About Red The Restaurant & Wine Boutique

The people Red attracted, they were the inspiration. The patrons of a wine boutique turned out to be people who were open to the finer experiences.

What a pleasure to fulfill their interests in fine food, good company and quality service. In rising to those requirements we found Red had become a restaurant, unique in its focus on the pleasure of an evening.

Wine was the starting point. Beyond the snobbery that once surrounded wine in America, Red let’s you explore, enjoy and fulfill your interest, your own way, using a serving instrument that’s unique to our region.

Please consider this your own invitation to join us for an evening soon.

1011 Fording Island Rd
Suite C105
Bluffton, SC 29910
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Best Buy Plaza

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 837-3747

Website:
http://www.blufftonred.com/

Executive Chef:
Heath Prosser

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room's rustic décor creates a refined atmosphere. Celebrate your gatherings in The Wine Room. This private room accommodates up to 8 guests. Or rent out the restaurant.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red The Restaurant & Wine Boutique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (20)
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Sadly we can't give a good review. First impressions mean a lot and our first visit wasn't a good one. Our table was available and ready. It took, in our opinion, a bit too long to get our first round of drinks. We ordered appetizers to enjoy with our first drink. They arrived in a reasonable amount of time. Our next round of drinks arrived faster but our next food order was taking so long we decided to end our visit without further waiting. We were told there was one chef and he was working in a very small kitchen and, while he was doing his very best, it was a bit of a challenge to keep up. The dining room was full. The server and the manager were very apologetic, genuinely sincere, and adjusted our bill as a courtesy. We didn't ask them to do that because we had enjoyed our drinks and appetizers. Nonetheless, they did what they felt was necessary and also gave us a "wine card" to use on our next visit. Hopefully, we will return once we learn that the issue with the kitchen space is addressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The wines are wonderful. Some of the dishes are cooked with an "adventurous" spirit. I loved the Mussels appetizer -delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Coming from Chicago, we've become rather spoiled "foodies" & the Red Wine Restaurant & Boutique wowed us in every way possible. Our sincere compliments to the Chef, to Ginger & the entire team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Hi tech! Phenomenal menu!
Our entire meal was delicious!
Friendly and knowledgeable service, including Chef Prosser ...visits all tables. A special and exciting touch!
Wine everywhere for decor...classy and eclectic!
Definitely we will be returning!
Can you get the hint we liked it!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Everything was very nice, food and service. A little pricey. Dinner for 2 with 1 glass of wine, tax and tip is $100.00.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 20, 2017

really enjoyed ourselves looking forward to coming back for dinner, well worth the drive from savannah. Thank you

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our first visit was delightful! We both loved being able to try all the different wines. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff and a very nice ambiance! We will be back--hopefully soon and often! Food was great too!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Had a wonderful time!! Loved the decor, the service and the food! A very special place that must not be missed!! Will be back very soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great little place. Little hard to find, but worth it.
Huge selection of wines, plus tasting stations.
Backed Brie appetizer was wonderful.
Meal and service very good
Definitely worth repeat visits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everything was great, food was delicious and staff very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Pricey but a lot of fun. Would do it again without a qualm. We went early so not noisy. It can see where it would be noisy with all that good wine

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent place with a new concept form the wine lovers Reasonable prices Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I highly recommend RED great food and excellent wine selection. Don't let the name fool you or location worth a visit we will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful as usual. We love the new decor! I has a nice flow, but is still quite & comfortable. The staff are always attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food and a unique way to picking the wine you would like to drink. Small but intimate. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great wine selection, great food, intimate setting. Perfect

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It is absolutely fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great meal and ver good service. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. Very nice menu, and we loved the new decor. It is always fun to taste different wines!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We like this place! We've been four times now, find it creative, fun and fully enjoyable. The chef is amazing! Lamb chops are great, as are the short ribs. Love the moderate portions. Flourless chocolate cake is great, and the chocolate truffles, all house-made. A gem for dining- then add the creative wine tasting and attentive staff. Well done!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a surprise! Just one week ago, the restaurant and wine selectors delight was totally and I mean completely redesigned. Yes, it is still in the Best Buy strip mall but please, walk inside. You will as if you are in a small village bistro in Provence and an after work restaurant in Toscana. Still the best people, an awesome chef from New Zealand, great dishes and well, you want some wine!? Forget the outside appearance, please walk in, sit down and enjoy the European style wine systems, where you can try some wines normally you may not. You can sample small glass for reasonable prices, munching away at an artisanal cheese and charcuterie plate or just order the baked brie appetizer. You will be quite happy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The renovation is amazing, looks like a new restaurant while keeping a lot of the "special" feel from before! Seating is very comfortable and it has a New York feel to it. Food is as good as the renovation and as always many selection from wine list or by the glass!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous wine dinner! Every course was superb! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was delicious and presented beautifully. The wine list is extensive and well priced.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our second visit and we all enjoyed the experience. The wine pour system is fun and the food is delicious. I ordered the lamb special and got enough for 3 meals. We also ordered the baked brie app - very yummy. The mussels were delicious too; again huge portions! An added benefit is that it's quiet, so you can have a good conversation. Oh, and the service was personable & perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I chose Red Wine Boutique for a special date because of the great reviews, and we were not disappointed. The restaurant was inviting, comfortable and intimate, and the wait staff attentive but not too much so. The food was phenomenal, there's no other word for it! Fresh and inventive. Even a familiar appetizer like French onion soup was the best we've ever tasted. We drove 45 minutes to get to Red Wine Boutique and would gladly do that again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was OK. Seemed like two glasses of wine and one cheese plate and one dinner for $83.00 was a bit steep for type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Tom is one of the best chefs in Bluffton. Christy is awesome as front of the house. Wine selection is top notch. Prices are all reasonable and really a great value for the quality. Make it a regular stop and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a fun place to sip different wines, try and compare as many as you'd like, with delicious food to enjoy as well. Attentive and helpful service, in all a wonderful evening we enjoyed here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was amazing, service was amazing. A must try!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 31, 2016

The chef at R&D is a "hidden gem". He takes small plates to another level. Each time we go, we order the mushroom truffle flatbread which is out of this world. We start with that and usually have either the special of the night or I have the salmon and my husband has another selection. We brought our friends with us this time to introduce them to this and they couldn't believe such a great place was located in a tiny hide-a-way strip mall. To top it all off, the wines are fabulous and the ability to taste them right there - a little at a time - makes it even better. Our waitress, Christie, added to the excellent experience. Dawn has done a terrific job putting this whole operation together. She gives it her "ALL". Thanks to everyone, We will keep going back... and back... and back. AWESOME!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Where to even start, the food overall was excellent. The service was quite hospitable. I loved the gnudi and the fettuccine special was delicious. Definitely worth every penny. By far the best food I have experienced in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is delicious! We love the wine card! We can taste many different wines and decided which one we will drink with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We LOVE R & D!! The food is always great and if we do not have an big appetite we can put together some of the small plates, makes it fun for small groups. Dawn (the owner) is terrific and very knowledgeable about the large wine selection she has. You are able to taste 32 selections in varying sizes so you can see what you like. Do not miss R & D, check out the many educational wine tastings that they have on a regular basis, chance to learn from the vintners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a quiet Saturday evening dinner at R&D. To say that the food was fantastic was an understatement. I was unclear on the initial concept, since the write ups talk about Tapas. Tapas was few and far between on the menu. What was on the menu was fabulous. We had Short Ribs and an order of Scallops and both were done to perfection.

The food was fabulous, our server had impeccable taste and service and we were so very pleased to have eaten at R&D. We will be back again. This may have been our best meal yet in the 120 days of living in Bluffton. It will be hard to top this food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Don't let the fact that this is in the Best Buy shopping center keep you from coming here. The wine selection is fantastic and although we didn't do the wine tasting with the Enomatic machines we will definitely try them next time. The Herbed Goat Cheese Gnudi and the daily pasta special of fettuccine with scallops was really good. Desserts were yummy too!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2016

A hidden gem. The wine selections are superb, the food is awesome, and the service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2016

R&D is fast replacing other venues for my family and I. I especially appreciate Dawn Armstrong's knowledge and expertise on wines. The quiet allows for great conversation. Never rushed, a totally peaceful and memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The crusted salmon is excellent and I had one of their excellent salads and a small plate with 2 lamb lollipops which was the best dinner I've had there. We had a table of four and everyone liked their dinners Our friends had the scallop dinner and the grouper special. We all walked away happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2016

We are long time residents of Bluffton and have passed by this spot many times. We were looking for someplace new to entertain a business associate and happened to find R & D on this website. We were very pleasantly surprised. The service, food and ambiance were fantastic. We have found a new favorite place for entertaining clients and for just fine dining!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2016

I have visited this wine boutique a number of times and over the years I have spent a lot of money. The wine selection is extremely good, however when you buy a bottle of wine in a restaurant the corkage fee should not be an additional charge it should be included. I also feel that the owner could have been a little more friendly especially since I spent over $280.00 for dinner and wine. I was made to feel that I was not worthy of the establishment. I will not be returning to purchase wine or dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.