Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Ryan's Restaurant

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the menu or a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications. Recently awarded the DiRoNa Award for Distinctive Fine Dining

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: (336) 724-6132

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Scenic View (65)
See All
Good for a Date (65)
Romantic (61)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Business Meals (44)
Notable Wine List (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Cozy (36)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Had our 6th anniversary dinner here, and it did not disappoint! Our meal was delicious, our server was very friendly and wished us a happy anniversary, and they even included free dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Surprise find in Winston-Salem. Discovered it has been a go-to place for locals. Would definitely return, and recommend to any and all. Food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual, our dinner at Ryan's was outstanding -- great food, service, and ambiance. My only complaint was that my party of five large and luscious people were somewhat crammed into a window table for four which caused some unnecessary discomfort. However, our pre-theatre birthday celebration was fun anyway! Will definitely continue to go to Ryan's for special occasion dinners!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and James is a awesome server. As always, this is a superb dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

A very good restaurant is a lovely setting with excellent food and service. We ate there twice during a visit to the area. The steak, pork chop and halibut were all well prepared and well presented and the wine list was nice as well. . A definite must when in the Winston Salem area. A wonderful dining experience🍷👍👍👍👍👍

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Shatarra did a great job! That said The Fish Special Barrelfish was very tough and frankly over cooked as was my Pork Chop. That said we love this Restaurant and will always go back. We think the chef just had an off night. Our server offered us a free desert which was greatly appreciated in response to our complaint.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The views from the windows are wonderful. Surrounded by nature. The food is good. Reminds me of a traditional country club. Service was excellent. Very quiet. Very traditional.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Absolutely the BEST in Town,ambience, food, service!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Ryan's atmosphere and menu are top notch--always a great place for special occasions. Too pricey for more than a once or twice a year event but they do a great job with making that memorable. We have been numerous times and found the service a bit spotty-they clearly spend more time and effort on the next table where the total bill and the tip will be greater. The food is quite good and we have never been disappointed with ordering a special or one of the signature dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

As always Ryan's was fantastic. Great everything. If your a scallop fan you must try with popcorn grits. Yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful food, wonderful service but the back room was freezing.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Ryan's was an excellent choice for steaks cooked perfectly. We had a table by the window in the corner (perfect ambiance) with a window view of a rain forest like natural scene with a running brook. The staff was attentive and the food and wine were perfect. Excellent restaurant, but the only drawback was that it was difficult to have normal conversation with friends. Very loud.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As a long-time customer of Ryan's, the restaurant never fails to come through with excellent food and outstanding service. This visit was no exception. The problem we faced with this visit, however, had to do with our being seated adjacent to a room that was hosting a private party. Although the main sections of the restaurant were nearly empty upon our arrival, our request for a window table was met with assigning our party of 4 to a spot between the bar and a private room. The party in the room was loud. People shouting, children yelling, and babies crying. There was an almost constant flow of foot traffic coming from and going into the room, and with each footstep, the floor, and consequently our table, shook. Periodically there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke coming from the room and enveloping our table. We didn't ask to be reseated because we didn't want to further disrupt our dinner. About halfway through our meal, the crowd left and the rest of our stay was delightful.

I love Ryan's, and I will continue to be a customer, but in the future I will specifically ask for a table far away from private parties. At the prices we pay, babies, shaking tables, and plumes of cigarette smoke should never be a problem.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dined at Ryan's for our anniversary. It was excellent as always. Netta was our server and was very personable and knowledgeable. Brussels sprouts were slightly undercooked, but all other items were wonderful. Pecan pie is worth the calories!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I've never been disappointed eating here. Food is excellent and atmosphere is charming. Very romantic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food wasn't very good and very expensive. Nothing special. Waiter was a bit harsh not very pleasant. Will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

An excellent evening. We definitely will be back. Dean was the consummate professional and took very good care of us.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 4, 2017

After talking to the manager who is not willing to install a $200 changing table for infants. He allowed me to change the baby on a chair around the corner. No desire to fix the situation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. Ryan's is our "go to place" for special occasions. We are never disappointed with the food or the service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Once again, Ryan's continues to impress with it's quality of food and high level of service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our meal. Our server Mary was delightful and very knowledgeable about the menu and wines. We enjoyed the artichoke crab dip and heirloom tomato appetizer, Ribeye steak blackened with Ryan's butter, steak fries, wedge salad, shrimp and grits, the special chocolate chip pie and Ryan's coffee (loved this!) ~ the bread was fresh and warm and the cheese spread was nice touch and perfectly complemented the pretzel rolls. Our meal was not rushed, everything came out perfectly prepared and hot or cold as it should be. Mary was attentive without being intrusive and her bubbly personality added to our evening. I cannot wait to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Delicious dinner. We enjoyed everything. The rib eye steak was to die for and we thoroughly enjoyed the bib lettuce salad. Service was ok- we have had better while at Ryan's but it wouldn't stop us from returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Exceptional from every angle. Beautiful views. Classic, delicious, old fashioned steakhouse fare. White tablecloths and elegance. Best restaurant I've been to in quite a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Best steak around. The service is excellent and the atmosphere very quiet. It is a nice place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Absolutely outstanding service!! Never, never have I ever had such an attentive waiter. The food was beyond delicious. The Chilean Sea Bass was perfect and my husband's steak was cooked to perfection. Absolutely would recommend this restaurant. Atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. SUPERB experience!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Seated beside loud three some, but overall good experience. Waiter was great.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Out of town guests were very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Ryan's my favorite go to restaurant. Food is consistently good - but I do miss being able to order Prime Rib during the week.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We knew that Ryan's was special based on all that we had heard so we decided to go for a special treat for our anniversary. The food, the service and the ambiance were all that we had hoped for. The Shrimp Cocktail, Oysters Rockefeller, Filet Mignon and Lobster tail were all outstanding - best we have had in the area. The staff likewise made it a very special evening for us. We will be going back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I have been going to Ryans for 30 years. Their food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Everything was great.

Thank you, Cindy & Dennis Stout

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great family birthdaydinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fantastic as usual. Service. Food. Location. Nothing more to add

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had a 7PM reservation for a table of 8 and it was ready on my arrival. We always expect good food served in a timely manner. The food was good as usual,But we had a waiter who vanished for long periods of time. I have never had this problem before. To make a long story short, it was well over 3 hours before the bill came. This of course was completely unacceptable and will influence my decision on booking Ryan's again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Appetizers and cocktails were wonderful. Wine list impressive but upcharge is a bit much. Entrees were delicious. Hubby loves his steak and I enjoyed the halibut. Service was exception.

Very expensive even if you bring your own wine and pay corkage fee so this place is best for special occasions. I wouldn't hesitate to come back for an evening of celebration.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were very disappointed with our service and food this visit!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My second time here, and it did not disappoint. Great ambiance, exceptional staff. When our server heard us quietly mention our anniversary this weekend she re-appeared with champagne and dessert. Wonderful overall experience and the food is delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The service and food was wonderful. This was a great dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary at Ryan's on Saturday night. Started quiet, but soon filled up. Beautiful scenery, we had reserved a window table. Delicious food, prime rib and sea bass! And they offered complementary triple chocolate cake and ice cream to celebrate our anniversary!! Service was great too. Wonderful place for special occasion!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always a great place to dine. Food and service are impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.