About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Casual (22)
Wood Oven (22)
Cozy (20)
Business Meals (19)
Authentic (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (13)
Healthy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great Beer (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Organic (4)
Tapas (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (3)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal - the waiter really made the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal - the waiter really made the night. He gave great recommendations, and everything we ordered was fantastic.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! The food was very high quality ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! The food was very high quality. The fried oysters were the best we ever tasted! I appreciated the server boxing our leftovers to go rather than having to scrape our own dishes at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Burger not cooked correctly. Ordered med ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Burger not cooked correctly. Ordered medium well and it came out red center. Sent back and they sent out remade burger cooked correctly but if you screw up something as basic as cooking a burger, you should probably offer a complimentary dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It is a great spot and very convenient l ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

It is a great spot and very convenient location for us theater attendees. I love the food, served at right temperature and delicious ( although it was little more salty than usual). I will always make my reservations whenever I attend a play or whenever I am downtown.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drink make Roosters a solid ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and drink make Roosters a solid pick in uptown Charlotte. A broad menu will appeal to everyone in your group. If there are just 2 to 4 of you, and you don't have a reservation in the upstairs dining room, just pop in and grab a seat at one of the "communal" dining tables at the main level. Just find the nearest open seats you need and enjoy. On our most recent night of dining, the restaurant was behind on our reservation, but they did all they could to get us seated and offered complementary appetizers. Not necessary, but appreciated.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved everything about Roosters Uptown ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I loved everything about Roosters Uptown. It was absolutely great! Greeted by professional and friendly staff and taken to our table. The food selections were fantastic and I ordered the BBQ chicken. It was the best BBQ sauce I've ever had...

I highly recommend Roosters Uptown!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. The waiter ruined t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good. The waiter ruined the experience. But he paid close attention to the table of women behind us. but he did give us a thumbs up as he walked by. He would have been a better waiter for Golden Coral. My wife's short rib was huge and delicious. My salmon was overpriced for the size of meat brought to the table, couldn't have been more then 3 to 4 oz. Not sure why the waiter asked how I wanted it cooked, it came out Medium well when I asked for medium rare. Sides are separate. Corn and rice were very good. Very disappointed on the service. Don't think I would go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

This is a wonderful restaurant! We love ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant! We love eating there before going to a play or concert. It is so convenient with its being in the same complex, weather and parking aren't a concern.

The staff is so congenial and always serve us promptly before the evening's event. Shannon who I think is a manager is so warm and welcoming, stopping by our table to ask how everything was. Overall, it is our favorite date-night place to go in uptown Charlotte.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was friendly and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. Decent value and strong wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I decided to try Rooster's f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I decided to try Rooster's for our Valentine's Day get away and dinner and we were not disappointed. I had the half chicken with their in house bar-b-que sauce and my wife had the flank steak. We were not disappointed in the food and the service. It is a wonderful place to go and the prices were not as expensive as other nicer restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeans and tennis shoes for coat and tie ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Jeans and tennis shoes for coat and tie prices. Felt like "eating" not dining at a Greyhound bus terminal. Table overlooked AC unit with all the brand and instruction labels exposed.

Wait staff running around like chickens without heads. Yelling from kitchen unbearable. Food was over salted.

Parking voucher was only "partially" ($2.00) redeemed.

Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

From Kansas City, found the restaurant t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

From Kansas City, found the restaurant through Open Table. Our waitress was so great...very willing to describe our options and make suggesting. She stated that one dish on the menu was "life changing"...loved that enthusiasm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were going to head to a steak house p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were going to head to a steak house prior to the theater and decided to try Rooster's. It was the right choice. The steak was awesome! The comfortable, contemporary ambiance was just what we were looking for that night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely fantastic experience - friend ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely fantastic experience - friendly server, outstanding food....even accommodated specific dietary requirements (Whole30 program). Will definitely recommend, and go there again (hopefully soon!)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Organic, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Day we went kitchen had oven ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food. Day we went kitchen had oven problems so a third of the menu was not available. Still, good food and ok service. We had to wipe clean our own table a couple of times. A local beer served in a can was delivered promptly, but an empty beer can sat on the table for the entire dinner. There was a lady who was fronting the door and probably the shift maanger who was very attentive and helped with drinks and menu questions. Not their best night for sure but still would come back and visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was amazing. The food well ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service was amazing. The food well let's just say I left hungry. Won't be going back. Paying this much for lunch I don't expect small plates. The pizza was no bigger than my bread plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We were in a rush, but I would love to t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We were in a rush, but I would love to try Rooster's again. I thought the server's recommendations were pretty good - we tried the charcuterie board with his suggestions. Also, the gnocchi was delicious, although my husband thought the texture of some of the mushrooms was strange. All in all it was a good dining experience and I'd love to go there again when I have more time to enjoy it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Wood Oven, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We rang in the Year of the Rooster at Ro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We rang in the Year of the Rooster at Roosters on my trip for business to Charlotte. Loved the wine list, pimento cheese, roasted pork and nice Southern food with modern twists Would recommend for anyone needing to eat while in Charlotte

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were eating before the opera, and the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We were eating before the opera, and they were very helpful in getting us there on time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was fabulous and rather quick. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was fabulous and rather quick. Definitely a place to revist!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. Would definitel ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Would definitely go again!!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of standard go to places whe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is one of standard go to places when we want to eat in Uptown. There is always something new or specials on their menu. We had a new item for Rooster's Foie Gras appetizer, it was pate style with inventive preparation, apple butter and Nutella. The staff is friendly but not overwhelming, floor managers are consistently walking around to ensure things are moving smoothly. Food is always good and reliable. We bring in out of town guests confident that they will find something they like and enjoy it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dishes to share. Their vegetables ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great dishes to share. Their vegetables are so fresh! Loved the shrimp!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy to see Trigger fish. Two people o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Happy to see Trigger fish. Two people ordered this. Scallops were excellent! When the wait lady took our dishes, they looked like we had licked them clean. The coconut cake was superb! The seating for six people in a semicircle booth was perfect for inclusive conversation.

Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We are from High Point & miss our Noble' ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We are from High Point & miss our Noble's restaurant, so we made a point of trying both in Charlotte & we were pleased. The food & service were excellent. My husband especially liked the charcuterie board & his duck confit dish. Missing Noble's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was unbelievable and so quick.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service was unbelievable and so quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. The food was like ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The service was great. The food was like home cookin. It was tasty, nothing exotic. Some restaurants give you all these fancy names on the menu and their food is not that great. Roosters Wood-Fired Kitchen gave you real good food.

JW

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was great, service was good, a ve ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Dinner was great, service was good, a very nice place to meet friends.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I LOVE Rooster's - have been to this loc ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I LOVE Rooster's - have been to this location and the Atlanta location several times. Always a great meal and excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic as usual, great d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was fantastic as usual, great drinks, great service.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rooster's is our "go-to" place after att ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Rooster's is our "go-to" place after attending a Belk Theater performance Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken was waaayyyy to salty but our se ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Chicken was waaayyyy to salty but our server was outstanding. I spent the better part of my adult life as a fine dining server and I believe strongly that she deserves to be recognized.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Grant was our server and his service was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Grant was our server and his service was exceptional. Food is always great at Roosters. Disappointed that they discontinued the polenta cakes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is easily the most value you can ge ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This is easily the most value you can get for tour $ for the best foodin Uptown!

Focus on seasonal and local food make thateven better.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Groups,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dissapointed that the serving s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We were dissapointed that the serving sizes for the side dishes appear to have shrunk. My friend and I used order our own entree and be able to share a couple of sides but the sides now look more like individual portions. So sorry to see this change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our service was excellent, except the Ho ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our service was excellent, except the Hostess did mention the exact time she would "need" our table even though we were 10 minutes early for our reservation. I started with a drink "Rye Me a River" and it was delicious (not too sweet). The scallops were good, the wedge salad was better than average because the blue cheese was extra special as was the bacon! The flank steak was flavorful, cooked perfectly & filling. The roasted fingerling potatoes were good and the macaroni & cheese was to die for...definitely share because it is so rich but very special. I had the spiced wings. I was a little disappointed. It was a dark rub (waiter described as a "4" on a 1-10 spicy scale, but I would describe as a "6,"and cooked perfectly but a little one dimensional for an entree. Might be better to order as an appetizer and share. We will definitely be back. We felt it was a very good value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Rooster's very much. The food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We enjoyed Rooster's very much. The food was excellent. The pan fried corn and butter wilted spinach were the best we have had. The scallops were well cooked and the shrimp was equally impressive. My wife normally gets a Seagrams and ginger ale when we eat out and she said it was perfect which is a rarity. She wished she had gotten one to go. We ordered the raspberry/apple bread pudding and it may have been the best dessert we have had anywhere. If you order the bread puddding make sure you tell your server early since it takes about a half hour to cook. We will definitely be going back. The location was great for our evening at the theatre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I really love this place. Good clean foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I really love this place. Good clean food, fresh and small plates. Not heavy even though its southern influenced. Compared to other local restaurants def value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.