Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About RUBS BBQ Américain - Laval

Southern style American Barbecue is an institution in itself. Contrary to quickly grilled meats at high temperatures on an open flame, Southern Style Barbecue consists of a gentle slow process where the meat cooks with the smoke generated from the wood fire. RUBS’ unique recipes have been crafted using Quebec grown sweet Maple wood for a taste like none other.

699, boul. Curé-Labelle
Laval, QC H7L 5R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(450) 937-5558

Website:
http://www.rubsamericanbbq.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

RUBS BBQ Américain - Laval Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (19)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Live Sports (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Spicy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Never disappointed when I eat there...smoked salmon with smoked veggies my choice of the night for my diet and I didn't feel I was missing out...my plate was delicious and flavorful!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 2, 2017

always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Over all excellent food. Service ok. Timely yes. Accurate yes. Server may have been having a bad day. If you're not enjoying your job- it is painfully obvious....

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Love it! Great food awesome service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I enjoyed every minute.... our waiter was pleasant and funny... service was excellent, food was delicious.... and with great friends... so worth it! Keep up the great work.....👍👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

already recommended to several friends and my son

Tags: Live Sports, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I have been there three times. The 1st time they ran out of beef ribs. The Food is very good but the service left a lot to be desired the last 2 times. I know it is busy but that is not an excuse to struggle to get ketchup and water

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was nice and a new North American experience for my date. He loves it and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Business Meals, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very good food, good portions. Good pre-service. After-service so-so. They mixed our food with another table for the doggy bag food (there was a lot) so we had to give it away. The manager gave us a coupon instead. Ask for the doggy bags and pack your food urself as it seemed really complicated for them.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Les pull pork roll était très bon, le carolina pull chickens sandwich était très très moyen, je crois que leur pull pork est leur meilleur viande, les short ribs son bon mais ne valent pas le 35$ demandé. Le Georgia peach est un must

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. Always happy when we go there.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Never disappointed. Great food and fast service. Great for a night out with friends or a family dinner with the kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was delicious. Service friendly and efficient. Always a good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Bonne bouffe, prix raisonable!
Il faut tout esseyer!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 28, 2017

good foof great for a familly dinner,great service ,good price range .overrall very nice

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was excellent, as always, however portions are huge. Suggest lowering the costs for main course and reducing potions, otherwise a group of four can have 3-4 appetizers and skip the main courses.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent Food. Huge portions. Great Cocktails.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food is great! Especially the ribs and the pulled pork. As per the service, we waited at least 20 minutes before someone came to see us at our table and that is because my boyfriend got up to tell the manager that nobody came to get our order. After that, we got a good service and the food was great and the manager gave us a small discount.It's not the first time that we visit that restaurant because the food is great. But, I will ask next time not to sit on the bar side because it was the 2nd time that the service was not great with the same server on that side. I would recommand that they have more waiters to serve especially when they have a special promotion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Phenomenal. Just phenomenal. The food was amazing and the owner and staff were fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We tried Rubs BBQ for the first time after hearing their ad on a local radio station. We decided to go there on Sunday and try their ribs special and were not disappointed!!! The pork ribs were fall off the bone, meaty and finger licking delicious! Such a generous portion that we both took half our meal home for later enjoyment. The service was excellent, very friendly and perfectly bilingual. Many who arrived seemed to know the manager and it was a friendly ambiance. We will definitely return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great friendly staff and mega beef ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 30, 2017

great food not so good service had to ask many times and even asked another waiter to get my coffee .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Nice and friendly place, good service, delicius food!!
Hard to find a parking spot!

Tags: Live Sports, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our night at rubs was great. Food was delicious as always!!! Love the ribs and chicken and waffles.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Was just in Nashville and this was almost on par with their BBQ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great place for meat lovers it's very tender and tasty second time here and will e coming back

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very ordinary food. In Canada people don't like huge portions and they serve that, this is an American franchise operation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was our first time visiting RUBS. We found it using the app and are very glad that we tried it. The food was AMAZING!!!! We are already telling are friends and looking to book our next visit. Try the beef ribs they were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great if you like meat and BBQ. The service was great and the staff very nice. The servings are generous. Will go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came here because it was near a concert that we were going to. We were blown away by the menu and the service. We live 20 minutes away and will definitely come back there again. Everything was delicious, and our waiter was spectacular

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice warm relaxed atmosphere. Food was tasty. I was not happy with my initial menu choice . Brisket was very fatty. Management was very accomodating and allowed me to choose something else off the menu. Fried cool aid pickles were delish. Waitress was very sweet and pleasant. You obviously have to be a meat lover for this place.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had the full rack of baby back ribs. They were melt in your mouth soft and very tasty. The other people had the pulled pork sandwich which is huge and good too.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As usual. It was very pleasant. The food is consistent and very good. The noise level is not what I would call 'energetic', but frenetic. Thankfully the music wasn't loud. We were able to have conversation at our table. There was one time when the music was so loud, in the dining area, that we were unable to converse easily. A little odd for a dining establishment. I would expect otherwise had we been in the bar side.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very Happy with the service and attention to detail. Way too noisy.
Placement of tables can be improved upon to give the patrons that want a quieter meal setting. Food was good. Chicken was very tasty, pulled pork very nice.
Brisket was very dry and would not order it again. The ribs were good but I still prefer Bar B Barn ribs. Blooming onion was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 27, 2017

C'était la première fois qu'on y allait. On a très bien mangé et nous avons été très bien servis. On reviendra.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Tres bon service avec Maude et l equipe... propre rapide

Tags: Great Beer, Live Sports, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was amazing , i would definitely go back to try some other things off the menu :)

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We took the speciality plates : ribs and back baby ribs. The ribs were dry and filled with fat. The baby back ribs were dry and no taste what so ever. We didn't finish our plates because we weren't impressed and we took only the small portion. Baton Rouge is far better.

Service was slow. It took a while until the waitress came the first time. My 3 year old was complaining that she was hungry ... Once she brought us the food she came only at the end of the meal and we were waiting for water refill.

3 of our group of 6 were complaining later that night of indigestion and heart burn.

We won't go back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

First time there and the food was great. I am going back for sure.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enjoyed it very much. Will be returning to the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.