Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

SaltAir is a fresh approach to seafood, bringing in the freshest products available from around the globe.

3029 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Global, International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
MON- Closed
TUE- 11:00am - 10:00pm
WED- 11:00 am - 10:00pm
THUR- 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
FRI - 11:00am - 11:00 pm
SAT - 10:30am - 11:00pm
SUN - 10:30am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
West Alabama

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 521-3333

Website:
http://saltairhouston.com/

Parking Details:
Additional self-parking available

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Private Party Facilities:
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen introduces a new, original to Houston and surprises guests with Vietnamese, Thai, Moroccan, South American and Middle Eastern influences. Crudos, Carpaccio, shellfish presentations adorn a menu to be admired for its light, fresh and clean nature.

Private Party Contact:
SaltAir Group Dining: (877) 381-3675

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Sat 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Modern Decor (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Healthy (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Romantic (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Music (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our son's graduation at Salt Air since it is his favorite restaurant. The table was fairly private as requested, but they jammed 10 people around a table that would normally seat 8-9 which appeared unnecessary as the restaurant was not full. The waitress had 2 other large tables at the same time and was challenged to keep up with our orders. Very disappointing since we have had so many other great meals at the restaurant. They were also out of the special entre for the night. The small plates and appetizers are still the best part of the menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The avocado appetizer is one of the best we have had. The mozzarella cheese appetizer was different but good. My wife's lobster tail was excellent. I had the grilled brazini which was outstanding. Our waitress was very good but some of her support staff was spotty. It was the only thing that kept it from being five stars!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I have been here several times before and we have always -- including this most recent visit -- found the food to be outstanding. Unfortunately, last Friday, one couple decided to bring their young children and let them literally screech and scream while running around their table without any effort by the parents to restrain them. Thankfully the restaurant did as well as they could with this situation. Our waitress was gracious and sympathetic in promptly handling our request to be re-located, and the manager stepped in to comp all of us (there were four of us in our group) our deserts.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our second visit to SaltAir and we were not disappointed. The major stand out was the service--our server was friendly, positive, attentive, and knowledgeable and the whole service staff worked together to coordinate a really excellent meal. The campechana and fresh chips were outstanding, and the sauce on the polpo was very nice. The garlic spaghetti was some of the best pasta we've ever eaten. Only complaint was that the lobster tail was a bit overcooked, but given how expertly everything else was executed, I would wager it was a fluke rather than a repeated problem. We will be back and definitely recommend to others!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The menu could be a little better for lunch but other than that the food and ambiance were good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food at Mother's Day brunch was delicious, as always. The service was a disappointment. There were 10 of us and I realize that is a challenge but we have had wonderful service at a table of 8 on a previous visit. We are semi-regulars and brought a couple who had never been to SaltAir to celebrate with us. I am not sure they will return. We didn't see the manager that is usually circulating. Again, the food was very good but we had a very long brunch!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took my sister and 92 year old mother to dinner Saturday night and were on time to take advantage of some happy hour items. Liked the Chardonnay but the East Coast oysters had been watered down with melted ice. LOVED the bronzino but the lemon sauce on the snapper was a bit heavy. Great carrots and asparagus and loved the half avocado. Very happy with our service

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food experience , just an overall exceptional place to eat! Someone in our party had lamb chops an said it was the very best she had ever had! Great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The bread on the table was stale. The fish sandwich bread was stale. Those should be the easiest things that are hard to mess up. The fish was actually ok. We ordered dessert and the the brownie was dry, stale, and crumbled apart when you cut into it. Again, something that should be so easy to like.
On the other hand, the service was great and the waiter was very nice. It was not his fault the food was sub-par.
There are so many places in the area to eat that they will need to step it up in order to compete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We sat at the bar. The waiter upsold us on our food order. Then removed our plates that had food in them without asking. When I wanted a refill on my champagne and the glass still had some champagne in it instead of refilling it there in front of me, he took the glass away and proceeded to take care of something else, open a bottle and.... SO I had to ask him to bring the glass back until he was ready to fill it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The staff makes this a wonderful weekend brunch for us. We feel as if we are family and we have two grandchildren who are always welcomed. They especially enjoy the jazz band. Our waiter, Travis, is the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loved the calamares for appetizer and the red fish! Service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is one of our favorite Houston restaurants. The food was delicious, as always. We both tried something new this visit and were very pleased. We already have reservations for Mother's Day booked here!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Saturday and Sunday Brunch is now named Salt Air! Never guessed there could be a better Benedict - because I never met one I didn't like. But they get a gold star. Served with abundant Canadian style bacon, skinny fries and a great salad. Our favorite treat is also a true value - the $1.00 each Gulf Oysters, I think brunch only. Best in town! All of the salads and sandwiches are creative, beautifully presented and delicious - we have tried the whole menu. As the name tells you, you don't want to miss out on the fish, shrimp, scallops. It's either fresh or they don't serve it and run out. One of Houston's finest restaurants. PET Friendly Patio - very comfortable, and the staff quickly serves fresh water dish for Wilson, SPCA grad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great brunch menu. Rubi was excellent. Good service & provided good suggestions & she was very knowledgeable about the menu. She is a great asset to your restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went for a girls dinner for one our friends who was having a birthday. They have a cute sparkler and cotton candy tower in lieu of cake. The shrimp and lobster salad was amazing. All my friends loved their food too. One had grilled shrimp, another the goat cheese ravioli and a beer salad and the last the garlic spaghetti which she said had a surprising kick. Couldn't eat dessert but hope to next time. Definitely a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved this place! Service and food were wonderful, and we loved the bar and cocktail menu. Had guests, and they loved it too. Would definitely return and recommend to everyone!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Calamari, lobster and shrimp salad, bottle of cloudy bay...done. Perfect meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

First time visiting SaltAir, had been wanting to try it for several month. So, finally made a reservation and tried it for the first time. The experience was well worth it, and the only regret is not having tried them sooner! The service from the very moment we arrived till we left was superb. We started with the fried calamari, it was very well seasoned, exceptionally tender and was a great start. The Wedge Salad was outstanding with a great blue cheese, fantastic slab of bacon. My partner had the fried shrimp which was perfectly fried and tasty. I had the scallops. They were perfectly prepared and were great. For desert we had the lemon desert... it was palate cleansing and sharp and a real delight. We will be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Everything was great, waitress seem to rush us a little at closing time when we were finishing a bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

SaltAir always satisfies! I have enjoyed SaltAir since they opened. The FRESHEST seafood, and an incredible array of choices. I am extremely pleased they are open for lunch now. This is a great place to escape to during the day, as well as their night menu. Thank you, again, for a memorable meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a lovely Easter jazz brunch with family at SaltAir. The music was perfect and the menu had lots of great choices for everyone--from goat cheese ravioli to tuna poke to lobster and egg brioche sandwich. The staff could not have been nicer and it we really enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Worst server in the business. Ruined our Easter Sunday brunch, crazy because we regularly eat at all the Clark and Cooper restaurants. Good luck with this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food - Not very great, no taste; Service\server not attentive at all, as well as need additional training – serve from the Right and pick up from the left and do not reach across a customer; Restaurant very noisy; Advertise a jazz band, which we could not hear…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had lunch on Easter Sunday. The restaurant is very beautiful inside and has a nice shaded patio. We ordered sandwiches off the regular menu - lobster roll and the lobster blt. Both sandwiches were delicious as were the fries that came with. The menu had many other items that we would try so we are looking forward to going back for dinner. Service was excellent; we got a lot of attention and never had to ask for re-fills of anything. Highly recommend Salt Air.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service were wonderful!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife's birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

First time here it was amazing food tasted great. Lots of smiles staff was friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love coming to SaltAir for Sunday brunch...! The band is really good and the food is excellent. The staff are very friendly and attentive. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It is known as a seafood restaurant- 4 fish dishes on the menu were not available and our reservation was at 7:30. It was embarrassing, we had to order whatever. It was a stressful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was absolutely horrible. I suspect the waiter was high on something. Disappeared for extended amounts of time, brought the main courses before the appetizers, gave us the wrong bottle of wine, someone elses check etc. Worst I have ever experienced. Will NEVER go back. Food was OK - overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoy this restaurant. This visit was a little disappointing. Our food was great but our service was not up to SaltAir standards. Our server never brought us any bread before or during our meal. He did not come back to check on us. Came back for us to order dessert and then give us the bill. Luckily the food is delicious so we will be back and ask for a different server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I'm obsessed with this place & the snapper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Thai salad with spaghetti? (instead of rice noodles) was extremely disappointing. Shrimp was too dry. Fish portion too small for price. Vegetable tempura was light and crisp -- best dish by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fresh seafood to the max!!!
Prices were incredibly reasonable.
Waiter was hilarious!
Loved it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful. Creative food & excellent service. The decor is amazing. Service was wonderful including the hostess and Rooster, our waiter. The support staff was efficient. Really lovely dining experience. This was a birthday dinner for my sister, and the cotton candy surprise was a wonderful touch. She even took the leftover home! We live walking distance from the former Coppa location on Washington. Glad to see your executive chef is still creating at a very high level.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was my first visit and won't be the last.
Using Open Table for reservations was super easy and fast.

The ambience is noticeable from the minute entering the restaurant. Lots of great menu options and service was impeccable. The cotton candy with a sparkler, for my friend's birthday, was the cherry on top. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.