Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sax

SAX is here… DC's premiere special occasion venue. Celebrate your occasion in an opulent setting with live entertainment including dance revues and aerialists. SAX offers a full Contemporary French/American dinner menu & specialty cocktails with late night bottle service specials. SAX features nightly continuous performances throughout every evening.
SAX enforces a strict dress code. Please visit our website for further details and special themed evenings.

Whether its a celebration party or corporate event, SAX's full service event team handles every detail. Our opulent venue, exceptional cuisine and outstanding service ensures a memorable event. If you are interested in hosting a 350-person corporate event or a bachelorette party for 10 of your closest friends, our team will ensure your event is a success.

734 11th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday: 10pm-2am
Thursday: 6pm - 11:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 6pm - 3am

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-0101

Website:
http://www.saxwdc.com/

Entertainment:
A 20-foot enclosed infinity stage is visible from almost all of the two-story space and hosts a theatrical entertainment revue throughout the evening.

Parking Details:
Valet every night. $12 before 10pm $20 after 10pm

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Joseph Evans

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Specialize in bachelorette and birthday celebrations!
Buyouts and corporate events please contact mandy@saxwdc.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Planning a special celebration or event? We have a plan for you & now you have your own personal event planner. Whether it’s a bachelorette, bachelor, anniversary celebration for 10 of your closest friends or a corporate event for 350 of your best clients, your personal event planner will do it all

Sax Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Fun (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Spicy (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
1002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my second time at Sax. Last time I went on a Saturday which had a better show. All in all it was excellent. They really treat customers well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Sax is unique dining concept with theatrical aerialists and dance acts during dinner . Service and food was top notch and provided for a fun memorable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Took my wife for our anniversary and the place did not disappoint. Performances, food, staff, and atmosphere were all amazing. Would definitely recommend and will be coming back again!

Oh would recommend requesting a seat near the glass barrier upstairs to be able to view performances conducted both above and below.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The wait staff was great. The food was OK. The hostesses were the worst part of the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My mother, husband and I were denied the ability to use perfectly valid gift cards totaling $120. The General Manager (GM), Nate Montgomery, rudely refused to accept the gift cards and ignored any obligation to honor the gift cards under federal law. He claimed SAX was not required to honor the gift cards because the business changed hands since the gift cards were acquired. The GM brushed aside legal arguments regarding the acquiring company assuming liabilities as well as assets.

Food and drinks are mediocre for the price. The Truffle fries for $12 were lacking in truffle flavoring and portion was barely big enough for two.

Martini drinks were nice, but overpriced at $16 each considering specialty speakeasies in the area charge $14 and most.

Waitress was lovely and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Amazing experience with phenomenal food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Enjoyed our restaurant week menu with burlesque performances every 20 mins!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I brought my husband and his family their for a bday dinner. Best time in a very long time at your restaurant. The food was impeccable, the many, many, many drinks perfect, the staff super helpful and the entertainment was a class act.So impressed. We will be back....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Awesome,loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everything about it was pretty great. The only thing I didn't really like about it was the food menu is kinda small and for the price you pay you don't get a big portion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Awesome experience! Good food, great entertainment! Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wife and I went for our anniversary. The shows were entertaining, the service was great, the food was amazing. The only minir complaints the dessert was not equal to the experience. Go for everything but the dessert. Would highly recommend. Our server, Maite, was great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

For my birthday celebration: A gorgeous venue with excellent entertainment, nightlife, and dinner! We all had the lobster, roasted Brussels Sprouts, and shrimp. Will definitely return (again). Its the perfect venue for upscale birthday parties and bachelorette parties. Great looking crowd also!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food and ambience. Altogether, it was really fun with all the performances. I understand that there's a 2 hour window for any reservations, but the service was very rushed to the point where the servers were setting up for the next party while we were still clearing the bill. It didn't seem necessary given that a lot of tables around us were pretty empty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great location, food and entertainment. I recommend for gatherings or a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I loved the intimate setting/decor. option for a prix fixe menu, timing of the food was perfect. Show was tasteful. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I went on a Saturday, the entertainment and ambience was beautiful however the food was just ok. Will I be back? Probably but more so for the entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I have a few suggestions for Sax...

I would ask for just a tad bit more lighting. It was very dark in the restaurant and it didn't really bother us, until it was time to look over the menu. We literally could not see the menu print. We both had our phone flashlights on to read them.

I would also say that they need more variety of side dishes.

We got the stuffed lobster, which was out of this world delicious and the chilean sea bass, which could've used a bit more seasoning.

The shows were awesome! And our server, Maria O. was great!

The chocolate mousse was phenomenal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The venue is amazing. It is a bit empty if you come earlier, but starts to get packed as it gets later. The performances are amazing, but which they played more music in-between each set. The food was really good and if it is your birthday they treat you very special and have surprises for you. It is definitely a must see. I will go back and would recommend it to a friend

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service has changed. Last year I went on the very same day and ordered the same dish. The service and food were impecable last year. This year-not so much so. Our waitress, Maria was extremely inattentive and never inquired whether or not we were satisfied. The Chilean sea bass was bland this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Was a great night out. On the pricey side but was worth it for the overall experience.
Few things to note. Crab salad was good but found like 3-4 solid pieces of shell, not the best taste.

Other issue was when the dancers on the stage did anything low, you couldn't see it unless you're on the balcony. For $250 a meal and to only be able to see 1/2 the show was a little sad.

Some of the entertainers were better than others but overall was a great time, romantic and fun. Food was great aside from the shell.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Amazing place, made my girls bday special! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Seasonal, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Worth the Drive, Organic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was my second visit and I took my date to this place solely because of the amazing 1st time experience I had. I was let down because my date had such high expectations because of my previous rave about my experience... poor 1st impression to say the least with the service.
1. Table wasn't ready in time of reservation (waited 15 minutes)
2. Had dirty glass once I sat at table.
3. Waitress took nearly 30 minutes to bring drinks.
4. Appetizers didn't arrive complete. Partial portions of the appetizers arrived.
5. Slow service... had to constantly inquire about service.
6. List goes on...

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Went to celebrate a friend's birthday! Excellent ambience, good food and the performances were fascinating. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Definitely an experience! The ambiance is really opulent without looking cheap. There was not one person there that was not having fun.
Lots of people where having bachelorette parties there. Service is attentive and friendly. The food is good (not spectacular but very good). The stuffed lobster and the lamb chops are winners. The fondu is a pass. The beverages where good.
The entertainment is really good. We saw the ladies perform. They are talented and the aerialists were super strong.
Its a good quality place to go if you're looking for something outside of the norm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The manager and waitress were very abrupt and didn't care. Actually when I told them about a dairy allergy the manager got very rude and was not accommodating at all. The service was extremely sloppy. After spending over $300 the experience was horrible. Would not recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely great time at Sax. Will def return when I travel to DC again. We need a place like Sax in Texas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

MY wife's favorite place to go for special events. She loves it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was not Burlesque but rather some average dancing and perfomance arts. Rather than charge a minimum of $75 per person for food and a 20% gratuity is ridiculous! Charge for tickets instead than trying to strong arm people into paying for your dancers. The seat we were given housed a crappy television on the lower level and we had to break our necks to see the performances that we would be paying for. Saved our money and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great time, lamb chops were amazing. Service was good and the ambiance... Even better!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his bday and he thoroughly enjoyed it! Food came quick, performers were great, elegant decor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I went with my friend for the first time and it was great. We went around opening which was good for us because it was quieter and we got to enjoy the scene at our pace.

We greatly enjoyed the dancers and the music that went with them. We were given great seats on the balcony so we could clearly see the routines and eat at the same time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I loved it! The food was awesome! Had a great seat upstairs. Only drawback was desserts had nuts in them so I couldn't partake :( Would def go again if in town and RSVP is a MUST!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were celebrating my girlfriends graduation. The servers were very attentive and the performances were high quality! It was a great experience.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This place was great I took my wife for her birthday and we had a great time. The service was amazing and the food was too. The performances were awesome!!! The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because I had no idea that they turned into a night club around 11pm. It was cool they did but it seems like that should have been noted on something, especially since they go into great detail of how much needs to be spent and what time you need to be there. Overall I would definitely recommend checking it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Place is awesome!!! Food was delicious. Drinks were good from bartender downstairs, however drinks upstairs once seated we're weak, and not so good. I won't hold that against the establishment because they made an effort to correct the problem.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Authentic and unique experience! Amazing food plus outstanding service. Cirque du Soleil and Vegas meet DC for romance in the city!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I was here with a small group for a birthday. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food. The rib eye was amazing. The entertainment was awesome, especially the acro performer-her performances were hands down the best of the night. The food was expensive but I suppose that's to be expected based on the venue. Overall, we had a blast and I would probably return for another special event.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The décor makes for nice ambiance. The entertainment was a bit cheeky but entertaining nonetheless. The food was really good!!! It was the biggest surprise of the night as it exceeded my expectation. The service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.