About Rooster's A Noble Grille

380 Knollwood St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
View Larger Map

North Carolina chef and restaurateur, Jim Noble founded Rooster’s: A Noble Grille with the intention of being relevant without being trendy and to impress without being pretentious. That commitment has carried us through two decades and continues to lead us on today.

Knowing that simple food is harder to execute given there is nowhere to hide the flaws, we go to great lengths to source quality ingredients from local farmers and purveyors. We then take all the time necessary to develop their flavors —using both European and modern techniques—always working from scratch.

Our menu features tried and true staples like our spit­-roasted chicken cooked over open fire as well as progressive daily​ specials and elevated bar bites featuring Executive Chef John Bobby’s latest experiments inspired by the seasons and regional ingredients.

At Rooster’s, you’ll always find something new served with an honest commitment and consistently warm care.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Mediterranean, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Thruway Shopping Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 777-8477

Website:
http://www.roosterskitchen.com/locations/a-noble-grille-winston-salem/

Catering:
For information on catering and sales please contact Nick Allen at nick@noblesrestaurants.com or (336) 777-8477.

Parking Details:
They offer designated spaces in front of the restaurant as well as covered deck with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
John Bobby

Private Party Contact:
Nick Allen: (336) 777-8477

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's A Noble Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (18)
Business Meals (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Organic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The dinner was delicious and the service ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

The dinner was delicious and the service was superb. The dessert, however, was not so great. That being said, I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a great meal at Noble's. Now with ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great meal at Noble's. Now with small plates on the menu, in addition to regular entrees, there are gourmet choices for all appetites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made Valentine reservation thinking th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I made Valentine reservation thinking that this would be someplace different for my wife and me. However when I explored the website I realized that my wife had taken us there earlier with a Group-on deal. I was was greatly disappointed however it was too late to book another restaurant. Much to my surprise we had one of the top five dinners ever. Our waiter was young and funny yet very professional. I had the fried oyster salad for an appetizer and although half time we live at the beach these were the best fried oysters I have ever had. For my entree I had the 14 ounce prime rib steak. It was cooked perfectly and was delicious. My wife had purple sweet potato appetizer that she said was great and for an entree shrimp and grits. As recommended by the waiter as the best shrimp and grits ever she concurred. We finished the meal with coconut cake which was just a delicious as the rest of the meal. What a great dinner. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Noble Grill offers consistently good ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Noble Grill offers consistently good food and the decor is appealing. It is good that small plates are plentiful. The prices are reasonable for a higher end dining experience. The service is generally excellent and that was the case for us on Monday evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our favorite Winston-Salem resta ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is our favorite Winston-Salem restaurant. The tomato bisque is the best anywhere! The salmon is always good but this time we received a serving of about a half the usual size of the lunch portion. Maybe they were running low on their inventory? The sides were more than enough for 2 people. The calamari was very good and the wine was excellent. The staff was outstanding as always. We will come back again very soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Friendly staff, nice ambience, and great ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Friendly staff, nice ambience, and great food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good to very good. Servic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is always good to very good. Service continues to disappoint. Table was never bused, even when we got the dessert menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Disappointing experience this time. Aver ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Disappointing experience this time. Average food and average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was ok but small portion for expens ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was ok but small portion for expensive price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Birthday dinner for me. It was great.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Birthday dinner for me. It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

as usual my wife and I enjoyed a great d ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 15, 2017

as usual my wife and I enjoyed a great dinner at Nobles and as usual it did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had the good fortune to dine at Roo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I've had the good fortune to dine at Rooster's 3 times within the last month and all 3 visits were handled very well although my last time we had a rookie server who struggled with describing the entrees. The food was delicious each visit and the extensive wine list has something for everyone. Two of my dinners were business related and the noise level was low enough to have good conversations. I would highly recommend Rooster's to anyone looking for a great experience dining out.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great service and nice food. The menu ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great service and nice food. The menu had a nice amount of selections and the meal arrived in a timely manner. The wait staff were attentive, but not obtrusive. I would definitely recommend this establishment.

Tags: Wood Oven, Organic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great spot for a birthday dinner. Price ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great spot for a birthday dinner. Pricey but there are also less expensive options. Service was outstanding - thank you Kate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter and the staff were friendly a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our waiter and the staff were friendly and helpful. However, the soup was cold (and only slightly warmer after being sent back), the dishes were only moderately tasty, and three out of our party of six were sick to their stomachs that evening or the next day. This restaurant has really gone downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

I love going to Nobles. However. My husb ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love going to Nobles. However. My husband and I are vegetarians, and always disappointed with the vegetarian options. It's hard to even get side veggies as they are mixed with meat or butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

The service is wonderful from the greeti ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service is wonderful from the greeting at the door throughout the evening. The bar tenders are amazing! They make the best martinis in town! There is a plethora of food choices and I've yet to eat anything I didn't like. Everything is fresh and beautiful presentation . It is pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Live Sports, Live Music, Spicy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wait staff! Very good food.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent wait staff! Very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal served by one of ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a wonderful meal served by one of the best waiters we have ever had.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Romantic, Organic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was busy due to the holidays, but the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was busy due to the holidays, but the service was spotty, small plates ok but not great, I expected more. Having said that, a lot of people looked like they were enjoying the place!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall the experience was ok. Our serve ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Overall the experience was ok. Our server was kind of slow and didn't spend much time at the table. The calamari appetizer was really good as were the vegetable sides we ordered (asparagus and corn). My prime dry aged ribeye was cooked medium as asked but was very tough and chewy. I also wasn't expecting it to come pre-sliced and I'm not convinced it was 14oz of meat. I was not at all impressed with the quality of the meat, especially for $50.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Always a great meal and the service is g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a great meal and the service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way! Server Josh was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent in every way! Server Josh was outstanding, attentive and accomadating!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant, Nice people, Great food ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice restaurant, Nice people, Great food, Great atmosphere! What more can you want?

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always great food at Roosters-Winston. D ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always great food at Roosters-Winston. Definitely a nice place to go for a special, holiday meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not sure why the name change from Noble' ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Not sure why the name change from Noble's Grill, but a pretty good place still. Except our server was inept. Took forever to order, had to flag down others for drinks ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

We enjoyed having small plates that were ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We enjoyed having small plates that were unusual fare, and very good. Great option for those of us who are aging and prefer smaller meals. And the wine list was like none other. It had more pages than the menu!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! Always a winner ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food and service! Always a winner and great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We planned a pleasant dinner with new ne ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We planned a pleasant dinner with new neighbors, as we just moved. When our neighbors joined us, no one brought menus for our guests. The service was unbelievably slow and inattentive. With each course, our plates sat empty in front of us long after we finished eating. Even receiving the check and paying the bill took forever.

The food did not live up to the price. The calamari appetizer was minuscule in portion and rubbery in consistency. I was not informed my Caesar salad would contain black olives. My "medium" steak was "rare" at best, and not a very good piece of meat.

For the price, my dinner at Rooster's was a huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was excellent, holiday margarita wa ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was excellent, holiday margarita was very good. Could not taste any alcohol in the Old Fashion . Place was so busy, just didn't seem like there was a good time to send back as no one came back after drinks until meal was brought. Overall, meal was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Patrick was an excellent waiter, and I w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Patrick was an excellent waiter, and I will ask for him again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and food. Very att ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Always great service and food. Very attentive to the details of your order and taking care of your needs while you enjoy your meal. Food is always delicious! We have enjoyed several special events...birthdays, anniversaries as well as New Years Celebrations. These have always been special, noteworthy experiences. One of your favorite places in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being going to Noble's for many years & ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Being going to Noble's for many years & this was not one of our better visits. Every thing except service was just fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Good food but very limited options. Ser ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good food but very limited options. Service is decent but really should be better for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a treat! Nice atmosphere, wine se ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always a treat! Nice atmosphere, wine selection and local ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Some of the best food in Winston-Salem, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Some of the best food in Winston-Salem, although much of it still seemed a bit over-priced. However, we were surprised to see the size of the gnocchi small plate - easily enough to be an entree.

The professionalism and efficiency of the hosts and greeting process did not seem to be of the same caliber of the rest of the service. Otherwise, a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was the most delicious meal I've ever ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was the most delicious meal I've ever eaten. It was a little too dark.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I used to eat at Noble's sev ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My wife and I used to eat at Noble's several times a year and we were always impressed with the quality of the meals. All I can say is that a lot changed when the restaurant was rebranded as Roosters. There are TVs in the bar area and the food simply is not as good as it once was: the bread was hard, the calimari was heavily breaded and deep fried, salmon was overcooked to the point of being dry and it was presented with a bland rice. The side of 'grilled beets' was clearly not grilled and while the Trigger Fish was very good, the dessert was not. The restaurant claims they buy meats and produce from local farmers but it didn't seem like it. If I tried this restaurant again, I think it would be for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good food and wonderful experience for t ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Good food and wonderful experience for their Burger Bash! Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service needs to improve!! Food and atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service needs to improve!! Food and atmosphere were decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.