Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Restaurant Orsay

Located slightly off the beaten path in the Avondale Historic District, Restaurant Orsay attracts regular locals and foodies from across the southeast by showcasing their French Cuisine in a warm, inviting atmosphere, without being pretentious or stuffy. Owner Jonathan Insetta, Managing Partner Jason Eddy, and Executive Chef Michael Mckinney, work to bring locally sourced ingredients together with genuine southern hospitality. Recognized as Jacksonville's best restaurant by locals in Folio Weekly, Restaurant Orsay is a premier dining destination on the First Coast. The establishment is accredited by AAA with four diamonds, has won numerous awards for food, service and wine, and is the only independent establishment in North Florida with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence.

3630 Park Street
Jacksonville, FL 32205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Late Night: Thursday - Saturday 10:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cocktail Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:00 pm- 7:00 pm, Saturday 11:00 am - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Edgewood or Dancy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 381-0909

Website:
http://www.restaurantorsay.com/

Catering:
Restaurant Orsay understands that when we cater your event, we don’t just bring in our trained staff, and our delicious food–we bring a commitment to bringing your vision to life. Our talented staff will liaise with the florist, the musicians, and even the rental company to ensure that every detail is perfected. Our chefs will work with you to create a culinary event to be proud of, which also reflects your personality and any dietary considerations.
Because we know you aren’t just interested in dinner, you want an experience worth sharing.

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available at First Coast Cross Fit, located next door.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.

Executive Chef:
Michael Mckinney

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room at Restaurant Orsay is the perfect balance between style and substance. Designed to evoke feelings of lush intimacy, the space is nonetheless perfect for meetings and conferences as well. State of the art audiovisual equipment is available as well as high-speed internet.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Johnson: (904) 381-0909 ext. 16

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Restaurant Orsay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (75)
Special Occasion (69)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Romantic (54)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Local Ingredients (32)
Authentic (28)
Business Meals (26)
Happy Hour (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Cozy (23)
Fun (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Casual (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
People Watching (7)
Vegan (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I am from LA, where I love finding new and exciting places to eat...but every time I come to Jacksonville, I try to eat at Orsay as much as possible! They have the best happy hour, the food is always delicious, the service is amazing...I could go on and on. The bartender made my pregnant friend a delicious mocktail, and recommended great options during the happy hour. Orsay is the best restaurant in Jacksonville, and everyone should visit!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant Orsay has been my go-to spot since it opened. I don't need to write yet another full-blown review I just need to tell you, IMHO it's the best restaurant you'll eat at in Jacksonville Florida.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Service is always exceptional and the food quality cannot be matched anywhere!
Best in Jax!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

A truly amazing selection at the bar and on the wine list. The menu offers many good choices-something for everyone. Service is impeccable. A most enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for our daughter’s birthday brunch. As usual, we had superb service, excellent food and a wonderful time. We started out with a plate of baked items and champagne. The scones and muffins were delicious. The brunch entrees were varied going from mussels to omelets and coque madame. They brought out a dessert for our daughter which we shared. Everything was wonderful. Give it a try.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome as usual. Scallops were cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Thank goodness for accepting late (after 9PM) reservations. Great wine list and menu. Lots to choose from (including price-point!). Wished my venison (medium-rare) was a little warmer but it was too close to send back. We originally requested the front room (Park St.) because it is typically quiter. Not this night. A gaggle of an all-female 30-somethings celebrating a birthday literally drove us from the space as their cackling was intolerable. (We should have been clued in as the room was absolutely devoid of any other folks! A restaraunteur’s nightmare!) Once back in the back room we perfectly enjoyed our late evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Dinning for every mood. The back dinning room has a great view of the galley and seems to be a little more family in nature but still a great vibe. The front dinning is a bit younger, although some of us with the grey showing still can be seen there...Just a great dinning experience!
Awesome food, great vibe and 5-star service.
Parking is tough, neighborhood streets are narrow but safe. Enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Terrible!!! The food and service was terrible! I ordered the Sheppard's Pie with pork, and it was so salty, it was very difficult to eat. it was also brought to the table cold. Based on the quality of food, the portion size and service, we found the Restaurant Orsay extremely overpriced. I brought the quality of the meal, extremely salty and cold, to the attention to the server, who only said, sorry, and made no attempt to make it better, We were very disappointed in the Restaurant Orsay, the food and service. We will never consider the Restaurant Orsay for a future dining experience and would never recommend the Restaurant Orsay to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Six long time friends had dinner and drinks at Restaurant Orsay to celebrate the 60th birthday of one of us, and we picked the right place. Our table was ready when we arrived, and while the bar area was full, the dining area was tastefully lit and our table was set specially for the event. The restaurant coordinated with us in advance with a wonderful floral centerpiece as well. Our server was ready to please, took our orders quickly and helped with suggestions along the way. We started with house specialty cocktails, all prepared quickly and all delicious. For appetizers three of us thoroughly enjoyed the escargot (and mushrooms!), we shared a charcuterie plate and roasted oysters - again, all were perfectly prepared and tasted wonderful.
Our dinners included the venison, filet mignon, duck breast, and the roasted red snapper (with grits, corn, bacon pieces and lobster roe butter. Fabulous. Four of us were first time diners at Restaurant Orsay, but all of us will be returning. A wonderful atmosphere, great service and superior food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Sadly, my recent experience at Orsay was not good. We have always enjoyed the service, the environment and the food so we chose it as the place to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary. I’d been looking forward to it for two weeks. Everything started off well, but went downhill. Appetizers were great. Oysters were divine and my cheese tray was perfect. Love the honey and candied pecans. Next up was our salads. Hubby and I both ordered Caesar salad. Mine came,but 5-10 minutes passed before his arrived. The server apologized and the manager showed up immediately and told us it was not going to be on our bill. Kudos to both for quickly addressing the issue. We finished our salads and nearly 15 minutes went by after they were cleared until our entrees arrived. No explanation in the interim. It seemed a tad long, but we enjoyed talking while waiting. When the meals arrived, hubby’s meatloaf was piping hot; my filet mignon and mashed potatoes were lukewarm. Now I was upset. I sent it back and proceeded to watch him eat for 10-15 minutes because I didn’t want him to have cold food. The server tried to be attentive by bringing me another bread/cheese tray in the interim, but who wants more bread at that point. By this time, the evening was ruined. When my food came, I ate just a few bites because I felt weird being the only one eating. I allowed the terrible kitchen service to ruin the evening and I shouldn’t have. But I was very upset st how badly things went, so we decided to leave. I headed to the car first. When my husband arrived, he had no to-go bag. I asked him where my steak was and he headed back in thinking he’d left it on the table. Turns out the server threw it away. Our bill was still $150 after they took off his salad and my entree. When you pay that, you should get food delivered together and timely. That’s just doing the basics well. Food was good as always, but having a special occasion tainted in this way has tarnished my once glowing opinion of Orsay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Food and server were amazing. Front dining room a little too loud for me. Prefer the back dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our experience was fantastic from start to finish! I highly recommend Restaurant Orsay!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Restaurant Orsay certainly did not meet my expectations. I enjoy good food and service and don’t mind paying for them however, when I do pay for them and don’t receive either it is disappointing. My wife and I went there last Sunday for brunch. I ordered Eggs a La Orsay, their version of eggs benedict. The meal took a good 30 minutes or more to come out once ordered. When the food arrived, every part of the meal was cold, including the Lyonnaise potatoes. The food runner did not ask us if we needed anything once she put the food down and just took off. So I had to wait 10 minutes until I saw the waiter and ask him for salt and pepper and ketchup. About 5 minutes later, someone showed up with salt and pepper, but no ketchup. The waiter never came by to check on us while we were eating to ask how it was or if we needed anything. Once we were finished eating, our plates sat in front of us empty while the waiter walked by 5 or 6 times and even brought the check to the people sitting next to us without asking if we wanted the check or take our plates. This restaurant needs to figure out that the greatest, most eclectic food in the world won’t make up for poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Love this place! Been coming here forever. Food continue to evolve and impress.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful meal. Always a fantastic experience. The food never disappoints. The service is always perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was excellent but the bar was very slow getting out our drinks. I booked this through open table, stating that it was for date night. We were seated in the busiest, noisiest part of the restaurant. Waiter was informative and enthusiastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always see great reviews so we decided to give it a try and it was every bit as good as I hoped- definitely worth giving it a try.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

First class French bistro food. Onion soup and steak frites among the best I’ve ever had. My wife loved the bouillabaisse.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing hostess and wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

WONDERFUL!!!! Excellent service, delicious food! Getting ready to make another reservation right now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Another outstanding meal at Orsay. This time we took our son and daughter-in-law, and they lo e's it, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fantastic service & delicious food! We enjoyed the tower of desserts.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We did not enjoy our food.
We just moved here from Atlanta and eat out often.
We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food was ok. Loved the steak tartare. The pork chop not so much (dry)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Outstanding dining experience. Waiter was amazing, very attentive and knows the menu inside and out. Offered great suggestions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My family and I love Restaurant Orsay and have been patrons for many years. We had out of town family who specifically requested a night at Restaurant Orsay. We were seated and greeted well. My husband ordered a bottle of champagne for the table. It arrived (his first choice was not available and so he was offered his second choice), but it was not chilled enough. My husband noticed immediately and Justin, our server, got an ice bucket. He also said that it had come from the cellar and he had done a fast chill on it. Still, it had not been chilled enough.
We enjoyed it anyway and the only reason that I mention this is because the same thing happened in January when my brother, from out of town, dined with us at Restaurant Orsay. That time we sent the champagne back a couple of times to get chilled and finally gave up and drank it the way it was. Neither time did that set a good tone for the evening.
After our champagne this past visit, our cocktails and food arrived in a fairly timely way. As always, the food and the cocktails were delicious.
We then ordered the dessert tower for the table and several in our party ordered coffee. Twice our server, Justin, came to say that the coffee was on the way. It finally arrived after most of us had finished dessert and my husband's coffee was lukewarm. The bill came and we were surprised that we were charged for the coffees after such a lengthy wait for them.
So the tepid champagne and the late arriving, and also tepid, coffees put a bit of a damper on an otherwise lovely, if slow moving, meal.
Will we come back? Absolutely. Your food is fabulous. However, I am not sure that we will ever order champagne again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Since moving to the Jacksonville area, Orsay has become our restaurant of choice - not just for special occasions, but also for great night out. We love it!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always a great Brunch at Orsay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food and wine paring was excellent. Efficient and educated server who knows the menu well. Our seating was slightly delayed and the staff was all very attentive to our needs. I've always considered Orsay for special occasions and this visit did not disappoint!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food is very creative and done with excellence. Very tasty. For service we felt somewhat neglected. You seemed to always be ready with the server never in sight. Maybe they wait on numerous tables widely apart from each other. For ambience; none, noise echoes off the walls making it impossible to have a conversation, no character (deer antlers painted white don't equal character). So even though the food is very good, we would lilely not eat there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I took my best friend for her birthday and the food, cocktails and service were terrific. My friend can be a picky eater but there was something on the menu for everyone. Not only was there plenty to choose from on the dinner menu but a great variety on the cocktail menu. My husband ordered the steak frites medium rare and my friend ordered the filet mignon well and both were cooked to order and both still so tender. I ordered the salmon special. Everything was delicious. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or a girlfriends get together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Atmosphere was nice, but rather loud in the general seating area as well as being confined. We ended up seating in a back room, which was nice. Overall, a great restaurant and would definitely recommend it, but I suggest going on the later side for a more formal atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food and service were superb. Arrived early for reservation and sat at the bar. It was fun watching the skilled bartenders . Had one of the best old fashions . Highly recommend Orsay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We went to Orsay for our anniversary. We were seated promptly at our reservation time, and greeted with two glasses of champagne. Our waiter was knowledgeable and made us feel welcome. The food was outstanding. The duck breast was one of the best things I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Best restaurant in Jacksonville..superb food and even better service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Fantastic from beginning to end! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent traditional French bistro fare, beautiful setting, fantastic service. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, excellent evening! Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We go to Orsay when we have special friends to introduce to each other or to the neighborhood. The menu choices are interesting and the presentation is beautiful. Service is friendly but professional, cocktails are creative and delicious! We always have fun at Orsay. The level of formality is just right for a good neighborhood eatery: formal enough to be a "nice" restaurant, but relaxing enough to make us want to linger for dessert and coffee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.