Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Restaurant August

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only. There is also available street parking for free after 7 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Fit for Foodies (98)
Romantic (98)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Creative Cuisine (87)
Good for a Date (85)
Notable Wine List (68)
Local Ingredients (60)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Tasting Menu (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Worth the Drive (41)
Business Meals (36)
Authentic (34)
Cozy (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (18)
Seasonal (16)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Organic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Vegan (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
5905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

High price and high class. Wonderful world class food. Jacket required.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Good salad, soup, and service. Entrees were average and overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful meal, but the noise level in the restaurant made conversation difficult

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow, amazing. I'm still dreaming of the pumpkin soup. We had the Friday lunch, I need to go back for dinner, repeatedly. Did not disappoint and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fantastic meal and excellent service. All around one of the best restaurants in NOLA.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Special treat, the food was creative & delicious. Very relaxing & sophisticated ambience. If back in New Orleans, would definitely return. Both the cuisine & service were top notch.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food is fabulous as is the service. This was by far one of the finest meals we had on our NOLA visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

The food and service at August were spectacular. It is a fabulous place to celebrate a special event because you will be treated royally .I try to eat there whenever we visit New Orleans .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I was in town for budiness and, as always, consulted my crystal ball for finding top dining spots (Open Table) and I was not disappointed. August was fantastic. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was outstanding, service a little better than mediocre, but the room was way too loud to have a decent dinner conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is a wonderful find. Although we had to place the reservation three weeks ahead, it was worth the wait.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our server made a wonderful meal over the top incredible. Knowledge, friendliness, helpfulness were all off the charts. Thank you for a great evening celebrating my dad’s 70th birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Fabulous night. Very creative with their veggie tasting menu. Could not even tell you which I loved most. Top notch service. A special evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The total experience at August was worth the price of admission. If you're into great food, well plated served by a very attentive (but unobtrusive) staff then don't miss this very fine dining establishment. You won't regret it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful anniversary dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

The appetizer of foie Gras three ways is not to be missed. Outstandingly delicious, beautifully presented. Also the appetizer of oysters were incredibly delicious and also beautifully presented.
The fish dishes were delicious. We cannot gush enough over the food and service at August.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Fabulous! I had the duck and my husband said I swooned at every bite. John Besh at his best! Food and service were absolute perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent food and service in a very attractive dining room. Wait staff attentive and well trained. Noise level moderate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Lived up to expectations. Great service. Wonderful pairings to the tasting menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in New Orleans, the only restaurant we revisit when we come down. We love August!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This by far, my favorite restaurant! The service was tremendous and the food was even better , if that's even possible,,! Bravo Chef John!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Wonder experience from the time we walked in and to the very end. The Flounder Pontchartrain is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and service, as usual. Had a problem with a drunk at the adjacent table, and was a bit dismayed that the restaurant would not remove him and his group. Not too fun listening to arrogant drunk sexist remarks while trying to have a romantic getaway dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My wife and I agreed that our dining experience at August was the finest we’ve enjoyed in years. Professional service. Excellently prepared food of high quality, including vegetables provided by Covey Rise Farm. Lovely table settings and overall ambience. I would highly recommend Restaurant August to all who enjoy fine dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was just an amazing experience from beginning to end and the food was great as well!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food and service in a relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Outstanding dining experience! The service, food, and atmosphere were all top notch.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

I have eaten at many restaurants in NOLA & this is one of the best. Great food, Great service and the atmosphere is terrific.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Excellent food. I plan to return when I am next in New Orleans. Excellent service as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Went there for a special birthday. Everyone made the occasion very memorable, with slecial tastes and impeccable service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Amazing food. Very creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Came here for a friend's birthday and they truly made it a special experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday in NOLA and I had been to August years ago, always hear wonderful things about it. The atmosphere is beautiful, the service excellent, the som came to our table and had a long conversation with us and was very helpful in helping to chose just the right wine to go with my vegetarian and his fish entrees. The presentation on all dishes were beautiful...would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 26, 2017

よくも悪くもアメリカンな料理ニューオリンズで食べなくてもどこの都市でも食べてます。クレオールでもケイジャンでもありません

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The best, consistently, in every facet and way--food, service, selection, atmosphere--you name it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Organic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Lovely food and drinks. Great service and ambience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was simply amazing everything I asked for was on point all my special request for our anniversary we're done food was AMAZING!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We joined a friend for dinner. One of us had the regular tasting and wine pairing. Another one of us tried the vegetarian tasting and wine pairing. Our friend asked the waiter to select options and pair some wine so we could all share different items. It was all FANTASTIC! The gnocchi was amazing. The fried squash blossom were divine. The wines were all wonderful. The waiter picked great items for us and was knowledgeable about everything. The restaurant while obviously fine dining wasn't stuffy and stiff. It was an excellent evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This was our first time eating at August. Was seated promptly at a quiet table for two on a busy Friday evening. We started with the potato gnocchi and it was melt in your mouth great. We opted to order the crispy stuffed squash blossoms in lieu of a salad and glad we did as it was very creative and delicious. The five-spiced breast of ducking entree was the star of the evening enjoyed with a nice bottle of Bordeaux that was recommend by the sommelier. The meal was topped off with the "Dirt Cake" dessert that was light and very good. Don't know why we waited so long to eat at this restaurant but we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Superb and would recommend this restaurant! As we were on holiday it was another great experience to add to the fabulous time we had in New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.