Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Richard's

Richard’s is Boise’s newest fine-dining restaurant located in downtown Boise. A modern take on regionally inspired Italian/Mediterranean cuisine; Richard’s celebrates the integrity of ingredients, sourced locally when possible, and prepared simply to showcase the natural flavors of the products. Their service staff is recognized as one of the best in town, with many years of professional serving experience in the Boise area and beyond.

Chef Richard Langston has had a loyal following in Boise since taking the helm as chef at Amore Restaurant in 1993. From there he opened his own restaurants in Boise including Richard's Bakery, Richard's Across the Street, and Richard's Café Vicino. Chef Richard Langston was a 2014 semifinalist for the James Beard Award and a graduate of the California Culinary Academy.

500 S Capitol Blvd
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday – Friday
7:00 am – 11:00 am


Saturday and Sunday Brunch
7:00 am – 2:30 pm

Lunch
Monday – Friday
11:30 am – 2:30 pm

Dinner
Nightly
5:00 pm – 9:30 pm

Bar
Sunday – Thursday
11:00 am – 10:00 pm
Friday & Saturday
11:00 am – 11:00 pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Friday
3:30 pm - 6 pm

Cross Street:
Myrtle

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 472-1463

Website:
http://www.richardsboise.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking available. Downtown lot parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Richard Langston

Private Party Facilities:
Contact us at (208) 472-1463 to reserve our private dining room or larger banquet facilities.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet and event facilities located in the Inn at 500 Capitol include table seating for groups up to 100 people. The 2nd floor location includes a balcony and bar overlooking downtown Boise and the state Capitol.

Richard's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (45)
Creative Cuisine (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Business Meals (26)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (15)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary with dinner at Richards. The restaurant has an upscale feel without being overly formal. We were there on a Friday and they were quite busy, but it was not noisy and hummed with efficiency. Overall we had an excellent experience- good food and superb service. Heather was our waitperson and she was warm, personable, informative, and attentive (without hovering). She chose the perfect wine and showed us menu options. I ordered risotto and my wife ordered cheese ravioli with sage butter. Both were excellent. I stole a spoonful of the ravioli after she raved about it, and loved it. The sage butter was the perfect addition to the ravioli. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

Very pleasant dining experience. Easy on-line reservation, very friendly and welcoming reception on arrival, immediate attention by the server upon being seated and throughout the meal. Highly recommended. Easily one of the top 3 restaurants in Boise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Perhaps the best cuisine in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Always excellent....food, service,ambience. Although I loved the charm of the previous restaurant, this is gorgeous and not to be missed! Some of the favorite menu items remain.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I expected to be blown away with the restaurant, food and service. It was good but not outstanding. Relatively limited menu. All of the food was well prepared. They allowed us to make several substitutions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We were anxious to try this most recent incarnation of Richard's, given our familiarity with and love of his previous restaurants. Service and ambience were both spot on. The food felt a bit like it had been phoned-in, however. Good, not great, not mind-blowing in any sense of the word. The complimentary bread and olive oil starter tasted like a baguette from Whole Foods across the street--very average. I had the tuna crudo--good, but pricy for the portion. Same with the house salad--good, not great, and small for the price tag. I ordered the risotto next, thinking an appetizer and a salad would almost fill me up, but not so. I should have either skipped the salad and had the risotto plus an entrée, or skipped the risotto and had an entrée. I was still hungry when I finished the three courses, truth be told. Now I am not a 100-pound lady diner--for such a guest, what I ordered would have been plenty, but if you have a hearty appetite, be prepared to spend a lot of money here to get full. My wife's halibut portion was fine for her, but for the price, it was small--a 2" by 3" rectangle on a bed of ravioli. The brown butter sauce was very light--almost runny, but tasty. So, will we go again? Doubtful. Boise's foodies should try it since it is a Richard's, but for me, once was enough.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I ordered the flat iron steak and my husband ordered paella. When our food finally arrived, the paella was steaming hot, but my steak was barely warm. I didn't end up eating it anyway because it was tough and completely lacking in flavor. There was also another patron in the restaurant wearing a hawaiian shirt and shorts. It would be nice if there was a least somewhat of a dress code, given the prices being charged for the food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This was our first visit to Richards in the new location (Inn at 500). The interior and atmosphere are lovely, and the restaurant is surprisingly quiet.

Our server was very courteous, and the entrees were nicely prepared (Rigatoni and Pappardelle); however, the ordered appetizer was forgotten (no big deal), and they were out of Romaine lettuce for Caesar Salad (also not a big deal). Since we missed the appetizer, we decided to try a piece of the seasonal Apricot tart for dessert. It was delicious!

Although self-parking is available, we used Valet. It worked very well. We'll definitely put Richard's into the rotation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Date night for hubby and I. Very friendly staff, not too noisy like some restaurants and had some wonderful food! We split their house salad which they kindly gave us two plates and it was just delicious with their creamy green olive dressing-I won't split that next time, it was so good! Hubby had the papradelle with rabbit ragu. It was okay, as it was a little bland and some of the root vegetables were slightly tough. I had the portobello mushroom entree which was outstanding!! Both entrees were very generous portions . Most customers were casually dressed but I would say this place was classy--will definitely return!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My wife & I have eaten dinner here 1/2 dozen times but this time was totally different.
Sadly, my meal was not good. I didn't send the scallops back but probably should have.
We were entertaining our friends from out of town and celebrating a birthday and that seemed more important.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Richards NEVER disappoints.....had an absolutely delicious vegetarian dish featuring a portobello mushroom. It was excellent. We always love this particular server--a distinguished gentleman--professional and personable. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had our anniversary dinner here and we both really enjoyed our meals and experience. The flat iron steak was fantastic and my wife had a chicken dish which she really enjoyed. The wine by the glass was very good, in fact the waiter allowed me to try a new wine which I ended up getting. The service was perfect, not too fast and not too slow. Bread with your meal was a nice touch too. Desert was very good , chocolate hazelnut type mousse.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Phenomenal service. Great food. Wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Lovely addition to the Boise restaurant scene. Am anxious to return to try more items on the menu. The halibut entrée was one of the best preparations I've ever had. The ravioli was perfectly done. The scallop appetizer was the perfect beginning, the Caesar salad included anchovies on the side and the selection of wine by the glass was far more interesting than most restaurants. Amelia was attentive and an outstanding server.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We visited Richard's for the first time to celebrate a special event - our anniversary. The hostess was the highlight of our visit - she was nice, knew of our special event/reservation, and seemed genuinely happy for our special evening. Otherwise, the food was good but not great, the service was the same. We would come back for a drink and perhaps dessert at the bar, but probably not for dinner again. Several other better food options in the city.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had great service, the seating was very good. On thing was desert was just OK the rest of the food was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 19, 2017

Good selection of wines and a simple but delicious menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I don't frequently leave reviews but for this one I needed to. This was our first time there with a group of 6 people. We eat out a lot so we understand quality and this place was t close to meeting it. The service was poor and slow. The server was nice but not personable. She didn't come back by a lot and when we ordered a bread appetizer they were already sold out of it at 11:30 am in the morning! Hard to find places sold out before noon and the location wasn't even busy.
The food we did get was tasty but much of the stuff before it was so poorly done it really took away from the meal. The orange juice was a bit expensive as was another one of the appetizers but the meal was reasonably priced. I wouldn't recommend as there are many locations within walking distance of this one with MUCH better service in the downtown area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Interesting menu and very nice designed restaurant. Wish there were more stand alone tables instead of booth or bench seating but that's a personal preference. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was very good. I didn't like sitting so close to other diners. It would nice if we had one of the side booths. It was a little noise also. Over all I would like to go back and try other items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Awesome meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The breakfast was good but way too much food. Next time I will share a meal
with my husband.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was the first time we tried Richard's in the new downtown location, but we had enjoyed dinners at the previous 8th and Fort location several times. I feel that the quality was not as good this time. We made a reservation and had to wait several minutes (not a problem) for what was promised to be "a lovely booth table." It was actually a table next to the busiest section of the restaurant. Then we waited too long for the server to show up, for which she apologized.

We ordered drinks - the wine was great! We ordered the olives as an appetizer, but they weren't as lemony as I had hoped. They appeared to be olives from a grocery store olive bar with some added lemon zest. I had the Paella which arrived in a small too-hot-to-touch cast iron pan. It remained too hot to eat for about 10 minutes. It wasn't actually paella because the rice and little hard pieces of chorizo were obviously cooked separately from the fish. The shellfish was grilled but overcooked, and the fish was very dry and tasteless.

I'm disappointed because I used to love Richard's - previously Café Vicino.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Nice to see Richard carried over a lot of his cafe vicino menu items and has some new items for a complete dinning experience. Nice feel to the new place and great bar area. Will be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Richard's, and as usual, the food was superb and the service was excellent , even though they were short staffed. We usually don't drink wine or beer, but my friends tell me that they have a great, extensive wine selection. The atmosphere is quiet enough we could actually talk to each other! Highly recommended.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was fairly good and our waitress was good, but there were several mistakes like bring us salads we didn't order, not knowing about happy hour menus items and in the entire restaurant there was only one other group and they were seated right next to us.

I just expected more from a higher-end, fine dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Lovely evening downtown Boise. Service was outstanding. Great atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very enjoyable meal. Especially enjoyed the fig aperitif. The decor was modern and smart.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We enjoyed Richard's again. The menu has different choices not just lots of choices. We have been several times and I have chosen something different each time. Already look forward to the next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was good pricey for me but good fresh and not something that was made in advanced and warmed up the kinda place you go on a date or special occasion not an everyday thing hats off to the staff the staff is what made it a fun night for us everyone was always happy smiling and very easy to talk to and more then willing to make you happy every time we looked back at the kitchen people were happy to be there and showed great attitude to each other as they worked they will be the main reason we will be returning

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Not as good as my first time when the restaurant had only been open a few weeks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The appetizers were quite good, especially the grilled shrimp which were large and well-seasoned. My wife had the salmon which she really enjoyed. My canneloni was also tasty and less robustly seasoned than I expected. The entrees were large enough that we both had take home boxes which were great the next day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 7, 2017

After my second visit I feel like it's fine. It was a solid 4 stars as Cafe Vicino but a solid 3 stars as Richard's. It's good, I just have yet to find it great. I'll try again tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary. We have always been fans of Richards various restaurants. Many years ago we often ate at Richards in Hyde Park, then Richards across the street. It was fun to return to his wonderful food. We felt like celebrities with staff members coming over to wish us well and just chat for a moment . My daughters had sent flowers over as a surprise knowing we were dining there. A pleasant surprise to be seated at our booth and nicely placed by the staff. We had full course dinners and the bill was extremely reasonable for the quality and quantity of all the fresh ingredients. Again, thanks for a wonderful evening. We plan on coming back again. Special thanks to Katie the manager and everyone else working there that evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Absolutely incredible. We went for our anniversary and it was romantic and totally delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 31, 2017

wonderful experience...dining was easy..not rushed. Wait person knowledgeable and easy to talk to. The entire wait staff looked at ease and flowed easily. I liked looking into the kitchen.
Parking and access was easy. I love risotto and it was perfect! I also love sorbet and although it was more like ice cream, I enjoyed it

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My friend, who was visiting from California and I had a most delightful evening meal at Richard's, the waiter's recommendation as to the wine and food was perfect for us.
I look forward to another time soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My steak was the best I've had in a long time. Very tender, and flavorful, and not super lean and tough. I'm tired of dry, tasteless steaks. This one had a nice amount of fat distributed throughout (not a big hunk on the side). The veggies were yummy as well, and as usual, the wine and port were exquisite. We had a great time to visit.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Another great dinning experience at Richard's. So good that my wife and I are now frequent repeat customers usually bringing friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good food. Nothing amazing but good. Room is very noisy and nothing too special. Hostess sat us right next to a really loud table when there were plenty of others open. Should have asked to move but it kept looking like they were leaving. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.