Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Ryan's Restaurant

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the menu or a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications. Recently awarded the DiRoNa Award for Distinctive Fine Dining

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: (336) 724-6132

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Scenic View (66)
Romantic (62)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Business Meals (48)
Worth the Drive (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Cozy (36)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (11)
Fun (11)
Seasonal (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic as usual. Service. Food. Location. Nothing more to add

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I had a 7PM reservation for a table of 8 and it was ready on my arrival. We always expect good food served in a timely manner. The food was good as usual,But we had a waiter who vanished for long periods of time. I have never had this problem before. To make a long story short, it was well over 3 hours before the bill came. This of course was completely unacceptable and will influence my decision on booking Ryan's again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Appetizers and cocktails were wonderful. Wine list impressive but upcharge is a bit much. Entrees were delicious. Hubby loves his steak and I enjoyed the halibut. Service was exception.

Very expensive even if you bring your own wine and pay corkage fee so this place is best for special occasions. I wouldn't hesitate to come back for an evening of celebration.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My second time here, and it did not disappoint. Great ambiance, exceptional staff. When our server heard us quietly mention our anniversary this weekend she re-appeared with champagne and dessert. Wonderful overall experience and the food is delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The service and food was wonderful. This was a great dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary at Ryan's on Saturday night. Started quiet, but soon filled up. Beautiful scenery, we had reserved a window table. Delicious food, prime rib and sea bass! And they offered complementary triple chocolate cake and ice cream to celebrate our anniversary!! Service was great too. Wonderful place for special occasion!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great place to dine. Food and service are impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were warmly greeted for dinner. Our table, for 2, was in the corner between two larger parties. While it was a bit intimate (crammed), the company was great. The bacon wrapped scallops were excellent. My wife had the grouper, which she had been craving. I had the prime rib. Overall, we were very happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Consistently very good, charming and welcoming. Excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

A great place for a special occasion. Excellent menu and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Seldom can you enjoy a meal where every detail of service, food and ambience is spot on, but Ryan's delivers consistently. It also delivers consistent value with exceptional food for a very fair price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great service! Food was very well seasoned. The filet was overcooked but still vert flavorful. Very nice wine selection. Very glad to have spent an evening there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Nice restaurant with standard steak/seafood fare. Had a halibut special that was ok, not bad, not great. Good wine selection, tasty desserts.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was probably the most enjoyable dinner with friends ever. Wait staff was very professional and knowledgeable. Everything was spaced perfectly from appetizers to entree`s. Portions were perfect and quality of food was well within price range. The night we ate their was a good variety of specials to go with normal entree`s. Only thing I would do different would to ask for a reservation on the lower dining area at one the the windows. The view there is fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We love this place for everyday and special occasions. The food is always excellent and staff is wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wanted a nice and intimate setting for a date. This atmosphere and service were just what I was looking for. Everything was perfect. Tables are somewhat close together with where we were though, but not really worth mentioning considering.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food and amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We chose Ryan's for a birthday celebration. We shared a very good appetizer and each had a different entre'. All the food was amazing and we all enjoyed out meal. A good bottle of wine topped it off. Our waiter was very good at keeping our wine and water glasses filled and tending to our every need. Ryan's is our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Once again a great meal at Ryan's. Out waitor Ryan was very personable and provided excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We went here to celebrate move in day at Wake Forest University. There were six of us and we all really enjoyed the opportunity to relax and enjoy great food. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Consistent high quality keeps Ryan's at the forefront in Winston-salem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Three out of our party of four wanted prime rib and you had run out. A little disappointed but second choice was good

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The steak was awesome but not much food for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My husband and I went to Ryan's on our first date and we went back for our 25th anniversary. Still amazing-the food, the service, the atmosphere-perfect!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd anniversary and we enjoyed the evening at Ryan's. Everything was great! My ribeye steak was the best I've ever had! The location was very peaceful - we'll be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent location with great scenery out back. The food was great and cooked exactly as ordered. I had the special Sirloin Oscar style and it was very good. The restaurant was quiet and the presentation was great. The prices were great for the quality of food. The Pecan pie was very good as well. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The steaks were phenomenal, cooked just right and tender. We had a few drinks, salads and dessert as well. You definitely get your moneys worth. Service has always been great as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We split a filet mignon and it could not have been better. $5 split charge but no problem. We got baked potato and greens which were also excellent. Free chocolate cake for our anniversary was very good. Nice dinner!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food and service was excellent but dining room needs updated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Enjoyed the excellent service provided by the staff as we celebrated a friend's birthday. Food was tasty and unique.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We love Ryan's. They have a Great Chef, Fantastic service and just a beautiful setting. Great for any occasion. Highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Everything was great, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The seasonal salad was excellent and the portion size was generous as was the fish dish. We felt the service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I love Ryan's; the food is absolutely the best, the ambience and view from the boardroom is beautiful and the service is top-notch. I have high expectations when dining here and they have been met every time!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ryan's has been our favorite Winston-Salem restaurant for many years. We enjoyed scallops and prime rib. Both were excellent. Pecan pie and creme brulee were perfect. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was my first time at Ryans. I had heard from others how great it was so when my date told me to find a good, romantic restaurant, I thought of Ryans. It was everything I had been told. The service was great as was the food. It is a little pricey but still a great place for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

In a word or two or three, great, perfect, and consistent all come to mind.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very good food. Service and ambiance. Always consistently excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This restaurant is a hidden gem in a beautiful tree filled setting. Definitely will be returning again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.