Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Ryan's Restaurant

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the menu or a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications. Recently awarded the DiRoNa Award for Distinctive Fine Dining

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: (336) 724-6132

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (111)
Romantic (83)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
See All
Good for a Date (78)
Scenic View (73)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Business Meals (53)
Worth the Drive (51)
Notable Wine List (46)
Cozy (45)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Good for Groups (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Authentic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fireplace (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fun (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Private Room (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Healthy (11)
Historic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (0)
Sort By:
S
1561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 19 hours ago

Dinner with family. Our waitress was fantastic! Steaks were cooked as ordered and were very tasty . Scalloped potatoes, scallops wrapped in bacon, and ice cream in pecan shell were the big hits of the night. Always a good meal and a good atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to Ryan's Restaurant three times now for various special occasions. Each time I come me and my guests have a fabulous experience. The staff, food and ambiance are impeccable. Ryan's is my favorite hidden treasure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

I haven't been to Ryan's in many years as we live an hour and a half away. We went for our anniversary and had the meal of the century!! This restaurant is hands down the finest restaurant for food and wine in W-S and including the whole area. Superb wait staff and most friendly and helpful with the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

We can count on Ryans's for a delightful meal, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

This by far is one of our favorite selections for any special occasion. We arrived early due to the unknown I-40 corridor nightmare and was seated upon our arrival. David made sure everything was cooked and prepared as requested...Great place with wonderful people!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was very good except I felt the prime rid was not as good as I have had before. It was a little tough and did not have a great flavor.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The best steak in Winston Salem! We met a group of friends here, and everyone said it was the best anywhere around! The filet is so tender you done even need a knife. Last week, we brought my 90 year old aunt and 86 year old mother. No matter what age the people in the group, the food and service will be outstanding!! The managers are on top of it to make sure your dining experience is perfect!!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was my first time dining at Ryan's and I was very impressed with the food and service. I wish I could remember our waitress name so she could be told what a great job she did. She was very friendly, answered all questions we had about the menu, and checked on us at appropriate times. We drove from Asheboro for the special birthday dinner and will consider Ryan's again!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food, exceptional service and beautiful atmosphere. I loved that it was quiet and I could enjoy conversation with my husband on our 1st anniversary dinner. We will be going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very good local steakhouse with excellent options for those meat lovers amongst us. The main dining area can be loud with its' close proximity to other tables, but the more "separate" dining area has some wonderful southern forest views and can be quite suitable for a nice private dining experience. A bit pricey but it has an excellent steak house menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food and service was great. We come over to eat at least 4 to 5 times a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Graduation dinner for 6 people (medical school graduate) - poor service from the moment they greeted us at the door. Everyone working seemed unhappy and annoyed. Our waiter was particularly unhappy....when our son, the guest of honor, ordered his steak he requested bernaise with it and the waiter launched into a 5 minute tirade about why he did need it......really bizarre experience. Would not return here for a special occasion as they do not seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Celebrating our son's college graduation with a family dinner at Ryan's! Arrived 15 mins earlier than our reservation and was seated around our reserved time. Excellent service! Loved the ambiance! Approximately 2.4 hours later, we were served our meals, which was longer than we'd expected. Overall, everyone seemed pleased with their meal, with the exception of the cold salmon and overcooked duck.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We LOVED this restaurant. We wished we lived closer so we could go again. We were visiting on a business trip. But rest assured if we ever go back to NC again, we will make another reservation!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have eaten at Ryan's on several occasions, and we have enjoyed each visit. This meal was the best yet! Each item was prepared to perfection. The service was unparalleled. We had a wonderful Mother's Day dinner. We would recommend Ryan's to anyone who is searching for an exquisite experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Ryan's serves the best steaks I have ever eaten! My husband always gets the She Crab Soup, and he is always very pleased! The Wedge salad is a must! We enjoy our dinner every time we are in town from Florida. We can't wait to return for another filet!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife and I went there for our anniversary dinner. We started with cocktails, bacon wrapped scallops, which were unbelievable. We had steaks for our entree and a bottle of wine. For dessert, pecan pie. We had a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Sercive was good. The value not so much. My dinner was good nothing too spectacular, However my husband got the 18oz prime rib almost $40 steak and it was almoat to salty to eat. Over all spent a little over $100 for something that wasn't anythig more impressive than outback.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The quality of the entrées lacked flavor for the cost. The side dishes and bread had more flavor than the actual meal. Originally I ordered a NY strip steak, which was fatty and lacking flavor. I told the server and she offered to bring a secondary entrée. I ordered a blackened Grouper, again very flavorless. To make things worse, our server rarely came around and I had to drink water from my partners glass. And no, we did not only have water. We also ordered a bottle of wine. Everyone knows good service should always keep your beverages filled at all times. This is why we pay a premium at pricey restaurants'..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were delighted to experience our 35th anniversary at Ryan's. We chose it because we knew the food, service, and atmosphere would be impeccable, and we were not disappointed. We had a delicious meal, excellent service, and a wonderful celebration.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was spot on. We found the wine list to be quite good with reasonably priced options. Our meal was very good from the appetizer to dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Best place for Diner At Winston Salem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Usually this is the perfect place for date night for the wife and I. This time we could only get a late reservation so we were after a lot of prom people. Don't know if this was a factor but the service was slow... But still great when we got it. Food was very good as always with my wife having Lamb and I the ribeye. We kept running out of wine and drinks. Normally this is our go to restaurant for a special night but tonight it was loud and the service was slow. We ordered drinks when we first arrived and it took 10 minutes to get the wine and a good of water. The bread also took a long time to arrive... Might have ran out from earlier. Anyway, this is a good restaurant... We just caught them at a bad time.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

An amazing waiter who was very kind and very attentive sat us exactly where asked with a nice view of the outdoor creek and animals, food arrived quickly and was plated beautifully and was absoloutly incredible. Small portion sizes but certainly worth the cost.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

First visit since we are new to the area. Food was delicious and waitress Shatara was great. Was surprised because reviews said great view and it was on a main thoroughfare, behind another building. The view was beautiful with a creek running down below and bridge that was lit at night. Beautiful trees and lots of birds. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent steaks and seafood... impeccable service. Ask for Boardroom Window seating when making reservations - and they are a must, especially on weekends. Very traditional, slightly rustic decor -feels very "clubby." Gets a little noisy at peak times and seating can be a little tight - but it's our go-to spot for celebrations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I have been to Ryan's many times over the years and the food is consistently fantastic, the staff is always delightful, and the restaurant is cozy and has a lovely view. I've been with large and small groups and have always enjoyed a very pleasant overall experience. This is definitely one of the best restaurants in Winston Salem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Classic steakhouse, cozy atmosphere. Our meal was very good, we will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Welcoming and accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Was seated next to an overly loud table, table wasn't what I wanted too close to kitchen doors.other than that,very nice.will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This place is awesome!! Atmosphere was as advertised. Food and dessert was amazing. Perfect all the way.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ryan's always can be counted on to deliver a great meal in wonderful surroundings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were promptly greeted upon entering but initially told we did not have a reservation.... upon
looking a little further she found it.
My date and I found a wine that we wanted...but after an inordinate amount of time the server returned and told us that they were sold out of the full bottle of our choice but had the 1/2 bottles. We asked if we could have 2 half bottles for the price of the whole..again our server was gone a few more minutes and told us that they could not accommodate our request....we went ahead and ordered the 2 halves.
I ordered a rib-eye steak and my date ordered the lobster....I have to say that my steak was probably the worst cut of meat that I have had in sometime. It was tough and not flavorful. My date's lobster was rubbery,not hot and had little flavor.
On the upside my date was given her choice of a complimentary dessert for her birthday that was quite good.
Total bill with a 20% tip came to 220.00 which I don't mind paying for a good meal but I could have had as good of a meal at one of the chain restaurants for half the price.
When I made the reservation I stated that we were celebrating a birthday and wanted to do it at a "special" place.
I'm sad to say that the evening was mediocre at best.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We loved the restaurant and the food was great. Service was wonderful and enjoyed the whole experience as an out of town visitor. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We were in town visiting the University of Richmond and wanted a special family dinner. Ryan's was an excellent choice. Great steaks and salads.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Ambiance is great food was good service was good. Value was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful meal and service. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or nice dinner out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 21, 2017

An outstanding restaurant. Probably the best dining experience overall in our 10 years in the Triad.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was a most memorable evening. The service was beyond superb, food was amazing and atmosphere was incredible. It was our first time but we most certainly will return! It was well worth the hour drive!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Server was outstanding and the food was delicious. Thanks for taking care of our specific needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.