Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Restaurant Pomme

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor. Whether on a day trip or gathering with friends and family, we wish to share our passion of food and wine with you. À votre santé et bon appétit.

115 S Main St
Gordonsville, VA 22942
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 832-0130

Website:
http://www.restaurant-pomme.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. There is also a parking lot across the street that is free after 5pm

Executive Chef:
Gerard Gasparini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a private dining room that holds up to 30 seated and 60 standing. Great for small wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, business luncheon/dinner, and any other special occasion you can think of.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Restaurant Pomme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (39)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Authentic (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (22)
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Brunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Restaurant Pomme has been our favorite local restaurant for years. Attentive staff, great food, crisp baguettes, talented chef, fair price. We are lucky to have this restaurant nearby.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Restaurant Pomme remains one of our top choices for dining in the greater Charlottesville area. It's a 35 minute drive from our southern Albemarle farm to Gordonsville, and worth every minute. Restaurant Pomme is authentic French cuisine, but at an exceptional price. Family run, friendly, and quaint in all the right ways. Their Sunday brunch is our go-to option, with french toast, omelettes and other great dishes, plus a broad wine list with a very knowledgeable sommelier (the owner's son) willing to assist if asked. This most recent visit was for my sister's birthday, who was visiting from Washington, DC. I had two specials: butternut squash and apple soup to start, followed by a spinach, tomato and goat cheese omelette, paired with a glass of rose from the Provence region. My sister enjoyed the always popular French toast, with breakfast potatoes and sparkling mineral water from France. Fresh baked baguettes were offered to the table, which cannot be missed. As always, we were greeted at the table by the owner, a remarkable Frenchwoman who can offer very insightful information on dishes (and regions of France to visit) if asked. A separate bar has now been opened, with wines, authentic cocktails and small plates, and I look forward to a future happy hour visit. This is a can't miss option for French fare.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Went there to celebrate our anniversary. Great brunch and wonderful time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is my second time here. First was a blurr..lots of wine. This time waitress very attentive. Started with the escargot, they were not great, cream sauce good, little flavor. My husband had the "rack of lamb", not, 2 double chops, tasted good, corn pudding (?) soo good. His dish better than my halibut, extremely salty, otherwise would have been good. Need to offer fresh ground pepper. Do not use pepper on table without putting it in hand, pours out! For the $ spent would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our favorite stop for lunch between Charlotte and Washington. Excellent wine list and wonderful French food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food and service! Loved the fact that Gordonsville gave them 6 months, still there 14 years later.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I love the Pomme! Was a bit disappointed in the sole which I always love and anticipated, but it was over battered and the crust was flour-y. Too much flour for a fish that only needs to be pan sauteed as I recall in past visits. With that much flour it should have had a crispier surface.

My daughter's Halibut was delicious as was the chicken cordon bleu, and the onion soup was delicious.

Just wanted to comment on the fish...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife had been to La Pomme before and selected it for her birthday. Our earlier experience had been a splendid one, so we wanted a repeat. the experience did not disappoint. It was a lovely and memorable evening and we will return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I went there to celebrate a birthday. We have eaten there many times and the food has always been great. This time was no exception. My wife had sole and I had the halibut. Both dishes were wonderful and well presented. The service was attentive and friendly. This is not a restaurant that you will get in and out quickly, but rather a place to spend a lovely evening. We will definitely go back. It is well worth the drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food is consistently excellent...service varies slightly, but OK overall. The owners make the difference vs. wait staff. Wine selection remains excellent with great choices and wide range of $$$ ranges.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We've been wanting to visit this restaurant for several years and finally got the chance to go. It was worth the 1/2 drive from Charlottesville. Authentic French cuisine prepared with care. Lovely experience

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My friend and I come for lunch every other month. This time we both ordered the chicken and mushroom crepes. ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! And as always, excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Lunch on a Saturday to meet up with friends....very comfortable, good service, Cote De Rhone wine great.....Onion soup good, side salad was refreshing. Laid back atmosphere. The little village of Gordonsville is very special, interesting shops...the shop POSH will make custom clothing...love it!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Another evening at the Pomme with great food and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 30, 2017

It is always a pleasure to visit Pomme. The food is consistent, tasty, and the service is always good. The staff is friendly and very competent. It is so picturesque in Gordonsville at the little shops, eating at Pomme is the perfect way to finish the visit!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Healthy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience at this restaurant. A very cozy place with a great menu.
If we lived in the area I would make it a habit to dine here once a month.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Pomme is among the very best French country dinning experiences in central Virginia from one who has traveled widely in both Europe and the U.S. and eaten both European continental and American cuisine in a host of venues.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wonderful-- thank you! Just what we were looking for to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I love this restaurant and the people. I could never compliment it enough.
But I do have a problem with this site, "Open Table" and probably will never use it again. You appear NOT to keep at all current with you information. The menu you suggested was available at the time of our reservation has NOT been in their rotation for some time. Many of the hours posted are NOT accurate. I have trouble figuring out what service you DO provide,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Terribly disappointed in service. Should have left after waiting for drinks to arrive after about twenty minutes. Even though waiter said our drinks would be comped
we were still charged on our bill.
Very sad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good food, nice decor but quite pricey. One of those places that you go to occasionally.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

This will be my last visit to Pomme. Had a bad experience last time but thought we
would give it another chance. The onion soup was just barely warm, not hot so the cheese
was lumpy. The entrees were just "so so". Certainly not worth the price. Very
disappointing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

DelWightful place to dine, friendly and comfortable. Attentive staff, efficient and very courteous. Well worth the one hour drive from Warrenton to Gordonsville.....we had brunch and arrived approx. twenty minutes early, no issue with seating us early.....looking forward to a return visit

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We spent a number of years in Germany, less than 20 miles to the French border, and dined quite frequently in France. The décor, atmosphere, and meals at Restaurant Pomme were commensurate with our dining experiences in France. The owner engaged the guests throughout the evening, the service was excellent, and the meal outstanding. I loved the escargot. They recently added a lovely bar area. Had we known we would have arrived earlier for happy hour. I highly recommend Restaurant Pomme.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This was my sixth sitting at Pomme and was disappointing. The server left one piece of bread for each of us and never offered more. At previous sittings, I enjoyed the bread and had several pieces, which were delicious. At this sitting, my steak hache (sp?) was way too salty, and I notified the server. She took my plate and another woman returned with a replacement dish and a sour facial expression. I felt like a criminal. I had never returned a dish at any restaurant, and I'm 75. I tried this steak and it, too, was overly salty. I shared it with my companion, who pronounced it too salty. I barely finished the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We always go to brunch on Sundays and always select the sole. It is always delicious but the portion size is quite small. The watermelon gazpacho soup was ver good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I took my wife to Pomme for lunch the day before her birthday. After reading other reviews and knowing type of food we both like, it seemed like it could be a place we both enjoyed. Pomme was the perfect restaurant for lunch before an afternoon of wine tasting. The crepes I had were phenomenal and the cost for lunch was a great value. My wife and I are looking forward to making the hour drive again soon and trying Pomme for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wait staff was attentive and did not hover! Plate presentation was spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

A pretty drive took us to the sweet little town of Gordonsville and a perfect evening at Pomme. Dinner was delicious, service was impeccable and friendly, and we enjoyed "wine Wednesday " and the 1/2 price bottle of a very nice wine. We'll return. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good food with nice atmosphere. Nice wine list but expensive. Service staff very good but stretched with a lot of tables. Definitely will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

It is a lovely drive from Pantops area of Charlottesville to Gordonsville. Parking was readily available. We had a 12:30 lunch reservation and the table was waiting for us. The menu selections were all interesting and sounded tasty. There were several specials on offer. We each had a different dish -- one from the specials. All had excellent presentation and were totally YUMMY! No one makes you feel rushed. All in all -- a lovely experience with good company and great food.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We chose this over anything else we could have done, including a trip abroad, to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary with a few friends. It is about an hour from Richmond, VA, but is often visited by people in the know from Wash. D.C., Charlottesville, and others in a 60 -100 mile radius--it's that good. The town itself is charming, and reminds us a bit of Colonial Williamsburg, with wrought iron and other craft shops and lovely brick walkways. The only reason I didn't give it complete 5 stars all the way was because they changed from playing CD's provided by the delightful French owner from his personal collection, to some sort of random Pandora offerings, which was far less interesting or authentic. The food as usual, was excellent, as were the wines, the waitress, and in fact the whole experience. It is a real gem, in an unlikely neighborhood--more the kind of thing you would expect tucked away on a side street of a large city. Try it once, and you will always want to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Made reservations and arrive red early but they took us right away. Good menu and some interesting seasonal offerings- I tried the blueberry salad which was good. Dressing wasn't anything special but the goat cheese made it sing. I tried the crepes and the chicken filling was great. Crepes were a little sweet which I thought was weird for a savory dish. Servers were great and attentive. But the place just isn't the same since the Chef died. Chef would visit the tables and make you feel special and he was glad you were there. It's lost some of its heart now. Guy bringing food out seemed like he wished he was someplace else. Place was packed though and I would go again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Pomme is continuing to offer classic French inspired food. Tonight was no exception. Perfectly cooked scallops in a beur blanc for me and house smoked salmon for my date preceeded by wonderful salads and an excellent wine selection make for a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We got there early and the Bartender was so nice and welcoming...
Tasty local wines and great happy hour appetizers! Would have been 4-5 stars if we left before dinner!
Once we got to our table- our waitress for the evening lacked personality and made the rest of the evening's experience rather blah! What a shame...Service and presentation make a big difference on your experience.
My meal was excellent but my husband left the restaurant hungry after a $150 bill for two! Great food but not a great value and the entire experience left us in agreement that it's probably not worth the 45 min drive.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I am not familiar with French food and now I know why. I had salmon that was raw on dried potato bread with a dollop of what I thought was going to be gravey and was a thick goo. All of it cold. None of us at the table was thrilled with the food. Our waitress was very pleasant and fun. We were there because of a gift card but we will not be back. Could have eaten many times at Appleby's instead. There were many dinners in the restaurant so WE just didn't like the food. That happens

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Lovely & Quaint
Pomme Restaurant lies in the historical Virginia hamlet of Gordonsville, Orange County. In my travels, I passed this exquisite little gem a thousand times, but never had the opportunity, nor reason to stop. That surely was my loss. On this occasion, my wife's birthday, I decided to make the forty minute drive, and give it a try. What a lovely, and quaint gem Pomme Restaurant is. The building itself can easily be overlooked since it is sandwiched amongst other storefronts on the historical Main St. But, make no mistake about it, this is not just another restaurant. The ambiance is warmly inviting. The food, rack of lamb and filet of sole, was exquisitely prepared, not overwhelming, but rather, sublimely perfect. The service was very kind and homey, not standoffish. Why I waited so long to try it, years in my case, I'll never know. One thing is for certain, my wife and I will return time and time again. Oh yes, beware of the French Gimlet!!!! Unsuspectingly, it may knock you on your keister, deliciously, but powerful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food, and even better ambiance. We had the Croque Monsieur, and quiche du jour; both were excellent. Wine choice is also varied and delicious. It is
Somewhat expensive for the area comparatively, but worth the money.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent, as always, as was our server. Pomme is definitely worth the pretty drive through the countryside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overall experience was very pleasant. Food, however, needed some more attention. For example, the onion soup was close to luke warm; the lemon tart filling was quite runny; the fish dish had barely a spattering of the sauce which made the dish quite dry. The halibut in this dish was well cooked and fresh -- just needed a bit more sauce to cover the generous helping of fish. This is, however, a fun restaurant to go to and makes for a pleasant evening out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.