Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.06mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.77mi
  4. Distance: 5.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.06mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.77mi
  4. Distance: 5.82mi

About River Crab - St. Clair

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (55)
Scenic View (53)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Great for Brunch (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Business Meals (11)
Historic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (8)
Live Music (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fun (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
856 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

More michigan wines. Maybe wine tasting night. Afternoon tea with great desserts.
hot fudge sundae needs whip topping on top. Are your ingredients local and organic.

My daughter and son in law when they visit from CA want to come to dinner. They really enjoy your restraunt. GREAT PLACE TO Bring Adult family..

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service, even better setting and views.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food and drink in a pleasant environment with a spectacular view of the St. Clair River.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall a good experience. Reservaions on specail days (we were here on Mother's Day) are an absolute must. Food is good and not pretentious. Wine list is really good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and service on Mother's Day - very accommodating .

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Second time here. First time was for Valentine's Day. We decided to try the Mother's Day Sunday Brunch and were not disappointed. Food, service and view were all fantastic.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch is always a difficult sell. Food is usually plentiful, but average in taste. River Crab exceeded expectation with a few exceptions. Mussels were dreadful, desserts were moderate and mimosas had too much pulp. Can't beat the view!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch is good. Would like to see it change up a little more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

From the reservation scheduler, valet attendant, hostess and waitress ...outstanding service and very friendly! The food was exceptional with great presentation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was great, wine selection was great, food was great - Sea Bass, Caesar Salad, Scallops starter, and wine.
Only item I would say River Crab needs work on is description of entry items.
Sea Bass - celery root pure'e, asparagus, lobster vermouth sauce. Was looking for asparagus as a vegetable not part of the sauce - 1/8" slices of asparagus. Disappointed about that.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was amazing, the wait staff was exceptional.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a good experience! Hadn't been to the Port Huron area in a few years, so had missed dining at the River Crab, it was just as I remembered.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As usual another great meal. Had great service and our fish was out of this world. Great water views from the main dining room

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

While the food was good and the server, Tony was excellent, I was very disappointed that having made a reservation 3 weeks in advance, you could not fulfill my request for a window table. Given the amount of lead time, this was inexcusable.
Ronald Pagels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was delicious,fresh, regularly replenished; service was exceptional.
As it was Easter Sunday brunch, it was crazy busy, but everything was smooth and professional.
Loved it...hope to return for family celebration n June.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything! Parking valet, hostess, waiter, food, view, and atmosphere were fantastic. We have been going to the River Crab for over 40 years and have never had a bad experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter dinner was as always a real treat at the Crab! The day was perfect along with the setting, food service and setting. Thank you for again providing and outstanding dining experience. One small favor, can you PLEASE bring back the creamed sweet potato, they are so good with anything and everything.
Regards and Thanks
Andy M

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love going to the River Crab - went Easter Sunday with a "window reservation". Seating was on the enclosed "porch" not window, but ok. Reservation seating was on time - but, very crowded and slowwwww - understaffed maybe - ice cream dessert took 20 minutes. Overall very good food - both had the Hemingway Snapper - lobster bisque - firecracker shrimp - all were excellent. We were in no rush, but still was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Presentation of food dishes is excellent. Menu has a great variety of choices. Servers very knowledgeable about what the restaurant menus offer. Management was present and making contact with diners & making sure everything is perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

All help was excellent other than a woman up front helping the young ladies. Way below the level needed for a nice place like this. She keep making fun of my last name and pronouncing it wrong. A very simple name to say. I just walked away. She needs to be a Dennys. Bartenders were excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Scenic View, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love this restaurant! The view of the St. Clair River and the freighters going by is breath taking. I would recommend the crab legs or the beef tournedos!

Sit outside on a nice day and enjoy a refreshing cocktail.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Live Music, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Dining experience! Tony our server was perfect

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday brunch. Food was horrible. Service was great, but we were highly disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter buffet! We learned they serve the same each Sunday. Very good food with a great view of the river. Good service, and a great price! We were very happy and will be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch and it was fantastic. Food was delicious. Very busy and long lines at buffet but worth it. Only con was there is no counter or changing table to change a baby in the bathrooms and we needed one

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We go to River Crab every Easter (1 1/2 hours away from home) and I have to say I was disappointed because we had a table that was a cardtable. It kept moving around and my youngest grandson (15) sat at the end and there was no room for his legs (he is very tall). I know this seems like a little thing but I was still upset about it. The food was still very good and we had an excellent waitress.
I think River Crab needs to do something about the people that were waiting for tables. They were standing every where and it was extremely difficult to get from the buffet table back to our table - the people did not want to move out of the way. Very bad situation.
Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was packed--noisy and crowded, which might be expected. There was nothing special about the food (beef was too tough to cut) or the service (long wait for coffee refill). It was not up to its old standard.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was the first time in two years and we enjoyed the meal, waitress and view. This is an awesome place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

River Crab restaurant is an excellent choice for some of the very best seasonal seafood/steak, service and ambiance in SE Michigan. I highly recommend them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent food and srvice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I am a long-time customer and fan of the Chuck Muer Restaurant family. Unfortunately for us, this visit was supposed to be a special experience and we were disappointed. The food was just "ok" and well below what I had grown to expect over the many years of dining at Muer restaurants. I am sorry to say I won't be spending the money and time to come back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Rhonda is the best! Food is great the service keeps me coming back.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Have been visiting the River Crab on a regular basis for over 40 years and haven't lost my zeal and enjoyment yet. The professionalism of the staff and the ambiance offers nothing less than a wonderful relaxing moment. The food is above average but the introduction of a monthly or quarterly signature dish would add some mystery to the menu. Overall we have never been disappointed. A view that is second to none !

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

45 minute drive was worth it!!! The decor is nostalgic which we loved (even the pink tile in the bathroom)! Was quiet inside which was nice. Sits on the water which has a great view from inside the restaurant. When it warms up, you can sit outside facing the water. Best waiter ever is Neill. Knew the menu, had personality and was very attentive! Hats off to the chefs who made us a great food! Fresh whitefish, halibut, shrimp and crab cake! Bread and biscuits where amazing too! Dessert AMAZING! I don't think you can go wrong with anything you order. If you order salmon, order the cedar plank so it will have better flavor (This was the only fish that wasn't fresh which the waiter was honest to answer me when I inquired). Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waitress Rhonda was absolutely wonderful. Her experience along with her personality made our evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fantastic as always! Great service, amazing food and all around ambiance. We love dining at the river crab!! It's always a great time!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything was perfect! My only suggestion would to update the upholstery on the chairs and banquettes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Fun, Scenic View, Historic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

sunday only. buffet-style with the most brunch options i've ever seen. just wish they'd been able to keep all of the food above room temperature. would go again for sure, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great seafood. The clam chowder was the best I have ever had. You can tell everything was prepared fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.