Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Restaurant August

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only. There is also available street parking for free after 7 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (138)
Good for Anniversaries (129)
Fit for Foodies (128)
See All
Creative Cuisine (121)
Romantic (121)
Good for a Date (111)
Notable Wine List (95)
Tasting Menu (87)
Local Ingredients (63)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Business Meals (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Worth the Drive (37)
Authentic (37)
Cozy (33)
Historic (28)
Hot Spot (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Molecular Gastronomy (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Seasonal (16)
Fun (13)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Private Room (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
5660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing as always. Our reservation was for 8:30 and we weren't seated until closer to 9pm, however, the kitchen sent out 2 additional appetizers to apologize. Restaurant August is one of our favorite dining experiences in New Orleans. Only real issue was there was an extremely loud table next to us that made dinner conversation difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Yummy! Yummy! Outstanding food and wine for all in our party (3). The wine list was very complete, offering a wide choice. We enjoyed the entire evening (2.5 hours), conversation levels were good, multiple courses and the atmosphere encouraged a very pleasant dinner.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Good to average food rather overpriced for the quality and experience even for New Orleans. I really felt overcharged here in the grand scheme of things. Service fine and atmosphere agreeable (space nice yet banal), but my dinner companion and I would likely not return. The salad was particularly disappointing. My fish dish better. Just a disappointing dining experience overall. We had hoped for more since this restaurant had come recommended by someone who knows it well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an amazing meal to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We chose the degustion menu with wine, and every bite and sip were memorable - including a special dessert. The setting is beautiful, and the service perfect. Altogether, one of the top 5 meals we can remember!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I would recommend this Resturant to my friends all day long

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall: Beautiful, beautifully presented restaurant. 10.
The waitstaff: top-notch 10.
The food: delicious, unusual, small-portioned, memorable. 10.
Ambience: after having a few dinners down in the Bourbon/Royal Street area, this was a wonderful change of pace. 10.
Thoughts: Make sure to start with the peach salad. Our waiter, a sort of non-descript type guy, was so completely charming and made it seem like he had all the time in the world for us; taking a picture for our anniversary, helping us to decide our entree choices--
It was as if we were an unexpected but welcome guest in his home.
To re-cap: we arrived at the restaurant as two seasoned Bostonians who thought no one could beat our city for a fabulous meal--yet as we walked out the door, pleasantly full from our delicious and enjoyable dinner, we started to think that there really is something to southern charm, manners and cuisine, particularly when dining at August.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This restaurant should not be missed on your next visit to NOLA! Everything about August is fantastic!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fine dining but definitely New Orleans! We were treated well, the food and ambience great, expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food, wine and service - another highlight of our four day stay in New Orleans.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was a wonderful start to our weekend in New Orleans. The three course fixe price lunch was a bargain for such good food and excellent service. I highly recommend August Restaurant.
Gillian

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The Friday lunch Prix Fix menu is a gem of a deal. Crawfish bisque, flounder entree and berry pie, each delicious. Service was spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The prix fixe lunch menu was a very good deal. We had gnocchi on the side - which was exceptional. The crawfish bisque was also outstanding. The service was spot on. The staff was very attentive and had exceptional attention to detail. Would definitely return when in New Orleans again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was amazing as was the service. This is especially valuable as there was a gluten allergy to work around. We haven't had as wonderful a meal in a long time, and we frequent highly reputable restaurants that are pretty darn good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant. John Besh at his very best. Excellent food and service. The young lady who waited on us was terrific, my wife and I were quite pleased. Highly recommended to all. Again, thanks to the restaurant staff for a wonderful evening. Complements to the chef and his support staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My husband and I came to August for our one year wedding anniversary. I have been several times and make return visits whenever I'm in New Orleans because the food and service are always spot on. It is always an amazing meal with beautiful presentation. The service is always considerate, personable, and knowledgeable. Thank you for an amazing first anniversary!

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Perfect place for snobs, this food is outstanding and service is impeccable and notably aloof, for such an informal city. It's perhaps the most expensive place in New Orleans so get ready to pay for your outstanding dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Superb food and great service. Noise level low enough you could talk in conversational tones. Pricey for a middle class mom like me and not something I could do often, but very happy we did it on our trip to NOLA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best food in New Orleans if you've already had all the Cajun you can handle. Delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant! One of the best meals we had in New Orleans!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing as always! I highly recommend...it's a little pricey but definitely worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are locals and decided to eat here to try it out in celebration of my 50th birthday . We first ordered the potato gnocchi with blue crab. I ate mine but I did not think it was good. My husband would not even eat his portion. Neither one of us cared for the dish at all. After that appetizer we made a decision based on the menu and prices not to proceed any further. It just was not that good. A restaurant of this caliber with the prices on this menu should be absolutely, superbly outstanding in flavor and appeal. John Besh is an amazing chef and I've had many of his delicasies elsewhere. Not sure what went wrong here but we will leave Restaurant August to the tourists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Spent the weekend in New Orleans for our anniversary and decided on August for the special night. I was very impressed in the beginning but then I felt it was just a bit off the remainder of the evening.
We arrived and immediately were brought to our table. We decided that we wanted to have a drink at the bar first so I think that threw them off a bit. When we finally sat down at the table the server came over to give us menus and drink orders, we decided that we would look over the wine list as well as have an appetizer. After ordering the app and wine they brought us the app well before the wine and when they did bring the wine it was shown and served to my husband first even though I picked it out and ordered it. Hmmmm....they wanted the main course orders right away, felt a bit rushed. The main course was delicious, I had fish my husband had hangar steak. The server brought us two beautifully decorated desserts for our anniversary, touching.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Erin the wine specialist was great The wine pairing made the delicious food even better

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Overall, August never fails to impress The food was excellent and the menu contained items that were unique. Great mix of classic dishes done with Southeast Asian flavorings. Every dish was perfection. Cold dishes were tasty and pleasing to to eye. Hot dishes were ooked to perfection. Service was top notch, attentive but not rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My wife & I enjoyed the tasting menu with wine selections. The waiter provided a description of each course & the Sommelier described each course of wine from champagne to Madeira.
Excellent food, wine & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Really the best meal in a long time. Truly memorable. Been here for dinner each of the last 3 times to New Orleans and this was the first Friday lunch. Got the 3 course lunch special. Truly exceptional and each course seemed to outdo the previous. Oh and in between they were like here try this. Don't miss out. Best in Nola and after Friday maybe best you can find. Fun cozy relaxing and not pretentious

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Restaurant August is one of my favorite restaurants. I went here for lunch during my stay in New Orleans, and I highly recommend that people dine here, especially if they are trying to eat something different from the usual New Orleans fare (jambalaya, gumbo, etc.). The food here is also affordable during lunchtime. The pre fix menu was around $26-$30 alone with drinks around $15+.

The lunch menu offered both a la carte and a pre fixe menu. I opted for the pre fix menu, which consisted of an appetizer, entree, and dessert. At the time, I chose a blue crab soup, lamb pasta, and the restaurant's take on a banana foster. I also got a cocktail (I forget the name but it had green tea in it. It was excellent).

The soup had a great consistency. It was on the thicker side, but very flavorful with the right amount of crab for the size of the soup. Additionally, there were some crunchy onions that added another nice layer of texture to the soup. Very flavorful, like a bisque.

The lamb pasta was also well-cooked. The lamb was very soft and pulled apart easily. The pasta was cooked al dente, which I love. I liked that the sauce was light and the pasta really highlighted the lamb.

The banana foster was also delicious and a nice, light way to end the meal. There were crunch cinnamon bites that went well with the banana, ice cream, and sauce. The dessert was not too sweet, and very enjoyable.

Overall, an excellent meal with great service. I hope to come back and try the dinner menu sometime.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent fine dining high end restaurant. Food, atmosphere, service everything was excellent. Executive chef Todd Pulsinelli took the time to come to our table & say hello at our request. Five stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Restaurant August is my all-time favorite restaurant. Not only is the food unique and delicious, the presentation of each course is like viewing an amazing piece of art. Whenever someone comes to visit me in NOLA, it is my go-to choice for treating them to an exceptional dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Beautiful dining room, great service, and truly phenomenal food.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fabulous inventive food. Not as expensive as similar quality resturants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was simply phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Outstanding service and food. Celebrated my wife's birthday and it was the perfect experience. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

What a special restaurant! Elegant decor, impeccable service, inventive and fantastic food. This restaurant delivers on all fronts. Memorable experience. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wonderful dining experience for a special occasion. A little pricey but worth it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had degustation menu which gave us the full range of menu. The courses were imaginative tasty and complex. Loved the veggie degustation more than meat because of creativity. Fabulous stuffed squash blossoms ! Pasta course with peas and crispy onions was marvelous. Wait staff is exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We love to come to August when visiting New Orleans for Jazzfest. We brought a small group and it was perfect. Food was excellent and service was great. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Nothing short of spectacular. I'd recommend this to anyone. Great variety good food well prepared. Had a quick tour of the pastry kitchen for the group. Loved our visit. Thanks Lucy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

There are no words to describe how amazing this was. Robert our captain was amazing! It was spectacular from the beginning to the end. We are still talking about it. Thank you ! True southern hospitality

Tags: Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing food, attentive service, great elegant atmosphere. The tasting menu was delicious (rabbit, fish, lamb were the three protein dishes). The duck was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.