Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Restaurant Orsay

Located slightly off the beaten path in the Avondale Historic District, Restaurant Orsay attracts regular locals and foodies from across the southeast by showcasing their French Cuisine in a warm, inviting atmosphere, without being pretentious or stuffy. Owner Jonathan Insetta, Managing Partner Jason Eddy, and Executive Chef Michael Mckinney, work to bring locally sourced ingredients together with genuine southern hospitality. Recognized as Jacksonville's best restaurant by locals in Folio Weekly, Restaurant Orsay is a premier dining destination on the First Coast. The establishment is accredited by AAA with four diamonds, has won numerous awards for food, service and wine, and is the only independent establishment in North Florida with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence.

3630 Park Street
Jacksonville, FL 32205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Late Night: Thursday - Saturday 10:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cocktail Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:00 pm- 7:00 pm, Saturday 11:00 am - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Edgewood or Dancy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 381-0909

Website:
http://www.restaurantorsay.com/

Catering:
Restaurant Orsay understands that when we cater your event, we don’t just bring in our trained staff, and our delicious food–we bring a commitment to bringing your vision to life. Our talented staff will liaise with the florist, the musicians, and even the rental company to ensure that every detail is perfected. Our chefs will work with you to create a culinary event to be proud of, which also reflects your personality and any dietary considerations.
Because we know you aren’t just interested in dinner, you want an experience worth sharing.

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available at First Coast Cross Fit, located next door.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.

Executive Chef:
Michael Mckinney

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room at Restaurant Orsay is the perfect balance between style and substance. Designed to evoke feelings of lush intimacy, the space is nonetheless perfect for meetings and conferences as well. State of the art audiovisual equipment is available as well as high-speed internet.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Johnson: (904) 381-0909 ext. 16

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Restaurant Orsay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for a Date (93)
Good for Anniversaries (83)
See All
Fit for Foodies (81)
Romantic (80)
Worth the Drive (78)
Creative Cuisine (74)
Handcrafted Cocktails (69)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Local Ingredients (49)
Notable Wine List (47)
Happy Hour (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for Groups (34)
Great for Brunch (32)
Authentic (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Business Meals (26)
Cozy (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Modern Decor (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fun (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Casual (15)
Seasonal (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Private Room (11)
Tapas (10)
People Watching (9)
Organic (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Historic (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the Roasted Oysters and the sautéed spinach was AMAZING! The waiter was ehh but the owner was awesome and concerned about our experience. Will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was fantastic. The roasted oysters, tarte flambee and charcuterie plateau were as good as any that we've had in France. If we didn't live 2-1/2 hours away, we'd eat here at least once a week.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good. Noisy but food and presentation excellent,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect as always! Service and food is always excellent. Normally we come without our son but brought him with us and he loved his three course kids meal. The staff are always welcoming and very accommodating. Even with being pregnant and having food allergies there were tons of excellent options to eat and drink. Thanks Orsay for another wonderful experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always a great dining experience. Never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Can always count on a consistent, wonderful experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch with great friends. The food & libation choices were both great and we all cleaned our plates!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

WOW I took Helen and we both loved everything about the restaurant the service was 10+ food was like the best and wine list the whole she-Bang was fantastic
Thanks MW

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best restaurant in Jacksonville. Impeccable service, delicious food, lovely surroundings what more can you ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Several of us decided on dinner at Orsay for a goodbye dinner for a colleague. We made a reservation and arrived on a Monday night to a lively and crowded restaurant. The cocktails were interesting, but we decided on wine from the enormous wine selection. We started with a cheese selection which was great, and went from there to a delicious dinner, which included among our selections, filet mignon, Lyonnaise salad with duck bacon and champagne vinaigrette, oysters and spinach salad with chicken. For dessert, we had eclair which are made with pistachio. Unusual pairings of ingredients for the most part worked. The duck bacon was strips of duck, heavily smoked which I think, are not for everyone.
My less than perfect review is caused only by the unfriendly girl at the phone and check in, and the length of time it took for our food to arrive. Our reservation was at 6:45, and we didn't leave the restaurant unti 9:45. Service was very slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Second visit to this little gem - parking lot was full telling me that this place is still so popular
Food and service are great
Cocktails inventive - wine list is excellent
Pork chop was outstanding
Desserts are mouth watering

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent everything! I highly suggest the porkchop and escargots.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server was great but other staff weren't. When we were leaving, 2 other staff saw us they were by the door and didn't even say goodbye and thank you or have a nice day. Food wise, raw oysters were delicious but very petite. Drinks were awesome. Dessert was alright. But the scallops are very salty!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was very good. The Prince Edward Mussels in the wine and garlic butter sauce were a little salty to my liking. Megan our waitress was excellent. Overall first time great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing food. Perfect portions. Lovely music. Truly a special culinary experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food and service were all great. Clearly this is one of the best options in central Jacksonville. The happy hour is great too. Recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Good overall. Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Restaurant Orsay is one of the best in Jacksonville. The chefs are super creative and the food and service is excellent!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazing food and drinks, and I would definitely recommend the mussels and calamari.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was fabulous. The menu was interesting and prepared to perfection! Awesome and very personable service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The spinach salad and haricots very salad were excellent. The shrimp and grits was very good. The shrimp were perfectly cooked. The dish is served with a broth which is different but tasty. Our waitress Alex was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My friend and I had a great Sunday brunch at Orsay...it was my second visit and his first, and we truly enjoyed the experience. The food (and the presentation) was excellent...we weren't rushed...and our waiter, Jesse, was courteous, attentive and friendly. I would definitely come back and bring my family and other friends to savor the amazing food and ambience. Thumbs up!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It is a little bit over rated. Food is ok nothing outstanding. Definitely you can find better places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Orsay is in a renovated building in the historic Riverside area of Jacksonville. The area is on the rebound, and Orsay is a reason to to visit the area if you have not been. The wait staff we met were knowledgeable about the menu and wines, as would be expected, but our waitress' friendly and helpful attitude mad the evening memorable. I am not a food critic, but we has some excellent house-made pate before our entrees. My grilled halibut was served with marvelous grits and creamed corn and a spring greens garnish. I'm sure I am forgetting important details, but I was more interested in tasting the food than remembering its description. My wife had a traditional beef stroganoff, which she said as very good. We really enjoyed our dinner, and wish we lived closer to Jacksonville to enjoy Orsay more often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best restaurant in Jacksonville so far. Best creme brulee , better than the ones I had in Paris

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food is awesome. On the pricey side, but worth it. Recommended for special occasions, fancy date nights.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food. We had escargot and steak tartare for apps. Fantastic. Salad was the Green Goddess. Superb. Entrees incl steak and fish. Great. Our server was excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Simply the best restaurant in Jacksonville. Always trying new menu items; always using fresh, high-quality ingredients. Best place, hands down, for a high-end happy hour. Great prices on small plates (great cheese plate, oysters, and tartes flambees [also known as flatbreads] and craft cocktails. Finish your meal with a petit four/mini desert. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A girlfriend who was visiting from Hilton Head and I went to Orsay for her last night in town. The food was wonderful and wine delish. We split a Cesar salad and Happy Hour order of truffle mac&cheese. Then both had the skirt steak with frites. Their house rose was perfect with everything. We ended with a sampling of several desserts. Forget about calories and just enjoy the fabulous food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Outstanding food & service. Made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fabulous as usual. Best food & service in Jacksonville.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food, wine, and service were great. I'd skip dessert though unless you get the cheese plate. Éclair and fruit tart were not worth it; small and lacking much flavor. Best thing about them was the candied orange rind that topped the éclair. The cheese plate on the other hand was wonderful. I'd definitely recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Orsay never fails to delight the palate and the eye. The food and service are consistently top-notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great brunch as always! Very knowledgeable wait staff, which is very much appreciated!!!
Great food great drinks, memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My Shrimp and Grits were perfectly cooked and very tasty. My friend's omelette was properly prepared and she liked it a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Orsay has the potential to be a premier first class destination, but it needs some work. There is no ambience when you have to shout to be heard. Please cook meats to at least a dark pink color. My entree was raw...even after it was put under the broiler a second time. Also "roasted" means cooked through I believe. Our waiter was just superb and made up for Orsay's culture of extremely loud atmosphere and under cooked food. It did not look as though your bottom line was suffering, however, so maybe you don't need to take my comments to heart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and service was excellent, however noise can be an issue. Probably could sue some noise dampening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Extensive menu. Something for everyone, great good, fantastic flavors! Wait staff was knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Was in town on business and decided to try Orsay based on reviews. Had a fantastic experience and was so impressed (especially with my server) that I changed a reservation that I made for a group of 13 at another restaurant a few days later back to here. They were also very impressed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We attended the Riverside/Avondale Home Tour and headed to Orsay afterwards to have dinner. Our reservation was for 6pm and we were about 45 minutes early. Orsay did not have a problem with this. We sat outside and enjoyed cocktails and small plates. The gin and tonic was refreshing and the oysters were divine! Our waitress was attentive and at 6pm escorted us to our table. We were able to continue to sample from the Happy Hour menu and found the small plates quite filling. It was a perfect evening with amazing food and drinks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.