About Saddle Peak Lodge

419 Cold Canyon Rd.
Calabasas, CA 91302
View Larger Map

Saddle Peak Lodge, where rustic ambiance meets a sophisticated palate.

The former hunting lodge maintains a warm and rustic décor, featuring two fireplaces, outdoor dining, and views from the second- and third-floor rooms.

Chef Adam Horton prepares contemporary American comfort food with an emphasis on hearty wild game, fish, & seasonal ingredients, and welcomes you to try the 7 course Chef's Tasting menu, with optional hand-selected wine pairings.

To complement the food, the wine list includes American boutique wines difficult to find on many other lists. Our bartenders prepare classic and old-fashioned cocktails as well as modern versions of the classics. We invite you to come to our wine and scotch dinners and beer luncheons, which have received rave reviews.

Whether you are a meat eater, fish lover, beer drinker, wine aficionado or a Scotch enthusiast, Saddle Peak Lodge is just minutes away, but a world apart.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: Happy Hour 5-6 PM, Dinner 5-9 PM
Saturday: Dinner 5-10 PM
Sunday: Brunch 10:30 AM - 2 PM, Dinner 5-9 PM

Cross Street:
Piuma Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 222-3888

Website:
http://www.saddlepeaklodge.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot available

Executive Chef:
Adam Horton

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful and secluded location, paired with our award-winning cuisine, service, and rustic decor make Saddle Peak Lodge an ideal venue for any occasion. Pricing is based on a site fee and food and beverage minimum which vary depending on the day of the week and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Bourgholtzer: (818) 222-3888 ext. 14

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer four unique private rooms and three lush patios including our wedding ceremony site overlooking the canyon hills. Our distinctive menu choices and unique decor make our restaurant the perfect location for your next special event.

Saddle Peak Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Worth the Drive (51)
See All
Romantic (48)
Good for a Date (40)
Historic (39)
Authentic (37)
Fireplace (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Cozy (36)
Tasting Menu (36)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Scenic View (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2083 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and ambiance and service are al ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and ambiance and service are always excellent here! We love it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Organic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saddle peak on line valentine day promot ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Saddle peak on line valentine day promotion was misrepresented as a $65 prefix tasting menu or regular menu ordering. However, when arriving , we told that was actually for their other restaurant and had to pay a prefix menu for $145 without any other options. When raised to management this issue, we were told they would not honor what was presented on line and offered no meal alternative even when we shown them their own web page. Being on valentine day, we had no other options. This ruined our evening and felt taken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Normally Saddle Peak is of the highest q ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Normally Saddle Peak is of the highest quality. Perhaps it was their anticipation of a crazy Valentines Day evening. The normally excellent food (particularly the main course Elk and Rib) tasted like it had been reheated. REALLY SUB PAR for Saddle Peak. At $145 set price per person for the evening the value was way off. Dinner for just three of us with corkage and a couple cocktails and tip was approximately $700. If the meal had been stunning we would not have felt disappointed. "C" minus at best. (The service was A++ as always...). Will definitely take a break before returning. A shame.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Outstanding. A world class restaurant tu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding. A world class restaurant tucked in the hills of Calabasas. Though vegans may be turned off.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding! Gloria- Hostess was amazin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding!

Gloria- Hostess was amazing!

Michael- Server was the best!

Thank you Saddle Peak Lodge, spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special experience. One of the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a special experience. One of the best and most consistent restaurants in southern California.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner. ..perfect service. ..very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner. ..perfect service. ..very pleased

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I literally love it here.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I literally love it here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoy the food and decor at th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I really enjoy the food and decor at this restaurant! The place has several levels and a rustic lodge appeal. The elk is amazing; I recommend the Chef's game trio (and make it a Quattro). The second time I went the service was slow and my waiter was not particularly knowledgeable, but I am assuming it was just an off night. Recommend for a nice date night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great time with the only exception being ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great time with the only exception being the desserts. Food was very unusual & very good for the most part--as was the ambiance. I would highly recommend the lodge for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Booked a table here for a special occasi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Booked a table here for a special occasion. It's valet parking ($6) despite being in the middle of nowhere. We were greeted warmly and sat in the corner. We were left menus but not a drinks menu. It took a long time for the waiter to come and take our drink order but we had to ask for the drink menu. I also asked for their supper menu as advertised prominently on their homepage. This looked to be a good value option. The waiter came back and said he didn't think they were doing the supper menu today. I challenged him and he simply shrugged and said sorry, just al a carte today. I checked the website and the homepage said it was served on the day we were there. However I did note that the menu section said it wasn't available so I am partially responsible for the mix up for sure, but their own website contradicts itself and we didn't appreciate the way we were spoken to and their lack of willingness to accommodate us. We decided to leave without ordering because we didn't like the attitude of staff. After twenty minutes we'd only received water and some awkward arguments over the menu. We drove elsewhere and had a lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is always good, not great, at S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food is always good, not great, at Saddle Peak Lodge. If you're looking for ambience and a special feel to the meal, this and Inn of the Seventh Ray are great options. If you're looking for top-caliber food, you can find better spots.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Will definitely be back to try more of t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Will definitely be back to try more of their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday with frien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday with friends and we really enjoyed ourselves. The food was fantastic! The Pork Belly appetizer is the best; although it's on the Tasting Menu, ask them to make it appetizer style. The pork chop is super moist and flavorful. The people are very friendly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Elk was outstanding. Our waiter coul ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Elk was outstanding. Our waiter could not have been better and made us feel extra special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Saddle Peak Lodge is a rustic settin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Saddle Peak Lodge is a rustic setting with unique wild game offerings in addition to standard American cuisine. The setting is quiet and off the beaten path. The evening is memorable and the tables are spaced for private conversation. We started with the apple salad and we tried the elk tenderloin, chicken and trout. A great diversity and all were pleased. We ended with latte, cappuccino, and coffee and shared the brownie dessert. Fantastic food, great service, fun way to celebrate as a family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here is outstanding with a menu fil ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food here is outstanding with a menu filled with unusual entrees. My elk tenderloin was perfectly cooked and delicious. So was the rainbow trout. Restaurant produced a special annivesary dessert. The wait staff could not have been more accommodating, professional, and caring. Be prepared for a hunting lodge ambiance with trophies on the walls! Oh, and order the trio; I will next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I frequently dine at Sadd ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My husband and I frequently dine at Saddle Peak. It's always a wonderful experience. The food is amazing as well are the people.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard about Saddle Peak Lodge for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had heard about Saddle Peak Lodge for a while and had been really wanting to try it. I was not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing. The only issue I had was the wait time between ordering and when the food actually arrived.

I will definitely be visiting again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous and memorable, as always! This ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fabulous and memorable, as always! This is my favorite restaurant on the planet. Think Daniel Boone meets Ralph Lauren.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very unique dining experience in the h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A very unique dining experience in the hills of Calabasas. Felt like going back in time, yet five star gourmet restaurants did not exist back then - so then some fusion of the past and present. Enjoy and give your self plenty of time.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as nice and wonderful as the last s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Just as nice and wonderful as the last several visits. Would happily recommend Saddle Peak to everyone.

Dusty Schulz

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We took advantage of the DineLA menu and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We took advantage of the DineLA menu and it was outstanding! If you like exotic meats, this is the place to dine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 4th dinner at the Saddle Pe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our 4th dinner at the Saddle Peak Lodge, and it was excellent as always. Their menu is very interesting, and has something for everyone. The service is extraordinary, and while it isn't inexpensive, it is well worth the price of admission.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always spectacular here. I' ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food is always spectacular here. I've tried the tasting menu the supper menu and the LA restaurant week menu and all have been incredibly fabulous and large portions. The service is always wonderful, ( I drink a lot of water so I love that my glass is never even half empty… The attentiveness is much appreciated! ). I love that it's quiet enough to have a proper conversation without shouting like most other restaurants have become. The wine list is wonderful however the last few times we have come, a few wines on the list are not available. The server always provides a lovely recommendation replacement though.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service. Beautiful mountain ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food & service. Beautiful mountain scenery. Wouldn't recommend to vegans because of hunted game decor!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we happened to get lucky and were there ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

we happened to get lucky and were there on dine LA week we were able to sample a little bit of everything the service was excellent and the food amazing to the last bite we all left satisfied and very full but even started us with a little tiny cup of tomato soup that had a little spice to it delicious they were also running a special promotion for their anniversary where we had no corkage fee

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dine LA. Fabulous

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dine LA. Fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing and beautiful place that would m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing and beautiful place that would make the absolute perfect romantic night out. The cuisine is elegant, delicious, and just out right beautiful. It is well worth the money and the ride out there, through the amazing scenery of the green hills and meadows that surround this beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, , Worth the Drive, Historic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as past visits. I don't kno ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not as good as past visits. I don't know if they got a new chef but was unhappy with the food and menu.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

This used to be a place that had great a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This used to be a place that had great ambiance and a unique value. Most recently, new ownership has decided to go " a la carte" so sides now cost you like other over-priced locations like Mastros and Ruth's Chris.

Oh well.... It was good while it lasted....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious food, delicious wine.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Delicious food, delicious wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything except the chairs which ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Loved everything except the chairs which are pretty uncomfortable. Need to be refurbished to all lumbar support.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Saddle Peak lodge is a local treasure. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Saddle Peak lodge is a local treasure. Been many times throughout the years, and it is always an amazing and unique dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an upscale restaurant and deserv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is an upscale restaurant and deserves its praises. The food is fantastic and the service is very good. The ambiance is very rustic--it's in a large cabin, which is very charming. If I could afford it, I would eat there often. But it is very expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The setting is beautiful and the food an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The setting is beautiful and the food and service were excellent. It is not necessarily for everyday dining and best left for special occasions or visits. We had out of country guests and it was a wonderful place to share a little of our city in a beautiful setting.....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Saddle Peak Lodge ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been going to Saddle Peak Lodge for many years on my birthday. The food and service up to now has always been top notch. While the food was as good as it ever has been this last time, the service was lacking. We ordered cocktails to start and they took a very long time to be served. My wife wouldn't even order a 2nd out of fear it would arrive after we had finished our meal. When we got our meal the waiter never came to check on us. Worse, though, was that we put on the reservation it was my birthday, the restaurant called to confirm our reservation and we reiterated that it was my birthday, however they forgot it was my birthday when we dined there! The desert came without the usual candle and "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate on the plate, our waiter made a lame excuse then went to the kitchen to bring a plate with a scoop of ice cream on it. Less than stellar service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

It has been a while since I've been to S ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It has been a while since I've been to Saddle Peak Lodge but the food was of the same quality. We had the Dine L.A. menu which was not only a great value but provided a very tasty meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Try to game trio! My favorite was the em ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Try to game trio! My favorite was the emu. Everything we are was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This place is a gem! You have to love m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place is a gem! You have to love meat or at least curious to try different types of meat. You won't find salt or pepper on the table because they cook to perfection. Saddle Peak Lodge has been here forever for a reason......Very cool setting and fantastic food!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.