Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Saison

Sourcing each item from the surrounding land, Saison highlights the abundant resources of the San Francisco Bay Area. Each morning a new menu is crafted based on the finest offerings from our network of small farms, ranches, and fisheries.

178 Townsend St.
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only Tuesday through Saturday: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Please note that reservations at 7:30pm are located at the bar, NOT in the dining room

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 828-7990

Website:
http://www.saisonsf.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef / Owner: Joshua Skenes

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for Private Dining/Party Information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Saison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Tasting Menu (18)
Romantic (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Really good service and nice environment. It is a fantastic experience to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Fantastic food and great 80s music playing throughout the meal. We really enjoyed the audio experience with the food. If you are sensitive to music or don't like that genre of music I would be careful as it was louder than at most high end restaurants, but still low enough to have a conversation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Outstanding experience. One of the best Michelin rated restaurants that we have ever been to. We were seated right in front of the open kitchen, and enjoyed every bit of servings that were presented to us. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The reputation of Saison as on the world's best restaurants is well deserved. Quite simply- it may have been the greatest meal of my life. Everything and everyone was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Probably the most vibrant culinary scene in SF.
Just seat and wait for the magic to take place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Brilliant. Beautiful. Bravo.
Thank you, Saison.
Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

An incredible culinary experience matched with impeccable service and a beautiful open-kitchen ambiance. The presentations were only bested by the flavours, and enhanced by the masterful wine pairings. A true foodie delight, one well worth the investment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Subpar food in comparison to other 3 and 2 Michelin starred restaurants in the area. Excellent service and wonderful staff, however it could not make up for the fact the the food seemed haphazardly thrown together and lacked wow factor or depth of taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Special birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

the tasting menu is really phenomenal. It's half great food, half artistry. the people (staff) were all fabulous, attentive but not obtrusive. I never thought I would say that my favorite course was radish based! Very expensive but absolutely worth the money for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was inventive, service on point and well worth the price of admission. Would go back again. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had the closest seat to the kitchen, watched everything unfold all night. The staff is very attentive, and you get to interact with almost everyone as the front of house and chefs from the individual stations serve different parts of your meal. This is a meal that you have never seen the likes of before, so participate, ask questions, and treat this as a team experience. And it IS an experience, so open up and enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Best meal and service ever. Unmatched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great evening for a special occasion!! O

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

it's such a good experience. The food and service are on the top. However, I am not sure if that worth 500+ per person

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2017

i think overall the food does not meet my expectation. It was salty and used too much butter. The music was way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent 10 course meal. They adapted to my request not to serve me fish; memorable meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

For the price, go to Quince or Benu instead. The food was just okay. The best course was the grilled biscuits with honey butter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was great.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have dined at Saison several times over the years. They have always been our most favorite restaurant.

Our latest meal there was a huge disappointment.

The length of the menu has been cut in half. It used to be about 16 courses, spread over about 3-4 hours. Now the menu is 8 courses and takes less than 2 hours. The price has not changed. You just get half the food. I never minded the high price of the meal before, but this time I felt severely ripped off.

It's just not a fun experience anymore, and it's not enough food by a longshot. Portion sizes are not any larger. We left very hungry.

We made our disappointment clear and our waiter was quite sympathetic and tried to appease us with little gifts and such. It was not his fault - service at Saison is as superb as ever. The new chef is trying to put his personal stamp on the restaurant but he is failing miserably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was the most amazing dinner in my life. The food and service here is awesome.
There was a private happening about reservation for me. Tiffany at Saison solved the problem. I was a single diner before the open kitchen. Everything was perfect. Their food was so creative. Also, plating and presentation was amasing. Sous chef looked like a perfectionist. Especiallly a server named Luis huerta was very kind and professional. Thanks to him including Saison's all staffs, my dinner was so fantastic.
In every way, it was perfect.
I think Saison is NO.1 worldwide.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service is good, the food is pretty good but not outstanding . Compare with other 3 star Michelin restaurants in Europe and New York , this price is totally ripoff

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Saison is an interesting and fascinating place. Their ingredients are mainly sourced locally. It was a great experience. All of the kitchen staff are nice and the food are amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It's an awesome meal that I think you should experience. Impeccable and engaging service -- almost unheard of in fine dining -- and really good food. But the price mandates a level of value that cannot be met by fewer than 20 courses, regardless the haute ingredients, let alone fewer than 10. That dissonance tinges the food, unfortunately. I greatly enjoyed it; this isn't hostility. But there is a value gap that prevents being able to give up a five star, and that's unfortunate.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

great food, but definitely an experience and not an every day thing.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Private Room, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding in every respect. The food is delicious and not overwrought. The drinks are fabulous - creative and very tasty. The service is over the top - perfect. This is one of the best restaurants in the world.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Let's start with the positives. The service is top notch and the ambiance is very good. However, I found the food to be inconsistent. The caviar was very good but not the best, the naple long pumpkin was excellent but the sea urchin tasted fishy and I could not eat it. Also I could not drink the broth of the grilled bones. For some reason we were not served the turbo (I discovered this after I looked at the written menu I received when leaving the restaurant). Therefore I was not able to enjoy 3 dishes and no substitutions were offered. For dessert we were served ice cream and sorbet and blueberries and brandy, which were good but nothing exceptional. Given that we were served 3 desserts, I was looking forward to see what the pastry chef had to offer but there was no pastries. For variety I would have preferred a pastry and not the repetition of ice cream and sorbet.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal. The food and service were equally exceptional. The creativity of the chef

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is simply one of the best restaurants in America.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best dining experiences we've ever had. Creative menu, unbelievable service, nice atmosphere. While not inexpensive, we felt it was worth every penny. Wine pairing was delightful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was inconsistent. Price was beyond extortion. Antelope main was tough and not interesting. Biscuits were doughy, and undercooked. Uni toast was a extraordinary, and almost made up for the rest. The bill should have been 2/3 what was presented. Disappointing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food and service . Definitely returning soon ! The antelope steak melted in my mouth .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

You can't help but compare Saison to other Michelin 3 star restaurants, and as other reviewers have noted, it simply doesn't measure up given the very high price. Great food, yes. Very good service, yes. Great atmosphere, also yes.

But, what doesn't add up is $400 for a meal that wasn't any more memorable (nor as good or creative in my opinion) as Acquerello where I enjoyed an amazing tasting menu for half that price the night before, or even Rich Table, where I enjoyed an almost as delicious tasting menu for a quarter the price the night before that.

I've enjoyed meals at many 3 star restaurants all over the world, and for the price, this one fails to meet the standard. Compare it to Eleven Madison in New York, Guy Savoy in Paris or even The Restaurant At Meadowood just up the road in Napa, and the flavors and creativity cannot compare.

The staff was nice, but couldn't touch the level of service at other 3 star restaurants I've enjoyed. The food and presentation merit one or two stars, but then you can't help but factor in the price and that's where it falls apart.

So, if you have the budget and just want to try Saison to see what you think for yourself, you will have a great meal. But, for my money, there are a lot of better choices in San Francisco.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food amazing staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service and ambiance were outstanding. The food was good but not three star level. The price was higher than great three star restaurants in New York and Paris so the value was not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A delicious, memorable dining experience. My second time at a three-Michelin Star restaurant and Saison did not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Given the price / person, I would have expected my experience to be completely mindblowing. Make no mistake, the food here is tasty, but there was just a wow-factor that was entirely missing from it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Absolutely lived up to the hype. Amazing food and equally amazing staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very creative and delicious food. Warm atmosphere, fun music. As much as I love these experiences with just one other person, the best seating is for groups near the open kitchen. Our group of two were seated in the lounge in booths. Uncomfortable for a 3 hour meal and we were seated facing the bar and near the bathroom so got a lot of foot traffic and side-chatter near us. Definitely impacts the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.