Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About River Rock Kitchen-Westin Wilmington

Welcome to the River Rock Kitchen at the Westin Wilmington. Chef David Lattomus invites you, your family and friends to join us in our warm and comfortable surroundings with our fabulous Modern American Sharing concept. Feast on these tasty and exquisite menu selections prepared fresh every day from local farmers. His sharing concept is one to bring families and friends closer as they pass selections around the table, as if you were home dining together. Come join us; we will leave you smiling and fulfilled.

818 Shipyard Drive
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast- 6:00am-11:30am
Lunch- 11:30am-5:30pm
Dinner-5:30pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
inside the Westin Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 397-5518

Website:
http://www.riverrockkitchen.com/

Entertainment:
Coming Soon!!

Catering:
Chef Dave Lattomus has created several banquet options to choose from

Parking Details:
The Hotel is surrounded by free parking lots. There is ample parking.

Executive Chef:
Dave Lattomus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special 3 course Dinner for 2 for Valentine's Day . Visit us on Facebook" River Rock Kitchen"

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

River Rock Kitchen-Westin Wilmington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (3)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
S
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Enjoyed lunch. Good choice in the Riverfront Area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Went with a group of 8 for a work lunch. Food didn't arrive until an hour after we ordered i(and only after we complained to manager). Then they brought out different people's food over a 5+ minute time period so people who had been served were awkwardly waiting to start until everyone was served, so their food got cold waiting. No apologies or anything from the server or the manager. We will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Sunday Easter lunch, and it was fabulous. My lamb was done perfectly, the kids were given little eggs filled with jelly beans, everyone's meal was to their liking. My family and I had an excellent time. This was our second time there and we will be going again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food lackluster. The fish was dry, the vegetables were undercooked. The waitstaff was great, though. It's way overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

As my first experience at River Rock, I left with a big smile on my face. The food was delicious (I ordered the bacon stuffed chicken with a mushroom sauce) and the service was wonderful. I look forward to coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was our 2nd time at River Rock. We both loved it the first time and told our friends about it. The seating is chaotic as there doesn't seem to be a host assigned to the entrance so you get left standing wondering what to do. Or as we witnessed, people came in and just sat wherever. The servers didn't seem to know where they were going and it wasn't that busy--especially being a Friday night. Our drinks took a while because the only bar area is in the lobby of the hotel and serves both the lobby and the restaurant. The wings we got for our appetizer were very good but were not wrapped in bacon as they were listed to on the menu. When we mentioned it to the server, he said, "oh yeah, I think they are too". I was very disappointed with my Shrimp and grits mainly because my grits were stone cold. My husband liked his Steak dish. Looking forward to a special night out for a "big" birthday and it was not what we hoped or experienced before.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful food; the original decor and atmosphere made the food even more enjoyable. The server was considerate, attentive and friendly. We had a splendid time!

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cocktail had too much ice and was served in a pint glass. Hot plates were served before we had finished our salads. Restaurant was very slow, so I would have expected attentive service and properly timed plating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not sure why this restaurant was empty the evening we visited. The menu isn't bad, and location is good, just around the corner from a lot of restaurants that usually have very long wait times. Our meals were very tasty. Lack of other diners made the ambience rather dull, and the wait staff overeager as a result. Hard to believe, but additional restaurant guests would have made for a nicer ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Check your receipt before paying there could be some weirdness in their calculations. Floors and tables could be cleaner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We used Open Table to make a reservation well in advance. I also called the restaurant to advise that one of our party uses a power wheelchair, and to confirm that the restaurant is accessible. Despite this, when we arrived, the only tables for six that were available in the restaurant were high-tops; as a result we were seated in the more public bar area, at a table for four, with another table for four pushed over and a chair added between the bench seats.

Our server was wonderful, and the food was good. Just wish we could have been accommodated in the restaurant itself, as planned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have a pre-theater group and this is the second time we have eaten here. Both times have been characterized by pleasant service and a unique and tasty choice of food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our first experience here was phenomenal. I loved the tuna small plate with the watermelon. This time it was unexceptional. There was a party in the dining area so we had to eat in the bar even though we had reservations. Perhaps the party was the reason that service was slow. The food was good but not exceptional. That was kind of a letdown since our expectations had been raised so high from the last time. Might have just been an off night, I don't know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving breakfast in a very nice setting, a beautiful lobby and friendly staff.

Good coffee and an excellent food. Nice waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had DE Theatre tix so needed to eat within an hr. They did it! Great meals & excellent service!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The restaurant doesn't seem to ever be over populated at lunch time, but this time we called in a reservations well as placed an order as we only had an hour four business meeting. They were waiting on us when we arrived and less than 5 minutes later we were eating and meeting...it really was perfect and greatly appreciated with my busy schedule. I would recommend this way of pre-ordering to everyone I know!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our waiter was new and did not know the menu. I was NOT warned that the red snapper entree came with the head and tail attached. I was disgusted.
My friend switched her entree with mine and gave me her salmon. The salmon was salty.
So disappointing :(

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great Red Snapper ... my standard order, very addictive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good menu selection (pleased that smaller plates offered). Ingredients all fresh and appealingly presented. We had grilled tuna, filet mignon, pizza and sides. Big disappointment was that everything was WAY too salty. Chef and line cooks need to stop ruining perfectly good food. Meal comped, but we won't go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a date night and landed at River Rock. I anticipated so-so food and high prices because it's attached to a hotel. I was very wrong.

The prices were beyond reasonable, particularly when considering the quality. Expect $8-$10 for a small plate and $18-$25 for a full size entree. Full meal for two people was $45 after leaving a 20% tip and we were both well fed.

The ambiance is semi-formal but relaxed. Beautiful layout and the staff was excellent. I was pleasantly surprised and impressed. Definitely recommend for a dinner and a movie date on the waterfront.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

My family of 4 dined there for Father's Day hoping to try a new place for a special day. We were seated in a nice area, and it wThe waiter took our drink order, I said aloud that I was not able to drink alcohol so let Dad make his order of a gin and tonic, and I ordered club soda and lime. When the drinks were delivered, I got vodka and club and had to send it back. We ordered first courses and the beet salad that I got was so salty that it was inedible, so I sent it back. My family seemed to like the soups and appetizers that they ordered but were not outstanding. Our main courses were ok, except that the medium rare steak that I ordered was very rare, so I let my son eat it. Desserts took over 20 min to arrive, and the manager came over and offered a free portion of their strawberry short cake dessert. By then we were full, but appreciated the gesture and thought it was good. The salad was left and the bill, and I thought it was odd to have also been charged $3 for a club soda........ overall an underwhelming experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was good, not exceptional. You have your choice of small plates for a tapas-like experience, or large single entree plates. Two small plates would be enough for most people. Fish and steak were rather salty. Vegetables were ordinary. Dining area is immediately adjacent to the hotel's lobby, which was particularly noisy during our visit (Friday evening). Thus restaurant is more suitable for groups. If you are looking for a quieter dining experience, this is not the place. Host and wait staff were friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was interesting, flavorful, and beautifully prepared. The lava dessert was a perfect end to a great meal. Our server was very friendly and checked on us enough, and not too much. The only slight negative was the time from ordering to getting our entrees, but the delicious fresh bread helped!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

TAble was ready but not prepared per our request. Long wait for attention, 15 minutes easy. I have the same complaints docmnted on Trip Advisor dated 204. Good food, nice resturant but lousy service. The entrees were brought out separatly, snapper was last to be served, 10 minutes after the last entree. This occurred on Mothers Day an the resturant was not busy. Poor service prevents me from returning or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great location. Great Decor. Would go back for happy hour or during lunchtime. Drinks were very very small for the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food exceeded expectations for a hotel restaurant hosting mostly business travelers. The small plates are well assembled and thoughtful so satisfied. I loved the crab cake, a single burger sized cake that's entirely local large lump meat, no filler and no shells. The potato soup was hearty. Healthy kids meals, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2016

We have eaten at River Rock 3 times, always with friends before theater. It's been quiet but the food has been very good and exceeds expectations. Located inside the Westin Hotel, it's not well known and deserves more respect. Mushroom ravioli are very good but quite rich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2016

My friend and I went on a Tues evening so it was QUIET in there. Our server, Dominique, was excellent. She answered questions, made good recommendations and was attentive without being intrusive.
I had the steak frittes. The steak was slightly under cooked from what I ordered (it was pretty rare and I had ordered medium) but I didn't send it back b/c I realized I would be taking most of it home and re-heating it at a later date so it should be perfect then. I ate the ends and it was delicious. I swapped out the fries for the au gratin fingerling potatoes. They're served in their own cast iron dish and were delicious.
My friend ordered the snapper. She did not realize it would come out WHOLE (it's head with eyes and tail intact) so she was surprised. Our server recognized the situation and offered to take it back to have the head and tail cut off. Whew! She didn't say much about the snapper. I think she was overwhelmed with the bones in. She also had the brussel sprouts and said they were delicious.
My friend had the s'mores dessert. She didn't seem to like it but I've dined with others here before who loved that dessert. It's served in a small cast iron dish with graham crumbs on the bottom, a layer of chocolate and a layer of toasted marshmallows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was fantastic- my picky boys (12 and 15) chose the chicken tenders and the truffle-oil and parmesan fries, and wouldn't try anything else for dinner, but breakfast the following morning was perfect. The recommendations were appreciated, and the food we ordered as a result was amazing! Wilmington wasn't a chosen destination- we were there for a wedding- but as a result of our stay, we've decided we just may be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2016

I found this place through Yelp, and WOW did it not disappoint. From the moment we walked in,to when we left, the staff was super nice and helpful. The cocktail menu was diverse and exciting, lots of fun twists on your favorites and some house crafted options too. The menu had a variety of options (gluten free too!) and the food we ordered was delicious. We will for sure be back with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner was lovely in every way. The menu offered a variety of selections with daily specials. Our food was delicious with a quite interesting presentation. The music was audible but not loud, current and not pop. The wait staff was knowledgable and friendly, present when needed but not hovering. I hope more people find this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2015

overall was good, however, one meal came out after everyone else had finished their meals. We were told that it was not prepared correctly and they had to re cook the meal. We were compensated, however, this was not the best experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2015

We had our Christmas work party at River Rock on Monday, 12.14.15. Some of us got there a little early like 4:30 and the lobby bar wasn't opened yet. The bartender was taking a survey so we waited for about 15 minutes before we got a drink. Then we went to our table around 6:30, there were 8 of us. We asked if there was some sort of Christmas music that could be played but there wasn't. The waiter bought us a steel bin from the kitchen so we could play pandora on iphone and it could be heard at our table. The food came out 2 at a time, the 2 turkey clubs first, 10 mins later a burger and chicken sandwich (which was returned bc it was so hard she couldn't cut it) again 10 minutes later the 2 tuna small plates which were okay but had a sandy like texture, and then 10 minutes later the lamb chops and sirloin. We had over a $400 bill would have expected a little better service and better food quality. We picked River Rock over Harry's and I will have to say on behalf of myself and the other 7 people we should have gone to Harry's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2015

Arrived at 5:30 and we had 7:00 PM tickets at DTC. Waiter was attentive and efficient. We had a nice meal and made it to the show on time. Will return for sure. Menu was interesting and had enough choices for the two vegetarians in the group to be comfortable. The mushroom raviolis were delicious in a VERY rich Alfredo sauce. The kale salad with preserved lemon was a real hit and big enough for 4 people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2015

One of the few places in town where you can get a great meal without having an expensive Holiday buffet. It was quiet, small adult groups or couples, great service, very good food. Was so pleased to have chosen to eat here for Thanksgiving.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2015

Nice lunch in an empty restaurant. Reasonable value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food, good ambiance and our server was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2015

I've eaten here twice. Once with my husband and once with a group just 3 days ago. Great experience both times. Tapas size portions to share is their specialty and you will not be disappointed. The menu is full and varied in your choice of small plate options that are delicious and the portions were generous. This is a hidden little gem not yet discovered by the mainstream. Atmosphere was modern upscale with a city vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Had drinks on their drink menu that they did not have the alcohol for. The portions were so small that I had to go home and eat again. The service was SLOW; there was scarcely anyone in the restaurant and it took close to 3 hours to eat. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.