About Richard's

808 W Fort Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Vicino (va-CHEE-no) is Italian for "neighborhood." Offering a Mediterranean bistro-style menu in an intimate, elegant setting, Richard's is a perfect choice for lunch or dinner. Drawing on influences from Italy, Spain and France, the menu is innovative, ingredient-driven and flavorful, pleasing even the most sophisticated palate. Menus change with the seasons to take advantage of locally sourced ingredients, fresh fish, meat and game as they become available. Chef Richard Langston and his team create daily specials, adding to the variety of choices for both lunch and dinner.

Richard's wine list is hand-selected by Chef Richard Langston to enhance your dining experience. With a focus on food-friendly varietals, the selections are from both the old and new worlds: Italy, France, Spain, Oregon, California, Idaho and Washington.

We hope to see you soon in our neighborhood!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 472-1463

Website:
http://www.cafevicino.com/

Parking Details:
Main restaurant entrance is off the Boise Co-Op parking lot which can be used for Cafe Vicino parking. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop is located on Fort Street between 8th and 9th streets.

Executive Chef:
Richard Langston

Private Party Facilities:
Cafe Vicino specializes in small cocktail or dinner parties in your home. Please contact us to discuss individualized menus and services.

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Gnocchi - Richard's, Boise, ID
Hazelnut Chocolate Torte - Richard's, Boise, ID
Copper River Salmon With Sugar Snap Peas - Richard's, Boise, ID
Olives - Richard's, Boise, ID
Grilled Asparagus Salad - Richard's, Boise, ID
Tomato Basil Soup - Richard's, Boise, ID
Prosecco - Richard's, Boise, ID
housemade potato chips with truffle salt - Richard's, Boise, ID
Chocolate Ganache Cake - Richard's, Boise, ID
Back: Cucumber Watermelon Summer Salad, Front: Ceasar Salad - Richard's, Boise, ID
Salted caramel cheesecake - Richard's, Boise, ID

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Richard's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
7 More
Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was a very nice place to have a business ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Was a very nice place to have a business dinner. Wonderful food and presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallop appetizer was exquisite--gri ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The scallop appetizer was exquisite--grilled to perfection. The potato chip appetizer is also addictive. The spinach fettucine is light and not heavy at all; packed with flavor. Soem folks may find the cheese ravioli with brown butter sauce and sage a bit powerful on the sage, but I think it is an excellent compliment to the cheese flavors. Service was excellent and the waiter was very knowledgeable on the wine list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fingers crossed that things don't slip i ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fingers crossed that things don't slip in the new location. Best of luck with the move and new location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Cafe Vicino consistently hits the mark. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Cafe Vicino consistently hits the mark. Our go-to-favorite. Not overly fussy just food created artfully to tantalize the senses. As always the wait staff understands and delivers superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Vicino did it again -- impeccable s ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Cafe Vicino did it again -- impeccable service (there when we needed it, not intrusive, quietly competent); delicious food, from pasta to salad to entree to dessert; fine wine (and wine list). Boise is lucky to have a restaurant of this quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has long frustrated me. It h ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place has long frustrated me. It has just never come together to be what I expect. This time it was like conveyer-belt service. And a server (shelli) who couldn't pick up a clue that the table was not very happy. Richard has complexified his food over the years and its part of the current dining milieu. It was fine above merely OK but falls short of what it could and should be

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Usually I give a five stars - had a few ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Usually I give a five stars - had a few issues this time. 1) Chicken on sandwich was the consistency of rubber. This is my usual go-to fav and was disappoint. Also, was a very small piece. 2) It was freezing when we arrived at noon. Never had a temp. issue before. 3) Major sad that the restaurant is moving. Dine here often because of both the food/service and location. Avoid downtown as much as possible!

Service was fab as usually.

Thanks!

Steph

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

A pleasant lunch with minimal intrusion. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 2, 2016

A pleasant lunch with minimal intrusion. Helpful servers. Always a pleasure

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always been a fan of Richard's ba ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I have always been a fan of Richard's back to Hyde Park in the late 90's, Early 2000's at their Hyde Park location Richard's Across the Street. I was a little disappointed in the dish I chose but I have high expectations based on many fond memories. I look forward to going back and enjoying more of their dishes!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of our favorite places. The atmosph ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 25, 2016

One of our favorite places. The atmosphere is casual, cozy and the service is excellent! So many wonderful dishes to choose from!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was excellent and the service outstanding. The chef did a nice job on plate presentation and provided a meal worthy of having on a special occasion. The one negative was the lack of a wine 'expert'. Our server was wonderful but had a difficult time making wine recommendations or pairing it with the food ordered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have always liked Cafe Vicino, but ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We have always liked Cafe Vicino, but hadn't been there since 2012. We were out of the state for 18 mos from 2012 to 2013. Decided to go back for our anniversary and it was absolutely outstanding. Food was really great as was our server. It made us wonder why we don't go here more often, so from now on... we will. Apparently it's not a secret because every table was filled on a Monday night. Glad I made a reservation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a lovely time at Vicino's. My husba ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had a lovely time at Vicino's. My husband loves this restaurant, so it was a treat for him. I'm happy to say that the experience this time was far better than the last. Last time we dined at Vincino's (April), I was less than impressed with the service we received. I had an issue with the wine and as it turned out the bottle was bad. I was basically told it was me, and then I wasn't even comped the glass of wine, which I feel for a restaurant of this caliber should have been a given, especially given the amount of money we spent that night. But again, this time, service was wonderful and the food was as well. We love the European vibe of this restaurant, but I'm excited for their new location and a bit more room :) We will be back.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent. We ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food and service was excellent. We are not regular diners at the restaurant but enjoy the meal when we do come to the establishment. Very attentive service. Keep up the quality in your future location.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Vicino never disappoints...well don ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Cafe Vicino never disappoints...well done! Great wine pairing with the tougher special.

Excellent service, great food...what could be missing? Nada!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vicino accommodated us on short notice f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Vicino accommodated us on short notice for an early dinner before evening events. Now that it's fall, I ordered the bone-in pork loin chop with delicata squash and red wine-poached pear. The large loin chop was perfectly brined and thereby flavorful and tender, and the squash was likewise perfectly baked, tender but not mushy. The poached pear was a great accompaniment, still firm. My spouse ordered the halibut, chanterelle and pasta special that was rich and full flavored enough to support a red wine. Service and wine by the glass were excellent and, with little room for improvement, we left satisfied and on time.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Richard's Cafe Vicino never disappoints. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Richard's Cafe Vicino never disappoints. The food is delectable and the service always top notch. We look forward to the new venue for Cafe Vicino!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a 7pm reservations were seated at 7: ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had a 7pm reservations were seated at 7:05. After sitting there approximately 10 minutes and no waitress it was becoming very apparent this was a place for locals. The waitresses were conversing with all the tables around us. When we finally did order, the appetizers and entrées they were really good. Not sure yet if we'll go back the next time we're in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We love Cafe Vicino and have eaten there ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We love Cafe Vicino and have eaten there several times, and have tried a good portion of the menu. We have enjoyed every meal we have had. The service is consistently outstanding and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food and service. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Consistently excellent food and service. It was a bit noisy but it was a Saturday night. Highly this restaurant!!

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was wonderful. Our meal was p ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful. Our meal was prepared to perfection, and the service was excellent. We felt like we found a treasure a treasure in Boise!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit, but will definitely ret ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our first visit, but will definitely return! A superb experience!

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another lovely dining experience. The ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Another lovely dining experience.

The noise level is indicated as moderate, but normally it is quiet. There were some ebullient folks at an adjacent table on this occasion, but we could still have conversation.

Food: Menu has changed since last we dined here, and Richard has done an admirable job of offering a variety which appeals to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had out of town guests from Seattle - f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had out of town guests from Seattle - fabulous meal as always. The arugula salad divine !!!they were very impressed !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought foodie guests from Houston who n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Brought foodie guests from Houston who noted that Vicino's cuisine would compare favorably with the best in Houston, a notable foodie town. Great food, cocktails, conversation (even on a crowded Friday night) and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my go-to restaurant for business ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is my go-to restaurant for business lunches. The food is great, reasonably priced, and very fresh. They have a lot of selections that make me feel like I had a good meal without over-indulging. I am especially fond of the fresh salmon cakes served over fresh greens and the grilled shrimp served with risotto cakes. The wait staff is exemplery. They are efficient and friendly without being overbearing. The dining room is small enough to feel intimate and reasonably private - great for my business lunches. I'm a fan!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were 6 people in our group, two of ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 11, 2016

There were 6 people in our group, two of whom were my daughter and son-in-law who were visiting from the San Francisco Bay Area; the other two were our good friends from Meridian who had never dined at Cafe Vicino either. My wife and I had lunch at Cafe Vicino a few months ago and we were extremely impressed and pleased; everything we had that day was wonderful. So we thought what a nice treat it would be to have our family from "the city by the bay" enjoy a fine dining experience right here in Boise. When we arrived home following dinner, my wife and I discussed our meals and the service and we agreed it was a huge disappointment, and quite an embarrassment for us. You see, based on the lunch we'd had there, we bragged and bragged about how great the food was. Open Table had Cafe Vicino listed as #1 in the area at one time and we bragged about that as well. So we called our friends in Meridian and asked them what their honest opinion was. They agreed with us; they did not consider it a great dining experience. I can only imagine what our family from San Francisco thought considering they come from a metropolitan city where fine cuisine is the norm. It's doubtful that we will ever return to Cafe Vicino. We have since apologized to our family and friends for what turned out to be one of the least enjoyable and embarrassing dining experiences we've ever had. One more thing: our waitress never even asked our son-in-law what he would like to drink when she was taking drink orders! The pasta wasn't even cooked to the al dente stage; it was like it was dipped in the water for 1 or 2 minutes and then dished up. The only good thing I can comment on is that the Tomato Basil soup was great, as were the Caesar salads. Beyond that, all in all we feel it was very overpriced, we got less than stellar service, and the food was lackluster and required all of us to add seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Still one of the outstanding restaurants ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Still one of the outstanding restaurants in Boise. We plan a meal there whenever we are in the area.'Everyrhing Fresh and Unique .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A quaint north-end neighborhood favorite ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

A quaint north-end neighborhood favorite. Calm and relaxed environment with outstanding food and service. Always love their homemade tomato basil soup.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We were blo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were blown away.

Expensive so for us it will be a special occasion splurge.

But the food was so great. We are still talking about it.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just outstanding meal and wine. Cannot ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Just outstanding meal and wine. Cannot say enough about how good this place is.....thank you to Richard and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at Vicino! To sta ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Vicino! To start, we had the newly added and delicious negroni sbagliato, that is unique to Vicino but not made with Campari as the "negroni" name might suggest, but an inventive and refreshing take on the classic champagne cocktail. Then on to the appetizer special of plump mussels in a rich heirloom tomato broth that had us mopping up every trace with the accompanying grilled bread. The recently added quail was excellent as the generous serving of quail had been artfully brined before grilling and served with perfectly roasted root vegetables and harissa to the side. This house-made harissa isn't the familiar, fiery, oily condiment found in stores but provided a rich roasted pepper flavor with a touch of chili warmth and subtle middle eastern or Indian spices for a great exotic accent to this satisfying dish. As always, the service was the most polished and professional in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant! I would suggest ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love this restaurant! I would suggest that they put cushions on their very hard and very uncomfortable metal chairs to make the outdoor dining experience better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Vicino is eternally delightful! I ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Cafe Vicino is eternally delightful! I have yet to visit when I haven't enjoyed the meal.

Having visited a number of times, however, I am looking forward to a few new dishes being presented to show off the chef's creativity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Vicino is one of those place where ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cafe Vicino is one of those place where you would go for a nice adult evening. Iniimate and charming, we always have a nice time here. We heard they were moving to a different location this year. This is great news, as the only downside, currently, is that it is in a strip mall and needs to be in a more elegant location. We always look forward to the specials and the local ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had fantastic service and great food ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had fantastic service and great food which made for a very memorable and enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A favorite!! Comfortable and delicious f ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 20, 2016

A favorite!! Comfortable and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a hidden treasure we found! The foo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 19, 2016

What a hidden treasure we found! The food & ambiance were perfect..we loved it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite dining place to us. Ou ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a favorite dining place to us. Our most recent meal was terrific; duck breast with huckleberry sauce. Yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice ambiance! Love the homey feel of th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice ambiance! Love the homey feel of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.