About Ruffino’s on the River

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Waterfront (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (14)
Fun (14)
Scenic View (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Business Meals (13)
Wood Oven (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (9)
Family Style (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Music (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

We took our grandson (his birthday) and his family to dinner at Ruffino's. They made an extraordinary effort to supply my grandson with his favorite dish that was off menu. Special that day was lobster for $19.95. Great place!!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Very friendly staff, good food, great view of river worth returning to

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

This has become my favorite restaurant in Lafayette. The seafood, steaks, and pasta give you great choices to meet everyone's individual taste. Great service where each table has two people servicing each table, excellent!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Each table has three servers, one for drinks, one for bussing, and one for food order. We never had to ask for a refill on our drinks, our table was kept free of clutter and the waiter worked with us on substituting sides. Getting cotton candy free of charge after the meal was so much fun! But I highly recommend the Sin Cake - divine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

We started with a wonderful bottle of wine that had a very reasonable price. The food was all delicious from the oyster appetizer to lemon dessert! The service is over the top! Great staff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent place !! We were celebrating our 2 yr anniversary and could not have had better service or food!! It was our 1st time coming and we will b back again!

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a wonderful time with excellent service and it is worth going back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's day with my boyfriend and it was just amazing. Our first time there and everything was perfect.. there was even a proposal right next to us. Definitely the place you take to impress someone for a wonderful night out with amazing food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not only was the food great but that atmosphere and the staff was just beyond excellent

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made reservation months in advance of Valentine's Day! We were sat ata high top table at the bar! Very disappointed in our seating arrangement! It was very noisy! Service was great! Food was not worth the price! Husbands veal was cold! Overall did not like experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great experience at Ruffino's on the river! Recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent on all accounts. Opted for a 3 course special consisting of flash fried oysters wrapped in bacon, warm spinach salad and hanger steak topped with a crawfish based sauce. Wash is down with Earthquake Cabernet Sauvignon. This is my wife and I's favorite place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Each time we go to Ruffino's is like the last. Always top notch in every way. There is a distinct difference between just eating and dining. Ruffino's is for dining!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As always, food was fantastic!!!! Service was excellent...I love going there for any occasion!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great, the staff was attentive, and overall my wife and I had a great time. I would definitely recommend dining here for special occasions. Cotton candy was a surprisingly nice touch at the end of the meal, very unique.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was outstanding and we wanted for noting. They did not rush or pressure us and we were able to visit and enjoy our time there. The one issue we had and was disappointing was one of the managers came by the table and asked how everything was. We told everything was great except for one of the items was and she did not care and basically dismissed it.

For everything that is good about this restaurant for a manager to not care, definitely not worth the prices they charge and to bad her service was not near as good as the excellent wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Anniversary 26! Thank y'all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was very good. I thought the food, steaks in our case, were pretty good but nothing to rave about.

I think everything is over priced.

Tags: Waterfront, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Difficult to see sign from the roadway, food was average but expensive.

Better places in town for food with same atmosphere. Not worth the money paid

for meal All service personnel were friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was good. Everyone enjoyed their dishes. Large portions. I thought my fish was over salted, but I like salt as a flavor enhancer, not a dominate spice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went to ruffinos on the river for the first time for a dinner date for my girlfriends birthday. We didn't research much prior, and that's probably where we went wrong. We did make reservations for two at 830pm. We were seated at 850, which was very good considering the amount of people in the place. Our dinner for two was located between 4dinner for 8+ tables. The noise was overbearing. The cackling coming from the nearest table was nightmarish. The wait staff literally had to bend over the table or come to each of our chairs separately to be able to communicate with us at all. The food was great. If you're expecting a nice quiet dinner for you and family, this is not the place. If you're ok with the bar scene life and would like fancy meal, then this is the place. For two hundred dollar meal for two, the atmosphere was just way to overbearing to justify the worth.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our second visit, it was just as enjoyable as the first. Excellent food and service. Both times it was for our anniversary, we decided we will return for our birthdays this year. Awesome restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ruffino's is always a good choice to take visiting friends for dinner. The food is always good and the variety everyone can find something they really enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The staff was very friendly and understanding. great food and drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service! We will definitely be returning !

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our ten year anniversary. The wait staff was extremely helpful in choosing a wine and recommending entrees. They took note of a passing comment I made about it being our tenth and they brought out complimentary champagne and desert. It made the night extra special. We will definitely be coming here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The salmon was very good and cooked perfectly but the ribeye was "stringy" and over 75% fat . Not the quality expected for the price. The servers were very attentive. The restaurant has a nice upbeat vibe.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had an amazing time! It was me and my girls one year together. We showed up and there was a note congratulating us, they they brought us wine to celebrate and at the end they brought a piece of cake with happy 1st anniversary on it in sauce! Thank you so much for the experience ruffinos!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat in Lafayette. Food and Wine selections are great. Sunday brunch is a treat.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We arrived on time for our 8:30 reservation and weren't seated until 9:20. No-one seemed to care. We had drinks at the bar - vodka soda. I advised the bartender that the soda was flat. He said it was actually water, not soda. Really, vodka water? He promptly poured vodka soda. After complaining twice about the delayed table we were finally seated. A restaurant manager came over, apologized, and offered to get us complimentary appetizers. We had salads - ice box cold. Once it got to just above room temperature it was ok. We all ordered steaks and 3 out of 4 were good. The fourth (ordered 'medium' was well done). Given the time invested in waiting for a table I didn't send it back only to wait longer for another. This place is clearly a factory rather than a culinary experience. Service was awkward and spotty, and we didn't get cotton candy at the end. Oh well. I live in NYC and was in Lafayette for an event. Fortunately for me I never have to dine at this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food portion of the duck was very small. Our waiters were very slow in refilling drinks. Extremely over priced. Over all not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Last minute reservation made thru Open Table worked well. Good service. I enjoyed my 8oz. filet but my wife thought the redfish en papillote tasted odd and the portion was tiny for the $35 charge. We ordered no dessert but had a coffee which was served lukewarm. Not their best effort that night.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

To the staff, thank you for being so attentive. You all made our dinning experience delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time at the Sunday brunch. Not all seating areas open for brunch therefore the condensed environment created a higher noise level than I have experienced at evening dining. One beverage order a little slow in getting to the table, other than that, menu options, food and service was good as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went there with friends and we sat in the bar area. The service was some of the worst that I have experienced. I waited 22 minutes for my water to be refilled. We got bread right before our entrees(after asking 3 times) then it was bread with no olive oil sauce to put on our bread. I ordered a steak and had to ask the waiter 2 different times to get me a steak knife. I guess I am spoiled because we live in baton rouge and that has never happened at Highland. I do not know if I will go back to that location.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was easily one of the top 3 meals I have ever eaten. We will definitely be going back. As soon as possible!!!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was exactly what I expected, great food that tasted very fresh and full flavored. Ruffino's sampler was a great way to try multiple appetizers, the pork cheek was our favorite. I had the Pork chop and my wife had the beef shoulder pasta. The entrees were way better then the last time we went although desert tasted like it sat in a fridge all day, I've had way better tiarimisu at many places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 31, 2016

was very nice of wait staff to bring a "Just Married" brownie to us after learning of the occassion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent dining experience for any occasion. I highly recommend this restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very Disappointed

We were seated in the bar at a pub table. There were loud obnoxious people crowding against my wife's back while we were trying to eat. Very noisy, could not have a conversation for the people almost screaming right next to us.

Appetizer and Entree was almost inedible it was so salty. Not served hot, like it sat in the kitchen awhile before being served. Yucky.

We liked the Sensation salad, but glad we ordered the dressing on the side. Won't order that dressing again.

Service was OK. Had to request refills on drinks as that was neglected, but I wouldn't say it was my best service experience. Seemed like the team was trying though. Maybe they had too many tables.

Overall- very disappointed. We will try it again, maybe it was a fluke. Because it was our anniversary, it was a real let down as we wanted to have a special, romantic night and had great things about Ruffino's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ruffino's was great, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was a busy night with many large tables for the holidays , but the service was impeccable , and the food outstanding .

The duck was one of the best dishes I have had in a long time .

Highly recommend it .

I will be back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fun atmosphere with a good bit of excitement around the restaurant. Great service and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We sat at a table in the bar. I was surprised to see how busy it was on a Sunday night, which is a good sign of a popular place. It was quiet and unpretentious. I wish the weather had been nicer so we could have enjoyed a walk outside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good service and ambiance. Please use real hollandaise. Customers know the difference.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love the food and service! I've been here for several occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food. Staff very knowledgeable and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had reservations but still had to wait. Then they tried to sit us in the bar in high chairs with people standing all around you. I refused and waited longer until a normal table was ready. The menu was limited which also was aggravating. I had veal Parmesan which had a lot of gristle. Also the noise level was deafening. I used to love Ruffino's. After having too many bad meals at the Baton Rouge location I figured I'd give the Lafayette location a try. Not much better. Won't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food service and atmosphere was great really enjoyed the redfish Katie that I ate and the cotton candy at the end was neat

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a great time! The waiting staff was great. Will recommend to other people.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.