About River Crab - St. Clair

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (42)
Waterfront (39)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Great for Brunch (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Seasonal (10)
Fun (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Historic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Live Music (6)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful setting on the waterfront. Great ambience and great food. A bit pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was top notch from the minute we walked into the door until we parted.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service were excellent. I was expecting more elegant ambience but it is a boaters place after all

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thanks to our waitress Sarah who did an amazing job at making our night perfect. Looking forward to my next visit. Again thanks to all. Ed Allin

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have a wonderful dinner, everything was prepared perfect. Service was outstanding. One of me favorites now. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

been here many times always great this is why I don't always reply I don't have time for 59

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time visit to celebrate an early Valentine's Day. Great brunch and outstanding pastries and desserts.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was outstanding and the manager Martha was such the great host to us on our anniversary we'll be back...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been to this place three times and love it every time we go....

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

As usual, a fine dinner with great service and good food and drink.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We always enjoy ourselves at this restaurant. It's on the water and the food quality is exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoy the Sunday Brunch especially for special occasions. One disappointment was we were told they would not be able to make an egg-white omelet. I feel when you are paying that price they should be able to accommodate your special needs.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of my all time favorite restaurants. Food is always amazing and service is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Can't beat the view, service, food here. Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This place never disappoints. Love the ambiance. Great meal choices and wonderful wine list. We also ask for Rhonda to be our server. She is amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We where really disappointed this time. The food was lukewarm at best, the meat was bad. It was not worth the price at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The waitress was superb! The Banana Foster was excellent. I enjoyed the Western Omelette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food & service with a great view even on a foggy gray winter day.....

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The restaurant was recommended by a friend. Was not dissapointed. The restaurant, the food and the service were all fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious dinner. Our server, Allen, was awesome. The view of the river is always a treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Nice by the water. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. This was our first time and it was not disappointing. Loved the atmosphere and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding food quality, well presented and extremely tasty. This is at this time the best place to have a truly outstanding meal, with a great view and superb service. The River Crab reminds me of the old restaurants that use to be in the Detroit area. The setting is relaxed, you can wear a suit or casual and in either case feel comfortable. It is the BEST in the area. Thank you.

Tags: Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and so happy the River Crab could fit us in on such a busy evening! Michelle, our server, was fantastic and the wine and dinners were delicious as usual! Never a disappointment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great resturant, nice menu selection Great views and wonderful staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I would just Like to thank the Staff for the great time that we had this past New Years Eve dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our favorite restaurant, even though it's an hour's drive away.... New Years' Eve, they were to serve 800 covers that night.... but it still didn't disappoint ..... Food was excellent, service was exceptional!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

coconut shrimp was poor. no coconut. no dipping sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good food.

Friendly staff.

Tony knows his customers, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. I recommend highly and will definitely go there again for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love this gem. We have been coming here for years. It is always good and the servers are exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was my 65th birthday.Second time here.I picked the place.Glad I did.We had Jessica for our waitress.She was so pleasant.Our son and his wife joined us.We really enjoyed our dinner.No complaints at all.Food was marvelous.

Was very nice and quiet.No kids,only adults.

We will be back for sure.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Buffet at this restaurant is excellent. They do not have it on Christmas though. I would not recommend the Filet. It is not up to the quality that it should be. There are many other fine selections though.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It's been several years since I've been here as I had relocated out of state. A employment opportunity came up recently which brought me back home just before Christmas and it was only my son and I here (unfortunately the rest of the family won't be joining us for six months or so).

In searching for a place to go for Christmas dinner, I found the River Crab was open and decided to drive up to enjoy the meal and the view of the river. We were not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I have enjoyed several quality meals at the River Crab, however Christmas Eve (2016) was a disappointment. Menu was limited with no substitutions allowed, service was slow, drinks were diluted, potatoes and vegetables were obviously under the heat lamp to long. Four of my ten guests did not finish their meal based on quality. Essentially the River Crab was overbooked or were understaffed and failed to deliver a memorable experience. Atmosphere was loud, price was at a premium, staff was courteous but not apologetic. Truly not what I anticipated when making the reservation. As a side note the menu posted when booking was not the same offered when we arrived, I would not have gone forward had I been aware.

Regards,

Wayne D.

St. Clair Twp., MI

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve and the Food was Great and the Service was Excellent!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

River Crab is one of our favorites and it didn't disappoint on this visit. It's primarily seafood but it has plenty of choices of non-seafood items as well. The fresh catch seafood is always excellent and prepared perfectly. The restaurant has great ambiance as well, situated right on the waterfront in St. Clair. Good service also. Wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My adult children when they visit from california always want to have dinner at the river crab

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food is always excellent, and service was delightful. All wait staff was attentive to our needs. Location on the river is great for summer boat viewing as well as winter ice flows.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It has been about a year since I last ate at River Crab. It was an amazing meal all around. The food was incredibly good, and service equally so. I would highly recommend River Crab to anyone that enjoys excellent seafood!

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View, People Watching, Historic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Crab cake and salad were very good!. Had to request a bread basket. What's up with that. Main course was OK. Rice and vegeetables were not hot. I would say not even warm. Perch was good, but nothing special. Worth the price? Not really. Server was fine, could have been more attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Would be good to know on the menu if some non- fish item was fried in oil that had been used for shellfish. ( In case of allergies)

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The River Crab is one of our favorite restaurants, we live just a mile away so go there often. The food was fantastic as usual and the place was clean, warm and cozy as usual. The negative on this recent visit was the service, it was not up to the professional standard that is always delivered. Maybe just an off night or perhaps short staffed hopefully not a trend for future visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The restaurant was not busy when we were there. And even though very few tables were occupied, the hostess placed us at a table right next to a large, noisy group. With all the space available that night, I thought the hostess used poor judgement.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sean was great. He was attentive, not intrusive. We all enjoyed our food and beverage selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were 'waited on' by Tony, who provided excellent friendly service. All the food was presented very nicely and within a reasonable time.

The only wrinkle was that my steak for more like "Medium to Well Done", rather than "Medium Rare" that I had ordered.

The good news is that the restaurant immediately addressed it, made sure my dining partner's meal was also looked after and 10-15mins later the two meals came back, this time as ordered. The manager also paid us a visit to apologize, and made sure that everything else was good.

So for this dining experience, not a '5 star' rating, but certainly a solid '4 stars'.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet, great selection. Enjoyed a wonderful view and relaxed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic food & service & manager Martha Collins runs a great restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love ❤️ coming there anytime and when we can. And we will for sure book 📚 again for Thanksgiving Day🦃 The experience was AWESOMW as well as the staff. 💞💞💞

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Sports, Spicy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, People Watching, Casual, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.