Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.57mi

About Rooster's A Noble Grille

North Carolina chef and restaurateur, Jim Noble founded Rooster’s: A Noble Grille with the intention of being relevant without being trendy and to impress without being pretentious. That commitment has carried us through two decades and continues to lead us on today.

Knowing that simple food is harder to execute given there is nowhere to hide the flaws, we go to great lengths to source quality ingredients from local farmers and purveyors. We then take all the time necessary to develop their flavors —using both European and modern techniques—always working from scratch.

Our menu features tried and true staples like our spit­-roasted chicken cooked over open fire as well as progressive daily​ specials and elevated bar bites featuring Executive Chef John Bobby’s latest experiments inspired by the seasons and regional ingredients.

At Rooster’s, you’ll always find something new served with an honest commitment and consistently warm care.

380 Knollwood St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Mediterranean, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Thruway Shopping Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 777-8477

Website:
http://www.roosterskitchen.com/locations/a-noble-grille-winston-salem/

Catering:
For information on catering and sales please contact Nick Allen at nick@noblesrestaurants.com or (336) 777-8477.

Parking Details:
They offer designated spaces in front of the restaurant as well as covered deck with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
John Bobby

Private Party Contact:
Nick Allen: (336) 777-8477

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's A Noble Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Healthy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (6)
Organic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding service and food! The menu is outstanding and offers a wide variety of creative choices. Small plates are available for sharing and entree portions are very ample. Loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We arrived at 6:00 p.m. there was no one else in the restaurant the hostess took us all the way into the back next to the kitchen. The loudest place in the kitchen, when we ask if we would sit somewhere else. She said that all the other tables were already placed and that she could not move us. We said that we would just leave a find another place for dinner, at that time very reluctantly she said that we could sit somewhere else. When we left after dining the restaurant was not close to being full. I have never had a restaurant refuse to move your table if you requested. The food was good and the service was good, but we did not get a very good start with this place. Most likely will not return in future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

think the menu could benefit from a little more changing......seems a bit static....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had a fantastic experience. The food was great, the service was great and the atmosphere was great. We have definitely found one of our favorite places to dine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always a treat to dine here. We had the best server - Lisa. What a gem. Obviously very busy, but we felt like her only customers! Food was outstanding. I had a oyster salad and a large oyster salad will be my main course next time. So wonderful!

Thanks for always exceeding expectations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This restaurant gets a lot of "buzz" and, apparently. is the place to be in Winston-Salem. Very high noise level During Saturday dinner. Hard to converse without raising your voice ("outdoor voice"). The food was very good , but not outstanding, in my view. Our waitress was wonderful - attentive, knowledgeable about the menu but not obtrusive. It was a special occasion but my husband and I really couldn't have a decent conversation. The décor is modern -mostly hard surfaces, with little or no upholstery to absorb sound. Our cocktails were good. My salmon was a bit salty. I got a free dessert for my birthday which I appreciated - the bread pudding which was very good. Perhaps this restaurant would be better for lunch or dinner during the week as far as noise levels are concerned but I don't have first hand knowledge to support that.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our server was so thoughtful! I had mentioned that two people in our party were celiac when I made the reservation; our server had highlighted all of the gluten free items on the menu before we arrived! The food was delicious, as always. Thank you for a lovely dinner!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Rooster's was only 1/2 full on a Tuesday night but the service was very slow. We were not brought water and bread for 10 minutes or had a drink order requested for over 15 minutes. It was another 15 minutes before our food order was requested. Our single course took another 1/2 hour to be served. The chicken, salad, and vegetables were all nicely prepared, but the calamari was nowhere close to being crisp. Overall, not up to the quality of their competition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've tried Rooster's in Charlotte and loved it. The food was not great in Winston-Salem. Greens had grit in them and too much vinegar. The money spent was not worth quality of food served. I suggest teaming up with the location in Charlotte for training. Our waitress was great and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fresh ingredients, lovely quiet terrace, great lunch spot.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a 3 hour meal. Normally we sit at the bar with Hannah and Jennifer. We had Patrick as our waiter and what great service. He described the food so well made us want to order things we normally would not have tried. It was amazing as we took 2 friends from LA who were so impressed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Nobles is a great place for a business lunch or just meet up with friends. The lunch menu has a nice variety and great prices for the high quality. Great location just of business 40

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Patrick is the absolute best waiter, try to get him! Good is always amazing! Been going for years

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My daughter and four of her closest girlfriends enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Rooster's A Noble Grille before their prom. These girls are ballet dancers, so they all try to eat healthy, and one of them is even vegan. Everyone was happy here! The food was delicious, and the restaurant was the perfect spot to celebrate their special occasion. Thank you!

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was our first visit. Noise level was so loud that could barely hear our server much less the person who i was with. All the staff were very friendly. The food was very good. I had the crab cake to start and then the NC flounder. My date had the oyster salad and then the chicken breast.
We travel to Winston Salem for dining most Friday evenings because the restaurants are better than most restaurants in Greensboro. Of the 6 finer dining that we have enjoyed in Winston I would rate this on the bottom for the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My business lunch at Nobles was fantastic. It was quiet, the service was pretty quick and the food still tasted like it took hours to prepare. Our server was knowledgeable and appropriately humorous. On the higher price tag for dinner so trying it for the first time for lunch is a good idea for new diners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time at this restaurant since they re-branded from Noble's Grill to Rooster's. Pleased with the menu selections - wide array of choices and price points. Everything we had was top notch and well presented. Service was also excellent. All the reviews raved about the coconut cake, so we had to try it - very good, but the portion we were presented with was not worth the $10 price tag.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Missed the oyster salad and tomato bisque ever since Nobel's left Greensboro!! Had to drive to Winston to have again. Still wonderful!!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious as always!! Our wait person was fantastic -- charming, funny, and knowledgeable. I will continue to call this restaurant Noble's. Rooster's is fun, but doesn't convey the high level of quality and service. This is my favorite restaurant in Winston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food but noise level is fairly high. Great wine list but IT'S ON A CLIPBOARD! So as you go from page to page you have to hold back the previous pages form flipping onto the page you are looking at. I finally took them off and look at it on the table. Service was good when you could get them. Didn't check back often at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The wait staff and management were welcoming, friendly, attentive and enthusiastic. Our lunch salads were delicious and service was prompt. My friend and I each drive 75 miles to meet here for an occasional visit. We are never disappointed in service or cuisine. . .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellant service - wonderful food! The spaghetti special was incredible! House made noodles and tasty hardy sauce with rich fragrant cheese! Pizza was also excellent and of course, you must have the coconut cake! Coffee always rich and delicious. My place to dine in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Zack Easter was very attentive to our table. The hostess was there to help with our table selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Rooster's, A Noble Grill, delivers consistently good food. The wait staff are always knowledgeable and prompt.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I had not been to Nobles since my husband passed away 4 years ago but I wanted somewhere special to take my good friends as a thank you. The first thing we noticed was how difficult it was to walk through the tables from the restroom. Wow! You have it much too crowded in there and the noise level was tremendous we felt due to that. Otherwise we had a close to perfect dining experience- Kate was efficient but not intrusive, our drinks were just yummy, we inhaled the cheese tray, salad and the best tomato basil ever then 2 filets and the bison which Kate recommended and it melted in my mouth. The 3 of us did not care for the creamed parsnips as a side but thought it would make a great addition to a dessert!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed our meal again. The food was excellent as well as the service. We had 8 of us including 2 small children and the wait staff was great with them. We can't wait to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of my better experiences here. Our waitresses was incredible but we were 2nd table there and restaurant never filled up. Chicken was dry. I think they roast it too long without active basting. Not a fan of vinegar BBQ so wouldn't get again. My daughter had a chicken pizza. When we got home...large bone almost broke her tooth eating leftovers. Bone looked like chicken but could have been easily seen and felt if chefs/line cooks paid attention. Still not a Nobles dessert fan. They need more choices. Pimento cheese which I usually love was really greasy and Mac and cheese was watery. Manager was pleasantly attentive and we were warmly greeted at taxable and thanked when leaving. Large party with 4 children under 3 came in? ?????? And their children were loud and obnoxious... running around etc. We were 3/4 finished or I would have complained. I've been so afraid to come here again but some improvements have been made. Pay attention to details and I think they are close to back on track. Oh...we could see the short blond hostesses ummmm rear end? Way too short of dress. Not what I want to look at while I am eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Should dim the lights...too much light

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Staff is always great and friendly and attentive. Food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The dinner was delicious and the service was superb. The dessert, however, was not so great. That being said, I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance at Noble's is always outstanding. The menus are varied, the servers and runners are always very attentive, and the food and wine are always delicious. The decor is refined and the ambiance is lively without being overly loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great meal at Noble's. Now with small plates on the menu, in addition to regular entrees, there are gourmet choices for all appetites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I made Valentine reservation thinking that this would be someplace different for my wife and me. However when I explored the website I realized that my wife had taken us there earlier with a Group-on deal. I was was greatly disappointed however it was too late to book another restaurant. Much to my surprise we had one of the top five dinners ever. Our waiter was young and funny yet very professional. I had the fried oyster salad for an appetizer and although half time we live at the beach these were the best fried oysters I have ever had. For my entree I had the 14 ounce prime rib steak. It was cooked perfectly and was delicious. My wife had purple sweet potato appetizer that she said was great and for an entree shrimp and grits. As recommended by the waiter as the best shrimp and grits ever she concurred. We finished the meal with coconut cake which was just a delicious as the rest of the meal. What a great dinner. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Noble Grill offers consistently good food and the decor is appealing. It is good that small plates are plentiful. The prices are reasonable for a higher end dining experience. The service is generally excellent and that was the case for us on Monday evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is our favorite Winston-Salem restaurant. The tomato bisque is the best anywhere! The salmon is always good but this time we received a serving of about a half the usual size of the lunch portion. Maybe they were running low on their inventory? The sides were more than enough for 2 people. The calamari was very good and the wine was excellent. The staff was outstanding as always. We will come back again very soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Friendly staff, nice ambience, and great food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is always good to very good. Service continues to disappoint. Table was never bused, even when we got the dessert menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Disappointing experience this time. Average food and average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was ok but small portion for expensive price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.