Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Rye

Rye, a restaurant celebrating Midwestern recipes, traditions, and culture using local Kansas & Missouri flavors and farmers. Rye restaurant in Leawood, Kansas, just south of Kansas City, celebrates the Midwestern foods that chefs Megan and Colby Garrelts grew up eating. Both of these chefs are proud to be from the Midwest and Rye showcases dishes that they have enjoyed with several generations of their families. Rye pays homage to those heritage dishes that the Midwest is known for like succulent smoked pork chops, aged steaks, bbq ribs, fried chicken, seasonal vegetables from the garden, Parker House rolls, freshly made pies, fruit cobblers, and layer cakes to name a few. The food at Rye takes traditional dishes and gives them a chef’s point of view, while preserving the important heritage of the dish. Chefs Megan and Colby use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and products including produce from their family farm.

10551 Mission Road
Leawood, KS 66206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am-2:30pm
Mid-Day Menu: Monday - Friday 2:30pm-5pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday From 5pm

Cross Street:
Mission Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 642-5800

Website:
http://www.ryekc.com/

Catering:
All catering options are custom packages, please contact susan@ryekc.com for additional information regarding catering options.

Parking Details:
The parking lot at Mission Farms is available to our guests and has plenty of handicap spaces at our front entrance.

Executive Chef:
John Brogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We regularly have special dinners featuring everything from beer and whiskey to our favorite farmers. The details are on our website at www.ryekc.com or on our facebook page, www.facebook.com/ryeks.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rye Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (53)
Good for a Date (53)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Casual (50)
Local Ingredients (47)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Special Occasion (40)
Business Meals (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fun (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Hot Spot (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Romantic (20)
Authentic (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Seasonal (16)
Healthy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great Beer (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
People Watching (10)
Scenic View (9)
Cozy (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Waterfront (6)
Organic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2037 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was slow. More importantly the food was just okay. There is not much value here. They think highly of their main course and give you little or nothing on the side, and if so it's not much, even when included with your entree. My fish was okay, but nothing special. And the rice that was with it was definitely nothing to write home about, I even think it was under cooked. Should rice be crunchy? Better to spend this amount of money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food - great service - noise level annoying. Difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Shared a Half chicken meal (all white meat) with sides of brussel sprouts and mac & cheese. Lemon meringue pie for desert. Everything was cooked to perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I had only been to Rye for lunch before and was anxious to try it out for dinner. Happy to get an outside table - it was a very pleasant evening and, frankly the inside of the restaurant was very noisy and very cold. Our waiter seemed pretty knowledgeable and made some great recommendations - but follow up service was very slow for our drinks and food. Drinks and wine were good; salad and sides were delicious, and my friend's trout was excellent . However the ribeye steak that my husband and I shared, as welll as the ribeye my friend ordered, was nothing short of terrible. For $50 at a restaurant that prides itself on locally grown fare, I expect a pretty darn good steak. I ordered mine medium rare and it was barely seared on the outside and completely raw on the inside. Since my husband and I were sharing, we had cut it in half which is the way that brought it back to the table - I honestly expected a new steak. It was adequately cooked the second time around but it was the toughest steak I've ever ordered in a restaurant. When I mentioned to our waiter that it wasn't really up to par he didn't ask any questions, appogizr or offer another option - he just moved on to dessert and after dinner drinks. Just thought the owners should know - I really expected better food and service from this place. If I go back I surely won't order a steak!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Main dining room very noisy. Back room nice and quiet.
Pumpkin soup the best soup I've ever had...and I don't like pumpkin!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2017

As always Rye did not disappoint. Steak night is phenomenal. You must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service react! Food was great worked with my food allergies! Will go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food was good. The service was perhaps appropriate for the environment - always interesting with your server leads with "And we have no specials" and walks away. We tried both the hanger steak entrees. They were both good. It was seriously packed - tables very close to each other and incredibly loud. I'm not sure if we actually heard each other or not during lunch. The pricing was a bit higher than the quality in my opinion - I did not find the menu incredibly special. For all the discussion about using local seasonal veggies and what not - I think that was probably impossible. It appeared to include completely out of season produce. Not sure where the steak came from - nothing fancy there. It was a decent lunch - I would not recommend due to the noise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Took an hour after ordering for the food to arrive. When it did, it wasn't worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Normally we have a great meal at Rye... But this time my wife's Chicken Salad was not good. The greens were dressed with a cloyingly sweet vinaigrette... And there were potatoes in the salad, and not good ones. Very underseasoned potatoes. My Steak & Eggs was excellent. It's a fabulous restaurant, and we will return, but that chicken salad needs serious recipe revamp!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Sat outside and had a great view of the man-made pond. Great for brunch. The menu is very accessible for many and the ingredients are high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Less than stellar service. Made a reservation for 6 and called to see if I could change to 8 kind of last minute and they couldn’t accommodate which was not a big deal but the guy who answered the phone hung up on me and I needed to call back and make sure I still had at least my reservation for 6.

While at the restaurant the waitress was border line rude and seemed as though she did not enjoy her job at all. I was surprised at her lack of menu knowledge.

The food was ok. For the price I expected quite a bit better. I have eaten here in the past and had a decent experience but I doubt I return unless it is to just have a few drinks at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I would like to see more options for appetizers or happy hour food menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Never disappointed in the food options, the taste of my entree, and the dessert...you must not leave without a slice of pie!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The fried chicken was good, but my favorite fried chicken is still the place I've gone to since childhood. It's now located in Abilene KS, which is further than I'd want to drive for a meal. So this was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Rye is one of our "go to" places. My wife had business associates in from out of town, and they wanted steak. Monday night is steak night [specials] at Rye, so it was an easy choice. The restaurant, meal and service were a great hit!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Birthday dinner for my husband at Rye tonight with some friends. I was bowled over by our evening. Started with a delicious Brut Rose. Appetizers were the blue crab hushpuppies and the burnt end toast. Highly recommend both. Monday night is "steak night" so the 4 of us ordered steaks. The steak dinner comes with a salad, steak, side dish and a slice of pie. Wow!-isn't a strong enough exclamation. They don't phone-in any part of this dinner. The wedge salad was yummy, Maytag blue? Yeah! The ceasar was yummy and The house salad was huge! Note to the restaurant, cracked pepper on the salads would have been delicious. The ribeye was so flavorful and our guests raved about the hanger steak. The roasted cauliflower side was just delicious. Other sides at the table were mashed, loaded baked, and grits. We also ordered a fried chicken dinner to share. Delicious, light(if that's possible), crispy fried chicken. It needed a sprinkle of salt imo but still, every bit as good as the north end. Everything was just so good! Then they bring you a slice of pie. Omg.... husband had lemon meringue, guests had banana cream and I had the sugar pie...a custard pie with a creme brulee sugar crust...OMG! Our server was having an off night.. popped our wine and it sprayed all over the table...dropped a plate from our table and splashed salad dressing on another guest...and it was still one of the best dining experiences ive had in ages. Just go...soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Make reservations to assure seating. Nice variety of selections with local sourcing one of their goals. Informal. Parking can be tight but available if you are able to walk. Will continue to be back for meals there.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our brunch at Rye was unpleasant from the start! We had a reservation for 3, requesting a booth. We arrived about 15 minutes early, so we expected a small wait. The restaurant was not even half full and there was an empty booth. We were told they would have to ready a table for us, even though half the tables were unoccupied. About 20 minutes into our wait, the hostess said they were getting a table ready for us. Naturally, this table had been empty from the moment we entered the place! I reminded the hostess that we would like a booth, and she told me the booth was under a reservation. I said, "well, I also requested a booth!" Her reply was to the effect that the booths were for 6 people. I pointed out to her that one of the booths had 3 people at it and another, two. She asked me to wait and went to talk to the supervisor. She came back to us and "let" us have the booth. Ok, I let that go. We were seated and given menus. After a fairly long wait, a waiter came over and toyok our drink order. He was unfriendly at best. We were quite hungry, and ordered an order of apple donut/fritters. I asked him to hold the powdered sugar, if they dust the top of their donuts. He snidely told me they did not. Guess what was on the top of our donuts? Powdered sugar! The scrambled eggs I ordered were served to me cold, and the server didn't check on us after receiving our food for 10-15 minutes, so I told him about the eggs, but told him not to remake them at that late time. I would not go back to this place. The haughty waiter, and unyielding hostess make this place unpleasant. I probably gave them too many stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

All entrees we had met or exceeded our expectation. Killer desserts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always a good meal at Rye. The made on site sausage with my brunch was one of the best I’ve ever had. Can’t say enough good things about this restaurant. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The staff at Rye is exceptional. They are knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. And of course, the food is always awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Chicken in the hot wing starters was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Service is wonderful and food is amazing! Only problem is finding a place to park. I had to park really far away.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had the special a shrimp and oyster po' boy. It was as good as any I have sampled in New Orleans. Sorry NOLA. Service has been a bit slow during my past couple of visits at lunch, due in part to how busy they are. Just allow some extra time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We enjoyed everything on our first visit to Rye! The whipped goat cheese was incredible. We stayed with appetizers for our "main meals." The wings were some of the best we've had, and the BBQ shrimp was worth the mess! 😊 We also had a side of mac and cheese that did not disappoint. We finished off with a slice of tart cherry pie with bourbon vanilla ice cream. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I had the salmon and my husband had the fried chicken. Our food was delicious! The waitstaff was awesome! We will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food is always so wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful fried chicken! Mashed potatoes and gravy are really good, also. My husband and I enjoyed drinks before our meal, and we took home the Dixie Pie. We had a wonderful time on our Friday night date night that we have every week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We requested outdoor seating and really happy that we did. The area was very nice and quiet with a nice sofa seating area and TV's along with various tables and chairs. It was our 15th anniversary and we were impressed with the extensive wine and beer list. The bottle of wine we ordered was fantastic as was the food and dessert. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. The overall experience was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Awesome dinner! Our food was fantastic and our waiter was the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Came in for a business lunch and requested a table on the patio, cause it was flipping gorgeous outside. Service was attentive, The Old Square was on point. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always a pleasure to spend another night out at Rye.......wonderful food and service..........our 4 meals that evening were all perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We dined outside, which was probably not the best choice since there were flies out that evening. I found the food to be a bit better than average and pretty pricey.

I would try the restaurant again, but dine inside

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great service. Excellent food. Nice presentation. Be ready to take some of your meal home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was very creative and excellent. Loved the apple donuts!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

All 4 of our group ordered the fried chicken which was great - taste and a huge amount of food. A bit expensive in that everything is ala carte but we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Table was set up and ready, waiter is friendly. Good ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

A little pricey for down home cooking, but totally worth every bite... And the best friend chicken ever is a 110% factual statement!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The server could have been more professional but everything was good.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.