About Rock Bottom Brewery Restaurant - Portland

Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery offers the very best of Portland's vibrant brewery scene. The restaurant is located in the heart of downtown Portland on the corner of 2nd and Morrison only two blocks off of the riverfront. The dining room caters to groups small and large and has a friendly atmosphere for all ages. Our extensive menu pairs delicious American cuisine with our wonderful handcrafted ales and lagers brewed on site.



The bar offers one of Portland's best happy hours Monday-Friday 2-6pm and nightly late night happy hour with live entertainment, no cover. Looking for a game, we have plenty of HD screens and many of the sports packages.



Our mezzanine offers 2 championship pool tables, darts, televisions, and a view of the brewery.



When weather permits, Rock Bottom offers the best people watching in the city with an expansive patio perfect for a bite and a cold handcrafted beer.

206 SW Morrison Street
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
SUN 11am -12:00am
MON 11am - 12:00am
TUES 11am - 12:00am
WED 11am - 12:00am
THUR 11am - 12:00am
FRI 11am - 1:30am
SAT 11am - 1:30am

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 796-2739

Website:
http://www.rockbottom.com/

Entertainment:
Rock Bottom offers 15 screens and many of the sports packages.



After nightfall join us for live music, offered 7 nights a week and always with no cover. Check out http://www.rockbottom.com/portland/events to see who's playing or give us a call.

Catering:
Our banquet department may have all the answers to your catering needs. Give us a call or email us at portland.banquets@rockbottom.com for menus and availability.

Public Transit:
Max Blue and Red Lines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Finding just the right spot for your next social or business gathering takes special planning. Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery can provide your group a casual experience in a comfortable entertaining atmosphere with a variety of unique food and ambiance possibilities.

Rock Bottom Brewery Restaurant - Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Quick Bite (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good handmade veggie burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

They were out of the first two menu choices I picked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Good beer and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Server was great! Hostess did not ask late arriving members of the group if they were with someone so meeting got off to a late start. I did leave names. However, they were flexible about our moving from booth to table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and company

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My grandson and I enjoyed a nice dinner here on the way to see a musical at the Keller. It was perfectly located close by and has a nice menu and friendly staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for the dessert and it was amazing! Get a booth if you can!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A late choice for Valentine's Day dinner before a concert at the Schnitz. Food was better than expected, and was excellent in all respects.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The lunch ans service were very good. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good was good. Orders were messed up. Services was decent. Had fun though.

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great time here before a show at the Keller. The food and service are always good. The menu is varied and provides lots of choices for everyone. The staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Just ok. Made a reservation which made it seem it would be a nicer restaurant. Just a basic bar restaurant. Food was blah and my husband didn't care for his beer

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The service initially was great but after we ordered our meals it went downhill. It seemed to take awhile to get our food, 3 of the 6 meals ordered came incorrectly, once the bill came the server seemed to have a major attitude when one person tried to inquire about the 5$ off that was advertised at the table and another person had the email for 10$ off 35$ that he didn't even look at and only gave 5$ off. Because the food had taken a bit longer than it should of we were in a hurry to make our after dinner plans for the Nutcracker play so didn't have time to correct the issue before we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I usually like Rock Bottom. I have been there many times. However this was the worst food and service I have ever received. First off, they were late sitting us for our reservation. The host was basically just seating the parties that were complaining about the wait. It was terrible. Then it was so loud you couldn't hear anything. I mean anything! The servers even commented on the horrible noise level.

Usually the food is good at Rock Bottom. However this time, it was so terrible. It tasted old, overcooked, just terrible. I was greatly disappointed in the meal. In the past the service may have been hit or miss but the food was always solid. This time it was a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was tasty, but too spicy. Even the cobb salad had too much spice, as did my kale salad. We also had fish tacos and the salsa was too spicy.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

They DO NOT PARTICIPATE IN OPEN TABLE! Even though I got a confirmation back saying my reservation was accepted. They acted like it was my problem that I used OPEN TABLE. Waiter had an attitude .. totally disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was a great family-friendly place to eat. And the beer was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I had the Cuban Cristo sandwich, which was delicious. The Belgian session ale was indeed sessionable, but not notably Belgian. It was actually really boring. My least favorite thing about Rock Bottom is that they only serve their own lame beers. Service was great. Atmosphere was louder than I like (there was live music).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good bar food, though very high fat/calorie, which is why the burgers are so awesome. Lacks on vegetarian options, with the exception of their housemade vegie burger. Otherwise, hope you like pasta and cheese, because they totally cater to carnivores.

Price: If you're not C- or D-level and just work for those folks, it's a bit on the expensive side.

Service is slow: So while the food is tasty, and I understand their beer is quite good, only go if you have excessive time. Over the last four years it's been a rare experience to have quick service (didn't matter if it was lunch or dinner or late night). I am not sure why service is so bloody slow, but I've been late back to my office almost every time, and I'm right across the street. They are quick to seat you, quick to bring you menu and water, and quick to get your order, and then it all comes to a screeching halt. If you're lucky enough to get your food in less than half an hour, you'll have to wait for your check. (Tip: Once they bring your food, always ask for the check right away.)

If you just gotta have their juicy delicious burgers though, I suggest you order as takeout and eat it somewhere else.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good food, friendly service, downtown. It also has outside seating and the max to Beaverton and Hillsboro is right out their door. Very convenient. I would recommend this restaurant for a get together lunch. The only draw back is, the restroom is upstairs.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

this place is ok food was fair the server was to busy was not good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food at reasonable prices in a fun and easy to walk to area of Portland. Good beer selection with an upscale pub vibe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Reserves for rehearsal dinner. Amazing service. Jennifer is outstanding. Kudos to everyone for an experience which guests are still raving about.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Went back with my wife to Rock Bottom to celebrate meeting my wife there 20 years ago. Greater server and IPA.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Always a good experience which brings us back regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Just don't. Between being excessively greasy and/or over cooked, it's just not worth it. I was actually embarrassed to have brought my family there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great bar and dining room. A broad menu suitable to all. Service is excellent with attention paid to timing and presentation. RB is always a good choice for any occasion, special or just leisure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2015

I've been to Rock Bottom's in other states, so I was expecting pretty much the same at this one. However, something about the ambiance and the vibe was much more here. I honestly didn't feel like leaving after my meal. I enjoyed the vibe so much, it kept my friends and I engaged in conversation and laughter. The food was over the top great and our server and the other servers that assisted were just awesome. Very rare find in a busy restaurant/bar. Most of the time servers are so busy and stretched thin they don't have the time to engage with their guests outside of dropping of their food. I'll definitely be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2015

It was so easy to make the online reservations. Our table was ready and the service was great. The menu has a lot of excellent options, it was hard to choose. We had the stuffed peppers and the fish tacos both were excellent. Enjoyed the live music as well. Great place!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Rock Bottom is an "ok" place, food was ok, service wasn't exactly the best but ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Dinner for 6, ranging from 15 to 60. Everyone enjoyed their food. Beer selection was nice. They offered me tastes of as many as I wanted to help me decide on the right one. My steak and portobello salad was absolutely delicious. My son thought that the burger and fries were very good. When one of the servers was walking by, she dropped a glass. When it broke, a small piece bounced off of my arm. She was very apologetic. Since I was halfway through my salad, and I was concerned about eating glass, I asked her to just get me half of my original order. They brought me another whole salad AND took my meal off of the bill altogether! That was way more than I was asking. Great food, great service, and a fun time with family. No complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Was a good locations; right off of the MAX line. Made reservations and we were seated promptly. Food was good for a "brewery/bar" type restaurant and came out quick. The only negative thing to say is that this particular Rock Bottom is the ONLY one that doesn't have pizza. It's on the kids menu because the menus are mass produced, but they should be able to find away around that so that you don't have disappointed little ones.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2015

When I first saw entree the first thing that literally popped in my mind was is this an appetizer or a snack. The portion size was so small and the price was so expensive ( $15) I was better off eating at a fast food restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2015

Our server, Ashly was great. She was super friendly and attentive. Made our date night that much more enjoyable. Please thank her again for us! J & J

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2015

THE NOISE!!!
Unfortunately when you have a group (8) it will be difficult to hear, but the need to yell across the table is totally unnecessary. This place is a huge, average restaurant / brew pub. I recall tvs on the walls. Food is basic, nachos, salads, burgers. Nothing to write home about at all. Mixed drinks we very diluted, beers meh!
Waitress was very nice, and never seemed to get lost when we needed her.
I would not recommend this place to a friend, just uninteresting. There are many good places to eat and drink in Portland. This is not it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2015

We reserved a time via OpenTable. When we arrived, we were informed they do not take reservations and do not do OpenTable. Given that, there were plenty of tables so we were able to sit right away. Our meal was fine - nothing to write home about. Good for a pretty fast dinner, not expensive and tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2015

Pretty good food except the Cuban Cristo I had tasted like it was fried in the same oil as the fish. Good beer selection.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2015

Love the food here although the service is slightly lacking, there were 5 servers that I counted and they were super great about letting me try a beer before I made a decision, but I didn't get a chance to order my beer until our appetizers were dropped off, and then it took about 10 min before the server noticed I didn't have a drink and ran over to the bar to get it. I ordered a medium burger and received a well done one, and since I got my mayo on the side you could tell my food had been sitting awhile, mayo gets this greasy looking skin on the top when it sits out, but once I got a fresh properly cooked burger everything was amazing. They also covered the cost of my beer but by the time a fresh one arrived my boyfriend was done eating which was unfortunate and while water was offered to everyone near us, we had to ask for some. Finally when it came time for the check I had to go up to the 4 servers standing at the end of the bar and ask if our MIA server could bring the check for us. If you're looking for good food I say eat here, but grab a seat at the bar for the best service. Also make sure you try the pretzels they're amazing, like all of them!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2015

If you're not anti-chains, then this place is a fun choice when getting together with a group of friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 25, 2015

We have been hete a number if times but this time they missed the mark. Server wasnice and helpful. Was really cold and breezy inside. Food was just okay. Tacos were not good. Lukewarm and tough beef. Nothing tasted fresh. Not s good showing this time...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.