Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi
  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi
  1. Distance: 1.15mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.42mi
  4. Distance: 2.97mi

About Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa

Come and join us for dinner at Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa a Relais & Chateaux property. Experience world-class culinary fare in our historic mansion, where the elegance of fine-dining can be rediscovered amid gracious hospitality and the comfort of home. Mountain views and romantic fireside dining create a magical setting where you can enjoy the flavors of new American cuisine prepared with a flare of Southern sensibility. Rowland’s features an indulgent menu with an array of eclectic dishes including fresh seafood, prime steaks and savory game meats. There is also a delicious gourmet spa menu for the health conscious. On the wine list, you will find bottles from all over the world, including rare wines and some little-known gems from North Carolina vineyards. Find out why Katherine Stefan of Charlotte Taste Magazine writes “no trip to Blowing Rock is complete for foodies” without a meal at Rowland’s.

224 Westglow Circle
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 221 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 295-5141

Website:
http://www.westglowresortandspa.com/15/rowlands-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Enjoy lovely piano music played on our Steinway M baby grand piano. Offered Friday and Saturday nights from 6:00 until 9:00 (June through October, and special events).

Parking Details:
Handicapped parking available

Public Transit:
Private Transportation can be provided by Airhaven Limo.
Contact Dana at 828.963.0963

Executive Chef:
Tony Bates

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holidays, Birthdays, Anniversaries, Engagements, and Business Functions.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, Westglow Resort & Spa is a top-rated luxury destination spa where personal service is an honored tradition. Our elegant Greek Revival mansion is a perfect place to find renewal of the mind, body and spirit.

Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Scenic View (20)
Romantic (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Music (4)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 15, 2017

the location and views are wonderful in these mts...the service was excellent however the food for both my wife and I came out cold the presentation was lovely and they took our dinners back and replaced them with a newly cooked dinner(not just warmed) they came to us after the meal with a check that removed the price of the entrees they requested we pay for the drinks, appetizers, etc but did not want to honor the $20 point redemption, which I did not dispute....I would recommend the restaurant to friends but unfortunately we were just visiting 700 miles away from our home in florida and will not be able to return in the near future

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This is an awesome restaurant. Every element of this dining experience is special. The service was impeccable. The food was delicious. We also capped off the experience by going out on the front porch and enjoying "glow time" which is the beautiful sunset over the mountains. I look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This was an outstanding experience. Ambiance was absolutely delightful; we shared a glass of wine on the beautiful grounds before seating for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was excellent as was our meal. The restaurant and the views are stunning. My wife and I wondered why we had never eaten here before. We had brunch and walked out on the veranda and enjoyed the views afterwards.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Beautiful setting, high expectations which fell really short. Service was way too chummy for the price and setting. Food was a big disappointment, filet was way overcooked after clarifying with the server what temp we were talking about. First course was also a disappointment, mushroom tart was really dry, not as described. My wife's pork tenderloin was cooked and presented well. For the price, it was at best fair. They need to review their food quality and cooking process.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed the time we spent at Rowland's , the building was interesting and the food and service was great . We will teturn the next time we are in the area!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wedding anniversary celebration for our friends. We all were impressed with our food and the ambiance of the restaurant. Built in the early 1900's and last remodeled in 2005, a lot of the original character of the building is still there. Great place for special occasions and a romantic evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is a wonderful venue but the service was painful. It was not the fault of tbe server as there did not appear to be many diners on the building.

By the time the entree was served i had forgotten what i had for a first course. Like most things in life, timing and rhythem are the keys to a plrasant experience. You can only live on your reputation for so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Been to Rowland's for a group luncheon, Mother's Day Brunch and Sunday Brunch. Brunch prices very reasonable and food was delicious.
Cocktail prices a little high. Will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was our first visit for brunch. it was excellent and a very nice way to enjoy a Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Exceptional world class food with spectacular views in elegant setting. Be sure to ask for Sandy, a terrific server with bubbly personality who will definitely help make your dining experience a lot more enjoyable!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Beautiful setting, presentation and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The location, scenery and atmosphere was wonderful. The restaurant has a porch where you can enjoy the sunset and cocktails. The food and service was exceptional. Fabulous restaurant! We will return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Unique presentation and perfect preparation makes Rowland's a dining experience, not just a meal. This is a personalized resort treat not to be missed on a visit to Boone, NC. The converted mansion and grounds elevate the spirit and expand the appreciation of the better side of mountain life. If price is no object, this is the best of Boone.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Absolutely beautiful view and ambience. The food was delicious and the presentation breath taking. The polenta fries are incredible. Our server, Carl, was excellent. His suggestions and descriptions were perfect. My only complaint was no one in our party saved room for dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Unbelievably wonderful! The food was outstanding, as was the service and the setting. It easily exceeded our expectations. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

WOW! I booked this restaurant for friends that were coming to visit Boone. They were first time visitors to our home. First of all, I chose it because it was open on a Monday evening and that alone is a rare thing here in our part of the mountains. Then, it also had wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor and Open Table. There are some spectacular restaurants in our area and I was hoping this would be one of them. It is! Not only did we have a cozy table for four in the library but the hostess gave us the history of the resort. Dinner was almost ready to be served when we were invited to witness the sunset behind the mountains. They held our dinner while we basked in the glow of the setting sun. The food was spectacular. I had the NC snapper and my husband had the capon and one of our guests had the pork. We splurged and had dessert too. I had the lemon tart special and my husband had the chocolate cake and milk. This was a very special evening. We all left feeling quite sated, both in body and spirit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This place is fabulous. Great atmosphere in a unique setting (we dined in the library). Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Although it's a very high-end restaurant, it's still fairly casual and definitely welcoming. The food is fantastically prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fantastic dinner in a lovely setting - amuse bouche was incredible (would have loved an entire platter of those little morsels for my dinner!) My husband had melt in your mouth bison and I had lamb. Dessert was perfect, service was exceptional (Erin) and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal on the pretty porch. Would definitely return. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Their Sunday brunch is fantastic with many offerings at surprisingly reasonable prices. I had the country breakfast (10 dollars) and my wife had the fresh, seared tuna BLT (16) and both were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Roland's was excellent! Beautiful atmosphere , superb service from our server Carl, and delicious wine and food. It was a perfect evening. We can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Normally I do not leave reviews, but I have had run of absolutely wonderful meals at Rowland's this year. The staff has been efficient and attentive to every detail and the food is very special. We really enjoy being greeted by Gary upon arrival. He gets us started with a pre-meal visit to the parlor or porch for cocktails. Rowland's is much more than a meal. It is an experience like none other in the Blue Ridge.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A fantastic experience. The food was excellent, the service was impeccable. As an added touch, the manager came around and told everyone inside the restaurant that it was about sunset, if we all wanted to go outside to watch. The pace of the dinner was just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch, very quiet. I had the seared tuna sandwich and the hubby had the crab cake and fried green tomato Benedict. All was very yummy! Drinks were a little pricey, $10 bucks a pop. Ended up spending 72.00 so not for every Sunday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We love eating and the experience of being at Roland's. The food is wonderful and the service is friendly and excellent. The setting is perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very pretentious wait staff.
Trout dinner and Red Snapper dinner dried out and not well conceived. Poor portions.
Heirloom tomato appetizer mediocre. How do you screw up a Bloody Mary ? Ask them.
Non attentive after served.
Lots of gratuitous talking by wait staff.
Old building. Poor AC.
Musty smell.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great service, beautiful setting. One of the best meals I have had. Would highly recommend for anyone visiting the area and wanting a fine dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

An absolutely superior and exquisite dining experience! BEST OF THE BEST world class service, gourmet food and very much worth the drive and the price. The manor house tour is part of the experience and we can't wait to try the Westglow Spa next door. If you want to luxuriate & treat that someone special to something super special, Rowland's is it! Don't miss the "Chocolate Earth" dessert!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I wanted to do something different for Mother's Day and drove 1.5 hours to Rowlands, which I found on Open Table. I don't know which was better; the views, the house, or the food. We could not have enjoyed it more. It was lovely and I look forward to another visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had very good food served in a really great setting. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Cilean sea bass was seasoned and cooked to perfection. Others in the party especially enjoyed the flat iron steak. The triple chocolate dessert was decadently delicious. The signature Manhatten was most enjoyable on the deck before dinner. One of our party stated "it was the best meal they'd ever had".

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I find that WestGlow doesn't seem as special as it used too- it's kept several items on the menu for way too long and generally need a fresher, more interesting menu - it seems to be resting in its laurels

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is outstanding! The extra touches and attention to detail keeps us coming back whenever we are in Boone. (Especially for special occasions)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Splendid evening of hospitality and great food. Attentiveness from welcoming to departure made us feel very special during our 25th anniversary celebration with our friends.
Living up here in the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains is made extra special by a superb and scenic restaurant as Rowland's. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good presentation and attention to detail. Plan a return later this year. Staff is pleasant and interested your comfort. My wife loved the water cress in the fried green tomatoes appetizer and completely devoured her Sea Bass. My lamb chop w/sugo was prepared to perfection. The waiter even served us a merlot not on the menu. The staff concluded with a decadent white chocolate mousse and raspberry mousse desert drizzled with Happy Anniversary in raspberry sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

What a tremendously pleasant surprise.
Did not expect to find such a great dining experience.
Would highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

First time visit. A beautiful place, with many windows to look out on the mountains and the grounds. The drive there on the Blue Ridge Parkway sets the mood well! The service by Jessica and the rest of the staff was exemplary. A beautiful and relaxing evening out, the food was well prepared, a few rough edges but very fine. Salmon was great, a very healthy preparation- but didn't taste like "spa food", it was in fact quite delicious. Lamb was tasty as well, not melt in your mouth tender but quite acceptable. Presentation was very nice- chef did an excellent job! A little pricey, but perfect for a special occasion, really a great evening for us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a first class food experience. Everything about it was great especially the service by Sam.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The setting was great and the service excellent.
Choices for Brunch were somewhat limited and portions fairly small but very tasty.
I selected the Rack of Lamb and was given two pretty small cutlets.(not exactly a rack)
The setting ,service and food presentation made up for the lack of choice and small portions (Reminded me of an old commercial featuring Terry Bradshaw )

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Plesantly surprised by manager, who tool the time to show us around before we set down for dinner. He also introduced us to the front desk lady who knew the history of the house and explained it very well. Dinner was exceptional and the views outstanding especially at sunset...will definitely be back, but will have to save up as the entrees were a little pricey, my only complaint

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.