About Restaurant August

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only. There is also available street parking for free after 7 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (97)
Creative Cuisine (93)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
See All
Romantic (82)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Good for a Date (77)
Notable Wine List (64)
Tasting Menu (56)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Local Ingredients (48)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Business Meals (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Authentic (33)
Historic (31)
Cozy (29)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fun (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Private Room (12)
Good for Groups (12)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Vegan (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
5461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was the best dinner ever!!!!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

It was the best dinner ever!!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, the food, the pairings were ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

The service, the food, the pairings were all done so well. Definitely the best meal my husband and I have had it quite a long time. The servers were well trained and made the experience enjoyable. We had the tasting menus-I had the vegetarian tasting, it is amazing that one could make vegetables taste so delicious. The grapefruit dessert was extra delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my wife and my favorite restaura ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This is my wife and my favorite restaurant. She had the vegaterian tasting and I had the standard tasting, both with wine pairing. The cocktails, food, wine pairings were fabulous. The expierence was taken over the top by the people - from the captain and waiters to the sommelier (our favorite historian). This is the height of a pleasurable dining expierence!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything at this restaurant was excell ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything at this restaurant was excellent. From the service to the drinks to the food - everything was spot on. It is on the expensive side but for a special occasion it was awesome. Met former NBA player Steve Smith and he and his wife were kind enough to take a photo with us after dinner. Bonus!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was fabulous!!! We were celebra ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fabulous!!! We were celebrating our anniversary and the staff went above and beyond.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands-down the best cooking in New Orlea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Hands-down the best cooking in New Orleans. Great service, beautiful setting, and great care taken at every turn. Wine service is particularly fine; and the level of sophistication reflected in the food is remarkable. It only seems to get better with each visit.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Went for the Prix Fixe lunch ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Went for the Prix Fixe lunch on Friday for $26. The dessert was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I chose August as it was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I chose August as it was recommended by our innkeepers (Canal Street Inn). I had seen John Besh's tv show and enjoyed him so we decided to try it. The restaurant has a lovely ambiance with its chandeliers and brick walls. The service was impeccable. The amuse bouche was a custard cauliflower baked in an egg shell.......so delicious. We shared a starter of foie gras three ways. Have never had foie gras served in such an unusual combination but it was great. For our entree, we both chose the "breaded" flounder. The fish was mild, tender, and served with a sauce with shrimp , crab, and hollandaise, it was truly decadent. The "breading" was a crispy, browned slice of bread that was delicious and helped to cut the richness of the fish. We also enjoyed a glass of rose and a French white burgundy.! Everything about the meal was perfect. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting N.O. In a city with many wonderful restaurants, August was a memorable choice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Unusual flavor blend ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was delicious. Unusual flavor blending a. Presentation beautiful. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always go to this restuarant when I'm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I always go to this restuarant when I'm in town. It's fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for Valentine's Day and were not ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came for Valentine's Day and were not disappointed. Every course was fantastic and unique. The attention to detail by the staff was impeccable.

Tags: , People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Valentines day or other spec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perfect for Valentines day or other special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance. Decent service. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Decent service. Unique food choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The amuse Boucher that started the meal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The amuse Boucher that started the meal was a very pleasant surprise- elegantly presented in a half egg shell, cauliflower mousse - a high point. The gnocchi were as good as others commented- delicate, melt in mouth.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the breaded flounder, nice size pi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had the breaded flounder, nice size piece and very good. Fois gras excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My mom and I had a great dinner experien ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My mom and I had a great dinner experience! We highly recommend the beet salad to start, roasted grouper as an entree and the key lime dessert!

Our server was excellent. We live out of town but we will definitely include it in our list when we come visit New Orleans again.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has never failed to live ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This restaurant has never failed to live up to the high expectations that come with a James Beard award. The food is sourced locally and prepared by top chefs. The service is exemplary and unparalleled by anywhere that I've been. Always a pleasure, certainly among the best dining experiences in the Big Easy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb tasting menu

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Superb tasting menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food. 5 star se ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service, great food. 5 star service and 5 star food. We loved everything about the experience. It is pricey but worth every bit of it.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, this was an extraordinary gas ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always, this was an extraordinary gastronomic experience. This is at least the fourth time we have dined at August...and we live in Buffalo NY!!! If we lived in New Orleans we would eat there at least once a week. We ALWAYS go when in The Big Easy...Indulge yourself in the chefs tasting menu with paired wines....although not a vegetarian I usually get the veg menu while my hubbie gets the regualr tasting menu paired with wines so we double the sensory experience as we taste eachothers' courses. It's an extraordinary experience. Unlike many fine dining establishments, they usually have at least two sommeliers on, and the wine pairings are not only delightful but educational to the extent you would like them to be. THe extremely knowledgeable som's really enhance the experience. The atmosphere is classic but fresh; elegant but comfortable. It is our NUmber 1 favorite restaurant in New Orleans. Don't miss it if ever there...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best in New Orleans, and that ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best in New Orleans, and that's saying something! This food is phenomenal, and if you're lucky enough to have Mark for your waiter... bonus!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed the evening very much. Unique, ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed the evening very much. Unique, great favors, wine pairing was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are locals, and have dined at August ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We are locals, and have dined at August many times. We chose it for my wife's birthday, and it did not disappoint. In honor of the ax Asian, we were served a second amuse. This was a smoked drum rillette, and it was delicious. For appetizers we had the oysters and the famous gnocchi with crab meat. Both were outstanding. My wife had the grilled striped bass and I had "breaded" flounder. She enjoyed hers, and I thought that mine was among the best fish dishes I have had. The desserts were a grapefruit pavlova and a key lime tart. Both were great. Lovely atmosphere, outstanding service, and great food made this a special evening and reinforced my opinion that August is the best restaurant in New Orleans.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Outstanding evening. Excellent food and service. Staff was knowledgeable, fun and made the evening very enjoyable. The Best of the Besh restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John Besh, what else do you need to say? ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

John Besh, what else do you need to say? One of my favorite restaurants. A must dine when in NOLA.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After several hiccups, again the best in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

After several hiccups, again the best in NOLA for overall level of professionalism. Kitchen and wine staffs aim for perfection and often achieve it.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in NOLA. Start w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My favorite restaurant in NOLA. Start with the gnocchi. And then ... oh well, you can't go wrong. Everything was great. Sommelier was especially good. No complaints anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! & manager Warren made the expe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing!! & manager Warren made the experience perfect - absolutely delicious and delightful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. The best meal I had in New Orleans! Cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting in an old cigar factory. F ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great setting in an old cigar factory. Food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal and perfect service. Small app ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Nice meal and perfect service. Small appetizer portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating an admission to grad ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We were celebrating an admission to grad school and a birthday and the staff and kitchen made the occasion so special and memorable for us. The food was superb as always, and the ambience is unmatched anywhere in New Orleans. Try any of the rabbit dishes on the menu, that and the dirt cake dessert are mind-blowing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yet again, August has proven itself to b ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Yet again, August has proven itself to be the finest restaurant in New Orleans. Their food is incomparable in taste, presentation, and creativity. The service is impeccable-- attentive yet unobtrusive. It's expensive, but worth it. Great wine list, priced fairly for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I truly appreciated the q ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I truly appreciated the quality experience we had at August last weekend. Lucy was a helpful and kind hostess and helped guide us through the most adventurous menu options. Erin was a perfect sommelier and did an excellent job pairing some challenging courses. The food was amazing! We will be talking about several of these dishes for years! Well done!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, amazing pre fixe menu ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful service, amazing pre fixe menus and so willing to accommodate special requests. Our servers were awesome and loved hearing them describe the food. Favorite meal in NOLA!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service; Creative cuisine. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent service; Creative cuisine. Absolutely outstanding

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the beet and apple salad, and was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I had the beet and apple salad, and was astounded by the subtlety of flavor and the beauty of the presentation. My husband had the fried oysters and hasn't stopped talking about them. We each had fish as the main course (I had the dorado, he had the sea bass). Both were very fine. We had the persimmon sorbet for dessert and it was magnificent. Our waiter was both charming and knowledgeable, ready with guidance without being invasively chatty. We love August

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal, all around. Food was impossi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Phenomenal, all around. Food was impossibly good and our server team perfectly met ever need we had. Our request for a window seat was met without question. Felt very welcomed and at home. Thanks!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! Not just sit down fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Amazing experience! Not just sit down for dinner. Every bite was delicious. Duck, Trigger fish, fried oysters and gnocchi not to be missed! This was on the bucket list for the james beard awards, but we were equally impressed with the service as well as food and cocktails. Love the open store front windows, and beautiful chandeliers, perfect New Orleans location. Made the 50th birthday perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.