Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi
  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi
  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi

About Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa

Come and join us for dinner at Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa a Relais & Chateaux property. Experience world-class culinary fare in our historic mansion, where the elegance of fine-dining can be rediscovered amid gracious hospitality and the comfort of home. Mountain views and romantic fireside dining create a magical setting where you can enjoy the flavors of new American cuisine prepared with a flare of Southern sensibility. Rowland’s features an indulgent menu with an array of eclectic dishes including fresh seafood, prime steaks and savory game meats. There is also a delicious gourmet spa menu for the health conscious. On the wine list, you will find bottles from all over the world, including rare wines and some little-known gems from North Carolina vineyards. Find out why Katherine Stefan of Charlotte Taste Magazine writes “no trip to Blowing Rock is complete for foodies” without a meal at Rowland’s.

224 Westglow Circle
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 221 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 295-5141

Website:
http://www.westglowresortandspa.com/15/rowlands-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Enjoy lovely piano music played on our Steinway M baby grand piano. Offered Friday and Saturday nights from 6:00 until 9:00 (June through October, and special events).

Parking Details:
Handicapped parking available

Public Transit:
Private Transportation can be provided by Airhaven Limo.
Contact Dana at 828.963.0963

Executive Chef:
Tony Bates

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holidays, Birthdays, Anniversaries, Engagements, and Business Functions.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, Westglow Resort & Spa is a top-rated luxury destination spa where personal service is an honored tradition. Our elegant Greek Revival mansion is a perfect place to find renewal of the mind, body and spirit.

Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Scenic View (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Fireplace (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

An absolutely superior and exquisite dining experience! BEST OF THE BEST world class service, gourmet food and very much worth the drive and the price. The manor house tour is part of the experience and we can't wait to try the Westglow Spa next door. If you want to luxuriate & treat that someone special to something super special, Rowland's is it! Don't miss the "Chocolate Earth" dessert!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had very good food served in a really great setting. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is outstanding! The extra touches and attention to detail keeps us coming back whenever we are in Boone. (Especially for special occasions)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Splendid evening of hospitality and great food. Attentiveness from welcoming to departure made us feel very special during our 25th anniversary celebration with our friends.
Living up here in the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains is made extra special by a superb and scenic restaurant as Rowland's. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good presentation and attention to detail. Plan a return later this year. Staff is pleasant and interested your comfort. My wife loved the water cress in the fried green tomatoes appetizer and completely devoured her Sea Bass. My lamb chop w/sugo was prepared to perfection. The waiter even served us a merlot not on the menu. The staff concluded with a decadent white chocolate mousse and raspberry mousse desert drizzled with Happy Anniversary in raspberry sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

What a tremendously pleasant surprise.
Did not expect to find such a great dining experience.
Would highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

First time visit. A beautiful place, with many windows to look out on the mountains and the grounds. The drive there on the Blue Ridge Parkway sets the mood well! The service by Jessica and the rest of the staff was exemplary. A beautiful and relaxing evening out, the food was well prepared, a few rough edges but very fine. Salmon was great, a very healthy preparation- but didn't taste like "spa food", it was in fact quite delicious. Lamb was tasty as well, not melt in your mouth tender but quite acceptable. Presentation was very nice- chef did an excellent job! A little pricey, but perfect for a special occasion, really a great evening for us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a first class food experience. Everything about it was great especially the service by Sam.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The setting was great and the service excellent.
Choices for Brunch were somewhat limited and portions fairly small but very tasty.
I selected the Rack of Lamb and was given two pretty small cutlets.(not exactly a rack)
The setting ,service and food presentation made up for the lack of choice and small portions (Reminded me of an old commercial featuring Terry Bradshaw )

Tags: , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Plesantly surprised by manager, who tool the time to show us around before we set down for dinner. He also introduced us to the front desk lady who knew the history of the house and explained it very well. Dinner was exceptional and the views outstanding especially at sunset...will definitely be back, but will have to save up as the entrees were a little pricey, my only complaint

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Best meal we have had in the high country in a long time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This is truly a restaurant for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of our favorite 3 restaurants in North Carolina. Located in the classic old mansion of the noted painter Elliott Dangerfield, situated on a crest looking out on Grandfather Mountain. The restaurant is an elegant setting to settle in for a cocktail and long luxurious dinner. The staff attends to your every need and will give detailed information on each dish offered. Don't miss the King Prawn or the Miso Marinated Sea Bass. Gary will be happy to direct you through the well selected wine list. Have an after dinner drink in the living room while listening to live piano music or take your coffee out on the terrace.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was one of the best meals that I have experienced in a long time. This is an excellent restaurant for a special occasion as well as for the view. Everything was impeccable. Thanks for a wonderful evening. I will return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic place. Love the food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is by far, the best restaurant in the North Carolina High Country. Do not miss it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We were looking for a special place for dinner and we definitely found it! The atmosphere is lovely. It makes or feel like a special occasion. I had the sea bass, which was delicious. My husband had the short ribs. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Beautiful setting, wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant is an amazing place with outstanding food and service. It is a bit pricey but well worth an evening of fine dining. The embiance is perfect if you are looking for a quiet evening of dining with your mate. The personnel were helpful and friendly. The cook even provided his/her recipe for an item that I want to try at home. This was a surprise for my wife and she was blown away with the excellence - I think we'll have to go again. Thanks to Rowlands Restaurant! We recommend the experience!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Best Anniversary Dining Experience Ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A special, romantic, quiet mansion,
with extraordinary cuisine and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

From the moment we arrived to the last good bye at the door, a perfect evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service, ambiance, and food. Made a special occasion a very special one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food here was fine. Beautiful, impressive setting and beautiful restaurant. Attentive staff. Host a bit smug. Menu was average and food was above par. This restaurant seemed way below the ratings that overs give it, probably because it is such a beautiful location. There are many places in the area where the food is better, definitely less expensive. Biggest gripe is that place has zero energy (on the night we were there). Probably would not return, since I left with no real reason for ever coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our hands down favorite restaurant in the Blowing Rock area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Service was very good although they missed out on selling us more wine as the server was not as attentive to our table as she could have been. Food was very good. We were sorry to have the table next to us passing around their cell phone as they face timed with a small child. It was very disruptive in this small intimate venue. Our server was equally distressed but there wasn't much she could do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food. Beautiful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We just loved this restaurant. A special gem in Blowing Rock. It was pricey but worth it. The food was wonderful and the mansion is beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a special evening. It has class and a genuine welcoming ambiance. The sunset out on the veranda is spectacular.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was a special occasion for my wife. I chose this restaurant because of the high ratings reported on OpenTable. The facility is attractive, with much better than average ambience. Service to the table was extremely poor, with water glasses going empty several times. The bread course was offered one time to our table, but multiple times to other surrounding tables. White staff was changed for our table at least twice. The staff appeared distracted. The food itself was wonderful, and I would highly recommend the chef. The apparent manager of the restaurant greeted us only as we were exiting the front steps to pick up our vehicle. I described our poor experience, and he said he was sorry and will discuss it with the serving staff. He returned to the restaurant. Overall, great food, poor service, inattention by the staff.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Mountain Gem. Gourmet Food atop a country hilltop. Terrific service and great food

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. The wine list is amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Rowland's continues to impress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our meal at Rowland's was the best we had during a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is a bit off the beaten path and well worth the drive. The setting, service and food preparation were really top notch. The wine list was extensive and surprisingly eclectic. They had a marvelous pinot noir from the Otago region in New Zealand that was close to the price I had paid right at the winery during a trip last January. Truly, a fine dining experience worthy of a visit for that special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Expensive, but worth it. The ambience compares very favorably to Best Cellar, The Gamekeeper, and Gideon Ridge; the food is in the same class and price range. If you're looking for a nice, quiet, and romantic night, this is the place.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Beautiful. Elegant. Very gourmet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wine, food/dinner was delicious and the setting was absolutely breathtaking....beautiful views of the mountains ranges of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful choice for a Special One's Birth Anniversary Celebration!!! Thanks Rowlands!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A special place to celebrate or simply have an exceptional experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Nice ambiance while having drinks - Great food and terrific service - attentive wait staff and nice celebration of my wife's 70th birthday.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. Each course, including a pre-appetizer course from the chef and two chocolate samplers after the dessert, was superb. The service was great and good wine selections were available and were well paired with the food. This is a pricey place; we were aware of this through a look at the menu before the visit. However, this restaurant is one of the top in the state and well worth the price for a special visit. The setting is quite unique and very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.