Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Richard's

Richard’s is Boise’s newest fine-dining restaurant located in downtown Boise. A modern take on regionally inspired Italian/Mediterranean cuisine; Richard’s celebrates the integrity of ingredients, sourced locally when possible, and prepared simply to showcase the natural flavors of the products. Their service staff is recognized as one of the best in town, with many years of professional serving experience in the Boise area and beyond.

Chef Richard Langston has had a loyal following in Boise since taking the helm as chef at Amore Restaurant in 1993. From there he opened his own restaurants in Boise including Richard's Bakery, Richard's Across the Street, and Richard's Café Vicino. Chef Richard Langston was a 2014 semifinalist for the James Beard Award and a graduate of the California Culinary Academy.

500 S Capitol Blvd
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday – Friday
7:00 am – 11:00 am
Sunday
7:00 am – 9:00 am

Saturday and Sunday Brunch
9:00 am – 2:30 pm

Lunch
Monday – Saturday
11:30 am – 2:30 pm

Dinner
Nightly
5:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Bar
Sunday – Thursday
11:00 am – 10:00 pm
Friday & Saturday
11:00 am – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Myrtle

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 472-1463

Website:
http://www.richardsboise.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking and free valet available. Downtown lot parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Richard Langston

Private Party Facilities:
Contact us at (208) 472-1463 to reserve our private dining room or larger banquet facilities.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet and event facilities located in the Inn at 500 Capitol include table seating for groups up to 100 people. The 2nd floor location includes a balcony and bar overlooking downtown Boise and the state Capitol.

Richard's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Modern Decor (50)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Business Meals (37)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Great for Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (10)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (6)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Gorgeous, well executed food and a wide selection of by the glass wines. Beautiful decor and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 6 days ago

We've loved all of Richard's restaurants, so it was with delight that we discovered the menu at Richard's at 500 is filled with some of our favorites from menus passed. The decor is casually elegant, the wait staff experienced and friendly, and we LOVED that there is parking right on site. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Wonderful evening. Whatever kinks Richard's had with their move, seemed to have been ironed out. Nice appetizer of burrata cheese. We both had the halibut and ravioli main course and it was delicious. The seasonal tart was very nice. Service was superb. Brian was awesome! It was a great experience and we look forward to checking out their brunch in short order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good! My meal was lovely, a was my friend's. There seemed to be some weirdness, but i chalk it up to new growing pains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Loved the vibe of this established Boise restaurant in a modern, new space. The food was outstanding, service great and overall a fabulous experience for both locals and travelers.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food and service don't seem to be of the same quality since Richard moved to its new spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I miss the ambience at Cafe Vicino. The risotto was great but the radish salad was absolutely tasteless. Disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Richard's is a phenomenal restaurant and a huge plus for our area. The service and food were both impeccable. We can't wait to visit this diamond of a gem again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was beautiful and sooo good. Joel is the best waiter ever. Brown butter seasonal tart with caramel gelato to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love the new location and expanded menu. Everything we've tried has been fantastic, and the service is excellent! One of our favorite places to go for a night out!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

IF YOU WANT TO TREAT YOURSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE, GO TO RICHARDS. THE FOOD IS FANTASTIC AND THE MENU CHANGES REGULARLY.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was fantastic and so was the service. Great wine list also. I will absolutely be going back

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

They were 20 minutes late seating us for our reservation. Food quality was terrible. Bass and salmon smelled so fishy we thought there was shellfish in there. Ahi tartare claimed to have a Calabrian chili sauce...but they used Sriracha (normal Huy Fong variety). Also the ahi was full of striffen and connective tissue...and very pale...not sushi grade. Both the bass and my quail were incredibly overcooked. Almost everything was bland. The pear marscapone tart, was the final disappointment. The tart crust was so soggy throughout, it had been clearly sitting for more than a day somewhere. The marscapone and sliced pears were straight out of a can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really enjoyed lunch with a friend here on my first-ever visit. Food was delicious, server was super friendly and attentive, atmosphere was chic but friendly. A really great place to eat in Boise. I'll be back for sure!

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Best Paella EVER!
I've eaten many, many meals at Richards...ALL very good...but NOTHING compares to the Paella I had tonight!
It was a Special...but it should be a constant on their menu!!!

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST PAELLA EVER!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant just keeps getting better. I love that you now serve great breakfast tomorrow!

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Way too noisy! Please dampen the acoustics. I liked the two quiet Hyde park locations. Food and service are always excellent.

Cannot stand noise.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was great, the pasta sauces were beautiful consistency and the steak was cooked perfect. Richard and Kevin sent us out some appetizers that were delicious. Thanks for making us feel special. Our parents enjoyed their birthday celebration, We will be back.

Sarah & DK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

35th birthday date night! The food keeps us coming back no matter where you're located!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A little to much noise from the open kitchen. Maybe put a glass wall in? The food was over priced. The wait staff and employees were very polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Staff was efficient, friendly, and knowledgeable about the food on the menu. Our waiter, Joel, was an old friend from Cafe Vicino, the wonderful predecessor to Richard's at Hotel 500, and he has not lost his professional touch and wonderful smile.

Try the paparadelle dish and the tuna tartare! The sea bass was the best I have ever had.

The barrel stave decor is imaginative and very nice to look at.

The free valet parking is a great idea in crowded downtown Boise.

It was our first visit to Richard's, and we will definitely be back!

- Roger and Kylie

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Richards. The salads were very tasty and innovative. We had Sea Bass & Halibut and both were delicious with the Bass dish being exceptional. Nice by-the-glass wine list with something for everyone. Scrumptious sounding deserts though we did not indulge.
The new restaurant decor is modern and interesting. It doesn't have quite the ambiance of the Cafe Vicino. We were under an air duct and got a little chilly as they had air conditioning in March.
We would definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We have dined at Richard's under its various names several times in the past. The food this time was not as good as it has been in the past. The food also was not as good as other Boise fine dining restaurants at which we have dined recently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first time at your new location. Our waitress was exceptional. She explained things well and was informative and pleasant. She even noticed I didn't eat much of my dessert and asked me about it, then had it removed from the bill. The portions were the right size too. We left after a relaxed meal, where it was easy to hear each other in conversation. Thank you for making our daughter's birthday a memorable one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Hostesses were very friendly. Service was on point and not intrusive. The scrambled egg sandwich was soft, delicious and flavorful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Interestingly, we were expecting the same level of service we've had in Richard's Cafe Vicino, but we didn't get it. We didn't see our server for what seemed as least ten minutes after arriving. We had our first glass of wine 35 minutes after our reservation was scheduled. She stopped by, but didn't come back for sometime to take our starter order. The wine service needs some tuning. That being said, it did improve when what we guessed was a manager, helped with the bottle of wine we brought. I do believe the corkage was waived when they realized there may be a problem. These may be growing pains and wish Mr Langston success in his new venture. Next time I will ask for Joel to be our server as he is a very attentive and professional server. As to the food, the Gorgonzola figs were dry. The sea bass was not what I had expected and was told it was Mexican which was a bit drier and firmer than the Chilean version. The origin should stated on the menu. Gelato and pot du creme were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch. Definitely NOT a place for a quick lunch. Service was good - not great, but very acceptable. Ambiance is very nice and a lot of conversation openers in the establishment. For a business lunch, would be nice if you don't have to eat and run. Relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Dinner was very good. There must have been a small problem with the drinking water filter as the water had a funny taste.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We really enjoyed Richard's at its previous location; however, this visit the food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Super nice new location and the food was great. We took our 11month old and they were so great about him being with us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Richard's new location at the Inn at 500 Capital offers a modern sophisticated ambiance, while providing excellent quality dining, and the joy of seeing familiar staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The new restaurant space was beautiful. Service was great; there when you needed but not hovering, and very professional.
Went for brunch--food was amazing and selections very original. Definitely going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First visit since the move and the food was very good. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive.
The Interior decorating was tasteful and soothing. Overall a nice dining experience. We split a dinner and they were accommodating and did the split in the kitchen.
I'll go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner was absolutely fabulous! Scallops were done perfectly! Loved the old Cafe Vicino and love these new digs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice decor and ambiance, definitely an upscale feel. Disappointed that the food seemed just average for the price. Would probably only go back for drinks, willing to go again and try another meal if they had a special running

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was good in it's previous location (neighborhood gem), but needs to up it's game to fit in the new space with the high price. There are other options close by that are as good or better. I never like a server who makes me feel like I am lucky to be there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We went there for our 40th anniversary and were delighted with the food, service and ambience! We tried the "Flatbread of the day" as our appetizer. It had artichoke hearts, Majon and Pecorino cheeses and pesto. Delicious! I had the wild caught salmon with olives, white beans and spring onions. My husband had the clam linguine. We were both very happy with our choices! We will definitely be back and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My favorite place to eat in Boise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The new location to one of our very favorite Boise restaurants is gorgeous! And the food and service remain excellent. We are very pleased with the new Richard's!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I'm in the Foodservice Marketing business. Travel and eat out a lot. This is the newest (slightly upscale) establishment in my own town and I was very pleasantly pleased with the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, People Watching, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.