Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.57mi

About Rooster's A Noble Grille

North Carolina chef and restaurateur, Jim Noble founded Rooster’s: A Noble Grille with the intention of being relevant without being trendy and to impress without being pretentious. That commitment has carried us through two decades and continues to lead us on today.

Knowing that simple food is harder to execute given there is nowhere to hide the flaws, we go to great lengths to source quality ingredients from local farmers and purveyors. We then take all the time necessary to develop their flavors —using both European and modern techniques—always working from scratch.

Our menu features tried and true staples like our spit­-roasted chicken cooked over open fire as well as progressive daily​ specials and elevated bar bites featuring Executive Chef John Bobby’s latest experiments inspired by the seasons and regional ingredients.

At Rooster’s, you’ll always find something new served with an honest commitment and consistently warm care.

380 Knollwood St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Thruway Shopping Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 777-8477

Website:
http://www.roosterskitchen.com/locations/a-noble-grille-winston-salem/

Catering:
For information on catering and sales please contact Nick Allen at nick@noblesrestaurants.com or (336) 777-8477.

Parking Details:
They offer designated spaces in front of the restaurant as well as covered deck with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
John Bobby

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's A Noble Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Seasonal (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (9)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Live Music (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, Nobles/roosters ( never understood the new name) was great...smiles as u walk in, John the manager, our old friend, gives the resturant a special touch, servers are knowledge and professional, last but not least the food is very good and always consistent...

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food and fabulous, friendly service! Loved the pan-seared flounder, beets, and oyster salad!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

We were disappointed. The waitress brought the salad with the meal. The flavor wasn't very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Topnotch, as usual. I've come to expect excellence from Noble's over the past decade plus, and last night was another prime example of why I keep returning. For the two of us, the dishes were tomato bisque, beef tartare, oxtail ravioli, duck confit, chocolate/Nutella brownie, and bread pudding. Each was superb with the bisque and confit being the best of the bunch, though my 17-year old daughter might argue for the brownie. Service was efficient and friendly, and again the wine offerings by the glass were among the best in Winston-Salem--in particular, I had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc from Marlborough and a Pinot Noir from Oregon. The pacing of the meal was also spot on as I don't like to be rushed when I'm out for a nice meal. My lone criticism to service was that the server should have alerted us that the bread pudding would take 20 minutes if we were interested in dessert. I figured as much from prior experience; however, others might not know it and might balk at waiting an extra 20 minutes. Overall, we had a superior meal and experience. Chef Bobby continues to show why he is such a superstar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

We always have a great time during our visit for the highpoint market show. All 3 dinner nights are spent here because it’s the best restaurant in Winston Salem.
John, the GM is the best who keeps the restaurant run smoothly and the quality of food at its highest. He makes the experience memorable.

Best regards,
Sam and Hien Caliendo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Salads and Entrees were great; dessert was fair. The brownie was average and a bit dry. Service was slow. It took over 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Amazing salmon dish for myself, amazing filet mignon dish for the wife, and another patron at our table had a pork chop dish that he couldn't stop raving about.

We've never had a bad experienced here, yeah, a little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tremendous.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was my daughters 16th birthday
celebration. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful and attentive. We did however not care for our table placement directly in front of the kitchen line. It was rather loud, distracting and hot. Next time we will request a quiter table.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great venue, fabulous food and outstanding service. I highly recommend Noble's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I've been here many times over the years...and the food is good. We had to wait 20 min for a server to take a drink order...I had a reservation and had to wait to be seated and that was ok, but I don't understand the lack of service. Seems that no one knew who was supposed to have our table, so they walked around and over us for quite sometime but one server noticed we had been seated a long time and came over to check on us and then went and found someone to take care of us. This isn't the first time that has happened to me at Nobel's and I have to say it's very disappointing to have it happen again. For the money I spent, I will be really inclined to take my business elsewhere in town. I'll admit I'm not a regular there and maybe if I had been it would have been different...but I can be ignored elsewhere and it not cost me $200.00. SO the food is good, but you can get ignored there on a Friday night...

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always delicious. Nice range of items- to share, for a quick bite, or for a lingering meal. Fall salad and shared wood fired pizza was a great choice this time

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Lisa was outstanding. The best restaurant I've been to in Winston Salem! I would recommend 10/10.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We enjoyed Roosters atmosphere, food and drinks. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We had a lovely meal on a very busy Wednesday evening at Nobles. The bar was lively, our waiter Patrick was very informative, he made great food and wine suggestions.

We settled on a Cote du Rhône and started off with a stuffed squash bloom appetizer. We split a generouse portioned filet mignon so we could stick around for the Nutella brownie.

Everything was wonderful start to finish. I would highly recommend Roosters.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Casual, Live Music, Bar Seating, Tapas, Authentic, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My wife and I dined outside on the patio. Waitress seemed to be covering too many tables, but worked so hard and provided very good service. I had the hanger steak. My wife had the bbq rotisserie chicken. We split the pick 4 vegetable plate for our sides. Food was excellent. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We made reservations on-line for Saturday Night- Dinner was delicious and our waiter encircled us with delightful attention through our our meal- We spotted a few friends across the room who were dining out as well- Made us feel like we were in a neighborhood restaurant. Loved our experience! Beth Bennett

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We love Nobles! We were celebrating a big birthday with 18 of us. From the moment we arrived we were treated like valuable guests and given a wonderful evening!!!! Thank you Nobles for taking care of us!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was GREAT!! The meal was very good and tasty. The only negative would be was that the Caesar salad did not have much taste or maybe could use some more dressing. The last time that was at this restaurant was probably 5 or more years ago. Really liked the change with Roosters.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Noble's is the BEST! Creative menu - great atmosphere - wonderful staff (notably Hannah & Jennifer!) - we always come here for our (almost weekly) date night!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Anniversary Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was great as always. I think they lost our ticket because there was an hour between salads and entrees. Fortunately we were not in a hurry but it did affect the overall experience. But we love Noble's and will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The wine list was great. The food choices were superb and our waiter (Zach) was wonderful with helping us to choose items we'd love. The presentation was beautiful and everything we ordered came out in a timely manner - not too fast, not too slow. We ordered the lamb ribs and the gouda plate as appetizers; the lamb was so tender and fell right off the bone. The gouda plate had a variety of components that allowed for a spectrum of combinations; I fell in love with gouda in a whole new way. When we first sat down, I was a little uncomfortable that other diners were somewhat close by, but it turned out that we never felt crowded or uncomfortable, so that wasn't really a problem. After we finished dinner, we hopped over to the bar to enjoy dessert and had a fun time with the bartender and other folks at the bar. It was the perfect date spot for us; we'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Went for a birthday lunch. Not busy, maybe 30 people total. The wait staff and kitchen staff seemed a little off their A game. Wrong temps on steak for us and raw burgers at table next to us. Wait staff kind of fumbled their way thru entire service. Over 120.00 lunch for 2 and nothing was really great or worth recommending. Hopefully this was just an off day and not representative of overall operations. Would give a second chance eventually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Dined at Rooster's for my birthday lunch with my hubby and it was delicious!! You can't beat the Fried Oyster Salad. Our server, a beautiful and sweet girl named Marie, was outstanding!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent service, attentive and knowledgeable. Food had interesting combinations of flavors, well prepared and presented. Excellent by the glass wine selection.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great selection for wine and the menu had a variety for all tastes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner at Nobles Grill. The menu offers a wide variety of options. All selections are very fresh, very creative combinations. This is the second time I have eaten here and the menu varies so that each time there are new choices. Staff are very pleasant and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food. Great service. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Patrick and his staff are the best! They are especially dog friendly on the patio! Food is terrific and at good value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

I had an amazing time. The manager came over to the table and introduced himself and was very pleasant. We were there even after the place closed and the manager didn't rush us out.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful! She explained the menu choices to us since it was our first time there. She gave us reccomendations. The food was really good. It was hot, fresh, and had lots of flavor!! We were celebrating my husbands birthday, we brought the entire family which includes our 3 kids. They were not too keen on the fact the food was not the traditional everyday food. They ended up loving it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a fantastic evening as we celebrated our 22nd anniversary. The food was wonderful and our waitress was perfect! Thank you for making our evening special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, great service. The crab cake appetizer when doubled makes a sizable, delicious entree - lots of crab with just enough filler to maintain the shape. The grilled succotash is a favorite. Finished with a little heat, it definitely wakes the palate. Everyone in our party loved the fire-roasted beets, black-eye peas with mirepoix and the grilled corn sides. Our teenagers found favorites in the shrimp and grits and hanger steak entrees. Each entree was beautifully presented. The atmosphere is lux/casual, with a great energy, and designed to make you want to linger after dessert. Easily one of the best options in Winston Salem in the restaurant scene.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I believe this was the best place I had ever been to.

The food was so delicious.

I will visit again as soon as possible.

Great!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was very good but the service was slow. I suspect that it was because they placed four tables with our waitress at one time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Too many restaurants with long histories tend to relax, let down their standards and their customers, glad to find this Noble's just as exceptional as it was on my last visit over 20 years ago. The food was terrific, service adequate and atmosphere pleasant, but what impressed me the most was the attentive floor manager. He seemed to know every detail of what was happening at any moment and followed up to smooth any glitch. What more could yo ask? Why I have ignored this jewel for so long is beyond me, and I'll be sure to return often! I give it 3.5 quacks on the drake scale.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was very nice. Unfortunately it was a quick dinner hope to go back and enjoy it again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Service was by far the best I've had in a while, very accommodating and personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was great from appetizers to dessert. Waitstaff was well trained, knowledgable and attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food. They have a wide variety of food options to choose from and I'm certain they have live music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.