Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Roofers Union

Roofers Union celebrates laid back dining in the heart of Adams Morgan with a contemporary American menu as envisioned by James Beard nominated Chef Marjorie Meek-Bradley. With floor to ceiling windows in the main dining room and a breathtaking rooftop bar, Roofers Union offers epic views of DC’s most vibrant neighborhood. Beverage Director and General Manager Dave Delaplaine offers a rotating selection of 22 beers ranging from simply refreshing to intriguingly weird. More than beers, Roofers jams with live music, craft cocktails, frozen adult slushies, and punch bowls. Perfect for groups of all sizes including large parties and first dates.

2446 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday/Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 232-7663

Website:
http://www.roofersuniondc.com/

Public Transit:
Metro: Redline - Woodley Park/Adams Morgan/Zoo stop.

Executive Chef:
Marjorie Meek-Bradley

Private Party Facilities:
Three levels provide a spacious, comfortable place to gather with friends or neighbors for any occasion. The first level of Roofers Union has a separate space for private events with its very own entrance and bar, which can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Delaplaine: (844) 408-0914

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Roofers Union Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great Beer (9)
Scenic View (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food, perfect preparation and seasoning, vegetables are not over cooked, things are flavorful without being to salty, etc. Service is excellent, they're even good with kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

So it's not the worst place, and i'd still eat there in a pinch but after our second time eating here I was pretty disappointed again. Restaurant was really uncomfortably warm and service felt perfunctory: water glasses were filled carelessly and we were rushed into ordering entrees quickly even though we'd been early and there were plenty of empty tables around us. Food was just okay - steak and moules both good. Pasta dish small and very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing service- however it was too hot inside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came here because of reviews & were not disappointed. Lively, fun atmosphere with high-quality, inventive menu. Had a bit of a "miss" with a new entree, but problem was corrected quickly & gracefully. We'll be back again...and bringing friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great location and great service but over priced for what it is. Drinks too expensive and food overpriced. I would go again but moderate on the drinks.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was not very good. Service was brusque. Very disappointing for a birthday outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food but my waiter took a while to come back and check. 15-20 minutes on average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Nice view, fun rooftop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Roofers Union was wonderful, as per usual. The menu is small, which mostly means that everything on it is amazing. Their brunch menu is definitely catered toward a savory palette, so no waffles or french toast. There are not a lot of vegetarian options, either, but the people in our party were able to find things they really liked. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went to Roofers Union on a sunny Saturday in April - the roof was PACKED (clearly the cool spot to be for brunch) so we skipped the roof and checked in for a 7:45 dinner reservation a little early. The hostess had no trouble seating us early which was nice.

The cocktail list wasn't that impressive, but my boyfriend and I both ordered off-the-menu drinks and the bartender made them to our standards. We got the special (buratta) for dinner and it was excellent - totally worth the $10 price tag. Our meal came out quickly and everything was cooked well. I got a salad and added grilled chicken, my boyfriend ordered steak frites, and we got brussel sprouts to split. My salad was great, as were the brussel sprouts. Steak wasn't the best but this isn't a steak place, so we should have expected that.

The waitress was prompt, made recommendations, and got us our check promptly. We overall thought this was a good little spot for dinner, and we'd recommend it for anyone looking for a moderately priced date night or group dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was slow. It seemed that the waitress was overworked with too many tables.
The food was ordinary, not what one would expect given the publicity associated with the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall, this was a very disappointing dining experience. The Brussel sprouts were so greasy that they made my boyfriend sick. We waited 10 mins. for a server and had to go ask the host to find her. Thankfully the manager politely apologized and offered to comp a cauliflower appetizer. Unfortunately, the shishito peppers in this dish were overcooked, and the flavor fell flat. I think they have some good ideas here but are failing on execution. It was clear that the manager really cared, but the rest of the staff was not on board.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We walked in without a reservation and were told that we'd have an hour wait, even though there were empty tables. We waited at the bar and had a cocktail because there was no rush. While we were waiting, I decided to check the website for a reservation and saw that I could get one for 4 people with only a 15 minute wait. We were then seated "promptly" and canceled our name from the waiting list. The greeters should really use their heads and seat people if there are openings! The food was fabulous and the service was fantastic. Would definitely go back but will make sure we have a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Sarah was an awesome server! We had a great time, excellent beer selection, snacks and entrees were fresh and delicious (excellent value) and dessert was fantastic. Highly recommend this place if you're looking for a place to start your evening in AdMo.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Beyond dissappointed.
Service was extremely poor. Starting with the rude hostess and the uncommunicative staff.
Food had a hair in it and was tasteless. Not worth it.

I will not be going back and I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Cool place. Cauliflower was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A really great space with lots of natural light, and a favorite spot for brunch with friends. Good service, good food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love Roofers! Great beer selection and very tasty food! Go for the Siracha chicken thigh sandwich. It is a winner!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loud and terrible food. Nice server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We did a friends trivia night here. The service was on par with other times I've done trivia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

awesome place, really good service and food. our server was awesome and a phenomenal athlete even though she was very humble about her trek across the country. and she is a student in college. very admirable person. thanks for the great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I think the appetizer menu was lacking overall. There should be more to offer guests than two separate chip and dip options that are easily interchangeable. In addition I found the wait staff generally inattentive. The cocktail and menu was fairly good, but I think a few key improvements could really bring this place from an average date spot to a regular haunt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful space, great food and good beer list. Really look forward to going back!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Loved it! It was such a great location and space to hang out and dine with friends. Recommended.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Overall, I was disappointed with Roofers Union. The service and food were lackluster. We ordered two different kinds of sausages (chicken and bratwurst), neither of which were particularly flavorful. The sausages are served on pretzel rolls, which were unfortunately dry and tasteless. The best items we ordered were an appetizer of chicken wings (sweet, slightly spicy, great flavor) and the side salad that was served with the sausage. We were also served a margarita that was so foul tasting it was inedible. We won't be returning to Roofers Union.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great spot for Sunday brunch. large windows allow in a lot of natural light.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

AMAZING food - service is a bit slow, but worth it for the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Location and decor are great, food and service was not as good as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent food. We had the steak/frites, salmon and mussels. Appetizers were outstanding - octopus and pate. Attentive service - my mussels took slightly longer than the other entres, and the waiter comped us two desserts. A very nice touch. Would be great in the summer as the location is perfect for wandering Adams Morgan, when the weather is warmer.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Roofers Union had great service and good food - split the sausage party and was delicious!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I like having a good, solid dining option in Adams Morgan. Unfortunately, the service is spotty largely due to unenthusiastic wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic vegetable preparation but always out of the beers I want. Good variety on menu for all sorts of eaters.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was slow at first...Only one server working the floor. Once he got to us, he was great. Good was good, but not blow me away good. Steaks were cooked perfectly. Steak sauce was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Way too loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The Roofers Union serves very good food in a pleasant ambiance. All of the courses were well prepared and our server was excellent. I recommend highly the Roofers Union for good, reasonably priced food with a funky but pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wish my flat bread was a bit hotter but it was tasty nonetheless . Service was attentive without being annoying so well done at that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome service and food! My neighborhood go to place! The staff makes you feel welcome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If you like chicken livers, you must have this chicken liver mousse before you die. Make it a bucket list item. You will not regret it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not impressed. We ordered a starter and entrees both came at the same time. My husband ordered the ribs. They were very fatty, the baked beans and cole law were bland. I had the hanger steak not much flavor and fries which were really soaked in oil. The mac and cheese was really good. The waitress started off being attentive then disappeared for periods of time when drinks or the bill was needed. I'd go back for drinks which were really delicious. The night went was trivia night. Very loud with people talking,music blaring , and trivia host talking.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive even after the place got pretty busy. That apple crisp for desert was a little weird and slow to come. The house Chardonnay was excellent. All round a very nice time. Didn't like paying $15 to park for two hours though.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.