Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Sacks Cafe

Sacks Cafe is a modern restaurant offering both adventurous and soulful comfort foods with a modernist approach. A chef-driven restaurant focusing on sustainability and local food production. Our full-bar offers an assortment of House-Crafted Cocktails and a heavy hitting wine list to appeal to all wine lovers.

328 G Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Lunch Friday - 11:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch Saturday 9:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-4022

Website:
http://sackscafe.com/

Catering:
Sacks is available for off site catering. Please see our web site for our catering menu. Sacks is also avaiable for private parties.

Parking Details:
Downtown parking on the streets. There is a paid parking behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Shana Whitlock

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant may be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Shana Whitlock: (907) 274-4022

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sacks Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fun (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Sunday brunch spot with attentive service, good food and mimosas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Great dining. Get it while it lasts
..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place the best restaurant I have been to since coming to Alaska.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Healthy, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

After service offered accolades about cooks and chefs they didn't cook a ribeye medium well as requested. Meat quality was medium, too much hard fat. Not a value for the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wow. Underwhelming. Service spotty. Wasn't even busy. Food was so so, and not much of it. The highlight was the wine flight- excellent! Sadly, it used to be one of my favorite go- tos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Sack's consistently delivers quality food with responsive service. I regularly eat there for special occasions or for no special reason at all. I love the tomato soup.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

overpriced; menu could use some more moderately priced options and vegan choices;
food good, but not spectacular especially given the prices and small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Wonderful for downtown workers of residents. Excellent menu and service. I recommend Sack's to tourists.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I usually love Sacks Cafe for lunch with my neighbor, but despite making a reservation through Open Table for 2 pm., when we arrived, we were told the restaurant had stopped serving for the day. The server who met us at the front was shocked that I had been able to make a reservation for a time when the place was closed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent lunch menu. The salmon tacos, yum. The pecan pie bread pudding fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 22, 2017

A once admirable place has seemingly changed ownership and direction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had a lovely meal accompanied by delicious wine--and that is always the case at Sacks Cafe. The service was excellent, and we were the last to leave: delicioius food, delightful conversation, and good friends--a winning combination. We will happily "do Sacks again."

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food - would go back in a second!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful meal and great friendly service! The servers were without a bartender and so were frantically trying to cover everyone and they did a great job.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 13, 2017

First time reservation for me ( favored place of another person in our party). All 4 of us loved our meals, the staff was wonderful.
Only issue- we ate early, very few people in the restaurant, however a large party was seated right next to us while many other tables remained vacant during our entire visit. Would have been easier to visit if there would have been space between us

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great place for a friendly get together or a business lunch. Wonderful ambiance, food, and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sacks has changed. Service was slow, slow, slow. It took almost an hour to get our food. Drink orders were also not promptly taken or served. This used to be my favorite "go to" Anchorage restaurant. There are many restaurants in downtown to choose from. Unless they quickly recognize prompt, friendly service is essential to their survival, their future may be in jeopardy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had to leave at eight before planned because of a loud DJ someone thought was a good idea.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Delicious salmon dish, cooked just right. Food is always very good here, plus each dish has a bit of uniqueness to it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This restaurant might be the worst kept secret in Anchorage. A friend who's a chef in Seattle recommended it and we've been twice when passing through town on business. I'm not sure the cruise ship crowd who're starting to appear appreciate this gem for what it is, but as a resident of Alaska it's nice to know there's a place in Anchorage besides Orso to go for excellent fare, terrific service and portions that don't look like they were designed for a size zero. We're sold!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were one of the first parties after opening at 5. We tasted 2 different wines. Two of us had lamb ribs, and two of us vegetarian puff pastry dishes. They were good. It was nice to sit by the window, and enjoy a sunny day.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a Lobster Napoleon for an appetizer. The portion although pricey was very small, one small bite for 3 people. Halibut was not seasoned well, very little taste. Salmon dish was very good and Rib eye steak was cooked correctly and was tender.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is great, but the portions are quite small. The service is good, but very understaffed--it appeared that our server did the seating, bar-tending, and food ordering/delivery for most of the main restaurant, with one other server working in the bar area. Thus, service was quite slow. Lovely ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had not dined at Sacks in quite awhile. The starter menu was surprisingly diverse and we all found something to enjoy--though some of the portions were pretty small. The crab for example. For dinner we had healthy options, one of us fish, one of us chicken and the other two had salads--also small. But, all of it was very tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service is outstanding, food is AMAZING.
Great for a first date.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have been coming to Sacks since it was on 5th Avenue. This latest visit felt different. The service was sporadic. The food was still quite good, though we missed some of the staples from the brunch menu. This is very picky, but I felt the wait staff wearing tight jeans and a shirt that showed her back when she bent toward the table was quite unprofessional. In the future, we may look at other options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We went to Sacks for dinner before a show at the Alaska Center for Performing Arts. All I can say is thank god we showed up early for our reservation because we were sitting for an hour before our food came out. The server barely checked in on us. The food was ok but there are way better places downtown to eat that have way better food and much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It took way too long for the food to arrive (about an hour), which is way too long for lunch, and there were no special requests and it did not seem busy. Food was okay; nothing special. Service was okay; seemed nervous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I have eaten at Sacks many, many times over the years. Recently, the ownership changed hands. It still offers great food and a quiet atmosphere for lunch and dinner. Under the retired owner, there was a daily printed menu with slight food changes offered. I didn't notice if the new owners did the same with their menu. Soon, the outdoor seating will be set up on the sidewalk outside. They have remodeled the bar area. The bar area was nice before and it is nice now. I like how the restaurant is laid out. The bar area is on one side of a 3/4 wall/divider and the other tables on the other side making it more quiet. There are bright windows in the front of the place to let natural light in.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was plain. Had high expectations and was very disappointed. Food was raw and had to be sent back. Meat was in a bowl and very unmanageable to cut food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch and everything about our experience was outstanding - the ambience, service, value and, most importantly, the food. My husband had eggs Benedict and said they were the best he's ever had. I had the Mina's and it was delicious. We will definitely be returning and will recommend to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Sack's is one of our favorite places for a comfortable dinner experience, especially before a performance at the ACPA. We have always been served promptly and have never had to rush to make showtime. The food is consistently delicious and creative and we enjoy the fact that the menu offers such a variety of dishes. The presentation is great! The restaurant has always been able to accommodate for food allergies, so the experience is very positive for all in our party. We hope that Sack's continues to offer Anchorage customers such a wonderful option for dining out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Cheryl is our favorite server and gave us great service and attention. Food as usual was excellent especially the seafood Neapolitan and the salmon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive without hovering. We had made a reservation with 2 additional diners who ended up not being able to make it, but the waitress was understanding. The food, coffee, and freshly squeezed orange juice were delicious and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love the food at Sacks and usually the service but this last time we didn't feel taken care of and it seemed one server was serving the entire place. We sat for long periods of time without being attended to. At the end of our brunch a large group of girls came in which made it very loud but the mimosas are always fresh!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very disappointed in the "new" Sacks. Had breakfast on Sunday. The menu has taken a dramatic turn, and not in a positive direction. We were very surprised by the reduced options. When the meal did arrive, the grease pooled on the plates. We inquired about the 5-6 Loud beeps that would occur every 5-10 minutes and was told motion detector alarm could not be deactivated as only the owner had the key code and they were not available.
The Staff was incredible at tentative, empathetic and attempted to in every way possible to improve upon our experience. The staff was the best element of our family Sunday brunch. Certainly sorry to see this development at Sacks. A family favorite for years.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have eaten at Sacks twice before a show. The waitstaff is conscientious about timing. Our server was very attentive and friendly. Our food was excellent on our first visit, but only average the second time. Still, we'll go back. Possibly we had an off night in what we selected.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a very good place to have an excellent meal. The food, & service is always excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My husband and I dined there on Sunday evening with another couple that had come to visit from North Pole. None of us enjoyed the food or the atmosphere. Our waitress was attentive but there were only one or two other tables to be waited on. We will not be back and we will not refer our friends to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent brunch, charming atmosphere and always great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.