Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Restaurant Pomme

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor. Whether on a day trip or gathering with friends and family, we wish to share our passion of food and wine with you. À votre santé et bon appétit.

115 S Main St
Gordonsville, VA 22942
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 832-0130

Website:
http://www.restaurant-pomme.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. There is also a parking lot across the street that is free after 5pm

Executive Chef:
Gerard Gasparini

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor.

Private Party Contact:
Guillaume Gasparini: (855) 404-9486

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a private dining room that holds up to 30 seated and 60 standing. Great for small wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, business luncheon/dinner, and any other special occasion you can think of.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Restaurant Pomme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (26)
Romantic (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Historic (12)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
878 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was really good and the wine list is very extensive. The servers were very professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What could be better than excellent everything. The food, service, and ambiance was outstanding! I noted that every table was given the same wonderfully warm attention that we were given. I recommend Pomme wholeheartedly!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have dined at the POMME several times especially for special occasions. With every visit, everything has been great. The service, the ambience, the friendliness of the staff have been extremely good. Above all, the food is fantastic!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Pomme never disappoints us. We have been going there for years and every time we enjoy it so much. It is one of our very favorite places to eat and unwind. If you like French food and a delightful atmosphere for a lovely meal then Pomme will become your favorite place too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service. Our server was attentive and professional. Would definitely visit again if in Gordonsville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful food served beautifully in a quaint setting with great service! We love it there!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We enjoyed our food very much. Service and ambiance were most enjoyable. We will certainly return in the future and have already recommended Pomme to several of our friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Never had a bad meal. It is always a pleasant experience when we eat at Pomme. Great food and wonderful personnel. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our second visit to Pomme and we loved their brunch menu. The food was decadent, service, friendly, bubbles - delicious. Always a good choice for a day trip and worth the drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Have eaten there twice before and the expireiece was great. The most recent one was not. My fiancé and I love French food and wine so I brought an old French red and a white. Did not get the feeling that they liked you bringing your own wine. There was a $25 corkage fee for each thought they should wave one. The food was pretty good overall but the service was lacking. Out of the 3 things we ordered 2 was wrong. The steak came out cold. Our waitress just did not seem all there, think she could have turned things around but didn't. It is too bad because we really liked the restaraunt. Don't think we will be going back any time soon.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Brought out of town friends here after touring homes during Historic Garden Week. After touring homes on an unfortunately rainy day, having lunch at the Pomme was a wonderfully relaxing experience. Terrific service, food and wine - my friends loved dining here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants when we are in Gordonsville/Charlottesville region . We usually NEVER find any areas with even the smallest of faults, but my son, who has spent considerable time in France, was a bit disappointed at what he considered to be the Americanized version of the Croque-Monsieur. Everything else was a hit and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My mother and I went here to celebrate her birthday because she had always wanted to try it. The food was delicious. The service was pretty good but could have been slightly more attentive. The entree portions were pretty small. The desserts were almost too big. The atmosphere was a slice out of a Julia Child cooking show - very quaint and sweet. It was not tremendously overpriced, but $90 for 2 for lunch without wine, is definitely reserved for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Pomme never disappoints. Food is always delicious. Service is top notch. Family owned and full of heart. It is where we celebrate special events and where we sneak away for a romantic dinner just for two.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This restaurant is a gem with terrific food and great service. Very nice atmosphere and not too loud so you can have a great conversation over a fine meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fireplace, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food always fresh and expertly prepared. Good value though a bit expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was so looking forward to having Easter brunch with the family at Restaurant Pomme. We waited over an hour for our meals. I had hair in my soup. My husband's french toast was burnt. They were apologetic. Needless to say, we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife and I make the drive from Richmond to Gordonsville for special occasion dinners, or just when we need some time to talk and a quiet place to get away. The food is always amazing, and the staff is so friendly and helpful. We love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Pomme is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. It is not the fanciest but the most comfortable, elegant and delicious choice we know. It is about an hour drive for us so we can't get there often, and when we get the chance, we jump on it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was excellent! Service was lackluster. Our waiter never offered drinks, had to be tracked down to refill water and coffee. We could see him chatting with co-workers in the service area but couldn't get his attention. Really detracked from what could have been a terrific brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A rare dinner with my distant family. We had an excellent server, who was right there when we needed something but didn't hover. The food was very delicious and was well-presented. My husband really enjoyed the smoked salmon to start, and I loved the filet of sole. My relatives were also very happy with their choices, which included lamb, salmon, and chicken. The wine list was extensive, with many moderately priced bottles. We were seated by the window, so not as noisy as elsewhere. I wish we lived closer, so we could dine here regularly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were four people on vacation and wanted a fine food dinner and this is what we received. We had a nice selection of wines and food. The Service was excellent and the decor was perfect for our liking. This restaurant lived up to my expectations.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Setting, location, ambiance, and staff were great. Food- not so much. French onion soup was burned on top. Cordon Bleu also burned but somehow warm to cold. Taste was fairly lacking. Not too impressive for the excessive price. But again, the place was cute. Just not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Lovely first trip to Restaurant Pomme. Met three business associates for a casual meeting and brunch. Service was good, food was delicious and the atmosphere was upscale but not stuffy. Three of us got the omelet special which was very good. Small touch, but appreciated that the butter was served room temperature with the rolls, and not cold and hard to cut like some places. Bread was nice and crusty on the outside but soft on the inside. Little details like that go a long way in making for an enjoyable experience. Definitely recommend to others in the Charlottesville area or travelers looking for a somewhere worthy of stop.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I've been to Pomme several times, and this lunch was especially delightful. The restaurant wasn't crowded on a Friday, and we had a cozy table for two at the front window. My friend and I both had the Quiche of the Day with Side Salad. The quiche was great - with chicken, spinach and large slices of fresh mushroom. The crust was fantastic. The salad was just right, beautiful fresh greens with a light vinaigrette. They always serve excellent baguette with the meal - it was good, as always.
We decided to share a dessert and settled on the creme brûlée. It was outstanding - my friend said it was the best she ever tasted. Coffee was tops as well.
The service was good - attentive and efficient!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Pricey but quite nice. Great place for a special occasion splurge.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great wine recommendation to pair with meal! Made a special occasion even more special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Service was wonderful and we will be back! Chicken cordon blu was a bit dry.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A wonderful evening. Attentive service, lovely room and gorgeous food. My vegan friend was thoroughly delighted at the chef's creation for her.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The waiter, David, was extremely helpful with our menu choices, the food was delicious and even the owner came by to assist us with our choice in wine pairing. We started out planning to just buy a glass of wine but it was so good we bought a bottle. The overall experience was delightful and we will definitely go back whenever we are in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful rockfish and duck, cooked to perfection. The cheese platter to begin the meal was perfect and though the crackers were nice, the baguette was magnificent. Many thanks to Geraldine, who took care of us, and promised she would do her best to get Creme Brulee back on the menu before we returned. A wonderful night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This is our go to restaurant for special occasions. The food, atmosphere, and service are exisiplenary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Took friends for Sunday brunch, their first time. We have been many times. As ALWAYS, excellent service and of course, food. Wonderful atmosphere and a pleasurable place to dine.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! A real gem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Got lobster bisque as soup de jour but it was too salty and without any lobster. Mains (sole and duck) were great. Little disappointed that there was no crème Brule for dessert. In all, a bit expensive for the poor appetizer and incomplete desert menu. Having said all that, I would go back for the sole (house special) without getting an appetizer or dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I used to live in Paris and the food at Pomme is the same as at a good Parisian restaurant and the staff is wonderful

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It's a hour and a half drive Well worth the drive Fine dining and a great restaurant for that special occasion. My favorite reastraunt by far.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had an outstanding time. Food was very good. The atmosphere was outstanding and staff very friendly. We had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pomme is an oasis for fine dining in Central Virginia. We drive an hour and 20 minutes to get to the restaurant from Richmond. The French Onion soup is spectacular as are the entree items. The service is friendly and competent. Some would say the food is overpriced but not given the quality and taste! In some ways it's a well kept secret. Get out there and give it a try. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

After hearing nothing but great reviews we decided to give The Pomme a try for Sunday brunch. Food was good but uninspiring. Probably won't give dinner a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The menu differed from what was presented on the website. Very disapppinting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.