Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Sabrosa

Sabrosa's kitchen offers guests the opportunity to enjoy recipes rooted in culture and brimming with authentic Mexican flavors. Influenced by Jose's experience growing up on his family’s farm in Guanajuato, Mexico, each dish is prepared with ingredients derived from the organic and sustainable agricultural bounty of Northern California.

From the bar guests can indulge in simple and seasonal cocktails made to compliment Jose's dishes. Sabrosa's bar program is lead by mixology veteran Matt Stanton, and offers a variety of hand crafted cocktails and margaritas, an expansive beer and wine list, and over 24 thoughtfully selected tequilas and mezcals.

3200 Fillmore St.
San Francisco, CA 94123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday, 12pm to 3:30pm
Limited Menu: Monday-Sunday, 3:30pm to 5:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday, 5:30pm to 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday and & Saturday, 5:30pm to 11pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 3:30pm
Bar: Monday, 4pm to 2am & Tuesday-Sunday, 12pm to 2am

Cross Street:
Greenwich

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 638-6500

Website:
http://www.sabrosasf.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking available. Parking garage located off Webster and Lombard enter off Webster.

Executive Chef:
Jose Ramos

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Sabrosa can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Sabrosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.6

ambience

3.4

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

41% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Bar Seating (4)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Good for a Date (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The music and drunk crowd were so loud, we had to yell to each other across a 4-person table to be heard. The guacamole portion is tiny and is full of cucumbers, which is odd and not on the menu. The food is decent, but not anything amazing - not worth dealing with that environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Made a reservation at Sabrosa for Cinco De Mayo. Upon arrival the entire restaurant had been turned into a bar with very loud music and dancing in the middle. There were a few dinner tables pushed to the sides that were reserved. One of these tables was ours (right next to a loud speaker). This made for a terrible experience of having to yell across the dinner table to friends, feeling rushed, and being ran into by drunk people dancing. It would have been nice to know when calling to make the reservation that they had plans to turn the restaurant into a full on bar/dance party by 745pm. I would have never gone there had I known.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have dined here before and had a delicious dinner. This time however the food was slow to arrive, not very tasty and the service was sporadic. We were a party of six so the gratuity was automatically added to the bill. Maybe that is why the server didn't feel the need to be attentive to us.
I think they are more intere$ted with the cocktail crowd than the dinners. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service was so-so and the food was bland. Was expecting much more based upon previous reviews.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The cocktails were good and the food was okay but service ruined the experience for us. My friend ordered a gin martini and ended up with vodka. We ordered guac as an app, which never showed up. And when my fajitas came, I got a side dish of rice and beans dumped all over me. And throughout this whole process our server was super inattentive and we had to ask at the end he comp a couple things because of everything that happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were very disappointed given open table ratings. While our server was super nice and friendly, the food just wasn't very good. The steak tacos were just plain bad. This is more a bar that serves food, evidenced by the huge tv that towers over all the seating.

At least they have a happy hour menu though dinner for 4 was still $100 including 1 beer. It didn't help that guac and chips was $11.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food we were able to get was great, but I was looking forward to several dishes from the menu on their website. I wad told every dish I wanted was from LAST season. IF they're a seasonal restaurant they should update their website menu when seasonal menu changes.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food is unique and absolutely wonderful I have not had a OK thing it's always been outstanding. Try the sangria everything is homemade

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Thought this was an "upscale mexican restaurant" as descibed. It's a bar. Very very loud music and patrons, which is totally fine, and would come back for that kind of thing. Not really an upscale restaurant at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The hostess & server gave us little to no attention which was a huge bummer. I've been to Sabrosa over 10 times and never have had such bad service

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had high hopes for this place given the reviews but the veggie food we ordered was very ordinary and that's being generous. The service was good and the drinks were good but lack of complementary chips and salsa at a.restaurant in.this price range is unexpected. We did order chips and guacamole but nothing to write home about. The only saving grace was a well made house margarita and friendly service. We won't be repeating when there are so many better options.available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was horrible, bland, and overpriced. Bartenders were rude and server didn't even know what the items on the menu were. Ordered a beer before dinner and 20 minutes later it still hadnt arrived to our table. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I made a reservation for Friday afternoon at 1 PM for a graduation lunch for a large group of 14 people. I even spoke to a restaurant hostess about the reservation but at no time did anyone tell me that Sabrosa doesn't even open until 3 PM on Fridays!!! We arrived as a huge group to closed doors and had to improvise a new option.

Sabrosa definitely dropped the ball on that, they should keep their reservation info AND employees better informed!! Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

WWAAYYY TOO LOUD. WILL NOT RETURN

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food tasty however expensive for portion size. Way too noisy inside to enjoy a relaxing Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall good experience. We walked into the restaurant with a big party and a reservation at 8:30PM. Our table was set and ready. However, the music inside was SO loud. For reference, I am 28 years old... and it was way too loud even for me! We asked if they could turn it down, and they said they could not. Rubbed us the wrong way BUT they set up a beautiful table for us outside and we really enjoyed the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food and atmosphere was great! Awesome Halloween decorations. Service could be better, our waitress seemed annoyed at our big party the whole time.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This particular Sunday, it was not a good place to bring kids. There was a DJ and the noise level was deafening. I had even called ahead asking if they had a childrens' menu. I could have used a warning.

Otherwise, I've been here on several other occasions and it's always been a relaxed, comfortable environment. The food is satisfying although on the pricey end. My son was disappointed that we had to purchase chips and salsa for $6.

I will be back - great location, good food, (typically) relaxing environment and friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One thing there was a women that work there , that was super rude ! I think she was the manager.

Tags: Dancing, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sabrosa was fine. There was nothing exceptional there and I had expected more out of the experience. The one real detractor was the club music blaring. Okay, this is Sunday brunch, it might be 11:00am, but people are still waking up and don't want to feel like they're trapped in a club. The service was definitely the high point and I have no complaints there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great for groups! Classic Marina spot with fun drinks and good food. Big screen (projector) when games are on including Sunday football. Reliable!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Portions big enough for two. Nice margheritas. Child's menu, but more a bar for drinks with dj during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Sabrosa accomodated our 20 guests on a Saturday night. We all had a great time, food was good, dj was good. Overall fun birthday dinner experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

And when I say "lazy" I'm referring to the service, which was lackluster. The omelet de queso was perfectly nice, with chile verde salsa whisked in with the egg mixture. The trouble was the distracted servers, plagued with the ennui that comes from tumbling out of a bed to wait on mere mortals on a quiet Sunday morning. As is typical in the area, the cocktail list was long but reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2016

First of all, my margarita and my friends' drinks were delicious. However, I ordered the pollo and chorizo tacos and was not impressed. I can handle somewhat spicy foods and I order chorizo often...but these tacos were so spicy! I couldn't even finish my meal. The atmosphere was cute and we were seated on time for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a group brunch with 8 friends to celebrate a birthday. Food was terrific. For how many people were (or weren't) in there, the service could have been better--but all around it was a good choice for the group for an easygoing Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

We must have been there the wrong day and time. What we read about at Thrill SF website was not at all what we experienced. It was dead, the food was super mediocre and the service spotty. Had to ask for things over and over again.

Unimpressive in a city full of great places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2016

A Mexican restaurant that serves poor guacamole and pico de gallo alongside overpriced cocktails. Better to enjoy Mexican food in the Mission. Not worth the price of admission.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I was extremely disappointed with Sabrosa. We went there for a bachelorette party looking for a fun environment with good food. Unfortunately, we did not get any of that, the service was terrible, the food was bland and we could not hear one another over the extremely loud music. Our waiter was more concerned with chatting with the people at the table next to us, then actually serving us. We had to constantly ask for water and forgotten orders. The food was also disappointing, a few of the girls ordered salads that did not come with ingredients listed on the menu and the tacos were bland. Overall disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Very unique and tasty cocktails and food. Mexican with a spin - Guac had strawberries on top, which were a great touch, and my favorite cocktail was like a margarita with almond liqueur and strawberries.. Very very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Guacamole is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2015

I came here on a Sunday night with some family and friends. We sat around the bar and had some delicious drinks and food! I LOVED the spicy margarita as well as the tacos dorados (The rolled tacos on the app menu). The staff was friendly and the bartender was super attentive (not to mention attractive). I can't wait to go back for the brunch, I've heard it was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2015

The food was good but the pitchers of margaritas were small. We had a last minute birthday dinner here for 11 people. The chairs for the big table were not comfortable. Should add another $.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Ceviche was excellent! Good tacosat least what we tried : pork, beef, chicken, shrimp, veggie. We all loved the foodNoise level was not conducive to any conversation. We opted to eat outside. Thanks gosh for the heaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2015

We arrived at Sabrosa at 7:15 PM for a nice quiet dinner after a memorial. We were met with a crazy loud something disco scene with sports on all TVs. Not a single table set for dinner. Hostess nowhere to be seen in the noise level was off the charts. I called the manager over and explain they should've called us to let us know it was not a restaurant but a blaring disco. Extremely disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2015

The service took forever and they didn't get our order correct. The food was alright, but I think do to the bad service we were already upset with the place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2015

Great brunch. Their drinks are STROOOOOONG

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2015

There was a large group for my birthday, 9 people. We went for brunch on a Sunday and the music was so loud we could only hear the person right next to you. We asked at least 4 times if they could turn it down a notch and was told they couldn't, they did, let me check, yet nothing changed. I'm all for a lively fun environment but it was absurd. The server was less than helpful and the food was subpar. It was really disappointing as I like the spot and I chose it and brought a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2015

Just don't get the negative reviews of Sabrosa. From service, to food, to drinks, can't say enough good things.

First, we hit them with a last minute request for a party of 12. No problem. They have a massive wooden table perfect for a large group. While it was a quiet Monday night, we were easily accommodated.

Service, absolutely no evidence of inattentive service noted in a couple of reviews. Our servers were on their A game. Funny, pleasant and attentive.

Food was great. We had a lot of experienced palates at the table and they all raved about the food. Great fresh guacamole. I think 90% of us had one form of taco or another. They look small but they were actually the perfect serving size. Perfectly prepared and delicious.

Drinks. What is not to like about a great beer selection and individually made margaritas. No blenders and margarita mix here. Each one hand shaken. Loved by all.

Desserts. How good could a churro be, right? Well if there is Churro Nirvana, Sabrosa is the place. Fresh, warm, soft and chewy cinnamon goodness...with ice cream.

If you are in he Marina District and want a really good fix of authentic Mexican...give Sabrosa a shot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2015

The cocktails are amazing and the tacos too.
I'm definitely going back.!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.