Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.06mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.77mi
  4. Distance: 5.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.06mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.77mi
  4. Distance: 5.82mi

About River Crab - St. Clair

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (77)
Scenic View (76)
Worth the Drive (60)
See All
Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Cozy (17)
Fun (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Live Music (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food is always excellent Large selection of entrees on hot buffet at brunch. Beautiful view of St. Clair river. Our waiter provided outstanding service. Wait staff have always provided above average service every time we have dined at the River Crab.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The river views along with the great food and service made our evening a special one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our first time here. We had a beautiful view! We will definitely be back .

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Server was stretched too thin. Green beans and rice served as side dish with meal were boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I visited with my wife for our first anniversary. But unfortunately we were a burden to our waitress. "The impression she gave us" I ordered a steak rare and my wife ordered the salmon. Her salmon came out a little overdone. "No big deal" but my steak was medium well to well done. If I'm paying $40 for a steak I would like it cooked how I want it. Long story short I was unable to eat with my wife on our anniversary because it took another 30 minutes to cook another steak. I would not recommend the river crab to anyone. The manager came out to apologize to us. But too little too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We love this restaurant! Excellent food and beautiful water view!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

OUTSTANDING service, food quality, location, valet, setting, ambiance, you name it is was GREAT!

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food, atmosphere and service.
A lot of seafood choices. I requested a certain way to prepare my meal and they accommodated. Also had excellent desert menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Visit would have been great except they sat us at a table next to the wait staff staging area (the restaurant was not crowded and other tables were available). The noise level kept getting increasingly as the staff restocked and were setting up for the dinner crowd.

The nice view and good food was spoiled by the noise and staff activity next to us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Selected this restaurant for an Anniversary dinner. Venue is tired and in need of a major update. Food and service was marginal. For a special occasion, this did not turn out as I expected. My return is doubtful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

This is the best place to dine in the local area. It rivals any Detroit restaurant I visit - and I'm picky! They have topnotch Cosmos, fresh seafood - and I LOVE their bread, which they haven't changed in all these years, thank God. Their soup is delicious, too.

And the little dark chocolate fishes at the end? To die for. (I always want to buy a box to take home with me.)

You can't beat the view, and the wait staff is wonderful. St. Clair County used to have classy places like this all over. Not anymore. I'm so glad we still have The River Crab - St. Clair. It was great back then, and it's still great now.

Thank you, management and owners.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

A great view of the St. Clair River makes this a timeless place. Excellent brunch with good company and a soothing view of the river activity always makes for a worthwhile time.

It's been years since I have been by this area, but I will be returning regularly, and this place is one of the primary reasons.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The waiter, Tony, was attentive and very thorough about the menu. His recommendation for the topping was right on. I had halibut and my husband had the Trio -- no complaints at all. We definitely will be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great meal. Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Upon arrival hostess stated on reservation was inside, but we showed our printed copy that did indicate the outside deck with 2 for our anniversary. Last time that happened Martha was able to accommodate us with a table assignment. When I explained how Martha handled it before, the hostess was able to provide us with the table for 2 as requested. We were certain to make suitable reward for her consideration as I did for Martha last time. More than happy with the great food selections and the live entertainment as desired. Will plan to return again soon, and on occasion, we do invite friends to join us as needed. Thanks for the professional services.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We invited a couple to a small birthday celebration. Most of us had been here before. This visit was very nice. The food was scrumptious, the view fantastic and the easy reservation through Open Seating worked like a charm. We arrived 20 minutes early, but they seated us immediately. Great experience - will come back.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Only negative thing I can say is booking online did not give me an option to sit outside. Everything was delicious. Great view. Very dated inside, but I can understand why they don't feel the need to update. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

great place for lunch thank you
also lovely location by the water

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Since River Crab "did not have" my reservations in their system, we waited almost an hour before calling it quits. The young hosts were both very rude and unapologetic about the entire situation, even after showing them my confirmation email decided they would not honor my reservations. It so happened that an older couple who was just before us, with the same river view requests, were seated before my party even after making the hosts aware of the situation. One would think that an exception would be made to make things right. I've never had any issues here, but this rubbed me the wrong way of how the issue was handled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was delicious. Waitress took great care of us.
Will definitely go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Their "Twilight Prix Fixe" menu was absolutely outstanding. It was a tremendous value for the money. In addition, the beer and wine prices were very reasonable compared to other restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our waitress was not very good. She had a bland personality and knew nothing about the wine list. After we ordered our appetizers and wine, we enjoyed our first course but wondered why she hadn't returned to our table to take our entrée order. Only when she was removing the appetizer dishes, did my husband mentioned we wanted to place our entrée order. Unfortunately that caused a 15-20 minute wait at an empty table until they arrived. She did not remove all the appetizer dishes nor did she brush crumbs off the table from the bread basket as our previous waiter did who was waiting on the table next to us. Then when we had finished eating, she brought over the bill but did not run our Landry card (had $25 reward on it) nor our gift care. Thankfully the waiter who was waiting on the table next to us offered to complete the bill, mentioning that the restaurant was busy (it wasn't) and graciously not blaming our waitress. Sadly she really put a damper on what should have been a wonderful meal with our daughter visiting from Oklahoma City.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was the first time here and it definitely will not be my last. I just wish it were closer to where I live...it is in a rural area...
The view of the St Claire river with freighters floating by, and the quiet atmosphere makes it perfect for conversation without having to raise your voice like at many restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food service was poor messed up both my wife and my order

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food was good. They forgot the birthday .. when I called they didn't really seem to care ... guess it was because we were not regulars ...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We are from Cambridge Ontario and every time we visit family members in Michigan we stay at the Blue Water Inn and the River Crab is our restaurant of choice. This is a gem that we found in 2015 and we have been coming back any chance we have since.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Kay, my wife, and I have always made an effort to visit the River Crab on our wedding anniversary. This year was special to have our family with us and you accommodated us with a window table overlooking the river. The server was wonderful. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Server was not very nice and grumpy ( Rhonda ). Asked server to take a picture of the four of us and she said no, she was too busy. Brought friends up and they were disappointed at the service and quality of the food. Food was tasteless with no seasoning on the fish or vegetables. We have been coming up there for thirty years and the quality has gone down considerably . I understand the clientele has change and it is an older crowd but the quality should stay the same. I do not think we will be going back up there and that is a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our first time there, it was my wife's birthday. We have always wanted to try it so glad we did! Absolutely perfect, we will be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our server was great and food was very good. The only criticism I have is that the hostess was not friendly whatsoever. Did not smile once the entire evening we were there. Loudly complaining to the other hostess within earshot of tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had dinner , on 8/5/17 around 5:00 pm with my sister and her husband, who were in from New York, in the dining room. The restaurant is very nice with great view s of Lake St Clair. Had it been a warmer day, we could have eaten out on their spacious deck, hopefully next time! Our waiter Alan, was wonderful, food was great, and atmosphere was fun and relaxed! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for dinner. She wanted steak and Lobster for about 5 months. I told her I'll took her here. She order the surf and turf ordered it medium and it came out rare. The waitress took the steak back she brung back a new one and it was just as rare as the first one. my girlfriend was eating the lobster she cut into it an the lobster was raw as well!! How can this place not know how to cook steak and seafood when it's called river crab!! Not sure if we will go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We have been acquainted with this restaurant for 20 years now. It did not have the magical appeal to us as it di some years ago. We celebrated our 50th Anniversary dinner here two days ago and just did not feel the attraction that we felt some years ago. The view was great, but the Windows were not clean. The carpet seemed dirty as well. The wait staff was friendly and attentive, but the hostess was not very welcoming for our special event. All-in-all, just another restaurant along the river....nota destination.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We used to go the River Crab all the time, but hadn't been in years. It was my son's 21st birthday so we decided to go. What a disappointment...the food was sub par to say the least. The vegetables looked like they were dead for two days, my blackened halibut was very salty, steak was just ok. I hope this place doesn't go down hill, it's still a nice place to eat and the drink are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Sea food and service were Fantastic! Loved the view along the river. Very comfortable and clean dinning experience

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food was undercooked and both me and my wife were ill after eating very there

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Race team dinner was wonderful thanks to staff and on water ambiance. Kudos to the chef and kitchen crew for outstanding prep and taste.
Sunset sky, professional valet service and wait staff were tops.
Best in the area and deservedly a Landry's Select restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

An excellent experience, with good food and attentive service from Elizabeth

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

River Crab is waterfront on the St. Clair river. Amazing setting right on the river with outdoor and indoor dining at water's edge.
Staff are excellent . Food is 4.5 / 5 (my wife's snapper was just good while my halibut was to die for ) breads are oven fresh, sides were perfect. We did not have desert.
Excellent for anniversaries and other special occasions as well as just a great place to dine everyday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Return visit - last year we stopped while in town for boat races. So good we returned.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.