Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca

Romantic, Elegant, Intimate, and Authentic

Recognized as one of Houston's Best Italian Restaurants, Ristorante Cavour features authentic Northern Italian cuisine amid a beautiful and serene setting accented with Murano chandeliers. Savor traditional Italian favorites alongside seasonal house specialties with selections to indulge the most discriminating palate. Experience our premier wine cellar, featuring hundreds of vintages hand-selected from around the world.

From important business lunches to memorable special occasion dinners, Ristorante Cavour offers guests an impeccable dining experience in an intimate and elegant ambiance. Ristorante Cavour is the setting for one of Houston's "Best Brunches" and offers a traditional Afternoon Tea or signature Granduca Tea throughout the year.


Hotel GRANDUCA is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd.
Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens.

1080 Uptown Park Blvd.
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday Only: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Afternoon Tea daily by reservation only : 2 pm - 4pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 418-1104

Website:
http://www.granducahouston.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist from Wednesday to Saturday evenings between 5pm and 8pm. Jazz band every Saturdays between 7pm and 10pm and a Pianist during Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
On-site complimentary valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Enrico Glaudo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 6:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We provide a complete array of flexible and creative solutions to your function, space, hosting, catering, technology and entertainment needs.

Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

The old brunch was much better...this was overpriced, boring breakfast hotel food. Bring the old brunch back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Lovely, quiet restaurant with very good food and superb service. I have been to Ristorante Cavour 4 times and will go back happily. It's extremely pleasant to find a restaurant that combines good food in a quiet setting so that I am able to carry on a conversation without having to yell. The lovely ambiance is enjoyable and noteworthy in this town that has many restaurants that assault the ear.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great service, awesome appetizers, felt really comfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very disappointed in new menu. What use to be a great place for Sunday brunch is now not recommended as a place to go. The cost per person is less and so is the quality of food. We will not return unless the menu is improved or reverts back to the previous style menu. Will not recommend to anyone.

Steve Redd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I found this visit rather disappointing. I thought the food lacked flair although my companion was quite happy with her flounder.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Always a favorite of mine. Can count on great service and great food. This restaurant is an upscale gem

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Have taken advantage of their BYOB and corkage policy on wine probably a dozen times before and even quite recently. Was extremely disappointed to learn upon arrival that they have no such corkage policy. Either the Matre 'D was ill-informed, rude, or stupid. He said this would be the last time they would accommodate us. Very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Best Brunch value in town!
the buffet is rich and varied and the classic brunch entrees are the perfect size.
Dessert tables many options that are very very good...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful as always. Most romantic restaurant in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Dinner very disappointing. Reservations at 6:45 not out till 10:00.
Food cold. Don't plan to go back. However, manager called and offered a free meal. Haven't decided to take him up on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful space and decor. Service attentive.
Menu is limited. Wine list and prices excellent.
The menu needs to be refreshed. It has been the exact same for two years.
Love everything about the restaurant service and decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Small restaurant in hotel. Food was very good, price level was what I'd expect for the location (Galleria etc). We had our anniversary staycation at the hotel and spent the night. This was on a Friday. First I noted in our reservation that it was our anniversary -- the hostess wanted to seat us at the table next to the kitchen entrance. Thanks, but no thanks. Really, folks? This is hardly what I'd expect from this establishment. Maybe more fitting of a Heights hipster place but not here. Then the waitress; felt bad because she was obviously brand new to waitressing (asked how we wanted the duck cooked, never refilled water glasses, didn't clean crumbs from tablecloth etc). Food was good but overall disappointing dinner experience. Suggest you use non prime times to train your staff. Too much competition in this town to give this one another shot. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is a very quaint and upscale restaurant. The food is fantastic as well as the service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great for holiday brunches. Their regular Sunday brunch are good as well but nowhere near as elaborate as their special holiday ones. The service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for a nice brunch with family. We are planning to try the Afternoon Tea service that they offer one weekend.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely beautiful & romantic spot. Impeccable service and great food.
Love this place

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wow, wonderful dinner......maybe the best one we've experienced at Ristorante Cavour. My husband started with the bib lettuce with fresh blue crab, tomato, avocado with a lovely lemon dressing. I had the burrata and tomato appetizer with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. My husband had the veal medallions with the most awesome whipped potatoes. I had a wonderful filet mignon with potato fingerlings and grilled asparagus. For dessert we split a panna cotta with strawberry coulis......probably the best panna cotta I've ever eaten. Service was fantastic as well. Can't wait for the new menu starting in January. It's got some of the oldie but goodie items back on it. YUMMO!!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Buffet needs big improvement. Service was polite. However, servers need to be more knowledgeable and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had lovely service from our waitress. The food, however, was terrible. The linguini had zero flavor to the little sauce that was on it. The pea risotto was bland yet the scallops were good. The meat and cheese tray appetizer .. the meats were good but it only had two pieces of cheese.

We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I expected the best of everything since that is what this venue claims to be. The waiter seemed lethargic and ambivalent and not very knowledgeable about the most basic wine question regarding an unoaked chardonnay. The food was OK but not exceptional. The first thing the valet said was, "You came in the wrong way." I didn't notice any signs and there was only one other car coming into the driveway from the other direction so it wasn't like I had caused a traffic jam. Not a very welcoming reception. Underwhelming and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Most delicious Italian food in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was perfect and the food was delicious. My wife was disappointed that the desserts did not include the traditional pumpkin pie and a red velvet cake, as in prior meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday. We'd been there for Sunday brunch several times and loved it. Our experience this time did not disappoint. We were in an elegant setting and the service was exceptional. We will go again with joy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent range of tasty food for Sunday brunch. Excellent service, although we had to wait a while in the bar (very nice) for about 20 minutes until our table became available. Complementary valet parking. Everything about the hotel and restaurant is first-rate. I recommend it highly both for dinner and for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always, the Ristorante Cavour delivered a fine dining experience in an elegant setting. It is nice to occasionally have a meal in a setting that permits conversation at normal volume levels. There was a large and somewhat boisterous group enjoying an early meal when we arrived for a 6:45 pm reservation, but fortunately they had been seated in the anteroom so that their noise level was not offensive in the main dining room. My only complaint is that their selection of wines by the glass is limited and very expensive. Neither of our guests the other night drink alcohol, so I was forced off their extensive main wine list. Twenty-four dollars a glass for a skimpy serving of a moderately good Barolo is a bit stiff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Different than when I went 3 months ago. Price went up. Quality and variety of food definitely down. Took 5 friends for their birthdays. Pricey but would not have
Minded if good quality. This was not. That being said....the service was incredible. I could not have asked for more. Will not go back....would. It recommend.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was deliscious. The service was excellent. Will be back next time in the Galleria area. Thank much to our delightful servers. It was a very quaint and private dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always the perfect spot!
Lunch at Cavour is the perfect combination of great food, wonderful service and an elegant place where I can slow down from the frantic pace of my workdays.
It's my "go-to" place for business lunches or time with girlfriends.
I have never been disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We loved the relaxed feel of Ristorante Cavour...Extravagant buffet including omelet and carving station...we particularly loved the salmon as an entree plus an array of salads and cheeses....without forgetting the selections of individual desserts. The service was excellent automatically greeting with complimentary glass of prosecco...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food is always good. This time the menu was very limited as the kitchen is currently under reconstruction. I know that when it's back in regular operating order that the menu will be back to its original state and probably even better. We had the awesome butternut squash soup and blue crab salad as appetizers. For our entrees we had a filet of tenderloin and flatbread with fresh tomatoes, cheese and basil. Tiramisu was for dessert and it was oh, so good!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always great service and food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Staff was prompt & attentive. Great service. The food pictures & menu on here is outdated. The food they served couldn't be distinguished from each other...the branzino came out on a bed of mashed potatoes, smothered with brown gravy. The steak came out on a bed of mashed potatoes, smothered with brown gravy. Both dishes tasted pretty similarly too...I really felt like the chef had simply given up on creativeness. The ambiance was nice & it was SUPER quiet inside. Conversations from nearby tables were at a mere whisper. Will not return to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and service were exceptional....same as every other visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was delicious. Everything from wait staff who were very helpful to presentation were top notch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Ristorante Cavour has become our favorite restaurant for its consistently excellent food and service, regardless of the time of day. We've had excellent dinners here, as well as an outstanding Sunday brunch. On a recent visit, we enjoyed excellent veal medallions and a wonderful seafood risotto, but you won't be disappointed by Amy of their seafood or freshly-made pasta selections. Finally, the staff always goes out of the way to provide personalized service, making each guest feel special!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2016

My husband and I had my birthday dinner here this year. It was such a romantic place to enjoy the delicious food and private time. The food was very finely prepared, and the place was carefully decorated. I would plan a afternoon tea here pretty soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The restaurant was great and we all enjoyed it very much. Did we get the 1000 points ?

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

The burrata appetizer was very nice. The tomatoes were a beautiful bright red plated beneath a large hand pulled burrata ball. The bslsomic reduction was a bit on the heavy side but all together a fine dish. Their seared tuna dish was a complete miss for me. Ordered rare, it arrived at the table overcooked, as was the accompanying bok choy. The polenta was tough, not creamy and soft as expected. The seafood risotto was a creamy smooth consistency, topped with very little seafood. It was very inexpensive. I would have liked to pay more and have a more balanced dish. The service was a little too attentive. The only table in the restaurant made every worker on staff regularly ask how things were going. We could not get through a conversation without several interruptions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've visited Ristorante Cavour on several occasions for dinner and Sunday Brunch, and have always enjoyed an excellent meal and service. His was the first time we had breakfast, and we were equally impressed. The food was fresh, inviting, and served in the Same excellent manner as other meals we've enjoyed here. As such, Ristorante Cavour remains one of our favorite restaurants !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I was disappointed that no comment nor acknowledgement was made concerning our reason for dining there. We were celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary and had made that point at the time we made the reservation. When they telephoned to assure we were keeping the reservation, they made mention of our reason for dining with them.

The night of our dining no reference was made. We had celebrated our 50th anniversary there also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was impeccable. Excellent wine selections.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.