Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs. Free parking

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Cody Suddreth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Casual (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Comfort Food (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fun (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Healthy (14)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Seasonal (12)
Romantic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Organic (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (4)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious meal, but $18 for a pasta lunch special is a little ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Roosters before the Symphony at Blumenthal. We always love Roosters. Their food is consistently great quality and the convenience of being able to walk across the crosswalk to the Belk Theater is ideal. Service was good but wish server had poured a taste of wine for my mom before pouring the whole glass. Food is somewhat overpriced for servings in my opinion but it's so delicious that we don't regret it! A wonderful meal at a family favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress, Natalie, was outstanding. She provided excellent descriptions of every item on the menu and her recommendations were all delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined here many times but in some months due to poor service. We were pleasantly surprised by the updated menu on offer and the service was much improved. We will certainly be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This was a big disappointment. Since it was one of the Noble’s family of restaurants, it would be very good, but we were completely underwhelmed.

Ambience & facility: the booth we sat at was so cramped we could hardly breath. I understand they want to pack in tables, but there simply was no room to move. It was fairly noisy but we could still easily carry on a conversation.

Service: the wait staff were all very friendly, but like many American restaurants, they are not being trained properly. When it is clear we weren’t in a rush, they didn’t need to show up at our table every 3 -5 minutes to ask us if we were ready to order. It was irritating!! When we did order the appetizer, it came quickly. Shortly thereafter, we ordered our main course. However, they brought our mains well before we finished our appetizer. That is just incredibly lame. On top of that, since there was no extra room on the table, it became even more uncomfortable. We wanted to finish our appetizer (charcuterie board), but they drove us crazy trying to remove it so we would have more room. What they COULD have offered was to move what was left to a smaller board.

The food: The charcuterie board was okay but came with small pieces of bread which could only be described as chewy cardboard. Unbelievable that they would serve that. Luckily, we had enough complimentary bread that we could use instead. The mains were all “okay”. We had 4different once’s, and everyone had the same experience. The mains were all over salted, but at the same time, the flavors were non-descript and could best be described as “blandly salty”.

I will certainly never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Don't let them put you at a table in the back by the wait staff counter. Not pleasant!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our waitress, Natalie, was amazing and the food was delicious. The only issue we had was that there were multiple things we ordered that our waitress came back and told us they were out of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We had goat cheese ravioli, grilled corn and hangar steak. Outstanding!! Can't wait to come back to try other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Very Tasty Food. Great Service. Not too noisy at the time.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food is soooo good here. The chicken is wonderful, the smoked chicken wings are savory and crunchy, the scalloped potatoes are creamy and cheesy. Plus the service is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The calamari and spicy wings were both excellent. The duck breast was very good.
The only negative was that the menu is not real clear. They've tried to get fancy with a page of 'chef recommendations' and then another page for the dinner menu when both pages are basically the same headings (heading like: from the garden, from the larder, from the kitchen, from the oven, from the pasture, etc).
Still, with that one caveat, it was a great place to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Service is outstanding. I recommend the beef short rib.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The burrata, gnocchi with ox tail, and coconut cake were all exceptional dishes. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Good overall experience. Nothing over the top noteworthy. Food was good although a bit pricey. Brought our own bottle of wine and the restaurant had no issues with it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great ambiance & loved the décor. Simple but cool. Menu was a bit excessive & cumbersome to look at - but our waiter handled explanations very well & made it very workable.
Beverage options were very good.
Meals all around were tasty & presented well.
Love the Charlotte downtown - hope to be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Amazing food in a fun environment. Had the short rib and roasted beets.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Josh our server was great. We were in for a game, and were late with a business meeting on a saturday. We waited for ten minutes at the bar while the great booth in the corner was prepared. Josh was right on top of our needs. Lots of gluten friendly and dietary hurdles that are presented with a group were over come. Good food. Poppin atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Every time we go to uptown Charlotte, we choose to eat here. It is a delight for the taste buds! The fresh ingredients, the chefs excel in executing the dishes, the staff very friendly and helpful and with every experience, we just want more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Vegan, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were very excited and had received multiple recommendations. However, 3 of the 4 entrees we ordered were not cooked correctly (as they were ordered), 2 undercooked, and one burnt. For the price we paid, it was pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Perfect. Sat in atrium and had an incredible time. Food service ambiance were perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have been to Rooster's before, but this time, the food was not so great. We got steamed mussels, which are usually very flavorful, but were a bit lacking this time. The wings were overcooked and had a burned flavor. However, on a good day, their food is phenomenal and prepared well. I love seeing the open kitchen in center. The servers understand their food and are very food at explaining what each dish is.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Was a bit disappointed. Ordered the scallop salad. Only had 3 scallops (which were delicious) but the rest of the salad was not great. Did not like the dressing and greens were very wilted and not too tasty. My friend had the chicken salad which he enjoyed. The waitress came over too often - I felt pressured to order, eat and leave. Overall it was OK but I probably won't go back.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Good Food, lively atmosphere and great service. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The male Bartender had an angry, unhelpful attitude which ruined the beginning of the evening.
There is one bathroom for the bar. It had 9 people waiting in line in the corridor - men and women. I waited at least 15 minutes to get to the bathroom. We had a reservation but had to wait for our table. Once seated the service was very good and the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great food at a reasonable price. Ambiance was good, waitress service left a little to be desired.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Rooster's. It was a recommendation from a friend and boy they were right! Ryan was our server and was very knowledgeable attuned to our dining experience. The cheese selection was amazing and fresh. I chose the short rib which was braised and extremely tender with a flavorful jus. The pan fried corn is a must for a side as it is grilled on the cob then tossed in a pan with some butter and seasoning. My girlfriend got the gnocchi which was pleasantly soft with a delectable tomato sauce. We chose the the hand pie that was filled with seasonal fall fruit and resembles a pop over that is topped with a fresh fruit puree. The flavors were good, but it was a little bready and left some to desire. Overall if you are thinking of going here, do not second guess and make the reservation as you are sure to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Really wish the menu was easier on the 40+ year olds eyes. The light colored small font in dimmly lit setting with multiple pages of a non traditional menu lay out makes the start of a great meal almost too frustrating to stick around for.
I ended up ordering items the waiter recommended which were ok but not what I would have choose if I could have had the time, glasses and lighting to read the menu.
The meat portions served to my spouse for last two visits have proven to be consistently small (hanger steak and rib eye special). They were delicious but for the price the portion was too small. Conversely, the side portion of carbs is ridiculously huge especially if no one else wants to share that item with you. I understand the concept is to share the potatoes au'graten with two but he hates them so we end up with huge waste of potato and spending more on another oversized side item for him. Or not. In this case, he thought the special sounded like a lot of food so he didn't order a side. But it was so small that he left hungry and combined with drinks we spent over $100 which is too much when you are leaving hungry.
Also we asked for items that were never delivered like a black napkin instead of the white one that left white fuzzies all over my black slacks. The other girl at the table with us asked/reminded him too but we never got it.
We had an app with meat/cheese tray shared by 4. The waiter delivered a cup with only about 5-6 crustinis. Obviously that was not enough. We requested more and waited about 10 mins. Soon after we got them our food arrived.
The food is delicious but there are many opportunities for improvement and based on how empty the place was that evening I'm guessing I'm not the only person that feels that way.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was amazing!! We all had the duck breast which was spectacular !! I had met by chance one of the chefs named Cade. He came out to get all of us and told us about the specials. He was very nice and he helped us choose our dinner. Over all this is a really great place to eat. Plus it's close to many entertainment choices at the nearby Epicenter in downtown Charlotte. We'll be back 😀

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great wine.....Priorat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Rooster's. The food was excellent, staff was friendly and accommodating, and the drinks tasty.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Salmon was terrific! Service was excellent. And view was amazing!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

First time in Charlotte and took the recommendation to go here based on distance from the hotel and reviews...and it didn't disappoint. Food and service were good, especially the chicken pizza

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

After many dinners/drinks here over the years I guess this is the last. The menu is so vague and full of itself, that the waiter had to give a monologue on what everything meant and what was missing/hard to understand. This was BEFORE we where asked about what drinks we wanted. Is this a tapas? Is this an entree w/ sides? What's the portion again - 1oz on this and 2oz on that? We were as confused about the menu as we were listening to the server give the 5 minute rundown on the what was really on the menu. The menu only has the name of the dish. No description of how prepared or anything. Our table was left shrugging shoulders and just hoped for the best. My past favorite, the Short Rib, was far different, and inferior, than it was a dozen visits before. :( Lastly, they need to up their cocktail list for those who like to try new concoctions. What happened to your delicious Basil Cocktail? (brought over from Good Food).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I went in for a drink before leaving work one day and painter gave me phenomenal service. I decided to make a reservation for Friday night when my parents flew in to town and holy cow everything was incredible. Keith our server was amazing. Basically let him order our food and her NAILED it. The peach bread pudding was insane. Will absolutely be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Nice selection of options. Exceptionally fresh and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything's about our experience was amazing: food, atmosphere, and service. I would absolutely recommend Roosters to any and everyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Ahh-mazing! Go with people you can share dishes with as thats the best way to experience this restaurant's menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have gone to Roosters many times and always enjoyed it. But this time we took 2 friends who had never been to Roosters and it was terrible. The table was by the server station, very unpleasant. Our waiter was not attentive; the main course came before we had finished our starters and they plopped all the dishes on the table. It was a mess. The waiter did not pay attention to any of this, was oblivious to the commotion at the table with all these plates. We might go back but we will never take friends again. It was embarrassing. I'm sure our friends will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food and a nice, not too fancy environment. Great for a fairly fancy date but not ridiculously expensive. They even gave us a free dessert because it was an anniversary. Great staff. I would highly recommend Rooster's uptown.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This place is extraordinary. From the hostess to the servers! Excellent place to dine. As soon as you sit down there is someone to bring you water. Then right after that we were served bread and olive oil. Then the waitress. The manager passed by when she overheard me say I do not like the bread. She came back to my table and offered me a different type of bread. The different selection of bread that they bake fresh everyday was wonderful. The customer service is superb. The waitress was hands on and very inviting. Anything we needed she was on it. The food was cook to perfection. And the Coconut cream cake topped the evening off! I will definitely recommend and come back to this restaurant if I am ever in town. The only thing that I did not care for was the menu items description of the meal. The menu had several ingredients for each item on the menu that I couldn't even remember what I ordered when I received the dish or what was in it. All of the food we ordered was excellent. This part was just overwhelming for me.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.