About SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

SaltAir is a fresh approach to seafood, bringing in the freshest products available from around the globe.

3029 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Global, International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
MON- Closed
TUE- 11:00am - 10:00pm
WED- 11:00 am - 10:00pm
THUR- 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
FRI - 11:00am - 11:00 pm
SAT - 10:30am - 11:00pm
SUN - 10:30am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
West Alabama

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 521-3333

Website:
http://saltairhouston.com/

Parking Details:
Additional self-parking available

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Private Party Facilities:
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen introduces a new, original to Houston and surprises guests with Vietnamese, Thai, Moroccan, South American and Middle Eastern influences. Crudos, Carpaccio, shellfish presentations adorn a menu to be admired for its light, fresh and clean nature.

Private Party Contact:
SaltAir Group Dining: (877) 381-3675

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Sat 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Fun (16)
Business Meals (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Healthy (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Friendly, accommodating and helpful service. We love the music.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

For a seafood restaurant the food was below average. Not cooked the way I requested and actually the cook added things that I don't like. The music is too loud. If you want to be able to hear your friends you have to find a table near the door. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service!

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely delicious! The only problem was the draft beer that my husband ordered was supposed to be 16oz was only 12oz. Definitely not pint sized. Everything else was perfection!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, maybe a little overpriced for what it was, good but nothing extraordinary. Overall was a ok experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic branzino. Wine list reasonable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service and food were very good on Valentines Day. Good seating in the back for more quiet conversation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place for a romantic dinner. The service was impeccable and attentive. The saffron fettucine and scallop dishes were amazing along with the broiled oysters appetizers. And the butterscotch crime brûlée? To die for. We will definitely return because of a diverse menu, great service and chic ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always exceptional, fresh, and amazingly delicious. Great friendly service. My favorite seafood restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

excellent service and food, dined on the patio, very enjoyable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Noisy busy spot next to wait station. Too chaotic for conversation. Table of 5 awkward seating with two in aisle way and three in large booth. Our champagne was barely on ice and glasses and Veuve got warm while we waited on fifth chilled glass. Different waiter, not ours, pulled plate without asking if we wanted to take it home. Manager did come to table but too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We like the wait staff except for a couple of things. 1. He forgot to put in the order for our appetizer and so our main course arrived and we were wondering what happened. We asked for it. He also suggested a wine, by the glass, which ended up being very expensive. Clearly I should have asked the price, but when something is that high end, the server should let you know know. The food was good but very light. With these issues we felt like we should have been comped something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My favorite brunch spot & one of my top five dinner destinations. The oysters are the best in the city. If you like caviar, champagne, cocktails & fresh seafood this is a gem.

Tags: Live Music, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and ambience was very good. The wine list offers many excellent wines at very low mark-ups. We really enjoyed our brunch at this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was Super Bowl weekend and the restaurant was out of many items- food and drink ingredients. We were disappointed because of the unpreparedness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Phenomenal food and service. The snapper was perfect and was on a bed of rice pilaf with a lemon butter. I ate every drop.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Thx a lot

Kskskdjdnd. Jdkdkd. S sbsn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent evening, excellent food, excellent ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Lobster bisque was slightly warmer than room temperature i.e. not hot but very tasty. The lobster and shrimp salad was bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

In keeping with the traditional Clark Cooper "Concept", all wines are a value at very near-retail prices. We had an excellent Gaja Bolgheri. For food, we had a sampling from the daily selection of raw oysters, caviar, steamed lobster, snapper crudo, vegetable tempura, and featured fresh fish, which happened to be John Dory, plus bok choy as an accompaniment. All very good. Lunch here is also excellent--love the menu. Looking forward to trying their jazz brunch and lobster BLT!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and service were very good, as were the drinks (and the wine was well priced). Nothing wowed me though. That said, I would definitely go back as there were several things on the menu that looked tasty.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This restaurant left me a little stumped. Wanting to really like it, but it fell short.

This restaurant used to be Pesce's and it had a special place in our hearts because we REALLY loved Pesce's and was devastated when it closed. How could any place measure up? Based on the number of guests in the restaurant (nearly empty), it did not look like a good sign, but let's give it a try.

The décor is beautiful, so plus plus. The bar is huge, actually even bigger, than when it was Pesce's. Plus, plus. The service was there, but being that we were the only ones at the bar, we would have liked more banter from our bartender. (Okay, we love good bartenders who are funny and provide us a form of entertainment, and for that, we tip well.)

The wine list was a plus plus with some really good prices compared to retail. In fact, the bottle we had was below retail. (Maybe I should keep this a secret.) We started with the Scallop Ceviche. This dish was - no other way to put it - strange. We were not sure what they were trying to do here. The flavor was bland as was the look - white scallops in a white liquid (coconut milk with kaffir lime and ginger) on a white plate. Food 101 says "you do not pass".

Next we had the Vegetable Tempura. After the Scallop Ceviche, it looked really good. Then we followed with the Shrimp and Lobster Salad which was pretty tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We returned to catch the jazz quartet again, along with the menu we had enjoyed before. Thank you for quieting the trumpet just a bit so we did not have to seat in the inside room instead of the "music" room.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We booked a large party reservation for their Sunday Jazz Brunch series and the restaurant was more than accommodating. Our service, food and drinks were great, and the atmosphere is always great. Our server even split our checks for all 14 of us, which was very nice of him. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our first time here, and it won't be the last! Delicious food, good service and great prices on wines! A nice place to meet friends. Seafood was great. Only complaint, it was a bit noisy. May try outside next time as the patio looked very inviting.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Salt Air is one of my favorite Houston Restaurants. As a diner here on multiple occasions, I can say that the food was always delicious - I am partial to the snapper fillet in lemon butter on pilaf while my wife enjoys the whole branzini. Adding to the dining experience, Salt Air has a good wine list that offers quality wines at reasonable prices - a strong point. Service is good, parking easy with valet available, ... A relaxing experience. I will be going back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

excellent service and the waiter was very knowledgable about the wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very good food and excellent wine list.... service was not very good nor attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was not that great and they have the most uncomfortable, tacky beach chairs in the side area of the restaurant. If our waitress wasn't so nice we probably would have left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

uncomfortably cold they did turn off ac as everyone was complaining, BUT they said they could not turn on heat as it was not working? Had Shrimp Lobster salad.... just ok.... not a pretty presentation at all....just all thrown on plate. Two very small rolls were brought to the table. we had to request two more. I was not impressed and disappointed as I was treating a friend for her birthday. They brought cotton candy to table with sparkler... a great idea for a 10 year old... not for adults.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The last review I wrote for SaltAir was glowing. We used to love this place. The only reason I'm giving it two stars is because the restaurant still curates quality seafood, especially the PEI oysters. We started with the cold seafood platter that I remember looking more like a tower in the past, and we added an additional half dozen oysters. The quality of the raw bar mix was still very good, but I would appreciate fewer shells in the crab salad. Our warm appetizer and main course arrived at the same time. The saffron fettuccine had no saffron flavor, and while I appreciate that saffron is expensive, this was a child's butter pasta dish. The lobster bisque was tasty but not a cream bisque, and that's okay. Dessert was extremely disappointing. The flavor of the peanut butter dessert still reminds me of the original dish that was on the menu in the beginning, but this dish is a far cry from the same quality. It was one of my husband's all-time favorites and it's really changed. I ordered the pot de creme, and dessert I used to dream about. It's not at all right. The old one was perfect, creamy, half way between a mousse and a custard. What I had tonight was bread-like--spongy--and dry. Not at all a pot de creme. Service was mediocre. The waiter was not knowledgeable about the food and not attentive. We were excited about going back and I was surprised to find reservations on short notice. But now I know why. While all the other good restaurants in Houston were out of tables tonight SaltAir had quit a few empty for walk-ins. With all the great options for food in Houston we've decided that we won't be going back. It's worth it to exercise a little quality control and consistency. Not everyone in this town appreciates it when a good restaurant cuts corners smoother than a Landry's Corp restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful, very lightly battered, fried shrimp. Superb chocolate mousse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

food was just ok

i had crab benedict that the waitress said was a favorite

there were shells & mush that made up the crab cake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great place if you like seafood but are not a big eater. There are so many delicious items on the raw bar and many appetizers to choose from. All the food was yummy and our service was excellent. So many servers working together makes for a great experience. I must add, the salads and dinner choices are numerous and varied, we just "filled up" on the starters! Be sure to try it, if you have not already dined there!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went for the Jazz concert & brunch. Was seated near the band and had a great time! Good service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome jazz brunch! Excellent oysters!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first time at Saltair Seafood. We dined there before attending a musical in downtown Houston. Our server was very friendly, helpful, and attentive. The other staff members were very attentive. We all had the red snapper, which was delicious. Two of us had the wedge salad, which was somewhat plain compared to others that we have had elsewhere. Our son had the lobster bisque, which he enjoyed. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was excellent. The restaurant was not very busy and staff were attentive. Food was average. The Cesar salad was tasteless. Had the lobster salad and it was average. Crab pasta was good, with fresh pasta. We didn't order from the brunch menu, but I saw others with their brunch items, which looked very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Probably won't go back. During pre-dinner drinks, our table of 9 was informed by the waiter that two of the whiskeys that were ordered were gone after serving only one drink. It was early enough that they could have gone out to get a couple bottles since customers were drinking them. When food was served, plates were all given to wrong people. Service was not organized well at all. Food was good, but nothing spectacular. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on NYE and sat at the bar. Couldn't have been more perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went here with a group of couples and had a great time. The wine list is very good and is reasonably priced. We had the seafood tower appetizer, which was expensive ($100) but delicious. The grilled lobster tail, and redfish on the halfshell were also hits, as well as the sides of carrots, asparagus and baby bok choy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved the food!! Fresh oysters and the crab cakes were so flavorful! Loved the recommendation for the wine as well. Will be coming back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had the red snapper. It was very fresh and simply prepared (pan seared). It was excellent. The best that I've had in a long time. My wife had the grilled shrimp with asparagus. It was perfectly grilled and very tasty. Overall, the ambiance and service was very enjoyable. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been to Daly Air twice and both times were greatly impressed with the ambiance, the food, service, and value. Look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Absolutely amazing! The food was impeccable - perfectly presented and delicious! Was quiet at lunch, but I hear they do a huge dinner and late night business. Definitely going back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good service and great food. Nick's suggestions were spot on.

Portions were very reasonable (instead of massive) and everything was well seasoned (not over-seasoned). We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Tasty, inventive food in a beautifully modern setting with great service. We sure didn't need anything else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious seafood and outstanding service. It's a keeper on my list.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Happy Birthday Kirsten -- We visited on a Saturday night for my daughter's 50th birthday (Which was actually on Monday 12/26) . She was visiting from Omaha and was looking for some very good sea food. We took her to SaltAir as we were very familiar with the food and service. We had Tune , Redfish and Scallops - -all were done to perfection. She was most please as she tweeted as we drove away and looked at the Christmas lights in River Oaks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.