Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

SaltAir is a fresh approach to seafood, bringing in the freshest products available from around the globe.

3029 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Global, International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
MON- 3:00 pm- 10:00 pm
TUE- 3:00 pm- 10:00 pm
WED- 3:00 pm- 10:00 pm
THURS- 3:00 pm- 10:00 pm
FRI - 3:00 pm- 11:00 pm
SAT - 3:00 pm- 11:00 pm
SUN - CLOSED

Cross Street:
West Alabama

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 521-3333

Website:
http://saltairhouston.com/

Parking Details:
Additional self-parking available

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Private Party Facilities:
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen introduces a new, original to Houston and surprises guests with Vietnamese, Thai, Moroccan, South American and Middle Eastern influences. Crudos, Carpaccio, shellfish presentations adorn a menu to be admired for its light, fresh and clean nature.

Private Party Contact:
SaltAir Group Dining: (877) 381-3675

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Sat 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (12)
Fun (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

My first time at SaltAir was a good one. I brought a big group of co-workers and they really enjoyed it too. The happy hour specials are worth it. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food and service! The avocado and the broiled oysters were delicious. The whole roasted branzini was soooo good and so fresh! This dish is a must have. I can't wait to go back to try other items on the menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

So let me start with the good. The restaurant is beautiful, very nice atmosphere. The entrees were magnificent. I had the snapper with crab and rice pilaf, it was cooked perfectly. Now for the so-so, as several reviews have stated the service is not the best and in Houston that could be restaurants downfall. Also, appetizers not that great, the lobster bisque was not good at all and the scampi oysters lacked flavor.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We took friends to Salt Air at the recommendation of a co-worker. We all were delighted with our entree choices and even had fun sampling everyone else's choice. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgable and gave great suggestions for our salad and entree choices. I kind of wish we had not skipped dessert, just to see if it was as good as every thing else we ate!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Overall great service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Took our son here for a nice dinner. The appetizers were fine, and I ordered the lobster and steak "medium". As everyone's food came to the table, the waitress asked me to check the steak. Glad I did because it was virtually raw inside! She took it to the back, along with my lobster and asparagus, and in the amount of time it took to get my meal back (and it was overcooked at this point, but not totally inedible) everyone else had already finished their meals. Our son ordered a dessert to kill time. The manager came around and said things would be better "next time" we came in. For $175+ dinner bill and the inconvenience, I doubt I will be in again any time soon, but overall it's not a bad place..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Just stopped by for some seafood. The chef, Joe, was great. The seafood was fresh and tasty. We’ll be back soon. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Don't let them seat you in the director's chairs in the overflow wing. Least comfortable chairs I've ever experienced. The food is also overpriced for the quality. Service was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Overall good but a few things to consider- (1) when being out side dishes that are known to be shared by the table, bring serving spoons. Delivering hot food and then waiting for ten minutes to be able to serve it defeats the purpose. (2) one server (not our waiter) was particularly abrasive when delivering the food and knocked over my wife's silverware onto her purse. Thankfully no mess but when we asked for an extra set this server rudely delivered the extra and stormed off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Really beautiful restaurant with great atmosphere. Very attentive waitstaff . We went at 3 PM on a Saturday so restaurant was very quiet and not busy. Waiter said it gets really full after 6. Great drinks and Tapas menu. Great dining experience !

Tags: Tapas, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing food and service. I look forward to attending again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was my first time and it did not disappoint. Everything I tried was excellent from the tuna tacos to the mussels. The ambiance was great with a lively bar scene. I would absolutely go back and recommend this place to any seafood lover.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Second visit. It was hard to turn down the shrimp and lobster salad, but it was happy hour and the bar bites intrigued me. For the price of one of the cheaper meals, I was able to have three tasting plates. They were wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Waitstaff was very friendly. Hostess was nice and moved our table after we requested a better table without the uncomfortable "beach" chairs. Drinks took a little longer than expected (we had wine and straight liquor), but it wasn't awful. Food was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Smarmy waiter. Improperly cooked carrots. Average fish course. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Love the bar seating. Great food and service. The wine by the bottle are the best prices in town. Go!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had an exceptional seafood meal, with outstanding service. Our server, Rooster, knew the menu well and helped us pick from the many tempting options. It was a special evening and Salt Air will join our list of favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our food was mediocre, at best, and overpriced. The Saltines were stale, which given that they were wrapped in cellophane seems rather remarkable. The waiter was not concerned about this at all. The waiter had zero attention to detail - just punching the clock. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We decided on dinner here because of the reviews. Our 1 st time there. We had a nice table in the corner - so we could enjoy each other's company. As soon as we sat down .. we all noticed that the chairs were very comfortable!! But... Maybe it was an off night - because it was an interesting evening. The wedge salad - was a small slice- not a wedge. The waiter did correct it & it was cold & crisp. The artichoke & pmi muscles were not busting with flavors. Salt & pepper rib eye was not salt or pepper. Crispy outside & Med. rare inside - just no flavors. Same with the tuna steaks. After we finished our meal - the wait staff twice brought out foods & placed it on our table - we said we did not order anything else - the pick it up & served it on the next table. Cotton candy for our bday was a treat!! Best part of the night. Yummy!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Came to SaltAir to celebrate my dad's birthday. My parents drove down from the Woodlands and loved it so much, said they would certainly be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

First trip to Saltair and certainly not the last. Wine opportunities at Saltair are fantastic; great variety and bargain prices, many less than retail at the wine stores. Beats Spec's prices on many wines!!

Redfish 1/2 Shell was outstanding. Moist, flaky and full of flavor. Seasoned with Moroccan spices gave it a new twist compared to our local/Cajun seasonings. Service with a side dish of couscous. Got there at 6:50pm and they gave us the Happy Hour prices on our Oysters on the Half Shell ($1 each).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen was a great pick for fresh seafood. I ordered the Saffron Fettucine with Crab and it was delicious. It featured real, yummy crab and handmade pasta. My husband had the Seared scallops and he also thought they were delicious. The Seared Scallops did seem more like a small plate than an entree to us. The restaurant is big, but we were seated in a smaller front room and it helped keep the vibe more romantic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Best seafood in Houston--freshness and flavor of the fish not hidden behind toppings or mesquite. Oscar, the assistant manager, was invaluable in securing comfortable seating for us. Service can be a little slow but the food is worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We ordered the redfish which was incredible, we also ordered mussels as an appetizer, also very good. We really enjoyed the food , incredibly well prepared and original. The service was also excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

First time eating at Saltair and i will certainly be back! Celebrated my parents 30th anniversary and the atmosphere and food were exceptional. Great Place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I have passed by Saltair several times and did not notice it being there.
We were looking for a new place to explore and I thought ... hmm .. I wonder about Saltair.
We were pleasantly surprised with the ambiance.
The service and the food were great!
We will definitely return again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The bar area is huge, rightfully so since it is an "oyster bar". Wine prices were reasonable, especially by the bottle. Our waiter was very attentive and timely. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

L O V E the food..most recently had the halibut special and it was a fave. Tasted the pot sticker dumplings and they were yummy but too spicy for some at the table. Not sure the menu indicated this. Scallop coconut ceviche was wonderful as were the mussels. And the seared scallop entree. Menu in interesting and has many things I want to try (have only been here 3X) The only bad thing is the slow table service...it has been a problem each time we have been. My husband really dislikes waiting too long before ordering a cocktail before we peruse the menu....and it is nice when it gets to the table promptly as well. We can usually go with the flow, but it is definitely an area for improvement.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I wanted to really love this place. Everything about SaltAir was excellent until you got to the service. I may be a little on the tougher side of the aisle when it comes to service but for me it really makes or breaks a night out. SaltAir's waiting really broke the night.
That being said, Oscar, the resident wino, is fantastic and a consummate professional who really loves what he does and does it well.

I will be back because I did love the food enough to overlook much of the service mishaps. I'll write the experience off as a fluke.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. Our waiter, Donald R and his support staff were attentive and knowledgeable. Loved sitting in the main dining room. Has a vibe that you miss when sitting on the enclosed patio.
Executive Chef Brandi stopped by our table, which impressed our guests. Chef Brandi even recalled meeting my husband and I at her former restaurant, Coppa in Rice Military. That was a nice touch.
Food was lovely, well presented. . . Just can't say enough about the restaurant. This was our 3rd time dining at Salt Air, and we will be back. Often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We brought my sister in law here to get her mind off her treatments at MD Anderson and it did not disappoint! Food was delicious! Service superb! We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was superb, the large circular bar area is very impressive and Creates a sociable feel.
Oyster selection was excellent.
Service was rather slow... our waiter appeared to have too many tables.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great service, excellent food. Portion size a little smaller than some but that is a good thing. You really don't need food hanging over the edge of your plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

THe restaurant is always pretty consistent. Service is good too.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

always an inviting, bright air about the place. Salt Air delights me every time I dine there -- food is outstanding, prices reasonable -- entrees almost always under $30 -- and service is friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A great menu selection of seafood, good atmosphere, service and drinks. One of the best meals we've had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I like this place. Seafood is great but can be a bit noisy but great. Great service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was my 2nd visit in about a month. Like the first time, the food was just okay. Wasn't bad but just okay. Fried shrimp was very basic...nothing special. Fish and chips was just okay...nothing special either. Prices are fairly expensive for what you get. Likely won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Saltair has my favorite brunch by far! Excellent food and everything is cooked perfectly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.