About Roofers Union

2446 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Roofers Union celebrates laid back dining in the heart of Adams Morgan with a contemporary American menu as envisioned by James Beard nominated Chef Marjorie Meek-Bradley. With floor to ceiling windows in the main dining room and a breathtaking rooftop bar, Roofers Union offers epic views of DC’s most vibrant neighborhood. Beverage Director and General Manager Dave Delaplaine offers a rotating selection of 22 beers ranging from simply refreshing to intriguingly weird. More than beers, Roofers jams with live music, craft cocktails, frozen adult slushies, and punch bowls. Perfect for groups of all sizes including large parties and first dates.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday/Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 232-7663

Website:
http://www.roofersuniondc.com/

Public Transit:
Metro: Redline - Woodley Park/Adams Morgan/Zoo stop.

Executive Chef:
Marjorie Meek-Bradley

Private Party Facilities:
Three levels provide a spacious, comfortable place to gather with friends or neighbors for any occasion. The first level of Roofers Union has a separate space for private events with its very own entrance and bar, which can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Delaplaine: (844) 408-0914

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Roofers Union Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Fun (11)
Great Beer (9)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
People Watching (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Scenic View (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loud and terrible food. Nice server

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Loud and terrible food. Nice server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We did a friends trivia night here. The ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We did a friends trivia night here. The service was on par with other times I've done trivia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

awesome place, really good service and f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

awesome place, really good service and food. our server was awesome and a phenomenal athlete even though she was very humble about her trek across the country. and she is a student in college. very admirable person. thanks for the great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think the appetizer menu was lacking o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I think the appetizer menu was lacking overall. There should be more to offer guests than two separate chip and dip options that are easily interchangeable. In addition I found the wait staff generally inattentive. The cocktail and menu was fairly good, but I think a few key improvements could really bring this place from an average date spot to a regular haunt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful space, great food and good bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful space, great food and good beer list. Really look forward to going back!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! It was such a great location a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Loved it! It was such a great location and space to hang out and dine with friends. Recommended.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, I was disappointed with Roofers ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Overall, I was disappointed with Roofers Union. The service and food were lackluster. We ordered two different kinds of sausages (chicken and bratwurst), neither of which were particularly flavorful. The sausages are served on pretzel rolls, which were unfortunately dry and tasteless. The best items we ordered were an appetizer of chicken wings (sweet, slightly spicy, great flavor) and the side salad that was served with the sausage. We were also served a margarita that was so foul tasting it was inedible. We won't be returning to Roofers Union.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot for Sunday brunch. large wind ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great spot for Sunday brunch. large windows allow in a lot of natural light.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

AMAZING food - service is a bit slow, bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

AMAZING food - service is a bit slow, but worth it for the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Location and decor are great, food and s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Location and decor are great, food and service was not as good as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent food. We had the steak/frites ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent food. We had the steak/frites, salmon and mussels. Appetizers were outstanding - octopus and pate. Attentive service - my mussels took slightly longer than the other entres, and the waiter comped us two desserts. A very nice touch. Would be great in the summer as the location is perfect for wandering Adams Morgan, when the weather is warmer.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Roofers Union had great service and good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Roofers Union had great service and good food - split the sausage party and was delicious!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I like having a good, solid dining optio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I like having a good, solid dining option in Adams Morgan. Unfortunately, the service is spotty largely due to unenthusiastic wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Fantastic vegetable preparation but alwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic vegetable preparation but always out of the beers I want. Good variety on menu for all sorts of eaters.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was slow at first...Only one ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was slow at first...Only one server working the floor. Once he got to us, he was great. Good was good, but not blow me away good. Steaks were cooked perfectly. Steak sauce was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Way too loud!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Way too loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The Roofers Union serves very good food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The Roofers Union serves very good food in a pleasant ambiance. All of the courses were well prepared and our server was excellent. I recommend highly the Roofers Union for good, reasonably priced food with a funky but pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Wish my flat bread was a bit hotter but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wish my flat bread was a bit hotter but it was tasty nonetheless . Service was attentive without being annoying so well done at that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome service and food! My neighborhoo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome service and food! My neighborhood go to place! The staff makes you feel welcome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like chicken livers, you must hav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If you like chicken livers, you must have this chicken liver mousse before you die. Make it a bucket list item. You will not regret it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not impressed. We ordered a starter and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not impressed. We ordered a starter and entrees both came at the same time. My husband ordered the ribs. They were very fatty, the baked beans and cole law were bland. I had the hanger steak not much flavor and fries which were really soaked in oil. The mac and cheese was really good. The waitress started off being attentive then disappeared for periods of time when drinks or the bill was needed. I'd go back for drinks which were really delicious. The night went was trivia night. Very loud with people talking,music blaring , and trivia host talking.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Our waitress was very attentive even aft ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive even after the place got pretty busy. That apple crisp for desert was a little weird and slow to come. The house Chardonnay was excellent. All round a very nice time. Didn't like paying $15 to park for two hours though.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Bottomless mimosas with a beautiful wall ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Bottomless mimosas with a beautiful wall of windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

After reading about the Michelin recomme ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

After reading about the Michelin recommendation of Roofer's Union, it seemed like a good opportunity to try out. The menu was not as impressive as I expected, but everything we ate was phenomenal-- pretty inspired takes on even every day things like burgers and brussel sprouts. The stand-out dish was the pan-seared red snapper on jasmine rice with coconut milk-- it was delicious! Strange to see it nestled among the burgers on the menu, but definitely well-thought out and impeccably executed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The side salad is often just an aftertho ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The side salad is often just an afterthought that takes a back seat to the entree. However, the portion was more than expected and quite tasty. A nice surprise.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The waiter was awful. It took a long tim ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The waiter was awful. It took a long time to even get our order in. Our meals were brought out extremely staggered. We ordered donuts, when we were almost finished and had not received them we asked the waiter to take them off the bill. He said he would bring them out at no charge. We really didn't want them at that point but we weren't paying for them and we didn't eat them. They were on our bill. I would never go back. Overpriced, food is not that great, and the menu is not very diverse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

I don't know by what egregious oversight ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I don't know by what egregious oversight no one is talking about the INSANE biscuits with gravy. I DON'T EVEN LIKE BISCUITS AND GRAVY. So so good. Eggs benedict hit the spot: perfect amount of hollandaise, crispy canadian bacon and perfect seasoning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was literally the most bizar ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was literally the most bizarre thing in the world. The waiter asked 3 times what we wanted and came back twice to confirm our orders. Our friend who came late put in an order, and she got her food an hour later. When he described a ginger beer-type drink and we asked to order it later, he looked at us if we were crazy. He said he never talked about a ginger beer-type drink and walked away.

Like really, WTF?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I have enjoyed this spot more on previou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have enjoyed this spot more on previous visits. The options for vegetarians and pescatarians were less interesting on this visit than previous visits, though another at our table had the snapper and it was excellent. One lesson from tonight: peaches don't belong on pizza/flatbread. The other lesson: waitstaff should not go on ad naseum about their political beliefs. I really did not need to hear a 10-minute screed about the virtues of Trump. I literally had to ask the waiter to stop talking and leave the table. Otherwise, he was a very nice guy and a great, attentive waiter. Just needs a bit more training about what is appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Dining upstairs has awesome view out ont ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dining upstairs has awesome view out onto street from huge windows. Craft cocktails were great, the Peruvian chicken was fantastic as was the dessert with the pistachio sponge cake and greek yogurt topping.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Out of town visiting dc with a child. Un ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Out of town visiting dc with a child. Unexpected ambience relaxed atmosphere! Service outstanding! Thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant is on a trendy nice neigh ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant is on a trendy nice neighborhood. Food is good and so is ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Asides from a very noisy ambience roof t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Asides from a very noisy ambience roof top and bar - the food was spectacular.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

We went for Restaurant Week. The food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week. The food was really tasty. We had the red snapper, which was prepared with coconut milk and a spicy pesto. The server was very attentive without being annoying. The space upstairs is roomy enough for kids to move around a bit without disturbing other guests. The dining room has a nice view of Adams Morgan and its street life. I want to go back to try other items on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Second visit - the success of the first ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Second visit - the success of the first brought us back for more. Good for us - this time we all tried the Peruvian chicken and were emphatically impressed (and delighted) by the the perfectly grilled chicken and its brilliant and piquant cilantro-infused salsa verde. Conversation momentarily ceased and each of us simply savored the fantastic dish. Our waiter was smart, attentive and efficient but it was the deft culinary hand in the kitchen that made this visit memorable. While the menu is hardly French, the experience was not unlike that of visiting an unknown bistro in Paris and being rewarded with am exceptional, memory worthy meal. The food here seems to be prepared not only with care but with intelligence and knowledge. A constellation of stars!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great experience despite the tra ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a great experience despite the transformer blowing and plunging us in darkness. The food and service was excellent. The manager apologized, the servers apologized, but we all got our food and drinks. The food was fantastic! The ribs were falling off the bone, the stuffed sausages were hearty in flavor, and the Peruvian chicken was juicy and tender. I would love to come back here for a normal dining experience. Glad they did well under stress. Will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for a Saturday brunch and were v ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for a Saturday brunch and were very impressed with the food and service. We rate the Calamari as among the very best we've ever had. We sat in the main dining room on the second floor of Roofers' Union, but on a day not as hot as when we went the rooftop terrace looks loike a lot of fun. Nice selection of brews and interesting ingredients for the food with a very nice presentation.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

OK, the bad part first (really not so ba ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

OK, the bad part first (really not so bad). The restaurant was not very crowded, but once we finished dinner, the waitress gave us the dessert menu. She was then relentless about asking us every few minutes if we were ready to order. It was totally annoying. Does waitstaff get paid based on how fast them empty a table? Did any of us smell? I know some roofer's and they can be tough, but not as tough as this waitress on dessert duty.

That said, it's a perfectly fine place. The calamari was very nice and my ribs were good. Nice looking place, very airy and open.

Liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Pleasant enough but priced high for cock ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pleasant enough but priced high for cocktails and entrees. My entree of grilled veggie kebab with Israeli couscous was a tiny portion of veggies cut into small pieces. Tres petite, and I am not a big eater. Left un-satisfied. Burgers and sandwiches were a better option. And less expensive. Great beer selection.

Roof terrace was basic. Could use some TLC and charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Inattentive staff, overall disappointing ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Inattentive staff, overall disappointing. Not horrible, but wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.