About Saint Jacques French Cuisine

Saint Jacques French Cuisine is a traditional French restaurant located in North Raleigh. We serve authentic food with a respect for century old recipes, recreated for the taste of today.
French Native Serge Falcoz-Vigne is the Chef with 30+ years of experience in the hospitality business in both France and in North Carolina. Also as a General Manager of the restaurant, he can provide to the guest a total experience from the kitchen to the floor with renowned French food and service. Saint Jacques was voted one of the OpenTable Top 100 restaurants in the country for 2016.

6112 Falls of Neuse Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Forest

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 862-2770

Website:
http://www.saintjacquesfrenchcuisine.com/

Executive Chef:
Serge Falcoz-Vigne

Private Party Facilities:
Saint Jacques does offer a private room setting up to 40 guests. The entire restaurant can be reserved for private party and can accommodate up to 80 (sit down dinner).

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 919.862.2770 for reservations for special events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Saint Jacques French Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (76)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
See All
Good for a Date (59)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Authentic (43)
Worth the Drive (37)
Notable Wine List (37)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Cozy (31)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (3)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Starting with the wait staff are experience was exceptional. They took the time to explain all the New Creations that were available and the time to explain everything that was represented on the menu. Moving on to the meal everything was prepared fresh and came out on time. Our favorite moment of the evening was when chef Serge came out and talked with us for about 15 minutes about locally-sourced food the region of France that he came from and the importance of getting fresh material to cook with. We ended the night with a very nice dessert and the whole experience was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

We again visited Saint Jacques, this time for my birthday. The service is impeccable. Our server was Nicholas. Serge, Chef and owner, cannot be duplicated.....I have never had such creative dishes, cocktails, sauces, sides, WOW. I had the (boneless) beef short rib served with these incredible thinly sliced and roasted carrot rounds. (I don't like cooked carrots.) The Soup de Jour was deliciously creamy, without any cream. An appetizer of frog legs was the only place to ever try frog legs. These are delicious. The warm apple and caramel tart is not to be missed. If you have ever been to a fine restaurant in Paris, you are lucky to repeat your experience with Serge and his staff. Thank you for making Raleigh your home!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing...The chef personally visited our table multiple times to discuss our meal and share insights...fabulous taste and presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was spectacular! Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

All excellent, as usual.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Every time I travel to RDU area I visit St Jacques. We had nine from our company eat dinner there tonight. The food is truly unique and amazing! All nine can't wait to go back again to try something else. The service is just perfect too. A beautiful restaurant with food you cannot get anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wow! We hadn't been here for years but decided to try it again. Didn't realize there was a fabulous new owner, Serge. What a difference, for me, it was! All aspects of the meal were impeccable. Took my Mother and Father there with my family for Mother's Day Brunch. We ALL really enjoyed the service, AMAZING food and the entire staff's hospitality. What a warm welcome we received from all and love the visits to the table by Serge, himself. So kind and caring and wanting our experience to be phenomenal. His staff is excellent and VERY well trained. Classic french food with a nouveau twist! We will now put THIS restaurant on our elite REGULAR list! Thanks, St. Jacques!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It's a bit pricey but reasonable for a special occasion once in a while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is highly recommended if you are serious with trying great food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Serge is a fabulous chef. Went last year to take my teenage girls for their birthdays in JUL. KID FRIENDLY FOR WELL BEHAVED TEENAGERS ONLY. Worth the drive. Went back for a MAR for "anniversary". Took "Mom" for a mothers day lunch on SAT. You get what you pay for - excellent food, strong wine list, beer is reasonably priced. 4 for lunch - 2 appetizers, wine & beer - 185 with taxes and tip. That meal in NYC would have been 375. You get what you pay for - just have to be willing to pay for it. Excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have been twice and it's the most amazing dining experience we've ever had. The food and drinks are bar none the best in Raleigh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding, chef is most talented and friendly, service perfect. Had amazing duck and wine choice. Must return soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As usual we and friends had a great time at St. Jacques. The food and service was excellent and very French.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As always, a wonderful dinner was prepared for us. We no longer live in Raleigh but attempt to come here and eat when we are in town.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

All the reviews were accurate. An amazing place in an unassuming location. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our guest was making his first visit to Saint Jacques. He was tremendously impressed, and the evening was absolutely superb from start to finish!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We tried St. Jacques for the first time in May for a special occasion and it was wonderful. The chef came out personally before and after the meal and greeted each table of guests in the dining room. The service was excellent. Very attentive to every detail. The food, as true French cooking should be, was exceptional in taste and beautifully presented. Each bite was full of flavor. The price point is on the high side, but if you are looking for the full dining experience, this is the place to go. Perfect for that special occasion and worth a try for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was looking for a quiet romantic restaurant with great food to treat my fiancee' who spends so much time and money spoiling me. I wanted to go somewhere very special and memorable, a different kind of venue / vibe than we generally patronize. I live in the Washington metro area where there are great choices and he lives in Mount Olive where there are lots of diners and large food chains. Saint Jacques met all my desires and exceeded my expectations in service and food quality. Our waiter was superb and it was a pleasure meeting the executive chief. The prices for the service was very reasonable. My friend was very impressed. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First time... looking forward to 2nd. Service was balanced, food was brilliant and Serge made it meaningful. Great choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have had a bad stretch of luck at French restaurants over the years, but we are happy this broke that cycle! The facade was not what we expected, but it was pleasantly quiet yet comfortable inside. Service was excellent (and relaxed), and the food was delicious! My husband was impressed with their sidecar and their flounder special, and I was very happy with my duck entree. We look forward to going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Saint Jacques and had a truly enchanting and memorable experience. Stepping through the front door, we left the strip mall (it's located in) behind and were transported to a french bistro. As others have mentioned, the attentiveness was excellent and the ambiance perfect. We were visited by the chef twice during our meal and once as we were leaving. He has been at St. Jacques for about a year and was thoroughly charming (and French!). Food was out of this world! This will replace Vinnie's as our special occasion venue of choice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Selected from out of state, this fine French style restaurant lived up to it s high reputation in every respect. The Chef de Maison visited our table four times, was entertaining,charming,and recommended a red Sancerre , the existence of which was unknown to both wine-knowledgeable diners, and which paired perfectly with both a scallop and a bass dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food at St. Jacques is exceptional and the service is attentive without being intrusive. I think that it's one of the best spots in Raleigh.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful experience...attentive, exceptional service...interesting, well presented and prepared courses...always exceeds our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

From the moment we walked in, everything was just perfect. They speak to you in french, which is a little odd if you speak not a word of french, but I guess it is just part of the ambience. Everyone from the hostess to the somelier, the waiter and the chef were all very friendly and attentive. We came here for our anniversary on the recommendation of a friend and will definitely be back. My husband and I both ordered one of the specials and it was delicious. Very nice restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Spent a delightful evening with family and were treated to exceptional service and wonderful food. Serge is on hand to check in (often) on how the kitchen is doing, the wait staff misses nothing in providing the most attentive service. Great energy, wonderful ambiance--a first class experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 22, 2017

St. Jacques is so good on so many levels; the quality, the flavor profiles, the service, and the chef (s). Soup. A simple thing but Chef Serge Falcoz-Vigne uses local, seasonal ingredients to create the best soups we have ever had. The soup de jour this time was mushroom, cauliflower, fromage veloute. Velvety, medium consistency with upfront mushroom flavor followed by a cheesy nuttiness. When I think of soups with cheese in them, I think of gloppy beer cheese soup. This is none of that. The vegetable stock makes this light, the cauliflower pulls the mushroom and cheese flavors up from being heavy while keeping the soup from being thin, aLloyd pureed together with just a touch of cream makes it velvety. The soup de jour is always wonderful, and always a must try.
My wife loves Foie Gras. Everywhere they sear it. She loves it. Not St. Jacques. They wrap it with a little brandy and slow cook it, then cool it, slice it, and serve it cold. My wife read a review that raved about it. She was still unsure so she asked Chef Serge who explained the process and that 90% of the Foie Gras that you get in France is like this. So she tried it. She loves it more than having it seared and now gets it every time. I am not big on Foie Gras and I even think that it has an amazing and wonderful depth of flavor. Scallops St. Jacques; mushrooms, shrimp, cheese, and cream surround the scallop and pack loads of flavor onto a scallop shell. Duck a L'orange. A little different in that th hey used tender duck leg confit (I am a duck confit fan) with wonderful, meaty, not too citrusy, orange sauce. It is not just the food, the staff are wonderful to talk to and impeccable in their service. The highlight of every meal is when Chef Serge comes out and greets each table at some point in the meal. I could go on, but find out for yourself.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

An amazing French restaurant!! We've been there before... this time was for my husband's birthday. Serge, the chef, just never disappoints! Definitely a 4-star experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious food, friendly staff, excellent ambience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I thought the food was amazing, my husband was slightly underwhelmed. It was cooked perfectly, very tasty. Service was superb, they even switched put white linen to black linen napkins to keepint off my outfit, they offered not my request. The chef came out and spoke to us, he was grateful of our business and very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The restaurant is located in the strip mall - it lowered our expectations first, but our experience was not disappointing at all. Outstanding cuisine! Real French. Delicious and nicely presented dishes. The chef (Serge) came to us to greet. Service was top notch. Quiet and ambient atmosphere. Cooking classes offered. Special wine and menu tasting events. We definitely want to come back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The staff was wonderful, the food was delicious and the ambience was perfect. The chef visited our table to say hello and make sure we were enjoying our experience. He really wanted us to feel like we were dining in France. We really appreciated the focus on having a vegetarian menu. It was clear that the chef places importance on his vegetarian creations and that they are not just an afterthought to the meat menu. The flavors were perfect and the presentation was beautiful and appetizing. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent and authentic French food, a lively and friendly French chef, and knowledgeable and pleasant waiters. Despite being in a shopping mall, the ambiance is much like small, upscale restaurants in France. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Best french restaurant in Raleigh area by far, maybe in North Carolina. Beef short ribs and braised duck were state of the art. Foie Gras like velvet. Chef is justly proud of the place and came out to check on our dinners. It's in a strip mall, so not grand, but is simple and pretty inside. White tablecloths. Waiter, a student, spoke fluent french, takes his job seriously, and was helpful with food and wine recommendations . A memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything eas windergul. Bread and desserts made in house. Entree delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 30, 2017

If you enjoy "dining" - then this will capture your style before the first course!
Thank you so the excellent food and service. Felt like I was back in France!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 28, 2017

What a surprise! A charming restaurant with authentic French cuisine in the unlikely location in a strip plaza. Attentive, friendly staff with an impressive knowledge of the restaurant's extensive wine list and perfect pairings with each menu selection. Exquisitely prepared and presented dishes. The chef, himself, came over to our table to make sure everything was to our liking and to explain how some of our selections were created and prepared. A must try for anyone who hasn't been!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

They seem to be friendlier if you speak French. Pretty good food, had better though not in Raleigh.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Waiter and service outstanding. Owner/Chef was very friendly and fabulous at his profession.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Saint Jacques is elegant cuisine (French) served in an intimate and quiet atmosphere. The service is impeccable. the food is very very fine. The chef takes great pride in serving it to your taste. I highly recommend the experience, especially if your love Paris.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.