Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Rye

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
John Brogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Comfort Food (56)
Local Ingredients (55)
See All
Casual (51)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Business Meals (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Great for Lunch (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Fun (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Romantic (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Seasonal (19)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (16)
Healthy (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great Beer (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (11)
Scenic View (11)
Organic (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Waterfront (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

All entrees we had met or exceeded our expectation. Killer desserts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always a good meal at Rye. The made on site sausage with my brunch was one of the best I’ve ever had. Can’t say enough good things about this restaurant. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The staff at Rye is exceptional. They are knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. And of course, the food is always awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Chicken in the hot wing starters was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Service is wonderful and food is amazing! Only problem is finding a place to park. I had to park really far away.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had the special a shrimp and oyster po' boy. It was as good as any I have sampled in New Orleans. Sorry NOLA. Service has been a bit slow during my past couple of visits at lunch, due in part to how busy they are. Just allow some extra time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We enjoyed everything on our first visit to Rye! The whipped goat cheese was incredible. We stayed with appetizers for our "main meals." The wings were some of the best we've had, and the BBQ shrimp was worth the mess! 😊 We also had a side of mac and cheese that did not disappoint. We finished off with a slice of tart cherry pie with bourbon vanilla ice cream. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I had the salmon and my husband had the fried chicken. Our food was delicious! The waitstaff was awesome! We will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful fried chicken! Mashed potatoes and gravy are really good, also. My husband and I enjoyed drinks before our meal, and we took home the Dixie Pie. We had a wonderful time on our Friday night date night that we have every week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We requested outdoor seating and really happy that we did. The area was very nice and quiet with a nice sofa seating area and TV's along with various tables and chairs. It was our 15th anniversary and we were impressed with the extensive wine and beer list. The bottle of wine we ordered was fantastic as was the food and dessert. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. The overall experience was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Awesome dinner! Our food was fantastic and our waiter was the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Came in for a business lunch and requested a table on the patio, cause it was flipping gorgeous outside. Service was attentive, The Old Square was on point. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always a pleasure to spend another night out at Rye.......wonderful food and service..........our 4 meals that evening were all perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We dined outside, which was probably not the best choice since there were flies out that evening. I found the food to be a bit better than average and pretty pricey.

I would try the restaurant again, but dine inside

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great service. Excellent food. Nice presentation. Be ready to take some of your meal home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was very creative and excellent. Loved the apple donuts!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

All 4 of our group ordered the fried chicken which was great - taste and a huge amount of food. A bit expensive in that everything is ala carte but we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Table was set up and ready, waiter is friendly. Good ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

A little pricey for down home cooking, but totally worth every bite... And the best friend chicken ever is a 110% factual statement!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The server could have been more professional but everything was good.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Rye never disappoints. Food is always fantastic. Great drinks. Attentive service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Thank you. The food was wonderful. I asked for some privacy and you were able to meet my request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Have now dined at Rye several times - disappointed every time. Don't know what all the rave reviews are about. Ordered Philly steak for lunch - so dry, boring. The other persons chicken sandwich looked good She said it was, but nothing to rave about.
Even the lemon pie was a disappointment - what is that meringue- marshmallow? Overwhelmed the lemon. Sorry

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We love Rye. The Hanger steak salad is wonderful. No one can beat their lemon meringue pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love the specialty cocktails and whipped goat cheese!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a place that pleases all the generations and dietary needs at one time. Thanks for being there, Rye!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food is always outstanding! Trying to figure out how the meringue on the lemon pie has that consistency.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was the first time I'd been here for lunch. We were able to enjoy so really good food. Noise level was not too loud so the small meeting at our table was able to happen without any issues. This is a good spot for a business meeting, with good food, good service, and a good design for conversation. Looking forward to bring my wife here for dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We are on the patio. Waiter was a little slow taking our order but once we ordered food arrived quickly. Salads were fresh and tasty. Perfect day to eat outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had a great experience at the bar. Bartenders were very helpful and educated us about several drinks. Dinner was very good. Took advantage of the Sunday prime rib! Waitress very friendly and fast.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We always enjoy Sunday brunch. Wait staff is attentive, food is great! Love the patio area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of my favorites! Great fresh, local food! Great service and atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fabulous dinner. Great wait staff! We had the whipped goat cheese appetizer. The sugar pie for dessert was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The total experience was excellent as usual. Great food, great wine list and awesome deserts!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our go-to out South. Never let's us down. Seasonal farm to table dishes make for interesting sides all year long. Of course the fried chicken, steaks and fish make for epic centers. Service is glue, all these wonderful dishes paired with attentive authentic service.

Tags: Live Sports, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Lovely food and cocktails. My ribeye was done perfectly and the okra/tomato side was just as it should be. Thank you from an okra eater! Jessica was a charming and knowledgeable waitperson. My only suggestion would be to get rid of the TV, but at least it was on a Cardinals game ; )

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I've wanted to try for a while. It's as good as advertised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Good food ....Great place!...Unique american restaurant concept. Very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was good, service was great. Enjoyed our time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food and great service! I got the pan seared white fish it was delicious. Our waiter was very influential and informative of how it was prepared, it came highly recommended and I was so glad that I ordered it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.