About Revel Kitchen & Bar

331 Hartz Ave
Danville, CA 94526
View Larger Map

From the owners of Esin Restaurant and Bar. Revel Kitchen & Bar is located in Historic Downtown Danville. Revel Kitchen & Bar is an uspcale, yet casual tavern offering local, sustainable & natural ingredients. Liquid refreshments feature Craft Beers on tap, Craft Cocktails and eclectic wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Diablo Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 208-1758

Website:
http://revelkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Additional public parking lot located directly behind restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Curtis deCarion

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join our email list locate at revelkitchenandbar.com to find out about upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Revel Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Casual (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Fun (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Tapas (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
People Watching (12)
Quick Bite (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing choice of really different yet comforting food. Loved the avocado toast and shrimp and grits! Service was fabulous too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Chicken sliders are a must. Brussel sprouts and bacon. The burger is fantastic. Order several small plates to share. Several great whiskey and bourbon drinks on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Festive and enjoyable venue, friendly service and good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Too rushed, & the manager pushed on us a free dessert after we said no several times. We were celebrating 2 bday and got dessert for free. Essin their other restaurant is way better.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was a nice experience. The food was very good. Great service from server Melony was knowledgeable, attentive and was able to guide us through the menu. We found the cocktails to be a little weak. We got chicken sliders and steak frites. Both were great. The apple coffee cake was delicious. I would go back for the service and the chicken sliders, not so much the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I don't remember our server's name, but he was WONDERFUL!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Revel made for a very pleasant Valentine's Day dinner with friends. The server was very helpful with her suggestions. Food was excellent along with the cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We came for the fried chicken that night but they were all out by the time we ordered. Food & drinks are always good here & service is always friendly. Will be back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The fried chicken served on Monday's is absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As usual, it was a fun evening. The food and service were great and the ambiance was vibrant. We always have a good time there.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

REVISION after posting this review I got several calls from the manager. He apologized profusely for our poor experience and is sending a gift card. I would not have expected that and I really do appreciate his effort to make it right. I have had great experiences at Revel in the past and after speaking with Frederick, I would be willing to go back.

Original review -

Our service was terrible. First we had to wait 30 minutes for our table, which we weren't that bothered by because it really wasn't their fault. The hostess offered to get us drinks, which she implied were on the house. We sat down finally, the manager came over and apologized, again implying the drinks were on the house. We weren't sitting three minutes before the hostess came over with a bill for the drinks. Then we somehow got on the wrong side of our server and she was rude to us the rest of the night. At the end of the night the manager came over to clear up the drink bill, but by that point, it was kinda too late to salvage the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

For what you pay the service was terrible. 30 min late seating when we made a reservation due to a table not leaving (give us the next available??) so we had to sit at a communal and bump elbows with strangers. No apologies or comps, just a "thanks for waiting". Last time I take friends here. It made me and the restaurant look like fools.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My complaint...some items even though they are not beef/pork still contained beef/pork ingredients. So, for a non-red meat eater/pork eater, the menu got even smaller. The salmon was good albeit a very discernible fishy smell, so it didn't seem as fresh to me. Overall, for the items we ate, it was an good experience. We also had a couple drinks that were really good. Desserts were great too! Not overwhelmingly sweet, which I like.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I was wowed by the ambiance, cocktails and amazing food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As always great food and great service. This restaurant never lets you down, always a great meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Revel is a terrific restaurant. The food is exceptional and the service is as good as it gets. Located in the heart of Danville, excellent parking close by, and Revel creates a special feeling when you dine there.

Simply put, this restaurant is a winner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Nice options for a diverse group of plate. Service was flexible for our girls night to catch up(I.e., not hurried). Two of wines ran out so had to go with alternate 2nd glass.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had dinner with a co-worker and both of our meals were absolutely delicious. Will definitely be back when in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Met one of my girlfriend's for dinner and a drink. We had reservations, but had to wait. The management noticed the wait and took great care of us. Nice wine options by the glass, tuna tar-tare was delicious. For dinner, I had the short ribs which were amazing. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The steak and frites was amazing. I also love the fried chicken sliders, the ahi tartare, and the shrimp and grits! All outstanding.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food and cocktails. Very lively place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We love Revel and have visited frequently since it's opening. We have NEVER been disappointed in any way. Great food, great service and great atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great experience at Revel. We arrived an hour prior to our reservation time and the place was packed. Despite that, they helped us carve out a corner and made sure we had drinks while we waited. The cocktails were well thought out and well made.

We ordered oysters (pretty hard to get these wrong), spicy almonds (good) and truffle fries (excellent). My wife ordered the pork chop (well executed but nothing over the top) and I ordered the Mary's Chicken Sliders. The sliders were one of the most unique and tasty dishes I've had. We would have gone back anyway but the sliders were special and make a return visit an easy decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Yummy! We have been to Revel numerous times and always enjoy it. We especially like the $1. Oysters!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Swing & a miss. Service started & ended very slow. Our waitress did answer all the questions and helped with wine selections. The food was much too salty to taste the ingredients. Salads should not taste salty. Salmon should not be salty. The only hit of the night was the wine was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Loved the cocktails, short ribs and chocolate peanut butter torte. Great and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First, our server, Heather, was terrific . . so knowledgeable about the food and drink menu. She as a real pro!

Next, when can I come back for the avocado toast? I am still thinking about it three days later. The taste and texture of this appetizer is amazing!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love Revel! The tasty, unique dining cuisine is always an absolute treat! The anticipatory service is impeccable! The ambiance is hip and fun. The bartenders are a treat to watch as they mix marvelousness into each glass they create!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was OK, not great. Waiter was efficient, but little personality.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is very good and creative. The service we received was very attentive and professional. Second time here and we will be visiting again. Thanks Revel...

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been dining her for one year and it doesn't matter weeknight or weekend the food and service are fabulous.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I found the gentleman (maybe the manager) at the hostess station a litte rude. Our server was fabulous (personably, knowledgeable & funny) and the food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time here and was looking forward to the food as have been to Esin which I love. This place was so loud you could not hear your conversation. I asked for a booth in the back which helped but still loud. The food was great and we had good service. I might return in the summer for outside seating! A bit of a disappointment!

Tags: Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great, as always-even if our service was slightly under par this time around.

The quality of the happy hour red wine was unacceptable so I ordered from the wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great ambiance though a bit loud at full capacity.

Wait staff was great

Food very good the avocado bruschetta was awesome

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food, delicious hamburger and excellent shrimp. High energy environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great! Food, atmosphere, lighting, service, all top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Went on a rainy Sunday night and place was less than half full though you usually need a reservation. The food was outstanding. Not gourmet fancy just really well done bistro type food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Celebrating a new job.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We made a meal of all the small plates and then delicious desserts. It is my favorite way to eat and fun with a group of great friends. Shrimp and Grits and pork belly were my favorites. The butterscotch pudding is still the winner for dessert but the apple cake was a close second. Yummmm...

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When we called 2 hours prior to our reservation to ask for the restaurant to add 3 people to our "party of 2", we were told they couldn't. We would have to change our 5:30pm block to 9pm. When we arrived at the restaurant and began our meal there were several empty tables that seated more than two; and many did not get filled..even after we left the restaurant at 7:30pm. Very disappointed that they were unwilling to add 3 people. The hostess didn't apologize when we mentioned the disappointment, and rudely told the one seating us " Here, take them."

The food was average - nothing spectacular, however we ordered their pudding as we remembered it was rather good the 1st time...it was still just as good. No plans on returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always enjoy the food. Service was good. But Sat 20 late and dont care for the tables by the bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was totally disappointed. My $12 cocktail consisted mostly of a large ice cube with a lemon wedge. Ahi tartare lacked seasoning and we sent back our fries that came with the lamb sliders. If you can't serve decent shoe string fries, this does not bode well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Revel a number of times now and I don't recall having a bad meal or service deficiency when we were there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

too rich...too much butter. salmon doesn't need butter

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We really enjoyed happy hour, had all of the new items on the menu.

the dollar oysters were extremely tiny, though. The tostadas were excellent,

ribs were delicious, but could be more tender. The slider burger was the only

item I would not order again, as the meat was good, but the bun was cold and

not very tasty. The red wine on the happy hour was pretty bad, I had to upgrade.

Still, all in all, a great value and we will go back again-we are regulars here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always great food. Our server Halie did a fantastic job which made our dining experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I could literally come here everyday and eat the steak and frites! Love the selection of oysters too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Revel is our frequently visited neighborhood place with excellent Bavette, the best fries, delicious butterscotch pudding and a good wine list. Friendly staff and familiar faces makes you feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.