Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Richard's

Richard’s is Boise’s newest fine-dining restaurant located in downtown Boise. A modern take on regionally inspired Italian/Mediterranean cuisine; Richard’s celebrates the integrity of ingredients, sourced locally when possible, and prepared simply to showcase the natural flavors of the products. Their service staff is recognized as one of the best in town, with many years of professional serving experience in the Boise area and beyond.

Chef Richard Langston has had a loyal following in Boise since taking the helm as chef at Amore Restaurant in 1993. From there he opened his own restaurants in Boise including Richard's Bakery, Richard's Across the Street, and Richard's Café Vicino. Chef Richard Langston was a 2014 semifinalist for the James Beard Award and a graduate of the California Culinary Academy.

500 S Capitol Blvd
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon–Fri 7:00 am–11:00 am
Brunch
Sat, Sun 7:00 am–2:30 pm
Bar
Mon–Thu, Sun 11:00 am–11:00 pm
Fri, Sat 11:00 am–12:00 am
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Happy Hour
Daily 3:00 pm–6:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Myrtle

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 472-1463

Website:
http://www.richardsboise.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking garage available for Richard's patrons.

Executive Chef:
Richard Langston

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet and event facilities located in the Inn at 500 Capitol include table seating for groups up to 100 people. The 2nd floor location includes a balcony and bar overlooking downtown Boise and the state Capitol.

Richard's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Creative Cuisine (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Business Meals (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined a day ago

Waiting after being seated 10 minuets before anyone came over then the person seating us took drink order. Been here before but this was bad!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We love the booths for 2 when it is just my husband and I. We like the fact that you don't serve huge servings. The food is very good and very creative. The service is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very delicious menu. High end for Boise. Superb wait-person, (female) Kelly. She knew all about the wine list, and how to pair them with the foods we ordered. Restaurant is on a busy street with a wall of windows, which adds to the wonderful quiet, yet busy ambiance. Best pasta dish I've had in a looong time. Menu range: $31-60. I got out of there w/ parpadelle, beet salad, and a beefeater G&T for about $40 including tip, not including $5.00 parking at city garage. (There is a hotel/restaurant parking garage I didn't use.) All in all, very nice experience on every sensory level. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved the older restaurant for both lunch and dinner. This was an unfortunate disappointment.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2018

second time I have been to Richards; this time for breakfast; servers had their dirty aprons on? the scone was not a scone but rather a biscuit shaped like a scone; presentation was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We went at noon on a Saturday and were surprised that only brunch items were offered. We wanted lunch. We ordered the most expensive brunch and left hungry because the portions are small.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Always love Richards. Time to shake up the menu a little though. But, I’ll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2018

I ordered the portobello plate. It was very good. Not too happy with the fingerling potatoes, they were very blah and not that good. No flavor to them. My husband had a salmon dish with pasta, just average. My personal opinion, probably will not go back. Trendy place, too loud and below standard food for the price. Our servers we exceptional.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

We went here for our anniversary. The service was great - attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. The food was great as well - the tomato basil soup is outstanding. We had the pork porterhouse and the prosciutto wrapped chicken - both were amazing!! We finished our meal with the chocolate hazelnut torte - super rich and heavenly!! We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Outstanding professional service;high quality ingredients in creative recipes; best food in town ; our new favorite
My wife and I spent a lovely Evening celebrating New Year’s Eve

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We did the New Years Eve special which included 5 courses. We each had a different course and shared all.
Enjoyed 2/10 courses was all. =(
We both found the sherbet inedible as it contained WAY too much rosemary.
Several courses were just unappetizing.
Very bland flavors overall, nothing special and definitely wasn’t worth the $75 price tag per person.
Would not recommend at all, go to any number of other fine dining boise restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Positive: food was yummy and options were interesting.

Cons: wait staff was inattentive, service was very slow and one of our orders were incorrect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very nice dinner and for the most part service was attentive although they did bring one item that was not for our table and then forgot bread the bread, so we had to ask. Took a bit long to get a dessert order...but, we were not in a hurry. The shrimp and risotto cakes were very tasty, the pappardelle with chicken meatballs was excellent. The duck breast was okay, nothing exceptional. Coconut crème brulee is different as it doesn't come with crispy top, but toasted coconut. Loved the tiramisu which was a very big slice, very rich and best to share. We have dined here before and one of our favorite places. We will be back....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Order the fries. They are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Another great meal at Richard’s. Getting used to the new location which is noisier but doesn’t affect the overall experience. Lots of shareable items—all delicious. Richard’s remains a favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Excellent service. Joel is the best!

Greatly appreciate the quiet atmosphere; too many otherwise nice restaurants seem to allow, or attract, people who think it's ok to laugh or talk loudly. Richard's seems to project a sense of calm and quiet that is extremely valuable to the overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 27, 2017

First visit to Richard's after many to Cafe Vicino. Nice to see old favorite items with some new elements as well and the drink menu is a definite plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Wonderful service ! Beautiful restaurant! Food not very good though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2017

An all around excellent meal Tuna crudo and the trout mousse were just killer as was the chef’s seafood special

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Christmas Day dinner was outstanding. Members of our group had steak, turkey and salmon -- all entrees were delicious, as was the pecan pie and pumpkin bread pudding. Our server, Justine, went the extra mile to ensure we had an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner. My best friend had just lost her husband, and I visited her for Christmas. We decided that even though we didn’t feel like celebrating, we needed to do something fun to distract ourselves. Our waitress, Shana, was so attentive and sweet. After our dinner, Shana said they had a twelve top coming in and asked if it would be ok if we gave up our table. We assured her this was no problem, we’d stayed longer than we’d planned anyway and were just sipping on after-dinner drinks. Then Shana comes back again and says that to apologize for the inconvenience, the general manager would treat us to drinks in the bar. All of the staff was so kind, and it was one of the best meals I’ve ever had. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Really enjoyed dining at Richards on Christmas Day. They limited their dining options to a four entree choice prix fixe menu. We had the salmon and the steak-both (and their sides) were wonderful. Pecan pie for dessert was noteworthy. Attentive, unpretentious service made for a great time.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Really well received at the restaurant. All of the staff was friendly, and genuinely so. Waitress was responsive and attentive. Couldn’t have asked for better service. The food arrived very timely thorough out the evening. What a pleasant experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2017

My companion’s salmon was excellent, with great Brussels sprouts and Yukon potato’s. My steak was tasty but with a fair amount of interior fat. Wine list is extensive but way over priced. When the wine price exceeds the price of the entree, beware. Overall, I would give it another chance. This was our second time there. The first time was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

The service was excellent. I ordered the steak medium well and it was served medium rare and barely warm. The steak was returned for additional cook time and a new steak came back just as rare as the first. I did not eat the steak. My companion ordered the salmon and stated that it was very tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Prix fix menu on Christmas with at least one gluten free options for each course. The tomato basil soup tasted light and fresh. The prime rib was delicious as was the gluten free chocolate torte. A very pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. The stuffed figs are delicious bits, the scallops melt in your mouth, and the Canelloni w sausage pairs great with the nebiollo. Good atmosphere, great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Just awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Excellent food as usual, different but very good menu options. One complaint we had upon this visit was being rushed through dinner. Also, during dinner they started tearing down the restaurant and preparing for tomorrows brunch. Unacceptable when paying $200+ for a meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Outstanding food and excellent service. We will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:00pm but was not seated until 8:00pm. The staff did bring out drinks and an appetizer as we waited, but the fact that we had a reservation and still had to wait a long time was very inconvenient. The food service felt slow and the food was not as good as it should have been for the price. The pork belly was over cooked and the octopus was rubbery, among other things. The ambiance was good, but our booth was very cold. It felt like the air conditioner kept turning on even though it was 20 degrees outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Oh my the good is so good! We both had seafood, which was phenomenal, and had really fantastic cocktails. This is my new favorite Boise restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 22, 2017

This was our first time at Richard's but won't be the last. The ambience is perfect for a quiet dinner. The service was excellent and we never felt rushed to order or finish our meal. Fine wine selection made the evening even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 20, 2017

The visit started well as Richard's has convenient reserved parking for its guests. The interior is comfortable/upscale.

I felt that the service did not match the quality of the food nor the ambiance of the restaurant. Furthermore, I was disappointed to find that there were numerous items on the menu that were not available (the was a 6:00 p.m. seating). The bar selection was mediocre (unless you are a whiskey drinker), but the cocktail I chose was very good.

The food was good and for that reason, I will give Richard's a 2nd chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 18, 2017

A great wine to start with. The fall salad was a great surprise - interesting ingredients that all blended and worked well. The sauce for the duck breast was over the top. The chickpea fritter was a real surprise as I do not typically like the flavor, but it was a wonderful match for the duck. The server was well informed, attentive without hovering and added to the overal meal.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We did enjoy our visit. I had made the reservation at least a month in advance, knowing how busy you always are, and forgot to specify a booth or “nice “table. We ended up facing the kitchen and by the entrance to the bathrooms and service bar. I will take the blame for that but learned a lesson.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Experience was good, good food, similar to the prior experience, atmosphere was good for a relatively new environment. We enjoyed the evening after having some questionable input prior to the visit, we're glad things seem to be running much more smoothly. It was a Sunday night, so the quiet might have had a reason. Overall, we enjoyed the evening and will plan to return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Good service and food . Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

As always Richards lives up to the reputation. Easy to get to and easy free parking ..just a hassle free experience in a great location.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.