Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Revel Kitchen & Bar

From the owners of Esin Restaurant and Bar. Revel Kitchen & Bar is located in Historic Downtown Danville. Revel Kitchen & Bar is an uspcale, yet casual tavern offering local, sustainable & natural ingredients. Liquid refreshments feature Craft Beers on tap, Craft Cocktails and eclectic wines.

331 Hartz Ave
Danville, CA 94526
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Farm-to-table, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: M-Th 11:30am-10:00pm

Lunch & Dinner: F-Sa 11:30am-11:00pm
Brunch & Dinner Sunday 10:30am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Diablo Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 208-1758

Website:
http://revelkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Additional public parking lot located directly behind restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Curtis deCarion

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join our email list locate at revelkitchenandbar.com to find out about upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Revel Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (46)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Casual (31)
See All
Bar Seating (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Fun (27)
Happy Hour (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
People Watching (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Cozy (13)
Seasonal (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tapas (10)
Business Meals (9)
Romantic (9)
Authentic (9)
Great Beer (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was extremely good, fried chicken............service was excellent.........waiter
was Nick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The butterscotch pudding was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

A really great restaurant with interesting and healthy options. Beautiful decor and very nice service. One of my favorite places!!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We appreciate our waiter who brought out a free dessert with a candle for my daughter's birthday. Her recommendations of food were an excellent choice. Our family will definitely come back again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on September 10, 2017

First time at this restaurant. Very nice atmosphere. We dined early so it was not too busy and not too noisy. The food ranged from excellent to good. The pasta dish with shrimp and sausage was excellent--sounds heavy but it was not at all. The salmon special was very good but suffered a little because it was farmed salmon. The boneless short ribs were mediocre according to the person who ordered that. The vegetable salad was great. The other salad, the name of which I do not recall, was a caesar in disguise including even anchovies but did not seem to have enough dressing. The best part of the place were the specialty bar drinks. These were uniformly excellent. The Martini that combines vodka, gin and vermouth is amazing--not nearly as strong as you might think and it has a great taste. We thought this restaurant was definitely good enough to come back to, and we will do that in the future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fabulous experience; great food which was delivered with thoughtfulness in timing and a great waiter. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A fun evening with friends. The 4 of us shared all the dishes. All received rave reviews. Staff attentive but not invasive. Great value for food and overall experience

Tags: Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great wine list and excellent food. We love this place and frequent it.
Service can be off sometimes, but this visit was great. Very good management here.
Tostadas, truffle fries. ribs. not to be missed. Excellent cocktails, too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Revel is our all time favorite restaurant in the East Bay. We always have an incredible experience whenever we dine here!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great Food and Service. Cant's go wrong with the Chicken Sliders and the Meatball Sandwich. Both were awesome!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love this place!! Manager is great, stops by numerous times to check on you and chat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Had a very nice lunch ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went here on a Tuesday night and sat on the front patio, the place was hopping, as was downtown Danville in general. Food, service and cocktails were great. It was pretty loud, and cigarette smoke from people standing in the adjacent driveway kept wafting through (yuck), but it was a good time. I would definitely recommend, its a cool place with a great vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Avocado Bruschetta was fabulous and our entrees were delicious: orrechiette with prawns and pork chop with truffle infused polenta. Our server, Sean, was very personable as was Frederic. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Yummy drinks delicious food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Cools space, good drinks, great overall vibe. Apps came out quickly. Shrimp and Gits were good, Gem Salad was a bit of a mess. Short Ribs and Roasted Chicken came out cold. Pretty sure the waiter forgot them because when I asked to speak with him, he came out with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our dinner was delicious, as always. But the best is our server Amanda. She is always so friendly! Her timing for bringing your cocktails and food are perfect. You never feel rushed and the food is always served hot. We will always ask for Amanda!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food and drinks, fun ambiance. Very loud and the service was just OK.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Lunch on the patio, weather was great. Good food, good service . Perfect day

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We have been to revel for lunch before and enjoyed it but never for dinner. We went for our anniversary. Great service, great food, and great cocktails. We had a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Service is a little inconsistent. Also had a 6:30 dinner reservation and our requested outside table was not available. Had to wait 10-15 minutes

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Fried chicken was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had the Monday fried chicken dinner special. Have to get there early because it sells out quickly. Our waiter Daniel was personable and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very delicious meal and appreciated the attentive service.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Been here a number of times and this time service was a bit uneven. Busboys not in sync with the waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Ran out of wine glasses making it impossible for us to have a wine toast for wedding anniversary with party of 4. Wine was warm. We had a 15+ minute wait for the 4th glass. Additional 30+ minute wait for placing our dinner order. Super disappointing service. Food was good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a great time. Have been to Esin Restaurant for years, and finally found time to give Revel a try. We originally asked for a booth, but when we sat in the booth in the hallway, we lost all the ambience of the front of the house. Hostess was wonderful and let us choose a 4-top in the front against the wall. Had a delicious meal, service was excellent, we could hear each other speaking, good energy in the room and we shall return!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Inattentive service. Had to repeatedly ask for items. Candle blew out on dessert before it reached the table and she didn't even attempt to relight it. Thankfully, the hostess came by and relit it so our friend could make a wish for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I have returned again and again to this restaurant. The service is excellent and consistent. The food is great. This place can accommodate a simple family get together for dinner or a business meeting where food and discussion would be pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

A favorite, routine spot in Danville. We love the Bavette steak. I usually order it without fries and extra greens. it's very reliable. I also LOVE the avocado toast and the devilled eggs are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food & service. It was a bit loud though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Four of us tried this restaurant based upon a recommendation. We had a great time. We arrived shortly after 5PM. Several empty tables at this time but soon the restaurant was packed. So make reservations. If you have an interest in small plates to share, then be sure to go for their happy hour (check their web page). Frankly, I could order three or four plates of their happy hour tostadas (two per plate) and be happy. They are delicious. I'm planning to return on a Monday for their fried chicken dinner to check it out

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Definitely a find in Danville. Inspired to go here for brunch by the fact it was associated with Esin and the good reviews on OpenTable. Lots of interesting menu options, though more would be welcome. Get the ricotta donuts--a nice starter treat--and try some desserts! Waiter was really good--friendly and attentive. If the weather is good, the restaurant offers front and back patio areas for outdoor eating. Parking on entrance street is really bad, but there is a fairly decent sized lot in the back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was my first visit. I made reservations 3 days in advance. It was part of a birthday gift for my wife but I couldn't find a babysitter so we lugged our 10 yr old son, 7 yr old daughter, and 2 year old son with us. I was worried that this would be a possible nightmare but they put us in a booth which quickly negated our problem.

Our reservation was for 6:30 on a Sat night.

Venue: a combination of cute and trendy in downtown Danville. There's a decent sized porch with tables which faced the street, already filled with patrons. Inside is modern/rustic and slightly on the dark side but not uncomfortable. Restrooms were clean.

Service: Daniel was our server. Without being awkwardly too helpful, he was a cool combination of incredibly attentive but nonchalant. He seems to have tasted the entire menu and very helpful with making recommendations. He educated us on the culture of ordering at this restaurant: instead of having to plan your entire meal with appetizer, small, drinks, entrees, he stated that we could just choose a bunch of different small plates first and he'd check up on us along the way to see if we'd want to add food along the way. Super cool way of ordering food.

Food: we ordered the chicken sliders, pork belly, and a dozen oysters. The kids ordered from the kids' menu (penne pasta and burger).
Chicken sliders: 4/5 stars. Served with a slaw dressed gingery vinaigrette (which I thoughts was pretty awesome). A million times more tender than the appearance let on. Served in home made pillowy biscuits and a slightly spicy sriracha-like sauce and melted cheddar. We switched the chips out for truffle fries which were better than average.
Pork belly: 5/5 stars. Crispy on the outside, juicy inside. Garnished with caramelized onions and a smarter of pomegranate seeds.
Oysters: 4/5 stars. Good, not spectacular.
Beignets: 5/5 stars. Just get it. With the lightly sweet but not too syrupy dipping sauce. Mmm.
Butterscotch pudding: 5/5 stars. Stupid yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The music was extremely inappropriate. Extra hard rock. Chicken sliders were rubbery. Sent them back. Second time was much better. Lacks some consistency in the food. Would still go back. All other visits have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was fabulous and the waiter was awesome. The Happy Hour menu is off the hook.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The fried chicken sliders were delicious and the service was fantastic. Every visit to Revel has been great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service and good food. The small plates of steamed mussels and deviled eggs were delicious! Gave us free champagne and a free dessert since we were celebrating our anniversary. Highly recommend!

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Revel never disappoints. Its delicious and the Butterscotch pudding is a must!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.