Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Sacks Cafe

Sacks Cafe is a modern restaurant offering both adventurous and soulful comfort foods with a modernist approach. A chef-driven restaurant focusing on sustainability and local food production. Our full-bar offers an assortment of House-Crafted Cocktails and a heavy hitting wine list to appeal to all wine lovers.

328 G Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Lunch Friday - 11:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch Saturday 9:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch Sunday 9:00am - 2:30pm + Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-4022

Website:
http://sackscafe.com/

Catering:
Sacks is available for off site catering. Please see our web site for our catering menu. Sacks is also avaiable for private parties.

Parking Details:
Downtown parking on the streets. There is a paid parking behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Shana Whitlock

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant may be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Shana Whitlock: (907) 274-4022

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sacks Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vegan (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I have eaten at Sacks many, many times over the years. Recently, the ownership changed hands. It still offers great food and a quiet atmosphere for lunch and dinner. Under the retired owner, there was a daily printed menu with slight food changes offered. I didn't notice if the new owners did the same with their menu. Soon, the outdoor seating will be set up on the sidewalk outside. They have remodeled the bar area. The bar area was nice before and it is nice now. I like how the restaurant is laid out. The bar area is on one side of a 3/4 wall/divider and the other tables on the other side making it more quiet. There are bright windows in the front of the place to let natural light in.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It took way too long for the food to arrive (about an hour), which is way too long for lunch, and there were no special requests and it did not seem busy. Food was okay; nothing special. Service was okay; seemed nervous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was plain. Had high expectations and was very disappointed. Food was raw and had to be sent back. Meat was in a bowl and very unmanageable to cut food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch and everything about our experience was outstanding - the ambience, service, value and, most importantly, the food. My husband had eggs Benedict and said they were the best he's ever had. I had the Mina's and it was delicious. We will definitely be returning and will recommend to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sack's is one of our favorite places for a comfortable dinner experience, especially before a performance at the ACPA. We have always been served promptly and have never had to rush to make showtime. The food is consistently delicious and creative and we enjoy the fact that the menu offers such a variety of dishes. The presentation is great! The restaurant has always been able to accommodate for food allergies, so the experience is very positive for all in our party. We hope that Sack's continues to offer Anchorage customers such a wonderful option for dining out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cheryl is our favorite server and gave us great service and attention. Food as usual was excellent especially the seafood Neapolitan and the salmon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive without hovering. We had made a reservation with 2 additional diners who ended up not being able to make it, but the waitress was understanding. The food, coffee, and freshly squeezed orange juice were delicious and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love the food at Sacks and usually the service but this last time we didn't feel taken care of and it seemed one server was serving the entire place. We sat for long periods of time without being attended to. At the end of our brunch a large group of girls came in which made it very loud but the mimosas are always fresh!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very disappointed in the "new" Sacks. Had breakfast on Sunday. The menu has taken a dramatic turn, and not in a positive direction. We were very surprised by the reduced options. When the meal did arrive, the grease pooled on the plates. We inquired about the 5-6 Loud beeps that would occur every 5-10 minutes and was told motion detector alarm could not be deactivated as only the owner had the key code and they were not available.
The Staff was incredible at tentative, empathetic and attempted to in every way possible to improve upon our experience. The staff was the best element of our family Sunday brunch. Certainly sorry to see this development at Sacks. A family favorite for years.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have eaten at Sacks twice before a show. The waitstaff is conscientious about timing. Our server was very attentive and friendly. Our food was excellent on our first visit, but only average the second time. Still, we'll go back. Possibly we had an off night in what we selected.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always a very good place to have an excellent meal. The food, & service is always excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My husband and I dined there on Sunday evening with another couple that had come to visit from North Pole. None of us enjoyed the food or the atmosphere. Our waitress was attentive but there were only one or two other tables to be waited on. We will not be back and we will not refer our friends to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent brunch, charming atmosphere and always great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Prompt, regular but not intrusive service; we both ordered the braised oxtail which came with risotto and a root vegetable. It fell off the bone and was delicious. We shared an apple tart a la mode for desert and it was quite good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good pre-theatre (PAC show). Convenient access to PAC

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Snow city had a 45 minute wait so we walked 5 mins to this place. Zero wait, great service and the food was much better than I've gotten at snow city. This place will be my new "first choice"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Good service although waiter had to be asked for the usual carafe of iced tea, twice. Menu has changed little in decades, though that is one reason why I continue to go there as I have my favorite dishes. Two larger rather raucous groups raised the sound and the music was annoying and too loud.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great evening for a medium-size group. Everyone enjoyed their dishes and wine. This get-together may only happen once a year, but we always try to come back here for it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was great - I had the Shrimp and Chicken Udon Noodles and my friend had the Rice Bowl. Both awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Meh. I've gone multiple times and I'm not impressed. Lacking ambiance and the food is just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service started out OK but soon got really slow and it was not all that busy. Plus a family came in after us and got their food before we did. Also there were four of us and three of us got our food and the fourth had to wait to get served soup. It is tough to wait for the fourth person, finally the fourth person said it was OK for us three to start eating.
The flank steak I had with my Caesar salad was full of fat. However, it had a great taste. The other three said their food was great.
Of all the times I have gone to Sacks over the years this was the worst service I have ever had. I do like the ambience and the wine list is good, but expect to pay for good wine.
My wife and I had purchased a gift certificate to Sacks at a local fundraiser for a charity and used it for this meal with friends. We appreciate the owner(s) of Sacks supporting local charities.
We will continue to come to Sacks on an infrequent basis and hope the service is better next time.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Booked through open table showed up on time Ana never got sat. We ended up just walking out. There didn't seem to be a manager or enough staff but there were several empty tables. What a waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We haven't been to Sacks since they changed hands. We both had the salmon entree and the salmon was done properly and was tasty. Cheryl our server was a wonderful person.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife and I had the Code entrée for dinner prior to going to the Melodrama at a different venue. The service was prompt and polite. The entrée was done very well. The code was fresh, it flaked and it was very hot. The environment of the restaurant is pleasant, relaxing and casual. Overall, we had a very dinner at Sacks and highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner so the place was very busy. We've eaten here before several times and have always enjoyed the food. Service is great, with knowledgeable and friendly wait staff. Tonight I had to send my entree back for more heat. I think it had sat out too long before being brought out. My wife's was not hot either. They were prompt and apologetic. Also, the crab won ton appetizer was way overpriced for what you got. We'd expected something we could split and enjoy before dinner. Hardly enough for one bite. For $15 it was not a bargain. Overall, the flavor of the food was great, and perhaps having to send the entree back may have been due to how busy it was. We'll go back and give it another shot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a Valentine's dinner at sacks for the first time. Even though we had a reservation, we had to wait around 20 minutes. Not super unusual, but still a bad start. All other tables received a flower, except us. Other tables received bread, except us. The waitress checked on us only 4 times (drinks, order, food, check). Finally the food was pretty bad. Rice lacked all flavor and the lamb was poorly flavored and overcooked. For the price, there are much better options in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was terrible. The server was not attentive at all. She forgot to bring our appetizer, didn't refill our water glasses, left us for long periods of time (thus we only had one drink all evening). We asked to order a bottle of wine before dinner was served, but the server never returned before dinner was brought out -by someone from the kitchen staff. My wife's steak was cold and the server came to our table to check on the meal five minutes after it was brought out. Too late to order wine and not worth sending back to reheat!

Not a good valentines day experience.

I believe Sack's is a nice restaurant and this evening was a one off experience, mostly due to the server, but we won't be back for a long time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was extremely slow, beyond a Valantine day expected casual pace. 15 minutes before someone came and asked if we wanted a drink, another 15 minutes to order. Caesar salad seamed as though it had commercial grade dressing appearance and flavor profile, Wild Boar was very chewy/tough although flavor and appearance was very good. Been a while since we had dined here, not interested in coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food is excellent but the service for brunch Once again did not match the quality of the food. One of our party did not get the correct order, but the waiter was both pleasant and apologetic and corrected the problem quickly. Still, the order was not so complicated that it should not have been correct the when served.

There was also a large and very loud party of millennial women who frankly made our conversation almost impossible. No one from Sacks asked them to settle down. However, when we finally asked that they speak more quietly they complied immediately. I understand that it could be awkward for the restaurant staff to intercede, but not doing anything required that as other diners we had to take matters into our own hands. Awkward!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner with coworkers. Food was wonderful

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Sacks for years. We never made it to the ordering our food phase. We walked out. The waitress looked like she just rolled out of bed and threw on what was laying on the floor. Her shirt was wrinkled and dirty and when my wife asked about the soup, she could not remember , and finally said she forgot. The Menu has changed and we felt that Bone Marrow on Toast Points was a turnoff. What the hell happened? It was such a great place and I'm sorry but us and our friends will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Sacks was excellent! We were the only ones in the restaurant and got personalized service. It was one of the best dining experiences I have had in many years! Thank you for a great evening and wonderful food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had a great time sharing good food with my husband.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Sack's is always a good choice for downtown dining. The menu is eclectic so you never know what's being served, but it always is good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a fabulous time. We were grateful to chef and the staff for allowing us to have the speciality cheese plate even though we missed the event the night before. You will never go wrong coming here for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have been regular customers at Sacks Cafe and wanted to return to see if the restaurant has retained its quality after a recent change in ownership. The food is still good, as is the service. However, there is a new menu and the prices have gone up significantly since last year. We found the portions to be rather spartan for the prices quoted. The appetizer we ordered, triple cream brie, was excellent, but again the portion was very small (barely enough for one person). The cod that two of us ordered was either over cooked or not as fresh as it could have been, but it is the middle of January. One person ordered the Udon noodles and commented that it was quite good (as we expected, since this dish has been on the menu for many years), but again, the portion was smaller than in the past. I ordered the raviolis, which came in a rich, tasty, but thin sauce that was delicious. However, the portion was again on the small side in my opinion. We ordered two deserts; one was very good (panna cotta with pineapple and papaya), and a not-so-good flour-less chocolate cake. The cake was very dry and appeared to be left over from the previous night. The wine we had with our appetizers and with dinner were both very good and reasonably priced. In conclusion, we enjoyed or visit to Sacks Cafe, but we felt that the increase in prices and the decrease in portion size were detrimental to our returning in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

routinely have FRESH local fish/beef/pork etc.. Some people try to make it super fancy its good food and normal people.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant that overbooked for people with a deadline for the performing arts center. It is no fun to wonder if you are going to be able to stay for your entree or have to leave to catch the show. We arrived at 6 pm with a reservation, had to gobble our food to make the 8 pm show. Not relaxing at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have always enjoyed having dinner at Sack's before a performance at the PAC. You don't feel rushed, service is good and you are out in plenty of time to make the performance!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Server was wonderful. Food was delicious. We thought we didn't get much quantity for the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.