Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.13mi
  4. Distance: 2.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.13mi
  4. Distance: 2.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.13mi
  4. Distance: 2.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.13mi
  4. Distance: 2.38mi

About Savoie Italian Eatery

Welcome to the first and only Italian eatery in Chula Vista.

2015 Birch Rd. Suite 720
Chula Vista, CA 91915
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
EASTLAKE PARKWAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 591-6757

Website:
http://www.savoieeatery.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday Saturday

Parking Details:
Large Public Lot

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Macias

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room seats up to Thirty Guest.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Savoie Italian Eatery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (6)
Fireplace (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Live Music (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had the most fantastic meal this past Wednesday to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had the added bonus of getting a bottle of wine half off due to their Wednesday specials on certain wines.
We had the linguine with Chipotle and shrimps. And also a fantastic beautiful Caesar salad. And also a very creative eggplant stuffed with 4 different cheeses. The bread was exceptional like it was homemade fresh French baguette. I am completely blown away by this place every time I go. It is our favorite place to go to eat for special occasions and anytime. It is a truly neighborhood gym and our waiter was over the moon wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We came here for Mother's Day to celebrate and were told that we had to order from a special menu. Then we were told that they were out of multiple things and that limited our choice to mostly seafood. When I asked the server about why we were restricted but they were out of the things I wanted, he said he could not help us. We immediately left and ate elsewhere. I will not be coming back here unless they change how they treat their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day (early dinner, 3pm). They had a special menu so we were limited in options and quite overpriced; but since it was a special occasion we decided to try it anyways. Our waiter was the best, and the service from all staff was amazing, no complains there!
Our disappointment was in the limited options from the menu and price, and the fact that when it came time for dessert, out of the three options (chocolate cake, tiramisu, and apple tart) we were down to two at the beginning of our dinner, and down to one when we got to the dessert part. The worse part was that instead of letting us know that they had ran out of tiramisu, the chef "improvised" and created his own version, basically tiramisu flavored whipped cream!
Overall, food was great (except from dessert-even those who actually got dessert and got the apple tart, it was burned and nothing fancy about it), and service was fantastic! Hope they learned and they improve for next year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great ambiance! The food was exquisite and our server Rudy was the most kind and attentive! Definitely coming back

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The experience was a great one. The staff, especially Rudy and Danny, were very knowledgeable about the menu and they were very friendly. We are non- alcoholic drinkers, but they apparently have a nice wine room, and people seemed to be enjoying themselves there, as well as the outside fire pit area. My wife had the short rib lasagna, which had shredded rib meat, and was very good. I had the Tequila Lime Chicken, and it was wonderful, it was chunked and mixed in with a nice jalapeño spiced sauce. A very different presentation, but it worked very well. The ambience and decor was very nice, too. Very worth the time, and the prices were good. I will recommend, and also go back. Great job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great ambiance but music was a bit loud alithough pur newborn was not too bothered by it. Modern decor great for dates or special occasions, usual wait time for food but seated promptly with reservation. Table seatings are unique and cozy. Cool outside seating area with fire pits and heat lamps good for outside dining. Overall satisfied with experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had a terrific business dinner in a quiet corner of what is becoming one of our favorite places to dine. Its decor is fun and eclectic as is its menu. I had the baked sole and it was quite good - but a little bland. The roasted carrots were delicious. My husband had the sea bass and it was excellent. One business partner had the lamb ragu (good - but too sweet) and the other had the mushroom risotto (delicious). We were all pleased with our individual choices - but agreed the sea bass and the risotto were the hits of the meal. The tiramisu for dessert was delicious. Service was a little slow but as we were discussing business it was alright. Our waitress was cheerful and helpful with ordering.

Go! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always and excellent food, service and place.
We order sliders, beef and salmon carpaccio, tuna and tomahawk!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place to get together with friends for a get together.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent. Ambience was great. Staff was friendly, kind and gave us great recommendations. I definetry recommend this place. I'm happy we finally have a different Eatery in the south bay.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Fireplace, Romantic, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

EXCELENT SERVICE AND FOOD!! NICE PLACE, GOOD LOCATION FOR CHULA VISTA AREA.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Rana was the best! she was friendly and made it feel like it was our special night to be there. We will be back again just because of her !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We absolutely love Savoie! The food and drinks are outstanding! The service is impressive; we had the pleasure of speaking with the owner, Mario, a couple of times. He was so friendly and shared with us his story that eventually led to the opening of Savoie! We also tried the Louis XIII Remy Martin and it was amazing! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I absolutely love this place. My husband & I stumbled on to Savoie's before a movie and tend to come here for appetizers and drinks for happy hour.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A repeat visit to this charming place. We generally love the ambience - the animals decorating the restrooms are sort of unnerving. The service (Dean this time) was smart and attentive - he gave us superb, data-based recommendations. Taking his recommendations was rewarded with a superb meal. Our mojito and Soho cocktails were excellent. A tasty blue cheese Cobb salad. The tequila lime chicken was a bit spicy, but the Sole Palermo was outstanding. We left as the live music was getting started - but it was Mello and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love savoie, perfect for any occasion. The ambience is very live and warming. Food is delicious, drinks were perfect. Are server was very outgoing and very helpful. Savoie is must for anyone wanting to just dine, any special occasion, or just to get together with friends. Highly recommended to try for yourself. Won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We ate here for Valentines Day. It cost $65 per person for a 4 course meal (appetizer, salad, entree and desert). We both selected the filet mignon. For the kids, the VD menu was a bit limited to spaghetti with or without meat balls. My son didn't like the spaghetti sauce so he ate bread. The filet mignon was excellent. This 2as our first time here for a special occasion. We usually come here for an everyday weekend meal, just to get out. Over all, it was a good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I was very unhappy with my experience at Savoie. To start , it took a while before our server came to greet us at our table. We then ordered a bottle of Proseco, that took a while to arrive. The bottle was not chilled. We sent it back. We then ordered Chardonnay, that too was room temperature ; not good. We ordered the octopus appetizer ; it was very chewy, under cooked. For my entree I ordered the scallops ; the dish was extremely salty that I had to send it back. I took my husband there ; whose Italian and owns prominent restaurants in the Hollywood area , to celebrate Valentine's Day and we were both very disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really enjoyed Savoie, especially the service (thanks Daniel) and the atmosphere. I had the Scallop dish which was a delicious but maybe slightly on the smaller side. My wife had the pasta with meatballs which was ok but way over sauced. Overall we enjoyed the night and will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This place is definitely a great spot to take your loved one. I took my wife for her birthday. The menu is dynamic and very fulfilling. The appetizers were plentiful, the main courses were very tasty, and out dessert was excellent. Definitely a "special occasion" venue. It has outdoor seating, and an outdoor lounge area. Definitely will take my wife back. It is a great place without having to make the drive all the way downtown. It didn't feel crowded at all, maybe because it was a Wednesday. The music...just right. Not too slow, not too fast, not too loud, and helped set the mood to relax but not fall asleep. I really like the ambiance, and the food was great. I've eaten at top restaurants in northern and southern Italy, and this place rivals them. Excellent work.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My favorite place, with the most amazing & kind service, this family loves the Savoie family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The staff are fantastic! The food, is not that remarkable, sorry. I gave it 3 stars because the music was too loud and the washroom - according to my daughter, the washroom is creepy and an OCD nightmare! This restaurant is probably not for us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Beautiful restaurant but not a good service. The servers are not coordinated. They leave you waiting for service too long, they do not service the tables well. The food is ok but not what you expect from a nice restaurant like this is. They should do better.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fuimos un grupo de amigos y recibimos una excelente atención, la comida muy buena, música a buen nivel

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Best place to dine in South Bay. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Savoie for my husbands birthday. Our server, David, was absolutely amazing! The food and service was outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We went for the live music and it was cool. The band did a couple of sets throughout dinner. There is a modern decor to this funky restaurant, which I love. We ordered calamari as an appetizer which I would say pass on. The cheese board was cool. The meat lasagna is good and should be tried as well as the lobster ravioli. The tiramisu is pretty good as well and worth taking home if you can't get through it at dinner. The waiters and managers were johnny on the spot when it came to checking on us and clearing our table. Cool spot overall.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place to take a date. Food tast great. Great food menu variety to choose from. Great upscale ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great for big groups and seating was not an issue.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place. Fillet was amazing & pesto pasta with shrimp lobster and scallops was very good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was delicious.. The only complaint I would have was service was a bit slow.. The server was great, but from kitchen to table it was a bit of a wait.. and it did not appear overly busy, so not sure why slow..but would definitely recommend & would dine there again..

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Dean was our server and right away he made our celebrant, my mom feel special for her birthday. The drinks and food were delicious. Dean stole the show with his knowledge of the menu and how we could modify it to meet our needs and his fun personality. Even our togo box had a fun message.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've dined at Savoie a number of times. This time was a real disappointment. The kitchen was extremely slow. Dishes we've enjoyed before were not up to what we remember. Soup was tepid, pastas simply not very good. Service was sketchy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I've dined here many times, never a bad experience!! I had not dined here for some time (???), so was pleasantly surprised at another expansion to the menu. Manager Mario is almost always on site and is charming to engage. My only minor complaint is I still wish they would do a better job on their bread service. Savoie is a part of the Karina chain, I implore them to consider getting together with Bread & Cie and get their bread(s) from them.

Keep up the good work, Mario!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I took my friend out for what i thought would be a special dinner. I have eaten there at lunchtime before so couldn't wait to take her there. The waitress was not with the program. She was a beautiful girl dressed in high shoes and i think she landed at the wrong place. She didn't bring our menus for ten minutes. Came for our order after ten minutes. We asked for a salad and ordered our dinner. She didn't know what the side veggies were. She said carrots but they were a mix of beans, carrots, etc. She brought our dinner and didn't even bring our salad with the meal let alone before the entree arrived! So we said forget it. My friends salmon's sauce was tasteless. My pasta was ok. We asked for a dessert menu to try and at least enjoy something sweet together. She never came back and asked us what we wanted to order. I had to get up from my seat and go looking for her for our bill. No where to be found. Another waitor found her for us. I wish i knew her name cause she should be a doing another job as she is hurting your retaurant. I was soooo disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Nice and quiet atmosphere. Our server was great and the food was excellent. We will definitely dine here more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Service is great and so is the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Savioe had a great atmosphere. It wasn't very crowded and we appreciated the entertainment. Our server was very helpful and honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.