About Sacks Cafe

328 G Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Sacks Cafe is a modern restaurant offering both adventurous and soulful comfort foods with a modernist approach. A chef-driven restaurant focusing on sustainability and local food production. Our full-bar offers an assortment of House-Crafted Cocktails and a heavy hitting wine list to appeal to all wine lovers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Lunch Friday - 11:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch Saturday 9:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-4022

Website:
http://sackscafe.com/

Catering:
Sacks is available for off site catering. Please see our web site for our catering menu. Sacks is also avaiable for private parties.

Parking Details:
Downtown parking on the streets. There is a paid parking behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Shana Whitlock

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant may be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Shana Whitlock: 907-274-4022x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
  • Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
  • Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
  • Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
  • Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK
Saks - Sacks Cafe, Anchorage, AK

Sacks Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
See All
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
11 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sacks has an upscale yet comfy vibe. I ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sacks has an upscale yet comfy vibe. I love the ambiance and the food was delicious and the portion sizes were great, just the right size for a meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I came with my family for brunch on Satu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I came with my family for brunch on Saturday and was really disappointed with the service! I had made a reservation well in advance and it took a while to get seated and once we ordered food it took 45 mins to come. Our server was rude and didn't even offer us bread for waiting so long which I saw other tables had! Food was good once it arrived but you need need to step up your service! Very disappointing!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Its been a while since I've been to Sack ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Its been a while since I've been to Sacks but I used to go somewhat frequently. They have changed their menu and the portion sizes I feel dramatically. Wasn't impressed. They no longer carry the ham and olive sandwich which I pretty much got all the time. They food was great don't get me wrong but not sure ill be going back anytime soon with their less option menu and small sized plates.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A delicious meal. We had the bone marrow ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A delicious meal. We had the bone marrow, bacon and apple salad, vegetable tart and the ribeye. Everything was wonderful. I will definetly go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for Birthday celebration with 3 fri ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Went for Birthday celebration with 3 friends. Very pleasant evening spent dining at Sacks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Sunday morning just as they ope ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Downtown Sunday morning just as they opened...good breakfast...good service...very comfortable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I visit Sack's annually a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I visit Sack's annually as our anniversary treat. It never fails to live up to the anticipation. I cook a fair amount myself, and the joy of eating out for me is to eat a meal that reaches above the level I am cooking at- either because of unusual ingredients, or work of preparation, or simply a new twist that I hadn't thought of. Having said that, one of the things that I value most in Sack's is the use of fresh, local-if-possible, ingredients. Identifying beef as grass-fed or the origins of the seafood is a critical component for me, and also for the flavor of the meal as the quality goes up.

Having said this, my husband is almost oblivious to all those things, and adores eating at Sack's. Years ago this restaurant marked the first time we went out to eat together and he "got" why it was worth the extra cost to eat out. He happily anticipates our yearly sojourn there as much as I do. An added bonus is the support from staff, everything from choosing a wine to letting us linger over dessert and conversation. I highly recommend this restaurant for anything from girl's night out to a romantic anniversary dinner. Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were out on date night. ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I were out on date night... We arrived couple of minutes late for our reservation, waited about 5 mins to check in (which is not bad). After we got to our table, our server was nowhere to be seen, after 15 mins we asked the host for Jack, our server. He arrived 3-4 mins later. We ordered food and drinks (just a beer). It was another 15 mins or so until we got the beer. My husband ordered the wild boar and it was AMAZING. I ordered the Alaskan cod and it was way overcooked. The fish was actually tough, but flavors were very nice. Black rice on the other hand lacked any flavor. We were not as satisfied as we hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Usually the dining experience at Sacks i ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Usually the dining experience at Sacks is just that an experience, we rely on Sacks to be good food, good friendly service, and enjoyable pre-show dining location. Firstly, they were under-staffed, two wait staff trying to handle the restaurant pre-show was not enough. We got a "special" show menu when seated, it was a shortened version of the regular menu, nothing notable. Food took a while to arrive, service was very slow (we arrived 2 hours before showtime, just ordered a main course and got our check 20 minutes before curtain). The table next to us still had not gotten our food when we left.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We were there prior to a show. The menu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were there prior to a show. The menu was very limited i.e. on the entrée the only meat was a hamburger.

Our waitress appeared distracted or perhaps she had too many tables to wait on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We enjoyed a lovely meal: wonderful food ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely meal: wonderful food, attentive staff but not intrusive staff, better than usual wall art--all round great experience. Thanks, Sacks!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.