Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About Ruffino’s on the River

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Romantic (28)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Waterfront (21)
Scenic View (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The servers were well mannered with a good sense of humor. We received rhe right amount of attention without feelings of being hovered over while dining. Food was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Our time at ruffinos was amazing as usual great service stunning atmosphere and delicous food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great Atmosphere and Impeccable Service. Definitely a special occasion place!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Everyone in our group of six was pleased with the service and food. We were there for a graduation celebration and all of us would dine at Ruffino's again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

One of the best restaurants we have been to in a long time! Food was awesome, location pretty and service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service and the food was outstanding! This will be my go- to for special occasions. A lil pricey but worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Menu was exceptional for brunch. Make your own Bloody Mary was very enique and had everything imaginable. We had a table of 10 and the staff was great. This is my new favorite in Lafayette.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Claire Chapman our wine steward was very knowledgeable and professional. We had requested an outside table but there was a private party booked for outside. We were given a 2 top by a window in the bar, which turned out to be just wonderful. As it was prom night, my husband and I had a birds-eye view of all the highschoolers dressed in their finery taking photos by the river. We had a wonderful 29th anniversary. We shared a Jan's crab stack, roasted oysters, salads and ribeye. Everything was perfect. We were , also, surprised with a chocolate torte on a platter that said,"Happy 29th Anniversary"!! We had a wonderful evening. Thanks, Jan and John Mickey

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It is expensive but the service and food quality are second to none. My favorite place to take my wife on a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very, very noisy. Asked twice to lower the volume. Wait staff complied, but still noisy.
Enjoyed the food better at IMonelli and Mazden grill. Wait staff was wonderful. Gave me a free martini because it was my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food and service wasn't up to their usual standards.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It's been quite some time since we last visited but it won't be that long before we go back again. The ambience and quality of the food makes this place special. Can't say enough about the attentiveness of the waiters and there clear explanation of each dish offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we brought friends that had never been there, the menu was dirty with food, we had plates brought that were dirty, We did not impress our friends and that was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Ruffino's is as good a restaurant as there is in Lafayette - and that's saying something ! The "Crawfish Study" entree is truly imaginative and delicious. Their cocktails are varied and pricey, as is their wine selection. So have a drink before arriving to save some $$$. Otherwise, you can't go wrong with any dining selection. The service is incomparable and if you're lucky enough to get Maddie as your waitstaff - then you're LUCKY ENOUGH !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great service excellent brunch menu, wine by the glass selection priced for all to afford.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Ruffino's on the River has always been a Home Run with my Wife and I and well they did it again! Wine list..killer. Menu..Stellar and the wait staff is always personable and knowledgeable. Perfect fine dining experience right here in South Louisiana!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Appetizers were amazing! Drinks were great! Dessert was excellent! And the Manager sang Happy Birthday to my wife! Great service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We took our grandson (his birthday) and his family to dinner at Ruffino's. They made an extraordinary effort to supply my grandson with his favorite dish that was off menu. Special that day was lobster for $19.95. Great place!!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very friendly staff, good food, great view of river worth returning to

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This has become my favorite restaurant in Lafayette. The seafood, steaks, and pasta give you great choices to meet everyone's individual taste. Great service where each table has two people servicing each table, excellent!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Each table has three servers, one for drinks, one for bussing, and one for food order. We never had to ask for a refill on our drinks, our table was kept free of clutter and the waiter worked with us on substituting sides. Getting cotton candy free of charge after the meal was so much fun! But I highly recommend the Sin Cake - divine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We started with a wonderful bottle of wine that had a very reasonable price. The food was all delicious from the oyster appetizer to lemon dessert! The service is over the top! Great staff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent place !! We were celebrating our 2 yr anniversary and could not have had better service or food!! It was our 1st time coming and we will b back again!

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a wonderful time with excellent service and it is worth going back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's day with my boyfriend and it was just amazing. Our first time there and everything was perfect.. there was even a proposal right next to us. Definitely the place you take to impress someone for a wonderful night out with amazing food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not only was the food great but that atmosphere and the staff was just beyond excellent

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made reservation months in advance of Valentine's Day! We were sat ata high top table at the bar! Very disappointed in our seating arrangement! It was very noisy! Service was great! Food was not worth the price! Husbands veal was cold! Overall did not like experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great experience at Ruffino's on the river! Recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent on all accounts. Opted for a 3 course special consisting of flash fried oysters wrapped in bacon, warm spinach salad and hanger steak topped with a crawfish based sauce. Wash is down with Earthquake Cabernet Sauvignon. This is my wife and I's favorite place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Each time we go to Ruffino's is like the last. Always top notch in every way. There is a distinct difference between just eating and dining. Ruffino's is for dining!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As always, food was fantastic!!!! Service was excellent...I love going there for any occasion!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great, the staff was attentive, and overall my wife and I had a great time. I would definitely recommend dining here for special occasions. Cotton candy was a surprisingly nice touch at the end of the meal, very unique.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was outstanding and we wanted for noting. They did not rush or pressure us and we were able to visit and enjoy our time there. The one issue we had and was disappointing was one of the managers came by the table and asked how everything was. We told everything was great except for one of the items was and she did not care and basically dismissed it.

For everything that is good about this restaurant for a manager to not care, definitely not worth the prices they charge and to bad her service was not near as good as the excellent wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Anniversary 26! Thank y'all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was very good. I thought the food, steaks in our case, were pretty good but nothing to rave about.

I think everything is over priced.

Tags: Waterfront, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Difficult to see sign from the roadway, food was average but expensive.

Better places in town for food with same atmosphere. Not worth the money paid
for meal All service personnel were friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was good. Everyone enjoyed their dishes. Large portions. I thought my fish was over salted, but I like salt as a flavor enhancer, not a dominate spice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went to ruffinos on the river for the first time for a dinner date for my girlfriends birthday. We didn't research much prior, and that's probably where we went wrong. We did make reservations for two at 830pm. We were seated at 850, which was very good considering the amount of people in the place. Our dinner for two was located between 4dinner for 8+ tables. The noise was overbearing. The cackling coming from the nearest table was nightmarish. The wait staff literally had to bend over the table or come to each of our chairs separately to be able to communicate with us at all. The food was great. If you're expecting a nice quiet dinner for you and family, this is not the place. If you're ok with the bar scene life and would like fancy meal, then this is the place. For two hundred dollar meal for two, the atmosphere was just way to overbearing to justify the worth.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our second visit, it was just as enjoyable as the first. Excellent food and service. Both times it was for our anniversary, we decided we will return for our birthdays this year. Awesome restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ruffino's is always a good choice to take visiting friends for dinner. The food is always good and the variety everyone can find something they really enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.