Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Rico's Authentic Italian

A local's favorite in Ketchum, Idaho.
Serving both traditional and signature Italian food items. Known in the valley for its lasagna and artisan pizzas.

200 Main Street N
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–9:30 pm

Cross Street:
2cd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-7426

Website:
http://ricosauthenticitalian.com/

Catering:
Sit down, buffet or passed, beer and wine only

Public Transit:
Take the Moutain Rides bus to the stop on Main and 1st and walk a short 50 yards north. Our restaurant is on the east side of Main Street, Diagonal from the Limelight Hotel

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rico's Authentic Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2018

So disappointing.

Spent an hour and a half getting our dinner.

Nothing authentic about this place, from the cold stale breadsticks to the tasteless lasagna (what lasagna doesn’t have sauce??). Pizza was served cold. Chicken parm tasted dry like it was made last week. “Spaghetti” isn’t even made with spaghetti noodles. It all tasted like it came from a cheap can or package. To top it off, the cookie dessert was so bad we left it on the table. Bleh.

We’d been looking forward to a good Italian meal and this was a total let-down. Don’t waste your time when there are so many better restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Our large group of ten people had a delicious meal at Ricos. I especially like the option to substitute spaghetti squash for noodles on any dish since I eat somewhat paleo. The kids in our group liked the pizza. There's great variety on the menu, and the food is tasty. The atmosphere is casual. The waiting staff and the management seem to be customer-focused. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Took 15 minutes for the waiter to come to our table (and that was after we complained). They should stick to pizza, as only the pizza was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Chicken Marsala is outstanding. We were there for NYE so Service was a little slow but not disappointing. 100% would go every time in Sun Valley.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Rico’s is a solid go-to every time we’re in town. We were especially impressed with the speedy service and efficiency during the very busy Christmas week. Thanks, Rico!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

We had a very good time, our server was wonderful and the food delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Rico’s is our go to whenever we are in Ketchum.
We always enjoy our dinners no matter what we order- from pizza to pasta. The service is great.
The atmosphere is welcoming.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 23, 2017

I loved substituting my pasta with spaghetti squash, but there was so much sauce on my plate, the small amount of squash I was given was drowning in it. The waitress needed a refresher course on customer service. She seemed very annoyed to be there. The highlight of the night was finding the picture of my dog I had given them years ago, hanging on the bathroom wall still after all these years. I had searched for her picture during previous visits, and was so thrilled when I found it this time. :)

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our waiter went above and beyond! The food was excellent- margarita pizza delicioso! Love Ricos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We love this place! The relaxed atmosphere and great food keeps us coming back again and again!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Keep in mind, this is by no means a fine dining restaurant and so, it shouldn't take one hour to get a dinner salad. And so, when we (4 adults) didn't have our salads after one hour, we asked and were told that "they had gotten behind on making salads". Actually, in truth, what happened was that the waitress had completely forgotten to put in our order. She apologized and rushed our food out to us--not easy to do with a pizza that has to be baked. Rico eventually came over and offered a half-hearted apology but it was easy to tell he really didn't care. (I have since seen other reviews that say he is rude and yes, he is.) When our meals finally did arrive they were fairly good but by then, we really just wanted to eat and leave. And, their "compensation" for such a major screw up for four drastically delayed entrees and sides and one appetizer, we got one free glass of wine--big deal. The bad news for Rico is that we LIVE in this resort town. We are NOT tourists who will walk away dissatisfied never to return. We are locals who will never return and will spread the word all over town. Eat elsewhere and don't put up with this rude, gruff man's way of running an only "okay" restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Rico's is our go -to restaurant for all seasons and the best specialty pizza around. Summer is our favorite to eat outdoors while the sun sets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We have had a great time and great meals at Ricos this summer. We love Rick as our waiter, and we can always find good food for every person that goes with us.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Always a good choice when you don't want to spend a fortune.

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

We were just in town for the night and found the food here what we expected.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always went with our kids when they were young have rediscovered Riccos and enjoy it so much!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My wife and I've been to Rico's twice in the last four years upon visiting Sun Valley. We've thoroughly enjoyed the food here both times. In fact, we made it a point to eat here on our most recent visit. Exceptional food served here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Absolutely terrible service. Took 1 1/2 hours to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food, nice outside area to watch people, and the views of Baldy Mtn are spectacular! Hang gliders entertained us for quite awhile on a glorious summer evening.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Really enjoyed the option of being able to order Spaghetti Squash to replace spaghetti noodles that came with the meatballs.....nice salad options and the bread sticks with marinara were also crispy and with the right amount of cheese....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our server, Eric, I believe, was wonderful. Food was loved by all. Pizzas especially were a big hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rico's is always a top choice for a casual and delicious dinner in Ketchum. The food and service is always exceptional and a great value. The wine list is good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Sad an Italian eatery without esspreso. Did not try pizza but Lasagna was excellent as well as meatballs.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great service. Waitress was very attentive and nice. Delicious pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Consistently excellent food and terrific service. The best place in Ketchum for family fun and service with a smile!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Authentic Italian family restaurant with small town attention and big city awareness to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our waiter Eric was outstanding - friendly and attentive to our grandchildren

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Typical Ricos, fun, awesome food, fun servers, and economical. Thanks Rico !!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Ricos's is always a great place to bring a group for dinner. Lots of food choices -- solid pizzas and pastas. Service is cheerful and professional.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ravioli is delicious. Noise level is very "Italian-family."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great Italian food! They have really upped their menu since we were here last! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2016

This is a great Italian family style restaurant. Service is exceptional, good wine list & a good selection of delicious food. Would definitely recommend it when you visit the Ketchum / Sun Valley area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Everything that was served was delicious and our waiter was great. There were 7 of us at a round table which made the conversation great. Rico stopped by our table to make sure we were happy. A very nice evening. Perfect after a long day of skiing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Rico's because they were so accommodating, friendly, and fun! We asked for a quiet spot, and they gave us one. Our server was delightful! We enjoyed the food and we will return the next time we go to Sun Valley!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2016

We've been going to Ricos for years. It is a great family restaurant, especially in the summer with it's great outdoor dining. The food is good, not great, but good for the price. Kids like the bread sticks. There are gluten free options, and you can substitute spinach or squash for the pasta. Pleasant service and environment. We will keep returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2016

When in Sun Valley we always make Rico's a must-do on my family's dining-out list. The food is outstanding and the service has always been excellent. The lasagna, puttanesca (recommend the spaghetti squash for variety) and clams bianco are always a favorite. Cannoli and Neapolitan ice cream cake are both fantastic dessert choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Rico's is a must visit while here in Sun Valley. Always worth the wait and a perfect spot for a quiet dinner or large family gathering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 26, 2015

One thing that bugs me is when people seated after us got to place their order before us. It took 45 minutes to get our salads, then pizzas came for those who ordered pizzas. When they were just about finished, the pasta orders arrived. After those were eaten, the veal order arrived. Finally, after 1 hour 15 minutes, the chicken entree was served to the last of us. Not sure what went wrong but it took just under 2 hours to eat there (with 4 small restless children). It's not like it's a new restaurant - it's been around forever! Plus we got there at 5:15 when it was half full. We'll return though, as it's usually much better than that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on September 11, 2015

We had great food and our server made us feel welcome
Food was fresh and home made

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 9, 2015

excellent restaurant. Make a point to visit when in town. Great food and super service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.