will still go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My friend and I were looking for a unique place to dine. This was definitely unique with entertainment that was intermittent throughout our stay. It was too bad we had a 2-hour limit, but it was worth the drive. The steak was tough. But the servers were polite and efficient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Dancing, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went to Sax for my husband birthday and it was so fun! The staff was so amazing and set up a dance for him. The food and service was the best and we will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our immediate impression upon entering the facility was that it was dark and very loud. We expected the shows to be loud, but the music playing between the shows was much too loud to have a conversation at the table. They put us upstairs at a table for two that was so dark they had to bring a lamp for us to read the menu. The table was set back from the balcony edge so we could not see the shows unless we got up from the table. The shows were decent and about what we expected. The food was very good, though they really rushed our 3 courses in only 35 minutes. We hadn't even finished our appetizers when they brought the main courses out. It wasn't even busy. The prices are way too high for what you get, 4 scallops for $33, and to top it all off, they charged us an additional $25 service fee. When I asked what it was for, I was told it was to pay for the entertainment. We thought we'd try something new, but this was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My girlfriend's and I had a blast!!! Food was delicious and the shows were AWESOME!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food and show was great as usual and they brought a small birthday cake. It was a great surprise that they had a restaurant week menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food has improved since the last time I was there and the entertainment was great. The performers moved effortlessly through the crowd and were flirty without being vulgar.

My only complaint was the camera operator recording for the restaurant. The restaurant image presented by the staff and entertainment suggested a very refined attitude and look. However, the camera man - in his large over-sized parka, rolled up pants, work boots, long unkempt facial hair, long wild hair he attempted to control in a man-bun - looked as if some homeless guy had wondered in from the kitchen. He was a distraction.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful experience, nice place for date night .

I would recommend ordering from the Sax 3 course meal, it's worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Loved Sax. The performances were all great, and we had a great time. Told them it was my mom's birthday and they brought free shots and a cake. Food was delicious as well. I had the pre fixed menu which was three courses and a glass of champagne/wine for $40. Good value, and good service. One of our party couldn't drink so they brought him a fake shooter, and gave us the extra shot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Be aware that this place is cabaret with performances; it is a strange decor and very "interesting" place

The service was outstanding and the food was good and you add the performances (some better than others) you have a very different night at a good value ... but be aware very different type of place than your normal restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food , drinks, service and entertainment was outstanding! I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Dancing, Modern Decor, Romantic, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The atmosphere was really nice. Sets a good mood for a fun night out. The show wasn't your typical burlesque show, a bit more tame, but still fun. The food was mediocre, not terrible, but not great. Very limited menu. Overall experience was pretty good.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was my first time at Sax, my sister was in town and I took her there to celebrate her birthday. The ambience was nice; the food was good, burlesque show was tastefully done. Everything was nice except for our server Ronnetta C. (I won’t post her last name on a public site), she looked like she would rather be anywhere else but there, the entire night she could not muster up a smile. Every time we needed something we had to find her. When we sat down I told her that we were celebrating my sister’s birthday but she ignored me. At the end of our dinner I mentioned my sister’s birthday again and still nothing, but she then proceeds to bring a cake to the table next to ours. I called her over and asked her what they were having as it was not on the menu and she says “that’s our special birthday cake”, so again I told her we were there to celebrate my sister’s birthday and we would like the cake as well and she had the audacity to hesitate. I actually thought she was going to ask for proof; of course my sister was prepared to show her license. This server soured what was otherwise a pleasant evening. When she brought our check I understood why she couldn’t be bothered to do more than the very bare minimum – Sax automatically adds 20% tip to all checks even a party of 2 so of course Ronnetta knew that she could go just through the motions and still earn her 20%. So for anyone reading this I do recommend Sax, but if your server is Ronnetta I recommend asking for a different table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great concept, but service was lacking. We did more waiting than anything else. We waited to be seated for almost an hour with a reservation. We were finally able to flag down a waitress 30 minutes after being seated to put an order in. We waited for the waitress to return and she never did. We waited for a new waitress to deliver the bill and waited another several minutes for it to be processed. We were there for a birthday and the waitress must have forgotten because nothing special was done to acknowledge the celebration. There was no dessert given at the end of our meal. The shows were more amateur than I expected and nothing like the pictures online, but sufficed in distracting from some of the wait. The manager did give us a free drink for waiting so that was a good gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Thought a bit pricey for what is offered in food and show. Food was OK. Wont say it was quality - but respectable for sure.

Service was very nice. Wonderful atmosphere for sure.

I would do this again for the right event. I think if a regular type show was put on it would be more attractive to me. My date loves the place. We celebrating 3 birthdays here in one evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant with well-prepared dinner selections. Had the stuffed lobster and grilled scallops, both were excellent. If hungry, you will need to order sides to accompany meals. Drink prices are rather expensive, but well-prepared. Overall, nice environment for a special occasion. Dress to impress!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our hostess was warm amd friendly

The food was delicious

The performances great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had an awesome time at Sax! I selected their Birthday Celebration package and it was well worth it! The drinks were amazing, and the shoes and ambiance were excellent. Only sad part is I forgot my birthday gift from Sax in the restaurant 😩. If you're a Sax rep please reach out to me, I really want my gift 😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

twice we asked for small plates (with appetizer and birthday cake). we never received them. Additionally, the leg of one of our guests' dining chair broke!

ALso, i would comment that despite understanding our dining experience was for two hours, from the start, we felt rushed to select food. When the subject of appetizers arose, the waitress recommended the truffle fries because it would be quick!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A classy place with dinner shows and good food and drink. We got there Friday at 8:30 and stayed until 10:30 so we didn't get to see the transformation from restaurant into club. Expensive but great ambiance and decor. Super hot hostess Star had our jaws hitting the floor. Waitresses were also cute. Will definitely return with my wife for our anniversary. Highly recommended.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wife birthday had a blast!! Must try this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is never good. You pay for the experience and ambience, which is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The prices were incredibly inflated for what you received. However, that is expected given it's a place you go more for the entertainment. I wasn't impressed by drink/wine list. The food was mediocre. Our waitress was a little clumsy, not very professional. She was very nice, but in an atmosphere as such you'd think the staff would be more professional. The performances were a few short minutes each, but very entertaining. Between each performance is about a 10-15 minute intermission, again, understandably so. We went for a birthday celebration for a friend who was visiting town and we wanted to give him a unique experience. Otherwise, I don't think I'd go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I was very disappointed in the service; we seemed not to have a dedicated server as different people, including those delivering the food, were forced to take orders for us. Very disappointed in the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I really enjoyed my visit to SAX. It's a very unique restaurant with great entertainment and food. Very classy restaurant and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Dancing, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went to Sax on a date with my boyfriend for my birthday on 10/29/16 and I must say this place is amazing. The scenery is beautiful the staff was very friendly the performances were wonderful.Overall service was excellent..Perfect date night.I give this place 5 stars.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Second time there for my boyfriend's birthday. I was shocked how empty it was on a Saturday evening. Dinner was at 8 and We left at 10 and it was still not full. Guessing the nightlife may be where it picks up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I just wished they had had a cake for my mom or something. I had told them it was her birthday when I made the reservation, but it seems they forgot :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This place has amazing service food and ambiance totally sexy and beautiful. The food and drinks are best ever. Recommend lambchops and giggle water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

SAX was a great experience but the steak was really grizzly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Sax. I really wanted to like this place because I used to dance in college and loved the idea of watching a dynamic burlesque/musical revue while we ate dinner. The food was good but the service was lackluster. Also, the performances were fantastic, but the layout of the restaurant means that if you're seated around the first floor perimeter your view will be blocked by drunk girls on a bachelorette party standing around the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The evening was fantastic! I was hosting a bachelorette party that rapidly dwindled in number during the planning process, but the staff at Sax were really helpful and flexible with changes to the reservation. We ended up having just as much fun as we would have in a large group! The food was delicious and the shows were even better than the ones I've seen in the past, so Sax is getting even cooler over time! We had a wonderful night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I am a vegetarian and there were only 2 options. Unfortunately $24 for a plate that only has pasta is ridiculous, you can pay that for a steak with no side but its a steak.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was very good. It was a unique experience . Something special. The restaurant was beautiful. Limited menu, but every dish we got, from starters to desert, was very good. Very pricey.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Made a reservation for 9:30pm and we were not seated till 10:18pm. What good was the reservation for. We could not order a cocktail at the bar because we were told they stopped serving cocktails after 10:00pm. We could not order a desert after our meal because we were told the kitchen was closed which was not our fault for them to delay us in seating us. We were told literally to get up from our table because they have stopped serving food and now the place was turning into a nite club. As a result whiles seating down, the staff vleaned up our table and placed new bunch of drinking glasses all over on the table. After they asked us if we wanted to buy a table and bottle of drink tonite , if we wanted to continue to sit there. Why make a reservation if they will not go by the reservation. Why ask us to leave the table, when we asked why have we not been seated we were told some guest were still using the table we are to be seated, so we should wait. I will only go back if they inform us to what they have done different to improve their reservation system and service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place for an intimate birthday date for a couple or double date. The ambiance really sets the mood and the service is really exceptional, better than I have experienced in the DMV area. The entire staff were attentive, polite and very professional. I highly recommend this location to experience while in the DC area. It is different from the norm and kind of reminds me of a Las Vegas style performances.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was my first time experiencing this establishment, & I can say it was wonderful. The staff is very polite , & professional . They made my experience wonderful, they were accommodating & understanding to my needs . I will definitely be making this a place one of my spots ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The shows were every 20 minutes and lasted between 2 and 3 minutes. The meal portions were small and $$$$, the drinks were watered down and $$$$. I will not be returning to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great atmosphere and wonderful shows. Restaurant staff is too attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Dancing, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Moulin Rouge in DC...best way to describe Sax. Enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food not so great and server was absent quite a bit; I guess because there was no need to take care of us as they automatically get a tip through their "service charge".

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.