Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Open Kitchen (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Casual (20)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Business Meals (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Wood Oven (18)
Cozy (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (15)
Fun (14)
Healthy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Seasonal (8)
Modern Decor (8)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

So excellent the chicken wings were amazing. So were the pork chops and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

I love that this restaurant is in uptown and part of OpenTable. Easy to make a reservation and you can ensure you have a table ready. I have been here on multiple occasions. The food is always amazing and their lunch menu has some great options.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I recommend this place for anyone who wants great food and a chill atmosphere. Took my girlfriend for her bday and we enjoyed the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of the best meals I've had. The farm to table concept is done right. The service was great. Our waiter seemed to be new but he admitted he would go ask for a "second opinion" on the right cheese to get. He will well. Food was timely brought to the table. The food was REALLY good. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Rooster's is a fun experience, with good food and a lively atmosphere. The restaurant is split between two floors in the Bank of America (BOA) tower. The main restaurant and open kitchen area is easily accessed by entering the BOA building and heading up the escalator to the second floor. There is also street access, which seems to be more bar-like and used for private events. Everyone at my table had the duck breast, which was perfectly cooked and coated in sauce that had just the right amount of savory and sweet. Side dishes are a la carte and meant to be shared with the table. During our visit, service seemed to be a team effort, so it was a little slow at times. My "by the glass" wine glass sat empty twice (missed revenue opportunity). Overall though, it was a great meal and experience. I'll definitely return and recommend Rooster's to my friends in Charlotte.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone in our group was pleased with their food and service. Very convenient to the Bell Theater

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Solid restaurant. Got the wings and they did not disappoint. Spring for the coconut cake. It was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Why so bad this time, not sure but service was horrible (yes, horrible)! Reservation at 7:45, sat down and order drinks, great they came fast. But this is where it went down hill and fast. Ordered two salads to accomplish our entrees/sides and waited over an hour for just one salad, the other never made it out. After almost 2 hours, our meals started to show up. Potatoes au gratin were great as the times we ordered before. The spiced chicken wings were not good but that's my opinion. Short rib felt rushed, fat still present even though slow cooked? Come on Roosters! The final straw were the onion rings, before were luscious thin fried battered onion rings and to my surprise the complete opposite; soggy thick onions that tasted like they were fired with calamari. Manager helped a little in our bad experience, but service this time generally killed the idea of ever going back. In the end, go if you want potatoes au gratin (the best so far in Charlotte) but stay away if you want great service on a Friday night! All in all, worst birthday dinner ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Both Tammy and Bo have been a blessing the whole symphony season 16-17. This Rooster's is always immaculate and welcoming! We had the catfish with the sausage rice and chicken pizza. We came back after the concert for the French toast bread pudding!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

great food and atmosphere,a def return visit,Shanon was a great server and attentive and a delight-all food was great and well presented we will be back again very soon

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wow, really delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is our go to restaurant when we are in charlotte. Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food, as always, as terrific. Service was a little slower than normal but we enjoyed ourselves. We hosted a friend in from out of town and this is always a great way to show off downtown.

Fried corn, beats, pork shoulder, gnocchi, and the burger. We speed things around nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Exceptional dinner. AGM and server were both excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was my first time in Charlotte and at Roosters. The ambiance was very nice. Food was delicious and service was excellent. I will definitely go again. I had the short ribs and my boyfriend had the chicken. Both good choices

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service, great atmosphere, delicious food and drinks!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I was just as pleased with uptown's Roosters as I was with South Park's. Pre-show dinner was perfect, with great food and service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had reservations before the Neil Diamond concert. Our meal was excellent - I had the roast chicken & my friend had the short rib. We shared a cheese sampler as well as spinach & onion rings. Grant was our server, and he was most helpful. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Terrible service, 4 menu items not even available, super disappointed as a repeat guest.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2017

From start to finish Rooster's and all involved made for a pleasant and fulfilling evening. A definite repeat visit coming soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Business Meeting with folks from around world. High quality great food and excellent value.

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Rooster's never fails to amaze. The food is always quality and the service is superb. I am not a stranger to Rooster's decadence. However, if you are, please attend during lunch or dinner. You will not be disappointed with anything you try or experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Nice environment and nice food. Not very expensive for the quality of the products.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always perfect. Never fails. They go the extra mile to make sure the dining experience is unique, personalized and delicious. Thank you all, Roosters, once again for a delicious and perfect meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

First time there and the experience was awesome! I would definitely come back and recommend your restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was fantastic. The food was excellent and the service was superb. Definitely a great place to celebrate.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a pre-theater dinner at Roosters Uptown on a Saturday. Two menus were available, a seasonal at-market menu and a 'favorites' menu. Items off both menus were delicious, especially the vegetable sides including an in-season maque-choux and standards roast beets, peas, and Carolina rice. We also enjoyed a (rich) potato gnocchi with wild mushrooms and a slightly over-seasoned plate of scallops. The food was fresh, nicely prepared, and served quickly to our table. Our waitress was slow to check on drink refills, but altogether service was good, including a kind stop at our table by the manager to inquire how were enjoying our meal. Roosters is one of our favorite fine-dining yet 'casual 'restaurants in uptown.

Tags: , Seasonal, , , , , , , Cozy, , , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The servers were wonderful and accommodating. We were on a tight schedule and the waitress made sure we were out on time! The food was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

A great place to get together withe friends. You won't be overwhelmed with music or croud noise. You can actually have a conversation over some fantastic food with a great selection of beer and wine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Roosters is hands down my favorite restaurant for great food cooked with local ingredients. It never fails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Organic, Business Meals, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I went on a Monday night and it was rather busy. Our server was great and the food was delicious!! I had the duck (recommended by our server) and kale sandwich and my friend had the brisket burger with Mac &a cheese. Both were heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The mussels were amazing. The succotash extremely salty. Wine was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Poor start but manager made sure the rest of our experience was very good. Appetizers great, entrees ok and dessert ok. Not sure will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Roosters never disappoints! Great food in a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Cool atmosphere. Great location. Excellent food. Good service. Everything we had, wings, Mac n cheese, pizza, chicken and everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Loved Roosters wood fired food! My husband and I had dinner here last week. Really great wood fired entrees and the sides were great. We had the grits - they had ham and corn in them and were very rustic but delicious. The pan fried corn was very fresh and absolutely delicious. I could have ordered ten things on the menu and will go back again when I am next in Charlotte. The atmosphere was very rustic and warm with an upbeat vibe. Great place for a date, a group. You can also sit at the "bar" around the open kitchen to get a great view of what is going on in the kitchen.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 22, 2017

great locale with convenient and free parking....efficient service to facilitate going to the theater.Food is always excellent; well prepared; changing menu with daily specials

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Roosters always brings a fresh menu of all natural ingredients. Their roasted vegetables change from time to time and always get welcomed by the palate. Seafood and fish are fresh and properly prepared, never dry or overcooked. For a surprising diversion form the formal, they have the best spicy smoked wings you will ever taste. Grab the onion strings for a side.
Roosters is top of the list when I come to Charlotte for dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Monday's meal was probably on of the best five I have ever eaten anywhere in the world.
Love coming here

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Good service overall. Parking can be a little inconvenient, but if you have to, the staff will validate your parking ticket or you could just Uber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.