About RUBS BBQ Américain - Laval

699, boul. Curé-Labelle
Laval, QC H7L 5R7
View Larger Map

Southern style American Barbecue is an institution in itself. Contrary to quickly grilled meats at high temperatures on an open flame, Southern Style Barbecue consists of a gentle slow process where the meat cooks with the smoke generated from the wood fire. RUBS’ unique recipes have been crafted using Quebec grown sweet Maple wood for a taste like none other.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue

Hours of Operation:

Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(450) 937-5558

Website:
http://lefumoirrubs.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

RUBS BBQ Américain - Laval Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Laval
Best Food
Laval
Best Service
Laval
2 More
Best Ambiance
Laval
Most Booked
Laval
Best Restaurants in Laval ›

Good for Groups (30)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (4)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Live Sports (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place, fantastic BBQ, reasonable p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place, fantastic BBQ, reasonable price. 2nd time there was even better.

Cheers...Great job.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, dinner went smoothly wit ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food, dinner went smoothly with friendly service. Got a call from the restaurant manager to check up on my reservation which i thought was very cool

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

have eaten there many times since i foun ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

have eaten there many times since i found the place...overall excellent.

had most of the menu and its all outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food but much too expensive 20 doll ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

good food but much too expensive 20 dollars for a sandwich is exaggerated

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Nice place to go out with friends. Very ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice place to go out with friends. Very dynamic place, but the music level is too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The only problem was the hostess who com ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The only problem was the hostess who complained we reserved a little late cause it didn't show on her list. I reserved an hour before. Program confirmed for me it was ok! The rest was awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Friendly Staff

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food. Friendly Staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was closed when we arrive ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The restaurant was closed when we arrived today with a party of 9, much to our surprise, the restaurant was closed!! We even received an email confirmation just 5 minutes prior to our arrival.

Extremely disappointed since we had to coordinate the timing of dinner with family

And kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

It shows that the staff takes great prid ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It shows that the staff takes great pride to assure a positive customer satisfaction. I had a special request and they went above and beyond to comply with our request.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. I had the chicken fin ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was great. I had the chicken fingers with the sweet potato fries was very good. Price was adequate not too expensive. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the Texas Platter (so happy there is ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had the Texas Platter (so happy there is a portion for 2!)

Great for anyone who would like to try the pulled pork, brisket, St Louis ribs and chicken in one sitting (not to mention the choice of 3 sides). Everything was delicious, as usual! Onion blossom is delicious with a light batter. Tried the pulled pork rolls for the first time and they were delicious too! I recommend this restaurant to anyone. Casual resto atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only American BBQ in Laval! Generous ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The only American BBQ in Laval! Generous plates and good choice of cocktails! Not sure for a date but great for the boys!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

They should pay more attentions of the r ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

They should pay more attentions of the reservations. It took a while to find ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is fabulous!!! It's a bit of a driv ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food is fabulous!!! It's a bit of a drive for us to get there but well worth it!!! Best BBQ around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was simply amazing! Service was awe ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was simply amazing! Service was awesome and we will go again pretty soon!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We absolutly love rubs! We live in Laval ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We absolutly love rubs! We live in Laval and used to go to the one in mtl until it shut down. When we found out one opened in Laval...we were over the moon. Our waiter was pascal last week. He is great and also paid special attention to my 2 year old when we requested her juice... He took her order directly from her lol. Fav dish of mine is the beef ribs and my husband and 2 year old is the brisket. Also the children's chiken tenders are the best I have ever seen !!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place for meeting friends afte ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice place for meeting friends after a game or to share a threat between friends. Even we had a very good time, it is by the kind of place to bring your girlfriend on a date because the ambiance is very dynamic.

The beef brisket is sooooo delicious, I can't remember having a such good plate recently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fabulous. The portions gene ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was fabulous. The portions generous. The service was excellent all the meal. We have chat with the Boss and was very courteous. We have enjoy and will return soon. Five stars.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not The Same

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Not sure if there has been a change of ownership or management, but it was not as good the previous 2 visits. And that's an understatement. I used to recommend this place but not anymore. I probably won't be going back either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

First time. Food portion is big. Prices ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

First time. Food portion is big. Prices reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A little disappointing. Everything was a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

A little disappointing. Everything was all right but I guess it didn't match the expectation I had from hearing about the place for a year or so. I thought it would be more "hole-in-the-wall" type of place but ended up being very commercial. But again food was good , so was service and value if you are in the neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was excellent and service was great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Food was excellent and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit and was not impressed

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Party of 3, we all ordered the St. Louis pork ribs, great portions but way too much fat on them.

I was expecting lean succulent ribs such as those found at Baton Rouge, sorry, would not go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Super Bowl party was awesome. Good peopl ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Super Bowl party was awesome.

Good people, good food, food times

Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was amazingly good! Portions were big but high quality. The place was very busy, but the service was good all considering. The Blooming Onion was incredibly delicious. Great American BBQ! Definitely going back

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The ribs were great but unfortunately the brisket was quite dry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Finally!!!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Been searching for a ribs joint in Montreal forever.. Finally we found Rubs:) The prices are very reasonable. Ambience is good! Perhaps on par with the bar section of The Keg. Definitely beats The Keg and Baton Rouge for ribs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious even the second time around

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We went to Rubs for a celebratory lunch. Ot was amazing. We were seated right away. Our waiter was so courteous and nice. He spoke both in French and English to accommodate everybody at our table. We ordered Kool Aid pickles, fried wings, beef brisket, pork ribs and beed ribs.

It was to die for. The bark the smoke creates on the meat is a thing of beauty.

I was so happy we all had leftovers. I love this place and will be returning soon. Especially since we were so full we didn't get a chance to try the desserts ☺

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for meat lovers ! very tasty ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Great place for meat lovers ! very tasty and tender cuts of meat !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Rubs hits the spot!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Looking for great BBQ? Look no further. Rubs is spot on authenticity. They smoke with a passion for BBQ. The brisket is out of this world as is the pulled pork sandwich and the ribs. Well worth the drive from the South Shore to Laval. Be ready to do some finger licking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good. Lived up to th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The food was really good. Lived up to the restaurant name, everything was smoke.

Although we found it a little pricey and the ribs a little fatty, I would not keep that from making me come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Had a great time with the family! Next time we'll have the kids share one meal because it was a very generous portion.

Great service!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best bbq ever!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Rubs was excellent, as usual. St-Louis ribs, delectable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decent pulled pork

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Pretty decent tasting pulled pork. Ribs were also quite good too. A bit pricey for the quantity but good overall.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Smoked like no other

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The smell as I exited my car was divine. We were 3 and we raved about our dishes. It was wonderfully smoked, the veggies, fish, beef...exceedingly tasty. The chocolate covered bacon - a must try :) The service was excellent. A must try !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, different from anywhere else

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

The food was great and it was a new concept to me to have everything smoked. Everything we had (we were a group of 8) was good or great, and everyone was happy.

The server was nice and was giving good information about the menu, but the service was quite slow, and we had to ask for water numerous times. And the place was not even full, so I can only imagine when it is packed how slow it can be.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This was on a Sunday afternoon for NFL S ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

This was on a Sunday afternoon for NFL Sunday. Expected more ambiance as they had an all-you-can-eat ribs special. No one really chearing for football. It's too bad. Of course we are in hockey country, but still.

Food was great. Bacon wrapped jalepeno peppers were awesome! Just four per order but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Really bad service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The food was great. The prices are a little bit high thought. But the service was frustrating. Things were never serve, invoice were incorrect more than one time. The server Jimmy was so confuse and slow to understand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Get your money's worth

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

We were expecting a regular smoked meat type of place but Rubs is the real deal. Original flavours with an in your face smoker in the middle of the restaurant. Even their burgers are smoked so don't fret the redness inside your meat, no matter how well done you ask them to cook the meat, it will not change in color and juices will still be locked inside (genius). Just eat it! They know what they're doing.

If you want a huge, few pounds worth of meat in your plate, don't hesitate...go for the beef ribs. if you want something that we're all used to and can get at other places, the pork ribs are good but watch out, their BBQ sauce is sweet! I guess you could always ask for the sauce on the side but that just defeats the purpose. Original festive drinks like their Corona Margharita. And my next purchase will be the sharing plate that's good enough for at least 4 people. They give you chicken, pork, beef and four sides. Honestly, some portions are fair and filling others are fairly huge and roll out filling, good enough for Fred Flintstone or maybe Obelix, but they make great leftovers. Enough to get oooh and aaaah at the lunch table at work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go for the fried chicken!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

My husband and I went last Saturday night and the place was packed! We've been meaning to check out Rubs for a long time now and they did not disappoint! The service was incredible and the atmosphere was exciting. I had the fired chicken and it was outstanding! We will definitely go back. Great place for families too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.