Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Rye

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
John Brogan

Private Party Facilities:
Our event coordinator Susan Kane will work closely with you to tailor an event according to your dining preferences and our seasonal menu selections. Rye has several menu formats available for private events ranging from our hors d’ oeuvres selections and sit-down or buffet style menus. Rye has many choices for beverage selections including our complete wine list, beer, and specialty cocktails. Our staff at Rye is dedicated to assisting our clients in their private dining needs.

When requesting more information please email the following details to Susan Kane, at susan@ryekc.com, so that we may better serve your private dining requests:

Name
Telephone Number
Date of Desired Event
Estimated Number of Guests
Reason for the Event

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (79)
Comfort Food (78)
Fit for Foodies (67)
See All
Local Ingredients (67)
Special Occasion (61)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Great for Lunch (51)
Casual (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (49)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Business Meals (39)
Great for Brunch (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Fun (34)
Open Kitchen (31)
Bar Seating (29)
Authentic (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Hot Spot (25)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Cozy (23)
Seasonal (22)
Healthy (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Romantic (20)
Family Style (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great Beer (18)
Organic (15)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Waterfront (9)
Scenic View (8)
Private Room (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 18 hours ago

Dinner and drinks were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

I love this place! From the amazing hand-crafted cocktails, to the farm to table food, they always deliver an amazing dining and drinking experience. This is my go to restaurant in KC.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal. The chicken and dumplings was the best I've had since my grandmother's...light, but creamy at the same time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Typically I would give Rye all 5 stars however on Monday evening we encountered the rudest waiter in the bar I have had in some time. He was short when answering questions about cocktails and literally threw the napkins I had requested at me. A definite attitude adjustment was needed.
Our waitress Katy? was delightful! And as always the food and wine list exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We went on Monday night, steak night. It is an INCREDIBLE value...GREAT food!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

exceptional food!
I ordered the Hanger steak. It was cooked to perfection! Fun spot to eat and drink.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food and fun atmosphere. Good location and easy scvrss.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I've been coming here for the last couple years, whether it be to get together with family or a date. Works every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The very best fried livers & chicken anywhere. Incredible Mac&Cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were in the room to the north. It was freezing. We asked waiter when we sat down if he could do anything about it. He said yes but nothing was done. Food was very slow to be delivered. Someone started putting food on our table but they had the wrong table. I have been to Rye several times. This was my first disappointing experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Rye is quite a ways south of where we live but we were celebrating 3 in our party turning 70 years young and we wanted to try a new place. The food and service were great but the noise level kept us from much conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

As always, Rye was excellent. The service was exceptional and the entree delicious. It's one of the best values for the quality of the meal in town. Don't miss the pie!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great patio facing east (why is it so many outdoor areas face WEST -- who wants to be baked by a summer sun?) with many, many tables. Didn't pay much attention to the interior, as we intended to eat outside, even though it was quite windy that night. Waiter was personable and recommended a morsel mushroom appetizer, which we tried -- OK, but probably should have asked the price in advance -- would not order it again. The shrimp and grits entree was dynamite -- I nibbled even though it wasn't MINE -- and my salmon on wild rice was good but nothing special. Had a chocolate-mint cake for dessert -- good. Drink prices a bit high; some wine prices decent. Pretty good wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

always excellent -- love Monday steak night We have been celebrating birthdays there for a couple of years now!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Late night dining on a Sunday--Mothers Day holiday. My 19 year old son chose Rye to celebrate his birthday because it's his FAV. Perhaps it had been a long day for the staff, but Jesse was clearly over stretched w/the amount of tables she was serving. A bit disappointing because the service is usually top notch. That plus the delicious food, casual comfy atmosphere are why we dine here--4 times this past month! So probably just a fluke, but we wished it had been like it regularly is

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was just marginal. My son ordered Hanger Steak which was good but came without any sides except for sparse salad greens with no dressing. Our table was in the middle of the restaurant so having a conversation was out of the question. This was dinner on Mother's Day so the staff seemed exhausted and not really happy to be there. It will be a while before we try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, ambiance is amazing, Rye does a great job with the setting. Service could be improved, not as attentive as I thought they would be for a party of seven

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and atmosphere was great. Waitress seemed a bit forgetful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took over 45 minutes to get our food after ordering. The GM didn't apologize once and avoided eye contact. Our server was nice, but definitely not the mother's day that we had planned. I think so much of this restaurant and Bluestem. This experience was such a disappointment from a group that typically holds the highest standards, but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing as always! Great food, great service and cocktails to die for! We were lucky enough to enjoy some morels they just happen to be serving over polenta as an appetizer, can't wait to return!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Finally went here for brunch, had the steak and eggs it was amazing! Chimmichurri sauce took it over the top. Service was good and outdoor seating was beautiful especially with nice May weather in KC. Would definitely go again and might try the burnt end hash next time as the guy next to me was raving about it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent cinnamon rolls and pastry options. Chicken salad was great. Daughter had French toast that was light and flavorful

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delicious as usual! Enjoyed the patio as weather amazing and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been dining at Rye since it opened and have never had a complaint! The food is always excellent as well as the service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was great. Attentive without being overbearing. Food was excellent. We had the hush puppies as an appetizer. I had the hanger steak, cooked perfectly. My wife had the shrimp and grits, which she loved with the pulled pork.

We got an added treat listening in on the chef's conversation with a table he was preparing food for. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Friends in town. Best place show off great KC cuisine. Fabulous steaks & pan fried chicken! Great wine list! Well trained staff - excellent service. Never disappoints!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We loved everything about this restaurant. The cocktails were incredible, the fried chicken, perfectly seasoned, coupled with hot sauce and gravy just made it perfect. We also had the mussels and wedge salad. Couldn't have been happier.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have never been disappointed with the food and service at Rye.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Business dinner with coworkers-I ordered the my favorite libation Primm's Cup and other ordered the Desert Rose both very delicious. For starters we ordered the whipped goat cheese to share and our group ordered the fried chicken meal. Good service & good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One of the best dining experiences available in Kansas City. Food, service, ambiance...everything was incredible. Everything is made from scratch and the quality is obvious. Service was spectacular. Rachel took care of us and she was the perfect balance between hospitable, professional, and attentive. Food came out in perfect increments and everything tasted amazing. Cocktails were innovative and tasted great. Extraordinary experience. I would highly reccomend Rye to anyone that enjoys quality food and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The Scottish salmon is the best!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I have eaten at Rye before but the other ladies haven't & went on my recommendation.
I ordered the fried chicken and asked if they would make me a half salad from the salad
choices to go with my entree, the answer was "no".
One piece of chicken had to be sent back as it was burnt and unattractive on my plate.
I asked the person in charge to speak with the owners regarding the salad as policies
can be changed for the customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and good value. The service was top notch. Try the fried chicken.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had rib chops. Not very good. Poor cut of meat. Rye seems to buy cheap red meat and then their cooks don't know what to do with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Waiter was slow to attend and gave too much time before taking orders

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very refreshing meal; tasty, healthy with attentive service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was fantastic. Food delicious. It was a louder than typical, but perhaps that was just that we were seated next to a very large party. Enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was great, food was great, behavior of the children around us was outstanding. It was the behavior of the group of inebriated adults at the next table which was troubling. Our reservation was 5:30 so they must have started early. I am unsure management can do anything about such behavior (unrelenting loud laughter/cackling), but when I am spending $75 for dinner, I don't want to listen to screaming drunk adults.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had the spicy fried chicken. It was delicious. The waitress was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.