About Ryan's Restaurant

719 Coliseum Dr.
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
View Larger Map

Enjoy the panoramic view of large oaks and a rolling stream from the many window-side tables, or the large, starlight deck. Or, savor the intimate atmosphere from a comfortable sofa, and in the winter, the warmth of a crackling fireplace.

Ryan's Chef creates a tantalizing selection of appetizers such as jumbo lump crabmeat, steamed mussels in garlic butter and white wine, and oysters Rockefeller. Entrees range from thick, juicy steaks and prime rib to the finest grilled fresh fish and live Maine lobster. Choose from the regular menu or from a superb selection of specials offered nightly. Add a cappuccino and a freshly made dessert to seal the dining experience.

Ryan's offers just the right taste with just the right touch. The restaurant has been locally owned and under the same management since 1981. Ryan's has been awarded the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" and is often featured in national publications.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 724-6132

Website:
http://www.ryansrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Large private, well lit parking lot with numerous handicap parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jon Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Two room available for private parties. The smaller ones seats a minimum of 20 and a maximum of 36. The larger room has a minimum of 35 and can handle up to 48. Both rooms have windows and fireplaces and the smaller one has access to our outside deck. Please call for more information or to book a private room.

Private Party Contact:
Manager on Duty: (336) 724-6132

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ryan's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Romantic (66)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Notable Wine List (39)
Scenic View (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Business Meals (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (27)
Fireplace (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Authentic (16)
Private Room (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Historic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (9)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

When we arrived, we were escorted to a t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

When we arrived, we were escorted to a table that had not been cleaned. We had to stand in the dining room awkwardly for a bit even though the table next to us was clean. The hostess was then told to seat us at the clean table. I expect better communication in this environment. Food was good but a touch on the cold side. Pretzel rolls were good but other bread was slightly stale. We were sat in an extremely loud room which was rather annoying considering I had reservations over a month in advance. I always look forward to eating here on special occasions but I think I will pick another restaurant in the future.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. The atmosphere is wonde ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. The atmosphere is wonderful and the food is unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great dining experience in an ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great dining experience in an absolutely lovely setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentines dinner. Greeted us at the fro ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines dinner. Greeted us at the front and gave my wife a rose. Nice touch. Ryan's never disappoints. The food is always top notch. Steaks are great, but got the duck this time. Wife got crab cakes. Both of us were happy with our meal. She had a glass of wine and I had two beers. Total was $92 before tip.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a favorite. The food was excellen ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a favorite. The food was excellent. Server did a great job. No issues at all. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect, as usual. Highl ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect, as usual. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such s great menu. A wonderful selection ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Such s great menu. A wonderful selection and delicious food. Wait staff is very knowledgeable and professional. A very special place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ryan's never fails ! This is a hidden ge ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Ryan's never fails ! This is a hidden gem in winston salem. We enjoy special occassions there and just a date night from time to time ...

Tags: Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryan's is an outstanding restaurant. Th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Ryan's is an outstanding restaurant. This restaurant is our go to place for special occasions and date nights. The food and service is phenomenal!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We went for Vale ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. We went for Valentine's dinner. They never disappoint and the roses for the ladies was a classy touch.

My meal was the Chilean sea bass. Great portion, cooked to perfection, and we shared our dessert. Sweet!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been enjoying Ryan's for special oc ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Have been enjoying Ryan's for special occasions, regardless of the date, for over 25 years. One of the best of only 3 such places in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Ryan about 4 to 6 times per yea ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

We go to Ryan about 4 to 6 times per year and it is always great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ryan's is always outstanding. We went t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Ryan's is always outstanding. We went the Monday before Valentine's to beat the crowd, and really appreciated having a bottle of our favorite wine half off. My rib eye stake and my spouse's salmon salad were prepared perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinners were both delicious, the wai ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinners were both delicious, the wait staff courteous and knowledgeable. The meal came in a well planned sequence - no long delays between courses. It was nice to see someone in charge greeting all of the guests and showing interest in their experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mark, our server, was amazing! One of o ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Mark, our server, was amazing! One of our favorite places. Best steak in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have enjoyed dining at Ryan's for years. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have enjoyed dining at Ryan's for years. The colossal lump crab cocktail is fabulous!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I think cooking a steak correctly can be ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I think cooking a steak correctly can be very difficult, my wife and I both asked for medium steaks hers was a filet mignon, mine was a ribeye. Hers was more medium well mine was more medium rare. Other than that the wine was fabulous and fairly priced. Can't go wrong with the ice cream dessert it was fabulous too, if you haven't been you need to go.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and staff were awesome!! We lov ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and staff were awesome!! We love going there on special occasions! Love the quiet atmosphere!!! Very romantic. :)

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Ryan's, based on review from ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went to Ryan's, based on review from Open Table. My husband and I had really looked forward to a night out, the first in a while. The restaurant was quiet and very nice. Service was well above average and attentive. However, the steaks were not any better than other places we have been, including Outback and a local restaurant that serves steaks as well. They were tender, but lack flavor, seasoning etc. I had the prime rib and my husband the ribeye. Dinner was 100.00 with tip, no dessert or drinks but water. The money was not an issue but the value for the money. I can not recommend since there are many fine places to eat in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Was fine. Special night for our daughter ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Was fine. Special night for our daughter's birthday. Our service was very good. Filets were cooked very perfectly. The truffle fries to die for. But there's something missing. Especially for the cost. My daughter's chicken fingers & fries were nearly $14 and her soda $3! Side salad $5. That's a $21 dinner for a 9 yo without dessert. I know, I know, it's not a dining establishment for kids. But there were tons of kids there on a FR night. And we were attending a play across the street. One thing that really got my goat was the "auto tip" calculations on the receipt. When I got home I realized the 20% we paid b.c it was "suggested" included tax. I know it's a hot debate but suffice to say tipping on tax is just double dipping.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great restaurant for a special occasiona ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great restaurant for a special occasional. Atmosphere is pretty romantic, overlooking a forest.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very good time @ Ryan's. The fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a very good time @ Ryan's. The food was good, especially the seasonal salad with cinnamon poached pears and she crab soup, the service was friendly and not overbearing, they accomodated my table request along with my gluten allergy. The staff seemed very knowledgeable about the ingredients in the food. Overall, I was very pleased and had a great experience. This means alot as I am the GM of a similar concept in Greensboro, so my expectations are very high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and staff. As always t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great atmosphere and staff. As always the food and service are second to none!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, wonderdul service, fabul ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great location, wonderdul service, fabulous food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a special family gatherin ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great spot for a special family gathering . The food is great and the service is excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Ryan's Restaurant - the food was s ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved Ryan's Restaurant - the food was so fresh and well made. The Crab and spinach appetizer was fabulous- big chunks of crab and just the right consistency. The Scallops dinner was served over fontina grits and asparagus- just amazing. Prime Rib was well prepared. The Crab Cake dinner was delicious- big mounds of crab that were browned and had a light sweetness - yum.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our 44th anniversary at Ryan' ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We enjoyed our 44th anniversary at Ryan's this week and it was quite a treat; we don't eat out very often but we've eaten at some very good restaurants in our travels and this one rivals any. The service was smooth and quietly conversant; the food was just very good, beautiful steak and prime rib; and the vanilla bean ice cream with pecan praline shell was too good! and so was the triple chocolate cake; we thoroughly enjoyed our time sitting by the window before sun down, enjoying the birds; the staff checking to be sure we're happy; and the so very good food; we would highly recommend it to anyone who was looking to celebrate an anniversary or just daily life

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was delicious. But I was so d ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our dinner was delicious. But I was so disappointed that the front desk didn't read my request. I had asked for a table by the fireplace. I also said it was a special occasion. Our son has made deans list every semester and that was our occasion. Unfortunately we were seated in the busiest area on a walkway of servers when we arrived. I asked to be moved to our requested area by the window and it turned out to be no problem. No one ever apologized for ignoring or not reading our reviews. No one ever acknowledged our special occasion either. On another note, our server was Netta and she was fantastic. She made the night great and we forgot about the little things that were missed. Food is great here but the service overall is lacking.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can only afford to go for special occ ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We can only afford to go for special occasions but in over thirty- five years have NEVER been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner for two....it was lovely ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Birthday dinner for two....it was lovely. Definitely a special occasion location. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great and the service was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food is always great and the service was impeccable!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Or party of four ate dinner here on 1/28 ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Or party of four ate dinner here on 1/28/17. The prime rib and loaded baked potato were excellent. My only complaints are that the noise level is too high and they do not have draft beer. The wine list was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always we were very pleased with our ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

As always we were very pleased with our trip to Ryan's. It is above what we normally spend to eat out but the service is excellent and the food is usually top notch. The only negative I would give this time was the duck skin was not seared enough and the pieces toward the middle were closer to raw than I would have preferred.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! From the oysters to the nest ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food! From the oysters to the nested dessert, the food was incredible. My filet was cooked to perfection. I ordered bearnaise sauce for my filet but did not even put it on my steak. I didn't want to ruin the flavor!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing I can complain about is t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The only thing I can complain about is that my wine glass had dried food on the rim. Other than that I had a good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Just a great restaurant. Wonderful menu ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Just a great restaurant. Wonderful menu. There is something for everyone.

The prime rib on weekends is outstanding.

This is they way restaurants used to be. Not a chain.

Just good food, steaks, seafood, etc.

The prices are reasonable for the quality and variety.

Go. You will go back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a nice little restaurant that my ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is a nice little restaurant that my wife and I like to escape to for romantic evenings. The food is always great and the staff is very professional. We have always received top notch service.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this restaurant! It was my first t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Loved this restaurant! It was my first time and I will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.