Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.33mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About Ruffino’s on the River

Ruffino's on the River is located on the Vermillion River in River Ranch in Lafayette, LA.

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Romantic (39)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Waterfront (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Scenic View (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fun (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Casual (13)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Always fun! Group of friends before the LSU v Syracuse game .... Great food and lots of laughs!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful views, friendly and attentive bar and wait staff. Very accommodating to my special requests for dietary reasons. Bar entertainer was very good. My only compliant about Ruffino's is that is tends to be loud. At one point there was overhead music and bar music playing at the same time. Noise level just makes it difficult for quiet conversations.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service execellent and very professional . We had a great time and drinks. I love this place !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Sunday Brunch was Excellent and we will be back !! Walt Rippas

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was phenomenal, service was excellent and the atmosphere was awesome. Definitely a place we need to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was our first visit to Ruffino's on the River and he food was phenomenal! There were no complaints from any party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great time tonight! Food was amazing service fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

This is my second experience after a challenging first; the owner gave me the opportunity to recover the experience I "should" have received the first visit. My date and I had excellent service by Catelyn and 2 other servants at once; the bread, olive oil with balsamic vinegar as an appetizer was a good start and the Kentucky Bourbon on the rocks and a Dirty Martini to wash the palette. The main course selected were the Specialty Steak and roasted potatoes and Her meal was the Fish Katie, amazing Redfish cuisine. Not too loud of a crowd, lots of traffic, but vibrant scene. We ended the meal with a sort of Chocolate Neapolitan Mousse cake and a Vanilla Brownie with a sort of cream sauce. The fine dining I were looking had been achieved for my date. I would like to add that if there were soft piano music, I think the evening would be beyond perfection. - Sincerely, Greg & Misty

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was great. If I was disappointed in anything it was the special request. They don't give a list and let me know 5 hrs before dining that my special request could not be fulfilled. Besides that the evening was perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely the best service and food I've ever had at a restaurant. Never a bad experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food and service was first rate! Would definitely reccomend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A wonderful way to spend an evening… Thanks again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were seated and did not receive menus or a wine list until about 10 minutes later when we flagged down a manager. We have eaten at Ruffino's many times and the food has always been good, except the last 2 times. We had Sunday brunch with that menu we ordered chicken parm and it was not good. It tasted like it was under a heat lamp for a while. This most recent dinner I ordered the lobster cakes and they were not good at all. Normally the service is very good. I think the service issue was a one off. I am disappointed about the food quality.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant and we visit often. Howver, we usually book on mon or Thur because those are the. Ights they have prime rib. The waiter basically told us they forgot to cook it on Thursday. I ordered a steak and it was over cooked. The second steak was extemey fatty. I will be back but disappointed that they didn't hold up to their usual prime rib day's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Another great experience. Service was wonderful and food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

First of all, the service is second to none. The food was great for the most part, but maybe not for the price. The only items that were really worth it were the oyster appetizers (absolutely wonderful!) ande tiramisu dessert. The veal that I ordered had great flavor, but the meat was lukewarm which made me feel like it wasn't freshly cooked. My friend commented that her pasta had a little too much butter/oil and couldn't finish, but said that it was still good and took the rest to-go. On top of the tiramisu, we ordered the vanilla creme brulee, which tasted like absolutely nothing. It was just like milk as if they forgot to add the vanilla extract/bean and sugar. Luckily the tiramisu was excellent and we shared that. All in all, it was a great meal, but the $110 for two people may make people hesitate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Sunday brunch won me back but not week end evenings

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The opentable reservations were very easy and convenient. We felt so accommodated and taken care of. It was a wonderful experience for us. We loved Ruffinos and will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

FOOD AND SERVICE WAS GREAT. THE PRICE OF THE ALCOHOL WAS RIDICULOUS. WE WERE SERVED PREMIUM TITO. SOME PEOPLE PREFER A CHEAPER PRICE AND MEDIUM BRAND THAT WOULD ENABLE THEM TO ENJOY THEIR DATE NIGHT. YOU COULD SERVE PREMIUM IF REQUESTED BUT KEEP THE PRICE DOWN BY SERVING MEDIUM BRANDS AND YOU WILL ATTRACT MORE CUSTOMERS. TWO PEOPLE WITH TWO DRINKS EACH. HALF OF BILL WAS DRINKS. RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fantastic menu & phenomenal service! Love the atmosphere here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always a great experience. The August Lobster Fest Special is awesome! Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The bartenders are the best. Arrived sick and shay fixed me a hot toddy. Really appreciate the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was great except they could not level my table and the servers kept bumping the table as they passed by. My wine for the entree was late but quality of food was great and servers were very nice. Probably just a busy night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Another superb dinner at Ruffino's. The service was impecable as always. The wait team never let our drinks get low and were extremely knowldgalbe about the menu. the back waiter even took a great picture of the family. The food was delicious. the cedar planked redfish was perfect and the burger may have been the best i've ever had. Great dinner with the wife and two kids (8&13).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I dine here often for an evening out and also for family occasions. The atmosphere can be quite energetic at times, depending the time you go. Overall we always have a great time as we like to engage the staff and they are very interactive and have always been friendly and helpful. We have spoken with the managers on most every visit and they always make sure our dining experience is a memorable one.

One of our favorite spots.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Scenic View, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Reliably excellent food and service. We like dining at Ruffino's.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very nice, great food friendly staff plus great views

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My son chose Ruffino's for his 15th birthday dinner, just the two of us. The atmosphere was great, the food was fabulous and my son is ready to go again. We told them one time that it was his birthday and his age and they brought out a special treat for him, which was a surprise to both of us. It showed that they were really paying attention to what we were saying. Trish was our waitress and she was great. Riley was one of the assistants and I forgot the other young man's name but they were also very nice and attentive. The food was fresh and delicious and the presentation was spectacular. I will definitely go again and again and I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a great night out with someone special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic anniversary dinner. The wait staff and food were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was great and the view of the Vermillion river was enjoyable. Nice quite evening with my wife.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our service was great from Claire T. and Connor. The food was spectacular as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Busy Saturday night at Ruffinos. We sat in the side room and most all tables were filled. The grilled oyster appetizer followed by heirloom tomato salad was a great starter and we both had the VealMichael that was prepared exceptionally. The only problem was the service was a bit slow as getting a bottle of wine to the table took way longer than anticipated as well as getting our waitress just to take our order. Food was great but the service could have been a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Ruffino's never disappoints. The food and service are over the top!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Had a great time with the wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always enjoy the meal, staff very attentive and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food and ambiance great! My wife greatly enjoyed her birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the music it was during brunch! Wait staff was excellent!
My friends really liked the Supreme Pizza.
The eggs Benedict was fair. The English muffin was a bit to crusty even difficult to cut with fork and knife.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.