About RUBS BBQ Américain - Laval

699, boul. Curé-Labelle
Laval, QC H7L 5R7
View Larger Map

Southern style American Barbecue is an institution in itself. Contrary to quickly grilled meats at high temperatures on an open flame, Southern Style Barbecue consists of a gentle slow process where the meat cooks with the smoke generated from the wood fire. RUBS’ unique recipes have been crafted using Quebec grown sweet Maple wood for a taste like none other.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue

Hours of Operation:

Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(450) 937-5558

Website:
http://lefumoirrubs.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

RUBS BBQ Américain - Laval Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Casual (12)
See All
Family Style (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Live Sports (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing , i would definitel ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing , i would definitely go back to try some other things off the menu :)

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We took the speciality plates : ribs and ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

We took the speciality plates : ribs and back baby ribs. The ribs were dry and filled with fat. The baby back ribs were dry and no taste what so ever. We didn't finish our plates because we weren't impressed and we took only the small portion. Baton Rouge is far better.

Service was slow. It took a while until the waitress came the first time. My 3 year old was complaining that she was hungry ... Once she brought us the food she came only at the end of the meal and we were waiting for water refill.

3 of our group of 6 were complaining later that night of indigestion and heart burn.

We won't go back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

First time there and the food was great. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

First time there and the food was great. I am going back for sure.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed it very much. Will be returning ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enjoyed it very much. Will be returning to the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Full rack of BBQ ribs were a mix of juic ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Full rack of BBQ ribs were a mix of juicy, recently off the grill ribs and dry ones, which obviously were not all cooked at the same time.

The juicy ones were fantastic, the dry ones a bit disappointing, considering the location

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was delicious, as always! So happy ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was delicious, as always! So happy this restaurant is close to home so we can go anytime we want! My husband's favourite is the Monster Burger. Sometimes we even order the Texas Platter to go (brisket, pulled pork, ribs, smoked chicken with choice of 3 sides).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant !!

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent restaurant !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was excellent and very attentive ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Waiter was excellent and very attentive of our needs and friendly. Food was excellent very satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best smoked BBQ in the are. Service is g ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best smoked BBQ in the are. Service is great staff is friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME food and excellent service!! I w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 3, 2016

AWESOME food and excellent service!! I will definetly be going back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the first time I have dined at Rubs ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Not the first time I have dined at Rubs and went there recently on a Thursday night for a friend's hook-up. Rather surprised at how quiet and not very busy it was, especially that there was NFL game on! As for the food no issues Spot On...the pitmaster nailed it again we had the Wings and Chricken tenders to start...followed by a couple of combos the Ribs & Brisket and Ribs & Chicken. All good....Cheers!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service is outstanding and they trea ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service is outstanding and they treat you like family. I reserved 24 hrs prior to our dinner schedule and they called me the morning of my reservation to confirm and asked if I had any special requests. I mentioned that my grandson is autistic and has issues with loud music and noise. They accommodated us by installing us away from the crowds and they even lowered the music when we showed up.

My hat goes off to the entire staff as they really do know what customer satisfaction is all about.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fantastic as always. Good servic ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is fantastic as always. Good service. Not a big fan of the 2 hour policy but I understand.

Thanks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent eats, some of the best smoked ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent eats, some of the best smoked BBQ you can get at a restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in Laval. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Laval. I love the ribs and BBQ pulled pork.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Really good place . Awesome food for a s ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Really good place . Awesome food for a sports restautant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Nourriture excellente. Rapport qualité/ ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nourriture excellente. Rapport qualité/prix remarquable. Très satisfaite.

Tags: Ingrédients locaux, Four à bois, Décor moderne, Plats réconfortants, Décontracté, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This was our third or fourth time and it ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our third or fourth time and it was still amazing, so good and great service

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Geat Place, J'ai addoré et je recommende ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Geat Place, J'ai addoré et je recommende chaleureusement à tous. Nous y sommes allés pour un anniveraire avec toute la famille et des amis. L'un des propriétaires nous à accueilli et à pris le temps de discuter avec nous.

Le service était impeccable.

La nourriture excellente.

J'y retournerai dès que possible.

Tags: Les 5 à 7, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Il en vaut le détour, Délicieux et bons pour les enfants, Décontracté, Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Idéal pour les fêtes, Parfait pour les groupes
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place, fantastic BBQ, reasonable p ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place, fantastic BBQ, reasonable price. 2nd time there was even better.

Cheers...Great job.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, dinner went smoothly wit ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food, dinner went smoothly with friendly service. Got a call from the restaurant manager to check up on my reservation which i thought was very cool

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

have eaten there many times since i foun ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

have eaten there many times since i found the place...overall excellent.

had most of the menu and its all outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food but much too expensive 20 doll ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 26, 2016

good food but much too expensive 20 dollars for a sandwich is exaggerated

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Nice place to go out with friends. Very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice place to go out with friends. Very dynamic place, but the music level is too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The only problem was the hostess who com ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The only problem was the hostess who complained we reserved a little late cause it didn't show on her list. I reserved an hour before. Program confirmed for me it was ok! The rest was awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Friendly Staff

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food. Friendly Staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was closed when we arrive ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The restaurant was closed when we arrived today with a party of 9, much to our surprise, the restaurant was closed!! We even received an email confirmation just 5 minutes prior to our arrival.

Extremely disappointed since we had to coordinate the timing of dinner with family

And kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

It shows that the staff takes great prid ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It shows that the staff takes great pride to assure a positive customer satisfaction. I had a special request and they went above and beyond to comply with our request.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. I had the chicken fin ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was great. I had the chicken fingers with the sweet potato fries was very good. Price was adequate not too expensive. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the Texas Platter (so happy there is ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had the Texas Platter (so happy there is a portion for 2!)

Great for anyone who would like to try the pulled pork, brisket, St Louis ribs and chicken in one sitting (not to mention the choice of 3 sides). Everything was delicious, as usual! Onion blossom is delicious with a light batter. Tried the pulled pork rolls for the first time and they were delicious too! I recommend this restaurant to anyone. Casual resto atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only American BBQ in Laval! Generous ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The only American BBQ in Laval! Generous plates and good choice of cocktails! Not sure for a date but great for the boys!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

They should pay more attentions of the r ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 9, 2016

They should pay more attentions of the reservations. It took a while to find ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is fabulous!!! It's a bit of a driv ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food is fabulous!!! It's a bit of a drive for us to get there but well worth it!!! Best BBQ around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Toute la famille a bien apprécié son rep ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Toute la famille a bien apprécié son repas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was simply amazing! Service was awe ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was simply amazing! Service was awesome and we will go again pretty soon!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

L'endroit était génial. La table était p ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2016

L'endroit était génial. La table était prête à notre arrivée avec un siège prévu pour les enfants. Le serveur connaissait très bien son menu et était à l'aise pour donner des conseils pour le repas.

Il manque d'options valeurs autre que le hamburger fumé et d'alternatives pour ceux qui veulent être présents mais qui ne sont pas exclusivement carnivores.

Ce fut une superbe soirée appréciée par toute la famille.

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Parfait pour les groupes, Idéal pour le repas du midi, Une trouvaille nocturne, La perle du quartier, Une occasion spéciale, Des bars dynamiques et accueillants
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We absolutly love rubs! We live in Laval ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We absolutly love rubs! We live in Laval and used to go to the one in mtl until it shut down. When we found out one opened in Laval...we were over the moon. Our waiter was pascal last week. He is great and also paid special attention to my 2 year old when we requested her juice... He took her order directly from her lol. Fav dish of mine is the beef ribs and my husband and 2 year old is the brisket. Also the children's chiken tenders are the best I have ever seen !!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place for meeting friends afte ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice place for meeting friends after a game or to share a threat between friends. Even we had a very good time, it is by the kind of place to bring your girlfriend on a date because the ambiance is very dynamic.

The beef brisket is sooooo delicious, I can't remember having a such good plate recently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fabulous. The portions gene ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was fabulous. The portions generous. The service was excellent all the meal. We have chat with the Boss and was very courteous. We have enjoy and will return soon. Five stars.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accueillant, bon service, belle ambiance ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Accueillant, bon service, belle ambiance.

La prochaine fois j'irai du côté Bar avec ma conjointe, l'ambiance est décontractée.

La bouffe est excellente, tu sors le ventre plein ça c'est certain !

Tags: Des bars dynamiques et accueillants, Parfait pour les groupes, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.