HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Red's in Ramsay

4.0
26 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (31)
  • Great for Brunch (25)
  • Great for Lunch (20)

Similar Restaurants

About

Red's in Ramsay can be found in Calgary, Alberta and offers a restaurant based on serving modern comfort food. An all-day breakfast is available that includes omelets, pancakes and more. You can also try a tofu scramble or a breakfast parfait with fresh fruit. Red's in Ramsay has an urban vibe that is perfect for a meal with friends. Also offered are a number of adult beverages, including local beer.

For lunch, the build your own burger is a hit with toppings like bacon, fried egg and guacamole. The Ramsay fish and chips with homemade tartar are also a dish that many rave about. If you come in late, Red's in Ramsay can provide you with an alcoholic milkshake like the leprechaun latte with Baileys and Irish whiskey.

Dining Style
Home Style
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Monday - Tuesday: 7:00am - 4:00pm

Wednesday - Sunday: 7:30 - 9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(587) 353-1188
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: 8th St. & 11th Ave S.E.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 26 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0
  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
chairwarmer (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on August 23, 2014

Went for dinner on a Saturday night - didn't realize only open till 9:00 pm. but no one was rushing us out the door - we actually stayed till 9:15 - service was great, food was great -- this is a terrific neighborhood gem - also serves decent wine..atmosphere was friendly.

Report
Helpful
saltandpepperlady (Calgary)
3.0
Dined on August 22, 2014

A welcome improvement to the neighborhood where I once lived. Service was quick and friendly but dinner menu was disappointing. Spinach quiche special was more like a breakfast fritata than a quiche. No crust; little cream . Side potatoes were much too salty. Would try again for brunch but not dinner.

Report
Helpful
Dineright (Calgary)
3.0
Dined on August 6, 2014

Arrived for dinner, restaurant not busy at all! Sat outside on the patio, we had to clean the dead flowers and dried leaves etc off of the cushions. My husband and I ordered burgers and were very disappointed that they weren't hand made! We could of bought the same burgers at our local frozen food chain! In a city with so many fabulous restaurants there are certain expectations diners have! I think this place has the potential to be a great little diner with a few adjustments to its menu and with some better sourcing of product!

Report
Helpful
viptarabeara (Calgary)
5.0
Dined on July 16, 2014

I LOVE this place. I plan to visit next time I am in Calgary. The food is good, the service is awesome and I love the atmosphere. My partner and I are opposites on what we like in a restaurant and we both really liked this place. The patio is pretty awesome. The music fit the restaurant perfectly. I will recommend this restaurant to anyone I know visiting Calgary.

Report
Helpful
RicoMatty (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on June 27, 2014

We have been to red's in Ramsay for breakfast and dinner. It has exceeded our expectations with friendly staff, great food and a heated covered patio. Looking forward to going again!!

Report
Helpful
vipTheKid (Calgary)
3.0
Dined on June 27, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at Red's on a Friday night based on all of the great reviews. I would sum it up as an okay experience, certainly not terrible but not mind blowing by any stretch of the imagination. The food was okay, my wife had a beet and goat cheese salad and I had a sirloin burger with fries. I liked being able to build my burger with many options including adding an egg, salsa and guacamole among other things. It was okay but I've had a better burger at Fatburger. My wife said the salad was okay but nothing stood out about it. The service was okay but I had to ask for a second beer when my first was finished and my glass sat empty on the table for a relatively long period. I've said okay a lot because it was just "okay."

Report
Helpful
partyof4 (Calgary)
5.0
Dined on June 25, 2014

I've always loved Reds' Diner for Brunch. We visited Reds' this time for dinner. The atmosphere combined with friendly and competent service provided a solid foundation on which we were able to focus on the well prepared and delicious food and great conversation.

Report
Helpful
Goodeats6 (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on May 30, 2014

We chose this restaurant at random before attending an event at Festival Hall, and it turned out to be perfect for the 4 of us. Our patio seats were nicely heated for a late May evening , music was good old rock and roll IN THE BACKGROUND so we could still converse easily, the waitress was a great blend of helpful, efficient and fun, and the food was fantastic. Veggie lasagne one of the best we've tasted, and ditto the Reuben sandwich. Bacon wrapped meatloaf was in unexpected treat. Good white wine and beer selection. We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
John (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on April 11, 2014

Recommended by a friend, we decided to try Red's in Ramsay for an after-work meal on Friday. The service was very personable and attentive and the food was great. The smoked pork chop with mashed potatoes and cranberry reduction was fantastic and tasted like it was home-cooked. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant, with good music and lots of light coming in through the big windows. All in all a great dining experience and we'll be coming back!

Report
Helpful
Geegigi (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on March 9, 2014

Loved our wait or Ryan! Food was excellent and the overall experience felt like something that movies show you what a diner is. Hopefully that made sense

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Home Style
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Monday - Tuesday: 7:00am - 4:00pm

Wednesday - Sunday: 7:30 - 9pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th St. & 11th Ave S.E.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(587) 353-1188
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have a public parking lot right out front.
New 2 Hr parking on 8St from 11Ave to 17Av SE
Maggie St north of 11Ave
11Ave east of 9St
Confused? check our website for a parking map
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The Ogden number 24 stops right out front.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jeremy Ettinger & Ryan Oldeheuval
Additional
Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine